You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Niall Carson/PA Archive

Poll: Would you like to see other operators running passenger trains?

Leo Varadkar says he’d encourage interested parties to come forward to run cross-border services. Should there be more?

A GOVERNMENT DECISION confirmed yesterday will see cross-border rail routes opened up to private sector operators from March of next year.

The move comes as the government opts not to look for an extension to a derogation under EU law, which means that Ireland must now open up its domestic freight services to private operators, as well as international passenger rail services.

This morning Leo Varadkar encouraged companies who were interested in running cross-border passenger services to come forward – but suggested that the loss-making services from Iarnród Éireann meant private operators would probably not be interested.

Today we’re asking whether you’d like to see Ireland follow the lead of the UK and fully liberalise its passenger rail services, so that companies other than Iarnród Éireann could step in and run services if they thought they could make money in doing so.

Should Ireland’s passenger rail services be opened up to other operators?

Poll Results:

Yes (1160)
No (593)
I don't know (120)

Read: Varadkar would welcome private operators on cross-border rail lines >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

85 Comments
    Mute Colm Fitzgerald
    Favourite Colm Fitzgerald
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:35 AM

Can’t see why anybody would say no.

Mute Alan Mulvey
    Favourite Alan Mulvey
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:42 AM

look at what’s happening in England .

Mute Soupy Norman
    Favourite Soupy Norman
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:47 AM

What’s happening in England, Wales and Scotland?
    Cheaper trains and reasonably efficient times.

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute Ryan Ó Giobúin
    Favourite Ryan Ó Giobúin
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:49 AM

I am in favour, but who would look after the costs of fixing tracks, etc? I wouldn’t want them to get a free ride on wgat another opperator is paying for

Mute David Watson
    Favourite David Watson
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:59 AM

the tracks would be run by iarnrod eirann and payed for through revenue they receive from the other operators , obviously the cost of this would need to be taken into account when organising charges of using the tracks

Mute Alan Mulvey
    Favourite Alan Mulvey
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:00 PM

sky news did a price compair with Europe trains and the Brits are dearer by a good bit

Mute Joseph McGranaghan
    Favourite Joseph McGranaghan
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:12 PM

Can tell you’ve never caught a train in Britain!! I got one at the weekend, chesterfield to Manchester, only 1 hour journey and £72, most expensive trains in Europe, slow, late, smelly. privatisation has killed the British rail system!

Mute Cearbhall Turraoin
    Favourite Cearbhall Turraoin
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:12 PM

Britain’s privatised trains are AWFUL! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=p8VCy_cofh8

Mute John Manahan
    Favourite John Manahan
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:16 PM

I can’t believe Varadkar is doing this or even contemplating it. The UK and England in particular, have by far the highest fares in Europe as well as the most overcrowded trains.

Mute Mark O'Flaherty
    Favourite Mark O'Flaherty
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:32 PM

I live in England and can assure you the train service is first class incomparison to the utter shambles at home.

The interconnector project that could have made an effective solution has been shelved indefinitely.

Instead as usual, we’ve gone for the short term solution in building a cheaper Metro. Same old Ireland – no foresight.

Mute Joseph McGranaghan
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:36 PM

Mark, there are more routes granted but then you are comparing the uk with 60 odd million people to Ireland with 4.5 million people, we can hardly expect a wide ranging service outside of Dublin. Secondly the uk system is no better in terms of experience, cattle herded into small, smelly dirty trains for the most expensive tickets in Europe, only virgin have nice trains but they too are over crowded and don’t get me started on their punctuality!!

Mute Ed Appleby
    Favourite Ed Appleby
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:49 PM

Soupy: “What’s happening in England, Wales and Scotland?Cheaper trains and reasonably efficient times.” Don’t know what part of the UK your talking about? The highest fares in Europe, non stop increases above inflation year on year and overcrowding day in day out, bizarre ticketing arrangements, even more bizarre timetables and off/on peak periods. Whatever happens with Irish rail do NOT use the UK as a template, the rail system in the UK is and expensive farce which even the UK govt, now concedes is dysfunctional mess with the tracks owned by one shower of incompetents and the trains run by another bunch of cowboys! Go to Germany or Japan to see how things are done even China. Irish rail needs massive investment and the fact that is no link from Rosslare port to Waterford and Cork is totally ludicrous. The semi state oligarchs who run these loss making ‘enterprises’ are paid massive salaries and pensions not to mention bonuses and they have failed to miserably over decades to make any major improvements other than deliver some much needed new trains and carriages. Privatise the rail and it will be profits first and passengers second that’s the experience in the UK and even though the pro privateers will point to increased passenger numbers, bear in mind that the UK population has risen and more people are having to abandon their cars because of the extortionate fuel prices, congestion charges, ridiculous parking fees and an all out war on the motorist by greedy local authorities. Ireland needs to be smart and copy a system that provides efficient, cheap and reliable rail travel in a joined up network and with a smart fare and ticketing regime.

Mute Soupy Norman
    Favourite Soupy Norman
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:50 PM

Chester to Liverpool, every 15mins, 55min journey… 4 pounds 20 pence.
    No complaints.

Mute Jonathan Biggins
    Favourite Jonathan Biggins
    Mar 14th 2012, 2:23 PM

@Soupy:

Brilliant! A gargantuan generalisation purporting to be about the entire system on the basis of one route you take. I’ll be skipping your posts in future!

Mute Damien Doherty
    Favourite Damien Doherty
    Mar 14th 2012, 4:29 PM

This country is too small.

Look at the bottleneck that is Connolly. How can we have competition when what we have is already running to capacity.

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Mar 14th 2012, 5:23 PM

Ye are awful eegits if ye think a private company is going to care about providing ye with a decent train system. God help ye. Fine Gael’s mouthpiece Leo, will sing whatever tune the Irish branch of the Tory party call. They will privatise everything they can. Would ye wake up before Ireland becomes a Bargain Basement. Ireland is not For Sale! Take the sign down Leo!

Mute michael cuthbert
    Favourite michael cuthbert
    Mar 14th 2012, 9:29 PM

See where yer coming from Réada. But will someone, anyone, please put up a plan to drag Iarnród Éireann outta the C19th…

Mute Martin Grehan
    Favourite Martin Grehan
    Mar 15th 2012, 10:07 AM

Privitisation always works out. ALWAYS!!

Mute Jack Moloney
    Favourite Jack Moloney
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:38 AM

Because its a myth that prices or quality of services will improve all its doing is taking responsibility away from the govt. ! Train services and prices have improved over the past few years new companie will prevent any further improvements as profits of irish rail and therefore investment from govt will shrink !

Mute Colm Fitzgerald
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:41 AM

It’s hardly a myth…at least a private operator could develop routes properly and not try run every service into the ground

Mute Joseph McGranaghan
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:14 PM

Bollocks colm, if a route isn’t turning a profit a private company will shut it and asset strip, they won’t run a route at a loss like a state operator would

Mute Colm Fitzgerald
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:28 PM

Didn’t say they wouldn’t, however at least they can run a profitable route or a route that would generate profitable traffic in a profitable manner as opposed to being unwilling to apply any forward thinking to it

Mute Brian Donovan
    Favourite Brian Donovan
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:38 AM

If it means prices coming down then yes.

Mute Peter O'Brien
    Favourite Peter O'Brien
    Mar 14th 2012, 2:28 PM

Having lived in Ireland, Germany and now England and beings frequent train traveller, I would offer that limited competition on key routes is healthy. The UK system is the most expensive in Europe and is very fragmented. Government policy focussed on “demand management” – using price as a means to discourage use. Operators, Train Lessors, Network Rail, Dept for Transport, franchise lengths and and and create a very fragmented and inefficient allocation of resources.

Germany has a great public transport system, with limited competition on intercity routes – they are, however, very expensive.

Irish trains are all new, services are modest, but so are population levels. Iarnród Éireann has a long way to go on customer service, but it IS cheap by European comparison. There is no appetite amongst Irish customers to pay more for a better service, so we’ll have to accept that UK/European speeds 120-140mph won’t b happening – 100mph with hourly services would be a great step.

Our focus should be on cheap or free interventions, such as joining up timetables, eliminating blockages and making interchange easier and cheaper.

Mute Eóin Curran
    Favourite Eóin Curran
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:45 AM

I said no buy it doesn’t seem to have registered, look at the Uk, flogged British rail to virgin trains, EWS, first etc. they bought all the profitable routes leaving the unprofitable routes to be run by government. If Varadkar sells the routes to private companies than Irish rail will not be able to subsidise other routes and so a quick few quid will cost the government heavy subsidies to Iaronrod Eireann while some private company makes a fortune on an already profitable route

Mute Denis Walsh
    Favourite Denis Walsh
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:48 AM

Train prices in Ireland are dirt cheap already if you plan ahead and don’t leave your travel plans until the last minute. If you insist on booking late then you will pay more which is no different to any form of travel.

Mute Cormac Cahill
    Favourite Cormac Cahill
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:59 AM

Wow, i’d love to live in your perfect world.

Irish Rail prices are extremely overpriced for what you get. Have you been on trains in Europe? In italy you can do from Milan to Florence for around 25 euro, and that take around 3 hrs, thats the distance your travelling.

But the bigger picture is that ireland doesnt have the infrastructure to offer better value. maybe private sector would offer a better sevice for better and they might see the bigger picture, that being offering more rural routes with small trains. Im not too sure, but i think there needs to be a change as prices are just too high.

Mute Denis Walsh
    Favourite Denis Walsh
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:24 PM

So a quick look at a train from Dublin to Limerick in 2 weeks time is €10 euro e/w. There was a Facebook deal earlier this week giving 50 percent off. That cut it to a fiver each way. If that’s too expensive for you then I suggest you try another part of Europe in your quest for a perfect world. Good luck to you.

Mute Conor Dwyer
    Favourite Conor Dwyer
    Mar 15th 2012, 2:35 AM

Certainly is a perfect world, I quite enjoy return trips to Cork or Kerry for only e20, it’s fantastic really and a hell of alot cheaper than any Western Europe countries.
    Great value!

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Mar 15th 2012, 2:12 PM

Are you serious? I’ve travelled regularly between Rome and Milan, which a 600km journey and even for first class it costs less than Dublin – Killarney, a journey of half the length with slower trains and less comfortable rolling stock.

Mute Francis Stokes
    Favourite Francis Stokes
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:52 AM

Ireland is not big enough to have several rail companies. The Government subsidises Irish rail what happens if they bring in Private operators. Who will sort out the rail services if any of the private services went into financial difficulty. For now I think they should be left as is until we sort out the overall financial situation in the country.

Mute Brian Daly
    Favourite Brian Daly
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:58 AM

The open market model has not worked well in the UK. We have a small rail system here that is best suited to a monopoly/single operator. There’s no reason why we can’t set service levels and targets for the IR.

LUAS is not a good example of a private sector operation. The operator was handed a brand new system paid for the taxpayer and all they have to drive the trams up and down two lines. Hardly a huge achievement. IR is a legacy system with infrastructure that has it’s origins in Victorian times.

Mute Joanne Kenny
    Favourite Joanne Kenny
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:09 PM

I don’t think it is a good idea to privatise our rail service. The rail network and train stations are not big enough. I don’t think our fares are too bad either, it’s only €25 for me to go Dublin-Enniscorthy, which I’m happy to pay as it saves my overall fuel cost. As for UK train fares, they are extraordinarily expensive, with internal flights to different parts of the country being cheaper than train tickets.

I actually like our rail services. It would be good to see the Western corridor opened up again and maybe other routes across the country, e.g. non stop Cork to Belfast without having to go via Dublin.

Mute Allan Brown
    Favourite Allan Brown
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:43 AM

Look at the luas vs dublin bus,

Which has a better service,

Which is private and which is public,

This can only be good plus i hate CIE with a passion,

€60 to travel to Clonmel on a Friday.

Mute mec6c
    Favourite mec6c
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:24 PM

Private operators will not operate loss-making routes.
    The network will become reduced in size.
    Rail prices in Ireland are INFINITELY cheaper than on British railways.
    Once the novelty period is over, private operators’ prices will soar. Look what happened in Britain.
    Maintenance of track and rolling stock will be less than optimal.
    People may die because of corner-cutting in maintenance.
    We need to get freight off our roads and back onto the rail network

Mute Lenny Mccarthy
    Favourite Lenny Mccarthy
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:22 PM

You must be joking … one of the safest railways in Europe , let the private operators in and there be cut backs on everything including safety . Ya not see a DART operate after 20.00 hrs in the evening , once the numbers drop after rush hour , they wont be running trains to accomodate a handful of passengers.

Mute Terry McDonald
    Favourite Terry McDonald
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:31 PM

Privatisation has been as disaster in England as far as prices go – rail fares are through the roof. I commute by train daily and have done so for over 20 years, and have very few complaints. Overcrowding is a problem at peak times, but it’s hardly Irish Rail’s fault that such unrestricted building went on along the lines during the boom, which caused the population to soar (unfortunately,due to the recession, overcrowding is less of a problem than it was).

If you have an annual ticket, commuting by rail is excellent value when the tax savings are taken into account. I really wonder how many of these armchair experts commenting here actually use the trains on a daily basis – if they compare rail fares here to those in the UK and whinge about them then they really are talking through their hat.

All very well of Varadkar to suggest this when he has a driver bringing him into work every morning. For the rest of us, Irish Rail is a very good alternative (and no, I don’t work for them).

Mute Stephen O'Connell
    Favourite Stephen O'Connell
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:43 AM

And while we’re at it how about Bus services too. I would fully encourage competition

Mute David Luttrell
    Favourite David Luttrell
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:47 AM

there’s loads of competition, jjkavanaghs matthews, city link to name a few on a national scale, i dont think a dublin bus competitor would work too well, would lead to congestion and slower routes

Mute Cian Devane
    Favourite Cian Devane
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:50 AM

about time. such an under utilised and ignored service for years. they should also consider bringing trams to cork, limerick and galway. as a service and a tourist attraction.

Mute David Luttrell
    Favourite David Luttrell
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:53 AM

It would be hundreds of years before you redeemed the cost of capital on a tram service in limerick cork and galway…. nice idea dont think its feasible

Mute Jonathan Patrick McCoy
    Favourite Jonathan Patrick McCoy
    Mar 14th 2012, 3:33 PM

Tram systems seem to work pretty well in similar sized cities in Belgium.

Mute Amadeusz Kępiński
    Favourite Amadeusz Kępiński
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:40 AM

Potential problem: If one company had a monopoly on the service, due to a lack of competition prices could go up.

As long as that is not allowed to happen, its a great idea.

Mute @aidoroch
    Favourite @aidoroch
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:02 PM

the problem is that one county already has a monopoly on the service , hence the reason its cheaper to fly from dublin to sligo,cork than it is to get a train

Mute Soupy Norman
    Favourite Soupy Norman
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:49 AM

We 100% should. Irish rail prices are beyond a joke. Compare it to prices per mile in UK, there is no match!
    People who are saying no probably don’t even use the train!

Mute David Luttrell
    Favourite David Luttrell
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:55 AM

ah the €1.80 from castleknock to drumcondra isnt bad

Mute Donal McCarthy
    Favourite Donal McCarthy
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:17 PM

Only if it meant that the stranglehold of the rail unions was reduced.

For example, there are no late night darts because the unions wanted too much money and wouldn’t allow subcontractors to be hired to do it.

Mute Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Favourite Dermot Mc Loughlin
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:45 AM

Cross border rail routes?
    I’m sure the people of Cavan, Monaghan, Donegal, will acknowledge that private companies will……………no wait, aren’t they the only 3 counties within the Republic who share a hinterland with the north without an actual rail service?

Mute Joe Shaw
    Favourite Joe Shaw
    Mar 15th 2012, 9:18 AM

I live in Donegal, what’s a train??

Mute Dirtybollox
    Favourite Dirtybollox
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:17 PM

Minister Varadkar in the news again???? For something actually pertaining to his Job title??? Holy sweet mother of Cheesus!!!!!!

on topic, i reckon it could be better to privatize some of them but not all.

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Mar 15th 2012, 2:15 PM

Don’t you know that Varadkar is Continuity Fianna Fail Minister for Talking A Lot And Saying Very Little?

Mute Aranthos Faroth
    Favourite Aranthos Faroth
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:49 PM

Alot of talk about how Englands system is horrid.
    Well, what do you do when you make a mistake? You learn from it.
    Ireland just needs to put the steps in place to ensure that the system doesn’t turn out the same way.

Competition is good.

Mute Jonathan Biggins
    Mar 14th 2012, 2:27 PM

Hilariously naive! What age are you, 15?

Mute michael cuthbert
    Favourite michael cuthbert
    Mar 14th 2012, 3:55 PM

Agree. It’s quite possible to learn from mistakes made in UK and develop a 21st century rail service. Actually, 20th century would be a start. Since this is about EU competition law, perhaps have a look at rail services across the continent. London-Paris, 2hrs. Rosalare-Dublin, 3hrs. Gets what you pays for. ..

Mute Aranthos Faroth
    Favourite Aranthos Faroth
    Mar 14th 2012, 4:01 PM

@Jonathan – what a fantastic educated response to my comment!
    Bravo man, you can sleep well tonight.

Mute Bernadette Dunne
    Favourite Bernadette Dunne
    Mar 14th 2012, 1:35 PM

Our rail track record is extremely high in comparison to Britain and prices are also way lower in price
    In Britain the problems are far greater than we have ever experienced here Leo get of the track of privatisation

Mute Aidan
    Favourite Aidan
    Mar 14th 2012, 1:07 PM

If it means getting more freight off our roads then I’m all for it. However, the more private operators there are the more I’d worry about safety issues.

Mute Terry Turner
    Favourite Terry Turner
    Mar 14th 2012, 2:01 PM

Public transport in Ireland is improving, slowly perhaps. Credit where credit is due.

Mute Brendan Brennan
    Favourite Brendan Brennan
    Mar 14th 2012, 6:38 PM

‘RYAN-RAIL’
    Just €1 Rail tickets and €50 for carry on luggage…

Mute HISPRUIKER
    Favourite HISPRUIKER
    Mar 14th 2012, 1:29 PM

Public transport is a disaster in Ireland.

All changes are welcome.

Mute Mark Dolan
    Favourite Mark Dolan
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:38 PM

Its not like this is the first time in history we could have multiple rail operators in the country. There were a number of operators in the country up until the 1950s (I’m not 100% sure about the exact dates). I have a Grand Aunt who remembers traveling from her village in Leitrim up to Derry City on the train every day to her place of work.

Mute Oisín Ó Dubhláin
    Favourite Oisín Ó Dubhláin
    Mar 14th 2012, 2:06 PM

The network is not there for other operators to come in. In reality this is likely going to lead to the privatisation of Iarnroid Eireann so we will have a Greyhound like situation where we replace a public monopoly which provided a public service with a private cmapny which is only after profit.

Mute Dec Rowe
    Favourite Dec Rowe
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:54 PM

Would it be possible that these private companies might invest money into reopening routes that have been closed?

Mute James Walsh
    Favourite James Walsh
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:57 AM

I have no problem with the idea in principle, but I’d like to see how the minister reckons such a system would work in practice. While I think its interesting to see whether providers might be forthcoming I would think that the Minister should set out a structure as to how the system might work and then look for operators. There are a lot of questions that would need to be answered first.

Who would own and maintain the network (track, points, stations, etc)?
    Would the company that owned the track also be a service provider as well, in which case would other companies have to pay to use the network putting them at a competitive disadvantage?
    Would providers actually compete against each other on the same routes to provide direct competition or would routes be parcelled off and sold to one provider?

Mute Mark Dowling
    Favourite Mark Dowling
    Mar 14th 2012, 3:26 PM

One week after the Irish Rail 2030 report recommended cuts if not full closure of the Nenagh railway line due to huge losses and tiny ridership, Irish Rail inaugurated a direct service to Dublin via Ballybrophy. The fact that Minister Alan Kelly is from Nenagh is COMPLETELY UNRELATED.

Incidentally, after a week and a half of service it has been on time once and up to 25 minutes late some days, which is messing around the Kildare/Laois commuters which this train is also supposed to serve. This is for the most part because IE put forward an unrealistic timetable which safe speeds on the decrepit track cannot match.

This kind of nonsense would be harder to pull on a private company. However, in the short run disconnecting IE trains from the track maintenance would mean that there would be more accountability when for instance a train is late because a maintenance crew allotted too little time for the work, or when new track is laid on a line about to be closed (Rosslare to Waterford)

The one service that could be privatised immediately is the Enterprise from Dublin to Belfast. As it stands this service runs too infrequently and too slowly. This is in part because any increase in service must be approved by NIR and IE and they’re both broke. Privatisation should ONLY be entertained if it brings extra money into the system, not a vehicle for the State to feed more family silver to the Troika.

Mute David Luttrell
    Favourite David Luttrell
    Mar 14th 2012, 11:42 AM

it works in england, why cant it work here… i know in terms of passenger numbers, more frequent trains that are smaller would be better than long trains that are every half hour on commuter routes

Mute Joseph McGranaghan
    Mar 14th 2012, 12:15 PM

But it doesnt work in the uk, not even a little bit, all intelligent commentators beyond see it as the worst thing that ever happened to the railways!!

Mute Multi talentless
    Favourite Multi talentless
    Mar 14th 2012, 2:14 PM

Infrastructure here is about 150 years behind that of the UK

Mute Paul Quigley
    Favourite Paul Quigley
    Mar 14th 2012, 1:00 PM

Yes ! – it would be a blessing ! – Irish rail are an awful crowd because the Darts are dirty, slow and not on time … was only on the Dart yesterday when we stopped for about 15 minutes and the driver tells us “we are delayed due to an unexpected delay” ha ! the Dart is pure S**te in comparison to european public transport. It should be renamed DAST = Dublin area slow transport.

Mute Terry McDonald
    Favourite Terry McDonald
    Mar 14th 2012, 1:54 PM

I was on a train between Edinburgh and Glasgow that was delayed for 30 minutes because, and I quote, “The usual driver died and the other one had to go to his funeral”.

Mute Eoin O'Duffy
    Favourite Eoin O'Duffy
    Mar 14th 2012, 1:20 PM

Irish Rail sucks. CÍE sucks… love to see a private operator replace them.

Mute Jonathan Biggins
    Mar 15th 2012, 7:29 AM

Go back to sleep.

Mute David Watson
    Favourite David Watson
    Mar 14th 2012, 1:08 PM

I don’t think that ireland should be open to several operators because yes it is small in comparison, but we should definitely boost competition, and to ensure there is no neglect of certain lines we should add packages of highly used lines with rural lines to ensure they are not neglected. iarnrod eirann should run the lines and maintenance of tracks and stations, dart and commuter services should be independent from these and then in years to come we will have a first class rail system. the fact of the matter is at the moment because darts and trains are only against themselves they don’t NEED to meet targets and SLA’s. private companies could also increase revenue through advertising more than the current system is doing, and in provide trains and commuters of higher standards than there are now. I resent getting a train across the country. services are awful.

Mute Bryan Fox
    Favourite Bryan Fox
    Mar 14th 2012, 1:45 PM

Dublin Bus as well. It’s a shambles at the moment

Mute Anthony Martin
    Favourite Anthony Martin
    Mar 14th 2012, 6:16 PM

As a lot of people have said already, lessons should be learned from the privatised British Rail system. I travel long distances across England on a regular basis for work and it is in a lot of cases a very frustrating experience. Currently, Network Rail is the company that runs and maintains Britain’s rail tracks, signals, bridges, tunnels etc. Private train companies then run their trains on Network Rail’s lines and charge the customers for the service. The private train companies sole interest is profit and they do shirk all responsibility to their customers. If a train is delayed or cancelled in the UK, it is my experience that the train companies have a very hands off approach and will instead just blame Network Rail. Recently I spent, 4 hours on a train getting from London to Northampton when the journey should only last an hour. London Midlands [train company] blamed signalling problems on Network Rail and Network Rail’s twitter account blamed delay on a fault with a London Midlands train. Either way the customer loses.

Most of the trains are of a very poor quality with cramped seating, little luggage space and overcrowding. Some private rail companies here have a very Ryanair-esque attitude and will add on extra charges for a number of things.
    For example a standard class 2 hour journey from London to Norwich this Friday 16th March at 18.10 will cost you £58.70!!! If you sit on that train and turn on your laptop you will see that there is then a £4 an hour charge for use of wifi!! In the UK you could book 2 nights accommodation at a hotel with breakfast and as much wifi as you can handle for the same price. Currently Iarnrod Eireann offer a free wifi service.
    Another money making ploy that train companies use in the UK is to charge people a £10 charge to cancel an already booked ticket. They put this down to the “administrative costs” and Network Rail charges. The cynic in me wonders how much money these private companies make from this.

So yes, privatising the Irish rail network will increase competition but may not necessarily make rail travel more competitive. Privatising the Irish rail network will let private companies into the market and those companies will need to make profit at any cost to cover the annual fees they would have to pay. Privatising the Irish rail network will mean that holding any company responsible for delays or cancellations will become much more difficult. This means that the customer will get a poorer experience all round.
    In the UK, if you engage in conversation with any rail worker one of the most common sentiments you will here is : The worst thing that ever happened to British Rail was deregulation.

Its hard to argue with that.

Mute Ruairi Doyle
    Favourite Ruairi Doyle
    Mar 14th 2012, 3:40 PM

While privatisation may lead to cheaper, more efficient service, it would also sound a death knell for smaller, less profitable lines.

Mute Tom Mulligan
    Favourite Tom Mulligan
    Mar 14th 2012, 4:59 PM

I can’t think of one business that was privatised and is cheap correct me if Ian wrong .when a company is privatised they have share holders who always want more profit. can’t see how this will work at some point fares will rise and service become less.

Mute Marko Burns
    Favourite Marko Burns
    Mar 14th 2012, 3:41 PM

DART is €4.80 one way to Greystones from Dublin Grand Canal – what a rip off.
    DART should be sold off to a Veolia or whoever who might do a decent job. Can’t be any worse.

Mute Joseph McGranaghan
    Mar 14th 2012, 5:01 PM

That’s not that bad a price, one end of the green Luas to the other isn’t as far and is about the same price!!

Mute Multi talentless
    Favourite Multi talentless
    Mar 14th 2012, 6:38 PM

A similar single journey on the London underground system would cost about 7 quid sterling

Mute Tom Sullivan
    Favourite Tom Sullivan
    Mar 15th 2012, 2:18 PM

Why not sell it off to Veolia, which is owned by the same criminal banking family currently benefit from our austerity? Why not just give them the whole country and be done with it?

Mute Rigel Kent
    Favourite Rigel Kent
    Sep 7th 2013, 11:32 PM

Anybody who wants to play with trains in Ireland can already .just lease a train from CIE and see if you can make a profit .Outside of a few special occasions they will make a loss.

Mute Danny Supafly Kehoe
    Favourite Danny Supafly Kehoe
    Mar 14th 2012, 4:06 PM

I think that it could work in a limited fashion.i mean Matthews coaches run a great bus service between bettystown and dublin.only for them we would have use the train and have to pay ridiculous fares on Irish rail.so there is merit to having private operators run routes

Mute Tom Mulligan
    Favourite Tom Mulligan
    Mar 14th 2012, 5:01 PM

how much do they charge and what is the frequency.

Mute Danny Supafly Kehoe
    Favourite Danny Supafly Kehoe
    Mar 14th 2012, 6:48 PM

every half hour at peak times and every hour off peak..fair is 7eur single and 14 return.the service is amazing and the coaches they use are top notch.the only way into the city from here for years was by the train and now we have a service that is frequent,friendly and comfortable :D..irish rail or cie dnt have a patch on these guys