You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

BestPhotoStudio via Shutterstock

Poll: Would you use a disabled parking space without a valid sticker?

What do you think about people parking in spaces they are not entitled to use?

THE UK’S CHANCELLOR of the Exchequer faced criticism in recent days after his chauffeur-driven Land Rover was photographed in a disabled parking bay.

While George Osborne stated he had “no idea” that the car had been parked in a disabled bay, an article by Liz Jones in the Daily Mail today excused the use of such spaces by people who are not entitled to them – provoking renewed discussion online today.

We’d like to know what you think: would you ever think it was acceptable to use a disabled parking space without a valid sticker/permit?

Poll Results:

Yes (3728)
No way (2407)
Only in an emergency (1180)
I'm not sure (1160)

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

255 Comments
    Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:10 PM

Anyone who parks in a disabled spot without the right to do so should be served with a meaty fine.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:12 PM
    Mute Paul Doyle
    Favourite Paul Doyle
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:53 PM

20 disabled spaces in Tesco car park Celbridge, I have never seen more than 3 used by permit holders at any one time.
    Bit mad to have so many spaces when never used. 5 or 6 is plenty.

See 23 more replies ▾
    Mute Andrew O'Beirne
    Favourite Andrew O'Beirne
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:05 PM

its done to cover themselves that incase a good few disabled people come at one time, they havent left them with nowhere to park

Mute Vanessa Sterry
    Favourite Vanessa Sterry
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:07 PM

That’s a fantastix idea! Now to print some off and terrorise my friends :)

Mute Paddy McGowan
    Favourite Paddy McGowan
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:16 PM

Doesnt matter if there is 50 of the parking spaces. Dont use them if you dont need to. If you were in a wheelchair and going to tesco was one of your ways of getting out and about wouldnt you like to know that other people of this country who can walk 100 meters to the shop door from the car would leave the close by, extra wide spots available for you. Not because it a law, but just because its only right and fair?

Mute stayfrostynatty
    Favourite stayfrostynatty
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:21 PM

Stupid question..why will you want to break the law knowing very well is wrong.

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:21 PM

Saw someone with a disabled sticker park in a regular space, how dare they.

Mute Gillian Weir Scully
    Favourite Gillian Weir Scully
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:31 PM

I might pull in to a disabled spot to wait for a few minutes but I would stay in the car in case I had to move it as needed.

Generally I would wait like anyone else for a free space.

On the topic of parking sometimes the spaces are not wide enough and parking is easier if the spaces are angled.

Mute Alice Palmer
    Favourite Alice Palmer
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:18 PM

Just to let you know Gillian that as a permit holder if I saw a disabled bay and it had someone parked in it I would drive on, going from past experience people sitting in a parked car in a disabled bay do not move when someone with a valid permit comes along. Be thankful you don’t need one of these permits and have the decency to park elsewhere in future.

Apr 7th 2013, 3:24 PM

What is worse, parking in a disabled space or using a disabled toilet?

Mute John Keane
    Favourite John Keane
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:32 PM

The spaces are always wide enough. Perhaps your driving is not narrow enough!

Mute Elaine Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Elaine Fitzpatrick
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:03 PM

It happened to us before we were heading for a disabled parking spot to aid my sister(passenger) and a car cut in on us and parked there,, we showed her the disabled parking card we had she just shrugged her shoulders and walked off, really wanted to slap her ,, it’s so hard to get that space need to get chair out etc,,,

Mute Orla Machin
    Favourite Orla Machin
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:34 PM

Unless you have a right to park there, you should not….even for a few mins.

Mute Siobhan
    Favourite Siobhan
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:46 PM

maybe the person who had a disabled sticker that parked in the regular spot may not have had the disabled person in the car.

Mute Sheila
    Favourite Sheila
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:51 PM

Not sure that it is illegal in a private car park?

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:58 PM

You should have slashed her tyres! How dare she!
    I have a disabled sister too and the same thing happened me. I was bringing her to the cinema in Tallaght. I was about to drive into a disabled carparking space and had the blue permit with me. A car cut in and took the space. I showed the lady I had a permit and she also shrugged and walked off. I parked behind her with my permit on the dash.
    We went into Eddie Rockets before the cinema and watched the woman get completely frustrated when she arrived back to her car and couldnt get out. I left her there for about half an hour and filled the security guard in on what had happened.
    He was grand with me doing this but when I came out, the woman went insane , ranting and raving. Security called the clampers when she went off to get phone credit to call her husband. She came out of the shop and went balistic when she saw she was clamped.
    Off we drove, into another space and we went to the cinema. All in all, a great afternoon!!

Mute Jakki Cosgrove
    Favourite Jakki Cosgrove
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:44 PM

I’m sure the person in a wheelchair will enjoy trying to move you – should they sound their horn, or prehaps actually stop (blocking traffic) get their wheelchair out of their car, wheel over to you and ask you quietly to move. Then of course they’ll have to get back into their car (after loading their wheelchair back into their car) before they can occupy the space that they were entitled to, and repeat the spacesprocess again. That was a bit long winded wasn’t it? Now imagine you’re the disabled person who physically had to do it. Don’t be selfish – leave the spaces free.

Mute Wild Rover
    Favourite Wild Rover
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:49 PM

Typical offenders are women in people carriers most common sighting any car park , tesco car parks are a guarantee .

Mute Jessica Ní Mhaoláin
    Favourite Jessica Ní Mhaoláin
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:18 PM

@Tommy C: What an ingenious idea!! It’s happens so much to me that I considered keying “inconsiderate f****r” into the car but your idea is much better!

Mute Mike Clinton
    Favourite Mike Clinton
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:26 PM

I agree and when I see a car parked in a disabled bay with no sticker it boils my blood.
    I report them to security and demand them clamped.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:46 PM

It worked a treat! My sister really didnt want a scene made because she sometimes feels she is a burden on her family (which couldnt be further from the truth!) but I love making a point of things and this was a prefect opportunity to teach a selfish so and so a valuable lesson.
    I would recommend it to anyone. I was full of smug satisfaction and my sister thought this was hilarious!

Mute AdeleM
    Favourite AdeleM
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:55 PM

Haha.. Fair play! Least ye got some enjoyment out of her ignorance! (“,)

Mute John Keane
    Favourite John Keane
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:57 PM

Your a legend Tommy :-)

Mute Elaine Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Elaine Fitzpatrick
    Apr 7th 2013, 7:04 PM

@tommyc. Brilliant wish we done it!

Mute Patrick J Leader
    Favourite Patrick J Leader
    Apr 7th 2013, 8:38 PM

Hope you never have to use one

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:08 PM

And sure if you’re a bit tired sure why not take someone’s wheelchair too?

Mute joe dangermouse
    Favourite joe dangermouse

I just said I wouldn’t.

Mute Paddy Murray
    Favourite Paddy Murray
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:28 PM

Er, sarcasm????

Mute Brendan Maher
    Favourite Brendan Maher

Anyone who parks their car in a disabled parking space and are not disabled in my mind is a selfish, lazy disrespectful bastard.

Mute Rose Fullen
    Favourite Rose Fullen
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:41 PM

What happens lf there no normal car parking spaces available and about 10 to 15 disabled car parking spaces available , l dont believe in using a disabled car parking space when there are tons of normal spaces left but when there is non left , l’d use lt

Mute Brendan Maher
    Favourite Brendan Maher

And no doubt u would also give out yards if u got a fine for parking there too. As I said before selfish……

See 15 more replies ▾
    Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:00 PM

Or on one occasion my brother in laws car which had a sticker was broken down and I brought my mother in law who was disabled and a neighbor to an overflow shopping centre with three disabled spots left. I parked in one for 5 mins. Should my car be toed away and I receive a heavy fine?

Mute Andrew O'Beirne
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:13 PM

could you not have transferred the disability thing to your own car?

Mute Sarah Connor
    Favourite Sarah Connor
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:24 PM

My mother is disabled, if I need to give her a lift in my car and park somewhere close for her, I take the disabled card with me, it’s not a sticker any more and can easily be transferred from one car to another if needed. Yes you should get a fine and be towed for parking without the card, do you expect the parking wardens to be psychic?

Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:25 PM

No. His car was in Co Cavan and the shopping centre was in Dublin.

Mute Pat McCarthy
    Favourite Pat McCarthy
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:29 PM

Raglan road your comment is moronic. You should have brought the disability pass with you. That’s no one else’s fault but your own and you should be fined if you park in a disabled spot. How else are parking inspectors meant to know.

Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:08 PM

Did you read my comment. I said and will say it again. HIS CAR WAS IN CAVAN AND I WAS IN DUBLIN. THE STICKER WAS IN HIS CAR, which means it was not in mine. It took me about FIVE mins to get her out of the car and into shopping centre. There was THREE disabled spots available. So if you were in the same position and preferred to park 200 mtrs away with a disabled person on board who has a parking permit then you are a fool

Mute Pat McCarthy
    Favourite Pat McCarthy
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:13 PM

Then you should expect to be fined.

Mute Alice Palmer
    Favourite Alice Palmer
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:23 PM

Disabled permits go with the permit holder and can be put in the window of any car they are traveling in.

Mute Deirdre O'Connor
    Favourite Deirdre O'Connor
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:21 PM

She should have taken the permit with her. that’s what they’re for. If she was in Dublin, she should have had her permit with her. That’s like saying ‘my driving licence is in my other handbag/car’ , if you need it, have it with you. Simple as…

Mute Frances Heneghan
    Favourite Frances Heneghan
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:40 PM

The card is portable.

Mute Wild Rover
    Favourite Wild Rover
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:51 PM

Should be ashamed of yourself

Mute Colin Mc Keown
    Favourite Colin Mc Keown
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:09 PM

You empty heads think disabled people just get gifted a disabled permit ! Disabled people have to pay for that Permit.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:50 PM

Selfish Rose. If all spaces are full, then you wait. If you are not disabled or dont have a disabled person in your car, DO NOT PARK IN THE SPACE FOR DISABLED PEOPLE.

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    Apr 7th 2013, 9:59 PM

Ahhh poor you !!!

Mute Margaret Mc Avinue
    Favourite Margaret Mc Avinue
    Apr 8th 2013, 1:20 AM

It’s really sad to see how many idiots are on the journal. They have no consideration for an 85 year old woman (my mother in law) who has a disability parking sticker but unfortunately her son

Mute Mark Smyth
    Favourite Mark Smyth

No excuse for it, they should double the fines for anyone caught using one

Mute Andrew O'Beirne

at least double! if not more, its the only way to stop it

Mute Begrudgy
    Favourite Begrudgy
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:38 PM

Vehicle gets towed away and crushed. Problem solved.

Mute On Raglan Road
    Favourite On Raglan Road
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:39 PM

So if your car is valued at €20,000 or €30,000 or more, that is the penalty you should be given. Wouldn’t it be the same as at least a €20,000 fine for parking into a disabled spot for five mins with a disabled person on board

Mute Fergal Kelly
    Favourite Fergal Kelly
    Apr 8th 2013, 8:09 AM

If you jne the that was the penalty for doing so would you really be thick enough to drive into one in your 20,000 euro car? If the answer is yes then not only do you deserve it for parking illegally but also for rampant stupidity

Mute Andrew O'Beirne
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:11 PM

and the only emergency that could in any way be acceptable is a medical one. Being late for something and not being able to find another space is not an emergency. Very disappointing to see that yes and no are very close. Parking tickets for parking illegally in a disabled spot should be far higher then parking anywhere else illegaly

Mute Kerry Wynne
    Favourite Kerry Wynne
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:13 PM

No No No! There is absolutely no need for anyone to park in disabled spaces. It is a selfish, arrogant practice and cannot be excused.
    I recently witnessed a friend with fairly limited mobility sit for 20 minutes waiting for a non disabled driver to return to their car and exit a disabled space. As the other driver drove off they had the cheek to laugh at my friend.
    Some have become so accustomed to the entitlement culture that they feel that it is their right to do what they want, when they want and don’t feel accountable to anyone.

Mute karla carroll
    Favourite karla carroll
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:00 PM

Perhaps they were dropping off a disabled person and returned to the car.. It can happen. I don’t think I’ve ever parked in a disabled spot but my husband did once outside our daughters school there were no other spots available and he had to drop in our daughters medical supplies as the school had run out of insulin, glucogen hypo-kit, needles, testing strips and lucozade for when her blood sugars dropped, it was gone for 2 mins. That’s the only time his parked in a disabled spot.

Mute Keith Murphy
    Favourite Keith Murphy
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:18 PM

I have a disability sticker and still I refuse to use the spaces because I know there are people worse off that need them.

Mute Andrew O'Beirne
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:29 PM

fair play, I have a friend in the same position. He used to need it, doesn’t anymore though, well most of the time anyway. Although one time he was grabbed and pushed up against his car for being a young lad parking in a disabled spot! (despite the fact he was just after going through a huge amount of chemotherapy). He could barely walk 20 metres at the time, and had his sticker on display

Mute Jeremy Callan
    Favourite Jeremy Callan
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:32 PM

I know someone who is entitled to a sticker, but refuses to use it. The same as yourself, he reckons that there are people more in need of those spots. Fair play to both of you.

I myself just couldn’t park in one. They are there for a reason.

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Favourite Danny McLaughlin
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:35 PM

I qualify to apply for one too. I never have. I believe that there are people more in need of the spaces.
    It disgusts me to see the spaces taken by those that don’t need them.
    I have an uncle with severe arthritis. He parks outside the church an hour and a half before mass, so he can get a space. If he didn’t, the spaces get taken by non permit holders.

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:14 PM

I certainly wouldn’t. I wouldn’t even take up one of those spaces used for charging e-cars. Maybe I’m the numpty here, but it’s a matter of civic pride. Even if its the last parking space available, if its not intended for use by me I’m not going to park there.
    And if a law is being broken, I’d raise it promptly with the relevant authorities.

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:11 PM

Only an absolute animal would park in a disabled space when they don’t need to.

Mute See My Vest
    Favourite See My Vest
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:49 PM

I’ve discovered that a huge amount of people think that the hazard lights mean you can park anywhere. Disabled spots, double parking, loading bays, yellow lines single and double, it goes on and on.

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:19 PM

It’s a well known fact that hazard lights make a car tiny and well parked no matter where it is.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Apr 7th 2013, 11:19 PM

I think they should be served with meat and potatoes and an apple in their big fat gob.

The poster means no disrespect to those with big, fat gobs.

Mute seamus mcdermott
    Favourite seamus mcdermott
    Apr 7th 2013, 11:22 PM

Weird. I was replying to Damocles comment about serving meaty fines on offenders… sorry ’bout that.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:16 PM

How on earth are the Yes votes winning? I’m starting to think The Journal polls have picked up a bot.

Mute Dennis Wright
    Favourite Dennis Wright

It’s sad to realise that over 50% of the people are selfish drongs.

Mute Andrew O'Beirne
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:44 PM

unfortunately Dennis, it doesn’t surprise me in the slightest. ya can see people parking in them the whole time

Mute Hugo Sanchez
    Favourite Hugo Sanchez

Usually the polls on the journal are the opposite to what the majority of Ireland as a whole think. There’s a big difference on people who are active online than the normal joe soap who doesn’t bother.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:58 PM

And yet the majority of comments are from the “No” position.

So it would appear that those selecting “Yes” are not only selfish a$$holes, they’re primarily cowards too. Makes sense.

And with that sweeping generalisation, I’m off :)

Mute Dennis Wright
    Favourite Dennis Wright
    Apr 7th 2013, 7:04 PM

The entrance roads into the car park of our supermarket alternate one way and the other, with arrows painted on the surface. It’s easy to see – a chicken could work it out. Most folk drive in or out the correct way and park in the right spot, but there are always a few; they park in the family spaces when alone, the disabled spots when sound of limb, or the double yellows right outside the door, on the pedestrian crossing. When they leave they drive against the arrows to save themselves 5 seconds, forcing other cars out of the way.

What’s so worrying is that you can’t recognise these morons – they look just like us apart from a certain arrogant swagger. You’d think such ugly souls would manifest an ugliness of features. Why are we unable to cull this hateful set of genes from the pool I wonder? We’ve had a couple of million years to do it but still they contaminate the peaceable and compassionate animal most of us have evolved into. Maybe I should be compassionate to such an obvious evolutionary defect, but what I really want to do is punch them hard in the snout, and growing older doesn’t diminish this but makes it stronger!

Mute Ellie Reville
    Favourite Ellie Reville
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:40 PM

I think it’s shocking that 43% think that it’s acceptable.

Mute Pauline Clifford
    Favourite Pauline Clifford
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:47 PM

If you want the space ,take the disability that goes with it and then you might understand why they are there in the first place.

Mute James A. O'Connor
    Favourite James A. O'Connor
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:15 PM

I think they should only ever be used by the disabled or those driving the disabled around but all too frequently do you see the abuse of the stickers with people borrowing them off relatives to park next to the door of the shopping centre. It’s not fair on those that really need the spaces and hopefully the new stickers with Id of who the sticker is issued to will curb this abuse of the system

Mute Claire Johnstone
    Favourite Claire Johnstone
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:48 PM

I think it’s a bit ridiculous to state that people borrow passes to park near shops! Is it not as likely that they could be coming bak to collect the person who the card belongs to? Just because you do not see a person with a disability getting out of the car, this does not mean people are abusing the system!

Mute AdeleM
    Favourite AdeleM
    Apr 7th 2013, 7:03 PM

I know for a fact people borrow them.. People used to take my aunts from time to time if they were going shopping in Dublin and places like that. Don’t know why she’d give it because its people like her were losing out but anyway! I couldn’t park in one.

Mute Claire Johnstone
    Favourite Claire Johnstone
    Apr 7th 2013, 7:19 PM

If people are found misusing disabled passes they can be imprisoned or receive a huge fine! Might want to mention this to the “borrowers”

Mute joe dangermouse
    Favourite joe dangermouse
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:07 PM

I wouldn’t but it is really tempting when it is the only space left.

Mute The Green Monkey
    Favourite The Green Monkey
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:48 PM

I never have but have you ever noticed the number of disabled spaces at some shopping centres, they seem to outnumber regular spaces two to one………..

Mute joe stodge
    Favourite joe stodge
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:56 PM

Never, people who do are dirt. Even if they are waiting on someone. The majority of the time it’s just laziness.

Mute Eamonn Bolger
    Favourite Eamonn Bolger
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:04 PM

The other side of it is that there Re people with these stickers who should not have them. And are abusing them.

Mute mattoid
    Favourite mattoid
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:50 PM

If anyone sees someone abusing a disabled space they should leave a note on the windscreen saying “Stupidity and laziness are not disabilities”
    :-D

Mute John Michael
    Favourite John Michael
    Apr 7th 2013, 7:32 PM

A friend of mine was dropping his wife to work in the morning at the shopping centre. It was Sunday and there wasn’t a car in the car-park. He dropped her to the door because it was raining and parked in a disabled spot. Suddenly a Garda appeared and gave him a ticket for it. He said to the Garda, “are you serious. There’s no other cars in the car-park”, and the Garda replied “exactly”. Lesson learned.

Mute Continent Simian
    Favourite Continent Simian
    Apr 8th 2013, 12:02 PM

I saw a Garda car parked across TWO parent & child spaces outside our local Superquinn.

In fairness, the carpark was empty, but still…

Mute Dorothy Roche Bermingham
    Favourite Dorothy Roche Bermingham
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:54 PM

Anyone who parks in a disabled space without a valid sticker should get penalty points and a fine!

Mute Dave Sherman
    Favourite Dave Sherman
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:43 PM

Good point Dorothy. 3 points on your licence and a €300 fine. I would love that as a job.

Mute karla carroll
    Favourite karla carroll
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:53 PM

What about the ones who borrow a friends or family members passes just so they can park in the disabled spot when they have no disability? Plenty of people take advantage of the disabled pass when they have no right to do so, because the person who holds the pass isn’t with them.

Mute Andrew O'Beirne
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:08 PM

Ì refuse to do it. But I notice in NUIG, where they are after doing one area up, that there is i think 5 disabled parking spaces. But despite it being a common drop off area, there is no set down area. Therefore cars just pull into the disabled spaces to wait, and I have often seen them there for around half an hour. But these people will also say that they wouldnt park in them, because they wouldnt leave the car there while they went. I have actually been told by another motorist, while I was waiting, to pull into the disabled spaces, because I was in the way while I double parked for 2 minutes waiting for someone.

Mute Maurice Wrenn
    Favourite Maurice Wrenn
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:17 PM

Nothing worse than seeing some1 with no handicap parking in the space I don’t no how they can do it. I will say it they are usually fat people who are to lazy to walk more that for a few minuets

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:06 PM

The same ones who park outside the door at a petrol station, oblivious to the blockage they’ve just caused.
    Grrrr..

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:14 PM

What about the mother and baby parking spaces,would a man get funny looks if he parked there but had a small baby,is there daddy and baby spaces.

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:21 PM

I have no problem parking in mother and child spaces if I’m not with my son. I don’t think they should get their own spaces personally. Maybe for the extra bit of room to get the kid out but I think those spaces would be better served as handicapped spaces.

Mute Chloe Grant
    Favourite Chloe Grant
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:23 PM

They are actually called parent and child spaces

See 14 more replies ▾
    Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:26 PM

The ones i seen are mother and babie they’re in the super value in waterford.

Mute Leslie Alan Rock
    Favourite Leslie Alan Rock

If you can’t even spell baby properly. And in this day and age do you think they would get away with calling them mother and baby spaces? They are called parent and baby spaces.

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:45 PM

How old can the child be? 15?

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer

Leslie,

They are called Mother and child spaces everywhere where I live so you are wrong.

And nice grammar on your sentence ridiculing his spelling by the way

Mute Lisa Coyne
    Favourite Lisa Coyne
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:10 PM

Jack/Shane are very very close Les, don’t upset them!!

Mute Andrew O'Beirne
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:11 PM

No i think they should have them, it’s to allow for buggies and what not,.. But mother and child? no… I very nearly got ticketed before for having a young cousin with me i think it was. They were in a buggy, I parked in the ‘mother and child’ space, and was told i wasn’t entitled to because I wasnt a mother. so i had to move to a normal space. Left it awkward as hell getting the child out of the car seat and then trying to get the buggie out too was extremely hard as the spaces were quite small.

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:14 PM

Ha ha,

Just sticking up for my boy!

Mute Aurélie Trombetta
    Favourite Aurélie Trombetta
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:32 PM

Using parents/children’s space with no kids is the same as taking handicap space.

Fastening a baby in a car seat with only 50 cm of door opening is a nightmare.
    Walking with toddlers in a car park at busy time is dangerous because the cars pulling can’t see the kids.
    I avoid shopping with my kids in general, but when I have too and I end up at the far end cos someone like you thought that caring was for others, I hope it will be your car that my son will slam into opening his door enthusiastically.

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:53 PM

Maybe if you opened the door for your son there wouldn’t be a problem. I’m able to manage fine to take my son in and out of the car in normal spaces so you should be too.

An no, it’s nowhere near as bad as parking in a disabled space.

Mute Karen Gillen
    Favourite Karen Gillen

Parent & child places they should be, any place that picks on a male using them needs a severe slap of common sense and a formal complaint made against them. Those wider spaces are crucial for those of us with small kids that have to be physically lifted in and out of the car, and have their seatbelt secured by an adult. Its just impossible to manage in some narrow spaces, particularly if you have a newborn and their car seat has to come out to be clicked onto a buggy.

The times I’ve struggled to get kids & baby out of the car and safely herd them across a carpark – not to mention the time the baby was 8wks old and sick with a head cold and it was pissing rain – only to see some lazy over weight oul wan who cba to walk across the carpark in the P&C spot, or there’s often a male sitting in the car while his missus goes into the supermarket. Or worst of all, the snotty wagon I called out on parking in the last P&C spot while strolling out of her jeep solo & I juggled two small kids and was heavily pregnant. She told me she can’t park her brand new land rover so she needed the wide space more than I did >:( She was lucky I’m too much of a lady to dish out black eyes, but I was soooo tempted.

Mute Shane King
    Favourite Shane King
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:51 PM

Good man jack I’ve got your back man.

Mute Orla Machin
    Favourite Orla Machin
    Apr 7th 2013, 8:20 PM

Jack, those spaces are needed for parents with small kids I.e. babies whereby you need to get the car seat out with the baby in it. Impossible to do in a standard parking space. Still feel you have the right to take that space?

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Apr 7th 2013, 10:37 PM

Think about it Jack!! The spaces are usually bigger so as to take your child out( who maybe still small and needs to exit in his/her car seat), and are also close to the doors so your are not walking half a car park in all weathers!!

Mute Continent Simian
    Favourite Continent Simian
    Apr 8th 2013, 8:13 AM

I was just pulling up to a Parent & Child space yesterday (2 small kids & a buggy), when a passing jeep turned, without indicating, shot down the wrong way of a one-way lane and took it. No children were on board.

The driver stated me down as she casually sorted out stuff from the boot. No shame.

Unfortunately, being a tosser is not illegal.

Mute Graham Kiely
    Favourite Graham Kiely
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:31 PM

I derive great pleasure from watching cars being towed away having parked in disabled spots when they shouldn’t have. Better still if the owner arrives back just as the car is on the back of the truck. On another note, I see plenty of well able bodied people using these spaces with a valid disabled disc and NOT dropping off or collecting a disabled person.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:36 PM

How do you know they’re able bodied? Do you check their medical history? What if they have an illness you can’t readily see?

Mute Andrew O'Beirne

I said that below about a friend of mine who underwent chemo. he looked healthy, but was extremely weak, and he had a valid disabled disk. He was confronted about it, and was lucky he had friends with him at the time. But if they are not in possession of a valid disk, then they are not entitled to park there. full stop. even id you can’t readily see it, they should have a valid disk

Mute Danny McLaughlin
    Favourite Danny McLaughlin
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:00 PM

On fairness Graham,
    I look able bodied, but I also qualify for one. I wouldn’t apply, but there are many that do.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Favourite Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:06 PM

There’s more to disability than using a wheelchair or having a limp. Chronic severe back pain qualifies you for a tag but you’d be hard pressed to spot someone with it unless you were trained.

Mute Irene Bijedić
    Favourite Irene Bijedić
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:06 PM

They could have multiple sclerosis, early stage parkinsons, motor neuron disease, arthritis the list is endless

I’m shocked at the poll actually.
    People should educate themselves that not everyone using disabled spaces are in wheelchairs or need to be in a wheelchair to avail of the space.

Very sad that people feel a sense of entitlement to use them when they are not disabled and in possession of a disabled parking permit.

Mute Zoe Hughes
    Favourite Zoe Hughes
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:33 PM

A lot of people seem to be of the opinion that these spots are for wheelchair users only. They are for individuals whose mobility is impaired. That can come in many forms. Sometimes that is not always visible- everyone has good and bad days. And sometimes what starts as a good mobility day can degenerate into a bad one very quickly, and so the close spots really help in those cases.

Mute Jenni Harrison
    Favourite Jenni Harrison
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:41 PM

Yes but they are only for those that have successfully applied for and received a permit.

Mute dave
    Favourite dave

If im goin into tesco at around 11, and there is about ten of them spaces empty and im just grabbing milk and bread, then yes i would, and have done

Mute Niall
    Favourite Niall
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:20 PM

Well Dave. That makes you a disrespectful d**khead then.

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:24 PM

Then you are as bad as someone who does it at the height of a Saturday afternoon. Is it that difficult to walk another 10yards or so?

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan

Dave, you’re a knacker!

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:27 PM

Are all the other spaces used up? Would you not just walk the extra 15 yards from the standard parking spots?

Mute John Redmond
    Favourite John Redmond

Dave your a lazy git

Mute Lisa Coyne
    Favourite Lisa Coyne
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:30 PM

If you’re that lazy Dave then it’s only a matter of time until you will actually qualify for one of those spaces.

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Favourite Revolting Peasant
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:33 PM

oOOooOo Dave you have you have raised the ire of the dis-approvers! i understand what you are saying, the chances of 10 handicapped drivers showing up to a deserted super-market car park at 11 pm weekend night are practically non existent but the finger waggers have to have their wags

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:42 PM

Your name is quite apt…

Mute Dave Kavanagh
    Favourite Dave Kavanagh
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:43 PM

Good man for admitting it Dave. The guys below critical of you are just not honest enough to admit they would do the same thing.

Mute Andrew O'Beirne

I wouldn’t. I never have. I would double park if I had to but I would not park in a disabled spot

Mute Colin Tyrrell
    Favourite Colin Tyrrell

Dave #2.
    No I wouldn’t do it. And haven’t done it. Feel free to speak for me on all matters though.

Mute Andrew O'Beirne
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:49 PM

and when i say double park, i don’t mean for ages. Like if i was collecting someone or dropping someone off. I wouldn’t leave the car double parked. The main reason I feel that way is that car parks are one of the most frustrating places in the world, between people cutting up a one way thing because they see a space, to people who park in the middle of two places. It really annoys me and as such I make a point about parking properly

Mute paula d
    Favourite paula d

So is what your saying is that people who drive disabled cars don’t need to go to the shop late at night the same as others??

Mute Little Jim
    Favourite Little Jim
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:56 PM

Two Daves, two donkeys.
    What’s the chances of that?

Mute Notonthedoleanymore
    Favourite Notonthedoleanymore
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:00 PM

What’s a knacker ?

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:02 PM

There’s another one below! 3 losers

Apr 7th 2013, 2:17 PM

I’m sure Deputy Phil Jogancouldexplain that to you.

Apr 7th 2013, 2:18 PM

I meant Deputy Phil Hogan

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Apr 7th 2013, 9:36 PM

I park in a disabled parking space almost every day at work. There are no disabled people at work. I don’t know why someone painted a wheelchair on the ground in the first place. I actually think there are too many disabled parking spaces around.

Mute Richard Keogh
    Favourite Richard Keogh
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:18 PM

Absolutely not and it deserves extremely draconian punishment to stop people doing it. 6 points on a licence for a first offence and 6 month driving ban for a second sounds about right, maybe lenient. The same terms should apply to relatives who use the badges without the disabled person in the car. When you have a disabled relative who needs to get a wide space as near to shops as possible and you see the few disabled spaces taken by lazy able bodied people you might understand. I have reported people for doing this in the past, I would have no qualms about doing so again in the future.

Mute Colm M
    Favourite Colm M
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:14 PM

951 people saying “yes”ffs people these spaces are for people..thats PEOPLE…who are mobility impaired..who live their lives in the face of challenges that few of us can imagine. Sickening that our society has degenerated so much

Mute Orla Machin
    Favourite Orla Machin
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:42 PM

On a similar subject, parent and child spaces are not for people to use when they don’t have a child with them and teenagers are not children. They exist so that parents can get a baby and car seat out of the car by fully opening/extending the car door. It just so happens that they are nearer the entrance than general parking and beside disabled parking.

Mute Jenni Harrison
    Favourite Jenni Harrison
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:48 PM

Totally agree Orla. In my local Supervalu there are only 2 p&c spaces… I have a 4 month old & a 2 yr old so need the space on each side to get them out. But they’re always taken by elderly people or parents with much older kids…

Mute Barry Sheehan
    Favourite Barry Sheehan

There are a disproportionate number of disabled car parking spaces in car park generally. How many genuinely handicapped people drive? The number of handicapped spaces should be proportionate to the number of handicapped people who hold a driving licence. Moreover, are not the elderly or pregnant women in their last trimester equally deserving of preferential parking?

Mute Ferdia O'Brien
    Favourite Ferdia O'Brien

Generally the spaces are there for those who are driving the disabled people around and need space to help the people out of the car, not those who are disabled, and are driving.

Mute Stephanie Fleming

Can someone tell me when people who don’t drive stopped travelling in cars?

Mute Barry Sheehan
    Favourite Barry Sheehan
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:03 PM

Interesting point. However, presumably the people transporting people with disabilities do not do so exclusively. Consequently, the current system is open to abuse. Are you suggesting these people should always get preferential parking just because they sometimes transport people with disabilities?

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:18 PM

Of course not, what a ridiculous suggestion. And the system is under open to abuse, as is evident by the fact that people with no permit at all use the spaces. However, upon inspection by a traffic warden, the abuse is easily caught because the cards have a photograph of the person they are for on them. Their name and, I think, DOB are also printed on it. So basically upon inspection if no-one in your car holds a valid permit, you’re in trouble.

Mute Klara Hallinan
    Favourite Klara Hallinan
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:36 PM

@Barry Sheehan, my dad has Multiple Sclerosis (MS) very bad in his left leg, and as a result has a parking permit because he can’t walk for a long distance, eg across a car park, or his leg starts to give out and he also needs a walking stick as he has very little balance. He still drives himself around though.
    His car has been specially modified for his disability, he has an automatic car with the brake and accelerator on a handle below the steering wheel enabling him to drive perfectly well without needing to use his legs. So yes, people who are genuinely handicapped can drive themselves around.

Mute Klara Hallinan
    Favourite Klara Hallinan
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:41 PM

Apologies, that last line came across bitchy, it wasn’t meant to! I was just trying to explain how people with certain disabilities can drive!

Mute Barry Sheehan
    Favourite Barry Sheehan
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:01 PM

@Stephanie Fleming Traffic wardens are only in a position to police public car parks. Accordingly, there are no meaningful sanctions in a private car park for misuse (e.g. shopping centre). However, my basic point remains unanswered – is there any empirical evidence to prove the current number of disabled car parking spaces nationwide are proportionate to the number of disabled drivers or disabled passengers. I suspect not, and supply exceeds demand, but political correctness maintains the status quo.

Mute Barry Sheehan
    Favourite Barry Sheehan
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:06 PM

@Klara I would wholeheartedly support car park spaces for people like your Dad. My basic point is does supply exceed demand for disabled parking spaces? If so, is it political correctness that prevents change?

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:46 PM

Demand is variable. I’d sooner I couldn’t find a parking spot ten days in a row than a wheelchair user be unable to find even once.

Mute Klara Hallinan
    Favourite Klara Hallinan
    Apr 8th 2013, 2:24 PM

@Barry Sheehan, in articles 13:41 to 13:40-something on this page:
    http://www.nda.ie/cntmgmtnew.nsf/0/9007e317368ada638025718d00372224/$file/strategy_for_equality_16.htm
    It states that developers of private car parks are required to provide one disabled parking space for every fifty regular spaces, but beyond that ratio the amount provided is entirely up to the developer themselves. I do agree though, in some private car parks the ratio is entirely disproportionate.
    In my opinion though, the situation with on-street disabled parking, outside shops in residential areas for example, is entirely the opposite.

Mute aurilton
    Favourite aurilton

For those that do …..
    I hope Karma returns the bite of a crocodile and the shit of a blue whale

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer

In fairness the shit of a blue whale is more valuable than gold these days so you may not want karma to deliver that to these cretins :)

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G

I was going to say “I think you mean whale vomit” but after a small bit I research (just to “make sure”) it turns out that I’d fallen victim to a common misconception and it’s the excretion that is ambergris, the vomit. So thank you, every day is a school day.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G

*not the vomit. D’oh!

Mute Jack Bauer
    Favourite Jack Bauer
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:12 PM

Glad I could be of help! :) I believe it’s used in cosmetics or perfumes. Something along those lines.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:15 PM

Correct, fragrances.

“Why is it so valuable?
    Because it’s used in the high-end fragrance industry. Ambergris was the main ingredient in a super-expensive, 200-year-old perfume originally made by Marie Antoinette. And today, perfume companies like Chanel and Lanvin use it to “fix scent to human skin,” says Johnna Rizzo at National Geographic. A few ounces of the stuff can go for a few thousand dollars, earning it the nickname “floating gold.”"

Mute AlanH -AFC
    Favourite AlanH -AFC
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:34 PM

Majority of elderly drivers Feel that disabled parking spots are just for them !

Mute Graham Mace
    Favourite Graham Mace

Quite possibly some elderly drivers may be sufficiently incapacitated some days to honestly count as disabled. Chronic conditions such as sciatica, for example, come and go and when you are suffering it’s no joke. Still comes down to the question of “what conditions qualify as disability entitlement?”

Mute Frances Heneghan
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:53 PM

Medical assessment necessary for card.

Mute Nick Hill
    Favourite Nick Hill
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:53 PM

Disabled parking space – No. Disabled toilet – eh, Yes.

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Favourite Marilyn Maroney
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:30 PM

Be thankful you don’t have a disability that requires one of those parking spaces ..and get off your lazy butts and walk alittle bit further..we take too much for granted.

Mute Theresa Carter
    Favourite Theresa Carter
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:19 PM

No wonder parent spaces are treated trivially if this is the disregard shown to disability spaces. Some people just don’t get respect- worrying thing here though us the percentage involved!

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:31 PM

Hmmm… The current results of the poll gives me little hope for the readership of The Journal, and convinces me that it is not representative of national opinion.

I wonder if there’s any correlation between this poll and the poll ran here the day before the Meath East by-election? Can I assume that the yes-voters here are Sinn Fein or ULA voters? Interesting.

Mute Andrew O'Beirne
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:42 PM

how can you assume its Sinn Fein or ULA voters? thats ridiculous! the reason you see a lead in the ‘yes’ side, but a huge majority of comments against it, is that people that park in them arent going to openly admit it and leave themselves open for abuse

Mute Revolting Peasant

it probably is sf and ula supporters as ff/fg and labour supporters must all be brain damaged so qualify for the pass

Mute Karl Power
    Favourite Karl Power
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:41 PM

People who use these spots and there are many should automatically get penalty points.

Mute Itiswhatitis
    Favourite Itiswhatitis
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:11 PM

Ridiculous statement to make.

Mute Jessica Ní Mhaoláin
    Apr 7th 2013, 11:18 PM

Totally agree! A €200 fine and 2 penalty points should put manners on the imbeciles who park there without permits

Mute Barry Freeney
    Favourite Barry Freeney

Although I do not park in one I do become very annoyed when visiting the park in Carrickmines. Just last week there were loads of us driving around looking for a space, whilst there were 24 empty disabled parking spaces.
    This completely incorrect ratio of disabled spaces can be seen mirrored in many other areas such as Woodies.

Mute Bernie Palmer
    Favourite Bernie Palmer
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:47 PM

I have lung disease. Some days are better than others. If I didn’t have blue badge, which I have to pay for, I would be housebound unless someone could take me out. I cannot walk far. My illness is not visible but it is there. Even when I can get spot near door, by the time I get in to shops I need trolley to lean on for a while to catch my breath. My blue badge gives me independence. Unfortunately some people don’t have a problem lending their badges to able bodied family members. There needs to be more inspectors, as in England, and when badge is used without disabled person being present, the badge is confiscated, and they are fined. My local shopping centre has about 10 disabled spots. It is very difficult to get a space most of the time. The car park, which is big, is always full. Can’t say the same for the shops so where the people who own the card are is anyone’s guess.

Mute David O'Reilly
    Favourite David O'Reilly
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:09 PM

Does a heavy stutter count? http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sORXJLqvlLk

Mute Ted Power
    Favourite Ted Power
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:20 PM

Surely you could still use it if it was an in-valid sticker? (I’m really sorry about that one)

Mute Lorna Gleasure
    Favourite Lorna Gleasure
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:52 PM

My Mother was severely disabled and we sometimes had to return home because the disabled parking places were occupied, often the places were taken by non-disabled parkers. I would beg the able-bodied not to take these places.

Mute Conor
    Favourite Conor
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:04 PM

It’s mostly knackers driving their knacked out untaxed and nct’d sh*tboxes who are in too much of a rush to get their vodka and fags, to actually do the smallest item of decency for the society theyr live in.

Mute Galwaybay
    Favourite Galwaybay

While I would never park in a disable parking place the question I ask is how disabled do you have to be to get a disabled badge. The reason I ask is I know two people that has them. One fellow is in his thirties while he may have a soar toe he not exactly on crutches. I have seen him dancing away to his heart content at a wedding only a few months back. The other person I know only got it because the doctor said it would look better on her long term disablity payment form. She again is well capable of walking when it suit and has being known to give a lend of it to others.

Mute Andrew O'Beirne
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:39 PM

and thats the kind of thing that people need to report

Mute Galwaybay
    Favourite Galwaybay

As should the doctors that issued them

Mute Ferdia O'Brien
    Favourite Ferdia O'Brien
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:46 PM

@Galwaybay: The doctors that issued the discs aren’t to likely to report themselves now are they? Lol.

Mute Leigh crossan
    Favourite Leigh crossan

Wats her number!!!!!!

Mute Galwaybay
    Favourite Galwaybay
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:20 PM

Well I don’t know and even if I did I’m hardly going to publish it here

Mute Frances Heneghan
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:57 PM

Why not report to DDA?

Mute Garvan Browne
    Favourite Garvan Browne
    Apr 7th 2013, 8:11 PM

Actually doctors don’t issue disks. They fill out a report stating why they feel that their patient needs a disk. The HSE then make the decision..

Mute Geraldine Byrne
    Favourite Geraldine Byrne
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:07 PM

Really depressing that so many selfish ignorant people would use disabled parking spaces.

Mute Poppy
    Favourite Poppy

I wouldn’t park in one but there are far too many. At my local Tesco there must be over 20 of them. They are nearly all empty.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:10 PM

I think that’s standard for Tesco. There are 20 in the Tesco at Wilton shopping centre in cork too but they’re all always full. Drove around with a friend who is a wheelchair user for fully 20 minutes before giving up and taking an ordinary space and without sufficient space on his side of the car, he couldn’t leave the car and had to send me in to get what he was after. I’d sooner 20 species with 10 empty than 5 spaces and five people having to park in too far, too narrow spaces.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:10 PM

*spaces

Mute Jessica Ní Mhaoláin
    Apr 7th 2013, 11:11 PM

I had the same problem in Tesco Wilton myself. All 20 spaces were filled, but only 19 had permits to park there. The last 1 (parked in the space nearest to the door may I add!) had no badge and was very badly parked in the space too! I felt like keying the car that was there! We had to take a space literally ages away at the very edge of the car park. I have a severe vision impairment which is why I have the badge and was on crutches too. I was actually shaking with the anger!!! The entire car park was really full that day which is presumably why this genius decided he’d take the first space he could find!

Mute See My Vest
    Favourite See My Vest
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:05 PM

Question: is the reg number of the car printed on the permit like on a tax disc? It would at least solve the issue of passing around the permit.

Mute Tricia G
    Favourite Tricia G
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:20 PM

That wouldn’t work. The badge belongs to the disabled person not the car they happen to be in. No guarantee they only have access to one car.

Mute Zoe Hughes
    Favourite Zoe Hughes

The problem with that is that the sticker is meant to reside with the person, not the car. For example if your friend is helping you out that day, they should e able to park in the disabled spots in order for you to get around, etc. also many people who need these passes don’t drive themselves and so would be driven in a variety of cars and taxis.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:12 PM

There’s photo ID on the card. You don’t have to own a car to need to be able to park in a disabled spot (many people with disabilities don’t drive but get driven places and still beed the wider space. So having a reg doesn’t make sense.

Mute Frances Heneghan
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:49 PM

No. But signature & photo ID of Disabled on card.

Mute Jessica Ní Mhaoláin
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:04 PM

Photo ID and a signature are on the back of the permit, which the parking warden is more than entitled to check if they are in doubt. I’m a permit holder but because of my disability (I’m severely visually impaired) I can’t drive. But I bring my permit everywhere with me so I can use it no matter which car I’m in; e.g. parents car, friends car etc.

Mute Jessica Ní Mhaoláin
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:54 PM

The fact so many voted “Yes” says a lot about the entitlement culture in this country. I’m an able bodied permit holder (who is unable to drive) and the 2 things that drive me mental about this situation are: 1) those of you who think it’s ok to park in these spaces whenever you feel like it or to use them as set down spaces; and 2) those of you who stare at me getting out of the car and demand to know if I have a permit or why I have a permit because “you’re not in a wheelchair”.
    I have a severe vision impairment and I’m just as entitled to my permit as a less-able bodied person as I will have less obstacles and less chance of getting a wallop of a car if I’m in a car which is parked in a disabled spot compared to waaaay across the car park. Having said that though, if there’s a regular space just as close to the door I’d use that too as I know the double wide space is more useful for a wheelchair user than myself.
    And those of you who said “ah but there’s 20 spaces that won’t all be used by permit holders/users”. That does happen! Happened to me in Tesco (Wilton) when 20 spaces were filled by 19 permit users and 1 lazy p***k without one who parked there coz he couldn’t find another space. I swear I felt like keying his car!! I’m using crutches at the moment too which is making these spaces twice as important to me right now.

Please think before you park in these spaces!!!

Mute Ciaran McCann
    Favourite Ciaran McCann
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:30 PM

Blanchardstown shopping centre is the worst I’ve seen in Dublin! Between people in 2 seater sports cars parked in mother and child spots to people sitting in the wheelchair spaces waiting on family and friends. Outside the Red Mall is just shocking! Security look straight out the door and do absolutely nothing! The leave it to the car clamping company. In about 10 years I’ve only seen 1 car clamped . People don’t give a crap at the end of the day! You’d probably get knifed anyway if you approached a culprit! I heard a story of how a women ran after a guy who parked in the mother and child spaces(who didn’t have a child in the car), and said “Sorry sir, you left your child in your car”!! It left him red faced to say the least!

Mute gerry michael somers
    Favourite gerry michael somers
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:39 PM

AS A DISABLED PERSON I FIND THIS USED BY NON DISABLED VERY OFTEN.
    TO SAY IT ANNOYS ME WOULD BE AN UNDERSTATEMENT.

GERRY.

Mute Frank2521
    Favourite Frank2521
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:36 PM

2 days ago I witnessed a well known property developer zipping into a handicapped space just to run into a coffee shop. Some people do what they like. A local lady who drives a range rover parks everyday in the handicapped space to go into Butlers Pantry. These selfish people never think of the consequences to other. I hope some day they have to drive around looking for a space and their colostomy bags burst simply because there are no spaces available. 100% tolerance for parking at bus stops and handicapped spaces. The Garda ignore these offences even when they are right under their noses.

Mute Leigh crossan
    Favourite Leigh crossan
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:46 PM

I use them all the time so handy!!!!

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:09 PM

^^

Mute Cormac McGrane
    Favourite Cormac McGrane
    Apr 7th 2013, 1:55 PM

Disabled stickers are probably the problem. Too many able bodied people driving cars with such stickers and using disabled parking spaces. I have seen cars with intellectually disabled passengers using them too, where the passengers are perfectly capable of walking as far as I could. I have also visited car parks to shop and found no able bodied spaces but several with the wheelchair sticker. Do we take our business elsewhere in the hope that disabled people will turn up and use up all the spaces while I drive to the next shopping centre? I think the issue needs to be thought out a bit more before we start slamming people without permits who misuse the spaces. I have read the comments and feel that there are more permit holder spaces than there are disabled drivers. This is a planning issue more than a disability issue.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:15 PM

You must be some person to be able to identify a disability just by glancing at someone sitting in a car! Surely you can put your talents to better use?

Mute Cormac McGrane
    Favourite Cormac McGrane
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:26 PM

Stephanie, believe me, I know what I am talking about from personal experience. I live in a relatively small town where sons and daughters, husbands etc often use their disabled mother’s, father’s granny’s son’s car for personal use or to run errands. Even if the errand is for the disabled, it does not entitle an able bodied person to use such spaces. The sticker is greatly abused and there are more spaces than needed.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:51 PM

Misuse of the tag happens and is unacceptable, I agree. But I would infinitely prefer that I be repeatedly inconvenienced by lack of parking space with ten available disabled ones than a disabled person be completely screwed on their monthly shop even once in ten years. Also it’s not their car that has permission to use a spot, it’s the person. Tags are specific to people, not vehicles. And with intellectual disability comes a huge range of factors that can mean that person needs a disabled spot.

You can’t expect to just look at a person with Down’s syndrome and assume they’re capable of walking safely and easily from one place to another. They’re not all alike for crying out loud.

Mute Gary Brandon
    Favourite Gary Brandon
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:22 PM

Ive noticed alot more women doing it than but thats not saying there arent just as many men, ivr never done it and when ive pointed it out to one or two women ive gotten dirty looks or got the finger stuck up, to be honest tho I dont think there shud be deaignated disabled spots they should just make all spaces accessible for every type of person. I dont see the need to single out a specific type of space just because they have a disabillity, what happens if all spaces are occupied, is said person supposed to go to a different shopping centre? Make all spaces wide enuff for everyone that way it looses a sense of worry of someone lookin for a space and also allows women enuff space to park the huge truck like Nissan Micras they struggle to get in and oyt of spaces :)

Mute Margaret Kennedy
    Favourite Margaret Kennedy
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:21 PM

So Gary you don’t see the ‘need’ for designated spaces? Actually some disabled people HAVE to go to another shop if spaces for disabled people are full. we have allocated parking spaces because we are either sick, have difficulty walking, are wheelchair users. have had hip replacements, on chemo, have heart disease, lung disease , etc. all these conditions makes it so much harder to shop. having a parking bay CLOSE to the entrance to a shop/shops means you don’t have to walk so far.

Yesterdays in Dunnes Stores the few spaces for disabled people were occupied. but we got a place close by. My twin and I can barely walk do to a neurodegenerative disorder. a woman got out of a car in a disabled parking bay and at first we didn’t think she was disabled until we saw her get out her portable oxygen and ‘hook’ herself up. THATS why these spaces are a god-send. DON’T TAKE THEM if you are not entitled and Gary…get educated!

Mute Gary Brandon
    Favourite Gary Brandon
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:02 PM

No I dont see the need why cant all spaces be equal and accessible by everyone disabled or not? Fair enough it may be tough but I dont see the need for em in car parks. Maybe on a road outside some shops yeah but everyone should be equal and be able to park where they want and having all spaces equal in size makes it easier for everyone. Solves all problems for everyone but really cant see the need for them to be so close. Equality is what we need not special places and spaces if everyone is able to park with or without a disability then whats wrong with that? I still cannot see the need for special spaces in special areas.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:22 PM

Width wise your theory is sound Gary, I know it would be nice to have a space wide enough to comfortably get out of my car without worrying about banging the side of the neighbouring car. But it is damn near impossible to all spaces equidistant from the door to the shopping centre and walking distance is a major factor for some disabilities.

Mute Cliona Quinlivan Butler
    Favourite Cliona Quinlivan Butler
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:32 PM

Sometimes a person with an intellectual disability may have a permits as he may be unaware of dangers of road and open spaces etc. they are usually passengers not drivers

Mute Neil Richardson
    Favourite Neil Richardson
    Apr 8th 2013, 9:35 AM

If you made every space in a car park accessible you’ve only reduced the capacity of the car park and increased the distance those who rely on accessible spaces will be required to walk/wheelchair to the door.

Mute Frances Heneghan

This poll result is appalling. But explains why I can’t avail of Disabled Parking 90% of the time. Especially at Hospitals, where Disabled Bays are occupied by Staff, Delivery Vans & tradesmens’ vehicles. All very fine except for the Disabled, then?

Mute Revolting Peasant
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:27 PM

if i had a car i would park it sideways across 3 of them spaces

Mute Frances Heneghan
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:04 PM

Karma. Beware.

Mute Tony Heffernan a DAD
    Favourite Tony Heffernan a DAD
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:39 PM

As a father of two children who both were issued with parking cards, I get annoyed when people who don’t need the spaces take the pi*s.

Its a matter of enforcement and offenders should be towed away or clamped. And I would suggest a double fine and penalty points.

Super market operators should be required to monitor improper use.

Mute Adam Sheridan
    Favourite Adam Sheridan
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:32 PM

Its the same with EV charge points. You can’t use them if a petrol cars in them. If the council/government dont go heavy on people for using disabled spots why would anyone stop using them. I’ve seen garda cars in them before, when they were rushing in to McDonalds.

Mute Gary Brandon
    Favourite Gary Brandon
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:40 PM

If u were silly and naive enough to buy a bigger eco damaging car well its ur own fault, if u had have bought a more economical diesel, like a VW Bluemotion Polo then u wud have saved money been less damaging to the environment and saved urself alot of walking since the range of most of them things wudnt get u nearly as far as a diesel supermini.

Mute Siobhan Feely
    Favourite Siobhan Feely
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:47 PM

I would never park in a disabled space. But I do think there are way too many at shopping centres and as for the ” mother/child spaces – seriously unnecessary :)

Mute Cliona Quinlivan Butler
    Favourite Cliona Quinlivan Butler
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:11 PM

I would never park in a disabled spot it’s unfair to those who need it ,but it can be abused…as regards Parent and Child spaces only use them when I have kids with me and am stopping to use them as my kids are getting bigger…however one time when I was 9 months pregnant and needed to get something from the chemist the security guard refused to let me park in a parent space Even though I explained the I was only collecting a prescription …grrr I hate jobsworths….

Mute Deirdre O'Connor
    Favourite Deirdre O'Connor
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:54 PM

Too true Cliona, I needed more space when I was 9 months pregnant (and could barely walk using my crutches) than when I had a week-old baby with me. Drives me nuts when people are clearly just too lazy to find a parking space or (god forbid) to walk 100 yards to the shop. Legs are meant for walking, and they won’t melt in the rain!!

Mute AdeleM
    Favourite AdeleM

I have an aunt with a disabled badge and genuine need for it and so have seen first hand how difficult it makes life for those who need the space when random, pig ignorant, lazy idiots park in them because they are afraid they’ll get their hair wet or whatever if they park two spaces down! Very annoying! I’d never park in one!

Mute Patricia Mc Cann
    Favourite Patricia Mc Cann
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:52 PM

No never, its incredibly selfish and the spaces are few and far between.

Mute CHRIS POWER 19
    Favourite CHRIS POWER 19
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:47 PM

Are Liverpool fans allowed park in them?

Mute Patrick J Leader
    Apr 7th 2013, 8:59 PM

I’m the holder of a disable parking permit, I have 75% mobility due to severe arthritis on my hips spine and pelvis, it makes my blood boil when I see a DPB taken by a non permit holder, they should be fined ,and points added to there licence, maybe then they would do it

Mute Sheila
    Favourite Sheila
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:44 PM

I use them when the car park is full, except for disabled places.

Mute Alan Scott
    Favourite Alan Scott
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:51 PM

No way. But have seen lots with nothing wrong with them parking in a disabled spot they should be clamped on the spot with a fine of 200 euro to take it off.

Mute Joseph Molloy
    Favourite Joseph Molloy
    Apr 7th 2013, 4:18 PM

I blame the traffic wardens… there are people out there using the cards and they’ve no disability… the actual person with disability is dead for over 5 years… I call on those in power to make it complusary for all Disabled Drivers ID cards to be renewed every year….

Mute Jessica Ní Mhaoláin
    Apr 7th 2013, 11:25 PM

I renew mine every two years even though I’ve had my disability since birth and it’ll never change, The people who are using those of their dead relatives probably haven’t renewed them and obviously aren’t being checked by the parking wardens because the renewal date is printed on the front

Mute Itiswhatitis
    Favourite Itiswhatitis
    Apr 7th 2013, 2:39 PM

I would at nightime for sure or in an emergency.

Mute Jessica Ní Mhaoláin
    Apr 7th 2013, 11:16 PM

Well if you had to walk a day in my shoes or those of any other permit holder you’d realize how eff’d up your attitude is and how extra hard out lives are made by people with your level of ignorance. I hope some day someone comes across you parked in one of theses spaces and seriously f***s up your car.

Mute Chris Murphy
    Favourite Chris Murphy
    Mute Dawn Keeballs
    Favourite Dawn Keeballs
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:56 PM

Sure the laws don’t apply to oul Ben, he is a freeman

Mute Alan McCartney
    Favourite Alan McCartney
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:11 PM

what’s the view on parent and child spots?

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:22 PM

I wouldn’t park in one but I have done when with my baby niece. It’s incredibly hard to get a child into or put of a car seat if you can only open the door five inches because some git parks right next to you. I didn’t used to use them because I figured I only had one child with me and wasn’t a parent but one time I came back to the car and two people had parked very close to me on both sides. Awkward as hell to get her into her seat.

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Apr 7th 2013, 8:04 PM

Then you should park even further away from the door to get a space in an area where there are lots.

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 8:13 PM

Have done. Doesn’t provide any protection from the git who parks three inches away from the door with the baby seat by it. Also for parents with more small kids the hazards of crossing a large full and busy car park while wheeling a trolley are plentiful.

Mute Peadar Grant
    Favourite Peadar Grant
    Apr 7th 2013, 10:14 PM

I fully support and obey disabled spaces… However, who on earth decided that parents should also get their own dedicated spaces. They just seem to be another pandering to the “baby on board” brigade who would rather not have to discipline their children to behave in centre car parks.

Mute Irene Bijedić
    Favourite Irene Bijedić
    Apr 7th 2013, 11:04 PM

Nothing to do with discipline but rather the fact that the parents need to get giant sized legally required baby seats into the car. I would prefer that they get their own dedicated spaces rather than trying to squeeze a carseat in & risking damaging the car next to them…

Mute Paul Corrigan
    Favourite Paul Corrigan
    Apr 7th 2013, 3:05 PM

I saw a disabled guys car getting towed once because he parked in a non disabled spot

Mute Tommy C
    Favourite Tommy C
    Apr 7th 2013, 7:56 PM

Rubbish Paul. Everyone is entitled to park in a regular parking spot. Stop lying.

Mute Ingo Weinhold
    Favourite Ingo Weinhold
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:19 PM

I’ve never seen a shortage of disabled spaces so this is a pointless discussion

Mute Jessica Ní Mhaoláin
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:48 PM

Are you having a laugh?! I was at Tesco in Wilton a while back. All 20 of the spaces were filled with 19 permit holders and 1 lazy b*****ks who parked in a disabled space because there weren’t any regular spaces around. I have a permit and I couldn’t park. So actually there is a shortage of those spaces in some shopping centres. People who aren’t permit holders are not entitled to park in these spaces but still continue to do so. That’s what makes this poll relevant

Mute Stephanie Fleming
    Apr 7th 2013, 6:52 PM

I have seen a shortage many times.

Mute Samantha McConnell Byrne
    Favourite Samantha McConnell Byrne
    Apr 8th 2013, 5:07 AM

@ Jessica, it makes me sick to my stomach reading some of these comments. I can feel your anger as its an anger I experience daily. I have two disabled children. The excuses are just pathetic. It makes me sad more than anything. I have never experienced too many disabled parking spots. Liffey Valley in Lucan are great for patrolling the car park, no disabled badge and they are clamped. @ the disrespectful muppett who said they use these spaces as they are so handy, I hope one day that comment does not come back to bite you. Able bodied people are not immune from becoming disabled or having children or grandchildren with a disability.

Mute Tessa Marphy
    Favourite Tessa Marphy
    Apr 7th 2013, 11:24 PM

All the people who would take a handicapped person’s space for their own convenience are self-indulgent sad excuses for human beings. Get some well needed exercise and WALK you lazy twits!

Mute Paddy Gregory
    Favourite Paddy Gregory
    Apr 7th 2013, 7:56 PM

And what about the sticker holders who park in spaces when invalided not with them……,

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Apr 8th 2013, 8:55 AM

We’re really lucky to have great disabled access in this country.
    Was in a wheelchair in Thailand for 3 weeks and it was a bit of a nightmare – footpaths with no ramps, no elevators in hotels etc etc. we should be proud of the facilities we provide here and continue to look out for those less abled.

Mute Deirdre McDonnell
    Favourite Deirdre McDonnell
    Apr 8th 2013, 3:37 AM

I have a disabled parking permit. Ive been in and out of hospital all my life with a congenital condition.I used to be very embarrassed to use it,being young(ish) and not wanting to draw attention to myself I guess.
    I use it now no problem,and when I see people in the spaces parked and sitting it angers me.
    My lung function is so bad because of this condition,so I think it’s great when you see a space outside a shop that I want to go to.
    I think there should be more parking officers looking for people that are just parked there waiting.

I’ve accepted I have a disability and that I need that card. I’ve also lost two and someone somewhere is using them !!

I think there should be more spaces but also more normal spaces,especially in my town of drogheda where our Main Street was ruined!

Mute Sheik Yahbouti
    Favourite Sheik Yahbouti
    Apr 8th 2013, 12:58 AM

No I wouldn’t and I’m sick of the selfish phalli of both sexes whom I see doing it.

Mute Dave Crookham
    Favourite Dave Crookham
    Apr 7th 2013, 5:47 PM

I would am disabled &if I went out my sticker I would &hope I never got court

Mute martin o donoghue
    Favourite martin o donoghue
    Apr 7th 2013, 7:23 PM

A space is a space I park where I want.. been a bit fat a disabled space is always closer to the shop door so its not far too walk

Mute Neil Richardson
    Favourite Neil Richardson
    Apr 8th 2013, 9:32 AM

Didn’t think there was much left I could be shocked about in this country but the number of people answering Yes in the poll is depressing. I’d also love to know what constitutes ‘emergency’ parking outside a supermarket.

Doesn’t matter what your lame excuse is for doing so, they’re reserved for disabled people and you’re a self-serving, lazy ignoramus if you park in one without a permit for any reason whatsoever.

Mute John McHale
    Favourite John McHale
    Apr 10th 2013, 8:55 AM

I like your style Martin, this walking thing can be a bit of a bore, especially if as you say one is carrying “a bit a fat”

Mute helen
    Favourite helen
    Apr 8th 2013, 10:05 AM

my mother is entitled to a permit to park in disabled places as she has arthritis in both of her legs. but on days when she is feeling ok she will park in a regular parking space in order to leave the disabled parking spaces for someone who requires them more than her… i think it is completely disrespectful to use these spaces when you don’t need to.

Mute Patrick J Leader
    Apr 7th 2013, 9:16 PM

No Gary, you don’t see , that is the trouble , you do not understand a person with a disability with walking difficulty who can’t walk 20 yards without having to stop with pain, that is why a DPB near to a shop enterence in required for a disabled driver,

Mute Seany Mc Donagh
    Favourite Seany Mc Donagh
    Apr 8th 2013, 5:56 AM

Id never park in a disabled spot. Motorike can fit on area outside shop closer to the door than most disabled spaces :D

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Apr 8th 2013, 8:59 AM

I have a friend who suffers from disability and I have seen him Park his car blocking the one who parks in a parking spot designated parking spot for the disabled. And will take his time returning to his car to move it.It is a good way in stopping people parking who are in a hurry and think that 2 minis “half hour” is acceptable.