You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Communications Minister Pat Rabbitte with UPC's CEO Magnus Ternsjö at the launch of UPC's digital report. Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Sorry, country folk: Still a huge divide between urban and rural internet speeds

At the launch of UPC’s second Irish Digital Report, the Minister for Communications Pat Rabbitte said that there was still a “significant divide” between the quality of internet service provided in urban and rural Ireland.

IRELAND HAS MADE significant progress in developing its digital sector but still has a “long way to go” if its to bring small businesses up to speed, according to the Communications Minister Pat Rabbitte.

Speaking at the launch of UPC’s second report on Ireland’s Digital Future, Rabbitte said that getting more small companies to do business online is still a major issue, with 47,000 SMEs and SOHO (Small Office/Home Office) not having a website.

Initiatives like the trading online vouchers programme, which is expected to be launched this summer, are expected to help encourage more small businesses to factor in online shopping into their overall business plan.

Broadly, I think we have made considerable progress, but if we are to stay competitive and keep up with our world peers, we have to accelerate that progress.

Another problem was that while overall broadband speeds have risen – 30 per cent of Irish adults now have access to broadband speeds of 30Mbps or higher compared to 10 per cent in 2012 – there was still a “significant divide” between the quality of service provided in urban and rural Ireland.

“In terms of the basic infrastructure itself… the average speeds increased but there’s still a significant divide between urban Ireland and provincial Ireland,” said Rabbitte. “We have sought to acknowledge that in government policy by agreeing an extensive state intervention program to the parts of rural Ireland that couldn’t expect this service.”

Rabbitte was hopeful that the rollout of fibre broadband across the country would help bring broadband to rural areas as well as facilitate economic growth by allowing more SMEs to develop a digital presence.

Despite the differences in broadband quality, Irish businesses were found to be far ahead of the EU average for social media adoption and 53 per cent of Irish firms said they are influenced by online feedback from consumers and customers.

Digital report

In UPC’s digital report, it’s estimated that Ireland’s internet economy will grow from €8.4 billion this year to €21.1 billion by 2020, with consumer spending contributing to 60 per cent (€13 billion) of this figure.

Currently, more than 49,000 people work in the internet economy full time, and it’s predicted that another 79,000 extra jobs will be created in this sector by 2020.

While Irish consumers are more savvy about researching products before buying, as much as 60 per cent (€3.5 billion) of the €6 billion spent by consumers goes abroad.

UPC’s CEO Magnus Ternsjö said that education and assistance as well as incentives for SMEs, such as possible tax reliefs, could help encourage Irish businesses to increase their digital presence.

When asked how much they would want to be paid to go without the internet, most said they would want €130 a month, or €1,300 a year, as compensation, higher than the average subscription value of €37 per month.

Read: 45 jobs to go as Kerry mobile technology firm closes >

Read: UPC to enter mobile market next year after striking deal with Three >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

58 Comments
    Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11
    Jun 4th 2014, 3:51 PM

I’ll give a more in depth comment when the reminder of the article downloads. See ye all in 4 hrs

Mute Jimbo
    Favourite Jimbo
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:09 PM

Maybe move from loserland and into civilisation. We have awesome internet.

Mute Peter Banks
    Favourite Peter Banks
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:13 PM

And, of course, the big smoke is “civilised”. Hmmm …

Mute Murph11
    Favourite Murph11
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:21 PM

Jimbo I doubt if I live in loserland as u put it. If I did we’d probably be neighbours

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Favourite The Truth Hurts
    Jun 4th 2014, 5:21 PM

Good man jimbo… Been outside the M50 much?

Mute Jed I. Knight
    Favourite Jed I. Knight
    Jun 4th 2014, 6:42 PM

Jesus Christ!!! How much longer do we have to listen to Muppet Ministers spout the same old rubbish about things they clearly don’t understand?
    “We’ve made significant progress”, no we haven’t, what we’ve done is continue with the same old rubbish. If I said I’ll pay up to 100% of my taxes, only pay 50%, and when Rabbitte & Co. come after me just shrug and point out I said “up to 100% of my taxes” would I get away with it? No, not a bloody chance, so why should this be called “significant progress” because the speed has increased for some people. Would Rabbitte & Co. be satisfied with my 50% if they got a bit extra from some people, not a bloody chance? So why do we except an inferior service from our providers year after year when Irish broadband is amongst the most expensive in Europe?

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Jun 4th 2014, 3:55 PM

2mb download. I know a few eircom engineers and when you look on there system it says the line should take 5mb. Town I work in not upgraded to e fibre . All surrounding cabinets upgraded except the ones the businesses are connected to. Go figure

Mute Zossima
    Favourite Zossima
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:46 PM

I was in west Kerry over the weekend trying to get updates on the phone. I might have well been on Mars

Mute Pickart Solny
    Favourite Pickart Solny
    Jun 4th 2014, 6:26 PM

I was on Mars and it was not much better.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:00 PM

How many of the 47,000 SMEs and SOHO that don’t have a website are based in the country?
    How many of those 47,000 are individual traders like electricians, plumbers & plasterers, who work within the local community and get work via word of mouth?
    How many of those SMEs and SOHO’s would actually benefit from having a website, after all a local plumber in Donegal is hardly going to need a website that will enable him to quote for bleeding a radiator down in Kerry.
    Must better to hide the lack of fixed any line broadband within rural areas by blaming the SMEs and SOHO in rural areas for not having websites., when one of the main reasons these SMEs and SOHOs don’t have websites is because of the lack of fixed line broadband.

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Jun 4th 2014, 5:18 PM

spent the weekend in a nice hotel in Roscommon and did a couple of speedtests on their LAN..: 0.02mB down & up, and a ping of 1.183 seconds. Did it several times, not much difference.

Ah, the “knowledge economy”, eh ? Is that code for the “s.f.a.” economy then ?

Mute sluazcanal
    Favourite sluazcanal
    Jun 4th 2014, 8:03 PM

Sounds like you had a crazy time.

Mute Barry Creed
    Favourite Barry Creed
    Jun 5th 2014, 2:04 AM

Did you pull?

Mute Mindfulirish
    Favourite Mindfulirish
    Jun 4th 2014, 5:30 PM

It is more important that country people get funded to speak Irish rather than create jobs and develop IT and associated businesses. Our remote areas could be turned into digital hubs for most foreign investment as we speak English and that is what these companies are after. But no – our politicians think it is better to have another famine in the form of emigration from these places. Irish is not needed to get a job in any other country. Wake Up.

Mute Barry Creed
    Favourite Barry Creed
    Jun 5th 2014, 2:07 AM

You are bang on. Why can’t there be a digital hub in the Midwest instead of Dublin Dublin Dublin? A lot of companies outside Dublin still do business with Dublin based agencies but there is no reason the expertise could not be located around Ireland

Mute John R
    Favourite John R
    Jun 5th 2014, 10:18 AM

Because Barry it is unlikely that sufficient techies would want to move there whatever its charms. techies are generally younger and like the amenities that cities offer.

Mute Barry Creed
    Favourite Barry Creed
    Jun 5th 2014, 10:31 AM

That is true but I know a good few people who work in Dublin because they have no choice as opposed to wanting to be there

Mute The whistler
    Favourite The whistler
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:01 PM

If you live in the arseend of nowhere then you just have to expect substandard infrastructure

Mute Jimbo
    Favourite Jimbo
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:10 PM

Exactly. instead they expect Dublin to subsidise them.

Mute David Ganly
    Favourite David Ganly
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:38 PM

And you then expect the arseend of no where to provide your water !

Mute Eric De Red
    Favourite Eric De Red
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:45 PM

The water is paid for or at least it soon will be. If you live in the ar$e end of nowhere you should expect to pay more for services and infrastructure or do without.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Favourite Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:54 PM

The country provides the lumber for your furniture, the food for your meals and drinks, the stone for your buildings, the metal for your industry, the water for your tea and washing, the mountains and lakes for your recreation. If we were to build a big wall to separate the city from the country, I wonder which would survive the longest?

Mute Flash gordon
    Favourite Flash gordon
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:56 PM

I’d take the silage smell any day over 1million Dublin farts!

Mute John Moylan
    Favourite John Moylan
    Jun 4th 2014, 5:15 PM

@Jimbo – subsidised by Dublin you say ? Interesting concept that………….there again Dublin is used to the rest of the country subsidising it’s infrastructure…you, like, oh……LUAS, DART, Dublin Bus, M50 (twice or three times over) etc etc………

Good job ye don’t want our water :)

Mute The Truth Hurts
    Favourite The Truth Hurts
    Jun 4th 2014, 5:47 PM

The city would starve Brian. But the Jackeens wouldn’t care to admit that.

Mute Martina Lavin
    Favourite Martina Lavin
    Jun 4th 2014, 6:52 PM

Um…Eric, the beauty of living in the arse end of nowhere is that we have Wells…enjoy your water bill in urban land!

Mute Stephen Harney
    Favourite Stephen Harney
    Jun 4th 2014, 9:10 PM

Dublin subsidises no one. Generations of governments of this island has prioritised exchequer support to this area, driving a property bubble straining basic urban infracstructure, water, waste, sewage to the limit.
    Rural LPT for water? Public lighting? Paths? Parks? Even road maintenance a joke. Judging by European election with 3 seats in Dublin and 8 through out the rest of Ireland your comment would suggest each citizen if Dublin is carrying just under 3 rural wasters on their shoulders. Don’t think economic activity in Dublin is generating ~75% of the national wealth.
    Ireland is too small to even suggest that either those who reside in the expanded region of the Pale or those outside this fictitious line can exist independently.

Mute Jimbo
    Favourite Jimbo
    Jun 5th 2014, 7:00 AM

Property tax.

Mute Ross Kiely
    Favourite Ross Kiely
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:51 PM

1.2 mb/s on a good day. 2 miles from major town. Joke.

Mute eye_c_u___
    Favourite eye_c_u___
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:48 PM

2mb line here. Thats bad enough but whats worse is 2km away exactly 2km is where upc and their 150mb lines end. :/

Mute Peter Slattery
    Favourite Peter Slattery
    Jun 4th 2014, 5:20 PM

You think 2km is bad? I live on the bank of the Royal Canal. The opposite side of the canal has UPC and their 150mb fibre connections. We’re stuck with Eircom and their crappy 2mb speed. Good old Irish way of doing things.

Mute Angelic Lestat
    Favourite Angelic Lestat
    Jun 4th 2014, 3:52 PM

Everything is better in the city. Everything.

Mute Darren Turner
    Favourite Darren Turner
    Jun 4th 2014, 3:56 PM

Not the air quality.

Mute Katie Does
    Favourite Katie Does
    Jun 4th 2014, 3:58 PM

Or prices.

Mute Carcu Sidub
    Favourite Carcu Sidub
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:04 PM

Angelic

Could not agree more. The drug pushers are better in the city. Imagine some rural areas don’t yet have their own pushers.

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:08 PM

No it’s not. I hate this stupid urban/rural divide thing. Yes, there are things that are better in the city than in the country, such as public transport, cinemas, theatres, sports facilities, etc. But it’s also more expensive, less friendly, poor air quality, noisy, etc. There are good and bad points to both places. Why do people have to be so contrary and argumentative? Typical Irish begrudgery and one-upmanship.

Mute The whistler
    Favourite The whistler
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:19 PM

yeah there’s nothing better than absolute silence and the smell of silage when you’re waiting 10 minutes for a youtube video to buffer

Mute Brian Ó Dálaigh
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:30 PM

If you can smell the silage it means it’s a beautiful sunny day. Why the heck would you be stuck inside looking at youtube videos when you could be out in the great outdoors, whether it’s lying beside a lake, hiking through mountains, walking on forest trails, playing football with mates, etc.?

Mute That's all folk's
    Favourite That's all folk's
    Jun 4th 2014, 5:01 PM

It’s because whistler has no mates Brian.

Mute Billy Horan
    Favourite Billy Horan
    Jun 4th 2014, 6:01 PM

Yeah especially the cost of living the junkies the crime rate and that god awful stoorie buuud. I will gladly put up with the clean air and beautiful countryside and slower broadband to avoid all that.

Mute Ciaran Harford
    Favourite Ciaran Harford
    Jun 4th 2014, 6:39 PM

Or Billy, you could just not hang about on Talbot Street / O’Connell Street when you’re in Dublin. Swear none of you had ever been in Dublin 2, 4 or 6. Or the suburbs. As far as Internet connection goes… The needs of the many outweigh the needs of the few. Just might not be cost effective for telecoms providers to lay lines outside of populated areas.

Mute Martina Lavin
    Favourite Martina Lavin
    Jun 4th 2014, 6:55 PM

Or footing turf!

Mute Donal O'Brien
    Favourite Donal O'Brien
    Jun 4th 2014, 7:28 PM

Good Silage smells great, but you have to be close to it to smell it.

Mute Joanne Mc Guirk
    Favourite Joanne Mc Guirk
    Jun 4th 2014, 4:55 PM

I wish I had broadband where I live (dial up is all my Eircom line provides) as it’s to expensive to upgrade the line ( I live to far from the exchange) all I can say is god bless Vodafone mobile for internet connection

Mute Jeremy Usborne
    Favourite Jeremy Usborne
    Jun 4th 2014, 3:59 PM

Of course there is a rural/urban speed difference.

It can’t be otherwise?

Mute Peter M Buchanan
    Favourite Peter M Buchanan
    Jun 4th 2014, 5:05 PM

When, for the love of God, when? 2025…..

Mute Luke Pepper
    Favourite Luke Pepper
    Jun 4th 2014, 6:27 PM

50mb down, 15mb up on eFibre, thank feck I don’t live in the countryside..

Mute David Dunne
    Favourite David Dunne
    Jun 4th 2014, 7:18 PM

30mb?

I live in Kildare and my internet speed is about 1.5mb

Mute Ben Gunn
    Favourite Ben Gunn
    Jun 4th 2014, 6:45 PM

4 years ago the roads for miles around here were up for months whilst UPC installed cable. Thats all they did. No sign of connection or even an estimated availability yet.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jun 4th 2014, 5:33 PM

Why won’t he admit that 4G solves rural speed issues?

Mute Brendan Walshe
    Favourite Brendan Walshe
    Jun 4th 2014, 8:14 PM

Because most of can’t even get 3G!

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Jun 4th 2014, 8:42 PM

4g uses the old analog Tv freqencies. These frequencies keep signal over longer distances and “survive” better through obstacles such as buildings, hills, haypiles and dungheaps. It is the way forward for all those people who destroyed our countryside with one-off housing and 10-mile long linear villages.
    Urban areas will always be ahead of the curve on speeds from fixed line/cable. Get over it and stop complaining.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Jun 4th 2014, 10:11 PM

Nob much Alan?
    I’m over it. I’m happy with e-fibre. But why you don’t seem to be happy with people who choose to live outside urban areas is beyond me. They own the land on which their houses are built.

Mute John Griffin Sr.
    Favourite John Griffin Sr.
    Jun 5th 2014, 12:12 AM

Where are we with Pat Rabbitte’s commitment to minimum 30 Mbps by 2015 for all citizens?

Mute Joe Hunter
    Favourite Joe Hunter
    Jun 4th 2014, 10:11 PM

The problem is you have a dinosaur in pat rabbitte as the minister!

Mute Niall Dunne
    Favourite Niall Dunne
    Jun 4th 2014, 6:34 PM

It doesn’t stop at Broadband, Pat.

Mute James Delaney
    Favourite James Delaney
    Jun 5th 2014, 4:13 AM

Mr Rabbitte and Co should also look at the difference in intake of Property Tax between Urban and Rural locations and get the culchies to cough up their fair share.
    Are u listening Mr Hogan.