You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Column We have bypassed the opportunity to introduce a humane asylum process

Our Minister for Justice has bypassed the opportunity to introduce a humane and expedient way of processing asylum applications in favour of a new, unwieldy system which will lead only to further delays, writes Fiona Hurley.

THE IRISH ASYLUM system has come under sustained criticism in the past twelve months. Since December 2012, the legality of the way in which asylum and subsidiary protection applications are determined in Ireland has been undermined by the Irish High Court in the MM case which found that the Irish system did not meet the requirements of EU law.

The way in which Ireland treats its asylum-seeking community has drawn high-profile criticism from the former Ombudsman Emily O’Reilly, who had significant concerns about the direct provision system. Direct provision is the system by which the State provides accommodation and board to asylum seekers while they await the determination of their cases in the State. Minister Alan Shatter was himself a vocal opponent of the system while he was in opposition.

On an international level, the High Court of Northern Ireland recently granted an order to a Sudanese family of asylum seekers residing in Belfast, preventing their removal from Northern Ireland to the Republic of Ireland.

The court found that the best interests of the children in the case would not be served by removing them to Ireland due to the deficiencies of the Irish direct provision system. The judgement quoted from two Irish Supreme Court judgements which included serious reservations about the humanity of the system. The Irish High Court has granted leave to three families to challenge the system of direct provision in Ireland. The case is likely to be dealt with next year.

Lives in standstill

Against this backdrop of uncertainty and criticism, the Department of Justice suspended the processing of subsidiary protection applications until such time as revised procedures in compliance with EU requirements could be put in place. For hundreds of asylum seekers this meant that their lives came to a standstill for several months while changes were made to the Irish legislation.

NGOs and immigration practitioners viewed this as an opportunity for the Minister for Justice to finally introduce a ‘Single Procedure Mechanism’ which would allow for asylum seekers to have all their claims for protection heard concurrently, rather than engaging in a three-step structure whereby asylum seekers must wait for the determination of one application before being permitted to pursue the next application.

One very obvious fault with the three-step structure is that an asylum seeker who knows they do not fit the strict requirements of the legal definition of a refugee under Irish law but believes that they could well be considered a person eligible for subsidiary protection – a status with different legal requirements – could not apply for subsidiary protection until their application for refugee status was heard and refused – a process which could take months.

The single procedure mechanism

The single procedure mechanism has widespread approval from NGOs, private practitioners, human rights bodies and state officials and is the norm in all other EU States. The Immigration, Residence and Protection Bill 2010 proposed to reform the system by introducing the Single Procedure Mechanism, and State bodies such as the Office of the Refugee Applications Commissioner were prepared for the introduction of the Single Procedure Mechanism. The IRP Bill 2010 still has not been passed, and the Minister has indicated that a new bill will be introduced next year which is expected to contain the Single Procedure Mechanism.

In short, Irish institutions have been both expecting and gearing up for the Single Procedure Mechanism for the past several years. The MM case gave the Minister the ideal opportunity to introduce the Single Procedure Mechanism in advance of the Bill. This would have given the Minister the opportunity to separate out an already widely approved aspect of a mammoth piece of legislation and iron out any kinks before the introduction of the next IRP Bill.

A new – unwieldy – system

On the 13th November the Minister published the statutory instrument which put in place interim procedures to comply with our obligations under EU law. To refer to the statutory instrument, in its current form, as a ‘missed opportunity’ is an understatement. The Minister for Justice has bypassed the opportunity to introduce a humane and expedient way of processing applications in favour of a new unwieldy system which will lead only to further delays.

The new statutory instrument keeps the three part structure but adds additional processes. To comply with the MM judgement, applicants for subsidiary protection will be given the opportunity to have an oral interview and a right of appeal afterwards, which we welcome. However they will continue to have to wait until their application for refugee status and any appeals arising from this are heard before it is possible to get to this stage.

The already deplorable delays in the system can only be exacerbated by this new regime. For those with no choice but to live in direct provision, the concessions the Minister has made by providing an oral hearing and a right of appeal will be cold comfort. Justice delayed is justice denied.

Fiona Hurley is the Legal Information and Capacity-Building Officer at Nasc.

We’re interested in your ideas and opinions – do you have a story you would like to see featured in Opinion & Insight? Email opinions@thejournal.ie

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 115 comments
115 Comments
    Mute John Gleeson
    Favourite John Gleeson
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:08 PM

How come all the articles concerning immigration only ever show one side of the story?The left wing side.

Mute Johnny Five
    Favourite Johnny Five
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:12 PM

Because The Journal want to cater to the views of their readership.

Mute Seamus Kelly
    Favourite Seamus Kelly
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:13 PM

thats because the vast majority of the media is biased toward the left john and will not give credibility to any right wing views.

See 17 more replies ▾
    Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:14 PM

They work off the assumption the rest of us are racist intolerant bastards John. That’s why.

Mute Joseph McGranaghan
    Favourite Joseph McGranaghan
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:20 PM

I’m confused as to what your point is? This article isn’t about a left right debate about who or how many are accepted, why we accept them or even the level of provision while we are deciding. This is about streamline the process to make it quicker and easier to access. Surely such a system suits both viewpoints?

Mute Aisling Twomey
    Favourite Aisling Twomey
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:25 PM

I’d love it if just once we could have this debate without name calling and assumptions. The facts are there to be seen and people simply refuse to see them. That’s why this view is published- it’s based on facts and not a refusal to see them. The asylum system is internationally recognised as a shocking abuse of human rights. That’s a fact and that’s why it’s reported so often.

Mute voodoo_criminology
    Favourite voodoo_criminology
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:27 PM

How come the comments on this site concerning immigration contain a disproportionate amount of reactionary blowhards venting their prejudices rather than addressing the subject matter of the piece?

Mute John Gleeson
    Favourite John Gleeson
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:27 PM

Ireland is predominataly right wing johnny five

Mute voodoo_criminology
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:31 PM

Bit of projection bias going on there, Johnny boy?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Projection_bias

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:33 PM

True John, in times of crisis, society will either swing to the hard left or right of the political compass – anyone who thinks it has swung to the left is delusional.

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:40 PM

John, this is thejournal.ie. It’s a poor man’s Guardian newspaper.

Mute voodoo_criminology
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:43 PM

Biggest left wing vote in the history of the state at the last general election, but then Labour went and decided that they aren’t a left wing party, after all. And didn’t Bertie feel the need to try spinning Fianna Fáil as true socialists? Just because this site is innundated with unthinking hard right blowhards doesn’t mean it reflects the country as a whole.

Pretty much irrelevant to the topic at hand, though. I don’t see how asylum policy is a left/right issue.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:20 PM

Seriously lads, the days of the old fashioned left/right divide are long gone. Such labels are utterly meaningless today.

For example, I support the following:

Marraige Equality
    Reducing Social Welfare
    Reproductive Rights
    Market Economics
    Secular Education
    Harsher Criminal Sentences

Am I on the Left or the Right?

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:23 PM

Agreed John. There’s no longer such a divide. But I would add the media is indisputably liberal these days, and it’s not good for balance.

Mute voodoo_criminology
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:41 PM

My simple rule of thumb:

If you support the right to of powerful interests to maintain hierarchical rule, be it aristocracy, plutocracy, corporatocracy, theocracy of the Catholic Church or patriarchal rule of the hetronormative “constitutional family”, etc., etc., you’re right wing.

You can always spot them because they’ll be pandering to the most powerful interest in any given argument.

Otherwise, you’re left wing.

Anyway, this is all completely off topic.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:44 PM

Seeing as we now live in a kleptocracy…..

Mute Ciara Kennedy
    Favourite Ciara Kennedy
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:16 PM

Exactly. Its not about being left or right its about creating a system thats more efficient.that will help those who need it quickly and refuse people who dont instead of wasting money and leaving people in limbo.

Mute Guapito Donnochito O'Ceallaigh
    Favourite Guapito Donnochito O'Ceallaigh
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:57 PM

As a leftist, I completely disagree. The issue of direct provision is not an issue of left and right. We are in breach of EU and UN human rights laws. People in this system are treated inhumanely. Their basic rights are neglected. Visit a direct provision centre and you will see that. This will be the next big embarrasing scandel for this country. We really haven’t learned from the Magdalene laundries.

Mute Scarr
    Favourite Scarr
    Nov 27th 2013, 4:46 PM

Guapito – I have little doubt that DP centres are dumps, however, until we have a blatantly honest debate, we’re going in circles – we reject approx 94% of applications, applications have plummeted since the recession (economic migrants), we have no direct flights from the likes of Africa (dublin convention), applicants try to obstruct the system (anecdotal but Pamela I would be an example), applicants get denied then apply in the child’s name (again anecdotal but certainly logical) – so we can see that part of the reason for applicants languishing in DP is the applicants actions. And I wholeheartedly disagree with providing access to the social welfare system for applicants.

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Nov 28th 2013, 11:43 AM

Living in Australia meant that in our last election the people were given an opportunity to vote on “stopping the boats”, and the people decided to do just that. It appears to me that “immigration lawyers” have a great time racking up their money on behalf of asylum seekers..? The NGOs jump on the band wagon, because it makes more jobs for them, and they seek government funds to do their jobs. The people who jump up and down are the people who do not pay the bills, instead they benefit from immigration issues. Gone are the days when church groups and charities do things “out of love” – no they want huge hand-outs, and pretend to be the conscience of the nations. Enough of this, go to the root of the problem, and try to get the countries of asylum seekers to take responsibility for their own peoples, and not pass the problems onto other countries to carry the guilt trips…and what about the people smugglers…nations must stand up against this evil racket that attempts to undermine nations who are weak in their responses!

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:49 PM

in a month or so Romanians and Bulgarians will be able to travel to work as restrictions will be lifted, much like Poland was in 2004. Wonder how that’ll turn out?

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:54 PM

it’s going to be a diaster..just when you think Ireland can’t get any worse.Roll on April im outta here

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:08 PM

Michael O’ Leary is getting ready to run charter flights I’d say.

See 28 more replies ▾
    Mute Seamus Kelly
    Favourite Seamus Kelly
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:16 PM

@luke it will be a disaster, but the bleeding heart do gooders of this country will still tell you ‘ah sure theyre a grand bunch, bring them all in’

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:20 PM

Couldn’t agree with you more there seamus,all them ned flanders need to cop on to reality

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:22 PM

I’m amused by the irony of someone moaning about potential immigrants, then telling us of his emigration plans.

Mute Leah H
    Favourite Leah H
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:35 PM

Best example of irony I’ve seen in yonks.

Mute voodoo_criminology
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:42 PM

Lads, seriously. Do ye listen to yourselves?

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:44 PM

Im leaving to actually work and make a living for myself.Not to be a welfare tourist

Big difference

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:54 PM

“Not to be a welfare tourist”

I didn’t realise that you knew every immigrant in the country and had evidence that they are all on welfare.

As I type this a big Polish lad named Markus is deliving some boxes to the office. You’d better let DHL know he’s actually on the dole.

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:07 PM

Wow

Where did you see me mention anything about Polish people?

Jog on

Mute Wendy Lyon
    Favourite Wendy Lyon
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:08 PM

Sorry to spoil your apocalypse planning but Ireland lifted the work restrictions on Romanians and Bulgarians in July 2012.

And they’ve been able to travel freely since 2007 when their countries joined the EU. The work restrictions had no effect on that.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:18 PM

So you you weren’t having a moan about immigrants then?

Oh, well in that case you’ll excuse us for taking your comment about welfare tourists at face value.

Nov 27th 2013, 3:47 PM

People fleeing war and persecution is not the definition of a welfare tourist. There are a variety of complex reasons why people leave countries some of which often seem peaceful and prosperous but are quite repressive and interfere with basic freedoms of expression and speech e.g. try living in a country like Jamacia where bring gay or being suspected of being gay I.e. not bring married or having children after a certain age leads to intimidation and mob justice. The government offers you no protection as it is a criminal offense to be gay and members of your own family might actually be involved in the mob which tries and in many cases succeeds in murdering you.

Welfare tourist? Do you really think people go through the trauma of the harsh and inhumane asylum systems which exist in the majority of European countries for years just to live off of social welfare?

I suppose that the “Irish” Daily Mail might back up your sentiments!

Nov 27th 2013, 3:52 PM

Also, one of the major problems here is that the current system does not allow people to work. It deskills and demoralizes them. The government continues to import doctors and nurses while there are already trained doctors and nurses in the system.

The government do so well out of this system. Perfect divide and conquer strategy. People attack the rights of minorities and the most vulnerable in society instead of actually concentrating on governments who mismanage finances and resources and overpay themselves.

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 27th 2013, 4:23 PM

That’s true Wendy. But the UK is opening up next month and they’ll go there en masse. We are but a stone’s throw, and will by default, become more attractive I think.

Mute Daniel Negrea
    Favourite Daniel Negrea
    Nov 27th 2013, 6:42 PM

OMG …,Romanians and Bulgarians already travel to Ireland without restriction since 2007, and are able to work with no restrictions since 2012 (http://www.thejournal.ie/government-drops-restrictions-on-romanian-and-bulgarian-workers-528205-Jul2012/) nothing will happen, stop watching and reading british media and scare yourself , Ireland has this in place already…

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 27th 2013, 7:31 PM

How many of these articles are we going to get with the same old propaganda;

I love the old reliable “fleeing war and persecution” line that is always trotted out by the advocates. —> have a look at where are the majority of ‘immigrants’ to Ireland are coming from ?

The delays in the process are caused by the foreigners *themselves* arriving with no or suspect paperwork and then lodging appeal after appeal.

With the exception of highly specialised occupations, why do we need to allow *any* migrants into Ireland ?

Have a read of David Cameron’s very recent proposals for restricting immigration and welfare tourism in their country. Look, listen, learn.

Mute captain morgan
    Favourite captain morgan
    Nov 27th 2013, 7:55 PM

In 5 years all that be left of Irish ppl will be children an the older ppl. Small country can’t cope for such numbers An our own kids that can’t make the grade in education can’t find work Speaking to an American couple that hadn’t been here for 12 years and they wanted to know where the Irish ppl were The hotels,service stations and restaurants all manned by foreign nationals. Ppl it’s wrong No red thumbs please

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 27th 2013, 8:13 PM

We have to copy OZ/NZ policy.If you can offer something to the country that is short of supply by their own people and have enough money to support yourself should tthings go wrong welcome aboard.

If not…sorry go home.

Mute Marc Marcel
    Favourite Marc Marcel
    Nov 27th 2013, 9:08 PM

not too good, worse to come. i know the recruiters are all very anxious to see how much more money they can save in comparison to their current slaves or their scambridge entrants (just to make it look good, we’ll hire a few interns from the dole Q but but its still scambridge). Roll on April, the lip smackers are smacking it hard. Its all for them. I hope they can all afford the high rent now, don’t complain later, hh and thanks for paying our taxes. Keeps us all comfy.

Mute Elaine Quinn
    Favourite Elaine Quinn
    Nov 28th 2013, 12:17 AM

People in direct provision have no entitlements to claim Social Welfare payments,to access Social Housing or Medical Cards. They receive E20 per week. Therefore the term “welfare tourist” doesnt quite fit. Please inform yourself of the full facts of the situation.Thank you.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 28th 2013, 12:31 AM

Elaine,
    *after* they have gone through the system and gained admission/residency here they immediately have access to medical facilities in *exactly* the same way Irish people do. They have access to all the social welfare benefits that Irish people do. After they work for the required time at minimum wage they are they entitled to jobseekers.
    *That* is why they spend their money coming into Ireland – knowing full well from the internet forums what they need to do and say to get in and stay in here.
    Maybe you need to educate yourself too?

Mute Elaine Quinn
    Favourite Elaine Quinn
    Nov 28th 2013, 12:37 AM

Larry I’m fully informed. I work in the area. It takes years for people in DP to have their applications processed and a decision made to allow them to remain here or to be deported. I am referring to the system of DP they live in during those years whilst they await this decision….which is what the article writes about.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 28th 2013, 12:55 AM

You mentioned that it was unfair to call them ‘welfare tourists’ because they were in DP.

My point is that that is not correct – because DP is merely the long grass they need to walk through to get to the promised land. As you will know ‘welfare tourist’ is a term given to those that will follow the welfare and spin whatever hard-luck yarn is necessary to achieve their aim.

Welfare tourists are similar to our indigenous versions who are parasitic on the wealth-generating cohort of society.

Anyone supporting them or advocating for them I consider disloyal to Ireland and their fellow need Irish citizens

Have you ever asked yourself about the number of African taxi-drivers ? Or Roma beggars ?
    What has happened to Ireland, that we have allowed this to happen to our culture ?

And because you work in the area does not automatically mean you will know about it to a greater degree than someone who may not.

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 28th 2013, 2:16 AM

Driving a taxi would be a very poor industry to choose if you wished to be a welfare tourist.. Taxi drivers are self employed. They don’t get welfare..

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 28th 2013, 2:58 AM

And maybe just *maybe* they might be moonlighting…….
    After all sure no one drives a taxi illegally, you would never get away with it in Ireland !! NOT!

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 28th 2013, 5:29 PM

Well in order to be insured you have to have a PSV license, and they’re not as easy to get as the normal license. Plus you have to register with the regulator..
    Really you should try thinking before you post..

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 29th 2013, 1:22 AM

You really are very naive or are just pretending. There’s no point in me responding if you really think that there are no illegal drivers in Taxis in Ireland.

It is nothing to do with owning a PSV licence or registering with anyone, its driving your mates taxi during the night.

I need to go now as I can smell your coffee burning !

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 29th 2013, 10:03 AM

All taxi drivers need to have a picture of themselves with their name on display in the taxi.
    If you have reason to suspect that your driver is not the registered driver of the taxi you are in (because cosys have to have their own ones too) then you call the Gards as it would be someone driving without relevant insurance or you call the regulator if you haven’t the guts to do it there and then.
    That’s what they’re there for. That’s the law.
    Of course – you may find out that the person you reported was working legally, and get egg all over your face, but surely if they are driving illegally it’s your duty as a good citizen to report them? I know I have reported taxi drivers who were drinking at the wheel (Irish funnily enough).

You could also try using hailo because you can submit feedback via the app.

Or you could come on here whining about a perceived problem you have done nothing to address.

Mute marty
    Favourite marty
    Dec 9th 2013, 12:38 PM

Thing is a lot the “bleeding hearts” don’t have to interact with these people or live beside them. If they did they might change their mind.

Mute Mr L.Jay
    Favourite Mr L.Jay
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:46 PM

Question has to be asked why so many asylum seekers particularly from Africa claim asylum here in Ireland when as far as I am aware an asylum seeker must claim it in the first country they arrive in .
    There are no direct flights from Aftica to Ireland. An asylum seeker therefore must do so in say Germany/Holland/France or whatever country their plane lands in from Africa. It’s a valid question

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:18 PM

There are surely direct flights from Africa to Ireland. I know the charter companies sell holidays to Morocco and maybe Tunisia so there has to be some direct flights. Ryanair are due to start flying there too.

Otherwise I don’t care much about the “plight” of asylum seekers living in direct provision systems which so many Irish are homeless. Irish homeless man froze to death in Bray about a week ago because he had no provisions whatsover, Fiona should tackle this first and worry about asylum seekers once our own are looked after first.

Mute Wendy Lyon
    Favourite Wendy Lyon
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:38 PM

The answer is it isn’t true that an asylum seeker must claim asylum in the first country they arrive in. You’ve misunderstood the law.

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 27th 2013, 7:14 PM

Why should we let asylum seekers come here in the first place?

They offer nothing that Ireland doesn’t have already

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 28th 2013, 2:11 AM

The man who died in Bray wasn’t homeless, he just wasn’t home. This was mentioned by a couple of commenters on the article about his death.
    And it’s not about what asylum seekers can offer us. In order for their application for refugee status and therefore a legal right to stay here, they need to show that they are being persecuted in their home country. This is – presumably part of why we reject so many applications.
    If someone is liable to be killed if you send them home – are you actually suggesting they be sent home?

Mute Shane Mac An TSionnaigh
    Favourite Shane Mac An TSionnaigh
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:59 PM

Why when so many are emigrating are we taking people in……… And let’s face it 99% is people who will milk the social welfare system dry, not to mention legal aid and the rest???

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:05 PM

Afaik, the level of unemployment amongst non nationals, and non Eu residents, is no different to the Irish public itself.

There’s a lot of BS about that.

Mute George Martin
    Favourite George Martin
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:59 PM

It drives down wages, breaks solidarity in the workforce and at the same time drives up demand for property. A neo-liberal wet dream.

Mute Ernie Looney
    Favourite Ernie Looney
    Nov 27th 2013, 4:21 PM

It doesn’t surprise me. The dept of social protection, the medical card application centre and many other government depts which are supposed to work for the Irish people are already inhumane to their own why should it be different for new comers

Mute Tinker Taylor
    Favourite Tinker Taylor
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:47 PM

The system in Auz and New Zealand is the correct way. Bring in the ones you need to benefit the country not uncontrolled mass emigration. The EU lark is nuts

Mute Marc Marcel
    Favourite Marc Marcel
    Nov 27th 2013, 9:15 PM

exactly, it will come, bit by bit, first step will be SW, mark my words. Somehow though i think they’ll take the easy route and let ALL suffer in order to weed them out. Just be upfront about, no SW for new entrants coming in from EU. Pay your tax, claim your prsi til it runs out but for SW on habitual grounds? Nah, sorry, we’re a very poor country. Thats exactly how Portugal and more do it. Ask Berlesconi, how you think they get away with it? He’s sent them all here. Those ‘poor mouth’ countries and now Romania and Bulgaria governments are only too glad to see the back of theirs for us to look after. I see now Ukraine want a piece of the pie now. Jeez Paddy here doesn’t half look after a lot. Not to mention education supports set up for our long term unemployed that were meant to upskill them and get them back in to work – they’re now been taken advantage of by those who just came here! Wow! Venezuela, China, Japan, non-EU residents here on Springboard! Great work lads!

Mute Geert Wilders
    Favourite Geert Wilders
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:35 PM

4th Female columnist in a row must be nearly time to consider gender quotas for thejournal!

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:22 PM

Ireland turns away more asylum seekers than most countries. Were I one, it likely wouldn’t be my first choice lest I felt I had a very strong case.

Mute Seamus Kelly
    Favourite Seamus Kelly
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:24 PM

it would when you weighed up the social welfare rates!

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:28 PM

Well there’s no doubt there has been a dramatic reduction in asylum seekers since the crash afaik, possibly indicating many were economic refugees, but arguably asylum seekers that wanted to work.

I don’t like the idea of keeping people in limbo indefinitely. And it seems this direct provision system does little for dignity and self esteem.

Mute Leah H
    Favourite Leah H
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:33 PM

Due to the habitual residence condition, asylum seekers do not have an automatic entitlement to welfare payments.

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:11 PM

Leah which planet have you been living on for the past 8 years?

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:43 PM

Probably the planet where facts hold more value than screeching hysteria.

Mute Leah H
    Favourite Leah H
    Nov 27th 2013, 3:55 PM

Why don’t you check it out for yourself if you think I’m wrong?
    Loads of free information on the interweb from reliable sources you know…

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 27th 2013, 6:08 PM

Do people from your planet believe everything they read?

Mute Leah H
    Favourite Leah H
    Nov 27th 2013, 6:14 PM

Funny, that was the exact point I made in my previous comment.
    Seriously, the irony is just too fantastic!

Mute Marc Marcel
    Favourite Marc Marcel
    Nov 27th 2013, 9:25 PM

thats BS Leah, even 3 months ago i had an Ugandan woman on to me asking me did my landlord accept RA. The rent was above the RA cap and wait for it, then proceeded to try and swing my arm by asking me if i could ask landlord would they accept a cash top up to balance it out, asking me to get the landlord to comitt fraud! There must be a hell of a lot getting through the system, a lot! Just look around, driving cars, social housing, the lot. Considering they claim it takes years to get asylum!!! A big joke. They get more than what our own have been waiting years for cos they demand it and if they dont get it, they’ll pull that big fat race card from their back pocket. Time to get tough and learn to say NO, join the queue.

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 28th 2013, 2:06 AM

You cannot claim rent supplement unless you have an RSI number. You don’t get an RSI number unless you are here legally. Asylum seekers are in limbo until their application for refugee status has been accepted.
    Prior to this they must remain in the DP centre, they cannot work or claim welfare. They’re not even allowed to seek alternate accommodation, but please – do not believe me.
    Have a look for yourself.
    http://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/moving_country/asylum_seekers_and_refugees/services_for_asylum_seekers_in_ireland/direct_provision.html

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Nov 29th 2013, 6:13 AM

It is interesting that the Australian Immigration spoke publicly about this UN group today, stating that while they may not like Australia’s immigration policies, he does not accept their viewpoint.
    Each nation has to take on the feelings of their own people, and by the response of most Journal readers…the people of Ireland want a check on asylum seekers!

Mute Harry Webb
    Favourite Harry Webb
    Nov 29th 2013, 6:14 AM

Immigration minister

Mute Aidan J. Ffrench
    Favourite Aidan J. Ffrench
    Aug 18th 2014, 12:06 PM

and that personal attack has what to do with this issues under discussion please?

Mute Damien Harpur
    Favourite Damien Harpur
    Nov 27th 2013, 6:18 PM

Japan and Suadi Arabia don’t take in refugees and they are two of the riches countries in the world so why should we? Send them all back. We need to build our own country that wasn’t abled to flouish properly under British rule. And even if we did take afew asylum seekers, why would we take them from Nigeria, a country that seels 150 billion dollars of oil every year? The Nigerians want our dole. Thats it. They are not persecuted.

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 27th 2013, 8:15 PM

Couldn’t of said it better myself

Mute Marc Marcel
    Favourite Marc Marcel
    Nov 27th 2013, 9:20 PM

they don’t but they can send them here and expect to call the card on you while back home they like it their way. Hypocrites. Not just Nigerians, several countries members are flocking here to take up everything thats free! Everything that was meant for the long term unemployed, those seeking housing etc. Choc a bloc. Look around the cities, madness. It was only 4 years ago, a brazilian asked me about city centre dublin, where are all the irish? suburbs i said and some further till they hit the coast, then plane. even she noticed it!

Mute stephen power
    Favourite stephen power
    Nov 27th 2013, 5:50 PM

Some serious do gooders on this.absolute plonkers.why on earth should ireland take any more asylum seekers? Do we not have enough already.have we exceeded our quota? Do we have jobs we can provide to them? Get a bleedin grip.irish first.thats the way it should be.welfare tourists is all they are.why else would they come?

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Nov 27th 2013, 6:14 PM

So would you turn down the 29 that came from Syria this year due to the conflict?

Mute Damien Harpur
    Favourite Damien Harpur
    Nov 28th 2013, 12:13 AM

Yes Luke, I would. Muslims should go to other Muslim countries as there way of life collides with western values. We shouldn’t make the same mistakes that England, France, Holland etc. made by letting all those Muslims in. Also how did they get to Ireland? How many safe countries with less social welfare did they pass through?

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 28th 2013, 2:19 AM

We reject over 90% of applications.
    Asylum seekers granted refugee status amounts to under 200 a year..
    Most EU countries accept 25-40% of applications, so if there were such thing as a quota, we seem to be lagging behind..

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 27th 2013, 8:21 PM

All you ned flanders do gooders need a serious cop on to reality,if you honestly think every single immigrant coming here is arriving to better themselves,pay their way,contribute to society etc you need a good kick up the arse.

Atleast 90% are here for benefits and thats it.In work i deal with customers who cannot speak one word of english(would often need to put their kids on the phone to translate) and have had accounts set up since 2004 onwards(top of the range accounts by the way)this is happening on the daily.Just walk into any of the dole offices in the country and you would see for yourself.

Some people just want to watch this country burn,idiots.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Nov 27th 2013, 8:50 PM

“Atleast 90% are here for benefit”

Citation needed.

Mute Marc Marcel
    Favourite Marc Marcel
    Nov 27th 2013, 9:29 PM

they need to take a walk and get out of their cushy surroundings. Ain’t it funny how the most well off and safe are those who think its great news! Time will teach them, one by one.

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 28th 2013, 2:23 AM

Even if 90% were here for welfare – that’s a grand total of about 160 people or less per year, and there would be families included in that figure..

How many long term unemployed Irish did we have signing on when Ireland had full employment including all the immigrants?

Mute Jer Lonergen
    Favourite Jer Lonergen
    Nov 27th 2013, 7:50 PM

The over generous benefits system is like a huge magnet drawing them all in. This country will never get back on its feet again, benefits, education and health, we’re all screwed.

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Nov 27th 2013, 5:18 PM

It states in the article about asylum seekers lodging more than one appeal,Hence the back log in processing applications also these private practionors are they the ones milking the system with legal fees.
    As I have said on here before one application per family, Not individual applications to speed the process up. and when a person makes an application if they are successful they stay if they are not they can have one appeal,If that fails they are on the next flight out of the country.
    As for direct flights to Africa from Ireland there is some airlines that fly there mainly to Morocco/Tunisia Egypt etc,Alot of these would be charter flights and you would need a passport to get on the aircraft.
    I have always wondered how certain asylum seekers rock up to immigration at our airports/ports without no passport/ID.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 28th 2013, 12:45 AM

http://Www.nairaland.com will tell you all you need to know about destroying your passport while on board the aircraft.

It is the main Nigerian forum for Nigerians abroad or thinking about it.

There was a Nigerian lady prosecuted in Ireland for it in the last year or two.

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 28th 2013, 2:18 AM

And a genuine application may have had to flee without having it on them – of course there will be some people trying to con the system – but in case you hadn’t noticed we actually reject over 90% of applications..

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 28th 2013, 2:59 AM

And would a 90% rejection rate not immediately tell you something ??

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 28th 2013, 5:30 PM

Yeah – it would tell me that we are rejecting a lot of people who cannot satisfy the criteria, meaning that the less than 10% accepted were far more likely to be genuine.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 29th 2013, 1:26 AM

It means that at least 9 out of 10 are chancers.

Why are so many chancers trying to get into Ireland ?

People fleeing persecution don’t spend time looking at holiday magazines choosing which country almost 1000 miles away they will fly to. They would run lime hell to the nearest point of relief, which will be the next village/town/region/canton/province/country.

Mute Pat St
    Favourite Pat St
    Nov 28th 2013, 12:32 AM

DEPORT THEM ALL NOW

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 28th 2013, 2:26 AM

Will you go with them please? See if their application was genuine or not..

Mute Johnny Cobblepot
    Favourite Johnny Cobblepot
    Nov 27th 2013, 1:28 PM

This really is quite some story, once I started reading it, I just had to go on and finish it.

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Nov 27th 2013, 2:59 PM

i like your picture !!

Mute mark colen
    Favourite mark colen
    Nov 27th 2013, 5:11 PM

LMFAO

Mute Sony Plat
    Favourite Sony Plat
    Nov 27th 2013, 5:26 PM

It is a photograph of Adolph Hitler.

Mute Gerard Tuohy
    Favourite Gerard Tuohy
    Nov 27th 2013, 5:42 PM

i know

Mute Pat St
    Favourite Pat St
    Nov 28th 2013, 12:39 AM

Stop this Irish passport with every happymeal ,deport them all,arrest these traiters in labour ff and fg who have utterly betrayed Ireland ,jail these fcukers

Mute COOM
    Favourite COOM
    Nov 27th 2013, 7:19 PM

Brace your selves. ..

Mute Elaine Quinn
    Favourite Elaine Quinn
    Nov 28th 2013, 12:14 AM

Maybe people need to focus on the phrase “asylum seeker”. Direct Provision centres are no holiday camp. People are fleeing their homelands because it is not safe for them to continue to reside there. Many of these people have endured trauma prior to coming here. People in DP do not qualify for Social Welfare entitlements&are living on approx E20 pw. So this idea they are ripping off the State is a little inflated.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 28th 2013, 1:08 AM

How do you know this Elaine, because they told you ? And you believed them ?

So what do you think they would say when they know that is the key plank upon which to build their application ?

Social welfare and medical is virtually non-existent in many of the sub-Saharan countries so beloved of coming to Ireland.

Just stand back for one minute and think it through…..
    You live with your family in rural Nigeria, with little or no income and you are being persecuted by the guys in the neighbouring area.
    What do you do ?
    Fly with your family to IRELAND to escape it ????? O course not, because you have no money, no education and have never even heard of Ireland.

You would go to the nearest point of relief….. The next village/ town/region/country.

Does it not seem just a little odd to you that *thousands* of (mainly Nigerian) Africans have arrived in Ireland claiming refugee/asylum status.

Our social welfare is the equivalent of many months of income. Our healthcare is light years ahead of theirs.

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 28th 2013, 2:25 AM

There was a lot more some years back and then new regulations were brought in. Now we are taking in less than 200 asylum seekers total per year.
    You really are overreacting somewhat..

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 28th 2013, 3:05 AM

They probably said that in Britain, France, Germany, Sweden, Finland, Italy when the numbers were where they are now (relatively) in Ireland.

We do not need *any* immigrants in Ireland and contribute significant amounts in overseas aid which can act to assuage the ‘guilt’ and/or feed the altruism need of the do-gooders

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 28th 2013, 11:22 AM

Even though your information is completely incorrect even if they only received 20 Euro a week that is still too much.They’re not entitled to anything from us so why should we take them in.They offer nothing we don’t have already

Mute Daniel Lydon
    Favourite Daniel Lydon
    Nov 28th 2013, 11:24 AM

Giz are you a asylum seeker yourself? Wake up lad and cop on to reality

Mute Elaine Quinn
    Favourite Elaine Quinn
    Nov 28th 2013, 11:46 AM

I think if you research the subject factually you will find what I say is correct. You are of course entitled to an opinion but not an ill informed one

Mute Giz
    Favourite Giz
    Nov 28th 2013, 5:33 PM

We don’t pay for them. It’s a central EU fund so please stop your daily mail type shrieking and look at the facts.
    No, I’m not an asylum seeker, but I am capable of reading, and there’s plenty of information on how the process works and the legalities around it available online. Perhaps you should try familiarising yourself with it before spouting off?

Better to remain silent and be thought a fool than to open your mouth and remove all doubt.

Mute Larry L'Oiseau
    Favourite Larry L'Oiseau
    Nov 29th 2013, 1:38 AM

You will need to be more specific on the name of the EU fund please.

And of course we are paying for them. Will you stop talking in nicely parcelled soundbites.

For example;
    What happens if any of these people are sick or pregnant at *any* time while they are here ? Who pays for all the medical treatment ? YOU do !

Who pays for all the administration that is required to process appeal after appeal ? YOU do !

Who pays the legal costs when it goes through the legal system on appeal ? YOU do !

And perhaps you are a person who complains at the cost of services and taxes in Ireland …

Coffee has boiled over and is stinking the house down, surely you can smell the coffee too ? Or do you need to wake up first ?

Mute Aidan J. Ffrench
    Favourite Aidan J. Ffrench
    Aug 18th 2014, 12:10 PM

You are of course entitled to an opinion but not an ill informed on- stay silent!

Mute Ras Tinny
    Favourite Ras Tinny
    Nov 28th 2013, 11:30 AM

No surprise Shatter… consistently arrogant and ignorant