You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Members of CoisCeim Broadreach performing as part of the Bealtaine Festival this year Leon Farrell/Photocall Ireland

Column Lessons I learned from working with older people

The business of ageing is often framed in terms of the financial or physical wellbeing of ‘old’ people – Dominic Campbell says it’s a mistake to lump our seniors into these categories alone.

I’M CURSED TO spend large parts of my days listening to people talk nonsense. I work in the arts. There’s a lot of nonsense spoken in the art world.

Lately I’ve been working in the Health world. More nonsense. I’ve been working with older people, and therefore in the growing field of Gerontology – the study of old age. Is nonsense spoken there? You’d better believe it.

“Gerontology” has developed as an area of study because simply considering old age from the viewpoint of a single academic discipline offers only a limited perspective on how we now grow older. Age isn’t a medical condition, nor is it merely about health which is critical at all  ages. Neither social studies, nor humanities, nor a cultural perspective provides a fully informed view. So they all come together in the Gerontological soup. It’s quite a gathering of specialised areas. A lot of specialised language.

Now that Gerontology is a nicely maturing 30-year-old practice it’s developing its own buzzwords. Take the phrase “Demographic Dividend”. It comes from a good place. It describes the potential contribution that an ageing population can make to society.

We’re all living healthier, and in some cases, longer lives. Generally, statistically speaking, what seems to happen now is we gradually physically wear out, rather than rapidly become chronic.

Depending on “how you feel yourself” has a lot to do with whether this is good or bad thing, and how the “wearing out” comes about. “How you feel yourself” has a lot to do with whether you’re occupied, engaged, finding new things to stimulate your interest, have access to friends and friendly family. All of which have major effects on your health and your wellbeing, on whether or not you are generally a cheery joy or a cloud of misery regardless of circumstance.

If we feel okay about ourselves, ageing can offer a Leonard Cohen experience

We have tended to see this process of ageing as a completely bad thing. A kind of bleak Charles Dickens workhouse stage of life. But if we feel okay about ourselves there’s no reason why it should be like that. It can offer more of a Mary from X Factor moment. A Leonard Cohen experience.

Which is where Demographic Dividend comes in. Eleven per cent of Ireland’s population are over 65; that’s about 436,000 people. By 2021, this will rise to around 15 per cent with a greater rise in the number of people aged over 80. Many more of us are living longer. Around 90 per cent of people are self-sufficient.  As an ever larger percentage of the population moves into the over 65s bracket, their potential to offer huge contributions to society is becoming evident. They are challenging our stereotyping of old age; asking that we question what “old” is and what we ourselves might become in our old age.

So far so good. Older people are often the glue of community holding grandparent and volunteering roles, increasingly looking after their own parents. They may bring to debates and developments an outsiders view rooted in long experience, or the psychological liberation that comes from a consideriation of legacy rather than  a narrow focus on a career.

However Demographic Dividend is more and more frequently being reduced to cash terms; “Older people have greater disposable income than any other sector of the population”. They’ve paid for their house. They’re not trapped in a mortgage. They have a good pension. If we only perceive the potential contributions of older people in financial terms we become poorer.

“Older people” like any other random grouping – “23 year olds”, or “accountants” for instance – embraces a diverse cross-section of people. Single, married, divorced, widowed, courting, swinging or sleeping around, wouldn’t begin to cover it if I focused merely on the relationship arrangements of the LBGT and heterosexual gang of older people who regularly use my local.

It’s a mistake to think of ‘older people’ as a homogenous gang with silvering hair

It’s the same with the ability of older people to be a dividend in purely financial terms. Some can. Some can’t. No secret, nothing complicated about it. While 80 per cent of heads of households over 65 own their own home, 70 per cent of older people living alone are dependent on social welfare provision.

Older people appear in all shapes and sizes, with all temperaments, and from all cultures. It’s a mistake to think of “older people” as some homogenous gang topped-off with silvering hair and we do our future selves a disservice by doing so. We miss out on diversity, we fail to witness a variety of strategies for living, we reduce our own options.

Over the last six years, through the Bealtaine Festival, I’ve met artists bringing a rich lifetime of experience to their explorations of art form: 101-year-olds turning up to dance class for the very first time with a history in every gesture, 60-year-old poets maturing line by line, 80-year-old former political PR agents now happily playing a mean trad fiddle.

I’ve watched an individual progress from an introductory painting class to a theatre workshop to a dance group to becoming a regular on Dublin’s stage, astonished that such a journey was possible, at her age.

I’ve seen older men arrive cautiously to tell their own story about growing up gay in an Irish town, grow in confidence and stature as their show took wings before an audience, then contribute to their community’s sense of itself as the show toured to New York, Paris, Finland and New Zealand.

I’ve watched a woman who performs her own life story, one with a tough beginning rooted in bitterness, become more vibrant with every public telling. I’ve listened afterwards as audiences were liberated by her telling to tell their own tales, felt the room change as stories unspoken for years were aired, and their tellers breathed more easily.

I’ve heard many people explain how their lives are re-ignited by an opportunity to take part in the arts late in life. “I haven’t cleaned the house for a fortnight, my house is a mess but I feel great”.

So I wonder what this blossoming in later life through the arts might tell those of us heading into older age moment by moment, year on year?

Perhaps it’s that sometimes new discoveries, like those about how we now age, are communicated like baby talk; in bursts of musicality, through movement as often as speech, in a language only just beginning to take shape. Maybe the nonsense we sometimes hear is the noise made by people learning to live fully in older age.

There is still one nonsensical big secret about older people we ignore. Old people they are us, only older. No nonsense.

Dominic Campbell is Artistic Director of the Bealtaine Festival. Bealtaine Festival is the annual nationwide celebration of creativity in older age that takes place across Ireland each May. An unique Irish cultural innovation founded by Age & Opportunity, over 100,000 people took part in 2,500 exhibtions, concerts, and performances this year

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

6 Comments
    Mute Heywood Jablome
    Favourite Heywood Jablome
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:36 PM

Appointing McEntee was nothing more than the government balancing their gender quota for the top jobs. No where in any other walk of life would a journalism graduate be given the job as a minister for justice. It’s about time the government copped on and started giving jobs to the most qualified people.

Mute Paul Fahey
    Favourite Paul Fahey
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:53 PM

@Heywood Jablome: and Mary Lou, gender quota? The perversion of an organisation who supported the murder of children discussing Justice is an affront to decency.

Mute Louise Marie
    Favourite Louise Marie
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:18 PM

@Heywood Jablome: You know what Simo Harris is a Journalism dropout, yeah?? At least she got a First

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:11 PM

@Heywood Jablome: ill see you minster McEntee and raise you Simon Harris
    I think he has got the leaving Cert’

Mute and the hit's just keep coming
    Favourite and the hit's just keep coming
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:21 PM

@Heywood Jablome: both of them need to go ….if it was his old job in the RUC/PSNI he would have been gone already….. only in Ireland do we sit back and let these people in command positions stay and drag it out to the end….RTE has nearly collapsed of financial underhanded antics and Tubbs got the boot….. these 2 clowns have brought the security of the state to its knees and they are basically sticking their fingers up at the country and saying ya can’t touch us ….its a slap in the face to any of us that have served in uniform….to level these 2 muppts running the show

Mute Mic JHintl
    Favourite Mic JHintl
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:52 PM

@Paul Fahey: then Paul where do we go with this and I share you’re disdain of SF but I sense mischief in your claim. Is it the case that everyone’s past is going to determine their status because if it is we’re fooked as a country. SF while I dislike them are at least a political force now in the country. In my view its a youth movement and I who grew up at the start of the troubles am likely to hinder any reasonable debate around them but I do trust my children. Time to stop the tribalism in my view because we are stuck otherwise.

Mute Paul Mccabe
    Favourite Paul Mccabe
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:48 PM

@Paul Fahey: don’t talk rubbish & deflect from the reality that the minister is useless & not near up for the job, she lives in a parallel universe

Mute he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Favourite he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s
    Nov 27th 2023, 8:17 PM

@Paul Fahey: stop living in the past what matters is the future

Mute Helen Murphy
    Favourite Helen Murphy
    Nov 27th 2023, 8:53 PM

@John Mcmahon: and irony of him being Minister for further and higher education. The neck on him.

Mute paulgurney
    Favourite paulgurney
    Nov 28th 2023, 2:58 PM

@Heywood Jablome: correct and its about time we started doing accountability in this country as well…according to FFG theres never a proper time for someone to have to resign…theres nothing to be gained blah blah…yes there is it ensures the next person in the job will try harder so as not to get fired..Cotton wool politicians…no scandal big enough ever.

Mute paulgurney
    Favourite paulgurney
    Nov 28th 2023, 3:02 PM

@John Mcmahon: you’d wonder has he.

Mute Tommy Haze
    Favourite Tommy Haze
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:26 PM

McEntee is a soulless automaton who comes across as someone who has been compromised. How she ever got that appointment is a question for further down the road.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:57 PM

@Peter Murray: I’m sure her uncle would agree with you…Wonder to Jesus she didn’t go for another photo opportunity down O Connell Street with her garda escort..

Mute another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Favourite another one? what's going on is the semi state sec
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:39 PM

@Peter Murray: If only her “integrity” made the public feel safe or kept trouble off the streets of Dublin! Remember how she took a walk in the city a few months ago, backed Harris and gave a nice sound bite of how “Dublin is a safe city”…… Unfortunately both her and Drew Harris are not up to the job and what has been simmering for a while now, for everyone to see, came to fruition. Toe rags are running amock with no consequence and no fear.

Mute Adrian Kehoe
    Favourite Adrian Kehoe
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:48 PM

@Donal Desmond: That guy just posts random nonsense with no proof of anything, he’s constantly and consistently doing it .

Mute Gerard Smith
    Favourite Gerard Smith
    Nov 27th 2023, 3:31 PM

@Peter Murray: but no competency

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 27th 2023, 3:35 PM

@Adrian Kehoe: Agree …He can also get personal when opinions go against him.

Mute Ron Collins
    Favourite Ron Collins
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:44 PM

@Tommy Haze: I believe she got that appointment for what was recognised as a good job she did as Minister of State for European Affairs during Brexit.

Mute The Anti palestine And Islam
    Favourite The Anti palestine And Islam
    Nov 27th 2023, 7:07 PM

@Ron Collins: She is a complete turd, justice minister with 0 background in law… how pitiful.

Mute paulgurney
    Favourite paulgurney
    Nov 28th 2023, 3:03 PM

@Peter Murray: and you know this how exactly or is it just a stupid comment on your behalf…some facts please.

Mute Mike 100
    Favourite Mike 100
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:02 PM

Why no highlighted reporting of the stabbing on Talbot Street last night. Very low profile. Seems the media is being locked down. By the State?

Mute Paul C
    Favourite Paul C
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:30 PM

@Mike 100: posted 4 hours ago on here

Man hospitalised after stabbing incident on Talbot Street last night https://jrnl.ie/6233767

Mute Denis Rathsallagh Brady
    Favourite Denis Rathsallagh Brady
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:43 PM

@Mike 100: That would depend on the race/colour of the assailant.
    Also if he’s not from Ireland.
    All reasons why its not being reported. Its disgraceful.
    Yes, it would be an order from the state claiming “far right lunatics” will riot again if the ethnicity of the assailant was revealed.
    No, angry Irish people will, Harris just puts them in that bracket.
    There were groups of Irish men stopping looters on Thursday, go look for the videos.

Find out for yourself go to other sites that may have the story.
    I cant name any here.
    But mainstream media wont report the truth.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 27th 2023, 3:03 PM

@Denis Rathsallagh Brady: But it was reported and Paul C provided the link in this thread. And were they just angry Irish people who were looting shops in Dublin?

Mute Andrew Martin
    Favourite Andrew Martin
    Nov 27th 2023, 3:27 PM

@Mike 100: Gript is a reliable Irish news source that isn’t being controlled by the state

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:24 PM

@Andrew Martin: Not exactly balanced though is it?

Mute Mike 100
    Favourite Mike 100
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:28 PM

@Denis Rathsallagh Brady: and a stabbing in courtown direct provision Centre over the weekend. No in main media outlets for some reason?

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:57 PM

@Rob Cahill: and this is?

Nov 27th 2023, 6:35 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: Any mainstream media report on it?
    Didnt think so…

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 27th 2023, 6:45 PM

@Denis Rathsallagh Brady: Yes, it’s all over MSM. If you’re too lazy to look, then I certainly can’t be arsed sending you the links. But I guess it’s not laziness that’s stopping you.

Nov 27th 2023, 6:53 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: No. Theres a video of groups of Irish men stopping people from looting.
    In one video they stopped 3 black guys from looting.
    They were also shouting “dont be robbing from you own you’re better that this”
    Didnt read about anywhere did yiz?

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Nov 27th 2023, 7:00 PM

@Denis Rathsallagh Brady: Why are you focusing on one video? The looting was wrong no matter who did it but it was clearly done predominantly by Irish teenagers. Yet you’ll pick one video to reinforce your pre-existing anti-immigration view

Nov 27th 2023, 7:12 PM

@Andrew Martin: It isn’t reliable it’s for turds like you.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 27th 2023, 7:17 PM

@Denis Rathsallagh Brady: I’ve seen that video. There is absolutely no evidence in it that the black guys were looting.

Mute Four Aces
    Favourite Four Aces
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:32 PM

She has been a disaster who wants to turn us into Communist China with her hate speech laws and facial recognition cameras.

Mute Staker Wallace
    Favourite Staker Wallace
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:45 PM

@Four Aces: The hate speech laws will be totally unworkable if everyone decides to get offended.
    As for facial recognition: ‘Researchers have found that the technology is more likely to misidentify people of color, trans people, and women than middle-aged white men’

Mute Martin Mongan
    Favourite Martin Mongan
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:49 PM

@Four Aces: your local super markets used facial recognition…. Better steer clear

Mute Nemethon
    Favourite Nemethon
    Nov 27th 2023, 6:37 PM

@Martin Mongan: Dole offices have been using FRT for a few years this was used to identify the Roma gypsies scamming in Gorey Wexford a few years back and successful identifying Irish travellers

Mute Niall Whyte
    Favourite Niall Whyte
    Nov 27th 2023, 7:29 PM

@Four Aces: Funny how these cameras have been in use for years across Europe but it’ll just be the Irish ones that’ll be problematic.

Mute john dennehy
    Favourite john dennehy
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:45 PM

No one in this government is ever held accountable, law and order, housing, health care, the oversight of the whole lot of it is a national disgrace.

Mute Paddy C
    Favourite Paddy C
    Nov 27th 2023, 10:06 PM

@john dennehy: that’s the beauty of it,once you get it it is the gravy train doesn’t matter if you do anything at all guaranteed lump sum and pension if it does go south just do as you’re told and live the dream in there even money for clocking into the dail sitting there saying nothing great crack

Mute paulgurney
    Favourite paulgurney
    Nov 28th 2023, 3:06 PM

@john dennehy: Exactly…theres always this “nothing will be gained now” excuse.Well I beg to differ.Everything will be gained and we will get the chance to employ a competent minister for justice

Mute TheUnrepresented
    Favourite TheUnrepresented
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:58 PM

Whatever about the minister – And so the media distraction goes on. I believe we need to call out the alignment of the native mecia with government and opposition policy here. No native Irish media had reported to us on the suspect. The details don’t read too good for their policies and applying our laws. Thankfully some of the British titles operating are not so tied to the establishment and are happy to let us know the 20 year history of the suspect here in Ireland.

Nov 27th 2023, 7:13 PM

@TheUnrepresented: Native Irish, the same we saw looting all over the place and being lazy dole turd like you?

Mute TheUnrepresented
    Favourite TheUnrepresented
    Nov 27th 2023, 8:27 PM

@The Anti palestine And Islam: “Native media” or “native Irish media” – mentioned above ONLY. I assume you have the IQ to understand the difference in these terms to your term “native irish” term without any further nouns e.g. RTE, TV3, Irish Independent, Irish examiner…even the journal.ie ARE all native Irish media. As opposed to British owned titles “Sunday Times”, “Irish Mirror”, “Irish Daily Mail”. I suggest you go to specsavers if you still cant work it out. And I assume you understand the point being made re local media being in lock step with the distracting establishment.

Mute paulgurney
    Favourite paulgurney
    Nov 28th 2023, 3:08 PM

@TheUnrepresented: Fiannan Sheahan may as well rename the Independent The FF daily chronicle…he is so blatantly pro FF and anti everyone else even FG oddly enough…I wonder why…lol

Mute Conor McCarthy
    Favourite Conor McCarthy
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:23 PM

Why are there no conversations happening about the immigration issue where degenerates are flocking to Ireland to take advantage of our favorable social welfare schemes. At the very least the government needs to reassess what refugees are entitled to claim to reduce the numbers coming here. And before I’m labeled a racist, I believe in diversity and freedom of travel. That does not mean a country should not have checks and balances in place. The average person does not have an issue with people coming here legally to work. The government needs to start listening to the concerns of the population instead of pushing on with its own agenda

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:59 PM

@Conor McCarthy: the most sensible comment on here

Nov 27th 2023, 7:19 PM

@Conor McCarthy: because they love Muslims or are too afraid to speak up.

Mute Feargal De Cantuin
    Favourite Feargal De Cantuin
    Nov 27th 2023, 7:57 PM

@Conor McCarthy: I disagree. We cannot have checks and balances if we also have to fulfil our obligations under European, UN and Humanitarian agreements. With the war in Ukraine we are only one of many EU countries offering safety to refugees. Already as part of the EU other citizens of EU states have the same rights to live and work here as we have in other EUCountries. The presence in Ireland of other asylum seekers and non European nationals is a problem successive governments have intentionally failed to address with sufficient resources as a deterrent. This was exposed with the Ukraine war and the double standard became news and no a political football. The neoliberal chickens are coming home to roost and a great little country to do business in has become a right wing playground.

Mute lisa naughton
    Favourite lisa naughton
    Nov 29th 2023, 5:11 AM

@Conor will always push their own agenda ,just like they are pushing the irish outta their homes . Horror that new arrivals What about the 13,000+ homeless irish that is really a non-existent number as it’s more like 20,000 homeless irish . Fact 64 new fully furnished to high standard , quick builds opening in tullamore for Ukrainians,carpets ,bedding ,TV’s, white goods the lot. Special bus services for them as on outskirts of town .While 18 new build bungalows for old ppl 200 yards have just bare walls and stone floors and no bus service . 80,000 Ukrainians and 425% in international protection applicant’s in the last 15 months . Where is the equality ?

Mute Heywood Jablome
    Favourite Heywood Jablome
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:40 PM

Plenty of blue shirts rearing their ûgly heads and once again defending the indefensible.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:43 PM

@Heywood Jablome: relax, Shinners are crumbling and it’s lovely to see, enjoy it

Mute Fidgenti
    Favourite Fidgenti
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:58 PM

@Heywood Jablome: You can almost smell the panic off them. Not sure why they’re so terrified of SF. SF will likely do just as bad a job as FFG.
    Kidding, I am sure why they’re terrified. They can see their century old hegemony being broken. Decades of old boy networking and gombeenmanship down the tube and only a few gaffs in Malta to show for it.

Mute brian madden
    Favourite brian madden
    Nov 27th 2023, 3:56 PM

@Paul Gorry: nonsense. FFG should merge as they are effectively identical.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:03 PM

@brian madden: SF/IRA are identical lol

Mute brian madden
    Favourite brian madden
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:46 PM

@Paul Gorry: ah here we go with the ira. Didn’t take you long.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:49 PM

@brian madden: great to see the triggered shinnerbots, Brian lol

Mute uUleRhCu
    Favourite uUleRhCu
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:07 PM

@brian madden: Sf hate any history older than 25 years ago.

Mute Chris Curran
    Favourite Chris Curran
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:47 PM

So, if someone is incompetent and there’s plenty of evidence to demonstrate it, we just accept mediocracy?

No wonder we’re not coping well.

I love Ireland, like the even rioters are given second chance to have another go, being let on on bail.

The courts are just as much to blame as McEntee, Harris and senior Garda management.

Make me wanna cry.

Mute marklars81
    Favourite marklars81
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:14 PM

@Chris Curran: Any issues with the courts stop at McEntee.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Favourite Pauline Gallagher
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:25 PM

I cannot believe that there is an article asking people affected by the riots to email them. You would think a Pan Am jet exploded over the city or something. Nobody was hurt, riots happen in every single city on earth, GET THE F OVER IT.

Nov 27th 2023, 2:45 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: Well said Pauline, well said.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 27th 2023, 3:28 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: Well Ms Angry, they were the worst riots in our capital city for 20 years. Many people were affected. So GET THE F OVER IT

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:52 PM

@SYaxJ2Ts: If you think im standing up for them, I’m not, I referred to them as toerags in another story. I dont appreciate how the Irish government, police and media are more appalled by a night of anarchy, which they should have been well prepared for, than the very inevitable PTSD that the real victims of Thursday will suffer. And it aint a bunch of witnesses to a relatively tame riot. What a bunch of panseys you all are. Get a backbone.

Mute uUleRhCu
    Favourite uUleRhCu
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:13 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: Well said….but of course it was in Dublin,so it’s always blown out of proportion.And to think people in this country think we should act more like the French….lol.can you imagine.

Mute Kevin Kerr
    Favourite Kevin Kerr
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:40 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: There is no hierarchy here. They just want to hear people’s stories. There’s plenty of time for conversations about the earlier attack once we have more information, and probably after a court case takes place

Nov 27th 2023, 7:17 PM

@Pauline Gallagher: You don’t travel much do you? Riots like this don’t happen in city center of other cities (aside USA) and totally uncontrolled.
    Get over your braindead you turd.

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Nov 27th 2023, 9:47 PM

@The Anti palestine And Islam: lol what? something tells me you are NOT anti Palestine

Mute Pauline Gallagher
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:23 PM

McEntee and Harris ‘We are left wing, we are left wing, we are left wing’

Mute Annette
    Favourite Annette
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:26 PM

Well done to all the workers in Dublin City today.

Mute Tommy Haze
    Favourite Tommy Haze
    Nov 27th 2023, 8:24 PM

@Annette:
    They didn’t do much work.

Mute Nicholas James O'Donnell
    Favourite Nicholas James O'Donnell
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:32 PM

Labour haven’t scored any points politically aince the 80s.

Mute Jp Cleary
    Favourite Jp Cleary
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:12 PM

@Nicholas James O’Donnell: own goals maybe

Mute Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Favourite Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:26 PM

McEntee was, remains, and always will be out of her depth. She fell into govenmernt by someone’s death and as sad as that is, it doesn’t make for suitable and confident leadership. Sountbytes and low hanging fruit for sex offending amendment legislation sounds great but it doesn’t cut it when we have major crises in our lives about national security, walking the streets and children being able to go to and from school. She’s an elitist and as wrong as the riots were, they are a social symptom of a society she helps to diverge. She just needs to go. By peaceful means if necessary.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:30 PM

Sinn Fein unravelling, a delightful spectacle

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:09 PM

@Paul Gorry: Where have you been hiding since the turn of the century ? FFG pre-2000 used to get around 40% of the vote each, now their down to 35% BETWEEN them, SF on the other hand have been on a massive upsurge during the same period now averaging poll results that are almost equal to the combined popularity of FF & FG. Go home to whatever alternate universe you came from kiddo.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:13 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: on a downward trend since Mary Toilet came back, food for thought I am sure

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:22 PM

@Paul Gorry: Scraping the barrel there, lol, I’ve no doubt that Sinn Fein are relishing the upcoming election whereas FFG know they’re doomed, hence you and your fellow shills expressing panic online through your lies, lol.

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry

@Frank Cauldhame: some bang of fear off you Frankie, squeaky bum time for you and your fellow shills lol

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:48 PM

@Frank Cauldhame:as always well said Frank.

Mute uUleRhCu
    Favourite uUleRhCu
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:09 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: Yeah…..and all of that will be undone when they get into government and are useless…..they have gained a load of swing voters….those swing voters will swing away from then in an act.

Mute Gertrude Gilmore
    Favourite Gertrude Gilmore
    Nov 27th 2023, 6:35 PM

Has Jonathan Dowdall left Sinn Fein ?

If not he could use the old waterboarding trick to encourage them to resign

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Nov 27th 2023, 6:51 PM

@Frank Cauldhame: you can smell the fear off the blue shirts, that and the smell of Gin.

Mute M G
    Favourite M G

They both need to go along with a few more ministers that are causing devide right across the country, this branding people thugs far right ect is not helping only making more people grow angrier, listen to the people that elected you ,all people are asking is to check who’s coming into the country,

Mute Declan Gibney
    Favourite Declan Gibney
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:42 PM

SF have eventually been found out – the hurler on the ditch will never miss the goal. Governing and good governance is a long way from kidnapping and robbing banks.

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:14 PM

@Declan Gibney: Suppose you could say the same concerning FFG who robbed the taxpayers money to bailout the banks and developers. The same taxpayers who were then forced through austerity to repay for the gangsterism of the banks and developers facilated by the same political parties that are again in power.

Mute uUleRhCu
    Favourite uUleRhCu
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:16 PM

@Donal Desmond: Yes,a lot of what you said is true…..but who did the banks lend all that money too?…..yeah,that’s right.us…but of course it’s always everyone else’s fault in this country…never the Irish public…..’we’ are just to blame for the collapse of this country in 2010 as anyone.

Mute Sean
    Favourite Sean
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:54 PM

@uUleRhCu: No doubt people borrowed recklessly but to say we were all as culpable as the regulator/Anglo/international institutional lenders for the crash is a misunderstanding of the causes of the collapse. Personal responsibility is something that should be promoted, especially in these days, but saying we are collectively “just as much to blame” as the regulator and reckless banks isn’t true and sounds like victim blaming

Mute Michael Mcevoy
    Favourite Michael Mcevoy
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:33 PM

I think in all this discussion about the damage caused by mindless vandals what’s being forgotten is that what kicked it off was an attack on innocent toddlers and a teacher by an “ economic migrant “ who, somehow managed to become an Irish citizen. This, coupled with the murder of that poor girl in Offaly leads me to think that there is little or no vetting of people who want to make their homes here.

Nov 27th 2023, 8:32 PM

@Michael Mcevoy: well you havent got a clue, he moved here 20years ago, was fully vetted before being made an Irish citizen, had a brain tumor that changed his behaviour,(still no excuse for what he did) a lot more crime is commited by unvetted irish people,there is always going to be a few bad apples in the bunch,didnt hear any uproar when that irish lad killed his wife and his kids

Mute Michael Mcevoy
    Favourite Michael Mcevoy
    Nov 28th 2023, 7:25 PM

@he didnt take the 120k because he already got it s: exactly right dude. People in the country do commit murder but I have no recollection of any Irishman standing outside a toddlers school with the sole aim of murdering as many kids as possible or if cutting off the heads of those men in Sligo. And to use the excuse that his illness caused him to target young kids is despicable.

Mute honey badger
    Favourite honey badger
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:27 PM

Sinn Fein on a very pleasant downward trajectory. Useless blowhards whose style of politics is better suited to junior cert debating contests.
    They’ve shot themselves in the foot here.

Mute John Kelly
    Favourite John Kelly
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:07 PM

How have last week’s riots in Dublin affected you? We want to hear your stories https://jrnl.ie/6233803

I love that they journal r asking this with, “COMMENTS CLOSED” underneath it.

That’s Leo to a T.

Mute marklars81
    Favourite marklars81
    Nov 27th 2023, 5:17 PM

@John Kelly: It’s a joke that they want to hear from people but want to cherry pick them before publishing and then leave the comments closed on everything.

Mute Rodney Byrne
    Favourite Rodney Byrne
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:10 PM

Wait until sinn fein/ira get into power they will show us what justice is all about like they did in the North of Ireland before they got into power. We need a new political party not ffg greens or sinn fein/ira. One that takes care of the four and a half million indigenous irish.

Mute Tom Dillon
    Favourite Tom Dillon
    Nov 27th 2023, 6:56 PM

@Rodney Byrne: indigenous Irish’. Oh dear.

Nov 27th 2023, 8:19 PM

@Rodney Byrne: no blacks,no dogs, no irish remember our history lad

Mute john brazil
    Favourite john brazil
    Nov 27th 2023, 1:51 PM

I’d like to hear comments Mairia Cahills book Rough Justice

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 27th 2023, 3:01 PM

Sinn Fein the great Know all’s

Mute Chaotic State
    Favourite Chaotic State
    Nov 27th 2023, 7:18 PM

Anyone who watched the Week in Politics program yesterday on RTE presented by Áine Lawlor will have had their worst fears confirmed regarding clueless politicians in this country.
    Pearse Doherty SF – Jack Chambers FF
    and Jennifer Whitmore SD were all asked about the recent Dublin riots.
    They all gave the usual not enough Gardaí or Gda resources available, lack of recruitment etc and not one of them including the presenter mentioned the root cause which is the fact that these incidents happen and will continue to happen even if they open 100 new Gda stations and double the number of Gardaí because the thugs and criminals in this country have no fear, because their are no real consequences for the anti social acts they carry out.
    The 34 people arrested in relation to the Dublin riots were in court the next day and home with their feet up watching the TV that evening, they won’t face another day in court until next year where no doubt they will face a stern talking to that will soften their cough.
    An overhaul of the judicial and legal system is urgently needed with mandatory sentences for assaults and serious anti social behaviour along with more prison spaces and a limit on free legal aid for serial offenders.
    These measures would go a long way to giving our Gardaí the backing they need as well as sending a message to the thugs and criminals out there that their will be consequences for their actions.
    It might also help to reassure the general public that the government is serious about crime and punishment in this country.

Mute Tim Brennan
    Favourite Tim Brennan
    Nov 27th 2023, 3:00 PM

This Green woman is a great woman for the limelight talks a whole lot of dribble.

Mute Barney
    Favourite Barney
    Nov 27th 2023, 6:07 PM

McEntee knows about the bullying and treatment in the Guards. People leaving and even suicides in some cases and she still has her head in the sand. Someone needs to get her out of that role before it’s too late. She’s a disgrace to all rank and file but she doesn’t care.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:05 PM

A non existing Police Force

Mute Luka Roche
    Favourite Luka Roche
    Nov 27th 2023, 2:01 PM

So Liebour promotes violence on the streets of the Capital?? While people’s businesses are destroyed by hooliganism

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:09 PM

Will Nessa please join SF .
    She knows she wants to!
    So obvious

Mute Albert Brennerman
    Favourite Albert Brennerman
    Nov 27th 2023, 7:56 PM

Body Cameras and facial recognition shows these decisions are being made by people with little experience of real world policing, These would of done nothing to deal with mobs in hoodies,face wraps and scarfs.

Mute Paul Cullen
    Favourite Paul Cullen
    Nov 27th 2023, 4:19 PM

@Boyd – Barrett I suppose Thursdays attack was a bit of Argy Bargy

Mute Gearoid Murphy
    Favourite Gearoid Murphy
    Nov 27th 2023, 8:06 PM

Turn on Comments when it suits. Used to like it here. Ye are bottlers

Mute Gerry R
    Favourite Gerry R
    Nov 27th 2023, 11:59 PM

All a load of codswollop being written here.. but ye got one thing right Mary Lou is a joke . Jumps on the bandwagon of every issue has the answer to everything except where the ira buried their victims. On the scene of the stabbings and could see what was coming down the road and has the pulse on the community. What a woman

Mute Mike Howard
    Favourite Mike Howard
    Nov 28th 2023, 12:04 AM

@Gerry R: Completely agree !- let her come clean with the hidden graves !!

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Nov 28th 2023, 4:39 PM

@Gerry R: still deflecting from the govt parties who are presiding over failed crisis ridden policies in housing homeless criminal justice health transport courts prisons Garda defence forces and bizarrely hospital building which should be an easy win , but no you want to complain about the opposition who haven’t ever been in power – jog on

Mute Carlow Muaythai
    Favourite Carlow Muaythai
    Nov 27th 2023, 6:04 PM

Political opportunist!!!

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Nov 27th 2023, 7:01 PM

@Carlow Muaythai: Exactly. Undermining the head of the guards and minister for justice isn’t really going to help build confidence in policing

Mute Pat Thornton
    Favourite Pat Thornton
    Nov 28th 2023, 6:38 AM

McEntee has allowed on two previous occasions (as she is entitled to do, for personal reasons) stepped down from her position as minister and has allowed others to do her job, and they did a good job.
    So why can’t she do it again, for the safety of our citizens this time!!

Mute Robert Halvey
    Favourite Robert Halvey
    Nov 27th 2023, 7:09 PM

I suspect that the investigation into the thuggery let loose on innocent dubs on Thursday has along way to go and we will see just how hard the right wing little rent manboys are

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 27th 2023, 7:53 PM

Nessa should just bite the …… and join sf

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Nov 28th 2023, 10:47 PM

An appalling campaign against a progressive, hard-working minister. Not the first time Sinn Fein has done this rubbish, such time-wasters. The riots were in no way McEntee’s fault.

Mute lisa naughton
    Favourite lisa naughton
    Nov 29th 2023, 5:18 AM

They broke our housing ,they broke our education, our health . They broke any chance of our children having an affordable future . They broke the policing and security of this country . Who voted them in again ??. This government have broken the irish , with everything they have broken already and contuine to break . Freedom of expression and speech is next.

Mute Dave Hammond
    Favourite Dave Hammond
    Nov 28th 2023, 4:36 PM

Time for serious look at how we tackle anti social behaviour in Ireland it’s way past time for being too soft – look to other developed countries for some ideas , ankle
    Bracelets , ASBO , Zero tolerance , 3strikes and prison , building more prison and detention centres , implementing fines , cutting welfare benefits , stronger and more widespread enforcement of criminal assets bureau , cctv , better equipped security services , amalgamation of better equipped and trained riot squads from army and police , tasers , even consider arming all police , certainly need to put all options on table and consider what’s best for Ireland – oh and scrapping the 15c subscriptions in cells for sky tv – the country can still work to reform without being too soft.