You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

How I Spend My Money A finance worker on €34,000 who sees no point trying to save for a house

Some demoulding around the apartment and a bill from RTÉ make for a pricey week.

WELCOME TO HOW I Spend My Money, a series on TheJournal.ie that looks at what people in Ireland really do with their cash.

We’re asking readers to keep a record of how much they earn, how much they save, if anything, and what they spend their money on over the course of one week. Want to take part? Details on how to do it are at the bottom of the piece.

Each money diary is submitted by readers just like you. When reading and commenting, bear in mind that their situation will not be relatable for everyone, it is simply an account of a week in their shoes.  

Last week, a marketing manager on €60,000 a year gave us an account his week and today, a financial services worker living in the capital explains his daily spending habits.

MoneyDiaries-Banner-950x170v3

Salary: €34,000
Monthly pay (net): €2,350

Monthly expenses

Rent: €1,475 (split €775 to me and €700 to herself)
Household bills: €190
Transport: €20
Phone bill: €45
Health insurance: €40
Groceries: €150
Subscriptions: €25
Gym membership: €60
Work holiday fund: €70
Pension contribution: €70

Myself and my girlfriend live together in a one-bedroom apartment, roughly 35 minutes walking distance from the city centre where we both work. We would like to carry on living in Dublin, and indeed close to town.

As a result we are in relative gay abandon when it comes to money, rent excluded. To purchase a home in an area that we would like to live, we would require incomes twice more than we currently earn for a mortgage. We have come to the realisation that there is little point scrimping and saving to buy a house or an apartment that we resent, in an area that we are unhappy.

On a good month I save €150, generally it’s more in the region of €100. You might ask for what am I saving? Indeed I ask myself that question too. It’s most likely for a rainy day, but to be honest, it’s probably better in the bank than in the cash registers of Dublin’s pubs. 

Monday

My alarm goes off. It’s 6.40 am. It’s the moment I’ve been dreading since leaving work on Saturday lunchtime. I’m not a morning person, my reveille is unwelcome. Getting out of the bed is akin to a barnacle being prised from the underbelly of a ship with a toothpick.

Following a far-too-long shower, I wander into the kitchen. It’s 7.10 am. I need to be in work at 7.45 am. Nothing, literally nothing, is worth missing breakfast for. I am absolutely comfortable with making myself late in order to eat a breakfast. I add some muesli to yogurt (SuperValu own brand, very tasty, plenty of fruit) and follow this up with a handful of M&Ms, the bag was lying out on the countertop and far too inviting to avoid. Grabbing the sandwich I made last night, I rush out the door without a moment to lose and negotiate Dublin’s crowded morning streets.

Luckily I’m only five minutes late this morning. I generally enjoy a mid-morning coffee. Today one of my colleagues bought a delicious flat white in Lolly and Cooks, but had to rush into a meeting before he could drink it. Sad to see a good coffee go to waste, so I contentedly lap it up – if anyone asks it was cold and binned.

I head to the gym after work. This keeps me out of Dublin’s taverns. Arriving home, herself has the dinner on as she returned from work first.

Today’s total: €0

Tuesday

Woke up. Fell out of bed. Dragged a comb across my head. Little bit of a lie in today, covering a colleague’s later shift so no need for me to be in the office until 10am.

Having said that, still a bit of a struggle to be on time as I need to collect dry cleaning: a winter overcoat, suit trousers and a tie: total €38.

If I’m in a hurry to get to work and fancy a cooked breakfast, I don’t waste money on a breakfast roll from Spar. I grab an egg or two from the fridge, cut two slices of black pudding relatively thin and wrap in tin foil. When I get into work, I drop the eggs into the kettle and put on boil, throw the black pudding wrapped in tin foil into the toaster and switch on. Delicious. Generally most offices have a spare cut of bread lying around too. Hey presto, you’ve got yourself a first-class brekkie.

For lunch today I went to the local deli. Got a brown roll with pastrami, Swiss cheese, coleslaw and a couple of pickles, total €5.15. The sandwich is delicious, but half the fun is the people watching. Groups of people orbiting the salad bar, plucking out measly morsels of mulch, relenting at the till and adding a sly Catch bar to the purchase. I’m sure yogalates later will burn that off.

I went to rehearsals with my amateur theatre group after work so gave dinner a miss. 

Today’s total: €43.15

Wednesday

Another grand lie in as I’m in the office for 10am. Slightly more expensive start to the morning as I received a letter threatening fines for not paying the TV Licence. As a staunch supporter of our national broadcaster, national orchestras and national psychosis, I hastened to pay this €160 as soon as possible.

Had a nice breakfast at home of egg salad on bread and prepared my lunch yesterday evening from the weekly grocery shop.

Had a rough enough day, so on the way home bought a bottle of plonk (€10) for the two of us. 

Today’s total: €170

Thursday

Shock horror, back to that awful early start of 7.45am. Wake up at 6.30am and the day begins with more of the same. 

Today I was at an external event where there was pizza. Cost of lunch, nil.

Popped into the parents on the way to rehearsals this evening where I was made feel guilty, as usual, for not saving for a mortgage. Somehow I feel I’m right and the world is wrong. If there’s a more benevolent, kind-hearted demographic in Irish society other than landlords I’d like to meet them. Oh yeah, bank workers.

Myself and herself are heading to London in December to visit friends, and from there to Amsterdam to visit other friends, who incidentally moved due to the rising cost of rent in Dublin. We’re taking the train from London to Amsterdam, and it was less expensive than you might think, €40 each. That’s already paid and we booked our flights last month, €60 return. London is horrifically expensive for accommodation so ended up paying €240 between us for three nights in a Premier Inn in Clapham, followed by €190 for three nights in Haarlem. Pay day is two weeks away so this is all going on the credit card to be addressed at a later period. We were already very good and paid for the flights and the train up front.

My advice, if you are visiting friends abroad, NEVER STAY WITH THEM. If you stay with them you become indebted to them. This could potentially result in some manner of financial expenditure in the form of a pint, or working on the principle that a bird never flew on one wing – two pints.

Today’s total: €215

Friday

Day went as usual, got up and went to work. Looking forward to a three-day weekend ahead of me.

Brought a lunch with me, a nice plain ham sandwich and some soup.

A work event followed the day, so myself and a few colleagues bought a couple of beers and had them in the office. Nice soothing beer. The perfect medicine and antidote for the week.

Headed to the event which was in a different office in town and thank god there was a free bar. Costs were hence kept to a minimum. I did somehow manage to spend a couple of euro on pints afterwards in the local boozer, according to online banking.

Today’s total: €16.50

Saturday

Felt rough, to say the least. The only thing to be done in such inauspicious circumstances is to clean.

As with all Dublin rental accommodation, mould is an issue in the apartment. Not as substantial as I have seen in some places, but still needed attention. I went to the hardware store and purchased a mould remover, which was €13.50, and a tin of WD40 for my bicycle (€8). I treated the affected area with the mould remover and nearly passed out from the fumes.

Had a friend over for dinner tonight before we headed out to one of our associate’s birthdays. Cooked up a grand bit of pork steak and the friend brought wine for us.

Again in retrospect, I opened up the online banking the following day to analyse the cost of the evening, it was €48.50. I have no intention of listing the individual drinks I consumed. I am writing this the following day and feel somewhat nauseous. Thinking of the pints is doing nothing to improve my health.

Today’s total: €70

Sunday

Had a three-hour rehearsal today with my amateur theatre group.

Bought a two-litre bottle of fizzy water. I find the bubbles in it most soothing for the old liver. Don’t ask me to put my hand in my pocket besides, for I am genuinely penniless until payday.

Back to the old grind tomorrow. Can someone let me off this carousel of carnage called life?

Today’s total: €1.68

Weekly subtotal: €516.33

What I’ve learned:

• After discussing the money diary with several people, chatting about my spending, why I do what I do and why I am reticent to try to buy property, I was truly shocked with what a national obsession property it is. So many people in their late 20s and early 30s save every penny they have to purchase a piece of something at a grossly inflated cost. My father always told me that you have one run at life. This isn’t a rehearsal, it’s the real thing. By all means plan for tomorrow, but live for today.
  • In reality, I firmly believe I could save more. This, to be fair, was a particularly expensive week. A trip away is not a monthly event and a bill from RTÉ is also not a regular occurrence. But in the grand scheme of things, bringing a sandwich from home to save €3 pales in comparison to the gross excesses of our current property market. We can all try to satisfy ourselves with working towards something bigger, saving for that dream home, scrimping and saving for the future you saw in the Sherry Fitzgerald advert, but in a market within which all the odds are stacked against you, you must ask the question, why bother?
  • If the most recent UN climate report is anything to go by, a vast bulk of prime real estate in Dublin will probably be submerged by the time we reach retirement. Reading plenty of articles on a day-to-day basis about global warming will also stop you from buying a car – and encourage you to eat less red meat.

Are you a spender, a saver or a splurger? We’re looking for readers who will keep a money diary for a week. If you’re interested send a mail to money@thejournal.ie. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

79 Comments
    Mute David Newman
    Favourite David Newman
    Oct 31st 2018, 7:42 PM

He boils eggs in the kettle in work? I hope he washes it out(i know its boiled but christ!)
    And foil in a toaster? Probably picks it out with a knife while its still on.

Mute Greeneyes17
    Favourite Greeneyes17
    Oct 31st 2018, 11:52 PM

@Jayo Breathneach: lol

Mute Philip King
    Favourite Philip King
    Nov 1st 2018, 6:36 AM

@Jayo Breathneach: it’s actually worse and dangerous. Just ask yourself where the last place that egg was?
    Whoever is drinking tea or coffee after that guy best be careful…..

Mute Diarmuid Hunt
    Favourite Diarmuid Hunt
    Nov 1st 2018, 10:05 AM

@Philip King: In the cardboard egg box I’d imagine depending on whether they have a little holder in the door of the fridge that they decant their eggs into.

Mute Philip King
    Favourite Philip King
    Nov 3rd 2018, 3:50 AM

@Diarmuid Hunt: up a chickens ass! It will also most likely still have faeces on the shell. Not good to drink if you think about it. But thanks for your input….

Mute Mrs M
    Favourite Mrs M
    Oct 31st 2018, 7:41 PM

2 salaries they could easily save for a deposit instead of squandering their money , very defeatist attitude, the property market could change in a year’s time , prices may drop , etc.

Mute Peter Hughes
    Favourite Peter Hughes
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:28 PM

@Mrs M: Exactly, I saved during the boom years and waited until the collapse and bought cheap, it will happen again maybe not as big of a drop but it will happen.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:39 PM

@Mrs M: when the prices drop one of them will have probably lost their job. There needs to be price controls. When the market was collapsing the government gambled away 100 billion to prop up prices. It’s a rigged market place.

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:56 PM

@prop joe: or neither of them could lose their job. You can’t plan your life around the worst case scenario.

Mute Veronica Conway
    Favourite Veronica Conway
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:58 PM

@Peter Hughes: agree with you

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Oct 31st 2018, 9:10 PM

@Emachine: actually financially you have to prepare for the worst case scenario. And when they have kids, they’ll be down a wage or have to pay sky high child minding fees. In your 20′s you should be able to save. Because as your responsibilities grew you don’t have the financial breathing space, you have when you are single and childless.

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Oct 31st 2018, 11:28 PM

@prop joe: all the more reason they should stop with the negative thinking and get to saving while they have the ability, make sacrifices, take work more seriously get promoted instead of resigning themselves to a life of paying someone else’s mortgage.

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Nov 1st 2018, 3:07 PM

@Emachine: how can you save when one of your income is for a share of a one bed apartment. That’s already living in poor accommodation.

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 31st 2018, 7:57 PM

So blasé about being late for work, don’t expect a pay-rise any time soon.

Mute Wastrel
    Favourite Wastrel
    Oct 31st 2018, 10:25 PM

@PaulineSmith: that’s the appropriate attitude. Anyone who puts on the hair shirt over being five minutes late once in a span of a week needs to relax and get a sense of perspective.

Mute Rocky Raccoon
    Favourite Rocky Raccoon
    Nov 1st 2018, 8:53 AM

@Wastrel: “somehow I feel I’m right and the world is wrong”. I think that line sums him up really. Hopefully his attitude changes but if not he’s going nowhere fast. The kinda lad I’d hate to sit beside in work.

Mute Lou
    Favourite Lou
    Nov 1st 2018, 5:20 PM

@PaulineSmith: ah give over! I was late nearly everyday for my job but worked very hard and never left work on time either. I was never passed over for a promotion either! The decent employers dont have an issue with being flexible!

Mute Paul M. Barrett
    Favourite Paul M. Barrett
    Oct 31st 2018, 7:53 PM

34k is a fairly low salary for someone who works in financial services in Dublin. Is there anything you can do to try and move upwards in your career, maybe upskilling to find a niche that will boost your earning power? Also 720 per annum for gym membership is too much when there are other options that are half that amount.

Mute Patrick Nolan
    Favourite Patrick Nolan
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:19 PM

@Paul M. Barrett:
    The attitude around timekeeping would need to improve first.

Mute Daragh Cassidy
    Favourite Daragh Cassidy
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:45 PM

@Paul M. Barrett: In fairness he’s only 27 and probably just starting out in his career. It’s not a bad salary for someone who’s still relatively very young.

Mute Jumperoo
    Favourite Jumperoo
    Oct 31st 2018, 9:58 PM

@Paul M. Barrett: and did you notice he didn’t go to the gym once that week? At 60 quid a month, that’s roughly 15 wasted straight away….

Mute HotPotato
    Favourite HotPotato
    Nov 1st 2018, 8:18 AM

@Jumperoo: Not that it matters but to be fair, he did say that he went to the gym on the Monday.

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Nov 1st 2018, 9:49 AM

@Paul M. Barrett: Yeah living 35 mins walk from town means walk to work and save on Gym and bus fare.

Mute Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Favourite Shawn O'Ceallaghan
    Nov 1st 2018, 11:31 AM

@Paul M. Barrett: admin work for a top 10 firm.

Mute Em Jackson
    Favourite Em Jackson
    Oct 31st 2018, 9:05 PM

Upbeat, well written. An enjoyable read.

Mute John O'Neill
    Favourite John O'Neill
    Oct 31st 2018, 7:55 PM

He only spends €150 per month on groceries? He spends €60 per month on gym membership. If he eats so little why is he in the gym?

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:36 PM

@John O’Neill: I would spend a bit less than that on groceries each month. If it’s two people that’s €300 a month, which I would say is fairly normal

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    Oct 31st 2018, 11:02 PM

@John O’Neill: A brisk walk to work costs nothing, saving the expense of a gym membership. Money spent on rent is dead money. The same amount spent on a mortgage for a modest starter property would be better.

Mute Liam H
    Favourite Liam H
    Oct 31st 2018, 11:13 PM

@Smiley: cause walking is a balanced exercise regime…

Plenty of back, chest, shoulder and arm development from walking to work…..

Mute Skimothy
    Favourite Skimothy
    Nov 1st 2018, 10:24 AM

@Liam H: considering there was no mention of him using a gym all week then it is a better option.

Mute Lorr
    Favourite Lorr
    Nov 1st 2018, 12:05 PM

@John O’Neill: I agree John. A gym membership is a luxury these days, I quit the gym and also gave up my car this year. I walk and cycle everywhere. He needs to stop feeling sorry for himself. I am on less of this whinger’s salary paying half of a 1600€ a month rent between myself and my OH.I am saving 500 a month, my partner saving more as he earns more towards our deposit for a starter home.
    We cook all our own meals at home, bring lunch to work etc. Only subscription I have is spotify for 9.99 a month which I use every day commuting to and from work.

Weh weh weh call the wambulance!! this man is behaving like a 4 year old child. How about grow up and be an adult. Adults make decisions on what’s right not what feels good. Yeah it’s crap, wages are crap, but use your income that you have as your tool out of this mess. Also, I agree that he is on a low salary for a financial role in Dublin. However, he may only be an administrative financial worker which would make sense for the lesser salary.
    College and up-skilling would be expensive, but a little night course maybe?

Mute BBBorris
    Favourite BBBorris
    Nov 3rd 2018, 12:02 AM

@Lorr: Calm your t its

Mute John Mc
    Favourite John Mc
    Nov 4th 2018, 10:17 PM

@Smiley: walking to work isn’t a substitute for the gym

Mute Phil O'Donnell
    Favourite Phil O'Donnell
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:09 PM

Wow all of the experts dishing out financial advice here. We are all surrounded by experts who were/are hardworking focused financially astute 27 year olds in their day

Mute prop joe
    Favourite prop joe
    Oct 31st 2018, 7:40 PM

One third of net pay for a share of a one bed apartment. Insane, expensive property is just another form of tax on young workers. NAMA is doing it’s job well. Keeping the golden circle in business.

Mute Whoswho
    Favourite Whoswho
    Oct 31st 2018, 10:44 PM

Earning €37k while working in Finance and his bosses are looking for wages and bonuses above the current €500k….

Mute Darren Swords
    Favourite Darren Swords
    Oct 31st 2018, 7:41 PM

Top marks for the nod to the Beatles a day in life.

Mute Deirdre
    Favourite Deirdre
    Oct 31st 2018, 9:11 PM

€34k for working in a financial services role.. hope there are some ungrateful teachers reading this who are turning their nose up at their starting salary of €36k!

Mute Liam H
    Favourite Liam H
    Oct 31st 2018, 11:16 PM

@Deirdre: after 6 years in college in many cases and with a degree and a masters.
    Teachers are well qualified.

Most people starting out in financial services have a degree and are working towards professional exams while they work.
    Teachers can’t do that.

My comment isn’t going to change your mind.

You’ve your mind made up – I can tell by the “ungrateful” comment.

It isn’t a race to the bottom.
    €36k isn’t great money in Dublin

Mute Dearbhla Beirne
    Favourite Dearbhla Beirne
    Oct 31st 2018, 11:33 PM

@Deirdre: Also last time I checked, starting salary for NQTs is 34,848, the issue with the pay is that it’s not equal, not that teachers are ungrateful

Mute Deirdre
    Favourite Deirdre
    Nov 1st 2018, 9:26 AM

@Liam H: to work in financial services you need to have spent at least 4 years in college and in a lot of cases people do a masters. I don’t know why that is the argument that teachers jump to, most teachers I know haven’t done a masters. Some do of course but not all and they’re not the only profession to do so.

In any industry it’s common for pay scales to change over time. You’re not always going to get the same that someone who started 10 years ago got.

It’s widely reported that the new starting salary is €36k. There was an article here yesterday about it

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 1st 2018, 10:35 AM

@Deirdre: you form necessarily have to have gone to college to work in finance. You can just do all of the professional exams rather than getting exemptions and only doing a few.

Mute Sam Harms
    Favourite Sam Harms
    Nov 1st 2018, 10:36 AM

@Sam Harms: *don’t

Mute Earl of Daventry
    Favourite Earl of Daventry
    Oct 31st 2018, 10:22 PM

I enjoyed reading this ! Well written and enjoyable . I like this guy.

Mute Walt Kowalski
    Favourite Walt Kowalski
    Oct 31st 2018, 11:17 PM

Most entertaining one yet in fairness. They could have a similar city lifestyle in Oz or Canada in better accomodation whilst still saving money. Get out for 3 years would be my advice.

Mute Amit Wadhwa
    Favourite Amit Wadhwa
    Oct 31st 2018, 11:14 PM

Easy to dish out advice but as a 27 yr old on the average industrial wage, if this couple feels so hopeless, what does it say about the general state of our society, our government, our policies?

We probably should be ashamed for electing a government that, in different guises, has quite literally sold us to the highest bidder despite the fact that we paid for their gambling debts!!

Mute Dave Gibney
    Favourite Dave Gibney
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:13 PM

Join your trade union and mobilise for a pay increase. Profits for financial services in Ireland are 9 times higher than the rest of the world. That’s €409,000 per employee.

Mute PaulineSmith
    Favourite PaulineSmith
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:28 PM

@Dave Gibney: Irish trade unions have crippled this country. They are why your train is late, your road is flooded during average rainfall, it takes months to get a passport, the lazy older teacher voted to keep young teacher’s pay frozen, the list is endless. “That’s not my job, I’m goin’ to me union”.

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:39 PM

@PaulineSmith: absolute comment of the day. Wholeheartedly agree

Mute Fergus Fring
    Favourite Fergus Fring
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:50 PM

@Dave Gibney: Unions are a scourge on productivity. If you don’t like your conditions, then leave. We’re not exactly short of jobs at the moment.

Mute Angry_Man41
    Favourite Angry_Man41
    Oct 31st 2018, 9:12 PM

@PaulineSmith: rot and it doesn’t take months to get a passport. Typical nonsense comment

Mute Wastrel
    Favourite Wastrel
    Oct 31st 2018, 10:20 PM

@Fergus Fring: there’s plenty of productivity to go round, unions are there to get workers a better share of the pot.

Mute Bobbybrownshoes
    Favourite Bobbybrownshoes
    Oct 31st 2018, 11:02 PM

@PaulineSmith: i missed the bit where the unions got bailed out with €64 billion so?

Mute Coco86
    Favourite Coco86
    Nov 1st 2018, 12:17 AM

@Wastrel: even if they don’t deserve it?

Mute Anne Fallon
    Favourite Anne Fallon
    Nov 23rd 2018, 6:33 PM

@Emachine: – Wholeheartedly disagree – if it weren’t for unions – workers would have no rights at all – not even toilet breaks – never mind anything else!

Mute Phil O'Donnell
    Favourite Phil O'Donnell
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:09 PM

Wow all of the experts dishing out financial advice here. We are all surrounded by experts who were/are hardworking focused financially astute 27 year olds in their day

Mute PaddyOverABarrel
    Favourite PaddyOverABarrel
    Oct 31st 2018, 7:51 PM

Save your money mate and get the hell out of this banana republic you are been totally screwed over.

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:29 PM

Join the local tennis club for half the gym membership, better exercise, more social and cheaper pints

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:42 PM

@Peter Byrne: or run around the local park for free. We can’t have it all despite what some people would like to think. We make our choices and live with the consequences

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    Nov 1st 2018, 9:57 AM

Have you ever met people who are in Tennis clubs?? Tag rugby is a safer bet.

Mute Stevie Doran
    Favourite Stevie Doran
    Nov 1st 2018, 12:02 AM

I hope his missus is on the babby pills, that will change everything.

Mute Sarah Murphy
    Favourite Sarah Murphy
    Nov 1st 2018, 8:56 AM

@Stevie Doran: yes. Stevie you are right, she better be taking full responsibility for both of them. Thanks for the laugh pal… what a thing to say!certainly made my thurs morn

Mute Emachine
    Favourite Emachine
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:37 PM

Very short sighted, what if there were another crash, they’d be in a prime position to strike. Even if there weren’t it’s no excuse to be talking like that. It’s depressing how short some people’s memory is.

Mute Frankie Mangan
    Favourite Frankie Mangan
    Nov 1st 2018, 9:50 PM

Jesus I truly despair when I read these articles. Drinking someones leftover coffee and passing it off as good fortune shows a worrying degree of a person with low expectations of life.

Mute Bobbybrownshoes
    Favourite Bobbybrownshoes
    Oct 31st 2018, 11:03 PM

€70 a month on a pension? Thats brutal, i hope his employer us putting in a hefty sum

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 1st 2018, 2:49 PM

So people in mid-late twenties who may only have started working afew years can’t afford a house? What’s new here in all fairness.

It takes working hard to succeed in your job to attain a better salary and putting away what you can in the meantime . As you get more experience under your belt, generally the saving grow more and more but it slow process.

No surprise that it’s often early to mid 30s before 2 people can afford a house. Not 27 !!

Mute jill odonoghue
    Favourite jill odonoghue
    Nov 2nd 2018, 1:32 PM

People constantly assume that people who work in banking are well paid. I worked in branch banking for 13 years as a mortgage advisor and earned less than the average industrial wage. I had to leave after my second child because I couldn’t afford to pay for childcare on my salary.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Nov 1st 2018, 6:19 PM

This article is made up bullsit. He can only save €150 a month? He should be saving €500 a month. And he puts eggs in the kettle? What a knobend.

Mute Amit Wadhwa
    Favourite Amit Wadhwa
    Nov 2nd 2018, 10:45 AM

@John Walsh: perhaps you could write him a plan of how he could be saving €500pm! Seems you know how to, go on share your wisdom!

Mute Peter Byrne
    Favourite Peter Byrne
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:48 PM

That’s it

Mute Barry Mason
    Favourite Barry Mason
    Nov 4th 2018, 10:22 PM

I like the sense of humour portrayed

Mute Luke McDermott
    Favourite Luke McDermott
    Nov 1st 2018, 11:13 AM

Buy in Tallaght. Problem solved.

Mute Breandán Ó Conchúir
    Favourite Breandán Ó Conchúir
    Nov 1st 2018, 11:18 AM

saving s a pain in the hole and yes property prices are mental but the alternative is staying in the barely regulated irish rental market paying someone elses mortgage

Mute Brian
    Favourite Brian
    Nov 1st 2018, 2:53 PM

@Breandán Ó Conchúir: Haha it’s people like yourself that bought in boom and throttled in negative equity now with that attitude.

Renting is a vital service that allows the flexibility to move where they like with little notice and avoid the risk of buying until people are ready .

Mute Mr E
    Favourite Mr E
    Nov 1st 2018, 12:41 PM

They probably voted FG … you reap what you sow

Mute Emm Et
    Favourite Emm Et
    Nov 1st 2018, 8:22 PM

Really cheap 1 bed in dublin at that price!

Mute Lukevic101
    Favourite Lukevic101
    Nov 1st 2018, 12:54 PM

Erm is pension contribution not taken at source, ie before tax? Same goes for health insurance if his employer offers it. That’s 115e that shouldn’t be included on his monthly outgoings, nearly 1400e a year.

Mute Seán Brennan
    Favourite Seán Brennan
    Nov 1st 2018, 6:43 PM

“As with all Dublin rental accommodation, mould is an issue in the apartment” what!? I’ve rented in Rathmines, Drumcondra, Blackrock, Castleknock, Ashtown Smithfield market and Phoenix Park RC and never rented anywhere with mould. I did see 2 places that had mould problems but I’d never live there!!

Mute Veronica Conway
    Favourite Veronica Conway
    Oct 31st 2018, 8:35 PM

To.be honest after reading your withcomments it’s like ye are living the high life ( sorry but we bought in late 70′s 80′s and mortgage interest rates 17.5% . No luxurious lifestyle and only few sets of clothes. No social life and no holiday only way was to do without big time
    I can’t understand the mentality of the generation of today. It’s just mind boggling to be honest. Took 20 years to start living and eventually pay off mortgage. Crazy or what the mentality of generation today. Just giving a picture of what we went through in 80′s.