You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

‘These are troubling and testing times’ – A Christmas message from President Higgins

Marking his first Christmas in Áras an Uachtaráin, President Michael D Higgins has this message for the Irish people…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ShLc1_H2e2s

The full text of the Christmas message from President Higgins:

I WOULD LIKE to send my best wishes for Christmas and the New Year to everyone here in Ireland and to our extended global family across the world.

While we have nearly always tended to think of Christmas as a happy time as families come together to enjoy the festive season, I am also conscious that, for some of you, this year will be a Christmas where unemployment, financial insecurity or the absence of a loved one now living abroad will cast a dark shadow. For many others, it will be a sad time due to illness or family bereavement.

So these are troubling and testing times for so many but while acknowledging the hurt inflicted, the dismay caused, by the mistakes that were made, I also believe that the Irish people have the resilience, the fortitude and the wisdom to move beyond any destructive cynicism and recrimination and have the capacity and determination to move on and craft a new positive form of their Irishness.

It has been truly inspiring for me to witness the innovation and the resourcefulness that have come to the fore in our time of economic need and to see, across this island, communities renewing themselves in social solidarity through co-operation and together showing practical concern for each other and particularly for the less fortunate in this country and, indeed, throughout the world.

While the wider global environment is worrying, we are seeing some positive results in our economic affairs. Our exports continue to grow; many of our companies have become more innovative and competitive; and direct inward investment is robust but the great challenge of creating jobs, reducing unemployment remains.

We Irish also remain a nation of great cultural and sporting achievement, and this continues to enrich our society and enhance our reputation abroad. There is also widespread support for a post-recession future driven by our people’s creativity and grounded in a real economy that harnesses our indigenous strengths and adds lasting value to our society.

I am confident that, drawing on our shared strengths and our ethical values, we will rebuild a sustainable and strong economy while also at the same time building a just and inclusive society that ensures the participation of all its citizens.

Ireland is a country and a people moving forward with a common purpose and a shared aisling of hope and courage; a country that will marry the best of its old wisdom with the new found learning wrought from the chastening experience of recent troubled times.

We are a country of which there is much to be proud; whose possibilities are still to be fully imagined and realised; and whose people I am honoured to serve.

I wish you all a peaceful Christmas and a happy New Year.

Michael D Higgins is President of Ireland

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

52 Comments
    Mute chicken ball ann
    Favourite chicken ball ann
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:27 AM

” we are seeing some positive results in our economic affairs” give up the bullshit Michael D & leave the political sound bites & government propaganda to the liars. Other than that happy Christmas to you & yours.

Mute Philip Kelly
    Favourite Philip Kelly
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:43 AM

@Chicken ball Ann .
    Get back into bed and get out the other side , it’s a good positive piece for Christmas. Happy Christmas Ann.

Mute Jammy Mason
    Favourite Jammy Mason
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:49 AM

I’d say his own economic affairs have seen drastic improvement alright!! ;-)

Mute Robert LYNCH
    Favourite Robert LYNCH
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:15 PM

Even though some commentators here feel like spreading holiday sadness and bitterness, I would still like to wish everyone – including President Higgins and the rowdy bunch shouting him down – Happy Christmas, Happy Solstice and Happy New Year or Happy whatever-you-feel-like-celebrating-over-the-next-few-days. And for goodness sake – for the sake of just having a rest and a brake – could everyone chill out and take a holiday from the negative comments for a few days, so I can stay in my possibly foolish happy state-of-mind, at least until the end of the weekend? Thank you :)

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:41 AM

Thanks for that Michael, I feel all better now.

Still no accountability though right? no actual changes in government policy right? no REAL shake up of the system, or proper political reform?

Merry Christmas to you too.

Mute Aydo
    Favourite Aydo
    Dec 21st 2011, 2:46 PM

He’s okay in his big house.
    People who are ok generally have positive outlooks. It’s the people who aren’t ok see reality, because they experience it.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Dec 22nd 2011, 8:58 AM

I feel I must clarify, I’m not having a go at the Presidents work to date, but at government in general. Without these badly needed changes this speech is meaningless.

Mute Glyko Symoritis
    Favourite Glyko Symoritis
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:44 AM

More “bulls” from M D… You see, talk is easy!

Mute Jonathan Biggins
    Favourite Jonathan Biggins
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:16 PM

@Glyko Yes, as you’ve just demonstrated…

Mute Anne Clarke
    Favourite Anne Clarke
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:52 AM

The only way forward is to now stop the blame and realise we are a great country and it’s time to heal. Great message Michael D. Happy Christmas.

Mute Tony Skillington
    Favourite Tony Skillington
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:58 AM

I’d have to question the relevence of a Presidential speech at this time of year. With all due respct to the office of president…someone living in the surroundings he lives in and who is on the pay packet he’s on won’t know the difficult and turbulent times ahead for the rest of the people of this beaten weary nation. The intentions are good but a speech like that might have been better coming from someone outside the political classes.

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:13 PM

You may recall there was an election and he won. Therefore he is best placed as the people’s representative.

Mute Adrian Nolan
    Favourite Adrian Nolan
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:44 AM

I cringed my way through that.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 22nd 2011, 12:15 AM

Why ?

Mute Gerard Murphy
    Favourite Gerard Murphy
    Dec 21st 2011, 8:12 AM

Don’t all the Presidents speeches have to be pre-approved by the Cabinet? Case closed.

Mute Justin Moore
    Favourite Justin Moore
    Dec 21st 2011, 8:34 AM

I like m.d .his intentions are good .but we have a government that has no imagination no focus no real passion for change .even if they did something radical and it didn’t work at least they would be thinking outside the box.the speech is good but means nothing to most people who are hanging on by there finger nails .

Mute Donncha Foley
    Favourite Donncha Foley
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:11 PM

I’m guessing if they did something radical, most people would be too busy looking for flaws to notice…

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 21st 2011, 8:40 AM

Nice sentiments but again words from someone who knows nothing of the hardships of ordinary people.All politicans included in this.If you are getting a minimum of 93 k,how with a straight face can you say you understand peoples fears.

Mute Jonathan Biggins
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:22 PM

MDH “knows nothing of the hardships of ordinary people”?? A cursory look into his background, say, 2 minutes’ worth of effort online, would have disabus you of that piffle. You might deign to exercise what (presumably) sits between your ears some day.

Mute Jonathan Biggins
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:22 PM

* disabused

Mute Red Ed
    Favourite Red Ed
    Dec 21st 2011, 9:34 AM

Was I the only one reading that in his voice? creepy!

Mute Frank McMahon
    Favourite Frank McMahon
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:43 PM

why on EARTH is this Elf not in Lapland helping Santa, its getting very late Elf, hurry!

Mute Derek Richardson
    Favourite Derek Richardson
    Dec 21st 2011, 9:26 AM

he talks about our resourcefulness and yet he will sign documentation taking away our resources in the new year what a load of waffle from more silver tongued and educated deceitfulness we are so gullible to be taken in by these charlatans

Mute Shanti Om
    Favourite Shanti Om
    Dec 21st 2011, 2:41 PM

I wonder, will our “socialist” president will be happy to sign off on socially regressive taxes, as the one person with the true power to say “no”, that would “change the presidency”.. If he reminded the party that he once led of their principles and refused to stand down.

Or will he allow us enter a treaty that will place the governments, EU ministers and financial system beyond reproach, and give the EU permission to demand sums of millions if not billions for payment within 7 days?

It all remains to be seen.. Here’s hoping for change in the new year, let this be the last Xmas where Ireland’s “leaders” fail to lead.

Mute sean smith
    Favourite sean smith
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:07 PM

Patronising cliche ridden waffle from ‘King’ Michael D. Nauseating

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:30 PM

Please forgive the rudeness and disrespect of some of the previous posters. There is a great sense of hopelessness around here at the moment. I’m sure you’ll understand ad thoughtfulness and compassion are two of your many attributes.

Please don’t let Enda gag you. I’ll be watching you on Vinny brown tonight and reading between the lines. I’ve always found your words inspirational and full of hope. Hope is something we need a lot of at the moment. Love you and happy Christmas XXX.

Mute Derek Richardson
    Dec 21st 2011, 2:33 PM

reada i have news for you, i voted for that man but i know when i am been plasmas by bullshit

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Dec 21st 2011, 2:47 PM

I love him Derek. He’s never been afraid to tell the truth. He’s only started and god we’re an impatient lot but give him a chance. His heart is in the right place and he’s not driven by ego. I’m tuning in tonight and hoping Enda hasn’t given him his script. So there. Hah. ;)

Mute Derek Richardson
    Dec 21st 2011, 4:06 PM

reada, you could not do much worse than donating to guide dogs for the blind this time of year, you know what they say about love, and the script for his sort is set in stone

Mute Réada Quinn
    Favourite Réada Quinn
    Dec 22nd 2011, 12:17 AM

B-)

Mute Liam Byrne
    Favourite Liam Byrne
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:01 PM

I feel like I’m in mass listening to the priest. That isn’t a compliment.

Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:36 PM

Am with most of ye on this. Empty message. People are expecting more than from him and if he doesn’t deliver there will be a backlash.

Mute Rommel Burke
    Favourite Rommel Burke
    Dec 21st 2011, 1:52 PM

Lisa, what are you expecting him to deliver? Jobs?

Mute lisa duignan
    Favourite lisa duignan
    Dec 21st 2011, 2:16 PM

To challenge the governent against any further bailouts and unfair taxes. Yday we just agreed to give money to the IMF! He didn’t challenge it.

Mute Labour Youth
    Favourite Labour Youth
    Dec 21st 2011, 3:22 PM

As proud of Michael D. as ever we were. Those giving out about the message seem to think that he should’ve transformed the office and indeed the whole nature of the state in six weeks. If Michael D. had been that impatient for the last 50 years he wouldn’t have achieved half as much as he did.

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Dec 22nd 2011, 9:01 AM

not really, in the context of where we are as a nation, and how the government is performing, that speech is meaningless.

Mute Derek Rochford
    Favourite Derek Rochford
    Dec 21st 2011, 12:38 PM

Michael D., as President of Ireland you have to make these kind of speeches, but regardless of your Government approved message, thetoric is cheap!

Action speaks louder than words and despite all the pre-election talk about ‘changing the Presidency’, nothing has changed in the ‘Park’….The old adage ‘the more things change, the more they say the same’ comes to mind!
    What we need from our ‘Leaders’ is positive action and untill we see that, we will remain sceptics of our political set-up!
    I have no doubt but that you are a decent man, so I wish you and your family all good tidings for Christmas!

Mute Cyril Butler
    Favourite Cyril Butler
    Dec 21st 2011, 3:56 PM

Give the guy a break. I know politician baiting is a national passtime but what was he supposed to say? Dont get me wrong I disagree with Michael D on a number of things but he said all he could say really. As president he cant exactly announce that we are shafted and that every politician in Leinster house should be shot. I thought he did reasonably well and thats from a seasoned cynic.

Mute Eileen Gabbett
    Favourite Eileen Gabbett
    Dec 22nd 2011, 12:28 AM

Do any of you know anything about Loyalty ? .He as President of Ireland is loyal to all of us, but he can not come out and openly criticise the Government . His speech was lovely , in spiring and I like him . He is intelligent , clever, practical, patient, kind and gentle. Happy Christmas everyone !

Mute Paul Mallon
    Favourite Paul Mallon
    Dec 22nd 2011, 9:01 AM

maybe he shouldn’t say anything.

Dec 21st 2011, 1:52 PM

The Capuchin Friary in Dublin handed out almost 2,000 Christmas food parcels today. Platitudes do not feed people.

Happy Christmas to you and yours though Michael D.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 21st 2011, 3:55 PM

The office of President is prehaps the most expensive “rubber stamp” in the world.Offer no wage just expenses honourary post only,see how many race for the aras then.The office has always been a sought after prize of the political parties.M D could have done alot more staying in the Dail but ego got the better of him or Labour don’t which.

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 21st 2011, 2:55 PM

I did Johnaton and i still stand by what i said.If he wants to show solidarity with ordinary people its kind of hard to do it when you have pensions in excess of 100k and a salary of 250k.

Mute Thevoice Ofreason
    Favourite Thevoice Ofreason
    Dec 21st 2011, 5:06 PM

How much does he get paid exactly, between wages, pensions and expenses?

Mute HELLO SPRUIKER
    Favourite HELLO SPRUIKER
    Dec 21st 2011, 11:34 PM

Whose yer man?

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 21st 2011, 5:29 PM

The wage after accepting a pay cut 250k roughly,expenses for office of President roughly, 315k.TD’s pension,minister’s pension,senead pension,lecturor pension from NUIG and not sure if he collects this old age pension.Combined income excluding expenses roughly 350k roughly sure someone will dispute this but all in the public domain.

Mute Paul O'Keeffe
    Favourite Paul O'Keeffe
    Dec 21st 2011, 6:10 PM

How much??? SIgh.

Mute Thevoice Ofreason
    Favourite Thevoice Ofreason
    Dec 21st 2011, 7:46 PM

We should pay him 35k like Martin Mc Guinness was going to take and invest the 315k left over every year into promising Irish companies to try and create a few jobs. Michael D has been a politician for many years and I’m sure he’ll be financially sound for the rest of his life with 35k a year (if he gets into difficulty we would help him out). It would be a great example to other politicians and people if our president done something like this and a great wee Christmas present for our country every year.

Mute David
    Favourite David
    Dec 21st 2011, 9:52 PM

Better again we shouldn’t even have a president. Listening to his speech was like listening to a broken record. Talk is cheap and I’m. afraid this is all we’re gonna get off this guy. He sounds like some boring old priest giving a sermon.

Mute Gerry Wilson
    Favourite Gerry Wilson
    Dec 22nd 2011, 8:19 PM

The SAME OLD COMMENTS ALL A LOAD OF BULL S–T.GET OUT ON THE STREET AND MARCH TO GOVERNMENT BUILDINGS IN A PEACEFUL MARCH AND LET THEM KNOW HOW WE FEEL,NO ONE GIVES A F–K ABOUT THE COMMENTS “LESS OF THE BULL S–T AND MORE ACTION”

Mute Aidan Geraghty
    Favourite Aidan Geraghty
    Dec 22nd 2011, 2:27 PM

Elf

Mute Norman Hunter
    Favourite Norman Hunter
    Dec 21st 2011, 2:57 PM

Spelt your name wrong Jonathan must be be that thing between my ears sorry about that.