You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

CandyBox Images via Shutterstock

Column We need to talk about 'The 12 Pubs'

The ‘12 pubs of Christmas’ silly season has effectively turned the whole Christmas season into one giant stag party, writes Mick McCarthy.

WE’RE NOW WELL into the ‘12 Pubs of Christmas’ silly season and it seems people are finally starting to get vocal about their feelings towards it – which is no surprise. What once started out as a fairly harmless and inconsequential tradition between some groups of friends has now become something much more mainstream and faddish. It has become so commercialised in recent years that now it’s seen as ‘the norm’, much like dressing up at Halloween.

In the last few years it’s been massively fuelled by the emergence of pop-up shops peddling those ridiculous Christmas jumpers with flashing lights, bells and the like. Larger retailers have subsequently got in on the act seeing the juicy profits that can be made. We are at saturation point. This can’t go on.

It was quite funny – at first

Years ago when some ‘pioneers’ (used in the loose sense of the word) started wearing these quirky jumpers I have to admit that I found them quite funny – and it was, for a while. It was something new with a high novelty factor, but now it’s been so beaten to death it’s starting to make me feel nauseous. What this fad has effectively done is to turn the whole Christmas season into one giant stag party. They mill around the city centre totally pissed, leery, barking rules and generally just annoying everyone else who isn’t on their wavelength.

It’s almost impossible to have a quiet pint now over the Christmas period without groups of boisterous and inebriated lads and girls coming in and taking the place over, knocking into everyone, spilling their drinks, shouting at each other and exiting promptly only to be replacing by another even larger and more annoying group doing exactly the same.

I feel a growing sense of resentment and distaste towards it from a public who are getting fed up with the whole thing. I also saw some publicans are threatening to ban it from their premises. I hope more follow suit. Or better still have pubs that promote it and welcome it so the rest of us know to steer clear. A simple sign in the window ’12 pubs friendly’ would go a long way to clearing things up; they have their fun, the rest are left in peace.

It’s just downright annoying

Yes, Christmas is about meeting up with friends, having a few drinks, having good banter and maybe even getting drunk – but do we really need it to become this commercialised, clichéd, yobbish type event which is just downright annoying for all those not involved? It starts earlier and earlier every year. We have to endure almost four weekends of it now in the run up to Christmas. It’s tiring. It’s also dangerous given the amount of pint glasses that end up in the street and the amount of extra people it adds to already jam-packed pubs.

I’m not a very prudish person despite what I say but I really feel this ‘12 Pubs of Christmas’ lark has gone too far. It’s cheapened the whole Christmas atmosphere that the rest of us hold dear and look forward to every year. It’s really lowest common denominator kinda stuff – there, I said it. What do you think?

We’re interested in your ideas and opinions – do you have a story you would like to see featured in Opinion & Insight? Email opinions@thejournal.ie

Read: 12 pubs of Christmas feeds into Ireland’s problem with alcohol, says charity

Read: 12 people who were defeated by the 12 pubs of Christmas

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 80 comments
80 Comments
    Mute Bill
    Favourite Bill
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:27 AM

Only two pubs in my village we do both six times

Mute Patrick Bateman
    Favourite Patrick Bateman
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:20 AM

Would you drink 6 pints and then to the next pub or keep walking forward and back after each pint?
    If it’s the latter can you please tell me where this happens so I can make a YouTube video with some Benny Hill music in the background!

Mute Ted Carroll
    Favourite Ted Carroll
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:59 AM

Bill I’d like to join this 2 pubs if it’s back and forth 6 times between them! At least I wouldn’t wake up the next morning wondering what the last pub was……..actually I could be even more confused on consideration.

Mute Sean Reilly
    Favourite Sean Reilly
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:12 AM

The author’s main concern appears to be that it is now too “mainstream” and “commercialised”, but it was ok when a few pioneers / cool kids did it? ok to disagree with it on the anti-social aspect, personally I think Let them off with it, but the argument here seems to be akin to music snobbery – when a good band sell too many albums and old fans throw an “I was here first” tantrum

Mute Sheila Larkin
    Favourite Sheila Larkin
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:51 AM

Nail on head

Mute tmwtbc
    Favourite tmwtbc
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:14 AM

Spot on.

I was expecting some comment on our relationship with booze but it seems the author used to find the 12 pubs OK until the notion got popular.

Lighten up.

Mute Shane Lyons
    Favourite Shane Lyons
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:01 AM

My take on it is it might be the only time of the year that some people get out to enjoy themselves!! We have enough doom and gloom so let there be fun!! I know of a group who runs a 12 pubs for pieta house and that’s a worthy cause!!!

Lighten up people it Xmas

Mute Adrian de Cleir
    Favourite Adrian de Cleir
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:07 AM

This is nothing like music snobbery, music doesn’t suddenly change when it gets popular whereas this does the jumper may have been kinda funny when no one was wearing but now it’s ridiculous.

The stag like crowds may have been fine every once in a while but now the place is overrun. The author is completely right imo.

Mute Swagman_10
    Favourite Swagman_10
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:13 AM

MOST inaccurate photograph ever!
    Bow ties, champagne flutes and polite banter??!!!

Mute Shane Carroll
    Favourite Shane Carroll
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:33 AM

Exactly! Where’s the half downed pints, ridiculous jumpers and torn soggy sheet of paper with the “rules” printed on it?

Mute Pokey2013
    Favourite Pokey2013
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:18 AM

Yer one looks like she’d be good looking to talk to though.

Mute Dav mcgldrick
    Favourite Dav mcgldrick
    Dec 22nd 2013, 8:09 PM

I think it’s the inaccurate memory of the night before, the morning after. Like when homer got really drunk and checked out mod Flanders.

Mute John Byrne
    Favourite John Byrne
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:42 AM

Only in Ireland is 12 pints considered a few drinks

Mute Andy Byron
    Favourite Andy Byron
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:34 AM

It’s got to the point that the guy not wearing the Xmas jumper is the one being unique.

Mute ★bar
    Favourite ★bar
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:10 AM

Get cans for the walk between pubs. Dont let the air hit ye… thats my advice

Mute Shane Carroll
    Favourite Shane Carroll

On one of the longer walks, we had a centra offie stop off between 2 of the pubs to keep the flow going. It was pub 3.5.

Mute John Sweeney
    Favourite John Sweeney
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:17 AM

I couldn’t agree more with this article. I enjoy a drink over Christmas as much as the next person but this is just embarrassing!
    Watching the idiots parade through town last night shouting at people and getting on like complete tools made me feel ashamed to be Irish. It’s like paddys day every Thursday Friday and Saturday for 5 weeks. Seriously people sort this sh1t out and have a little self respect.

Mute S P Mc Grath
    Favourite S P Mc Grath
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:14 PM

Spot on

Mute Barry Vickers
    Favourite Barry Vickers
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:44 AM

If people want to do the 12 pubs good luck to them, however (similar to Arthurs day) I do not like it when ppl refer to it as a “tradition”. It is not traditional.

Mute Clodagh Nic Lochlainn
    Favourite Clodagh Nic Lochlainn
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:15 AM

What makes tradition? Something being repeated at the same time every year around a particular event? Every tradition has to start somewhere, it may not be your tradition or mine for that matter but for a lot of people it is. Just because you don’t like calling it that!

Mute Dave O'Hanlon
    Favourite Dave O'Hanlon
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:05 AM

Good point, I didn’t hear of this till I heard of Arthur’s Day. Its more of the same recession proof marketing by Diageo probably. As I live in Dublin I wouldn’t think of doing it, imagine getting ripped off by 12 pubs in one night.

Mute Barry Vickers
    Favourite Barry Vickers
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:16 AM

Hi Clodagh, I take your point, but the definition of a tradition is something that has passed from one generation to the next. As far as I’m aware neither event is that old to pass that test.

Mute Patrick Varley
    Favourite Patrick Varley
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:16 AM

You need other patrons to be quiet so you can enjoy a drink? Perhaps a pub is not the right environment for you to imbibe.

Mute ciara walton
    Favourite ciara walton
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:16 AM

I’m all for a few drinks n a bit of banter. in fact, i love drinking. but squishing 12 drinks into a limited time frame is too deliberate to be genuine enjoyment of alcohol. Red thumbs abú… Don’t give a shite. Bingeing like this is bad for the body.

Mute Sheila Larkin
    Favourite Sheila Larkin
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:21 AM

To be fair not all groups have a set of rules or a tight time frame. None of the 12 pubs I’ve been on had anyway.

Mute Sinead Cosgrave
    Favourite Sinead Cosgrave
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:10 AM

Totally agree with Jamie these people are adults if they did a pub crawl any weekend and managed to have a drink in 12 pubs nobody would be bothered with it !! Let them enjoy their night and if the pubs don’t want their business they can always turn them away !!!

Mute Stephen Duggan
    Favourite Stephen Duggan
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:28 AM

Who really gives 12 F@#*! anyway ? God be with the days when men were men and sheep weren’t nervous.

Mute Andy Byron
    Favourite Andy Byron

I saw some serious fights/rowdy behavior around baggot st last Saturday early evening from young fellas who couldn’t handle 6 pints, let alone 12!

Mute James Kiernan
    Favourite James Kiernan
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:11 AM

Its just terrible Joe. Utterly terrible. Sure sure …..

Mute Jamie c
    Favourite Jamie c
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:04 AM

It’s a bit of craic for youngins.if they wana get sh!t faced let them

Mute James Connely
    Favourite James Connely
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:14 AM

All of the twelve groups I have seen in my local have been very well behaved. No knocking drinks or “barking rules”. It’s a bit of fun, and a bit more money for the pubs. I really don’t see what anyone has to complain about.

Mute BBs Mad Adventure
    Favourite BBs Mad Adventure

Jamie, oul wans like a bit of craic too.

Mute Billy Treacy
    Favourite Billy Treacy
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:10 AM

Bah Humbug!

Mute Diarmuid MacSuibhne
    Favourite Diarmuid MacSuibhne
    Dec 20th 2013, 1:54 PM

I play in a music session in a well known pub in Cork. Since November we have had at least 3 groups each night I play. Some groups are good, and have added some life to the environment, even improved atmosphere. As any group of happy people should do. I would go as far as saying I like them.

Others, however, have come with a very different attitude. Those who feel what they are participating in is an annual accepted ritual that entitles them to upset and ignore the environment they enter should be stopped at the first Pub. They are easily spotted. They usually have 2-3 loudmouths who are in competition with each other, and many others who are barely acquainted with each other. Similar to the bad kind of stag parties, who share similar attributes.

Mute Melanie O'Reilly
    Favourite Melanie O'Reilly
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:07 AM

Supposed to go on one on Sat. Having second thoughts now though, reading a lot of backlash. Was never going to wear the jumper though. They’re for pr*cks.

Mute Bandy Wagon
    Favourite Bandy Wagon
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:19 AM

Anyone that wears a Christmas jumper is an utter bellend.

Mute Itto Ogami
    Favourite Itto Ogami
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:25 AM

Whatever about the 12 pubs,i think the whole xmas jumper thing has become a bit tiresome,i dont even bother trying to fake that “ha ha look at you,youre whacked out” expression anymore when i pass someone in work wearing one.

Dec 20th 2013, 11:00 AM

Christmas Jumpers are for tossers, for socially awkward people who want to profess “I’m festive” , take it off, you look like a tool!

Mute Lee Power
    Favourite Lee Power
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:13 AM

There’s always some Scrooge out there begrudging other people for having a few drinks and a bit of banter over Christmas. Like you said the pubs are already jammers who cares if there wearing mad looking jumpers?

Mute Jonathan Wilson
    Favourite Jonathan Wilson
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:36 AM

I don’t like something so no one should do it! boowhoo

Mute Filthpig
    Favourite Filthpig
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:26 AM

You couldn’t drag me into a pub in the city centre over Christmas. The thoughts of it!!

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:09 AM

This year I shall partake in the 12 tokes of christmas.

J, vape, bong, hookah, hashish, spliff, brownie, vape again, cookie, waterfall, j again and finally what we like to call The Device.

I shall hurt no-one and not be a menace to society.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:43 AM

What’s ‘The Device’?

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:50 AM

It is a legendary apparatus my friend. All I can say is it involves a 3 litre bottle of country spring.

Mute stephen kavanagh
    Favourite stephen kavanagh
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:53 AM

Nice!

Mute Luke Sullivan
    Favourite Luke Sullivan
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:51 AM

You should invest in the volcano Darth. I went through a few pricey vapourisers til I finally discovered it. Worth the entrance fee, and the weed goes much, much further too.

I haven’t smoked weed regularly in a lot of years, but last I checked, it was the king of the vapourisers. Maybe there are better ones out there now, and cheaper too, it was very expensive at the time.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:24 PM

Im fairly new to vapes Luke but will deffo give it a look

Mute 1 Human Being
    Favourite 1 Human Being

F*ck it! It’s Christmas eat drink be merry don’t vomit on anyone.

Mute Sheila Larkin
    Favourite Sheila Larkin
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:57 AM

Christmas Jumpers jumped the shark last year I think, but you know what, they add a bit of colour to the place. Let them be.

Also I spotted one pub with “12 Pubs welcome” printed outside on their windbreaks.

Mute enda1... begrudgers0
    Favourite enda1... begrudgers0
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:40 AM

Stay classy 12 pubs

Mute James Darby
    Favourite James Darby
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:55 AM

So uplifting reading most of the comments, makes such a change from the bad old days when we were in recession, the country was broke and we were all complaining about austerity.

Mute Damien mc kenna
    Favourite Damien mc kenna
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:47 AM

I think it’s funny how publicans welcomed these groups with open arms over the last few years when times were hard but now their businesses are picking up they dont want to know them.

Mute Ivorpabst
    Favourite Ivorpabst
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:21 AM

Stay at home if you don’t like it. “Simples”.

Mute Winston Teardrops
    Favourite Winston Teardrops
    Dec 20th 2013, 10:08 AM

Public houses. Clue is in the name. No excuse for anti-social behaviour. Those who can’t hold their drink might consider doing so at home.

Mute Tara King
    Favourite Tara King
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:51 AM

Just did it for the 1st time this week…it was great craic…we ate first, started early had some glasses of beer…no rules, no messiness…no hassle ;-)

Mute enda1... begrudgers0
    Favourite enda1... begrudgers0
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:54 AM

Should we have designated pubs based on class? I think it would be a good idea, like who would wanna sit beside some welfare case or some other worthless undesirable in a bar?

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:12 AM

So don’t go to the players lounge.

Mute Emily Elephant
    Favourite Emily Elephant
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:50 AM

It’s a fine Irish tradition that when your life gets boring, you have to try to stop other people having fun as well. The McQuaid church provided an excellent outlet for this. (Mrs Doyle: Maybe I LIKE the misery.) Now that Catholicism is a bit more wishy washy, they have moved on to stuff like environmentalism, policing the internet and preaching about binge drinking, a concept which becomes ever broader.

Welcome to the No Fun Club, Mr McCarthy. I hope you don’t enjoy it.

Mute Homo Erectus
    Favourite Homo Erectus
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:41 AM

You forgot to mention the anti-fluoriders

Mute Jar.ie
    Favourite Jar.ie
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:56 AM

This is the most patronising article I’ve read on the journal in a long time.

Mute Keith Redmond
    Favourite Keith Redmond
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:26 AM

Ive stopped drinking in town in December unless I really have to. Do what yiz want lads, yiz look like dicks, with your “hilarious”jumpers and but sure once you’re enjoying yourselves and f**k everyone else trying to have a civilised drink in the same pub eh?

Mute Adam Murphy
    Favourite Adam Murphy
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:05 AM

Awww bless, someone must have had their corn flakes pissed in this morning :(

Mute Mark Kirwan
    Favourite Mark Kirwan
    Dec 20th 2013, 11:26 AM

I agree with the author, most of the comments on here are beyond dumb, I think he touched a nerve. The forced, “banterific” nature of the whole thing reminds me of that other new, great Irish tradition, Arthur’s day.

Mute DarthTempus
    Favourite DarthTempus
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:25 PM

Indeed this comment thread is a fine advertisement for the Irish attitude to drinking.

Mute John Everyman
    Favourite John Everyman
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:46 AM

There seems to be a fair bit of confusion in this piece.

No one is forcing you to take part.

Mute Bandy Wagon
    Favourite Bandy Wagon

As soon as I finish work today straight on the bag then chrimbo party 2nite! Yup yup this is the season of mad ones…..

Mute Bandy Wagon
    Favourite Bandy Wagon
    Dec 20th 2013, 7:18 AM

Party like the lads from Love/Hate

Mute Peadar O Buaigh
    Favourite Peadar O Buaigh
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:30 AM

How can you visit 12 pubs and drink responsibly at the same time? The mask has slipped I think. As much as possible in as little time as possible is more like it.

Mute Shane Mac An TSionnaigh
    Favourite Shane Mac An TSionnaigh
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:15 AM

Gimps doing push-ups in the middle of the bar, that was a bit much for me!! But apart from that its a bit of Craic

Mute Drew
    Favourite Drew
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:26 AM

I must say I prefer a rousing game of beer pong or kings cup a al USA or the traditional monopoly board pub crawl through London… Irish aren’t the only drinkers out there

Mute B
    Favourite B
    Dec 20th 2013, 12:57 PM

More middle class left wing Guardian newspaper thinking Irish people on thejournal.ie. Next…

Mute Gary Hogan
    Favourite Gary Hogan
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:47 AM

Using the journal to vent own frustration at the 12 pubs! Not good on your part sir!

Mute Martin McAndrew
    Favourite Martin McAndrew
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:07 AM

Ya big granny ye

Mute Jonathan Sadlier
    Favourite Jonathan Sadlier
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:45 AM

Have a pint ya big Scrooge it’s good for the economy

Mute Matthew Hyland
    Favourite Matthew Hyland
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:57 AM

Scrabble anyone?!

Mute Kieran Harvey
    Favourite Kieran Harvey
    Dec 20th 2013, 8:32 PM

My take on it is – Go do all the 12 pubs, wear the silly outfits and have the craic by all means, BUT you don’t have to drink in each and every pub!!

Drink at your own pace in SOME of the 12 pubs and drink water (or at least eat!) in the ones where you know you’re going into dangerously drunk territory….

Good craic but still dosed in common sense.

Mute Caroline Spencer
    Favourite Caroline Spencer
    Dec 21st 2013, 2:07 AM

Christmas spirit alive and well :(

Mute Alan McLoughlin
    Favourite Alan McLoughlin
    Dec 21st 2013, 1:13 AM

So you tell us to stop doing the 12 pubs, but yet yell be the crowd of whingers when more and more pubs close because they’re not doing enough business. It’s Christmas stop fu*king whinging will ye :)

Mute Birch Barlow
    Favourite Birch Barlow
    Dec 20th 2013, 9:12 AM

You ruined my accumulator last weekend!