#Open journalism No news is bad news

Your contributions will help us continue to deliver the stories that are important to you

Support The Journal
Dublin: 21°C Sunday 13 June 2021

These are the 23 towns where rent caps will be extended to from midnight

Galway City will join Dublin and Cork city as a ‘rent pressure zone’.

Image: Shutterstock/Rawpixel.com

FROM MIDNIGHT TONIGHT, the new system of rent caps will be extended to all of Galway city and 23 towns across the country.

It means rent can only be raised by a maximum of 4% a year in those areas, at the time of its next review.

Housing Minister Simon Coveney signed the orders this afternoon after receiving recommendations from the rental sector watchdog.

Galway City will join Dublin and Cork city as a ‘rent pressure zone’.

The other areas include nine towns in Meath, seven in Kildare, three in Wicklow and four in Cork.


  • Slane
  • Julianstown
  • Duleek
  • Laytown
  • Bettystown
  • Ashbourne
  • Dunboyne
  • Dunshaughlin
  • Ratoath


  • Naas
  • Sallins
  • Celbridge
  • Leixlip
  • Rathangan
  • Kildare
  • Newbridge


  • Bray
  • Enniskerry
  • Wicklow


  • Douglas
  • Ballincollig
  • Carrigaline
  • Passage West

Speaking today Minister Coveney said additional supply is the right way to address rental pressures over the medium term.

“We need now to ensure that the supply side response is strong and swift by implementing the full range of complimentary supply measures contained in the rental strategy.”

Read: RTÉ to sell off part of its Donnybrook HQ in the coming months>

About the author:

Read next: