You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Laura Hutton/Photocall Ireland

Shatter resignation a lesson for government to "listen to dissenting voices"

Fianna Fáil is now for calling for a road map to “restore this situation to normality”.

ALAN SHATTER’S RESIGNATION is a lesson for government to “learn to listen to dissenting voices”, Fianna Fáil’s Justice Spokesperson has said.

Niall Collins told RTÉ’s Morning Ireland that Taoiseach Enda Kenny would have known that claims made by garda whisteblower Maurice McCabe were of a serious nature.

He noted that the dossier presented to Kenny by Fianna Fáil leader Michael Martin was initially dismissed.

The now former Minister of Justice stepped down yesterday ahead of the Guerin Report, which was commissioned to investigate the reporting of confidential information by McCabe, and had made Shatter feel that it was “his duty” to resign as Justice Minister.

Collins criticised the government to seeking to dismiss McCabe as a “latter-day crank”, despite some believing he was a “very credible witnesses”.

He added that the coalition’s ‘continued votes of confidence in the Minister for Justice’ is a “key point that needs to be addressed”, as well why an explanation as to why the confidential recipient Oliver Connolly was “sacked” and the “premature removal” of the former Garda Commissioner Martin Callinan.

He called for a “road map” from government “as to how we’re going to restore this situation to normality”.

‘Inevitable’: Leinster House left shocked by Shatter resignation >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

44 Comments
    Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    May 8th 2014, 8:24 AM

Get lost FF, just because lab/FG are useless doesn’t mean anybody cares what you shower of gangsters have to say.

Mute Mikey
    Favourite Mikey
    May 8th 2014, 8:48 AM

Was coming on to say the exact same thing. They remember a man called Willie O’Dea?
    I hate the sight of the lot of them.

Doc
    Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    May 8th 2014, 9:34 AM

The Dail is becoming a laughing stock, a tax cheat called for the resignation of a minister and now NEW FF asking the government to listen to dissenting voices, Of course the substantive issues of both pleas are fundamentally appropriate however it is the people delivering stated pleas is stomach turning and hypocritical, Do they think we are a nation of goldfish, one member who should have resigned his dail seat and a party who should have been voted out of existence, the irony is all consuming and the reality is that these people will be part of a government after the next general election.

Mute Sean O'Grady
    Favourite Sean O'Grady
    May 8th 2014, 9:34 AM

You have to question why these people are still given such a large amount of airtime on our national broadcaster? I don’t care what they or Labour or Green Party or FG etc. think nor do a significant proportion of my generation that have been left cast out and abandoned by this right wing civil war party politics BS that we call our government. Take your views and shove em where the sun don’ shine FF and take your new bright young hopefuls if that is what you want to call them and stick them there too. Keep spouting your spiel all you want cos i’m not listening. ….. I’m from Monaghan btw and have first hand experience of our beloved Garda Siochana’s treatment of victims of crime but I don’t want to hear the party in control for a lot of it lecturing anyone else about it. Just crazy!!!!!!!!!!

Mute rsdowney
    Favourite rsdowney
    May 8th 2014, 8:28 AM

Did any ask the F FAIL lackey, how many ministers in the previous government resigned?

Not a supporter of Shatter. Just sick of the hypocrisy.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    May 8th 2014, 1:08 PM

Wasn’t Sean Doherty the FF Minister for Justice at one stage? Just checking as FF deputies seem to have developed a collective amnesia about him.

Mute John Meade
    Favourite John Meade
    May 8th 2014, 8:31 AM

listen to dessenting voices, like when Bertie listened when told the economy was going to crash and said, ” i don’t know how people like that don’t commit suicide, Fcuk off FF you hypocritical gits

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 8th 2014, 10:09 AM

That was not meant in the way that you describe it and you know that.

A throwaway comment from 7 years ago has no relevance to Irish politics today.

Doc
    Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    May 8th 2014, 10:58 AM

It was ment exactly the way it was stated, you’re showing yourself up to be a revisionist now but then again yere selfs and SF are part of the same cloth aren’t ye.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    May 8th 2014, 8:26 AM

The wheels on the bus goes around and around

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    May 8th 2014, 12:40 PM

The wheels have come of the gardai wagon a long time ago and the cover up of the top brass is criminal unjust and smells of self judging self as in a mafia gang . C an i ask where are all the gang that tried to destroy my character and label me a paedophile , The truth is out and you lot are guilty of character assassination

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    May 8th 2014, 8:29 AM

Dissenting voices since 2008? When FF were in government like? Have I missed something? Is FF a brand new party formed in 2011?

Mute The Doctor
    Favourite The Doctor
    May 8th 2014, 8:31 AM

It’s FF, they’ll be whatever you want them to be. Except honest. They don’t do honest.

Mute Sean South
    Favourite Sean South
    May 8th 2014, 9:12 AM

very rarely do we agree O’Reilly but your spot on!

Mute Premium Gamerz
    Favourite Premium Gamerz
    May 8th 2014, 9:57 AM

People need to stop voting for people like FF FG and Labour. They are a shower of crooks and they are not going to change,

Vote in people like Luke Flanagan , Mick Wallace, Clare Daly etc. who actually care about what’s right and try and do honest work in the Dail.
    Simple as that.

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 8th 2014, 9:59 AM

FF are doing what an opposition party should, holding the Govt. to account.

Did they make mistakes in the past, certainly, show me someone who has not. Niall brings a sense of direct talk that is a breath of fresh air in Irish politics and shows what party renewal can do any party.

It is time though to move on and start planning for the future.

Doc
    Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    May 8th 2014, 10:29 AM

@ Premuim gamerz Mick Wallace honest ? luke Flanagan care about what’s right ? and as for clare daly, I would love to know her agenda but one thing I do know is that she is a hypocrite, so self righteous and all the time aligning herself with a tax cheat and state fraudster, it reminds me of sinn fein light but then again we are all entitled to our views, just pointing out facts.

Doc
    Mute Doc
    Favourite Doc
    May 8th 2014, 10:33 AM

Seanie do you actually believe what you are saying ? “direct talk” ,” breath of fresh air”, more like flatulence .

May 8th 2014, 10:51 AM

SeanieRyan…yes plan for the future without FF, unless you want to go back to more corruption and greed, they are past masters of that!

Mute TOP CAT
    Favourite TOP CAT
    May 8th 2014, 8:37 AM

No one person in government should think they are Shatter proof.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 8th 2014, 9:31 AM

Are you suggesting that Alan Shatter may be a threat to the security of the State?
    Have you informed the Gardaí?

Mute Owen Lynch
    Favourite Owen Lynch
    May 8th 2014, 9:52 AM

This FG led government are well able to hand out the P45 so watch your step.

Mute Patrick Moran
    Favourite Patrick Moran
    May 8th 2014, 8:41 AM

From personal experience I know that Mr. Collins needs to learn what justice actualy means before he spouts off about it in public.

Mute RP McMurphy
    Favourite RP McMurphy
    May 8th 2014, 8:56 AM

@Patrick Moran. Do elaborate please:-)

Mute Rob Cahill
    Favourite Rob Cahill
    May 8th 2014, 8:57 AM

“made Shatter feel that it was “his duty” to resign as Justice Minister”

As if he was doing something noble. It’s about time this parasite got caught out on one of his failures. He tried to have it so the Legal system in this country was overseen by his department. 50% of cases are against the government and he wanted it all under him. Would have got it too had this been china or North Korea. And his speaking out about Solicitors charging extravagant fees to clients when his own firm had a divorce on its books that netted them more than 500K and it still wasn’t resolved. The man didn’t deserve to resign.. he should have been sacked. Now he gets to live on the tax payer for the rest of his days.

Mute ChocSaltyBallz
    Favourite ChocSaltyBallz
    May 8th 2014, 8:37 AM

Gerry Adams for minister of justice !!!

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    May 8th 2014, 8:47 AM

Wouldnt work. He’d deny being minister if challenged.

Mute Alison Corcoran
    Favourite Alison Corcoran
    May 8th 2014, 8:40 AM

About time shatter is gone

Mute richard fennessy
    Favourite richard fennessy
    May 8th 2014, 9:04 AM

Eh Niall Collins all leaders of Fianna Fáil end up disgraced

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    May 8th 2014, 8:29 AM

I wonder what’ll happen to Hawkes and Geurin.

Mute Joseph O'Regan
    Favourite Joseph O'Regan
    May 8th 2014, 9:26 AM

FF FG and Lab rats are part of the political establishment parasites. They are all rotten to the core, the people are confronted daily with revelations of Greed, corruption and criminality that the Government chooses to ignore rather than confront it. The reasons for its inaction is obvious.
    The political dynasties that have ruled this country since the founding of the state need to be removed from their ivory tower and confronted with reality.

Mute Barry Mc Donnell
    Favourite Barry Mc Donnell
    May 8th 2014, 9:15 AM

Jesus. FF lecturing FG on this? Of course Mehole Martin had the dossier. Sure didn’t he get it off Dermot Ahern’s chair, where he had been sitting on it for two years? Hypocrites. At least FG did something about it.

Mute Cal Mooney
    Favourite Cal Mooney

FG and FF are two cheeks of the same back-side. Not an iota of difference between them. FF and FG Ministers both abused their positions to discredit people that didn’t see the world from their view. Both are a bloody disgrace and a stain on this country’s record since Independence.
    The only people who join FF/FG are people who want to line their own pockets and call in favors from those that need help. The Mahon and Moriarty tribunals cost this country almost 500 million euro between them. Both tribunals ran for years (deliberately prolonged by the parties under scrutiny). Both tribunals found corruption at the heart of both parties. Yet neither party paid back the costs to the tribunals and not one person got charged, let alone went to prison, as a result.
    FF/FG can go for a very long walk off a short pier as far as I am concerned.

Mute Barry Mc Donnell
    Favourite Barry Mc Donnell
    May 8th 2014, 11:11 AM

Actually, Both tribubnals found what they were supposed to, which was very little. They also made sure that none of the people implicated could ever be brought to court, which was why FF set them up in the first place. FF and FG are NOT the same. Not the same at all. Members of FG and Labour are at the moment risking their futures in politics knowingly, because they believe what they are doing is for the long term good of the country. You would never ever see any FF member do the same. Oh, and the “they are all the same” arguement seems to come almost exclusively from SF, who are overseeing massive budget cuts in the North, while telling people in the south that money grows on trees. Cop on.

Mute kathleen Farrell
    Favourite kathleen Farrell
    May 8th 2014, 10:00 AM

Reading all these comments there is one clear message the people of Ireland don’t trust any party to run this country. How long has it taken to get Shatter to go. Does Labour not feel even a tiny bit embarrassed at supporting a man that knows he was not doing the job he was getting paid for. This must be some report I can’t wait to read it At time in my life I find myself wishing that I had an education so that I could use my life skills to show this lot that it’s not rocket scenic to run a country they should start with honesty then people might come around to the rest. Sorry for boring you all just sick to the teeth of them all

May 8th 2014, 10:46 AM

Kathleen the whole sad situation is down to us.We are the ones who have let ourselves been conned by these vile people like Ahearn, Cowan and now Kenny and Co.We put FG/Lab in power because we wanted change from the way FF has damaged our people. What happened? They lied to us and have put the interests of Merkels bondholder friends in front of the people who elected them.You have the opportunity in a few days to punish these sleevens, vote them into oblivion!

Mute Chris Kirk
    Favourite Chris Kirk
    May 8th 2014, 8:58 AM

Could you trust any of them to lie straight in the bed…….

Mute SeanieRyan
    Favourite SeanieRyan
    May 8th 2014, 9:37 AM

If Kenny had told Callinan and Shatter that they had to stand down a few months ago and done right by the whistleblowers then I believe FG and Lab. would be riding high in the polls.

They blew it for themselves.

Mute Joe Corleone
    Favourite Joe Corleone

F Niall Collins & F Fianna Fáil too.

Mute john smith
    Favourite john smith
    May 8th 2014, 10:03 AM

He won’t be missed ,nice pay off back to job as solicitor live is hard for you f….o

Mute Kevin f
    Favourite Kevin f
    May 8th 2014, 12:25 PM

A morally bankrupt party giving advise as to how to conduct politics by some delusional hack whos only qualification in politics is that his old man was once a croony of haughy.
    Yes stones and greenhouse comes to mind

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    May 8th 2014, 10:53 AM

We need a “10th Man” in Government.

Mute Enda Curtin
    Favourite Enda Curtin
    May 8th 2014, 12:53 PM

I’ve just two words for golden boy Niall; “POT” and “KETTLE”

Mute Marlon Major
    Favourite Marlon Major
    May 8th 2014, 10:44 AM

A lesson learned? Not!