You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Sam Boal

Mixed views in SF about doing business with FF, but confidence in the air they can go it alone

As the party ventures into specifics and pledges, Sinn Féin knows nothing can be taken for granted.

THERE ARE MIXED views in Sinn Féin about whether it will be palatable for the party to go into government with Fianna Fáil, if that option is on the table after the next general election. 

Attendees The Journal spoke to at yesterday’s Sinn Féin Ard Fheis at the Technological University of Shannon Campus in Athlone outlined the differing views about whether its members would sign-off on going into a possible future coalition with Fianna Fáil. 

While some said it would involve significant compromises being made on party policy, others seemed more open to the idea if it meant that Sinn Féin would finally take a seat in government. 

There was a confident energy at the party’s Ard Fheis in Athlone this weekend, though some noted yesterday’s affair was more muted than previous years, with some stating there were smaller numbers in attendance. 

Among members, while there was a general view that Sinn Féin could make big strides in the next election, there was also a feeling that nothing can be taken for granted.

A lot can change in an election campaign, after all.

Speaking to The Journal, James Stokes, 18-year-old Sinn Féin local election candidate for Newbridge said:

It does feel like we’re going to win next time. It looks like there’s going to be change and it looks like we’re not going to need Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael.

This was a point also made by the party’s finance spokesperson Pearse Doherty who told members in his speech that the focus has to be about electing enough Sinn Féin TDs to form a government without Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil after the next general election.

But if the numbers don’t go their way, would Sinn Féin be willing to do business with Fianna Fáil?

If it comes down to that, it will come down to the members, said Stokes. 

Mary Lou McDonald failed to rule out going into coalition with Fianna Fáil this week, while there has been commentary that Micheál Martin’s stance has softened somewhat. 

At the Fianna Fáil Ard Fheis last week, Martin said it is not by any means a certainty that Sinn Féin will walk the election, stating that it is “wide open”.

Some within the Fianna Fáil have said Martin’s sense of duty to public service may lead to him accept the most difficult prospect of going into government with Sinn Féin after the next election, if it meant he could keep Sinn Féin “in check”, as one Fianna Fáil politician put it.

Stokes told The Journal yesterday that for the last 100 years Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael have been in power.

“There needs to be a chance of change, a change in leadership. I think Sinn Féin will be that change,” he said, adding that Sinn Féin is “100%” a home for the young voter. 

Sinn Féin saw its poll numbers drop in recent days, with last weekend’s Sunday Independent/Ireland Thinks opinion poll putting the party four points to 31%. 

Fine Gael was up two to 21% and Fianna Fáil was up one to 18%. Support for the Green Party remained unchanged at 4%. 

While the polling numbers fell, Sinn Féin is still in a comfortable position. 

There has been a lot of commentary that the party is attracting young voters who, in a housing crisis, feel disenfranchised by the establishment parties. 

McDonald, tapping in on that audience, said in her speech that housing was Sinn Féin’s number one priority, pledging to roll out the biggest housing programme in the history of the State if successful after the next election. 

Both Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil know their weak point in the narrative is housing, and in recent months has been at pains to highlight to the younger first-time buyer generation that if in government, Sinn Féin plans to scrap the Help-to-Buy scheme and the First Home scheme. 

Another young Sinn Féin party member, Thabiso from Newbridge, said he was impressed with the speakers at yesterday’s Ard Fheis. 

“They are all so confident, it really is inspiring. Especially with the support for Palestine – everybody’s standing up. It shows that among the base, like there is real support for the policies that the party is pushing as well,” he said. 

After the next election, Sinn Féin “will have the power”, he said. 

“It will be the biggest bloc, we’d have most of the voters on our side,” he added.

There is some expectation that after the next general election a rainbow coalition could be formed, with some predicting a left-leaning government with Sinn Féin at the helm.

Others predict it won’t be clear cut, and it could result in a SF-FF government, with independents and other smaller parties tacked on.

There’s even some speculation as to whether we could be facing into another rotating Taoiseach mechanism between McDonald and Martin.

In the end, it’s all speculation, and it’s only after the election will the whole picture become clear.

At yesterday’s event, most Sinn Féin voters The Journal spoke to felt that they were on the cusp of historic change in Irish politics. 

The party speakers hammered home this message: Fianna Fáil and Fine Gael had been in power for too long, that it was time for change, and Sinn Féin is ready to lead. 

In her closing speech, McDonald said: 

“A new government without Fine Gael and Fianna Fáil for the first time in a hundred years. Just imagine that. That would be the very best outcome from the General Election.”

“Of course, the people will make that call. It’s your decision. We take nothing for granted.  There are no inevitabilities,” she added. 

Doherty acknowledged in his speech that they understand the “great responsibility” that could be placed upon them.

“We know the challenges before us,” he said. 

Listing off all the problems facing society, from the high cost of living, to issues in the health service, to the housing and homelessness crisis, Doherty said his party is “determined to deliver”. 

“We have the ideas, the energy and the will to move our country forward and give hope to our people,” he told the crowd yesterday.

A number of promises were also made, such as building the economy, improving living standards, rebuilding the health service, and building more homes. 

McDonald promised a three-year rent freeze, while Housing Minister Eoin Ó Broin pledged to end homelessness for those over the age of 55 in a single year.

That one will be jotted down by their opponents and filed away for a time when Sinn Féin might be in power.

Venturing into specifics and timelines with their pledges is what will be required as we get closer to election time. Vague visions for the future won’t cut it with the electorate. 

With the countdown to the next election on, it’s the specifics and the granular policy detail that voters will demand from Sinn Féin, and the answers better stack up if the party wants to take the next step.

The younger generation that the party is targeting have big demands, big expectations and they’re not to be trifled with.

The party is fast realising that even if given the opportunity, the real pressure will begin when people expect delivery on those promises. That will be the real test for Sinn Féin.

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

133 Comments
    Mute Jb Walshe
    Favourite Jb Walshe
    Nov 12th 2023, 6:43 AM

“To keep them in check”…..a bit rich from Fianna Fáil to keep anyone in check

Mute Michael o connor
    Favourite Michael o connor
    Nov 12th 2023, 7:04 AM

@Jb Walshe: Cosa Nostra as FF are known around here.

Mute Denis Rathsallagh Brady
    Favourite Denis Rathsallagh Brady
    Nov 12th 2023, 10:46 AM

@Jb Walshe: Yeah, a bit rich for them. With their Galway brown envelope tainted tents

Mute Pato
    Favourite Pato
    Nov 12th 2023, 7:20 AM

I am not happy with FFG but would consider emigrating if SF get into power.

Mute Fearg
    Favourite Fearg
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:02 AM

@Pato: You’re only ‘considering’ emigrating. Please don’t hesitate, make a commitment and do it. After all thousands of our young people have to do it due to FF-FG-GP failure to provide homes.
    Fortunately there is a growing number of young voters remaining to fight this decaying regime and will vote in the Sinn Féin alternative government. So if you don’t want to join in the new Ireland, off you go.

Mute Temp Stuff
    Favourite Temp Stuff
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:05 AM

@Pato: but you wouldn’t in reality in fairness

Mute DT Walsh
    Favourite DT Walsh
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:16 AM

@Pato: Yep, while you’re considering it, I’ve done it thanks to FFG.

Mute N D K
    Favourite N D K
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:27 AM

@Pato: pack your bags then

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:43 AM

@Pato: grow up and remember Finna fail called in the IMF , Fine Gael called in vulture funds, Fine Gael, greens, Finna fail told us in 2011 if we paid carbon tax the icecaps would stop melting it’s now 2023 we all paid millions in carbon tax and the ice caps are still melting that a fraudulent political misrepresentation to tax us more just like the temporary usc, as for health it’s does not work for most people because it’s broken.

Mute and the hit's just keep coming
    Favourite and the hit's just keep coming
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:58 AM

@Fearg: get a job and get a mortgage then you will have a home …..not the government’s job to give out houses ….. Jesus thats all sf go on about free House .. do they think that’s all they have to do if they get into power is solve a housing problem…..they are not ready for a seat at the big table with the big kids ….. give it another generation and maybe then….but i still doubt it

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Nov 12th 2023, 10:20 AM

@Pato: Ryan Air is your best option
    Under FFG people can’t afford anything else

Mute Mick Duvanny
    Favourite Mick Duvanny
    Nov 12th 2023, 10:28 AM

@Fearg: There’s more people coming back than emigrating at the moment

Nov 12th 2023, 11:19 AM

@DT Walsh: Me too but il be back to vote these Ffg cl0wns out

Mute Donal Desmond
    Favourite Donal Desmond
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:21 AM

@Pato: ..If SF enter government after being democratically elected then
    It is your choice to emigrate. Seems crumbling Health service, Homelessness, Housing crisis, Billions taken from the Irish economy and Billions more to be repaid for the gangsterism of the banks and developers facilated by the same political parties that are again in power, A make it up as you go along refugee crisis, Scandal after scandal…seems the mess created by FFG/ Greens makes you happy to stay.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:44 AM

@Donal Desmond:
    I’m alright Jack

Mute nicholas winters
    Favourite nicholas winters
    Nov 12th 2023, 2:02 PM

@Pato: you and the rest of the unionists will need to find a new home across the water

Mute Liam23
    Favourite Liam23
    Nov 12th 2023, 2:20 PM

@Fearg: I like thousands of other came home after emigrating for 5 years to a good job and built a house.

Mute Frank Cauldhame
    Favourite Frank Cauldhame
    Nov 12th 2023, 3:01 PM

@Pato: Sinn Fein only fielded 42 candidates in the 2020 general election and won 36 seats, a whopping 86% success rate. On the contrary FF ran 84 (44% success rate) candidates with only 37 winning seats while Fine Gael ran 82 candidates and won 36 seats (43.9%). FFG have not delivered since their contentious coalition post 2020 and if Sinn Fein’s upward trajectory continues and they run twice as many candidates next year it would not be beyond the bounds of reality that they deliver a decisive victory requiring only the support of on or two smaller parties to lead the next government .

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 12th 2023, 7:47 AM

I would really like a sensible sf supporter to tell us how a party who obviously detest builders, developers and banks expect to fix the housing crisis. Its a simple question???

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:44 AM

@Chris Gaffney: legislative policy.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:05 AM

@Liam Foy: Wow….That the best you can do??

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:46 AM

@Liam Foy:
    Sorry liam but be it a SF led government or a FFG one we will have the same number of builders.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 12th 2023, 4:05 PM

@Chris Gaffney: hardly a simple question when it is premised on a falsehood. More a loaded question, as to attempt to answer it would give credence to the falsehood in first place.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 12th 2023, 4:09 PM

@P.J. Nolan: but maybe a moratorium on buy to let apartment blocks would redirect those builders into badly needed social housing.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 12th 2023, 5:32 PM

@M Bowe: What you and many others fail to realize is that the build to rent apartments are badly needed by working people who need to rent a property. These people pay large amounts of tax which help fund the construction of social houses. We need both types of accommodation as our economy is growing which most people (except sf) think is a good thing.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Nov 12th 2023, 6:11 PM

@M Bowe: 8
    I don’t doubt that SF will change the percentage between public housing and private, including build to let, which in itself may not be a bad thing but it will inno way, shape or form solve the housing crisis.
    Only an enormous building programme will do that, of all types of housing.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:54 PM

@Chris Gaffney: what you and free market neo liberals have played on is that supply reduces demand which reduces costs. Building social and genuinely affordable housing Will free up plenty of properties for rental markets at sustainable rents, thereby benefiting those workers. Save large swathes of the half billion euros being paid to vultures which are of zero tax benefit to this country. Putting a sense of community back rather than warehousing people at maximum profit for a select few.

Mute Chris Thaunton
    Favourite Chris Thaunton
    Nov 12th 2023, 8:56 AM

SF will be more of the same, same old spin coming out, same old apologists for terrorists, particularly in the mid east right now, and let’s be honest, SF have plenty of experience in that camp haven’t they? Instead of calling for Israel to be referred to the international criminal court, SF should have been demanding that the ‘Palestinian’ ambassador call for all terror groups and their supporters to immediately surrender, and leave Gaza and SF should have also publicly made this demand themselves. But no, they have appeased the terrorists. Nothing new for SF.

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:20 AM

@Chris Thaunton:
    As opposed to enabling and encouraging a vengeful butcher like Netanyahu to carry out another Nakba genocide all to deflect from his policitical legacy going down in flames on the alter of his own rank corruption and judicial ‘reforms’ to keep him from being incarcerated lawfully!
    Unlike the 4000+ Palestinian hostages they have interned illegally along with the 2 million remaining souls in the condensed death camp of Gaza….along with the 270+ that were slaughtered in the West Bank this year before the ‘intelligence failure’ and unjustifiable brutal attack of 7/10 and the 200 killed the proxy settler ‘terrorists’ in collusion and under their guise, direction and escort as seen regulary since, on Al Jazeera and TRT etc!

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:53 AM

@Chris Thaunton: I understood the Good Friday agreement brought lasting peace and the IRA stood down along with the unionists terrorist or have you misunderstood we all moved on from the past but Leo and Fine Gael along with Finna fail keep bringing it up when Sinn Fein is high in the polls yet Finna fail, Fine Gael support the Israeli butcher by not expelling their ambassador.

Mute Chris Thaunton
    Favourite Chris Thaunton
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:18 AM

@Liam Foy: You have completely missed my point, not surprising for the uneducated.

Mute Chris Thaunton
    Favourite Chris Thaunton
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:21 AM

@Joe Meade: That’s a different argument. A simple yes or no answer will suffice for the following, anything other than that then it’s obvious that you are happy for the terror groups to remain in Gaza….
    Do you agree or disagree with ” SF should have been demanding that the ‘Palestinian’ ambassador call for all terror groups and their supporters to immediately surrender, and leave Gaza and SF should have also publicly made this demand themselves. Yes or No.

Nov 12th 2023, 12:29 PM

@Chris Thaunton: In order to give either answer, one would have to accept the implied premise of the question. Just because the IDF have a fancy uniform and a flag, does not mean they are not also terrorists. So personally, I believe all of the terrorists in that area should lay down their arms and release their hostages. Then sit down and sprt pit their differences

Nov 12th 2023, 12:30 PM

Err… sort out

Nov 12th 2023, 12:42 PM

@Liam Foy: I would say it is more important to have ambassadors from unfriendly countries than friendly ones. At the end of the day, friendly leaders and ministers will just talk on the phone and ambassadors don’t necessarily need to get involved. Expelling an ambassador is just removing the possibility of engaging in diplomacy with the country in question.

Nov 12th 2023, 8:05 AM

No FF No FG

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Nov 12th 2023, 8:46 AM

No government

Mute vxQ6cYzh
    Favourite vxQ6cYzh
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:44 AM

@P.J. Nolan: Mary Lulu, You got your grounding when you were a member of Fianna Fáil. You left that Party disgruntled ? WHY ! because nobody would tolerate nonsense, now in your ‘New’ Party you tolerate a nonsensical Front Bench of “I can’s” when we all know they “Can’t”

Mute Liam Foy
    Favourite Liam Foy
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:48 AM

@vxQ6cYzh: unfortunately people learn from past mistakes and move on like Mary Lou, sadly Finna fail never learned from any of their mistakes and keep making them.

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Nov 12th 2023, 7:39 AM

Hey journal, how about some good news stories like the heroes of the national bravery awards who accepted their awards yesterday. (Apologies if you have reported on this but I can’t find it).

Mute HisMastersAlibi
    Favourite HisMastersAlibi
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:42 AM

@Eamon: good news is no news,we need terror blasted into our brains every minute of our waking days

Nov 12th 2023, 8:11 AM

We don’t want FFG in our government. They have had their time and failed. Time to give someone else a chance.

Mute Noelyj
    Favourite Noelyj
    Nov 12th 2023, 10:41 AM

@: As bad as FF/FG are/were, they have 100 years experience between them. SF with all their intentions, have not got one single member with any experience of running a government department. You might pick one or two SF members who might give it a gob but not many. Sf need to go into coalition with either FF or FG if they want any experience to ever go it alone.

Mute Shane Doyle
    Favourite Shane Doyle
    Nov 12th 2023, 1:47 PM

@Noelyj: that’s no great advertisement for them 100 years experience in running a country into the ground

Mute Noelyj
    Favourite Noelyj
    Nov 12th 2023, 6:15 PM

@Shane Doyle: Not advertising, just stating the reality of OUR situation

Mute CBR Lover
    Favourite CBR Lover
    Nov 13th 2023, 4:17 PM

Who is we?

Mute Adrian Dervin
    Favourite Adrian Dervin
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:21 AM

So Sinn Féin do business with Hamas but not Fianna Fáil or Fine Gael.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 12th 2023, 12:34 PM

@Adrian Dervin: false. It was FFG who refused to do business with SF. And SF are clearly on record as criticising Hamas on last months attack.

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Nov 12th 2023, 8:58 AM

The difference in language used by the Journal in the Fianna Fail and Fheis and sinn Feins one is noticeable .if the Journal decides to go the same way as RTE and The . delete this App .
    Stay neutral we want unbiased news .Not opinion pieces or biased reporting.
    Treat every party the same !!
    It’s getting noticeable

Mute John Mcmahon
    Favourite John Mcmahon
    Nov 12th 2023, 10:22 AM

@John Mcmahon:
    Sorry for the spelling mistakes and leaving out The Independent.ie all together
    But ye knew what I meant

Mute M G
    Favourite M G
    Nov 12th 2023, 7:16 AM

SF NOT GETTING MY VOTE IF THEY ARE PLANNING TO GO INTO GOVERNMENT ALONG WITH FG OR FF , FFG ARE PRACTICALLY THE SAME PARTY THEY ARE NO DIFFERENT, PEOPLE WANT CHANGE AND DEFINITELY NOT LEO ,MARTIN.OR THE REST OF THE CRUCKS

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 12th 2023, 7:39 AM

@M G: Well said. If they can’t make a simple majority on their own then sf should stay in opposition!!

Mute Peter McGlynn
    Favourite Peter McGlynn
    Nov 12th 2023, 8:31 AM

@M G: no – If they need them go in but don’t give them any of the important posts and use them as mudguards for subsequent election.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Nov 12th 2023, 8:45 AM

@Peter McGlynn:
    The problem with that is it isn’t FF that have made the big promises so it won’t be FF who suffer the most when the uncomfortable decisions and realities appear.

Mute Mike
    Favourite Mike
    Nov 12th 2023, 8:48 AM

@Chris Gaffney: Did you say that at the last election when FF and FG cosied up after swearing it would never happen? You are pathetic lolololol

Nov 12th 2023, 10:40 AM

@Peter McGlynn: You realise if they don’t get any important posts they won’t help SF form a government thus means SF won’t get the chance to govern? You’re not very clued in on how things actually work in the real world are you?

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 12th 2023, 10:44 AM

@M G: so by not giving SF your vote, you are making it more likely that FFG will have some input into next government. Your logic does not make sense, or is that your intention to direct votes away from SF to achieve the outcome you pretend to despise. Only way to guarantee those parties are not in government is voting SF 123 and giving preferences to only NON FFG candidates to support the changes required.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:12 AM

@Peter McGlynn: I bet you are a fan of the tooth fairy too??

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:59 AM

@Mike: No. Because it was an obvious marriage. FF/sf would be slightly more dramatic and prone to failure!!! Simple really even for you to get!

Mute James Doyle
    Favourite James Doyle
    Nov 12th 2023, 2:13 PM

@M G: Remember Gilmore, Rabbitte, and co, great revolutionary talk going to change Ireland into socialist utopia, then when they entered Government they became as right wing as their coalition partners. Time will tell if Sinn Fein will find 101 excuses why they can’t implement their election promises and manifesto. Will they abolish the family home tax as promised if elected to government? And the many more promises the made over the years in opposition. Action speaks louder than words.

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Nov 12th 2023, 2:34 PM

@James Doyle: If they are clever they will be working on their excuses now.

Mute lesidees
    Favourite lesidees
    Nov 12th 2023, 8:28 AM

Rhetoric meets reality.

It’s going to be so much fun watching the shinners who thought they were voting for a left wing party when they go into coalition with FF.

Of course, as an ex-FFer herself, it’s only to be expected that Mary Lou would prefer FF as a coalition partner rather than the pseudo-trots and misfits of PBP. And to be honest, Boyd Barrett and company will be happier in opposition, rather than being in government, where they might actually have to do something.

And oh the irony of things, if the main political beneficiaries of a SF led government turn out to be….ladies and gentlemen, I give you…. Fine Gael and Labour !!!!

Mute kkjLtYn1
    Favourite kkjLtYn1
    Nov 12th 2023, 10:42 AM

@lesidees: quite right. PBP can afford to take the moral high ground as they will never have a ministerial post or hold executive power. In reality, they’re a parish pump operation only good for getting medical cards or dealing with potholes at the end of Mrs Murphy’s road. I doubt Sinn Fein for all their fine words would want to get into bed with them. The Shinners have already said they will need ten years in government to sort the country out. Put another way, after five years of having achieved eff all, they’ll go into an election on the basis of we told you we would need a second term. Bunch of charlatans.

Mute Derek O Gorman
    Favourite Derek O Gorman
    Nov 12th 2023, 10:21 AM

SF will just become like the rest and tow the line if they get in. Civil servants run this country nothing will change and all their promises will dissappear slowly but surely

Nov 12th 2023, 9:13 AM

Choosing to open comments selectively as always , the Journal building SF support without even understanding so.

Mute PRdLQWQF
    Favourite PRdLQWQF
    Nov 12th 2023, 8:09 AM

If SF go into coalition with FF FG or the Greens, then what they are saying they’ll do to progress the country will be utterly meaningless .

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:53 AM

@Fr. Todd Uncious:
    In fairness Todd you are ruling out all options there except a return of the existing government, which I doubt you want that.
    The alternatives are either a SF FF coalition or a SF lead left wing government, which would almost certainly need the Greens….

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Nov 12th 2023, 2:39 PM

@P.J. Nolan: If SF run more candidates this time they will wipe out most of the so-called jest wing seats.

Mute morgan crowe
    Favourite morgan crowe
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:45 AM

SF ars too busy suing people to run the country effectively.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 12th 2023, 12:41 PM

@morgan crowe: why do we have libel laws to protect citizens against what they see as defamatory comments,( I haven’t read what was printed, so can’t comment on that), if it is somehow wrong to use those laws ?????

Mute Gerry Ryan
    Favourite Gerry Ryan
    Nov 12th 2023, 8:27 AM

If FF and FG and Labour and Soc Dems and a gaggle of Independents can out number Sinn Fein they will cobble a Govt together.
    It will only postpone the inevitable. The more they deny SF their right to represent their voters in Govt the more the electorate will take it into their own hands.
    Might not be this time but it’s coming.

Nov 12th 2023, 8:50 AM

@Gerry Ryan: Nobody has the RIGHT to represent their voters in government. If that was the case there would never be any opposition parties .

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:13 AM

@Gerry Ryan: Hopefully 10 or 15 years away!!

Mute Dissasociated Follower
    Favourite Dissasociated Follower
    Nov 12th 2023, 7:27 AM

They’ll be shooting themselves in the foot on their very first day on the job by linking up with ff.

Mute vxQ6cYzh
    Favourite vxQ6cYzh
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:47 AM

@Dissasociated Follower: Mary Lulu, You got your grounding when you were a member of Fianna Fáil. You left that Party disgruntled ? WHY ! because nobody would tolerate nonsense, now in your ‘New’ Party you tolerate a nonsensical Front Bench of “I can’s” when we all know they “Can’t”

Mute CBR Lover
    Favourite CBR Lover
    Nov 12th 2023, 10:38 AM

I am not sawing FF/FG are the government we need but I feel they are the better option if SF is the alternative. When asked where they would get all the money needed to fulfill all what they say they will do, their spokesman for finance’s answer was, we will get from somewhere. Is that who you want leading the country?

Nov 12th 2023, 10:54 AM

@CBR Lover: I said this yesterday and i’ll say it again although the context is completely different.
    Just because one is a politician does not mean that one has superior intelligence.
    At this stage after 100 years of FFG i dont care so much what comes out their mouths, SF should be given at least years in office.

Mute CBR Lover
    Favourite CBR Lover
    Nov 12th 2023, 12:29 PM

@Denis Rathsallagh Brady: Why, is it just because they are there, that is not going to make them any good.

Nov 12th 2023, 2:17 PM

@CBR Lover: Keep doing what you’re doing and you’ll keep getting what you’re getting.
    In other words vote FFG and lets have more of what we’re having now.

Mute CBR Lover
    Favourite CBR Lover
    Nov 13th 2023, 4:21 PM

@Denis Rathsallagh Brady: it is better than the alternative that SF offer.

Nov 14th 2023, 7:33 AM

@CBR Lover: Are you seriously saying that more FFG is better than giving SF a chance of 4 years?
    You gotta be joking, like seriously. The state the countries in and you say lets have more instead of SF?

Mute Joe Meade
    Favourite Joe Meade
    Nov 12th 2023, 7:26 AM

The remnants of FF under new leadership may yet prove somewhat useful in order to smoothen the transition for any stockholmed secs. general, similar grades and any other ‘snivel servants’ overly used to the overly comfy status quo and passive subservience.
    That burgeoning stuffiness and ‘sure that’s the way it’s done around here mentality’ of perceived inefficiency and stodge will be replaced with a fresh approach and a genuine urgency to endeavour for the many and not just an already well looked after priveleged few, vested interests and typical lobbyists etc!

Mute Justin Mcnulty
    Favourite Justin Mcnulty
    Nov 12th 2023, 12:52 PM

@Joe Meade: seriously disrespectful way to speak of the civil service which has always done this country proud. And to imagine that a similar percentage of civil servants don’t support SF as the general population belies your ignorance. You’d think your only interaction with the civil service was been refused more benefits payments!

Mute Nodon
    Favourite Nodon
    Nov 12th 2023, 2:41 PM

@Joe Meade: You’ve been watching too much ‘Yes Minister’.

Nov 12th 2023, 8:21 AM

I wonder if Mary Lou will fix costs as well as rent?

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Nov 12th 2023, 12:50 PM

It doesn’t really matter if she does.
    What they will do, they have repeatedly said it, is bring in a ban on no fault evictions. So once the house enters the rental market it never leaves (unless the tenant volunteers to leave.)
    So unless the tenant leaves themselves the house would have to be sold with them in place.
    The usual markdown on that would be 20% or so.

Nov 12th 2023, 1:24 PM

@P.J. Nolan: So what you are saying is that private landlords would have to subsidise the state/tenant by 20% of the principal value of their property? I’m an accidental landlord, I do not want to sell, I have followed the rules and both me and my tenants are currently happy with the current arrangement. However, I am not in a position to see many 10s of thousands wiped off the value of a property that will lose its fixed rate with the bank in a few years. The banks will not take a 20% haircut, so I have little choice but to evict my tenants before the next election. Any financial transaction has to benefit both parties. So, people unnecessarily uprooted will be the result of that rhetoric.

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Nov 12th 2023, 6:27 PM

Correct.

Nov 12th 2023, 8:19 AM

I would live to see an alternative to FF/FG but be careful what you wish for. I think any party that props them up will regret it very quickly and pay a very heavy price in the following election, which probably won’t be far away.

Nov 12th 2023, 10:49 AM

Just put SF no.1 and an Independent as no.2 on your ballot sheet leave the rest blank. We dont want FFG getting any transfers.

Mute Justin Mcnulty
    Favourite Justin Mcnulty
    Nov 12th 2023, 12:44 PM

I’m guessing when a lot of potential voters realise that SF have never properly condemned Hamas vicious and disturbing attack on Israel or called for the release of hostages not even the babies they will reconsider voting for them. In an era of increasing danger from extremists do we want a government soft on terrorism?

Nov 12th 2023, 9:51 AM

If the polls are broadly replicated in the Election SF ,at around a third of the seats,will need a party with 20% of seats to form a government. That can only be FF who will be the kingmakers as they may have the option to go back in with FG and the Greens

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 12th 2023, 11:09 AM

If FF have the option yo go again with FG or take a leap and go with sf it should be a fairly easy decision!!

Mute Gertrude Gilmore
    Favourite Gertrude Gilmore
    Nov 12th 2023, 1:48 PM

A SF Government could well lead to a return of the troubles.

Nov 12th 2023, 8:34 PM

@Gertrude Gilmore: Thats the kind of thinking that have FFG in power all these years. Have some backbone and put your trust in them.
    Now, explain how SF getting into power could lead to a return of the troubles.

Mute BrianM
    Favourite BrianM
    Nov 12th 2023, 12:35 PM

“Housing Minister Eoin O Broin”…since when?

Mute John Farrant
    Favourite John Farrant
    Nov 12th 2023, 10:25 AM

In the past SF have had a habit of shooting themselves in the foot. They need to concentrate on what the people really need, and work in the real world. Do they deserve a chance ?, that’s up to us. I can’t see them being worse than what’s been there for the last 20 years. But with people being more critical regarding politics, and younger voters are not aligned to a political party, they must realise if they make a mess of it, they will be gone the next election. Lots of voters don’t know who they are going to vote for, but they do know who they are not going to vote for.

Mute Tom D
    Favourite Tom D
    Nov 12th 2023, 3:33 PM

@John Farrant: any numpty can make things worse, it’s very difficult to make things better. Judging by SF policies, it’s almost a certainty they will make things worse if in Gov, the question is how much worse.

Mute Eamon
    Favourite Eamon
    Nov 12th 2023, 7:32 AM

Disassociated follower: Very apt comment.

Nov 12th 2023, 11:32 AM

An addendum to my previous post. Obviously if SF have 2 candidates in the same area put them as your no.1 and 2 then leave the rest blank.
    We and they deserve at least 4 years.
    If you fill out the ballot form all the way down to the end, say 12 for example. FFG have a chance to get a candidate elected from transfers

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Nov 12th 2023, 12:53 PM

@Denis Rathsallagh Brady:
    You do that Denis, FFG would be delighted with your help.

Mute Chris Gaffney
    Favourite Chris Gaffney
    Nov 12th 2023, 1:44 PM

@Denis Rathsallagh Brady: Great rescue there……I assume that’s the Royal “We” you are referring to ??

Nov 12th 2023, 2:20 PM

@P.J. Nolan: SF 1 and 2 and thats it. You’re gonna have to explain how that helps FFG?

Nov 12th 2023, 2:21 PM

@Chris Gaffney: Hahahha we and thee and them and they

Mute P.J. Nolan
    Favourite P.J. Nolan
    Nov 12th 2023, 6:48 PM

@Denis Rathsallagh Brady:
    Easy, it’s a type of scenario that happens somewhere every GE.
    Let’s say you have a 4 seater and 2 candidates from SF, FF and FG along with the usual mix of smaller parties and independents. So the first 3 seats are sorted, 1 SF 1FG and 1FF. Let’s say the last seat is between SD SF and FF. Unfortunately for you the SF guy is eliminated as lowest of the 3 and his transfers decide the thing.
    Because you didn’t continue your preference for other left wing candidates your vote goes into the non-transverible pile and it is one less vote against the FF guy.
    A similar scenario happened in my constituency last time out, last count was FF and the Greens, FF guy in the lead but transfers got the Green candidate in.

Nov 13th 2023, 1:29 PM

@P.J. Nolan: Proportional representation huh?
    Who’d have it?
    Oh right…

Mute vxQ6cYzh
    Favourite vxQ6cYzh
    Nov 12th 2023, 9:45 AM

Mary Lulu, You got your grounding when you were a member of Fianna Fáil. You left that Party disgruntled ? WHY ! because nobody would tolerate nonsense, now in your ‘New’ Party you tolerate a nonsensical Front Bench of “I can’s” when we all know they “Can’t”

Mute Geoff Rob
    Favourite Geoff Rob
    Nov 12th 2023, 3:32 PM

It really not the parties who are in power.. its the civil servants who run the country hiding beheind the politicians telling them what to do.. its that simple.. jobs for life.. no performance reviews or actions.

Mute Kevin O Brien
    Favourite Kevin O Brien
    Nov 12th 2023, 2:38 PM

If in doubt leave FFG out go it alone Sinn Fein

Mute Paul MacCullagh
    Favourite Paul MacCullagh
    Nov 12th 2023, 2:05 PM

SF have some talent in their ranks, but no governing experience. They would be better off as junior partners to get some.

Mute John Flanagan
    Favourite John Flanagan
    Nov 12th 2023, 5:47 PM

I’ll vote sinn fein all day. But please please don’t go and ruin it by going in with mee hole. Never.

Mute Niall Murphy
    Favourite Niall Murphy
    Nov 12th 2023, 4:03 PM

SF have to hope they surpass the projected 67 seats in the next general election otherwise its going to make incredibly interesting viewing trying to pull together with FF and not potentially lose huge support as a result.

Can SF pull off 75 seats? They’ll need to if they want to leave both FF and FG out of government but they’ll also need the SDs to do well and a leftwing independent or two to come on board. If its to be a left/centre left ‘new’ government.

Mute Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Favourite Caoimín Ó Muircheartaigh
    Nov 12th 2023, 7:46 PM

If she promises to remove the Israeli Judaeo Nazis from here, bombing hospitals with US weapons, she gets my vote.

Mute Hotirish
    Favourite Hotirish
    Nov 13th 2023, 11:17 AM

Will definitely avoid FF if the shinners are on their ticket.

Mute Wayne Shoes
    Favourite Wayne Shoes
    Nov 14th 2023, 1:30 AM

Sinn Fein will be in government.Stop the crying,and get over it.I love to see the All right jacks crying tho mmmmm nice.

Mute colm o'leary
    Favourite colm o'leary
    Nov 13th 2023, 11:49 AM

I voted for sinn fein the last time and got more of the same thanks to Mary Lou not having enough candidates running. After what she said last week about Israel I’m not sure I can vote for them again. If they don’t realise that the reason Israel is in Gaza is because of the sheer horror of what was done to their people on the 7th of October. Men and women shot in their homes, toddlers tied together and burned alive in front of their parents. If she can’t see anything wrong with that then I can’t vote for her party.