You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.
An account is an optional way to support the work we do. Find out more.
Wally Santana/Associated Press
pc
Here's how to get rid of those annoying startup programs on your PC
Do you really need Skype starting up every time you turn on your computer?
7.00pm, 26 Sep 2015
NO MATTER WHAT computer you use, you will install programs. Some will be useful, some will have more specific uses and others will be used sporadically.
Some that you install will automatically startup on your computer and depending on your viewpoint, this will either be useful or become an annoyance.
If it’s the latter, then you can disable it. Go into Start, select search (or click on the search bar if it’s located there) and search for ‘System Configuration’ or ‘msconfig’.
In this, you can look at the different services that are running on your computer and disable them if you want (be very careful about this).
We’re not interested in that. Instead, click on ‘Startup’ subheading and you will be presented with all the services that start automatically when you turn your computer on.
Some of these you will find useful, others may be programs you installed but only rather use when you call on them.
The ones you don’t want, disable them and leave the ones that are essential or that you didn’t install in your computer’s lifetime (Microsoft Security Client in this example).
It’s a small change, but it will speed things up for you a little every time you start up. Or failing that, the disabled programs won’t annoy you any longer.
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article.
Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.
Acheivements don’t necessarily mean the person is automatically right nor does being a big employer / nice man / pillar of society exempt you from observing the law of the land.
Kicking a man when he’s down is also another Irish tradition, this is what the banks and the politicians ate doing to the real ‘ordinary’ families of Ireland. Remember you will be paying 2% for the next 20 years on EVERY insurance policy you take out because of #Quinn
Don’t feel sorry for #Quinn they believe they are above the law and are in contempt of the Justice system… Remover they own HALF A BILLION EURO in property and the money borrowed from Anglo was to add to that portfolio, not to create jobs
Thanks Paul for the link to that article. It is the most well written one I have seen on this subject. Gambling, which is effectively what Quinn did, can cause ruin in anybody’s life, his ruin is just on a more massive scale.
Quinn never set out to hurt anybody. People didn’t complain while they were getting paid out. It’s only when the golden goose stops laying that people grumble. The people who support him possess a quality that is sadly lacking in modern day Ireland-loyalty.
Whether he set out to hurt anyone or not is irrelevant. The fact of the matter is his and his family’s actions did hurt a lot of people and will continue hurting the country for a long time. The infantile tribalism of those that support him is astounding.
I think Sean Quinn is being made a scape goat.
There are people in this country who have got off scot free.
One that immediately comes to mind is Bertie Ahern.
Why was he not investigated in a similar fashion.
He and his political party were the ones responsible for regulation of the banks.
It is a lack of regulation in so many ways that has Ireland where it is now.
funny you should mention bertie, stray mutt. Another powerful man who left a trail of destruction for the taxpayer to clear up who claims he’s the victim of a witch hunt.
Eh Rocco, there’s too much loyalty in Ireland- that’s the problem. That’s why almost 1 in 5 people voted FF in the last election even though they ruined the country.
The only thing you should be loyal to are your principles.
And as for Quinn not hurting anybody; he hurts my bank balance due to the 2% on my insurance that everyone in the State has to pay.
And if you ask me he’s hurting the rule of law in this country by acting as if he’s above it, showing absolute contempt for the state.
The most noble of people are those who stand by a friend who’s in a crisis. The most vacuous are the bellyachers, the fickle friends that we could all do without.
What loyalty did Sean Quinn show to ordinary people when he greedily gambled with what was in effect OTHER people’s money – the livelihoods of the people in Cavan/Fermanagh who worked for him, for those seriously injured in car crashes whose rightful compensation was being put in jeopardy (that’s what the insurance reserves that he plundered were for), disabled people seeing their benefits cut and every man, woman, child and their children and grandchildren who must now pay back the Germans for loans taken by the state to prevent the entire country from collapsing, due in part to his greedy gambling with no sense of loyalty to anyone else in this country.
Then when those people (the Government, IBRC and other debtors) come looking for their money back (money they are rightfully due) from the (still not inconsiderable) wealth he and his family still hold in foreign assets, he says is he is being victimised.
Rocco – if you took out a loan in 2007 for 100k and used it to buy shares in Anglo to make money for yourself and then lost heavily. If you did it in such a risky way as to buy contracts for difference which meant that not only did you lose the 100k, but put all of the rest of your assets up as collateral to increase potential gains. On the other hand, let’s say you are the pillar of your community, having given generous sums to charity, getting involved in voluntary noble schemes. You would still expect to have to take personal responsibility for your debts ? Debts which now, if left unpaid, are contributing to the suffering of others.
Rural Ireland needs to take its head out of its arse and smell the coffee. Your children have been raped by the church and their futures destroyed by corrupt politicians and gombeen business men. It’s time for a change guys. Help us all to move on!
Great article. The actions of that group of cavan people are bizarre with their ‘poor Sean Quinn’ attitude, truly backward. I also would not be surprised of some slight anti- Dublin bias as part of their reason for support – ‘those lads in dublin picking on our Sean.’ kind of attitude, it’s sickening to see such blind stupidity.
Yes ,notice how the demonstrators play up the Anglo part of the name of the name of the now non existent bank as well . Its extraordinary to watch predators like Ahern ,Lowry and now Quinn whinging weeping and playing the victim in public like naughty toddlers caught in the sugar bowl .Quinn is the only one who has a campaign of terrorism and sabotage conducted in support of him as well .Not that he has any knowledge of that of course .
Can’t believe that amount of support this man is getting. He has opening admitted to trying to move assets away from US the taxpayer. He used Money from this companies which was not his to buy these CFds in Anglo.
So what if he created thousands of jobs for whole families. Anglo, AIB, BOI, PTSB etc. all created thousands of jobs around the country but that doesn;t mean I’ll be jumping to their defence.
What Sean done was stupid and his bet didn’t pay out. He was not betting on Anglo to create more jobs for the Zombies in Cavan/Fermanagh area that would probably follow him off a cliff, he was doing this for the sole purpuse to make more money for himself and his family. Having Billions was not enought for this man and it is his greed and very very very very very bad judgement that got him into the place he is now.
The ‘Let’s back the winning horse’ sentiment here is hilarious. It is so easy to criticise Quinn. Let’s jump on the bandwagon!. And the personal references to anyone that might not jump on such bandwagons….’stupid’, ‘zombies’, …..
Right back at ya!
Try http://www.oneworldchronicle.com…..Good article on Quinn. The Quinn bashers may find it difficult to read but sure give it a go….
Nice article. I don’t know if a agree with all of it, but I do think the Quinn family are the fall guys for the mistakes of the government and Anglo.
“looking at it dispassionately, there is a very strong case that he would have paid off all his so-called debts to Anglo if he had been left alone to run his money-making Quinn Group. But the greed and avarice of special interests combined with Machiavellian politics”.
What Anglo’s PR team are working on night and day is trying to distract people of its own wrong doings and making Sean Quinn a scapegoat. Quinn had a viable plan, passed by Deutsche Bank, that would have paid back his 2.8 billion euro in 7 years.
Remember – Anglo were overexposed to property, Anglo falsified accounts, Anglo didn’t approve the above plan. I for one can understand why people turned out in their thousands to support Mr Quinn and his family.
Some good points. If it was Royal Bank of Scotland, the High Court in London and PD Quinn slipped south of the border, he probably would never have to buy a pint for himself again. (The fact that muppets who “support” the Quinns will happily pay 2-4% extra on their insurance also speaks volumes about their attitude to insurance claims and any common fund eg taxation – it ain’t what you put in, but what ye can get out of it that counts).
Anal won’t reply, neither will Eilish or any of the other Quinn-loving Muppets. They are incapable of direct debate when the facts are so damning against them. Towing the Border County party line is the order of the day.
Your arrogance in writing this article is breathtaking. Obvious that Anglo was bust…google “hindsight bias”. When you have achieved a fraction of what Sean Quinn has, then I will respect you.
To be fair on the author of this article he has almost certainly not achieved a charge on the state and its people anything like the corrupt, lying, incompetent Quinn has. His business had feet of clay from the start. He has no way of paying back the gambles he made other than having us taxpayers and insurance buyers do it for him. Don’t expect to receive any respect until you get up from your servile stoop, doffing your cap to your perceived better. Quinn is a curse on this country. One that we will rue for many years. Every time somebody dies in a filthy understaffed, ill equipped hospital ward.
@ “The Truth Hurts” The truth does hurt. What Mr Quinn has achieved is a debt burden on the State and the citizens of the State, “Us !” If you would like to have an up close look at Mr Quinn and his friends achievements then I suggest you have a look at the closed hospital wards, have a chat with a disabled person who has had his disability curtailed or cancelled or perhaps give one of the thousands of emigrants a call and see how they feel about him. Everywhere about you are the miserable results of the corruption and greed of Mr Quinn and his friends. To even have a shred of respect for what Mr Quinn has “achieved” is nothing short of some form of sadistic pleasure. When a man steals your wallet you call him a criminal, but when a man steals your country and your children’s future you call him a hero? Time to give up this “created jobs” nonsense, Enron created jobs too.
It was embarrassing to watch all those people at the ‘Quinn Rally’ and their misplaced loyalties. Nevermind the GAA men who have no business getting involved and lending some sort of credence to the whole thing. It’s more frustrating to think that when issues on children’s rights, elderly abuse, gay marriage etc those very people wont show the same level of outrage and start marching for justice….
Quinn left insurance company a huge profitable business the levy is to pay the crooks who have mismanaged it since it was taken over. I am not from Cavan but know how to read and support Quinn and Irish Business 100%. If this was as simple as you say why are Kenny, Covney and Brian Hayes personally attacking and interfering. The bigger picture here is how corrupt our country and judiciary have become
You clearly know nothing of the insurance industry or even reality if you think Quinn left his company in a good position. He ran it into the ground and started doing so a long time ago
Thanks for the link Paul, I have found myself frustrated by an inability to to try and explain here on the journal why supporting this crook is beyond comprehension. That article does it perfectly. Cheers.
@Paul – great link. I would like a Quinn Follower to read the article and respond to the main bullet points and explain how you can still support a man like that.
@ Paul. Great article. A very concise objective summary of the facts. How anyone can read that and claim that Sean Quinn did nothing wrong is beyond me. We’re still awaiting Anel’s reply.
“Quinn left insurance company a huge profitable business”
That logic is the same as saying “When I left the bomb behind, it hadn’t exploded, therefore it’s not my fault when it did, notwithstanding the fact that I set the timer”.
The nature of general insurance is that it takes a number of years for losses to show. It may have appeared profitable, that does not mean that it actually was, once losses came out of the woodwork.
I can’t believe the support for this family. They along with a few buddies have brought this country to its knees.
He might have created a couple of thousand jobs in the past, but look at the 200,000 thousand plus that’s on the dole now!
Waken up people – I know it’s Race Week in Galway, but take off the blinkers!
I’d have some sympathy for Quinn if it seemed like he actually believed his own propaganda and alternative reality.
But watching him on Vincent Brown the other night it was obvious that he is struggling to keep up the charade much longer.
He seemed to be a terrible example of that Irish ‘gift of the gab’ of talking around in circles in sentences that don’t really mean anything, if decoded are ultimately factually inaccurate, but SOUND like they mean something plausible. I hope we lose that trait as a nation; it does massive damage to the credibility of any Irish person trying to business overseas if they present themselves in such a manner.
Convinces the people of Cavan alright, but that’s a different problem.
With an attitude of
”what do you want to know”
” and lets take our time and sit down and discuss the facts”
I got the impression that VB was urgently ushering him through his specific questions and agenda.
But I got the impression from Quinn that he would have no problem coming back the following night and the following night and more nights if necessary to explain the facts, unlike some of the others involved who refuse point blank to go on the show ( including some of our public representatives).
Its strange that Sean Fitzpatrick wont go on Vincent Browne although he is best friends with TV3′s owner Denis O’Brien.
an excellent article and it’s easy to jump on the wagon here, but it is a simple fact – Quinn gambled everything, risking all of his employees futures whose welfare never crossed his mind. He got burned and welched on the bet and brought to court where he was found to have broken the law. The only thing that’s sad is all his employees still support his gamble and ‘feel’ for him. As for the GAA, the Fermanagh team should be black-listed or thrown out of the championship, if they love the Republic so much they should respect the bench warrant for Peter Quinn. If he shows up on their grounds, the stewards should escort him to the border and hand him over to the Police force here.
It’s typical of parochial Ireland ! If it does affect us in our small community it doesn’t matter. Well it does matter, he is openly in contempt of the law of our country, and should be held to account. All technicality and spin aside, He borrowed money and didn’t pay it back, and then when they came to collect what they were owed he hid it! If the man on the street, even a Quinn street did the same they’d be pursued to the ends of the earth , and these are people that don’t have the money and assets that this deluded charlatan has. The only valid point he has is that there are other people, similar to him, that owe money, and yes,they too should be pursued. But let’s not fool ourselves, he is responsible for us, the tax payer,owing billions! Let’s just cop on, robin hood Quinn is not the champion of the people he wants us to believe he is. He is a gambler, that bet big and lost, and now if running from his debts, and who is te ultimate victim of him, us !!
The end game is this. I am paying for his and others greed. I am 63 years old. I have had to bail out the PMPA and AIB in the past. Did I ever receive one penny from either …. no way…. so I am now having to pay for Quinns and Berties stupidity and greed. Will I ever see a penny of it… no way… will my pension suffer… you can bet it will….. And yet we have some who see no wrong in what he and the rest did. Is he on the dole ?????? yeah right
So Sean Quinn and the rest of your cohorts dont expect any sympathy from me.
That’s not loyalty, that’s sub servitude. I can understand the people he employed being grateful and the people he supported being loyal. The problem is that we are now all paying for it.
Where’s Quinn loyalty to the state he helped bring to its knees. It’s in a bank account as far away from the people who now have to pick up the tab for his greed and recklessness
i’m from the other half of the county! sean quinn has not brought the country to its knees! maybe cause its in the news lately but have people forgotten about michael fingleton sean fitzpatrick, the previous goverments, anglo, ptsb, aib etc and their willingness to loan people money who never could repay it, be it a business venture or over inflated house price. people were greedy and lots of people are now paying the price. i maybe wrong but the chance sean quinn could repay irbc but cant seen as the bank are asset stripping.
One of the most ridiculous arguments thrown out during this whole debate. Give me a couple of billion that you don’t want ever paid back and I can create lots of jobs as well.
I think this so called ‘loyalty’ is one of major problems. This ‘loyalty’ is the same thing that kept Fianna Fail in power when everyone knew they were corrupt, voted Mick Lowry back into government, protected perverted priests etc etc etc,
Paddy, that’s great! He wants to pay the money back? I know Quinn is a resourceful and dynamic man, what obstacle could possibly be preventing him from achieving his objective?
Not exactly sure how he would be a national hero, but hey that is your view I guess. I honestly would care so long as it had no affect on me as a tax payer.
And also, if he was been prosecuted by a British court and whole issue would have been resolved along time ago I think.
To be fair, while what Quinn did was criminally stupid and motivated by self interest rather than by the altruistic motivations awarded him by his sycophantic supporters he isn’t solely responsible for the Irish financial crisis.
It’s part of a wider global financial crisis caused by banks lending to banks, a global lack of banking regulation, the Fed, Ben Bernanke, EU interest rates, the Chinese and a number of other factors.
His culpable stupidity has made him a lightning rod for the levels of anger felt in many parts of Irish society and in many ways distracts from the greater task, which is appreciating where we are and how we are going to proceed from here to sustainable growth.
I can live with the 2% levy..
Quinn brought down my insurance quotes by thousands.
I could not have got car insurance in the Republic of Ireland throughout my teens and 20′s if it were not for Quinn Insurance as I was getting quotes of 3/4/5 thousand from the lazy, greedy, inbred, extortionate monopolies who would rather see me emigrate.
Now even these greedy competitors are quoting lower.
Do you really think these snout nosed types would have dropped their prices in their monopolised market without the competition from Quinn??
As for business insurance.
In the late 90′s Quinn was the only company that would quote me in the Republic.
The cosy cartel would not quote.
It was Quinn or Llyods of London at 3 times the price.
I was quoted ridiculous price of 3k by Quinn for 3rd party on a 14 yr old car. I did a short training course with a competitor and paid less than half that. Your argument is invalid.
Having no previous relationship with Quinn I feel it unfair that I should have to pay this levy.
I think you have a very valid argument Harry. Quinn brought the insurance prices in Ireland down. They were very unpopular for doing so with their competitors. Everyone seems to be going on about the 2% levy, but have they forgotten where the prices were before Quinn entered the market? When Anglo rejected the Quinn proposal – a proposal might I add that was passed by the Deutsche Bank, and which paid 2.8billion back to the taxpayer within 7 years, the other insurance companies must have been rubbing their hands in glee. Why can people not see the whole story?
1. The courts are NOT sending Christmas cards. (pure rubbish!)
2. The courts can only do and take care of, what is actually brought before them – to get them there is the job of other people (Buy hey, lets say its their fault!)
3. The courts are not ordering the expensive tribunals (buy hey, lets say its their fault!) – the state government is!
4. There is sadly murderers getting off light – that don’t mean others like the Quinns get a “Get out of jail” card either though.
Your a bit short of truth and actual education to some facts it seems!
…Carry on the Quinn spin though!
If its full of insults and inaccuracies, the fold here will once again, see right through it!
What a totally biased and unprofessional article. i should uninstall this app as an act of protest, unfortunately i enjoy the “light” news far too much to do so
Don’t blame the Quinns for what was ultimately Anglo banks and the Govts doing. They encouraged the Quinns then did their utmost to bring them down as the VHI was losing out to them. Its down to the Govt protecting the state owned VHI and its own interests. Clearing out the competition. To me it is a witch hunt for scapegoats and the media are buying into it too. All idiots.
Alas the whole Quinn saga sums up the Irish political system and the parish pump mentality which infests much of rural Ireland and even some urban areas, ie. government of the gombeens, by the the gombeens, for the gombeens. The old cute hoor ‘you scratch my back and i’ll scratch yours’ mentality that has led to the election of the Flynns, Lowry’s, Healy-Rae’s, Callelly’s and all the other venal leeching parasites is alive and well and the sad part is that the likes of the Quinn’s and all the other ‘gamblers’ will always have their supporters in the gombeen nation because there enough people out there who always put their own local needs before that of the country. Parochialism and narrow mindedness allied to the Irish national trait of hypocrisy will ensure that the Quinn’s and the political dynasties who have run the country since independence will continue to bask in an almost feudal adulation of their subservient serfs and modern day peasants who can’t see beyond the fact that they once got a paycheck from the lords of the manor, no surprise to see the plethora of GAA and catholic priests showing support for the local don, after all he lined their pockets and if there’s one thing both those two ‘pillars’ of Irish society have in common it’s their fondness of money and they always stand up for their benefactors no matter how wrong they are. Failed state with a third world attitude to the law and the result is a third world country masquerading as modern European democracy.
My comment removed again …. No place for free speech in the journal .. Read your comments policy again and still no idea why my comment is gone , most comments removed I must be doing something wrong
It will be very interesting to see what comes out of the case being taken against Anglo by the Quinn Family and the Maple 10…
Yes Sean Quinn has cost me money in my car insurance but I also paid for the failed PMPA for years too.
It’s possible that there is much sympathy for Sean Quinn as he provided a job for many people something the politicians have failed to do.
If you like somebody I guess you dont kick them when they are in trouble even though you might not like what they have done??
Politicians are not employers. It’s not their job to “provide a job for people”. This is just another example of the almost feudal attitude being shown by many of the Quinn supporters.
Sean Quinn was a businessman who needed to employ people so his businesses could operate and make money. He was not a charitable institution. He does deserve credit and recognition for his entrepreneurial qualities – those qualities seem to be in short supply in Ireland and particularly in Cavan. However, his reputation has been destroyed by the revelations of exactly how he ran his business and how he gambled on Anglo.
Eoin, I’m Irish, and I wasn’t at the rally. How is it that you infer from the actions of a small group of Irish people that there’s something “wrong with the Irish”?! I find this extraordinarily insulting to all the other people that didn’t act the way that small group did, and in fact it’s a rampant tendency in contemporary journalism. From “the Irish support Sean Quinn” to “we all partied”.
Were you there? If you’re Irish, then by your logic you must support Sean Quinn too. In which case you’re being a hypocrite. But of course that’s nonsense, because whether a small group of Irish do this or that has NO BEARING on the nature of “the Irish”. There probably is no such thing.
I did, it’s full of generalizations about the Irish – which are just nauseating – followed by retractions. If your point is that such generalizations are a bad idea (my point), maybe it could be a little less subtle. As it stands, that’s not how it reads.
Am I missing something here, but is the whole situation with Sean Quinn similar to people who are now complaining about being in negative equity. There is a mantra being repeated that banks lent money to people who could not afford to repay the loans. I have never seen a loan application being filled out while a bank manager stands over the applicant holding a gun to their head. The issue of taking personal responsibility for your actions never seems to surface.The situation with Quinn is just that the loans are so much bigger, but he maintains that it was everybody else’s fault.
I do think that what the Quinn family did is wrong and when you do wrong you have to pay the consequences. As the saying goes,’ if you can’t do the time, don’t do the crime’. We in Ireland do make excuses for the ‘local man’ or even just someone we like because ‘he didn’t mean any harm’. I do believe that Sean Quinn is essentially a good person that went astray but it is still wrong. I think where the unfairness comes in and one of the reasons (and there are many others) that people are defending him is that there are many other culprits in the banking sector and political circles that have done as bad and worse who are being let do what they like with no repercussions. It’s about time we in Ireland realised that laws are laws and not general guidelines and if they were enforced strictly across the board we would be more accepting of them.
Eoin O’Malley. I replied yesterday to your ‘article’. Someone on your team, i.e. the Journal, deleted the post. I find this censorship of my opinion offensive and extremely biased. You feel justified in expressing your view-point on a public forum, i.e. the Journal, yet you feel that others cannot call you to account. I stated nothing offensive, nothing derogatory,, nothing untrue, which is a lot more than can be said for your effort. If you, or your colleagues, feel that you are above criticism, when you are being un-journalistic, and need to examine more closely your true motivations. The truth will have out, it just needs to find you out first.
850 NAMA ”developers” racked up €71 billion, that one way or another we are going to pay back for them.
Some of them individually owe just as much as Quinn to Irish banks alone and similar amounts to non Irish banks.
Unlike Quinn who owned income producing multi-generational, strong businesses that employed 7000 people, these ”developers” owned valueless, none income producing fields and half finished shoddy building sites.
Please note: these builders found it hard to pay anyone in the good times apart from the media who advertised their overpriced, badly built, shoebox properties.
What did our fine ”leaders” and ”protectors” decide to do?
(1) Shut Quinn down, try to disgrace him and his family, take everything from him, try to never allow him to create another job in the country and try to jail him and his family.
and (2)
Give the ”developers” €100′s of thousands a year in salaries, allow them to keep their expensive cars, houses and other toys, allow them to ”operate” their companies and allow them media immunity.
Not to mention our government allowing the ”Financial Regulator” who presided over this mess total media immunity and a huge pension.
Can someone tell me why the emphasis is on Quinn for a couple of billion that he could, would, wanted to and guaranteed us to pay back, (even though it is highly questionable that he actually owed it in the first place).
Evidently the man has more ability than all of these 850 cowboys put together (and all of our fine ”leaders” and ”protectors” if it goes to that).
Also bear in mind that many of our noble politicians were deep into property development as well. Remember “Justice” Minister O’Donoghue and his Roosky Mansion, among many? Or Pee Flynn and his 3 houses, his daughter Bev being an insider in the Bank Tax advisory business. Wonder if they got a loan from one of our dodgy banks? Any more suggestions to add to this elite list?
Let us not forget the very words of one Irish judge upon we can assume, seeing much material to back his words up – as reported in the Irish Times:
Quote:
Mr Justice Peter Kelly said he had presided over the Commercial Court since 2004 and was having to deal more often with cases involving “national and international fraud, sharp practice, chicanery and dishonesty”. However, he had never seen anything like the conduct in this case.
Kremlin spokesperson remarks about Ireland's neutrality are 'nonsense', says Taoiseach
4 hrs ago
Met Éireann
Status Yellow fog warning issued for eleven counties tomorrow morning
8 mins ago
Tramore
One person dead after light aircraft crash in Co Waterford
Updated
20 hrs ago
Your Cookies. Your Choice.
Cookies help provide our news service while also enabling the advertising needed to fund this work.
We categorise cookies as Necessary, Performance (used to analyse the site performance) and Targeting (used to target advertising which helps us keep this service free).
We and our 251 partners store and access personal data, like browsing data or unique identifiers, on your device. Selecting Accept All enables tracking technologies to support the purposes shown under we and our partners process data to provide. If trackers are disabled, some content and ads you see may not be as relevant to you. You can resurface this menu to change your choices or withdraw consent at any time by clicking the Cookie Preferences link on the bottom of the webpage . Your choices will have effect within our Website. For more details, refer to our Privacy Policy.
We and our vendors process data for the following purposes:
Use precise geolocation data. Actively scan device characteristics for identification. Store and/or access information on a device. Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development.
Cookies Preference Centre
We process your data to deliver content or advertisements and measure the delivery of such content or advertisements to extract insights about our website. We share this information with our partners on the basis of consent. You may exercise your right to consent, based on a specific purpose below or at a partner level in the link under each purpose. Some vendors may process your data based on their legitimate interests, which does not require your consent. You cannot object to tracking technologies placed to ensure security, prevent fraud, fix errors, or deliver and present advertising and content, and precise geolocation data and active scanning of device characteristics for identification may be used to support this purpose. This exception does not apply to targeted advertising. These choices will be signaled to our vendors participating in the Transparency and Consent Framework. The choices you make regarding the purposes and vendors listed in this notice are saved and stored locally on your device for a maximum duration of 1 year.
Manage Consent Preferences
Necessary Cookies
Always Active
These cookies are necessary for the website to function and cannot be switched off in our systems. They are usually only set in response to actions made by you which amount to a request for services, such as setting your privacy preferences, logging in or filling in forms. You can set your browser to block or alert you about these cookies, but some parts of the site will not then work.
Social Media Cookies
These cookies are set by a range of social media services that we have added to the site to enable you to share our content with your friends and networks. They are capable of tracking your browser across other sites and building up a profile of your interests. This may impact the content and messages you see on other websites you visit. If you do not allow these cookies you may not be able to use or see these sharing tools.
Targeting Cookies
These cookies may be set through our site by our advertising partners. They may be used by those companies to build a profile of your interests and show you relevant adverts on other sites. They do not store directly personal information, but are based on uniquely identifying your browser and internet device. If you do not allow these cookies, you will experience less targeted advertising.
Functional Cookies
These cookies enable the website to provide enhanced functionality and personalisation. They may be set by us or by third party providers whose services we have added to our pages. If you do not allow these cookies then these services may not function properly.
Performance Cookies
These cookies allow us to count visits and traffic sources so we can measure and improve the performance of our site. They help us to know which pages are the most and least popular and see how visitors move around the site. All information these cookies collect is aggregated and therefore anonymous. If you do not allow these cookies we will not be able to monitor our performance.
Store and/or access information on a device 177 partners can use this purpose
Cookies, device or similar online identifiers (e.g. login-based identifiers, randomly assigned identifiers, network based identifiers) together with other information (e.g. browser type and information, language, screen size, supported technologies etc.) can be stored or read on your device to recognise it each time it connects to an app or to a website, for one or several of the purposes presented here.
Personalised advertising and content, advertising and content measurement, audience research and services development 227 partners can use this purpose
Use limited data to select advertising 185 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times an ad is presented to you).
Create profiles for personalised advertising 141 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (such as forms you submit, content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (for example, information from your previous activity on this service and other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (that might include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present advertising that appears more relevant based on your possible interests by this and other entities.
Use profiles to select personalised advertising 146 partners can use this purpose
Advertising presented to you on this service can be based on your advertising profiles, which can reflect your activity on this service or other websites or apps (like the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects.
Create profiles to personalise content 56 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service (for instance, forms you submit, non-advertising content you look at) can be stored and combined with other information about you (such as your previous activity on this service or other websites or apps) or similar users. This is then used to build or improve a profile about you (which might for example include possible interests and personal aspects). Your profile can be used (also later) to present content that appears more relevant based on your possible interests, such as by adapting the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find content that matches your interests.
Use profiles to select personalised content 52 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on your content personalisation profiles, which can reflect your activity on this or other services (for instance, the forms you submit, content you look at), possible interests and personal aspects. This can for example be used to adapt the order in which content is shown to you, so that it is even easier for you to find (non-advertising) content that matches your interests.
Measure advertising performance 200 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which advertising is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine how well an advert has worked for you or other users and whether the goals of the advertising were reached. For instance, whether you saw an ad, whether you clicked on it, whether it led you to buy a product or visit a website, etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of advertising campaigns.
Measure content performance 80 partners can use this purpose
Information regarding which content is presented to you and how you interact with it can be used to determine whether the (non-advertising) content e.g. reached its intended audience and matched your interests. For instance, whether you read an article, watch a video, listen to a podcast or look at a product description, how long you spent on this service and the web pages you visit etc. This is very helpful to understand the relevance of (non-advertising) content that is shown to you.
Understand audiences through statistics or combinations of data from different sources 125 partners can use this purpose
Reports can be generated based on the combination of data sets (like user profiles, statistics, market research, analytics data) regarding your interactions and those of other users with advertising or (non-advertising) content to identify common characteristics (for instance, to determine which target audiences are more receptive to an ad campaign or to certain contents).
Develop and improve services 132 partners can use this purpose
Information about your activity on this service, such as your interaction with ads or content, can be very helpful to improve products and services and to build new products and services based on user interactions, the type of audience, etc. This specific purpose does not include the development or improvement of user profiles and identifiers.
Use limited data to select content 55 partners can use this purpose
Content presented to you on this service can be based on limited data, such as the website or app you are using, your non-precise location, your device type, or which content you are (or have been) interacting with (for example, to limit the number of times a video or an article is presented to you).
Use precise geolocation data 69 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, your precise location (within a radius of less than 500 metres) may be used in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Actively scan device characteristics for identification 42 partners can use this special feature
With your acceptance, certain characteristics specific to your device might be requested and used to distinguish it from other devices (such as the installed fonts or plugins, the resolution of your screen) in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Ensure security, prevent and detect fraud, and fix errors 147 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Your data can be used to monitor for and prevent unusual and possibly fraudulent activity (for example, regarding advertising, ad clicks by bots), and ensure systems and processes work properly and securely. It can also be used to correct any problems you, the publisher or the advertiser may encounter in the delivery of content and ads and in your interaction with them.
Deliver and present advertising and content 151 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
Certain information (like an IP address or device capabilities) is used to ensure the technical compatibility of the content or advertising, and to facilitate the transmission of the content or ad to your device.
Match and combine data from other data sources 112 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Information about your activity on this service may be matched and combined with other information relating to you and originating from various sources (for instance your activity on a separate online service, your use of a loyalty card in-store, or your answers to a survey), in support of the purposes explained in this notice.
Link different devices 78 partners can use this feature
Always Active
In support of the purposes explained in this notice, your device might be considered as likely linked to other devices that belong to you or your household (for instance because you are logged in to the same service on both your phone and your computer, or because you may use the same Internet connection on both devices).
Identify devices based on information transmitted automatically 135 partners can use this feature
Always Active
Your device might be distinguished from other devices based on information it automatically sends when accessing the Internet (for instance, the IP address of your Internet connection or the type of browser you are using) in support of the purposes exposed in this notice.
Save and communicate privacy choices 126 partners can use this special purpose
Always Active
The choices you make regarding the purposes and entities listed in this notice are saved and made available to those entities in the form of digital signals (such as a string of characters). This is necessary in order to enable both this service and those entities to respect such choices.
have your say