You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

RollingNews.ie

State plans to end Direct Provision by 2024 and replace system with not-for-profit accommodation

The Government’s White Paper published today will lay out measures to overhaul the controversial privatised system.

LAST UPDATE | 26 Feb 2021

INTERNATIONAL PROTECTION APPLICANTS will spend no more than four months in six State-owned, not-for-profit centres before moving into their own accommodation under a new model aimed at ending the institutionalised Direct Provision system by 2024. 

The Government’s White Paper published today lays out measures to overhaul the controversial privatised system including the construction of State-run accommodation centres. 

The current for-profit system has been repeatedly criticised since its establishment in 1999.

Under plans published today by Minister Roderic O’Gorman, the Government intends to establish a new international protection support service to be in place by 2024 and to be delivered by the Department of Children, Equality, Integration and Youth. 

Phase One of the plan involves identifying locations for new State-run reception and integration centres made up of own-door accommodation which will be spread throughout the country. 

Wraparound services should be in place from when a person makes their application for international protection with specific vulnerabilities identified throughout.

The emphasis, according to the Government’s plan, is on a person-centred approach to support people to integrate into local communities. 

NO FEE TAOISEACH MIN O GORMAN PRESS CONF JB10 Minister for Integration Roderic O'Gorman RollingNews.ie RollingNews.ie

The roadmap to phasing out Ireland’s network of private contracts, overcrowded accommodation and shared living spaces is to be followed up with “a blend of not-for-profit housing models”. 

After four months in a State-owned centre, applicants should be moved to their own accommodation through a mix of both urban renewal and community hosting schemes but with the vast majority of people moving into accommodation delivered by Approved Housing Bodies. 

Under Phase Two of the plan, all accommodation will be own-door, self-contained houses or apartments for families. 

It’s intended that single people be housed in either own-door or own-room accommodation. 

A distribution scheme is currently being agreed with local authority chief executives to deliver this plan. 

The Government also plan to use rent-a-room schemes to source some of the accommodation for single people while private tenancies will be used to source accommodation for families “as necessary”. 

It is estimated that Phase One will cost €281 million while Phase Two will cost €391 million to deliver. 

The Government’s plan is based on estimates of 3,500 people applying for international protection annually. 

The Department intends to build six State-owned accommodation centres with a capacity of 330 people. One of these centres is planned to be be in Dublin, the rest will be spread throughout the country. 

However, the paper notes that “delivery of what will be a large capital programme within the timeframe will be challenging and require active management.

“Delays or slippage in the delivery of major parts of the programme could delay the decommissioning of permanent [Direct Provision] centres.”

In addition, the White Paper lays out supports for people throughout their application including education, healthcare, supports for children and victims of domestic violence.

This includes parenting supports and child development services, Vulnerability Assessments which the State has failed to implement despite breaking EU law since 2018 and “special refuge accommodation” for victims of sexual violence and trafficking. 

It is planned for inter-agency working groups to be established in every county to ensure integration, according to the White Paper. 

The plan also includes expanding the remit of the Offices of the Ombudsman and of the Ombudsman for Children to include complaints relating to services provided to residents of accommodation centres.

The Government’s ambitious plan to end Direct Provision over the next three years comes after the publication of a report from an Expert Advisory Group chaired by former Secretary General of the European Commission Dr Catherine Day. 

The Day Report made a number of sweeping recommendations, including a once-off grant to people who have lived in the current system for more than two years. It also recommended increasing access to the labour market and own-door accommodation. 

Dr Day said at the time that the current Direct Provision system is “reactive” and said that people living in the system “bear the consequences” of its failures. 

“A whole-of-government approach” is needed to replace the system, she said, adding that “continued political oversight” was required to implement any new system.  

The Direct Provision system has been repeatedly criticised by migrant rights groups due to the length of time people remain in centres while their asylum applications or appeals are processed, the conditions of centres as well as the psychological effects on those living in these centres. 

Over €1 billion has been paid to private contractors and businesses since the system was established. 

Today’s White Paper also includes a section from the Department of Justice & Equality around processing times for asylum applications.

It will likely prove disappointing considering one of the key elements in reforming Direct Provision is the length of time people spend in the system. 

The White Paper states that “the litigious nature of the International Protection and immigration systems generally presents ongoing challenges.

“While it is recognised that applicants have the right to take judicial review proceedings in the courts, this does add to the length of time that they remain in the system.”

It also states that the Justice Department will not commence a review of progress made in reducing backlogs and improving processing times until October 2022. 

A spokesperson for the Department said additional resources have been secured for 2021 and detailed work including an end-to-end review of processes is underway.

“When this first phase of work has been carried out it will enable a more detailed set of milestones to be put in place,” the spokesperson said. 

Speaking in October, Minister Roderic O’Gorman said any new asylum system will take time to implement and said it was “important that we immediately begin to create a more humane system, rooted in human rights.”

‘Radical transformation’

The UNHCR, the UN Refugee Agency, has welcomed the publication of the White Paper.

However, it warned that deteriorating processing times, continued reliance on emergency accommodation for asylum seekers, and shortages of housing in the community for those granted status risk hampering the realisation of the report’s aims.

“The White Paper on Direct Provision is a welcome, ambitious plan that has the potential to radically transform the integration outcomes of refugees in Ireland,” Enda O’Neill, Head of Office with UNHCR Ireland, said.

“In moving away from accommodating people in centres, some of which are in isolated locations, the new system promises a model which integrates access to services into existing community settings that will promote positive links between refugees and their communities.”

However, the UNHCR cautioned that the effective operation of the accommodation system for asylum seekers could only be achieved by providing fair and fast procedures for deciding on their cases.

“Fair and efficient procedures benefit refugees by ensuring swift access to safety and reducing uncertainty. They benefit governments by reducing procedural costs while respecting human rights principles, and decrease the overall demands on the reception system,” O’Neill said.

“Equally, it is important to the credibility of the entire asylum system that those who are found not to be in need of international protection can be returned promptly to their country of origin in safety and with dignity.”

The UNHCR also urged the government to put an end to the use of emergency accommodation and to appoint an independent inspectorate to monitor new standards in existing centres.

With reporting by Órla Ryan

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

118 Comments
    Mute brendan o connell
    Favourite brendan o connell
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:22 AM

the irish taxpayer will still be picking the tab. not for profit lark is a laugh. also anybody in DP should be sorted in 6 months otherwise you are out ,surely with all the technology we got we should have answers with facial recognition and all. it’s costing us a fortune.

Mute .
    Favourite .
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:31 AM

@brendan o connell: do we have the technological capability to do so? Yes. Do we have the infrastructure setup to do so? No. And you should be thankful of that. I rather enjoy not living in China with a social score thanks. Facial recognition is amazing and scary and should not be used outside academic purposes.

Also, the Irish tax payer picks up the tab anyway. The idea would be to hopefully stop Leo’s mates getting an extra few billion of our money funneled into their pockets. However, they’re all just a shower of gangsters so they’ll find a way to do it anyway.

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:43 AM

@brendan o connell: we could start with people who make ridiculous statements on the journal identifying their own faces.

Mute brendan o connell
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:24 AM

@JG: typical snowflake.

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:26 AM

@JG: Start by putting up your own.

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:37 AM

Direct Provision is alot better than what some people have. Not being bad but it’s true.

Mute ℂ
    Favourite ℂ
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:11 AM

@Mary Nugent: So you don’t think we should implement basic human right living standards just because what’s currently there is marginally better than some of the worst situations around the world?

Mute Scorcher Bois Gris
    Favourite Scorcher Bois Gris
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:09 AM

@Mary Nugent: and u know this from your own experience of living in the system of course!

Mute Sean Walsh
    Favourite Sean Walsh
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:39 AM

@ℂ: I think we should care for our homeless before, if any money left in the pot, then go ahead and help the refugees! I’m not sorry that I care for our own people more!

Mute Mary Nugent
    Favourite Mary Nugent
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:49 AM

@Scorcher Bois Gris: I know people in one near me.

Mute Edmund Murphy
    Favourite Edmund Murphy
    Feb 26th 2021, 1:08 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: you get that we are housing them already right now for the profit of private companies for years. This replaces it with a cheaper short term government run system in specialist government facilities not houses taken out of the market. I can’t see how you would not be in favor of this change.

Mute Padraig O'Shea
    Favourite Padraig O'Shea
    Feb 26th 2021, 1:41 AM

@James Carew: I am all for helping genuine refugees.. majority here are economic migrants… and your naive to think otherwise

Mute Margaret
    Favourite Margaret
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:36 AM

Considering they can’t manage to house people once they’ve been approved for asylum, I don’t see how they will manage to house people within three months without moving other people down housing lists, the department of housing said this clearly months ago.

Everyone agrees that the length of time is what makes this system terrible, the fact that this report doesn’t in anyway try to address that rather just throws their hands up and takes it as a fait accompli means its useless. There needs to be fairness in the process for Irish people and genuine asylum seekers.

So far the government has not stated if they intend to be a part of the pact on migration the European Commission has proposed, this needs to be answered and an actual debate needs to be had on these issues.

Something like an expedited judicial review procedure for people subject to deportation orders would seem to help the process speed up coupled with faster preliminary decisions, people would not languish in this system for years at the taxpayers expense.

Mute Dangling Damo
    Favourite Dangling Damo
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:40 AM

@Margaret: genuine is the word here. It just takes too long to find the genuine asylum cases that they give it to everyone because of the protracted process. If the person has passed through another country then the process should have geen completed there not allowing them onward travel as in the dublin treaty. Once cleared they can migrate to where ever they wish and not over whelm countries as has happened in greece and italy

Mute Dearbhla O Reilly
    Favourite Dearbhla O Reilly
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:02 AM

Does anyone in DP ever get processed and NOT admitted? As in….sent home?

Mute James Carew
    Favourite James Carew
    Feb 26th 2021, 1:14 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: not distinguishing between refugees and economic migrants says it all about your outlook on life and the lives of others. Have a watch of the film Adú on Netflix. It’ll soon soften your cough.

Mute TheKloppKop
    Favourite TheKloppKop
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:15 AM

Not for profit = CEO on big money.

Mute Alan Curley
    Favourite Alan Curley
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:48 AM

If they just accelerated the processing of asylum seekers then Direct provision would work. The issue is how long they’re in these centres waiting for processing, We’re tackling the wrong thing here completely

Mute Dave Byrne
    Favourite Dave Byrne
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:52 AM

@Alan Curley: Appeal after appeal after appeal in cases in their own names then children’s names,How many are still in DP after numerous rejections to remain in Ireland.

Mute John Lynch
    Favourite John Lynch
    Feb 26th 2021, 6:31 AM

@James Carew:
    1.3 million refugees arrived in Germany in 2015-16. Of these 500k came from Syria. The others Arabs, Iranians, Kurds, Afgans, Arabic and non Arabic speaking Africans.
    The spectacle of columns of men marching through the Balkans impacted on the Brexit vote.

Mute Looney Tunes
    Favourite Looney Tunes
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:05 AM

No problem looking after the vulnerable,but as a small island, with limited land & infrastructure, how can we keep bringing in millions of people into the country?

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:20 AM

@Sense of Doubt: all you gotta do is fly into any airport in EU land and jump over to Dublin then. Do young Irish people realise that under the current neo liberal open borders arrangement underwritten by the EU, they will never own a home of their own?

Mute Padraig O'Shea
    Favourite Padraig O'Shea
    Feb 26th 2021, 1:31 AM

@Edmund Murphy: a house.. is a house

Mute Odd Socks
    Favourite Odd Socks
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:30 AM

Is this the government trying to bring new citizens in to Ireland hoping they will vote for them in the next election. Because FFG know that the citizens that are here now have had enough of them.

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:28 PM

@Odd Socks: it’s a standard labour party mo… Blair did it in the UK. Hence the Irish Labour Party’s ridiculous campaign ‘born here belong here’. No wonder they’re on the brink of extinction.

Mute Maria Quinn
    Favourite Maria Quinn
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:41 AM

What does it means? That in less of 4 months there will be a firm decision of granted the refugee status or deportation? Is that even possible with the legal timeframes?

Why non-EU homeless are treated more favourably when seeking refuge in this land than the EU homeless?

The housing crisis started about 10 years ago. The governments have only shown inability to stop the biggest humanitarian disaster in Ireland since the great pandemic …. because of a biased approach and the toxic culture inherentes from the Lords at the Land Wars …. massive evictions of tenants and farmers labour

People can’t afford to rent a home with their full time wages anymore.
    People has not other option than expend almost their full wages from full time work in the rent so they don’t become homeless and then lose their jobs. How can a person hold a remote working job without a home?
    and then the only thing people see is …. cycling tracks popping up everywhere …. and using the money of the taxpayers to give homes to non EU homeless at the rent rate of 16% of the person income

What the f-word is this?

Anyone seeking refuge in Ireland has the status of EU refugee seeker. They can be transferred to any country with capacity. Nordic countries offers are consistently turned down. Meaning these people are chosen to live in a overcrowded facility in Ireland, France, Italy or Spain …. rather than their own home in any Nordic countries

Very sad because they turned down a great assistance in the countries that have capacities

Mute Bill ORourke
    Favourite Bill ORourke
    Feb 26th 2021, 11:19 AM

so maybe we should all go and get a particular passport and fly into dublin and claim asylum and reap the generosity of this wonderful new scheme – we’d be a lot better off would we not?

Mute Paul Whitehead
    Favourite Paul Whitehead
    Feb 26th 2021, 6:47 AM

Sounds like a good and humane replacement for direct provision. We should treat genuine refugees with kindness and compassion.

Mute Sense of Doubt
    Favourite Sense of Doubt
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:21 AM

@Paul Whitehead : Fully agree if you could find any.

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Feb 26th 2021, 11:19 AM

@Scorcher Bois Gris: because there are 5 million of us and 500 million of ‘them’
    If we genuinely want to help refugees we need to prioritize genuine cases and we are clearly not doing this

Mute Lucy Legacy
    Favourite Lucy Legacy
    Feb 26th 2021, 1:26 AM

Direct provision is a stain on this country. Kids growing up in them year after year with no hope of a future either in Ireland or back in their country of origin.The same lazy argument from trolls on here – setting up refugees against Ireland’s homeless.

Mute Margaret
    Favourite Margaret
    Feb 26th 2021, 2:01 AM

@Lucy Legacy: Do you think the department of housing are trolls? They’re the ones that came out and said this is untenable will drive up rents and lead to legal challenges because of the impact it will have on homeless people and people on housing lists https://www.businesspost.ie/ireland/new-plan-to-end-direct-provision-is-unrealistic-and-unworkable-officials-warn-209cb32e

Mute David J Warren
    Favourite David J Warren
    Feb 26th 2021, 2:55 AM

@Lucy Legacy: Well said Lucy, I’m shocked at the comments. Sad bunch of people, no understanding or compassion

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Favourite Christopher Byrne
    Feb 26th 2021, 6:55 AM

@Lucy Legacy: They are economic migrants. Plain and simple. Get real. Most are from.continental Africia. If they’re in ‘danger’ in their own country why not seek ‘refuge’ in a neighbouring country, there are dozens of them. No, cross continental Europe to soft touch Ireland and spin a yarn. We don’t need any more Taxi drivers

Mute Shirley Hollingsworth
    Favourite Shirley Hollingsworth
    Feb 26th 2021, 6:57 AM

@Lucy Legacy: there are many definitions of homeless ,no body mentioned the people sleeping on streets that won’t go in.there are the people on council lists for years in flats or crap houses.there are the working young people paying up to 1300 a month rent and trying to save for a mortgage,so yes there is a big problem to sort out .EU dictation is not needed.we do not have the amount of houses hospitals schools or prisons when there is yes bring in as many as want..

Mute Shnack
    Favourite Shnack
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:48 AM

@David J Warren: we would have compassion of the majority of them were actual refugees and not economic migrants. Or maybe you think its fine for people to come here illegally from safe countries just for the welfare.

Mute Kevin Coyle
    Favourite Kevin Coyle
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:34 AM

What a complete load of BS this is

Mute Sean O Callaghan
    Favourite Sean O Callaghan
    Feb 26th 2021, 5:51 AM

@John Lynch: serves you right for putting all your pennies in the Trocaire Box

Mute Paul Gorry
    Favourite Paul Gorry
    Feb 26th 2021, 1:50 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: That is never going to happen. Give over with your agenda Padraig. This is a pr exercise to keep the European elite on side. A lot of people will love your comment but its never ever going to happen.

Mute ed w
    Favourite ed w
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:05 AM

@Edmund Murphy: you are really that innocent that you think a government run system will be cheaper. when did that ever happen

Mute Dangling Damo
    Favourite Dangling Damo
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:19 AM

Surely the department of justice should be running these centres as it is or is it too much to ask of the responsible agency. The reality will be unchanged because of the years it will takes for current contracts to expire and no future provision of dwellings implemented until this happens by which time our economy will not be in a position to build homes for anyone citizens or asylum seekers

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:05 PM

Where are there the high voted comments from this morning, obviously with the Journal who can have your say as long as it’s on the same hymn sheet as the government, State censorship.

Mute Longlin
    Favourite Longlin
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:16 PM

@Koochulan: Looks better if they are not there. Afraid of the fact that most people see through the fact that most of these people are not genuine refugees. It’s an echo chamber, like Twitter and the likes where you simply block opinions that don’t suit your narrative.

Mute HoneyGold
    Favourite HoneyGold
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:39 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: Would you like one of the mobile homes in Mosney when the refugees are moved out?

Mute William Kelly
    Favourite William Kelly
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:37 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: I dont wish to be a spoiler, but all of the Irish folk have a vote, be they parents, or millenials wishing to form their own families in their own homes, but they either do not vote, or they do not vote for policies to get affordable homes built.
    It is very simple you get a guaranteed chance to do this at least every 5 years, so make sure you do.
    Whinging on the Journal about proper plans to accomodate refugee immigrants, whether economic or political, will not solve the overall housing crisis.
    It is our political & economic crisis, for us to deal with.
    All of us.

Mute Cormac Ó Dubhghaill
    Favourite Cormac Ó Dubhghaill
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:47 AM

It’s mad to think as many as 1 millions Irish are currently living abroad yet wmhalf of you moan about 7500 migrants in DP at home, I’m living in Australia the last year, I earn more money than I did at home. so I must be a dreaded economic migrant…

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:24 AM

@Cormac Ó Dubhghaill: were you offered housing and board by the Australian government? Doubt it.

Mute Opinionated
    Favourite Opinionated
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:29 AM

@Cormac Ó Dubhghaill: Are tou there illegally? And if you did enter Australia Illlegally what will happen if the authorities catch you?

Mute Shnack
    Favourite Shnack
    Feb 26th 2021, 8:50 AM

@Cormac Ó Dubhghaill: no love, I’m sure you went there legally with a visa? And you work and don’t live in a state funded house? Nobody has an issue with people coming here legally and seeking work.

Mute Dearbhla O Reilly
    Favourite Dearbhla O Reilly
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:00 AM

@Cormac Ó Dubhghaill: I think you must be in Australia for a while mate. Thinks are changing here at an alarming rate. Two years ago I would have agreed with you.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:43 AM

@Cormac Ó Dubhghaill: you don’t see the difference? I’ll make it easy, we’re going to assume you entered with a visa and are working hard.

Mute TheKloppKop
    Favourite TheKloppKop
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:28 AM

Anyone jumping on the economic refuge bandwagon needs to take a closer look to home. The culchies have been coming to Dublin for years.

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Feb 26th 2021, 11:27 AM

@TheKloppKop: the culchies built Dublin!

Mute Kevin Coyle
    Favourite Kevin Coyle
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:34 AM

What a complete load of BS this is

Mute Dick Barrett
    Favourite Dick Barrett
    Feb 26th 2021, 11:55 AM

The danger in this approach is that it will create the perception that asylum seekers will be housed before the Irish homeless. Now is the time to unveil a major policy initiative on general homelessness, including declaration of a housing emergency.

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:10 PM

@Dick Barrett: until we tax land hoarding and derelict houses properly the housing crisis will never be resolved

Mute Dangling Damo
    Favourite Dangling Damo
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:00 AM

@Edmund Murphy: cheaper and government. Two words that dont go together

Mute Gerard Heery
    Favourite Gerard Heery
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:01 AM

@John Lynch: Germany is starting to lean to the far right again ,,,yikes all is kept quiet on media

Mute Odd Socks
    Favourite Odd Socks
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:10 PM

And if an Irish person go’s into the housing office. They are told OK ur on the list. Now go and sleep on the streets. And if you don’t die from the cold or ill health in the next 6 years come back into us. And we will transfair you over too one of our other departments and they will see if they can fix you up with a tent

Mute Emmett Keane
    Favourite Emmett Keane
    Feb 26th 2021, 1:14 AM

The replies to this ⁦‪article are unbelievable. The work of good journalists undone by hosting the type of comment which, in another jurisdiction, could be commented on directly rather than obliquely referencing the KKK as an organisation that perhaps those that post in the comments section of the Journal have time for. Although that can’t be proven and is an opinion held in good faith rather than a statement of fact. The Journal is throwing away its reputation by allowing this bile to be associated with it. Who reads these articles to you ? More importantly, who writes the replies for you ? There’s very little chance that either of those actions are within the compass of those that post such hateful words.

Mute NOlivesmatter
    Favourite NOlivesmatter
    Feb 26th 2021, 1:49 AM

@Emmett Keane:

Read the room! Are you 1 of those that gives out their bank details to the “Nigerian princes”…… This is madness what the Greens want…..the ONLY good think is that they will be punished at the next G.E. Also I dont remember them saying this when knocking at doors looking for my vote!

Mute Christopher Byrne
    Favourite Christopher Byrne
    Feb 26th 2021, 6:58 AM

@Emmett Keane: What replies arw you talking about? People not agreeing with your opinion. People simply stating the truth about these economic migrants and how we cant house them amd don’t want them here?

Mute Paul Ryan
    Favourite Paul Ryan
    Feb 26th 2021, 7:25 AM

I can see that happening not

Mute Brian James Moss
    Favourite Brian James Moss
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:57 AM

A govt white paper is the equivalent of a minister brain storming on a napkin, its an idea that they’d like to do, 4 reports and a explorutory committee later its shelved as isn’t feasible, it’s like saying we want to have an Irish person on the moon by 2030, we’d like to but will never happen, They might change the name to something like the family assimilation centre that will about it, its the govt and the greens looking for some positive headlines to get back on ‘message’ as Malcolm Tucker would say.

Mute Kevin50
    Favourite Kevin50
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:21 AM

All very laudable and will probably happen but the problems will come shortly after opening because they won’t be built to the scale required in 2 years time i e there will not be enough spaces and also civil servants will not be able to service the needs in time so we will be back to the way things are now

Mute Koochulan
    Favourite Koochulan
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:18 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: Because FFG want Irish people to pay their landlord buddies obscene amounts of cash. That’s all it is landlord lobbying.

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Feb 26th 2021, 11:12 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: we shouldn’t need accommodation for most of them as they should be sent back to the EU country they first landed in if they are economic migrants as most are. Cue all the bleeding hearts who will say they deserve sanctuary but no thought for our own homeless?

Mute Seamus Donnelly
    Favourite Seamus Donnelly
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:31 AM

@aaron: Ya and Never claimed Asuylum and worked hard to move out of the gutter whats your point.

Mute Scorcher Bois Gris
    Favourite Scorcher Bois Gris
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:04 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: how did I know that d first comment I’d read here would be “what about our own?” It’d be comical if it wasn’t so sad and revealing….yes we have a housing crisis and homelessness but why is it always an “us” versus “them” scenario? Surely, this is a good thing!

Mute Sarah Power
    Favourite Sarah Power
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:14 AM

@Padraig O’Shea:
    The people living in direct provision are neither refugees or economic migrants. They are asylum seekers.

Mute John Walsh
    Favourite John Walsh
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:43 AM

We are a great country. Well done the greens.

Mute Thinkingaboutmatters
    Favourite Thinkingaboutmatters
    Feb 26th 2021, 11:12 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: yes, not only a house, but at a far cheaper rate than any renter struggling to meet his rent.

Mute Trevor Matthews
    Favourite Trevor Matthews
    Feb 26th 2021, 4:10 AM

Potato Head article 23000+ views in 6 hours.
    Twitter article 6000+ views in 6 hours.

Mute David J Warren
    Favourite David J Warren
    Feb 26th 2021, 2:46 AM

Pádraig maybe you should actually read the article

Mute Bramley Hawthorne
    Favourite Bramley Hawthorne
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:40 AM

If there was an annual figure, published and debated, of the number of people we receive into the country, it would take much of the heat out of the issue.

Ireland could use its time on the UNSC to oppose military adventures by the EU bomb exporters and prevent further waves of refugees. It may be karma but we are saddled with the countries that caused the problem and, besides that, we should do our best from basic human decency to help. We can’t have open borders and still have a country but we can make sure that those we receive integrate fully.

Mute brendan o connell
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:28 PM

As of 12.25 posts =115 actual 53 .

Mute Thinkingaboutmatters
    Favourite Thinkingaboutmatters
    Feb 26th 2021, 11:14 AM

@HoneyGold: the Irish homeless would be delighted to have those, in fact anything.

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:10 AM

@Gerard Heery: I don’t think that you follow German media then… it’s actually quite a topic since years. See debates around NPD or the founding of the AFD or the recent backlash in relation to the WDR

Mute Rebecca BarrettNp
    Favourite Rebecca BarrettNp
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:14 AM

Sad to see all the racist comments on this article, a quick look at the social media timelines of these commenters shows you what they really think.

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:00 PM

@Rebecca BarrettNp: it’s not racist to say you don’t want economic migrants

Mute Valthebear
    Favourite Valthebear
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:29 PM

@Rebecca BarrettNp: I didn’t see any racist comments on this thread.

Mute Jen
    Favourite Jen
    Feb 26th 2021, 12:33 PM

@Valthebear: they’ve been removed.

Mute John Lyons
    Favourite John Lyons
    Feb 26th 2021, 11:14 AM

@Edmund Murphy: specialist government facilities bought from their buddies like the hotel in Mayo? Any money spent or resources used will detract from the housing supply

Mute JG
    Favourite JG
    Feb 26th 2021, 9:41 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: could you provide us with your research documentation to back up your statement?…

Mute aaron
    Favourite aaron
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:55 AM

@Seamus Donnelly: So you’re saying they should break the law and work without a permit is it? What a melt.

Mute aaron
    Favourite aaron
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:15 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: “Economic migrants” you mean the hundreds of thousands of Irish who have emigrated for a better standard of living?

Mute Liam Mc Meel
    Favourite Liam Mc Meel
    Feb 26th 2021, 11:38 AM

About time this started happening

Mute Vanessa
    Favourite Vanessa
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:47 AM

@Seamus Donnelly: Are you advocating to make it easier to get working permits in Ireland?

Mute Bill ORourke
    Favourite Bill ORourke
    Feb 26th 2021, 10:55 AM

@Padraig O’Shea: He knows… He knows…..