You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

File. PA Wire/PA Images

Direct rule or not, Northern Ireland's budget will be passed in Westminster

It comes after the failure of the DUP and Sinn Féin to reach a deal.

Updated 2.31 pm

WESTMINSTER IS TO pass a budget for Northern Ireland in what is being described by the Irish government as a “step towards” direct rule.

The UK’s Secretary of State James Brokenshire made the announcement today as a result of the failure of political parties in Northern Ireland to form an executive.

The failure to agree a deal comes eight months after the last Assembly election and following intense negotiations between the two largest parties, the DUP and Sinn Féin.

Brokenshire said today that the failure of the two parties to re-enter into power-sharing has meant that the UK government must step in to avoid public services running out of money.

Brokenshire said this despite “important progress” between the parties:

It is responsibility of the parties to form an Executive to take forward its own Budget, but it is now very unlikely that an Executive will be in place within a timetable to pass a budget by the end of November, which is the point at which we and the Northern Ireland Civil Service assess that Northern Ireland will begin to run out of resources.

“No government could simply stand by and allow that to happen,” he added.

The passing of the Westminster bill will essentially give Northern Ireland’s Civil Service the legal authority to spend money as per its existing plans.

The Secretary of State said that the budget bill would only cover the 2017-2018 period and “does not mean a move to direct rule”.

This was contradicted by the SDLP with party leader Colum Eastwood saying, “a Northern Ireland budget passed in Westminster is direct rule”.

Foreign Affairs Minister Simon Coveney told RTÉ’s News at One that the Irish government does not agree that the move represents direct rule, but that it is a move in that direction.

“We don’t accept that but I think what the SDLP says has has some truth to it,” Coveney said.

I mean this is certainly a step towards making significant decisions for Northern Ireland outside of Northern Ireland. And that is simply not a place we want to be.

“The problem here is the end of this month, we know that at the moment Northern Ireland is surviving essentially on emergency funding, and will run out of funding at the end of November.”

Powersharing talks Sinn Féin's negotiating team at Stormont. Mark Marlow / PA Images Mark Marlow / PA Images / PA Images

Before today, the parties have already missed three different deadlines this year to form a Stormont Assembly.

The power-sharing assembly has been vacant since January after a bitter row between Sinn Féin and the DUP over the “cash-for-ash” scandal.

In the months since, a deep division has been exposed between the parties on the Irish language in particular.

Sinn Féin’s leader in Northern Ireland Michelle O’Neill said that the failure of the negotiations has come about as a result of the failure of the DUP to cede ground on “fundamental rights” such as marriage equality and language rights.

O’Neill said: “The British government’s acquiescence in this been compounded by the Tory-DUP pact.”

“The issue of rights is not going to go away. The DUP and British Government know this. These rights must be satisfactorily dealt with,” she added,

Sinn Féin is disappointed that the last few weeks of negotiations have ended in failure. We did our best to be flexible and we were prepared to stretch ourselves in the common good.

- With reporting by Paul Hosford

Read: Tusla worker’s phone was used to send journalist death threats

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

132 Comments
    Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:09 AM

10 months of stalemate.

10 months of inaction.

All the while Brexit, a border and economic hardship looms closer.

Fair play for giving yourselves a pay rise half way through this complete abdication of responsibility, lads.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:11 AM

@Brinster:

Christmas comes early as MLAs get a pay rise despite just 46 MINUTES work this year.

Piggies in the trough.

The only thing that the DUP and SF have ever agreed on. More money for themselves.

http://www.bbc.com/news/uk-northern-ireland-41397212

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Favourite Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:52 AM

@Brinster: If you follow your own link, you’ll see that they didn’t “give themselves” any payrise. It states that “The increases to salaries are on the instructions of the Independent Financial Review Panel (IFRP), the body to which MLAs handed over control of their salaries and expenses in 2011 so that they would no longer vote on the issue.” It also states that the same panel cut their MLA expenses and that the rise was only to happen “if the Consumer Price Index (CPI) rate of inflation was at 1% the previous September.”

Not defending the pay rise, when it clearly should be cut, but it’s not the firs time that the suggestion has been made that they gave it to themselves. Which is quite plainly an outright lie.

See 30 more replies ▾
    Mute Totalitarian
    Favourite Totalitarian
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:52 AM

@Diarmuid: take a look at the jokers that are running your ” independent sovereign state ” have you ever been to Belfast airport diarmuid ? Does your mentality go past the red cow roundabout ? Do you know the affects of partition on communities ? People in the north see themselves as Irish and want to protect the Irish language and their culture and that’s a basic human right. Your ignorance amazes me.your picture sums up your attitude.

Mute FlopFlipU
    Favourite FlopFlipU
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:56 AM

@Brinster: the pay rise is the only thing they could agree on

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster

@Tír Eoghain Gael: “Not defending the pay rise”

Erm….all evidence to the contrary.

They could always refuse it. Several Irish TDs have refused their pay rises recently.

How many MLA piggies-with-their-snouts-in-the-trough have refused this payrise?

Mute Totalitarian
    Favourite Totalitarian
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:59 AM

@Diarmuid: Google translate

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:17 AM

@Brinster: “Erm….all evidence to the contrary.”

Go on – post the evidence that I am defending the payrise. Because here was me thinking it was abundantly clear from my post that I was merely calling you out (again) on your claim that MLA’s awarded it to themselves.

And you may recall in a previous discussion here: http://www.thejournal.ie/regina-doherty-pensions-3651795-Oct2017/
    Where you also repeated your lie that they “voted themselves a payrise”, that I remarked that “I’ve no issue with them being docked pay”.

So yeah – go on post up all this “evidence” you have that I support a pay rise.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:19 AM

@Brinster: In fact, never mind that line a few weeks back where I said “I’ve no issue with them being docked pay”. In my post today that you replied to, I also stated that their pay “clearly should be cut”. So do please show the evidence you have that I support a pay rise?

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:27 AM

@Brinster: “They could always refuse it. Several Irish TDs have refused their pay rises recently.”

No, they can’t.
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/northern-ireland-mlas-cant-give-april-fools-pay-rise-back-and-parties-to-get-750000-public-cash-says-man-who-set-salary-rules-35575169.html

How much more ill-informed crap can you possibly post on this topic? Maybe set down the keyboard.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:42 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael:

Donate it to charity maybe?

You’re going an awfully long way toward defending a pay rise you say you don’t believe in……

You seem to be getting very upset on behalf of the poor, oppressed MLAs who are apparently being force fed more money….

Maybe take a break for a while.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:48 AM

@Brinster:

“Donate it to charity maybe?”
    Perhaps they do and like most people, do it discretely. Who knows?

“You’re going an awfully long way toward defending a pay rise you say you don’t believe in……”
    Again, maybe you’d be so kind as to explain how me saying their pay “clearly should be cut” constitutes a defense of a pay rise? Thanks.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 1st 2017, 11:28 AM

@FlopFlipU: they didn’t agree on it either, Sinn Fein were opposed to the raise and are actually calling got reductions in salaries.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Nov 1st 2017, 11:38 AM
    Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 11:57 AM

@Brinster: That’s an article form 2013!! Nothing to do with the last payrise! While you’re at it, here’s one from 2015 while you’re at it.
    http://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/sinn-fein-calls-for-15-pay-cut-for-stormont-mlas-and-ministers-30943611.html

Anyway, in terms of the latest hike (not the 2013 one), still waiting on you to explain to me how how my statement that MLA’s pay “clearly should be cut” constitutes a defense of them getting a pay rise?

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:36 PM

Ouch! LOL

Time to stop digging Brinster…..

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:42 PM

@Brinster: “If Sinn Fein is unable or unwilling to enter an Executive on a sensible basis, says Arlene”.

For “sensible” in Arlene’s book, read willing to accept the DUP’s right to renege on previous agreements and allow them to renegotiate again while stating that they have no red lines; accept the DUP’s right to veto peoples right to equal marriage; denigrate the native language of this country and give up on justice for legacy cases, which contain so much hurt for families on all sides. The DUP never supported the Good Friday Agreement and were outside the building protesting. They have since come into the Assembly with the stated intention of unravelling the Agreement. They would have us back to pre-68 days, if they could, but unfortunately for them, nationalists will not be sitting at the back of the bus ever again regardless of the urging of Free-state governments, who were of no assistance to us ever over the past 50 years.

Mute Diarmuid
    Favourite Diarmuid
    Nov 1st 2017, 1:52 PM

@Brinster: hopefully all pay will be stopped now.

Mute brian hardy
    Favourite brian hardy
    Nov 1st 2017, 1:54 PM

Thankfully its nothing to do with this country. The sooner the border goes back up the better

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:32 PM

@Diarmuid:

A silly argument, Diarmuid. They should have a pay cut, but stopping pay is utter madness. Why? They still run a full time constituency service. Cut the pay and that service ends along with the jobs of constituency staff. Secondly, cutting the pay is regarded by the sec. of state as a ‘nuclear option’ – once you cut the pay, you send MLA’s to the dole office and all hope of a deal goes up in smoke. It’s populist view, but it it a completely wreckless and counter-productive one.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:34 PM

@brian hardy: it is up you goat.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Nov 1st 2017, 3:19 PM

@Larry Doherty:

Detest Arlene and the DUP.

Obnoxious people.

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Nov 1st 2017, 3:20 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael:

All that shows is that Sinn Fein have flip flopped on pay rises.

Just like they flip flopped on Water Charges.

Pathetic really – so completely ineffective in the North that they just decided to pull out of Gov altogether.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 3:49 PM

@Brinster: “Flip flopped on pay rises”? They cannot return the latest pay rise, and campaigned for a pay cut.

“Flip flopped on water charges?”
    They oppose them on both sides of the border. No idea what you are spoofing about there. You’re having a bad day! Can you get anything right?

Anyway – any chance you could answer the question this time round – how my statement that MLA’s pay “clearly should be cut” constitutes a defense of them getting a pay rise?

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Nov 1st 2017, 3:53 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: ah come on, if this was politicians in the south there’s no way you’d let them off the hook the way you are now.

Mute The Risen
    Favourite The Risen
    Nov 1st 2017, 3:54 PM

@Brinster: You were caught spoofing about SF pay rises by TEG, and now you’re trying to change the subject by spoodfing about SF on water charges?

Dear oh dear.

(This is the bit where you post the line from the EU water report that fine gael had shoehorned in, which I then blow out of the water by posting to an independent MEPs comments on same. Whenever you’re ready….)

Mute Hurt Stoogie
    Favourite Hurt Stoogie
    Nov 1st 2017, 4:31 PM

@The Risen: and independent mep comments on Facebook? The Same mep that caused a direct threat to the life of a journalist? How very charming.

Mute Hurt Stoogie
    Favourite Hurt Stoogie
    Nov 1st 2017, 4:35 PM

@The Risen: the same mep who voted for a hard border and then flip flopped?

Mute brian hardy
    Favourite brian hardy
    Nov 1st 2017, 5:23 PM

@The Risen: poor shinners- isolated, alone, irrelevant

Mute brian hardy
    Favourite brian hardy
    Nov 1st 2017, 5:44 PM

direct rule is the best option… and the funniest one PMSL

Shinner stunt falls flat on its face LOL

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Nov 1st 2017, 6:55 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Just re read my comment.

I never said that they “gave themselves” a pay rise!!!!!

You absolute liar!

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Nov 1st 2017, 6:56 PM

@Brinster: Oops – no wait I did in the preceding comment. Ignore above Tir Eoghain.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:41 PM

@Brinster: I tried to tell you to put the keyboard down. You just wouldn’t listen. You took some glee in calling me a liar too! Yet when someone says that MLAs should have their pay cut, and you then claim that this person is defending MLA pay rises, can you really accuse anyone else of being a liar?

Mute George Oscar Bluth
    Favourite George Oscar Bluth
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:05 AM

It’s clear SF and the DUP are not fit to govern. Inability to see the others viewpoint holds back NI.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:57 AM

@George Oscar Bluth: Grossly simplistic. Tell me this, George, whose basic rights should SF agree to ignore in order to get back into power? The LGBT communities, Irish Language speakers or troubles victims families? Or everybody’s rights (given that SF is pushing for a Bill of Rights as was agreed in the Good Friday Agreement in 1998 and which the DUP is still refusing to allow)?

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:05 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: “whose basic rights should SF agree to ignore”?

How about Gardaí right to life?

Never, ever, ever forget that Garda murderer Pearse McAuley was collected from prison by a sitting Sinn Fein TD Martin Ferris.

Then given a standing ovation at the Sinn Fein Ard Feis. Sickening.

See 18 more replies ▾
    Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:12 AM

@Brinster: What a pathetic attempt at whataboutery, Brinster. How about discussing the stormont talks, or is that too much of an ask?

Mute Brinster
    Favourite Brinster
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:19 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: ” How about discussing the stormont talks”

OK

Why did Gerry sabotage them?

Mute Rory
    Favourite Rory
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:21 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: pilitics is based on compromise. There is no compromise here.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:23 AM

@Brinster: I actually meant the issues being debated in the talks – not unsubstantiated rumors peddled by the Indo where their intrepid journalists quote “a source”. But if all you can do is offer either ‘whataboutery’ or discuss groundless Indo waffle, then I won’t waste my time.

Mute George Oscar Bluth
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:40 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Sharing a future means respecting each other’s views and traditions. I level this at SF and DUP in equal terms. You know as well as I do that SF are not some innocent victims vying to do what’s best for Northern Ireland. They can’t even call it that. That’s the name, maybe show respect by using it.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:59 AM

@George Oscar Bluth:
    “Sharing a future means respecting each other’s views and traditions.”
    Indeed. SF have said they would support legislation to protect Ulster SCots (despite it being a wholly fabricated “language”. The DUP meanwhile are refusing to support an Irish language act despite the fact that they already signed up to support it and despite the fact that the majority of MLA’s support it. How does that make both sides as bad as eachother? Another example was Martin McGuinness suggesting to Arlene Foster that they go to two games at the Euros in France together – one of the north’s and one of the south’s – as a sign of cooperation and goodwill. Arlene refused and went to one of the north’s games. McGuinness went to one of each. Both as bad as eachother? SF are pushing for Bill of Rights as is outlined in the GFA. The DUP are blocking it. As bad as eachother? SF is arguing for Marriage equality – as supported by a majority of MLAS. The DUP are blocking it. Both sides as bad as eachother?

As for the name – they don’t respect partition, or the north existing as a separate state. The six counties is not “Ulster”, but you don’t hear SF whining every day at unionists using that name for the place. If that’s all that’s bothering you, maybe you ought to grow up!

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 11:16 AM

@Rory: Obviously Rory. And the compromise the DUP made at St Andrews was to support an Irish language act. So how can SF go into a powersharing arrangement with a party which makes a compromise to get what it wants, then refuses to enact that compromise?

Mute George Oscar Bluth
    Nov 1st 2017, 11:34 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Take the green glasses off and grow up yourself. This is a political stunt and nothing more by SF. They have shared a government with Paisley and Robinson before this. They were big advocates of gay rights/same sex marriage, the Irish language etc etc weren’t they? The DUP are consistent in their position, horrible as it is. SF are using these popular topics to feign concern for the issues. Last year, the Alliance party called for an end to POC in stormont. It was rejected by DUP AND SF. This is without going in to items like glorification of former PIRA members, expense scandals, kangaroo courts….The naming of the country is just a petty example of the politics of NI. People want government – health services, education, policing, trade, employment over all else

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:04 PM

@George Oscar Bluth:
    “They have shared a government with Paisley and Robinson before this. They were big advocates of gay rights/same sex marriage, the Irish language etc etc weren’t they?”
    So are you suggesting that SF should never have gone into power with them, or that they should always accept that the DUP will never live up to any agreement it makes and just let them away with it?

“Last year, the Alliance party called for an end to POC in stormont. It was rejected by DUP AND SF.”
    Any why would SF want it scrapped! Nobody with an ounce of wit should want it scrapped. It just needs reformed. The POC is a crucial tool to ensure cross community voting. The problem with it is that the DUP have had the numbers necessary to abuse it under it’s current format.

Mute George Oscar Bluth
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:13 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: I am suggesting, clearly, that it suits SF to do this now. They have had many ample opportunities in the past and there was nothing about it. Get back to government and try and protect NI from the mess that is Brexit trundling down the road is what SF should focus their energy on. The alternative is the DUP are the main influence on the UK government position when it comes to NI…..after all SF do not recognise Westminster except on pay day.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:35 PM

@George Oscar Bluth:
    “I am suggesting, clearly, that it suits SF to do this now. They have had many ample opportunities in the past and there was nothing about it.”
    So what? They should have just lay down and accepted that the DUP should forever and ever have the right to trample over people’s rights and to walk away from any commitment and compromise it has ever signed up to? What sort of pathetic position would that be to take?

“The alternative is the DUP are the main influence on the UK government position when it comes to NI”
    If you think that either the DUP or SF are going to have any say what-so-ever in regards influincing Brexit negotiations, you are more deluded than I gave you credit for.

“after all SF do not recognise Westminster except on pay day.”
    They do recognise it. They don’t sit in it. Big difference, clever cloggs. The reason they don’t sit in it? Because they have been overwhelmingly mandated to abstain. And why wouldn’t they take their pay – the only thing they don’t do is sit in the chamber. They still operate a full constituency service with offices here and in London with full time staff.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:49 PM

@George Oscar Bluth: Oh, not another middle class bleeding heart, who moans ” A plague on all their houses; they are all to blame”. However, there can be no compromise on basic human rights. These are fundamental. Before you can do business with anyone, they need to respect you as a person or community, not regard you in racist terms as second class citizens. When these basics have been agreed, both sides can then get on with the everyday business of politics where, of course, there will have to be compromises on day to day issues. Without agreement on fundamentals in the North, however, there can not be normal politics.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:53 PM

@Rory: There can be no compromise on basic human rights. These are fundamental. Before you can do business with anyone, they need to respect you as a person or community, not regard you in racist terms as second class citizens. When these basics have been agreed, both sides can then get on with the everyday business of politics where, of course, there will have to be compromises on day to day issues. Without agreement on fundamentals in the North, however, there can not be normal politics.

Mute brian hardy
    Favourite brian hardy
    Nov 1st 2017, 1:57 PM

Only an absolute idiot would vote for SF or the DUP

Mute Cicero
    Favourite Cicero
    Nov 1st 2017, 3:32 PM

@brian hardy: I agree, but it would appear the DUP have been the more effective group this year.
    Whatever the politics, it’s still 1 billion more into the NI economy that would not have come otherwise.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Nov 1st 2017, 4:26 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: The DUP support the enactment of Irish Language Act, they’ve never wavered there, what has happened is that the concept of an ILA has now become a reality and populated with content, a lot of which is not acceptable to the DUP (their words). Are they, because they agreed to the introduction of an ILA, just supposed to accept whatever SF write into it? I’m no fan of either party here by the way.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 4:45 PM

@TomTraubert: “The DUP support the enactment of Irish Language Act, they’ve never wavered there”

You managed to get it wrong on your very first line. The content of the Act has not been arranged. Not even close. It has barely been discussed. The content will have to be decided upon on the back of a public consultation and involvement of interest groups. The problem has been getting the DUP to agree to the concept of an Act in the first instance. They agreed to one at St Andrews and yet Arlene Foster only a few months ago stated outright that “the DUP will never agree to an Irish Language Act”. Are SF to run back into government with a party which makes any deal it wants to get it’s hands on power, and then reneges on said deal? Why should SF and their supporters allow themselves to be taken for a ride like that again?

Mute brian hardy
    Favourite brian hardy
    Nov 1st 2017, 5:31 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: I really am looking forward to your hissy fit when the border goes back up. Comedy Gold.

Mute Totalitarian
    Favourite Totalitarian
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:10 AM

Dup are failing to commit to what was signed up for in the good Friday agreement why are they so scared of the Irish language ? Why are they so scared of Irish people who live in Ireland wanting to protect the Irish language ??

Mute Totalitarian
    Favourite Totalitarian

@Diarmuid: what’s the hours like in the fg spin office did you get the bank holiday off ?

Mute Totalitarian
    Favourite Totalitarian
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:23 AM

@Diarmuid: you seem to be speaking a lot of Irish there diarmuid for someone who can’t seem to fathom why Sinn Fein want to protect the Irish language maybe you should take a day off from your job commenting on the journal and have a trip up to Belfast on the enterprise from Connolly station and go see for yourself what’s actually going on in the north of this island, and that’s what you live on its an island not 2 different countries go absorb yourself in some of your countries history. Go see the affects that colonisation had. I for one am proud to say I’m Irish even though I live in an occupied part of my country. That’s not my fault but I appreciate that Sinn Fein are standing up for the Irish language in the six counties they are doing more than the Irish government

Mute Ruiri o connell
    Favourite Ruiri o connell
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:57 AM

@Totalitarian: You’re dead right. More southerners need to cross the border (not just for Christmas shopping) and actually explore the part of their country in which most of them feel intimidated going anywhere near. See it for yourselves and you’ll see it’s not about being a shinnerbot it’s about standing up for basic civil rights.

Mute TomTraubert
    Favourite TomTraubert
    Nov 1st 2017, 4:29 PM

@Totalitarian: The DUP support the enactment of Irish Language Act, they’ve never wavered there, what has happened is that the concept of an ILA has now become a reality and populated with content, a lot of which is not acceptable to the DUP (their words). Are they, because they agreed to the introduction of an ILA, just supposed to accept whatever SF write into it? I’m no fan of either party here by the way.

They aren’t scared of the language, they’re opposed to, for example, 10% of all public jobs being advertised requiring the applicant be able to speak Irish properly. They feel that’s excessive. SF not budging on that apparently.

Mute J
    Favourite J
    Nov 1st 2017, 4:30 PM

@Totalitarian: if you read Peig you’d be scared of the Irish language too.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 4:48 PM

@TomTraubert: “The DUP support the enactment of Irish Language Act, they’ve never wavered there”

You managed to get it wrong on your very first line. The content of the Act has not been arranged. Not even close. It has barely been discussed. The content will have to be decided upon on the back of a public consultation and involvement of interest groups. The problem has been getting the DUP to agree to the concept of an Act in the first instance. They agreed to one at St Andrews and yet Arlene Foster only a few months ago stated outright that “the DUP will never agree to an Irish Language Act”. Are SF to run back into government with a party which makes any deal it wants to get it’s hands on power, and then reneges on said deal? Why should SF and their supporters allow themselves to be taken for a ride like that again?

And do you honestly believe that DUP opposition to an Acht na Gaeilge is based on an ‘practical’ or ‘economic’ reason, rather than on sheer bigotry and intolerance – then you really need to throw a bit of cold water over yourself and waken up. I suppose Gregory’s repeated mocking of the language is not a sign of such bigotry, no?

Mute Roger Poles
    Favourite Roger Poles
    Nov 2nd 2017, 12:48 AM

@Totalitarian: yeah sitting on the fence not willing to compromise wasters good for nothing may fein

Mute Tony Stack
    Favourite Tony Stack
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:34 AM

Neither want a deal because they would have to implement a budget, with cuts. Better for them to let the British gov do it so they cannot be blamed.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:09 AM

@Tony Stack: Simplistic waffle. This has nothing to do with not wanting to implement a budget with cuts. They were only able to spend the budget allocated by Westminster, where the cuts are decided. They were distributing cut budgets for years before the collapse. This is plainly down to the fact that the DUP has been repeatedly showing bad faith by refusing to live up to agreements they has signed up to. For instance their blocking of an Irish Language Act which they signed up to at St Andrews and which a majority of MLA’s support. For instance a Bill of Rights, which was negotiated in to the GFA and which the majority of MLA’s support. For instance equal marriage – which the majority of MLA’s support and which the DUP have repeatedly vetoed using a petition of concern. The fact is, the DUP have made the institutions unworkable in their approach.

Mute brian hardy
    Favourite brian hardy
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:01 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: if ye shinners are not back in government then how will ye storm out in a tantrum when the border goes back up?

Mute Barry morcom
    Favourite Barry morcom
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:16 AM

as bad as each other….
    no excuse….

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:28 AM

@Barry morcom: What utter simplistic dung.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Nov 1st 2017, 1:00 PM

@Barry morcom: Barry Moron, maybe.

Mute brian hardy
    Favourite brian hardy
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:07 PM

@Barry morcom: and they perfectly deserve each other PMSL

Mute Val Doyle
    Favourite Val Doyle
    Nov 1st 2017, 7:04 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Your word of the day is simplistic. A bit like you, keep watching Sesame Street and you will learn a new word tomorrow.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:44 PM

@Val Doyle: Insightful stuff there Val. Anything to add on the actual topic of debate, or is personal abuse as much as you are capable of?

Mute joe oneill
    Favourite joe oneill
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:47 AM

The Irish government instead of hiding behind SF should be insisting the terms of the GFA are implemented.Foster and the orange order should be told gtf.

Mute Gerry Murphy
    Favourite Gerry Murphy
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:53 AM

@joe oneill: So its the Irish Governments fault?? Well done

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Nov 1st 2017, 1:00 PM

@Gerry Murphy: Aye and aye, aye.

Mute Paul
    Favourite Paul
    Nov 1st 2017, 1:06 PM

@joe oneill: where in GFA are LGBT rights listed??

Mute brian hardy
    Favourite brian hardy
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:05 PM

@joe oneill: its nothing got to do with this country. best to just laugh at the idiots

Mute Damien McDaid
    Favourite Damien McDaid
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:18 AM

As long as there’s no middle ground (sdlp), or outside involvement it’s hard to see any deals being constructive or sustainable governance in the north. But I hope I’m wrong!

Mute Martin Doherty
    Favourite Martin Doherty
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:42 AM

@Damien McDaid: How are the SDLP middle ground??I’m so sick and tired of hearing this narrative.
    The SDLP stance is the same as SF’s regarding an Irish Language Act.
    Never mind the fact that the DUP and SF are the two largest parties(by a mile) because the people here gave them that mandate,but dont let that get in the way of your lazy narrative

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:01 AM

@Martin Doherty: The SDLP are continually harping on about the two parties not doing a deal. Yet on basically every tv & radio panel show, they are challenged by a SF rep to state whose fundamental rights the SDLP would be happy to sacrifice to get back into power – the LGBT community’s, Irish language speakers or troubles victims families – and each and every time, they dodge the question – why? Because they have the same position as SF on these three issues. Easy to criticise SF for not sacrificing the rights of any of those groups when they refuse to state what they would sacrifice and why.

Mute brian hardy
    Favourite brian hardy
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:03 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: never have two ‘parties’ deserved each other more than the DUP and SF

Mute oneill
    Favourite oneill
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:57 AM

The DUP are under no pressure to go back to Stormont. They hold sway in Parliament which gives them more power than ever before, so why would they agree to an ILA and gay marriage? They can literally get whatever they want from the Tories since they have the power to collapse the government. Once the DUP/Tory coalition ends then we might see Stormont back up and running but until then, direct rule is on its way.

Mute brian hardy
    Favourite brian hardy
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:08 PM

@oneill: I wonder will they use lube on the shinners LOL

Mute Cathal Mac Einri
    Favourite Cathal Mac Einri
    Nov 2nd 2017, 8:50 AM

@brian hardy: do you create a new account every week? LOL

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Nov 1st 2017, 1:15 PM

Sinn Fein are not interested in being in government in NI . It’s just a cat and mouse game to them . A prosperous NI makes their UI far less likely while a failed NI boost their argument that the six counties would be best served as part of a UI . It’s all a game to destabilise the north .

Mute James Reardon
    Favourite James Reardon
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:02 PM

@Tommy Whelan: I reckon they’re not backing down as dup are blocking prearranged agreements on language, blocking an agreed bill of rights for citizens, blocking a heavily supported marriage equality referendum all the while nothing’s being down about the home heating scandal. I think SF think long term the government in Westminster would allow language acts (irish and Ulster scots) to go through as well as gay marriage to be voted on and there’s nothing the dup can do if direct rule is implanted under the terms of the GFA.

Mute Anthony Gallagher
    Favourite Anthony Gallagher
    Nov 1st 2017, 1:34 PM

When you take the helicopter view on this stalemate ,its obvious the Dup are still in the dark ages ,unionist still do not have the confidence or belief that they have an integral worth in a new modern outward looking Ireland ,they still suffer from that age old crisis of fear and in doing so, sell themselves and their community short .they pick leaders that are weak and far too predictable .

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:41 PM

@Anthony Gallagher: predictable as in Ulster Says NO. NO Surrender. NO Irish Language Act. NO Pope. No Taigs about the place. No Blacks or Irish need apply. Never, Never, Never, Never, etc.

Mute Padraic Reid
    Favourite Padraic Reid
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:13 PM

Shinners can’t speak English don’t mind Irish. They are the No party.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:36 PM

@Padraic Reid: Níl, a Phádraig.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:50 PM

@Padraic Reid: “Shinners can’t speak English don’t mind Irish.”

You don’t do irony, do you?

Mute owen kirwan
    Favourite owen kirwan
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:19 PM

This post is not about pay rises it’s about the shinnies stance on northern Ireland. They want direct rule so they can complain about every decision they hadn’t the balls to make themselves .They keep adding to the negotiating,irish language first now gay rights ,same sex marriage. Poor Martin mcguinness would have done a better job the the shower their now with the Furer Adam’s pulling the strings .Their a joke the lot if them

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:51 PM

@owen kirwan: If your analysis has brought you to the conclusion that SF want direct rule from London, you are off the scales in your delusion!

Mute owen kirwan
    Favourite owen kirwan
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:37 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Me thinks u have it head up if ar#e if u belive the shinnies

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:45 PM

@owen kirwan: Good man. You continue to believe that a party of Irish Republicans are working to achieve London rule then.

Mute hallelujah
    Favourite hallelujah
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:15 AM

I blame both Dublin and London for this state of affairs. The London government control the DUP and the Dublin government are too neutral really. The FG/FF govt should get behind S.F the same way as the Tories have done a deal with DUP. Also Sinn Féin could show a bit more flexibility in regards to some cultural issues- with FF/FG backing them. The same way Tories back the DUP. Slán agus beannacht go léir.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 1st 2017, 11:46 AM

@hallelujah: it is more a case of the DUP controlling the Tory government, with their ‘ supply and confidence’ deal. A deal bought( but yet to be paid) by a 1.5 billion bribe.
    Britian cannot be an impartial guarantor of GFA under this deal. FG/FF are also in a similar de facto coalition and are both terrified to stand up as guarantors of Irish citizens interests as those would be seen to possibly strengthen SF in South.
    So after years of armed conflict with all the hurt that caused, Tories , FG and FF are putting selfish Party interests ahead of their international commitments to guaranteeing the GFA.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:11 PM

@M Bowe: this is a blatant abdication of internationally recognised responsibilities which are allowing DUP intransigence and bogota to take the lead.
    We are not accepting crumbs from the table of those who would see themselves as lords and masters. We will only accept the full rights that all others on these islands enjoy.
    These are not concessions to be granted us by anyone, THEY ARE OUR RIGHTS!

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Nov 1st 2017, 3:57 PM

@M Bowe: so literally everyone is wrong bar SF. You’re unbelievable. Take off the blinkers. There’s collective responsibility here.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 4:51 PM

@Jane: So Jane, what agreements have SF reneged on? Which right-based aspects of the Good Friday Agreement should they sacrifice – a Bill of Rights to protect the rights of all citizens, or an Irish Language act? Or maybe they should sacrifice the rights of the LGBT community? Which should it be and why?

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 1st 2017, 6:09 PM

@Jane: so which set of equal rights would you shelve. Scotland, Wales have stand alone language acts, are Irish speakers any lesser citizens?
    LBGT community have full marriage rights in all other states, are those in 6 counties lesser citizens. Please help me with those blinkers!!!

Mute Jane
    Favourite Jane
    Nov 1st 2017, 7:50 PM

@M Bowe: and Tir. All those things need sorting, there is no doubt. But those things have needed sorting for a long time, seems strange they’ve all of a shot become red line issues.
    Brexit is looming lads, talk of an actual border going back up. If there’s no assembly it’ll be disastrous for the North, especially for republicans in the north. All decision being made in London and the DUP with the Torys firmly backing them up. The carry on is irresponsible.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 1st 2017, 8:20 PM

@Jane: Sinn Fein have delivered every agreement which they signed up for on behalf of their electorate over the past 20 years and more. Mean while unionism have reneged on almost every agreement which they have signed up to, and this has been allowed to happen by both British and Irish governments.
    Each and every time that both governments allowed this to happen it emboldened the DUP further, to the point that their ministers were again making blatantly sectarian rulings, LIOFA grant, community halls grants, A5&6 roads. Add into this the corruption of NAMA, Red sky, RHI etc and it would be utter madness to enter any government with DUP without hard and fast agreements which cannot be shirked, denied, or just plainly ignored going forward.

Mute M Bowe
    Favourite M Bowe
    Nov 1st 2017, 8:40 PM

@Jane: Britian has already made it clear that none of the devolved assemblies will have any input of substance into the Brexit negotiations. These will be decided at EU level which is why Sinn Fein has been forward and Center in Europe in winning support for special status for 6 counties. A proposal which I notice Leo and Mehole are now referring to as ‘ an unique’ deal and are advocating now that their EU masters have listened to SF.
    So your brexit piints are invalid in relation to any assembly whatsoever.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:49 PM

@Jane: Firstly, Jane, you haven’t a seeded my question. Which of those people should SF sacrifice the rights of in order to get back into power and why? P.s. As far as needing an assembly to mitigate the damage of Brexit goes, I think you are enormously overestimating the power of the assembly! Brexit will be a train wreck with or without the assembly.

Mute Johnnie Sexton
    Favourite Johnnie Sexton
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:21 PM

Stop their pay and take the money already paid from any future pay. Disgraceful behaviour by all parties. So direct rule from west minster….. 10 steps back and what a letdown to the NI electret.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:30 PM

@Johnnie Sexton:

“Stop their pay”
    Cut their pay. Why stop their pay when they continue to operate a full constituency service, and hire staff to do so? My own local MLA’s continue to work a longer day than most people do. Cutting their pay will only halt constituency work and force staff into losing their jobs. Populist argument that is just daft.

“Disgraceful behaviour by all parties.”
    The “they’re all as bad as eachother” argument? The laziest analysis possible. Perhaps you should tell us what SF ought to do? Should they sacrifice the rights of the LGBT community, the Irish speaking community, or the families of troubles victims, in order to get back in to power? Should they also accept that the DUP will never have to honour any agreement it signs up to?

“10 steps back and what a letdown to the NI electret.”
    Let down the electorate? Not idea scenario alright, but perhaps remember that since SF collapsed the assembly, there have been two elections – SF have received their largest votes in the history of the north in both these elections and the DUP consolidated their position as the largest party.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:59 PM

@Johnnie Sexton: dissssgraccccefuuuuuul, Johnnie. Oh, direct rule. Now theres a new departure. What eager young chap thought that up? It certainly worked well before over the past 800 years, did nt it. Away with you. Do the goats not need fed?

Mute George Oscar Bluth
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:46 PM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: Indeed, that would now include the extra money Catriona Ruane was getting as deputy speaker for house that doesn’t sit. Funny it took this to be exposed for SF to roll back on that.

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 2:55 PM

@George Oscar Bluth: Not exactly sure what that has to do with the talks -
    though given that she donated this money to charity, I’m not too perturbed by it. Anything to add to the actual topic of discussion, George?

Mute Ben Coughlan
    Favourite Ben Coughlan
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:44 PM

Hand it back to Westminster, or cut the cord and let them look after themselves.

Mute Larry Doherty
    Favourite Larry Doherty
    Nov 1st 2017, 12:55 PM

@Ben Coughlan: at last, Ben. Somebody’s listening. We have been saying that for nigh on 100 years. Nay 800 years. Just shows its possible to penetrate even the thickest head.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Nov 1st 2017, 9:54 AM
    Mute andrew
    Favourite andrew
    Nov 1st 2017, 11:07 AM

@Tommy Whelan: On the other hand this could upset the DUP /Tory alliance which would be no bad thing. In a weird way it would almost make up for SF blowing the chance to rid the UK of Tory governance

Mute Eric De Red
    Favourite Eric De Red
    Nov 1st 2017, 11:00 PM

The north can’t rule itself. It needs Britain. The republic can’t rule itself. It needs Brussels.

Mute joe oneill
    Favourite joe oneill
    Nov 1st 2017, 3:47 PM

Direct Rule might not be a bad thing,the border counties and the West of the part province might now receive their fair share of the remittance.

Mute Tommy Whelan
    Favourite Tommy Whelan
    Nov 1st 2017, 3:11 PM
    Mute Roger Poles
    Favourite Roger Poles
    Nov 1st 2017, 7:28 PM

Two extreme parties good for nothing looking for more concessions from one another. Mcguinness and Paisley must be looking down with disbelief of the adtitudes of foster and O’Neill. All salaries for mlas and MPs should be scrapped from these Northern parties until they get their parliament and government going. Shame on dup and sein fein both are an absolute disgrace and a shambles

Mute Tír Eoghain Gael
    Nov 1st 2017, 10:55 PM

@Roger Poles: Such waffle. You do realise that the rights that SF are working to defend are the very rights that McGuinness used as the reasons for his collapsing of the assembly? Tell me, what is “extremist” about wanting a Bill of Rights to defend the fundamental rights of all citizens? Or about equal marriage for the LIGHT community?Or about minorty language rights similar to the rights available in the south and in Scotland and Wales? Or about a truth recovery process for troy led victims? These are the issues SF are negotiating to defend. Which one is “extremist” and whose rights should be sacrificed? The LGBT community’s? Irish Language speakers? Families of troubles victims? You tell us.

Mute Roger Poles
    Favourite Roger Poles
    Nov 2nd 2017, 12:56 AM

@Tír Eoghain Gael: crap mcguinness walked out because of the ash for cash scandal. Ye me feiners made up more excuses for not wanting to compromise on a lot of things the same crap goes with the dup as well.

Mute @mdmak33
    Favourite @mdmak33
    Nov 1st 2017, 6:26 PM

All should be sacked,they are playing games with people’s lives and getting paid for it.

Mute Bob McTanned
    Favourite Bob McTanned
    Nov 2nd 2017, 4:43 AM

Sinn Fein are a shower of eejits

Mute Matt Rogers
    Favourite Matt Rogers
    Nov 2nd 2017, 12:40 PM

Almost 20 years ago The Unionists blinked and singed up to the GFA.
    substantial numbers of Unionists now bitterly regret having done so because they find themselves in a situation where that agreement requires that they debate,hold discussions and take decisions in a power sharing framework. The DUP does not do power sharing and never will with SF or Southern Taigs who according to the DUP would be better off minding their own business and not interfering with the affairs of the north.

Mute diarmuid apeington
    Favourite diarmuid apeington
    Nov 1st 2017, 5:28 PM

A very difficult situation. But I really don’t see how we can move forward in any real sense without honouring past agreements and parity of esteem for all parties involved.

Mute diarmuid apeington
    Favourite diarmuid apeington
    Nov 1st 2017, 6:25 PM

A difficult situation, but moving forward we need agreements honoured and parity of esteem for all