You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Enda Kenny on The Week in Politics today. Screengrab RTE

Taoiseach on GSOC: 'We can't go on with controversy'

The Taoiseach defended the Minister for Justice Alan Shatter stating he was the one person who wanted to reform the system.

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY defended the Minister for Justice Alan Shatter in the Garda Síochána Ombudsman Commission (GSOC), gardaí and whistleblower controversy stating that it was “time to move on to the bigger picture”.

Speaking on RTE’s Week in Politics programme, Kenny would not be drawn on whether whistleblower Maurice McCabe deserved an apology from Minister Shatter and would not be drawn on the matter when he himself was asked to apologise.

Maurice McCabe

Kenny stated that Shatter in the Dáil said that McCabe was not cooperative with the penalty points investigation after being instructed to do.

Kenny then added Shatter was operating under the context of the information he had received, he said.

The Taoiseach said that Shatter’s “perspective” was that McCabe had not been cooperative, while McCabe believed he had. “They both had their point of views,” he said.

Kenny defended Shatter in relation to the GSOC controversy, stating:  ”He was the one person who said the GSOC didn’t work properly.”

Reform

He added that Shatter was also the one person who wanted to “change the system” and get rid of confidential recipient as it currently operated.

Kenny said that he fully supported that there should be adequate oversight of the gardaí and that GSOC should be given adequate resources to do so.

He added: “The issue here is the bigger picture – you need a Garda force that has the trust of the people… an enforcement system with oversight which GSOC should have.”

When asked about his speech last night at the Fine Gael Ard Fheis and who he thought was playing politics in the matter, he was critical of Fianna Fáil Micheál Martin stating that he “waved about his documents that he presented to me, which he was right to present to me, on the basis they were proven fact when in fact they were all allegations”.

He said he had thanked Martin for passing on the documents in relation to Garda misconduct but said the bigger issue had to be looked at now, adding that whatever recommendation come out of the inquires into the matter will be be implemented, stating “we can’t go on with controversy”.

Read: Criminal lawyer to interview McCabe over garda misconduct claims>

Read: “I have no idea what he was thinking”: Shatter on Confidential Recipient’s comments>

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

69 Comments
    Mute thebrainisirish
    Favourite thebrainisirish
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:23 PM

Local elections will show this fool and his disconnected over paid advisors what we the people think of him and FG, Good riddance.

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:55 PM

He doesnt care, he was just brought in to carry on the sale of the states assets after the ‘Bubble’ burst.

He has a massive pension and can say he led the country. Job done as far as he is concerned.

Anyone who thinks politicians who are at the end of their ‘career’ care about elections need to wake the **** up.

Mute pat James buchannan
    Favourite pat James buchannan
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:28 PM

All you young people out there I ask that you google these things ….. Fr Niall Malloy……. Judge roe….. Minister Noonan who is looking very like our present minister of justice

Then you will see who are the real ” hit men” in ireland

Mute Thomas O'Connor
    Favourite Thomas O'Connor
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:59 PM

Can’t wait for the local Elections!!!
    I hope the people give that clown Enda, the pathetic FG parasites and their Labour lackeys the thumping they deserve.

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 2nd 2014, 3:26 PM

There’s an awful lot of Gemma O’Doherty on the Father Niall Mollow Wikipedia page…
    G.O.D. Works in mysterious ways?

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:18 PM

Your not going to bury this story up the mountains Kenny believe me it will be on voters minds come Election Day

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:27 PM

Yes an we will vote in the same shower under a different name, the saga continues..

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:29 PM

Well I don’t know about you Golden but I’m looking at voting SF this time they couldn’t be any worse

See 25 more replies ▾
    Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:30 PM

And the Official Government line of Lab/FG Corruption goes on and on and on … But Enda – this will Not go away you know !

Mute Despicable You
    Favourite Despicable You
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:41 PM

Glen go vote SF so, they want to neuter the police while celebrating the return home of a terrorist after he gets off being prosecuted. Same same.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:44 PM

Despicable you, still following the FG/British government line by using the word ‘terrorist’. The only terrorists in Northern Ireland were the invaders. Those who fought back were freedom fighters.
    Regardless, stop deflecting from Kenny and Shatter’s lies.

Mute Glen
    Favourite Glen
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:47 PM

Despicable you
    At least they seem to want to put the people first but you go and vote FG again but I can tell you this you’re wasting your vote

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:49 PM

I’ll probably be shot for saying this but, I went to a Direct Democracy Ireland meeting last week to see what the crack with them was and while the party itself is very badly organised and comes with a lot of baggage concerning the way it was set up and who its leader was and is now, yet the core principles of direct democracy and the right to recall politicians if they are misbehaving are appealing. These are principles which any party in Ireland could adopt in their constitutions, the RA have it I believe, in fact, it was in our original constitution until the Government of the day too it out. I was told it was a FG Government that did that. Anyway, the blindfold is on and my back to the wall!

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS

I’ll probably vote Independent or SF myself, how any sane person could vote FF, FG or Labour in after what the last 6 or so years have learned us is beyond me, it is definitely time for a radical change in how our country is being run.

Mute Peter Pantsless
    Favourite Peter Pantsless

Going to be a first time SF voter here to. How anyone can spoil a vote by voting labour/FF/FG is beyond me they are all the same, i want change and at the moment SF are the only option that will change things, whether it will work or not im NOW willing to find out. Madness is repeating something over and over again and expecting a different outcome, so SF got my vote this time

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:03 PM

Scaldychops
    How can you fail to call the mindless thugs involved in countless hundreds of sectarian killings over forty years as anything but terrorists? There is something of an intellectual deficit about your thinking that wants to think along those lines. Of course that is before we start talking about the protection of paedophiles and the torturing of young women to such a degree that their bodies had to be hidden for years after their murders.
    Terrorists would be a polite description of the animals involved in that behaviour.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:15 PM

Ah – Richard Rodgers – aren’t you being very tough on your friends in the UDR & British Regiments – calling them names like that ????

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:18 PM

Your view on Michael Collins, Pearse, Wolfetone and all the other brave men and women who fought for the freedom of this land Richard?

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:19 PM

On second thoughts, no thanks lol…

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:22 PM

Dick Rodgers, intellectual deficit? I think anybody like you whose intellectualism only allows them to look back at 40 years and then believes the people who caused the problem, really needs to get a better understanding of ‘intellect’. Thinking for oneself is a very good marker as to one’s intelligence. Believing a line which omits hunger, mass murder, shocking hardshop and gross inequality against a powerless minority by their colonisers, does not reflect an ‘intellectual deficit’ on your part – it reflects an intellectual absence. You’re nothing but a conformist, unthinking lickspittle. I’d hate to be you.

Mute cutsie
    Favourite cutsie
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:22 PM

Sinn Fein have m vote too. Maybe they have guns in their history but this shower are ore dangerous and evil.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:24 PM

Oh and by the way Dick Rodgers, nice deflection but Kenny is still a liar.

Mute Banking Bad
    Favourite Banking Bad
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:28 PM

Scaldychops, the IRA’s greatest weapon was Terror. Terror –> ism. Terrorism. See?

Don’t get into that nonsense of freedom fighter or terrorist. They’re one and the same depending on your point of view. Just a stupid political label.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:36 PM

Banking Bad, don’t fall into the trap of thinking that if a freedom fighter uses terror, because he has no other option against a far more savage and powerful foe, that the freedom fighter becomes a terrorist…because the powerful aggressor says so. Getting the picture yet?

Mute Mary Murphy
    Favourite Mary Murphy
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:45 PM

Well Glen don’t get too excited. MaryLou lives beside me and not once has she been seen since she got elected. Nor has she sent any information to us local yokels. So she’s definitely not getting a vote from me.

Mute Kenneth Doyle
    Favourite Kenneth Doyle
    Mar 2nd 2014, 3:08 PM

We must never forget that under FF/FG thousands upon thousands of Irish children were murdered,Tortures,sexually molested.The garda were well aware what was going on but the all played a blind eye.FF/FG never protected the basic right to safety for Ireland’s children.

Mute pat James buchannan
    Mar 2nd 2014, 3:15 PM

That must be the shankill butchers you are talking about …… But it was boys they liked

Mute pat James buchannan
    Mar 2nd 2014, 3:23 PM

I don’t support FG ….. But if the constitution of Eire was changed I think it must be done by a binding referendum and would be on record

Mute Sam Aritan
    Favourite Sam Aritan
    Mar 2nd 2014, 3:34 PM

”He was the one person who said the GSOC didn’t work properly.” – you mean he was the one person in Government that said it. Everyone else in the country and opposition ha being saying it all along weasel.

Mute Noel Gallagher
    Favourite Noel Gallagher
    Mar 2nd 2014, 3:48 PM

In the absence of ongoing accountability to the electorate, there will be no change to the corrupt self serving government that dictate to us while stealing for themselves and their cronies. As for SF – at this stage anything is preferable to “more of the same”, however, a glance across the border suggests that SF in government in the current system will be “more of the same” As for the RA – they are FG lite – they will pay lip service to democracy – they do not understand the meaning of the word, especially the bold Lucinda.

Mute Cowenwatch
    Favourite Cowenwatch
    Mar 2nd 2014, 4:36 PM

Pat, Yes exactly. But the Government of the day railroaded the people instead. 100,000 signatures were collected to stop them making the amendments – which is good going considering there was no internet – yet the Gov of the day ignored that petition. The people before had the right to call a referendum but never used that power or, more importantly, felt the need to use it, so this now means only the Government can call a referendum. Which is where we are today.

Mute Ryan Ash
    Favourite Ryan Ash
    Mar 2nd 2014, 5:54 PM

Nope Glen. It won’t be in their minds. Let’s be honest, people don’t vote based on how these kind of scandals are dealt with.

They vote based on their own personal situations. So if FF and/or SF announce a proposal to scrap property and water taxes, that’ll be more likely in people’s minds than anything related to this present case.

Mar 2nd 2014, 6:58 PM

Freedom fighters my ar£e…gangsters thr lot of them

Mute Bobby Ewing
    Favourite Bobby Ewing
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:21 PM

No Mr. Kenny, we can’t go on with you anymore!!!

Mute Norah Byrne
    Favourite Norah Byrne
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:51 PM

And we can’t go on with a minister for injustice either.

Mar 2nd 2014, 2:02 PM

Problem is Shatter saved Kenny’s position as leader of FG Kenny will stand by him regardless of the damage Shatter with his utterances does to the GSOC and the Garda Síochána. Kenny being a small minded man doesn’t really care about the bigger picture at all….

Mute Duncan
    Favourite Duncan
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:24 PM

That’s it so !! Enda said he’s had enough so let’s not get to the bottom of the corruption but brush it under the carpet and skip on to something else.
    You wouldn’t see it on the teletubbies !!

Mute Harry Price
    Favourite Harry Price
    Mar 2nd 2014, 4:07 PM

ENDA wake up to the meaning of what is just in a republic under democracy,you are beginning to talk like a dictator …………..

Mute simon shewster
    Favourite simon shewster
    Mar 2nd 2014, 4:47 PM

Please Irish people, vote these muppets out. You are being spoofed and lied to day in day out.

Mute Niall Power
    Favourite Niall Power
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:23 PM

Kenny and Shatter, Lied to the Dail, misled the Dail,
    Totally manipulated and misrepresented the situation,
    And were supported in doing this by the entire FG party and Labour?
    Great little country we have?
    In the Uk they would both have been gone weeks ago! Why? Because Uk politicians have honour, ours don’t!

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:26 PM

Sorry you lost a point there when you said UK politicians have honour, Party Politicians don’t have honour.

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:29 PM

Kenny is still saying McCabe was instructed to co-operate. He was invited, not instructed. At this stage I feel secure stating that Kenny is a liar.

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne

At this stage?? Where have you been?

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:09 PM

Jason, I meant legally secure. I’ve thought it for years.

Mute John Turkey
    Favourite John Turkey
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:32 PM

There you have it: proof that Shatter can’t be sacked because Kenny is afraid of revenge.

Nothing else makes sense.

Mute GOLDEN ARMS
    Favourite GOLDEN ARMS
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:24 PM

Absolutely right Enda, let’s just forget it ever happened eh?

Mute J.Rudd
    Favourite J.Rudd
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:34 PM

In other words, move on from asking questions he wants to avoid! The man is not to be trusted AT ALL. A traitor to the nation

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:38 PM

This is interesting. We see support for Shatters attempts to burn McCabe at the political level being supported by Kenny… Weaselling in order to make what Shatter placed on the Dáil record (and under privilege) appear to be the true state of affairs.
    Oliver Connolly told the truth. And labour will blithely look the other way.
    Kenny is playing Pontius Pilate.
    McCabes only hope lies with Fianna Fáil. How ironic is that?

Mute Richard Rodgers
    Favourite Richard Rodgers
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:11 PM

Paul
    I do believe you’re overlooking a couple of important matters. First is the enquiry by a retired High Court Judge and the second is the similar examination of another matter by a Leading Senior Counsel.
    The Taoiseach and Cabinet have agreed to immediately publish their findings. Finally perhaps you could succinctly tell us what the Minister has done that is either wrong or as a failing in his Ministerial responsibilities.
    I recall him stating repeatedly that the GSOC was not fit for purpose either in terms of the tools to do the job or the personnel. Please don’t accuse him of being work shy as its a matter of record that Shatter I’d the most industrious Minister in the history of the State!

Mute Paul Roche
    Favourite Paul Roche
    Mar 2nd 2014, 3:32 PM

Richard,
    I haven’t overlooked them, I’ve just discounted any report they could produce as being not credible given the terms of reference.
    Those appointments may impress FGerratti, but the public is no longer as credulous of this government as you believe, we expect to see cover-up and character assassination.

Mute Thomas O'Connor
    Favourite Thomas O'Connor
    Mar 2nd 2014, 9:17 PM

He may be industrious but I don’t trust him one damn bit and think he has an alternative agenda which is detrimental to the citizens!!!!!

Mute Knocknaheeny Hollyhill
    Favourite Knocknaheeny Hollyhill
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:42 PM

What are they hiding ? They would have crucified McCabe if they had the chance and wouldn’t let it run on like this

Mute Roisin O'Connell Hayes
    Favourite Roisin O'Connell Hayes
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:29 PM

Sick and tired if Ff/FG/Labour all covering there own backs regardless . The party at all costs….I am deffo giving Sinn Fein my vote . I like what they stand for . people first and I think Marylou us doing a great job in PAC..

Mute Neal •IntoYourHead
    Favourite Neal •IntoYourHead
    Mar 2nd 2014, 4:29 PM

Things must be bad when grown adults are seriously thinking about voting for Sinn Fein.

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Mar 2nd 2014, 5:11 PM

Neal – are there ungrown Adults ?

Mute Toby_Parker
    Favourite Toby_Parker
    Mar 2nd 2014, 3:19 PM

We can’t go on with the controversy but rather than admit weakness in his organisation Enda is defending a man that should respect the will of the Irish People and resign.
    Kind of reminds me of the Catholic Church and their handling of child abuse, ‘deny, deny, deny’.

Mute eye-c-u
    Favourite eye-c-u
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:30 PM

Its funny also how people jump on whistle blowers side without proof. Sure anyone can come out with anything.

I think mr mccabe is at retirement stage he can go his pension can’t be touched. But wait for his past to come out. It will be colourful.

As for other fella I remember him in Sunday world about 10 yrs back as he was in trouble with his bosses over refusing to shave.

Two fellas who will not be vindicated I think. But let’s wait and see.

As for gsoc they should give a madter class on how to screw things up first time, every time.

Did I ever tell you how I got these scars?

Mute Scaldychops
    Favourite Scaldychops
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:39 PM

Eye-c-u, rather like Kenny you’re completely missing the bigger picture. The actual allegations by the whistle-blower will be investigated in time. That’s not the bigger picture. Why are the whistleblowers afraid to go to their own bosses? Why did Shatter repeatedly lie? Why is Kenny still lying? Why did an appointee of Shatter warn McCabe that Shatter will go after him if he crosses him (prophetic warning from a financial sponsor of Shatters who was sacked himself by Shatter)? There’s liars more questions.

Judging by your scurrilous rumour-mongering above you have an agenda. It’s because of people like you we have lying ba*tards elected over and over again.

Mute John Turkey
    Favourite John Turkey
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:43 PM

I’m guessing you got those scars from spending too long fake-smiling as a Garda PR grunt.

This character assassination plot is ridiculous. Are you PR thugs trying to imply that whistleblowers are fair game to be setup if they had colourful pasts?

Mute Ciarraioch
    Favourite Ciarraioch
    Mar 2nd 2014, 1:51 PM

Scaldychops – Looks like the Character Assassination Storm Troopers of The Blueshirts and Stickies have now been released in full bloom ?
    This filthy tactic goes back generationally , where the Blueshirt FG Party and their awful history with O’Duffy and An Garda is concerned .
    My late Father related stories to me from the period, post Civil War , that showed these people in their natural Fascist state of mind .
    How is it that a leopard never changes its spots ?

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Mar 2nd 2014, 5:31 PM

Regardless of who is government we will still have the same police force unless some sort of radical reform is taken. On a statistical basis, surely Donegal cannot be the only county where there have been issues with the Gardai playing fast and loose with the law.

Mute O'Reilly
    Favourite O'Reilly
    Mar 2nd 2014, 2:25 PM

Think about it people. Why have both parties stuck to their guns on this? Why have all ministers come out in support of Shatter. So many here ready to accept McCabe with out any proof simply because of party politics and a wish to see a head roll for any reason. There’s a reason politicians stick together like this…

Mute John Hartigan
    Favourite John Hartigan
    Mar 2nd 2014, 3:15 PM

You and shatter go prob solved

Mute Paul McNevin
    Favourite Paul McNevin
    Mar 2nd 2014, 4:29 PM

This guy is un-fooking-believable. The same gombeens will keep voting for him.