We need your help now

Support from readers like you keeps The Journal open.

You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

If you've seen value in our reporting, please contribute what you can, so we can continue to produce accurate and meaningful journalism. For everyone who needs it.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny with all the Fine Gael party elected TDs. Sam Boal
pay packet boost

TDs are definitely getting that pay hike next year

TDs are to get a €5,000 increase over the next two years.

TDS VOTED yesterday to give themselves pay hike, despite ministers and junior ministers forfeiting the wage increase.

The last-ditch effort by Sinn Féin to halt the pay increase – or pay restoration – for TDs of €5,000 over the next two years was defeated yesterday evening.

The pay increase falls under the Haddington Road Agreement for public servants.

Sinn Féin put down a motion to stop TDs getting the pay increase. However, the government and Fianna Fáil joined forces to pass a countermotion instead – by 91 to 39.


Speaking last night about the motion’s defeat Sinn Féin spokesperson on Public Expenditure and Reform David Cullinane TD said it was “an issue of fairness”.

“We are still witnessing a two-tier recovery.”

“It is unfair that somebody on €30,000 or €40,000 per year, an average wage in the public sector, is getting pay restoration of €1,000 while deputies are expected to take over €100 a week,” he said.

“There’s a real disconnect with what our constituents are voicing, and how this government is proceeding,” said Kathleen Funchion. 

“This is particularly insulting when set in the context of increased industrial tension in the public sector,” she added.

Sinn Féin faced criticisms from other parties that it was merely being populist due to party members drawing down the full TDs pay of €87,258. However, the party states that its TDs only receive the average industrial wage, returning the rest to the party.

“It isn’t about what we already get, it is about what the government wants to give back at this point in time,” said Cullinane, who said Sinn Féin TDs won’t be taking the pay rise.

TDs under pressure

Prior to the vote, he said Sinn Féin were not tabling the motion “to put any TDs under pressure”.

I say that genuinely. We do see this as an issue fairness. I don’t believe it’s justified.

Sinn Féin were not the only ones facing criticism from other TDs.

Dublin North West TD Noel Rock spoke out against the wage increase. In doing so, the Fine Gael said he was approached by a TD in the Dáil bar and told he was ruining it for the rest of TDs.

Tweet by @Noel Rock Noel Rock / Twitter Noel Rock / Twitter / Twitter

However, despite Rock’s previous statements, he did not go so far as supporting the Sinn Féin motion.

Speaking on RTÉ’s Claire Byrne Live programme last month, Housing Minister Simon Coveney said:

“We need to make sure we are in tune with what the country is thinking.”

However, he would not be drawn on what individual TDs should do.

I don’t want to start putting individual TDs on the spot. Lots of people have different circumstance they are living in and people should make their own minds up.

Here is a breakdown of who voted down the motion:

Aylward, Bobby.
Bailey, Maria.
Barrett, Seán.
Brassil, John.
Breathnach, Declan.
Breen, Pat.
Brophy, Colm.
Browne, James.
Bruton, Richard.
Burke, Peter.
Burton, Joan.
Butler, Mary.
Byrne, Catherine.
Byrne, Thomas.
Cahill, Jackie.
Calleary, Dara.
Canney, Seán.
Cannon, Ciarán.
Carey, Joe.
Casey, Pat.
Cassells, Shane.
Chambers, Jack.
Corcoran Kennedy, Marcella.
Coveney, Simon.
Cowen, Barry.
Creed, Michael.
Curran, John.
D’Arcy, Michael.
Daly, Jim.
Deasy, John.
Deering, Pat.
Doherty, Regina.
Donohoe, Paschal.
Doyle, Andrew.
Durkan, Bernard J.
English, Damien.
Fitzgerald, Frances.
Fitzpatrick, Peter.
Fleming, Sean.
Griffin, Brendan.
Harris, Simon.
Harty, Michael.
Haughey, Seán.
Heydon, Martin.
Howlin, Brendan.
Humphreys, Heather.
Kehoe, Paul.
Kelly, Alan.
Lahart, John.
Lawless, James.
Lowry, Michael.
McConalogue, Charlie.
McEntee, Helen.
McGrath, Finian.
McGrath, Michael.
McGuinness, John.
McHugh, Joe.
McLoughlin, Tony.
Madigan, Josepha.
Mitchell O’Connor, Mary.
Moran, Kevin Boxer.
Moynihan, Aindrias.
Moynihan, Michael.
Murphy O’Mahony, Margaret.
Murphy, Dara.
Murphy, Eoghan.
Neville, Tom.
Noonan, Michael.
O’Brien, Darragh.
O’Callaghan, Jim.
O’Connell, Kate.
O’Dea, Willie.
O’Donovan, Patrick.
O’Dowd, Fergus.
O’Keeffe, Kevin.
O’Loughlin, Fiona.
O’Rourke, Frank.
O’Sullivan, Jan.
O’Sullivan, Maureen.
Penrose, Willie.
Phelan, John Paul.
Rabbitte, Anne.
Ring, Michael.
Rock, Noel.
Ross, Shane.
Ryan, Brendan.
Scanlon, Eamon.
Sherlock, Sean.
Stanton, David.
Troy, Robert.
Zappone, Katherine.

Here is a breakdown of who supported the motion:

Barry, Mick.
Boyd Barrett, Richard.
Brady, John.
Broughan, Thomas P.
Buckley, Pat.
Collins, Michael.
Connolly, Catherine.
Coppinger, Ruth.
Crowe, Seán.
Cullinane, David.
Daly, Clare.
Doherty, Pearse.
Ellis, Dessie.
Ferris, Martin.
Fitzmaurice, Michael.
Funchion, Kathleen.
Healy, Seamus.
Kenny, Gino.
Kenny, Martin.
McDonald, Mary Lou.
Martin, Catherine.
Mitchell, Denise.
Munster, Imelda.
Murphy, Catherine.
Murphy, Paul.
Nolan, Carol.
Ó Broin, Eoin.
Ó Caoláin, Caoimhghín.
Ó Laoghaire, Donnchadh.
Ó Snodaigh, Aengus.
O’Reilly, Louise.
Pringle, Thomas.
Quinlivan, Maurice.
Ryan, Eamon.
Shortall, Róisín.
Smith, Bríd.
Stanley, Brian.
Tóibín, Peadar.
Wallace, Mick.

Read: Dublin City Council is facing a €15 million shortfall – and is going after businesses to get it EXCLUSIVE>

Read: Alan Shatter wins appeal to challenge Guerin report>

Readers like you are keeping these stories free for everyone...
A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Your Voice
Readers Comments
    Submit a report
    Please help us understand how this comment violates our community guidelines.
    Thank you for the feedback
    Your feedback has been sent to our team for review.