You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Ah, it's himself. Stay calm. Julien Behal/PA Wire

How to survive lunch with Bono: The week's news skewed

Breaking via The Mire wire: G8 leaders express their support for Seán Quinn, and things get back to normal after the Obamas leave town.

IS THE NEWS getting you down? Current affairs causing a frown? Satirical site The Mire has an alternative angle on the week’s hot topics…

G8 leaders express support for Seán Quinn

Monday, 17 June 2013

The G8 leaders gathered in Enniskillen today to express support for Seán Quinn and disappointment in Fermanagh’s performance against Cavan.

The world’s most powerful leaders were unanimous in offering support for Quinn.

“I hate to do a Mickey Harte on it but he’s a fine man,” Russian president Vladimir Putin said.

“What can I say? Cavan were poor, Fermanagh were poor. I hate the poor,” German Chancellor Angela Merkel said of the Ulster SFC quarter-final between the two counties.

“Hopefully Fermanagh will get a run in the qualifiers,” she added. “Though I’m not sure they’ll get past Westmeath if Dessie Dolan is playing.”

Suu Kyi’s tip for Michelle Obama on surviving lunch with Bono

Tuesday, 18 June 2013

US First Lady Michelle Obama has been advised by Aung San Suu Kyi to go to a place deep within herself to survive lunch with Bono in Dalkey today.

Suu Kyi famously survived a meeting with Bono in 2012.

It is understood that the Obamas sought her advice when it became clear that Michelle Obama and her daughters would have to meet Bono for lunch.

“She advised them to go to a place deep within themselves and meditate on a safe word while he talks to himself about himself,” a source revealed.

Boost for local brothels as US Secret Service arrive

Wednesday, 19 June 2013

Brothels in the border counties were apparently delighted that the US Secret Service was in Fermanagh for the G8 Summit.

The secret service have a track record of keeping brothels busy when on tour with President Obama.

“It’s about time something meaningful was done for the rural economy,” a gleeful brothel owner said.

“It makes no odds to me,” a prostitute said. “I’m only an intern.”

The Obamas are gone. So, where were we? Oh yes… cuts!

Thursday, 20 June 2013

Still waving goodbye to the Obamas with one hand, the Government is to cut resource teaching for special needs pupils with the other.

Schools will learn today how rising enrolments and a cap on special needs staff will mean less time for pupils with resource teachers and larger class sizes.

Meanwhile, the Central Bank is expected to allow banks to take tracker mortgages off households in arrears.

“It would be better if Bono had lunch with Vladimir Putin,” a distressed householder said. “We’d know where we stood.”

Central Bank finally intervenes on behalf of beleaguered banks

Friday, 21 June 2013

The unfair suffering of banks in our society could be coming to an end after the Central Bank finally intervened on their behalf.

Banks have spent years under the thumb of callous homeowners in arrears who have failed to pay all or part of their mortgages.

“People who lost their jobs or who have been taxed to the point of extinction have stopped paying their full mortgages without a thought for the banks,” a Central Bank spokesman said.

“To put a stop to this callous behaviour by delinquent homeowners we’ve decided to make it easier for banks to repossess their homes.”
“It’s what we do,” he added. “The clue is in the name.”

Read previous weeks’ editions of The Mire’s Not the News >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 23 comments
23 Comments
    Mute Lloyd Christmas
    Favourite Lloyd Christmas
    Jun 22nd 2013, 10:52 AM

What a knob

Mute Max Power
    Favourite Max Power
    Jun 22nd 2013, 12:05 PM

Let’s all just agree he’s a pr1ck and move on!

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Jun 22nd 2013, 1:10 PM

I agree!

Eric
    Mute Eric
    Favourite Eric
    Jun 22nd 2013, 1:58 PM

Ah Bono, you’re an easy target for all the trendy lefties. The comments about him are a textbook example of the Irish begrudging success. Who cares if he talks about himself too much ? Judge someone by their actions rather than their words. The man has done amazing work as an ambassador for Ireland and for using his status to promote worthy causes, instead of turning into a money grubbing ass like Mick Jagger who sees the fans as cash cows to be milked over and over.

I don’t give a shite about the taxes thing either to be honest because U2 make a small single digit percentage of their income from Ireland . Why would you pay taxes in a country where everyone slags you off?

Mute Vincent Bickerstaffe
    Favourite Vincent Bickerstaffe
    Jun 22nd 2013, 2:19 PM

On the ball Eric

Mute onlybuzzinwitcha
    Favourite onlybuzzinwitcha
    Jun 22nd 2013, 10:54 AM

Ha ha. Bono actually has the biggest head in that photo. Ha ha

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Jun 22nd 2013, 1:10 PM

No matter how much you might dislike his grandiose attitude, he has been nominated for the Nobel peace prize 3 times and through his ability to get personal meetings with G8 World leaders over the past 20 years, he has become the biggest single fundraiser in the world – having achieved billions in cancelled debt for the Third World.

Mute Don Pleas
    Favourite Don Pleas
    Jun 22nd 2013, 10:27 AM

I saw an ad on rte last night for some rerun of an interview with bono and gay Byrne. It reminded me of the reprogramming scene from a clockwork orange.

Mute zebedee
    Favourite zebedee
    Jun 22nd 2013, 10:50 AM

Easy to have a pop at Bono, he’s just like you you know.
    A normal poor working class lad from Artane…Glasnevin….Finglas…Ballymun?!

Rose
    Mute Rose
    Favourite Rose
    Jun 22nd 2013, 11:55 AM

Grow up he is loaded,and doesn’t pay a penny tax

Mute Alan Lawlor
    Favourite Alan Lawlor
    Jun 22nd 2013, 1:04 PM

@Rose: Missed the sarcasm. Did we have a late one last night? Not yet had some coffee?

Mute Gis Bayertz
    Favourite Gis Bayertz
    Jun 22nd 2013, 1:12 PM

Please don’t say he’s like me!

Mute onlybuzzinwitcha
    Jun 22nd 2013, 6:22 PM

I apologise on behalf of zebedee to anyone living in or from the areas mentioned above. Being told you’re just like Bono is an insult in its lowest form.

Mute Vincent Bickerstaffe
    Favourite Vincent Bickerstaffe
    Jun 22nd 2013, 3:30 PM

Yes lets all blame Bono… That will fix the problems and why should he pay taxes of money he earns outside this country… Been successful in this country is a crime these days… Ask Google and Apple to pay all their taxes of their global earning see if that washes.

Mute Michael G O'Reilly
    Favourite Michael G O'Reilly
    Jun 22nd 2013, 11:03 AM

Wasn’t Mary Mitchell O’Connor a right lookin eejit down in Dalkey !!

Mute onlybuzzinwitcha
    Jun 22nd 2013, 10:48 AM

“So Bono, you have had quite a successful career in music so far. Do you ever think of giving it one last go? I mean, what the world wants to see now is Brian McFadden back in the band for one last tour. What do you say?”

Mute Um Haroun
    Favourite Um Haroun
    Jun 22nd 2013, 1:16 PM

Wonder what faustian bargain ‘macphisto’ had to make to get this high up in the world.

Mute Alice ORiordan
    Favourite Alice ORiordan
    Jun 22nd 2013, 2:03 PM

I really want to say something about his hair..you know what I mean??

Mute Mick Tully
    Favourite Mick Tully
    Jun 22nd 2013, 1:35 PM

Is he standing on Mickey Dees box to let him see over the car.

Mute Paul Cotrulia
    Favourite Paul Cotrulia
    Jun 22nd 2013, 1:13 PM

He never got over being up staged by Saint Bob

Mute Maria Dardis
    Favourite Maria Dardis
    Jun 22nd 2013, 4:38 PM

Eat something that will make you sick then throw up all over him!!!!

Mute onlybuzzinwitcha
    Jun 22nd 2013, 6:24 PM

Thats a bit weird.

Mute Jane Tyler
    Favourite Jane Tyler
    May 24th 2014, 7:20 PM

My Name is jane, From United Kingdom. I wish to share my testimonies
    with the general public about what this man called DR chris has just
    done for me , this man has just brought back my lost Ex husband to me
    with his great spell, I was married to this man called judge we were
    together for a long time and we loved our self’s but when I was unable
    to give him a child for 2 years he left me and told me he can’t
    continue anymore then I was now looking for ways to get him back until
    a friend of mine told me about this man and gave his contact
    email(christsolutioncenter93@gmail.com) then you won’t believe this
    when I contacted this man on my problems he prepared this spell cast
    and bring my lost husband back, and after a month I miss my month and
    go for a test and the result stated am pregnant am happy today am a
    mother of a baby girl, thank you once again the great DR chris for
    what you have done for me, if you are out there passing through any of
    this problems listed below:

1) If you want your ex back.
    (2) if you always have bad dreams.
    (3) You want to be promoted in your office.
    (4) You want women/men to run after you.
    (5) If you want a child.
    (6) You want to be rich.
    (7) You want to tie your husband/wife to be
    yours forever.
    (8) If you need financial assistance.
    (9) How you been scammed and you want to recover you lost money