You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Here’s What Happened Today: Sunday

The Chinese Premier, Rosanna Davison and a serious incident at a motorbike race have got people talking.

NEED TO CATCH up? TheJournal.ie brings you a round up of today’s news.

© Clare Keogh and Ornua Florence Gramende, Alice Parsons and Molly Andersons from Ballymaloe Cookery School at the Kerrygold Ballymaloe LitFest © Clare Keogh and Ornua © Clare Keogh and Ornua

IRISH

INTERNATIONAL

France Cannes Carol Press Conference Actress Cate Blanchett at the Cannes Film Festival Lionel Cironneau / AP/Press Association Images Lionel Cironneau / AP/Press Association Images / AP/Press Association Images

#CANNES: Actress Cate Blanchett has shot down speculation that she has a real-life gay past. 

#SOUTH AFRICA: The mother of Reeva Steemkamp has said that an August release for good behaviour for Oscar Pistorius would be too soon. 

#UK: Thomas Cook has apologised to the parents of children killed by a faulty boiler while on holiday in Corfu. 

#UNITED STATES: A US politician has admitted to a plot to burn down a Muslim community in New York. 

INNOVATION

Tim Cook, the CEO of Apple, has said that Steve Jobs’ vision for the company to change the world has come true, thanks to iPhone cameras allowing people to capture the world’s injustices. [The Guardian]

PARTING SHOT

An Armenian taxi driver has become a viral hit after giving an impromtu speech about, strangely enough, transport regulation.  [BBC]

• To catch up on the top five stories YOU were clicking on through TheJournal.ie and DailyEdge‘s social media feeds, catch up with our editor Susan Daly on RTÉ Radio One Extra’s The Feed. Listen to the whole show here> 

Read: Rosanna Davison has slammed this ‘misleading headline’ and says she is 100% feminist

Also: Ireland rolled out the red carpet for China’s second most powerful man today

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

Comments
    Mute Emmet
    Favourite Emmet
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:33 PM

And…it shouldn’t be left up overnight. There are quite a few State bodies that fly the tricolour but don’t remember to drop it at sunset.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:38 PM

It can be flown at night if illuminated, which very rarely happens. This shouldn’t meant that the flag is NEVER lowered, which happens all too often. Clery’s should be ashamed of the flags they have atop their building.

Feb 8th 2014, 7:55 PM

That’s very interesting lads, I never copped that about Clerys before. Maybe they might start to get it right after this.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Feb 8th 2014, 8:12 PM

Flag up at sunrise and down at sunset. If you’re passing the US embassy at either time, you can see the Marines doing that.

Mute Emmet
    Favourite Emmet
    Feb 8th 2014, 10:44 PM

Not sure if that’s quite right Fergal. Sunset and a Sunrise are defined in the protocol. I agree about Clerys though. You’d think an institution as old as that would know better.

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Favourite Marilyn Maroney
    Feb 8th 2014, 11:42 PM

Right and should never touch the ground, and shouldn’t be all ratty, if it’s torn and shredded, it should be replaced, and that’s the only time it should be burned.

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:08 PM

Any one remember many years ago when Linkin Park stood on the Irish flag by accident and got bottled by the crowd?

Mute Séamus Mc Allister
    Favourite Séamus Mc Allister
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:17 PM

That time they opened for Metallica? Did they not just get bottled for being shite?

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:36 PM

Yeah thats the one. I think standing on the flag was the go ahead for the crowd to bottle them for being shite. They were a terrible supporting act.

Mute Shane Kearney
    Favourite Shane Kearney
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:45 PM

I could of been given 100 guesses as to what a thread that would come up on the comments section of this article would be, but by god I would not have guessed Linkin Park

Mute Up Yours
    Favourite Up Yours
    Feb 8th 2014, 7:54 PM

Don’t turn it upside down or it becomes the Ivory Coast flag.

Mute men in black hoods
    Favourite men in black hoods
    Feb 8th 2014, 8:05 PM

That’s when the prods will burn it

Mute Rachel Deane
    Favourite Rachel Deane
    Feb 9th 2014, 1:00 AM

Can someone confirm, did David gray (or grey) the singer burn a tricolour before on stage? I remember someone telling me this

Mute Declan McCabe
    Favourite Declan McCabe
    Feb 9th 2014, 9:35 AM

I thought it was Lost Prophets who got bottled at a Metallica gig? Or is it another one prior to 2004?

Mute Chris Hopper
    Favourite Chris Hopper
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:17 PM

The tricolor will be a collectors item in a few years take a look at most schools round the country 3 flag poles outside most will have an enviromental flag and a big dirty EU flag up and no tricolor at all. I asked my kids principal why our school doesnt have a tricolor and he just laughed at me. I asked was the EU flag some form of indoctrination for the kids he just laughed at me. I offered him a tricolor and he refused.
    Theres no respect for our flag anymore. I owe no loyalty to a blue rag & stars on it.

Mute John Williams
    Favourite John Williams
    Feb 8th 2014, 11:24 PM

Well then if you have no respect for the EU don’t drive on any of the motorways built between 1998 and 2012 as they were all 85% funded by the EU. Irish people don’t realise how good they have it sometimes! The EU paying to bail out proxy banks out! Could you imagine the state we would be in without them and the mountain of debt or stupid government had build up on the back of the wa@&€r bankers! You should join ukip cos that’s who you sound like!!

Mute Rachel O' Meara
    Favourite Rachel O' Meara
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:09 PM

First unfurled on Irish soil in 1848 at 33 the Mall in Waterford city

Mute Caolán McKenna
    Favourite Caolán McKenna
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:45 PM

Is it okay to burn the Irish flag? As happens at 90÷ of loyalist bonfires across the North yet nothing is said from authorities, southern media or the Irish government?

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Favourite AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:58 PM

Caplan
    No it is not, it is not right to burn ant nations flag. Problem is burning of flags normally takes place during didturbances/riots and any move on the burners could aggravate the situation.

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:59 PM

Aics
    Sorry Caolan bloody auto correct and other spelling errors

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:21 PM

You only feel outraged about that because of the culture you’ve been raised in. The respect we place on coloured pieces of cloth is arbitrary.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:41 PM

It’s perfectly okay to burn the flag as a symbol of protest. Well, legal anyway.

Feb 8th 2014, 8:06 PM

It should be illegal to disrespect the flag. Knobs that write on it really ought to be thoroughly ashamed of themselves.

Mute Mary Kavanagh
    Favourite Mary Kavanagh
    Feb 8th 2014, 8:13 PM

It’s not arbitary and the respect is for the symbolism of the green, white and orange.

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Feb 8th 2014, 8:13 PM

Flag burning is freedom of expression.

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Feb 8th 2014, 8:26 PM

If you ever go to Florida and see a car around the Orlando area with reg plate IRE1916, give me a wave :)

Feb 8th 2014, 8:33 PM

Fair enough, I was on the Hill the day they burnt the Union Jack. One of the maddest things I’ve seen on the Hill.

Mute Dagnet Taggart
    Favourite Dagnet Taggart
    Feb 8th 2014, 9:24 PM

Must burn the EU flag one day at a demo and lets see what happens.

Mute Marilyn Maroney
    Favourite Marilyn Maroney
    Feb 8th 2014, 10:56 PM

And if ever in Chicago and see one that says EYERISH, give me a wave

Mute Robert Moore
    Favourite Robert Moore
    Feb 8th 2014, 11:30 PM

It’s funny how a third of the flag they burn, is a symbol for themselves

Mute Neil Murphy
    Favourite Neil Murphy
    Feb 9th 2014, 3:20 AM

Acknowledging flag-burners or banning it will just make it more prevalent. Just sit back and think how stupid it is loyalists burning the orange section. Also, at some point they had to spend money on an Irish flag. I’d feel like a right knob buying a union jack. They’re to be pitied.

Mute Martin O Donnell
    Favourite Martin O Donnell
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:16 PM

We should all fly our flag outside our houses like the way our american cousins do…

Mute Ben Frank
    Favourite Ben Frank
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:33 PM

We need to have something to be proud of first though

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:07 PM

We could, if we aspired to be like ignorant rednecks in the US. Or copy a significant number of loyalists/unionists in Northern Ireland in feeling so insecure about our identity we feel the need to fly flags from our homes.

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:18 PM

The worst handling of the Irish flag was during the Queen’s visit, the Garda threw Irish flags into a wast truck that they had taken from people.

Mute Jason O Neill
    Favourite Jason O Neill
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:16 PM

Does not give the correct way to fold the flag

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:20 PM

Like most European nations there is no correct way to fold the flag unlike the US. The flag is in fact rolled when it is to be “cracked out” as part of a salute, and does not open out until top of the post and the salute is made.

Mute Vocal Outrage
    Favourite Vocal Outrage
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:25 PM

Actually, there is a specified way to fold the national flag such the the green and orange is always separated by the white portion

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:35 PM

But that’s part of the flags design or not

Mute pat James buchannan
    Favourite pat James buchannan
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:55 PM

Steve …. There is a specific way to fold our national flag and it is written in law

If it is flown by a state rep it also requires a six man group to do correctly

My father as a officer to the state had the responsibility of hoisting it every day and securely storing it at night

Also it should never touch the ground, be draped in water or through trees or dirt , should never be defaced (written on for sporting events) should never be hung on a vehicle unless presented as a represention of state
    There is so much more and I think you should research

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:53 PM

Pat,
    I’m aware of all this and it’s the same with most national flags.
    I was referring to the folding in answer to someone’s question as said as far as I am aware there is no regulation regarding folding other than with respect and not touching ground etc. if I’m wrong then apologies if anyone is upset.

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:00 PM

Pat,
    See my answer immediately below and to Conor who described the method of folding. Thanks

Mute Fergal Reid
    Favourite Fergal Reid
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:40 PM

When I was I scouts, we always folded it in triangular sections. It’s a lot cleaner than the apparent official method, which is in rectangular sections.

Mute Stuart Hyland
    Favourite Stuart Hyland
    Feb 8th 2014, 7:02 PM

Green and orange should not touch when folded.

Feb 8th 2014, 8:10 PM

Really Stuart? Again that’s very interesting.. loving this comments section

Mute Stuart Hyland
    Favourite Stuart Hyland
    Feb 8th 2014, 9:01 PM

Yes Jamie,it’s plastered all over the comments section,

Mute Steve M
    Favourite Steve M
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:30 PM

It’s a shame people don’t put tricolours outside their homes. As one poster said there seems to be more EU flags around than our national flag on public buildings which is a disgrace. It’s not the flag that is the problem but us….we have not yet lived up to the ideals the flag represents

Mute Gobblor
    Favourite Gobblor
    Feb 8th 2014, 8:25 PM

“It’s a shame people don’t put tricolours outside their homes.”

Council houses do during the World Cup.

Mute Patrick Kennedy
    Favourite Patrick Kennedy
    Feb 9th 2014, 10:20 AM

Don’t worry. That’s not the case at alt :) And they are quite particular about it have it in the right position in Brussels too :)

Mute Stanley Groves
    Favourite Stanley Groves
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:41 PM

It should be a Golden harp and a green background

Mute Jonny Baxter
    Favourite Jonny Baxter
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:13 PM

It’s just a piece of material with three colours on it. It’s not a symbol of who I am.

Mute Declan Carr
    Favourite Declan Carr
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:20 PM

Well then if you dont like it here move out

Mute Sean Troy
    Favourite Sean Troy
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:32 PM

It’s more of an optimistic symbol of one of the things we should strive to be. A non-sectarian society. It may have been a much bigger problem in days gone past, but what true Irish citizen doesn’t want an Ireland without fear or bigotry? That’s what the flag means. It actually has a lot of United Ireland overtones that are probably inappropriate in today’s world but it’s still a good ideal to strive for.

Mute pat James buchannan
    Favourite pat James buchannan
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:58 PM

You are right jonnie baxter….. It will never be anything to you ….. Thank god

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:56 PM

Sean
    Don’t know so much about it being inappropriate nowadays. Think it’s still something worth striving for, peacefully of course

Mute Sean Troy
    Favourite Sean Troy
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:07 PM

I’m far from a Unionist, I’m just apathetic towards the whole issue. A United Ireland is never going to happen and nor should it. In an ideal world, a United Ireland is a beautiful sentiment but it just isn’t practical. There are two main reasons why:
    1) It isn’t as economically productive as the South, probably as a result of the violence but they also haven’t been as innovative as attracting foreign investment. Much like when Germany was unified, we would have to prop up the North just as West Germany supported East Germany. There would be enormous economic imbalances and it would cost a fortune to police just as it does now amongst other issues. There would be a lot of underlying tensions just as there are in Germany today that would take a long time to go away.
    2) Just like the IRA got used to blowing up buildings during the troubles, you’d have some sort of paramilitary group of Unionists coming down to Dublin to start blowing up stuff. The violence would not end, there are too many people who would struggle violently to remain in the United Kingdom and the Republic does not want that problem.

Basically, it’s more trouble than it’s worth. The only benefits are a sense of unity but that would quickly vanish when the first bombing happens in a shopping centre and the budget for policing the situation shoots through the roof. Personally, I’m more of a federalist. I like the idea of a stronger and more unified Europe as a whole and become an Economic superpower to rival China and India. People don’t realise that we need strength in unity going forwards in an ever more dangerous world with dwindling resources. But a United Ireland is just an idea, it shouldn’t and won’t ever happen.

Mute Gar Kavanagh
    Favourite Gar Kavanagh
    Feb 9th 2014, 9:37 AM

You sound like one of those patriotic ( stupid ) Americans.

Mute Sean Troy
    Favourite Sean Troy
    Feb 9th 2014, 4:46 PM

Me? Quite the opposite, I don’t give a shit about nationalism. That’s the point. I see myself as European before Irish. When I go to Poland or other European countries I never feel like I’m in foreign territory.

Mute Gar Kavanagh
    Favourite Gar Kavanagh
    Feb 9th 2014, 5:08 PM

Ah, I apologize, took that comment up wrong,

Mute Dermot O Dwyer
    Favourite Dermot O Dwyer
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:16 PM

Davy Keogh says hello………………..

Mute Nicko Farrell
    Favourite Nicko Farrell
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:54 PM

Wnker!

Mute Banking Bad
    Favourite Banking Bad
    Feb 9th 2014, 9:38 AM

Have him arrested at once.

Mute Brian Wilson
    Favourite Brian Wilson
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:01 PM

As a reader that lives in the US but is planning on moving to Ireland, I found it surprising to read that the flag isn’t flown in more places, especially homes.

I have an Irish flag flying on my property here in North Carolina.

Btw, I use this trick to remember if it’s right side up or not: G for green and O for orange. G comes before O in the alphabet. :)

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Feb 8th 2014, 9:06 PM

I’m living in Florida and our Home Owners Association will not allow flags of any country to be flow from your property. Funny thing, all the HOA members are British living in England!

Mute Larry Molloy
    Favourite Larry Molloy
    Feb 23rd 2015, 11:41 PM

Right yeah. All flags are made with means of attacment on the standard side. Dur….

Mute Conor O'Shea
    Favourite Conor O'Shea
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:01 PM

Fold an irish flag. 2 ppl end to end. Always keeping tight. Fold length ways in half twice. Then taking the orange corner fold repeatedly into triangles until you reach the end.if done properly you should finish with the doubled stitched end with the pleats for the rope of a flag being the only bit that is not part of the folded triangle sections.

Mute AICS (Steve Tracey)
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:54 PM

Conor,
    Thank you I stand corrected

Mute Conor O'Shea
    Favourite Conor O'Shea
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:09 PM

You will have people who say you fold it as described above so the green and orange don’t touch. Not sure go true this is. It’s the way I was thought and it’s what I pass on

Mute stephen
    Favourite stephen
    Feb 8th 2014, 8:10 PM

@ Conor just as a matter of interest where did u learn to fold the flag

Mute Conor O'Shea
    Favourite Conor O'Shea
    Feb 8th 2014, 8:43 PM

Scouts :) 1 of many things I’ve learnt in it. Fantastic organisation

Mute Trevor Timpson
    Favourite Trevor Timpson
    Feb 8th 2014, 8:54 PM

#scoutingireland #scoutsIE

Mute Ronnie Maher
    Favourite Ronnie Maher
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:56 PM

I put mine up every Easter without fail.

Mute Sean Hyland
    Favourite Sean Hyland
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:18 PM

Soon to be a local parish or sporting flag when the Blue and gold stars takes over. For our own good of course.

Mute Larry Molloy
    Favourite Larry Molloy
    Feb 23rd 2015, 11:51 PM

Seeing as there are 28 countries in the EU why are there only twelve stars on it? i know the answer

Mute Timmay Timeo
    Favourite Timmay Timeo
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:37 PM

The gold or yellow was the preferred colour for the sectarian Irish. A blind refusal to even consider the possibility of reconciliation with our unionist brothers,.

Mute Dom AcePlazo
    Favourite Dom AcePlazo
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:36 PM

Is Pizza Hut buffet on today, or not.

Mute Darren Gold
    Favourite Darren Gold
    Feb 9th 2014, 12:16 AM

It boils my blood to see people writting on it, wearing it as an item of clothing or throwing the national flag around the pub. Cop the F on and have a little respect for it!

Mute Shawn Rahoon
    Favourite Shawn Rahoon
    Feb 9th 2014, 1:18 AM

Darren. Totally agree.

Mute Donncha Mac Fhionnlaoich
    Favourite Donncha Mac Fhionnlaoich
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:12 PM

There is a difference between the national flag and the tri colour.

The national flag is twice the length as its width.

Wouldn’t know this except for a quick thinking army officer who was asked a question when Garret Fitzgerald dropped the flag as Taoiseach!

Mute micheal285
    Favourite micheal285
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:53 PM

The small flag is known as a storm flag : the smaller the flag the less chance it has of getting wrapped around the pole in stormy conditions.

Mute David Barr
    Favourite David Barr
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:03 PM

We could have a plain white flag for surrender.

Mute Qwerty
    Favourite Qwerty
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:13 PM

I always find the Canadian flag to look whimsical (in a nice way). You could never imagine some right-wing movement using a flag like that! Or angry protesters burning a flag with a leaf on it.

Mute Official Podge
    Favourite Official Podge
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:59 PM

And don’t forget that the flag must never be allowed to hang at an angle of less than 72 degrees.. yada yada yada…
    Who gives a shite really? It’s just a bit of cloth and countries are just lines on maps.
    While it can be a bit of craic for things like soccer/rugby matches, nationalism is ultimately idiotic and just a tool for governments and corporations to control and exploit the masses.

Mute Deborah Carroll
    Favourite Deborah Carroll
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:47 PM

I know that I’ve very little to worry about, but it drives me nuts when people hold it upside down, remember right hand green and left hand orange.

Mute Official Podge
    Favourite Official Podge
    Feb 8th 2014, 7:01 PM

They could be from the Ivory Coast…

Mute King Olaf
    Favourite King Olaf
    Feb 8th 2014, 7:55 PM

Bloody Ivorians coming over here and stealing our flags!

Mute Alan Rothwell
    Favourite Alan Rothwell
    Feb 8th 2014, 9:22 PM

Upside down, the flag is the same! BACKWARDS makes it the Ivory Coast

Mute robert power
    Favourite robert power
    Feb 8th 2014, 6:08 PM

Green represents gaeilge, white for peace ,orange for William orange the north!!

Mute Dec Moyles
    Favourite Dec Moyles
    Feb 8th 2014, 8:32 PM

I’d love if people knew which way to hold the flag at any sporting event. The amount of times you will see it displayed backwards is unreal. It goes l-r green white then orange. Not that bloody hard!

Feb 8th 2014, 9:01 PM

I know that wrecks my head too

Feb 8th 2014, 9:04 PM

Like putting up an L-Plate arseways.

Mute John Swan
    Favourite John Swan
    Feb 8th 2014, 9:05 PM

I heard Merkel wipes her gant with one.

Mute Eugene McLaughlin
    Favourite Eugene McLaughlin
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:40 PM

With a name like Baxter I’m not surprised to see disrespect shown to our National Flag..

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Feb 8th 2014, 4:55 PM

Are there not more important things to be discussing?

Mute Sylvia Connolly
    Favourite Sylvia Connolly
    Feb 8th 2014, 7:39 PM

Why would I feel any need to fly the flag? I already know which country I live in, thanks. Unlike the Americans, that have to remind themselves, or something

Feb 8th 2014, 10:34 PM

I completely agree Sylvia. More than comfortable in my Irishness, no need to fly the flag all the time, it cheapens the value. Save it for special occasions and treat it with respect : )

Mute kingstown
    Favourite kingstown
    Feb 8th 2014, 5:41 PM

Wouldn’t mind a new flag. One not based on religion even if it meant to be a flag of inspiration.

Mute Dagnet Taggart
    Favourite Dagnet Taggart
    Feb 8th 2014, 9:23 PM

Best suggestion. Black back round with the word GUINNESS written on it..Or white back round with a picture of a pint of Guinness.Thats the only thing that unites Irish men North and South.

Mute Vicky Ni Dhulain
    Favourite Vicky Ni Dhulain
    Feb 9th 2014, 12:31 AM

Jason the green represents the nationalists traditions the orange represents the unionists traditions and white represents peace between the two the orange is not a representation of the English

Mute Cliff MacFarlane
    Favourite Cliff MacFarlane
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:59 AM

Also perfectly acceptable for a member of Garda Siochana to bin an Irish flag when the Queen of England visits!… (it’s on Youtube.)

Mute Larry Molloy
    Favourite Larry Molloy
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:25 AM

What Cliff? Freemasons throwing a freemasonic flag in a bin lorry? How ironic. Actually all this green and orange stuff has been a psyop. The legitimate flag of the Irish People is the starry plough in whatever version you prefer.

Mute Cliff MacFarlane
    Favourite Cliff MacFarlane
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:05 PM

Larry, new Republic, new flag, new anthem I say!… nothing but trouble since 1919.

Mute Richard McCann
    Favourite Richard McCann
    Feb 8th 2014, 11:01 PM

The Defence Forces have regulations governing how ‘they’ fly the flag. This gives guidance on orientation, size, arrangement with other flags, etc, but does not extend to folding.
    I recall that India largely copied our flag, as a gesture to acknowledge our early withdrawal from the ‘empire’, but can’t comment on the Ivory Coast.
    I find it strange how we struggle to celebrate our spence of identity, our ‘Irishness’, notably around our flag, Patricks Day, etc; trying to stay between Hollywood and Republicanism/ nationalism’.
    Interesting discussion, respect other peoples identity and cherish your own!

Mute Mack John
    Favourite Mack John
    Feb 8th 2014, 11:30 PM

http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/upload/publications/1104.pdf has most of the guidelines, the military version goes into more details regarding hoisting and lowering paying respect, also includes guard of honor for colors,I’m proud of my nations flag and it’s historical past.

Mute Fatima
    Favourite Fatima
    Feb 10th 2014, 1:24 AM

On the Indian flag, orange is used to represent Hinduism and the green is for Islam. The wheel is the symbol of an ancient Buddhist king. I don’t know if they were “copying” the Irish tricolour or the French. It’s a common flag design.

Mute Kristina Schroder
    Favourite Kristina Schroder
    Feb 9th 2014, 9:53 AM

Up at sunrise, down at sunset, we should all fly our flag, and be proud of it I do in my garden. Every day when I’m there.

Mute Vicky Ni Dhulain
    Favourite Vicky Ni Dhulain
    Feb 9th 2014, 12:13 AM

Mad to see this article I drove by superquinn in blanch tonight and was only saying now that they are changing to supervalue will they continue with the long tradition of raising and lowering the tri-colour everyday? Do all superquinns do the same with the tri-colour?

Mute Thomas Doyle
    Favourite Thomas Doyle
    Feb 9th 2014, 2:34 AM

We have a protocol department??

Mute Jason O Neill
    Favourite Jason O Neill
    Feb 8th 2014, 11:17 PM

Ok green stands for the irish people and the orange stands for english people or orange order. The white is to represent peace between the two countries. When folding the flag green will ly on one side of the white and the orange will ly on the oposite side .

Mute Catherine Mill
    Favourite Catherine Mill
    Feb 9th 2014, 12:46 AM