You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

PA Images

Twitter disables pro-Trump video after Linkin Park issue cease and desist over use of song

They are the latest band to take issue with use of their music by the Trump campaign.

TWITTER HAS DISABLED a campaign-style video retweeted by US President Donald Trump following a cease and desist order from band Linkin Park. 

The video, which featured the 2001 song In The End, had been posted by the President’s director of social media Dan Scavino and retweeted by Trump.

It was disabled by Twitter following the report of the copyright violation.

The band wrote on Twitter: “Linkin Park did not and does not endorse Trump, nor authorize his organization to use any of our music. A cease and desist has been issued.”

In The End is one of the group’s biggest hits featuring frontman Chester Bennington, who took his own life in 2017.

They are the latest musical group to take legal action against the Trump campaign and its supporters over use of songs.

The family of the late singer Tom Petty asked the US president to “cease and desist” from using the song I Won’t Back Down for campaigning purposes.

The Rolling Stones said Trump could face legal action if he continues to use one of their tracks at his campaign rallies.

The band announced their legal team was working with the world’s biggest performing rights organisation the BMI to stop him using their songs at any of his future political campaigning.

The BMI notified the Trump campaign that any future use of any Rolling Stones musical compositions will be in breach of its license agreement with the organisation.

Rock band Queen were not happy with Trump when he walked on stage to We Are The Champions during the Republic National Convention in Cleveland, Ohio, in the lead-up to the election that put him in the White House.

The band said on Twitter that it was “against our wishes” for the song to be used.

Adele’s hits Rolling In The Deep and Skyfall were played at Trump’s political rallies in 2016, prompting her spokesman to point out she had not given permission for her music to be used for any political campaigning.

Frontman Michael Stipe was furious after the band’s song It’s The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine) was played at a rally.

Trump also faced the US rockers’ ire when he retweeted a video of his State of the Union address accompanied by the band’s 1992 song Everybody Hurts.

The doleful ballad played as the camera panned to the faces of prominent Democrats looking downcast and irritated by Mr Trump’s speech.

The president has also been criticised by Pharrell Williams, Rihanna, the late Prince’s estate and Aerosmith for using their music at his rallies. 

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

View 73 comments
73 Comments
    Mute Will Phillips
    Favourite Will Phillips
    May 19th 2016, 10:21 AM

What Orwell failed to predict was that we would willing buy the cameras ourselves, and that our biggest fear was that no one was watching.

Mute Shelly Levine
    Favourite Shelly Levine
    May 19th 2016, 3:48 PM

Oh man you just blew my mind.

Mute Eyepopper
    Favourite Eyepopper
    May 19th 2016, 9:01 PM

Thats at least the second time I’ve seen you post that without giving credit to the person who said it.

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    May 20th 2016, 12:12 AM

To be or not to be

Mute Tom O'Connor
    Favourite Tom O'Connor
    May 19th 2016, 10:25 AM

One thing I saw on Facebook the other day annoyed me. It was a video some guy posted of him buying a car for his grandparents because theirs broke down and they couldn’t afford to get it fixed. Lovely gesture and all but he felt compelled to record it all and post it online like “Look at me, look how great I am” his grandfather started crying and when his daughter gave him a hug whoever was holding the camera told her to get out of the way. She thought getting the shot of him crying was more important.

Mute Derek Durkin
    Favourite Derek Durkin
    May 19th 2016, 11:11 AM

Its narcissistic behaviour, same with people doing charity work and plastering it all over social media. A lot of them only do it to potray some image of them as being absolutely marvellous people and while I’m on a rant the idea of people taking photos of every single thing they do in life gets on my wick. Use your brain to remember things you do and then maybe we wouldn’t be living in a world full of dumb motherf***ers.

Mute Sean Johnston
    Favourite Sean Johnston
    May 19th 2016, 11:39 AM

Watched it to the very end did you?

Mute Joe Murphy
    Favourite Joe Murphy
    May 19th 2016, 1:36 PM

Saw something similar only it was a ride on mower…

Mute Keith Daly
    Favourite Keith Daly
    May 19th 2016, 1:59 PM

So we figured out how to trick narcissists into being nice. Who cares what their intentions are, the behaviour has changed to everyone’s benefit.

Mute Shelly Levine
    Favourite Shelly Levine
    May 19th 2016, 3:51 PM

@ Joe. Bit exhibitionist having a ride on a mower? Not to mention dangerous.

Mute Midir
    Favourite Midir
    May 19th 2016, 7:50 PM

Sounds a bit satirical to me.

May 19th 2016, 11:32 PM

I say thank God they only show what they eat and not what they leave in the bowl.
    But the idea of sharing too much is not new, the German Martin Luther had a toilet in his office because he use to write letters about it and send them to all his friends who use to do the same. They were fascinated with their own poo…
    So the idea is not new just the technology, is poo watching narcistic???

Mute Kieran Stafford
    Favourite Kieran Stafford
    May 20th 2016, 12:13 AM

Only one thing. Several people on it annoy me

Mute alan nolan
    Favourite alan nolan
    May 19th 2016, 10:21 AM

U ok hun…. pm me

Mute Kieran Flex Finn
    Favourite Kieran Flex Finn
    May 19th 2016, 10:15 AM

Of course we are , hang on now and I find a pic of yesterday’s breakfast to share with everybody in my social media life

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    May 19th 2016, 10:41 AM

What’s with kids watching youtube vids of other kids playing with toys?

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Favourite BlueSkyThinking
    May 19th 2016, 10:45 AM

What with adults watching online videos of other adults having sex?

Mute BlueSkyThinking
    Favourite BlueSkyThinking
    May 19th 2016, 10:47 AM

I’m so outraged about social media that I’ll use my social media account to give out about it! – wait a minute…

Mute Anna Bee
    Favourite Anna Bee
    May 19th 2016, 10:51 AM

Think that’s more of a try before you buy kind of thing, a review to see if its worth buying, we’ve all been burned in that respect, Mr Frosty anyone?!

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    May 19th 2016, 10:56 AM

What is Mr Frosty?

Mute Anna Bee
    Favourite Anna Bee
    May 19th 2016, 11:05 AM

Popular toy in the early 90′s, most girls had one, it was supposed to make slushies, according to the ad you put ice and some flavouring in, turn a handle and hey presto you’ve got yourself an iced drink in reality however all you got was either a broken hand from trying to turn the handle or a broken Mr Frosty when you pushed the handle too much causing it to break, many dreams were crushed that year but sadly no ice :(.

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    May 19th 2016, 11:42 AM

So a slushie maker.

Don’t think I’d buy that ever,

Mute Shane Walsh
    Favourite Shane Walsh
    May 19th 2016, 11:48 AM

hahahahahaha touche

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    May 19th 2016, 12:00 PM

Damocles.. The amount of kids with channels on youtube is crazy!! My kids cant “unbox” a packet of smarties without “Hi guys, welcome to my channel, so like here is a box smorteez, they come in all colours. My mom got them in the grocery store. If u like this video, please hit subscribe”…They regularly ask me if i would set up a You Tube channel for them. And i’m like.. No way

Mute Damocles
    Favourite Damocles
    May 19th 2016, 12:26 PM
    Mute Anthony malone
    Favourite Anthony malone
    May 19th 2016, 10:38 AM

I even shared this article

Mute mcgoo
    Favourite mcgoo
    May 19th 2016, 10:15 AM

The people who use social media infrequently and then occasionally overkill to boast about a holiday/kids stuff/illness etc are truly the worst.

Lily
    Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    May 19th 2016, 11:33 AM

Perhaps they are sharing with their mother/ father who lives in a different country. You don’t have to look at the pics or read about their kids achievements. Of course they are proud of their kids.

I have a friend who travels to the most weird and wonderful places, I love looking at where he has been. He travels to 4/5 places a year.

Mute Ruth Pender
    Favourite Ruth Pender
    May 19th 2016, 11:42 AM

Happy birthday to my best friend. The one who has helped me through the good times and bad. You are *insert 3/4 descriptive words* ….. blah blah blah… LOVE YOU TO THE MOON AND BACK – that really gets on my nerves. Like why the moon?

Mute Shane Walsh
    Favourite Shane Walsh
    May 19th 2016, 11:49 AM

Nothing worse than seeing some Indian lad share a photograph of some horrifically burned woman begging you to like & share it or else you will get 7 years bad luck.

Mute Aidan Duggan
    Favourite Aidan Duggan
    May 19th 2016, 11:21 AM

You look gorgeous Hun X

Mute Tensing Norgay
    Favourite Tensing Norgay
    May 19th 2016, 11:29 AM

yeah the faux fawning and virtual ass kissing is something else . women ye know who ye are . omg , gorgeous , amazing

Lily
    Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    May 19th 2016, 10:04 AM

Considering I grew up in a family where nothing was spoken or shared outside the family, it’s kind of liberating.

Mute Will Phillips
    Favourite Will Phillips
    May 19th 2016, 11:05 AM

Why?

Lily
    Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    May 19th 2016, 11:28 AM

Because life was about what the neighbours would think or what granny would think. It was burdensome.

There is a weight lifted of ones shoulders when you don’t care what people think and openly being who you are.

Now people can be who they are. Not afraid to be different.

All those young girls that were shipped off to the laundries because of what people would think.

If I have to put up with people’s food pics it’s a small price to pay for freedom.

Mute Will Phillips
    Favourite Will Phillips
    May 19th 2016, 11:48 AM

“Because life was about what the neighbours would think or what granny would think. It was burdensome.” ………Yeah ‘with’ social media, that’s still a problem. Perhaps even more so.

For example, my younger cousin would constantly post about going on drinking binges and doing silly antics, and then his parents, the whole extended family including our Grandmother would see it.

Also, it’s a potential risk for jobseekers as employers do background checks on people by seeing the things they willing post up.

Lily
    Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    May 19th 2016, 12:20 PM

It’s up to him if he wants to share or not. When he matures he can hide all posts by going into Facebook settings so the public can’t see. If he friends his boss he can put them as an acquaintance so the boss can’t see certain posts.

ATM He obviously doesn’t care what people think about his party antics. And quite enjoys doing silly stuff.

Many parents don’t find out what silly antics their kids did until years later.

Mute Will Phillips
    Favourite Will Phillips
    May 19th 2016, 12:23 PM

“Many parents don’t find out what silly antics their kids did until years later.”

Except, now they find out the moment their kids post them up.

Lily
    Mute Lily
    Favourite Lily
    May 19th 2016, 1:12 PM

That they do…

Mute Brian Deane
    Favourite Brian Deane
    May 19th 2016, 8:15 PM

In time, social media will be viewed not as an agent for liberation but one for enslavement. Social media encourages the worst herd instints in people which combined with a police state type enforcement of political correctness means that it will be viewed as a negative human development. Facebook etc is all about money nothing else.

Mute Jason Twomey
    Favourite Jason Twomey
    May 19th 2016, 10:01 AM

“Is a livestreamed birth a step too far?”

It wasn’t intentional.

Mute Anna Bee
    Favourite Anna Bee
    May 19th 2016, 10:25 AM

I agree it wasn’t but there’s idiots on YouTube and other places doing it everyday of the week. Nothing is private anymore zillions of pictures of kids, animals, food, their granny, everyone posts exactly what they are doing too even if it’s a mundane task like cleaning the house to taking a shower. If they are going anywhere they ‘check in’ even if it’s dropping the kids to school or going to the local chipper and if that doesn’t get them the attention they crave there’s always the old reliable of ‘not able’ tagged with ‘feeling fed up’ to which others respond with ‘u ok hun? sent a pm there’ it’s enough to make you want to rip your eyes from your sockets and throw them at the screen so you dont have to look at such sh*t. And before anyone says just block them fact is everyone eventually starts to do it because sadly it’s become the norm.

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    May 19th 2016, 11:00 AM

You ok Hun?

See 13 more replies ▾
    Mute Anna Bee
    Favourite Anna Bee
    May 19th 2016, 11:09 AM

Careful now!

Mute Alan b
    Favourite Alan b
    May 19th 2016, 11:26 AM

Sent you a pm Hun

Mute Jason Twomey
    Favourite Jason Twomey
    May 19th 2016, 11:33 AM

Sounds like you need new FB friends, Anna – your comments & experiences reflect more on you and the company you keep. None of my FB friends check in when dropping kids to school, or going to the chipper, or post when they take a shower. Some check in to gigs or events – that’s it. They also never post “not able” or similar.

If you experience this on FB, maybe stop being friends with morons!?

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    May 19th 2016, 12:10 PM

Jason. I agree with you but sadly enough it has become the norm for “normal people” to show off every mundane thing their children get up to and every night out with the title “love my girlies”.. The things that gets me is pics of their dog asleep on the bed. Or wearing glasses. Or trying out his new bowl.

Mute Anna Bee
    Favourite Anna Bee
    May 19th 2016, 12:10 PM

Lucky you Jason however people do overshare way too much, like I said above it’s become the norm and judging by the comments here the ‘u ok hun’ thing is fairly common I’d say my experiences reflect people’s lack of self restraint when it comes to social media as most of them are actually fairly sound in real life and not moronic like you suggest.

Mute Sinead Hanley
    Favourite Sinead Hanley
    May 19th 2016, 12:20 PM

Anna Bee. You are right. I have a friend who is the nicest person you could meet. She shared a pic today of her 6 yr old son holding a certificate for taking part in a reading programme and said “So proud”… All the kids in the school got one for reading a book. She did nothing wrong by posting the pic but i cant help but think we should have a chat with ourselves before we post anything and say “Do people really want to know this?

Mute Jason Twomey
    Favourite Jason Twomey
    May 19th 2016, 12:22 PM

I disagree, Anna – from my experience the ones who are sound in real life don’t do any of this – because they’re self-aware. And the ones who are thick in real life, also happen to over-share crap all the time like cheap Ray Bans & telling us what colour BMW they’d like to win. If they’re thick online, they’re generally tick in real life too. Because common sense applies to real world & online.

So you need to re-evaluate your FB friends & cull the morons. Don’t assume all our friends are like yours.

Mute Jason Twomey
    Favourite Jason Twomey
    May 19th 2016, 12:25 PM

@Sinead – nice does not equal smart – so let’s not confuse the 2 here. Your friend may well be “the nicest person you could meet”, but she’s clearly a bit of a thick.

I seriously don’t know anyone who does this. I’ve seen a few in the past, but they got deleted quick and my real world opinion of them dropped significantly.

Mute Anna Bee
    Favourite Anna Bee
    May 19th 2016, 12:30 PM

Laughing at your response Jason, I mentioned them being sound not their intellectual ability, most people are friends with others in all walks of life (isn’t everyone), how should I go about it, what do you do, give them an IQ test?!

Mute Jason Twomey
    Favourite Jason Twomey
    May 19th 2016, 12:37 PM

“what do you do, give them an IQ test?!”

Ironically enough, they give themselves IQ tests on FB then share the results. Y’know those easy IQ tests that make you score high so you’ll share the results like a big thick.? Yeah, those.

But to answer your question – no I don’t give people an IQ test to know they’re stupid. If they share dumb stuff or make dumb posts, that’s how I know – so I just delete them & make a mental note that they’re stupid in real life too. “Huh – I never knew Damien was that gullible – now I know”.
    It’s really not complicated. You should do it too, rather than suffer through all the banal examples you gave in your first post.
    You just described the worst group of FB friends I can imagine. Yet they’re YOUR friends. And what’s worse, is that you can’t even figure out how to delete them.

Mute Anna Bee
    Favourite Anna Bee
    May 19th 2016, 12:38 PM

Sinead I had someone once post a pic of a dead goldfish with the words devastated R.I.P underneath it, she only had it two weeks, now I like animals but it was a f*cking goldfish, it’s like someone being attached to a rock, yes I know but it does happen eg Fr Jack and his brick but not in real life ffs, there was even talk of a burial and a eulogy at one point, after only two weeks…two f*cking weeks! Needless to say she was swiftly deleted.

Mute Anna Bee
    Favourite Anna Bee
    May 19th 2016, 12:53 PM

That’s my whole point Jason I’ve deleted all the ones who bugged me when I first started out on fb, everything was grand, no sh*t showing up on my feed then over time as more people spent more and more time on it they started doing the stuff I’d deleted everyone else for, I’ve a friend who’s got a masters in chemistry commenting amen on pictures of sick or injured kids, I’ve another who teaches primary school children sharing selfies of herself with everything, here’s me, here’s me with my dog, here’s me with my kid, here’s me with my food, here’s me with my glass of wine, here’s me with my new TV, here’s me with me new shoes, here’s me after going to the dentist, here’s me going to work while in the car and so on and so forth I’m sure you get the picture, my point is its so common place now everyone is doing it even those who aren’t ‘thick’ as you so eloquently put it, it’s just a sad fact of life at this stage.

Mute Jason Twomey
    Favourite Jason Twomey
    May 19th 2016, 1:00 PM

A a masters in chemistry doesn’t make you smart though. It means you’re academically capable. They’re not the same – especially if they comment with “Amen” on pictures of sick children. Those people are the highest level of dimwit.

Mute Ross Costello
    Favourite Ross Costello
    May 19th 2016, 10:10 AM

“Healthy baby born was born” that’s amazing

Mute John Mulligan
    Favourite John Mulligan
    May 19th 2016, 11:10 AM

NEWS FLASH. Millions of healthy babies born every day.

Mute The Girl
    Favourite The Girl
    May 19th 2016, 10:00 AM

Ronan please check your spelling for the poll question…

Mute Paul Mc Manus
    Favourite Paul Mc Manus
    May 19th 2016, 11:28 AM

Yes bit we share the wrong things. Leave it at that. I’m not sharing my thoughts today.

Mute 6ljJQRRU
    Favourite 6ljJQRRU
    May 19th 2016, 1:25 PM

Just the sad way society has gone. Natural
    conclusion really. Shows how weak humans are

Mute Reuben Gray
    Favourite Reuben Gray
    May 19th 2016, 3:17 PM

Just a minute while I share this article on Facebook and tag a friend.

Mute Daniel Patrick Carry
    Favourite Daniel Patrick Carry
    May 19th 2016, 2:10 PM

Friend of mine sent me a pic of their toilet paper post wiping to see if I thought his scheisse was a strange colour or was it just him…he wasn’t even joking. Can’t help but think it wouldn’t have happened if we were still using telegrams

May 19th 2016, 11:26 PM

If a woman can go on TV to show off her vaginal prolapse then anything is possible, I am just waiting on STIbook to start?

Mute Ruth Pender
    Favourite Ruth Pender
    May 19th 2016, 10:49 PM

People who check in at hospitals…. grrrrrrr

Mute Carmel Mulchrone
    Favourite Carmel Mulchrone
    May 20th 2016, 12:15 PM

I was living very comfortably until i lost my job and gradually things was getting rough due to not being able to get another job and i pay my bills with no help from anyone thus i choosed to live on my own, it gives me more freedom and ability to reach my goal. I decided to seek for an online jobs since it was difficult getting a job and run across a forum were hackers advertised their blank ATM cards worth millions, i saw this as a joke but still decided to see how it works so i emailed (atmclassicalworldhacker.hackersworld@outlook.com). Few days later i checked and saw that someone replied to me requesting for money and information i was at first skeptical but i gave them all they required for m to get the card, but i was so so surprised to receive a package from the courier after seven(7) days and to the greatest shock of my life i was holding a card sent to me by this hackers which really made me to be a rich woman beyond my imaginations. All thanks to CLASSICAL HACKERS (atmclassicalworldhacker.hackersworld@outlook.com)

May 19th 2016, 11:27 PM

I share real bad sarcasm and people take it that it is genuine :(