You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Damien O'Neill, Paul Moore and Derek Byrne. Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

"We are winning this campaign": Families tell water protesters to stop hunger strike

The call comes amid reports that the three protesters who had been on hunger strike – Paul “Ollie” Moore, Derek Byrne and Damien O’Neill – had ended their action.

THE FAMILIES OF the four water meter protesters jailed last week have urged them to come home strong.

The call comes amid reports that the three protesters who had been on hunger strike – Paul “Ollie” Moore, Derek Byrne and Damien O’Neill – had ended their action.

A statement released on behalf of families of the three men and Bernie Hughes, who was also jailed for contempt of court, urges the four to come back “strong and healthy to continue the campaign”.

A fifth man, Michael Batty, is out of the country for medical reasons and is expected to purge his contempt when he returns.

The families also welcomed what they termed the “overwhelming solidarity” expressed by individuals and communities up and down the country.

“Our loved ones – Ollie, Bernie, Damien and Derek – have sacrificed enough in our struggle against austerity, and we send them this message:

“Your jailing is a mark of your commitment to your families, your communities and our campaign. You have given the Irish people license to stand on their own two feet and believe in what they are fighting for.

“We are winning this campaign. You would not be in prison if we were not winning. We need you all to come out of jail strong and healthy, so that we can continue together on the road to victory. We are therefore appealing to you to stop refusing sustenance, and to concentrate on building up your strength.”

Today’s Irish Independent quotes Anti-Austerity Alliance TD Paul Murphy as saying the three men had ended their hunger strike, though this has been disputed.

He added the men were no longer on 23-hour lockdown in prison.

Protests for Labour conference

Meanwhile, Ireland Says No has released details of its planned national anti-austerity demonstration in Killarney.

It will coincide with the Labour Party Conference next Saturday in Killarney.

The rally will meet at 12 noon at Market Cross, before marching to the Labour Party conference. It is anticipated that there will be a number of speakers who will address the crowd.

At last weekend’s Fine Gael Ard Fheis, there was heavy security, and around 170 protesters turned up outside the venue.

Read: Gardaí called to Cork City Council after water protesters storm meeting

Read: In photos: Two men arrested after water meter van blocked with staff inside

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

196 Comments
    Mute Donnachaín Ní Uallacháin
    Favourite Donnachaín Ní Uallacháin
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:09 AM

Hilarious! They were on ‘hunger strike’ for all of a day, if I’m right. I’m seriously tired of all this nonsense.

Mute fergalreid
    Favourite fergalreid
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:17 AM

This is what happens when the hard left and the head bangers gain control of a movement. I *promise* you that there is no-one cheering these eejits on more than Fine Gael. These are now the faces of the anti-Irish Water campaign and they’re unpopular faces at that.

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:20 AM

i think everyone was cheering these idiots on :D

Derek should write a book ‘My few hours on hunger strike’ :D

See 19 more replies ▾
    Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:25 AM

Who goes on hunger strike when Cadburys Cream Eggs are back on the menu?

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:29 AM

Coddle on a tuesday in the lockup- its breaks everyone :D

Mute Je Suis Ireland
    Favourite Je Suis Ireland
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:31 AM

The hard left my back side , look at the capitulation of the new Greek government with the Eu Imf already

Beware the hard left messiahs , they will turn out to be false prophets

Mute mickmc
    Favourite mickmc
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:33 AM

Must be the shortest hunger strike in history. You can see the cause means alot to them.

Mute Je Suis Ireland
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:35 AM

Derek ‘MyBattleWithTheBreakfastRoll’ Byrne

Farcical actions and statements from these people now , They should contact Right2water to get educated on successful implementation of strategies to stop the water charges

Mute Stiofán Ó Domhnaigh
    Favourite Stiofán Ó Domhnaigh
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:13 AM

Seriously. They went on hunger strike over the conditions of their imprisonment. They have ended that strike, expect to hear later today they will return to the Training Unit.
    If so, then their demands were met and they win.
    Informing the media at 06:00am that the strike is over is to allow the pro-austerity cheerleaders a few hours of happy glee!

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:21 AM

According to the irish times they tucked into breakfast, lunch and dinner yesterday. Sorry if that interferes with your conspiracy theory.

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:22 AM

I think this is popularly known as a Greek Hunger Strike. You do it until reality (or hunger) kicks in

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:24 AM

Their demands were for enda Kenny to step down!!
    I’m sure he’s still in power.
    Bunch of clowns!!!!

Mute Fintan Stack
    Favourite Fintan Stack
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:24 AM

What I find very amusing is, most of you talk about left and right, while the vast majority of people of Ireland and those against IW are well balanced people, neither left nor right, they just simply want fairness and have had enough of austerity and know what kind of a money grabbing machine IW will develop into.

Mute Protect Democracy!
    Favourite Protect Democracy!
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:26 AM

“They suffered enough” you just could not make it up” absolute idle muppets !
    These tools have heavily damaged the water campaign with their thuggish behaviour!

Mute Brian Lenehan
    Favourite Brian Lenehan
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:27 AM

I know, right? Amateurs!

Mute Stiofán Ó Domhnaigh
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:30 AM

@David

Not really, I never said when they had finished their strike. What I said was I expect to hear today that they will transferred back to the training unit in mount joy as per their demands.
    If you are reading it in the Irish Times this morning, then my theory of informing the media at the crack of dawn stands.
    I think someone mentioned they had €400 riding on a bet that they would end the strike by today. Would they care to double their money by backing the news that they will be transferred back to the Training Unit by tomorrow morning? Easy money if you ask me.

Mute potty o shea
    Favourite potty o shea
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:39 AM

They were absolutely starving but! You know what it’s like when the smell of that lovely porridge gets to you and your belly is rumbling!

Mute John Campbell
    Favourite John Campbell
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:56 AM

Stiofan, information given yesterday was that these men indicated they were going on hunger strike before the weekend and as the Training Unit does not have facilities for managing hunger strikers they were transferred to Wheatfield which has.

Mute Stiofán Ó Domhnaigh
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:01 AM

@john

Fair enough John, my understanding, from media reports, was that they were going on hunger strike after being transferred from Mountjoy. Perhaps some misinformation. Alas, another report is stating that at least one is still on hunger strike.
    Could be an interesting day.

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:43 AM

And what conditions are those Stiofan do tell? Are they the same conditions that every prisoner has? 3 Meals a day, Up to 7 hrs out of cell time, in cell sanitation, in cell TV, access to medical care 24/7?

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:49 AM

Stiofan. They were never in the Training Unit to get transfered back to it. They were sent to Mountjoy Prison and from their straight to Wheatfield where they have been since. If IPS do make the decision to transfer them to the Training Unit it will be for operational reasons not because of their “demand” to be sent there.

Mute Seán Marlow
    Favourite Seán Marlow
    Feb 24th 2015, 3:18 PM

Kenny in power? Nah, he’s just waiting for Merkel & Denis-tax-dodger to order him to jump whereupon he’ll meekly grovel “How high sur?”

Mute John Leamy
    Favourite John Leamy
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:58 AM

Derek Byrne has called on all of his supporters to join him on his continuing hunger strike between meals.

Mute John S
    Favourite John S
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:00 AM

They were probably about as much on hunger strike as I was for the weekend…..as I waited for my take away….did the prison service ever confirm this hunger strike???

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:10 AM

Good point John, maybe their take away wasn’t accepted at the prison gate

Mute Joe Jackson
    Favourite Joe Jackson
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:25 AM

A few days hunger strike would do him no harm, he has plenty of stores to spare.

Mute ciaran clarke
    Favourite ciaran clarke
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:45 PM

Will these protesters lose their jobs due to being in prison,it would be sad to see them lose employment over this too,

Mute Elaine Ward
    Favourite Elaine Ward
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:23 AM

I had a raging hangover at the weekend and couldn’t eat…… Seems I lasted longer… ouch

Mute John Donovan
    Favourite John Donovan
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:13 AM

absolute shambles. hunger strike. seriously. i am all for peaceful protests and standing up for your rights etc but they broke an injunction. they would be the first people to complain if someone else done the same. equally, these protests in general are another shambles, commenced far too late into the process and are for one day and at times which distrupt normal working people. do it in a way which makes the government listen if you wish to be effective.

Mute pain in my bollox w
    Favourite pain in my bollox w
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:28 AM

Is anyone else getting tired of some of these so called protesters looking for headlines

Mute Tom Molloy
    Favourite Tom Molloy
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:23 AM

Ah Jaysus lads, ye’re no Che Guevaras, are ye?

Mute Thomas Aquinas
    Favourite Thomas Aquinas
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:09 AM

Can someone attached to the “can pay, won’t pay, ignoring those who belong to group water schemes around the country” brigade explain what the 4th man who is not in jail is doing in Spain? Does he live there and fly in for thuggery sessions or is he on the run there? Or is he on holidays there? In all the bs about political policing and political judging I have not been able to figure that out?

Mute OggieThe4th
    Favourite OggieThe4th
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:19 AM

Mr Aquinas

The judge accepted that he was in Lanzarote for ‘medical’ reasons ..End of .

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:17 PM

The Man in Spain is there for the warm climate,due to the fact that he suffers from chronic asthma and goes there for the warm climate during our wettest season.
    He has already stated that when he comes back he will report to the courts and accept to abide by the court dictact to stay away form encroaching on the 20 metre zone.
    Any chance you can actually read a few stories on this actual case and educate yourself Thomas?
    Might be a way for you to understand this Rubix cube of a conundrum that seems to escape your obviously limited intellect.

Mute Padraig Fitzpatrick
    Favourite Padraig Fitzpatrick
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:06 PM

If he has chronic asthma what the hell was he doing hovering over builders digging up the pavement?

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:20 PM

Err Padraig – He broached a 20 METRE EXCLUSION ZONE!! – he was not hovering over any one with a cement cutter – sure you would get more dust in your lungs walking down O`Connell street, And this is coming from Me, a man with Cystic Fibrosis, Ain`t no way my illness is going to stop me standing up for my rights, or the rights of those around me

Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:14 AM

Bloody hell, why go on hunger strike???? Lost a lot of respect from me

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:59 AM

You had respect for these skangers at some stage ??

Mute Mr D
    Favourite Mr D
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:00 AM

Sorry Tony, I didn’t realise my comment was THAT cryptic.
    When I typed ‘Lost a lot of respect from me’, that actually meant, at some stage I didn’t really care for them, now…….I care a lot less for them.

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:08 AM

i had today in the bet at work, when did they officially stop? :D

Mute Dungeon Master
    Favourite Dungeon Master
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:25 AM

LOL! So you do work for Fine Gael,how much does Enda owe you,a fiver?

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley

400 up for grabs :)

Mute Dublinguy2013
    Favourite Dublinguy2013
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:34 AM

Say what you want about these guys but at least they are standing up for what they believe in. All you have here is sad ignorant sheep. Best of luck guys and keep protesting.

Feb 24th 2015, 7:49 AM

Still not paying!!

Mute Stiofán Ó Domhnaigh
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:54 AM

Tá siad níos as an stailc ocras. Beadh siad i bhfad níos éfeachtach ina mbunúdar a bheith sláintiúil. Bigí foighneach a chairde, gheobhaidh sibh bhur seans go beo.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:24 AM

gillghouily…. blaaa, bla, baaaa. Tell Edna that I hope that €400 doesn’t come from UN-vouched expenses!

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:28 AM

No they’re not , they are just trying to act the big guys , that’s all !

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:56 AM

@dublinguy, standing up for what they believe in – would that be sponging?

Mute Jay Cutler
    Favourite Jay Cutler
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:05 AM

Mrgillhouley can you answer me a question. I bet like Fine Gael you won’t. Why was your twitter account suspended? Oh that’s right they found out you are a troll..

Mute Jack Bowden
    Favourite Jack Bowden
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:14 AM

Wow that didn’t last long. A wet weekend.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan

Hopefully they’ll be available for Tubridy on Friday to walk us through the horrors of 12 hours without food.

Mute Broadoak
    Favourite Broadoak
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:18 AM

These people are opportunist parasites. Of course people are living in severe stress because of governmental policy. These people are obscuring the real issues while jeopardising our children’s access to clean. Why does the environment have to be sacrificed all the time. I say let these parasites rot in jail and tackle the uncaring government on real issues.

Mute Charles McDonald
    Favourite Charles McDonald
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:48 AM

Actually now that they moved from abusing guards and people I kinda like the entertainment to be fair. It’s the 5 stooges show.

But really they are full of bs lolz. Lied about assaulting workers and harassing them. Get taken to court ordered to stay away. Do same thing again deny it. Court correctly believed the guards and jailed them. Then they lie again about being isolated in prison and the lie about going on hunger strike.

I’m all for them being idiots. Let them off but enough is enough. If they abuse another guard I’d very much like to see the guard knock him on his very padded rear end and his dole cut off

Mute fearghal brennan
    Favourite fearghal brennan

This is one of the funniest things I’ve ever heard,what “freedom fighters” we have!!!

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:16 AM

the joke that just keeps on giving :D

Mute Jay Cutler
    Favourite Jay Cutler
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:06 AM

Mrgillhouley how are you sir. Can you answer me a question? I bet like Fine Gael you won’t. Why was your twitter account suspended? Oh that’s right they found out you are a troll..

Mute arnaas
    Favourite arnaas
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:40 AM

That’s breakfast out of the way, I’m on hunger strike till lunch time!

Mute Tony Murphy
    Favourite Tony Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:20 AM

That’s the problem with a hunger strike, as soon as you say you are on one all the pressure is on you.

Mute Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Favourite Proinsias Ó Foghlú
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:19 AM

They got hungry!

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:19 AM

They’ve given up? I didn’t realise that Enda had resigned.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Favourite justanothertaxpayer
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:03 PM

And that’s not all…

They demanded, either directly or through statements from others, the end of austerity, the imprisonment of bankers, the demolition of Irish Water and, as you have said, the resignation of Enda Kenny.

What a bunch of morons. Entertaining though!

Mute beebop
    Favourite beebop
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:43 AM

Hahahahahahahahaha !!! Finished already lads, that’s some dedication.

Mute George Grey
    Favourite George Grey
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:18 AM

Presumably if they are still in hubger strike they’ll only be taking water. How ironic!

Mute Stiofán Ó Domhnaigh
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:14 AM

It would be ironic if they thought everyone should pay for water and we’re now accepting free water, that would be ironic.

Dictionary.com for your assistance.

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:19 AM

if you watch back over the video of the march in support of the five at the weekend you’ll see a large number of flags of the 32 country sovereignty movement, the Irish Republican Socialist Party and the Republican SinnFein.

RSF are linked to CIRA and IRSP are linked to the INLA.

Why are these groups out in force in Dublin?

Mute Sergeant Yates
    Favourite Sergeant Yates
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:54 AM

They smell blood that’s why.. and they have a patsy to stand behind

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary

The people on here slaging off the water protesters should thank them for getting the water bills reduced and maybe abolished.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan

The change in charging structure ‘gained’ by the protesters mean you’ll be paying more for your water than the original program. Quite a victory.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:37 AM

I60 euro from an average of 700 euro is a reduction in any language.

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:38 AM

Your second number is incorrect if you bothered to check your meter and see how much you were really using, as plenty of people did.

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:42 AM

The money will just come from somewhere else Denise. They can’t magically make the cost of delivering clean water and dealing with waste water cheaper.

Mute Denise Friary
    Favourite Denise Friary
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:50 AM

Your talking rubbish.

Mute Je Suis Ireland
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:09 AM

Effective Right2water and ‘We won’t Pay campaigns’ have forced the govt in back tracking , this strategy win out in the end .

Derek Byrne is now attracting bad press and playing right into the hands of the Govt Spin Doctors with his stupid antics . The Dail will be awash to TD’s making in a joke of this latest failed publicity stunt

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:37 AM

denise, we already pay €1.5 billion for a broken system.

there were estimates that the new system with charges would cost 40% less.

that means Irish Water would have been cheaper across the board.

now we have an unfair flat rate and the local authorities are refusing to get rid of unnecessary staff so the whole thing is a mess

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:50 AM

Denise

DeMerkinTrollin are out on force.

Everyone in Ireland needs to thank the water protesting movement (not SF..etc) as without them this heartless government would have been charging families at least an extra €700 for water that we already pay for. And it would have gone straight to lining pockets. At least now there is starting to be a focus on a plan (abet way way way way to late in the day).

Remember, when your Friend, Neighbor, Son, Brother, Grandchild, Relation, Teammate… falls on hard times…..
    >> WATER POVERTY – Fine Gaels gift to the Irish People!

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:34 AM

Ivan – The “we already pay” argument is really nonsense.

Fianna Fail brought in the system of paying through motor tax and VAT and removed the ability of local authorities to charge rates. They did this as a cynical and populist move to win votes and we have ended up with is a crappy systems that is 50-100% more expensive than the UK.

because FG/Lab are a weak marriage they have dropped the ball we have an equally rubbish system of flat rate which is unfair on the less well off and means we still need to dump in loads of tax to keep the show on the road.

the situation is a mess but it’s a complete joke to be campaigning to keep hold of an overly expensive and dysfunctional water service

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:59 AM

stopit – the “we already pay argument is really nonsense” argument is nonsense.

We already pay multiple ways, we even pay when we pay our motor tax.

I will NEVER support a quango / privatisation attempt that could see some of my fellow Irish men/women pushed in to water poverty by privatised water supply. END OF STORY. Is consider this a betrayal of the Irish people.

Sir to you I say…. campaigning to promote Irish water is idiotic. Firstly we, the people, WILL pay to improve the ‘service’. Then it will be taken away from us for others to profit from while we pay through the nose for every more.

So I will continue to say:
    Remember in 2019, when your Friend, Neighbor, Son, Brother, Grandchild, Relation, Teammate… falls on hard times…..

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:07 PM

It was a fine effort, but then the scroungers started to take over the public image. It’s all but over now.

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:15 PM

Ivan – I don’t support privatisation but I also don’t support the status quo. We are paying way more for water than other countries but because it’s hidden a myriad of taxes people don’t seem to care.

I want clarity on what I pay for services.

What you are doing is campaigning to keep a dysfunctional system that is costing 1.5 billion year, It’s nonsense and needs to change.

Mute trickytrixster
    Favourite trickytrixster
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:17 AM

Would be nice to support these guys,at least they are trying to do something about it,you lot will be the first to complain when your water rates are being deducted at source about how unfair it is x x x

Mute Jason
    Favourite Jason
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:21 AM

WAter rates will not be deducted at source. Water charges are not a tax.

Mute Charles J. Ahern
    Favourite Charles J. Ahern
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:00 AM

Bobby Sandwiches …

Pathetic morons of the highest order.

Mute Mark O'Hagan
    Favourite Mark O'Hagan
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:54 PM

Brilliant.

Mute Nicko Farrell
    Favourite Nicko Farrell
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:25 AM

The “temporary” USC tax is a bigger issue for me than the water charges and costs me a lot more also.

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:54 AM

And it got reduced on 1st Jan, without a mass protest

Mute David Evans
    Favourite David Evans
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:11 AM

According to the parter of Derek Byrne, they are still on hunger strike.

“from Siobhan Walsh (Dereks partner) @ 11.15pm Monday evening:

I spoke to Derek at 6 pm this evening and he is still on hunger strike, they did not have breakfast this morning, So unless the situation has changed since 6pm this evening he is still on hunger strike, This news paper is printing lies , We visited him Saturday not Sunday as reported but sure they dont care about getting their facts straight!!!”

Mute johngahan
    Favourite johngahan
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:31 AM

Hopefully she hadn’t already started throwing out all his big jeans.

Mute Neal Page
    Favourite Neal Page
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:11 AM

This is the same woman that lied about them being in solitary confinement for 23 hours a day.

Mute Bazalini
    Favourite Bazalini
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:25 AM

‘Sure he only jumped into the hole for a laugh, bit of fun’

Mute Summer Bay Devil
    Favourite Summer Bay Devil
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:42 AM

Was that the hole in Cashel he jumped in for a few photos and was gone a few minutes later back up to Dublin? Media junkie.

Mute Theresa Kavanagh Connell
    Favourite Theresa Kavanagh Connell
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:11 AM

Any of this lot have jobs? People like to throw the words hunger strike around hoping for sympathy looks like it didn’t work out as planned. Plenty of water lads it’s free in prison.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:59 AM

They were, apparently, refusing fluids. Jesus lads, take water while it’s free.

Mute Mark Scott
    Favourite Mark Scott
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:43 AM

Well, according to press release from the prison service, these men were never on ‘total lockdown’.

Why should we believe that they were on hunger strike?

Mute Derek mc keever
    Favourite Derek mc keever
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:36 AM

Not a tax Jason what other name would you put on it you absolute bunch of take it up the arse clowns,pay for it if you all like because I’m not.sick to death of my wage pack getting rapped every Thursday

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:43 AM

And in other news, future water protests will be supported by a mobile food truck to ensure they last longer than an hour

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:47 AM

Can’t believe these people (whether you agree with them are not) are still locked up. When two bankers used bank money for gambling and lost 40 grand of it,got a year suspended sentence. Hmm like for not like. And people shouting and roaring and slagging water protesters off but not a pig squeal out of any of you for that.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:08 AM

That’s the truth fuve. Some people much prefer to be cheerleaders for government . bankers. HSBC clientele. Tax exiles and tax avoiders. They laugh and mock that in Ireland 2015 there is old people who can’t even heat their homes and are afraid to use water because they can’t afford it. They laugh and mock because people with medical needs are paying the same as millionaire’s with pools. They call anyone receiving social as scroungers and thugs although disabled people and old age pensioners and the sick receive social. Then they think the have the moral ground calling everyone names when in fact all it is doing is showing what they and the government think of the electorate.

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:30 AM

No one is mocking anyone on disability, or on the pension. It would appear that some protesters are neither disabled or elderly, and seem to have many free hours during the day to shout at people who actually work, or fall over in a dramatic fashion.
    People seem to think that money just comes from the government into their pockets, and it pays for roads/schools/police/pensions/hospitals etc – but god forbid they might be asked to contribute.

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:33 AM

So littleone – you seem to be arguing in favour of water meters if you’re complaining that millionaires with swimming pools will pay the same as a regular person.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:38 AM

No I am not arguing for water meters. I think the money wasted on meters should have been used on fixing some of the system first. Then charge people for clean water . I am sure no matter what happened with meters the ones with pools would probably have claimed it as a second home and only have paid €125 a yr because that is what the government thought was OK .

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:44 AM

I think David you will find a lot defending this government have mocked the disabled and old age pensioners quite a bit . I am not talking about these particular protestors but people who protest against the water charge. Have been shamefully tarnished on here time and again. The comments have been there for all to see.

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Favourite talkingsense(troll)
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:52 AM

Littleone no one has mocked pensioners or the disabled. You are the only one would insists on mentioning them on every thread.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:03 AM

Talkingsense like I said the comments are on previous threads for all to see. It happens constantly. Are you saying no one on these threads have called people on social scroungers and thugs among other things. The comments don’t diffariante between anyone on social but call everyone on social names. So yes it does happen time and again.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:05 AM

You say no one has mocked disabled or pensioners but yet my post above has been red thumbed galore.

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:07 AM

Little one, you know as well as everyone else that no one has ever put down pensioners or the disabled on here. You also know as well as everyone else that those who repeatedly use the scrounger remarks (rightly or wrongly) are referring to the tracksuit clad perma-protesters. You’re looking to take offense where there is none.

Mute talkingsense(troll)
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:08 AM

Yes because everyone knows that to offend pensioners you must red thumb a comment where they are mentioned. Cop on

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:23 AM

Keep saying that to yourself but my last time to say it the comments are there for all to see. And they have been people who have specifically called the disabled and pensioners scroungers and thugs. So you say what you want like I said time and again the comments are there. People that post these comments are really not worth my time anymore talking about.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:54 AM

David Higgins… nice strawman argument.

The countless hard pressed families up & down this country will be happy to ignore the very few swimming pools around if it means they are saved from a fleecing on water charges.

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:19 AM

littleone brought up swimming pools – i just responded to his logic.

Hard pressed families will continue to pay for water – either via general taxation or water charges. Protesting about water won’t make it free.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:09 AM

Very true “Protesting about water won’t make it free.”

I never said it should be free, we all pay for it through our taxes, which is the way I would rather it in light of this bloated super quango and naked privatisation attempt.

Crap Irish Water and come back with a metering program that ensures the following:

1. A proper adequate living allowance for everyone. You waste water, you pay, but no water poverty.
    2. Protection from profiteering of the backs of our water supply enshrined in constitution.

Mute Tim
    Favourite Tim
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:18 AM

Is the porridge that nice

Mute Mick Jordan
    Favourite Mick Jordan
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:55 AM

“We are winning this Campaign”
    Now that has to be the funniest statement/headline I have seen in years. If anything the opposite is true. People are getting tired and disgusted hand over fist at the antics of these so called “Peaceful Protesters”.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:04 AM

Sadly it seems that trolls and insulter’s have emerged this morning on this page. It best not to reciprocate and stoop down to their level. We will say however that these people in prison are struggling with many others for the right for everyone not to be charged ridiculously again for something that we are already paying for, to the tune of BILLIONS, every year. Not just that, they are resisting a charge for something we already own, given to a private registered company, not just for this generation – but for the following ones as well.

This government has lied, u-turned, back-stabbed and more. You can see a massive list of their antics at: http://www.unitedpeople.ie/antics.html

When Enda Kenny is not further back-stabbing and giving our rights away to EU billies and making up voices in his head and passing them off as real (http://theupreport.org/2015/01/18/the-lie-the-cover-up/), the man is busy progressing ways to effect our rights and invent more charges.

You may not like the people in the prison – you may not agree with their position taken – but at least they are making a stand against something that is by all accounts that tell the truth or is willing to see very bad political parties up to no good once again in antics including further cronyism and nepotism.

the insulters here are attacking people that are standing up to this rottenness in government. Disagree witht heir view – but give them credit for thinking of their fellow people of Ireland. Something more they are doign than those elsewhere in Dublin that is trying to lie, brow-beat, financial rob, press-gang into a private business contract and more, in Dublin government offices.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:12 AM

One of prisoners spent his door money on a “Je Suis Derek” baseball cap. He’s already stooped a lot lower than any of us are willing to go.

They go on hunger strike, get a bit peckish and end it.

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople

I think those that say the strike is over, need to check their facts again. As of 8.16am this morning one wife of a hunger striker says that its still ongoing. I suspect the media once again is playing lying games with the public. Given Denis O’Briens INM reach – this should not come as a surprise to many at all – and indeed it doesn’t.

Mute D is Illusioned
    Favourite D is Illusioned

Unitedpeople I agree with everything you wrote. I applaud them for standing up for their principles. I have not registered and
    I WILL NOT PAY AGAIN for water. Looking forward to 21st March. R2W

Mute Theresa Kavanagh Connell
    Favourite Theresa Kavanagh Connell

@ United. People really don’t care if they are on hunger strike or not. It’s their choice. I don’t want to have to listen to them saying they did it for “the people” no one asked them to starve themselves. It’s their pride that’s hurt now nothing else. Why don’t all the die hard protesters go on hunger strike to support them.

Mute JJ O Riordan
    Favourite JJ O Riordan
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:35 AM

Was the cap photoshopped too? Or is he actually that much of a 5cum8ag?

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:00 AM

Unitedpeople, when you write “trolls” I take it you mean the people who disagree with you? It’s fairly normal for the journal comments section to have a realistic viewpoint on the world before 9am. From about 10am the AAA/hard left normally get online and make their point. From about 6pm it swings back the other way again

Mute Aaron
    Favourite Aaron
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:06 AM

@United – Was that the same wife who claimed they were all being held in solitary for 23hrs a day?

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:08 AM

Aaron, maybe it was the hours they were on hunger strike was what she meant

Mute Tony_Kilduff
    Favourite Tony_Kilduff
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:29 AM

Je suis starving.

Mute joanie
    Favourite joanie
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:43 AM

They were on hunger strike because they wanted to moved over to mountjoy ,do these guys really think that they are that important ? Why are they getting so much attention over this ? They are not doing it for the water protest !

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:10 AM

Well said UnitedPeople.

While I think the hunger strike is uncalled for and way OTT, the level of spite shown here by those that oppose the anti-water movement is very revealing.

The pro-water metering / pro-water privatisation crowd here are representatives of an uncaring government. Their inability to consider what water charges will mean to the population is indicative of this government as a whole.

They simply could not care if huge sways of the population have to add the ‘cost of water’ to their already large list of worries. And we ALL know its going to cost a hell of a lot more that €160 in 2018. What will it cost in 2025?

Remember in 2019, when your Friend, Neighbor, Son, Brother, Grandchild, Teammate… falls on hard times…..

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:22 AM

the provision of water will cost about the same in 2019 as 2025 as in 2000. Just because people didn’t receive a bill didn’t mean they weren’t paying for it – via tax.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:15 AM

@David HIggins

If Irish Water goes ahead, we have no idea what charges will be in 2025. But it certainly will be north of €700 per family of four (as was planned before the marches).

David, care to speculate on what this will mean for pensioners that live on a very small fixed incomes or families struggling to pay bills?

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 24th 2015, 2:23 PM

I’ve heard that the standard Sky TV package will cost north of €700 by 2025, €1,500 if you include sports

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:58 AM

I am starting to think. Irish are brainwashed and its indoctrinated into their minds that suit good no suit bad. The tax evasion by TDs etc.. and ye are having afit about water pprotestors breaching an injunction. Good dog sit roll over speak.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:59 AM

Yup fuve.

Sheeple the lot on them. I note the Absolute silence from the ‘party faithful’ here regarding the 350 (at least) Irish people with the secret HSBC Swiss banks accounts. This alone tells me all I need to know about the regular, pro-Irish Water trolls on here.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:12 PM

I haven’t commented about the 350 because I am just bitter that I didn’t have one myself. But then I am not faithful to any party so perhaps you didn’t mean to include me.

Mute Ray Dunne
    Favourite Ray Dunne
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:47 AM

Nicko your right. This is far worse than the water charge but not a whisper of complaint worth talking about. It only effects those that have a taxable income though.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:13 AM

I have a question for all you payers for water supporters. How do we need to pay more,when motor tax took a hike of six euro within a year to pay iw? TV licence went up also,and what exactly is property tax and what does it pay? Just curious. Funny in other countries their property type tax pays for bins water and roads. So come on explain to me why Irish people are paying for property tax(is it for the privilege to be afforded the luck they can have a house on land?

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley

proud to pay :)

Mute Unitedpeople
    Favourite Unitedpeople
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:21 AM

mrgillhouley – and you are – since the late 70′s…. You are just being make pay yet again… and again… and again… are you proud to pay for something may times over repeatedly?

Mute stopit
    Favourite stopit
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:22 AM

i would rather see my motor tax spent on fixing roads and subsidising rural bus services. i would rather pay directly for water but have a system based on fairness and ability to pay.

because we also use VAT to pay for water everyone no matter how poor have to pay. If a homeless person buys a cup of coffee they pay VAT and that’s being siphoned off to pay for my water.

I don’t pay property tax directly because I can’t afford a home but the rent I pay pays the landlords taxes.

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:09 PM

You know it all just goes into one pot right? There are no ‘ring-fences’ around the money the government collects. It just gets stacked up and divvied out to the various departments.
    We don’t collect enough tax apparently (although I would like a shot at the budget cuts to ensure we do) so they are now billing for water.
    I don’t know why that is so difficult to understand for some people. It is obviously easy to be against the idea, but not understanding it takes effort.

Mute littleone
    Favourite littleone

Good for you Mr gillhouley that your proud to pay. That you don’t mind paying for croniysm. Bonuses. Dirty water. Lead pipes. Most people are not fools and would rather only pay for a clean water system that is set up right and its not another quango like the HSE. Paying bonuses to people . so you enjoy being proud to pay.

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:53 AM

the lead pipes are in people’s houses – are you saying that we should be paying taxes so that private individuals can get new pipes in their private homes? It must be terrible to feel as entitled as you do.

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:10 PM

I’d like a hot tub too. It should be free as I’m already paying for water about ten times apparently

Mute Eoin Cepeda
    Favourite Eoin Cepeda
    Feb 24th 2015, 6:37 PM

Technically you’re already paying for all this through VAT and Motor Tax so I’m not seeing your point little one!

Mute Deirdre Arnold
    Favourite Deirdre Arnold
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:51 AM

In fairness enda would of done a Maggie thatcher on them he would of been thinking of what he could save on the prison systems food, I’m glad there of it but when my letter comes I’m just not paying I could do with a break in the joy of work ✌️

Mute Deirdre Arnold
    Favourite Deirdre Arnold
    Feb 24th 2015, 7:59 AM

Yea she held humanity to the highest in letting men starve to death(not) that’s y so many came out to her funeral, to make sure she was dead. There is no excuse for what she did.

Mute Deirdre Arnold
    Favourite Deirdre Arnold
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:10 AM

I can name them. for there bravery, in trying to oppose an occupied land that irish people where treated like dirt, I suppose if it was nelson Mandela or Malcolm x you’d agree with them. She even destroyed her own people in England. Have to go to work so havent time to debate what was right or wrong in it but sometimes someone has to sacrifice there lives for people to have a better one

Mute mrgillhouley
    Favourite mrgillhouley
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:15 AM

they killed themselves thats what you do on hunger strike. its simply biology if you refuse to eat food your body shuts down, if there is food available and for some diva reason you won’t eat it well then who can you blame? bravery no, stupidity yes. just on your point of departure what did they achieve? the british still rule, in fact SF has become a part of british rule, I’m sure the divas would be very impressed indeed.

Mute Deirdre Arnold
    Favourite Deirdre Arnold

I’m sure at the time they didn’t think SF would settle for a handshake and a pay check. But what about the homeless on our streets enda thinking he has the live register down when people are really emigrating, your view is your own and so is mine on our history. But walk the streets of any city in this country at night then look at where our ministers are going for Patrick’s day and tell me this government is about the people and not there pockets!

Mute Protect Democracy!
    Favourite Protect Democracy!
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:46 AM

SF didn’t do a lot to stop the hunger strikers either D

Mute Ray Dunne
    Favourite Ray Dunne
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:16 AM

I think the united front has been lost as the vast majority of people don’t what to to perceived as associating with law breakers and people who revel in conflict.

Mute Breda Kelly
    Favourite Breda Kelly
    Feb 24th 2015, 1:04 PM

Hunger strike ended when they woke up and smelt the coffee!.

Mute fuve
    Favourite fuve
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:40 AM

Not one person can answer the question. What is property tax paying for? Come on waiting? When all other countries that have a like payment system, it pays for roads water etc…Then along with our motor tax TV licence all the vat taxes etc.. come on whatis property tax paying for?

Mute Harold
    Favourite Harold
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:45 AM

fuve, looking to our neighbour, England, their local property tax dosen’t pay for water, they pay for that separately

Mute David HIggins
    Favourite David HIggins
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:27 AM

Let me google that for you –
    From Wikipedia – Local Property Tax – Ireland. “The revenue raised is used to fund the provision of services by local authorities and includes transfers between local authorities. Such services currently include public parks; libraries; open spaces and leisure amenities; planning and development; fire and emergency services; maintenance and cleaning of streets; and street lighting.”

All sounds like public services we should support. Pretty much every country in Europe has property taxes, and every country in Europe has water metering and pays for their water use. Property tax here is a fraction of what it is in countries like France or Germany.

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:58 AM

Regardless of what side you are, you can see (on here – by the red thumbs and comments) that the pro-IW side are now winning.

It didnt take much effort by the establishment to sway people. I dont know which is worse. The way the Irish (all classes) can easily be led by the nose thru the media (fooled into changing sides) or the fact that the people of this land simply dont have enough respect for themselves to carry on with something (the last thing) that is so important.

Mute Powerabbey
    Favourite Powerabbey
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:12 AM

We respect protest. We don’t respect lawbreakers!

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:19 AM

You dont see the problem with sentence?

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:51 AM

Jason… pro side are not winning.

Thumbs mean NOTHING. I can give 10 individual thumbs to any post no hassle, as can anyone who knows computers.

Over the past few days we have see a concerted effort by ‘pro-government’ people to sway thumbs on here.

Go down the pub and announce that you are gung-ho pro Irish Water and see the looks you’ll get :-)

Mute John Ward
    Favourite John Ward
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:36 AM

Let’s keep up the peaceful protests until IW is scrapped!
    I sincerely hope that there are some good and caring Irish people in America, Canada, New Zealand, Australia etc. who are well aware of what’s going on at home and will come out and demonstrate wherever the junketing wasters (ministers) show up on St Patrick’s Day! Tell your family members and friends abroad, who have been forced to  emigrate by the actions of this so called government, to let these miserable ministers  know how they feel at the St Patrick’s Day parades around the world.

Mute Charles McDonald
    Favourite Charles McDonald
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:09 AM

Muppet.

Firstly it’s them going to promote Ireland PLC in other words business and tourism. Those trips take in more then what’s spent.

You do not have any support abroad to mount a toe rag protest. Silly idea to damage image of Ireland anyway but it tends to be idiots doing the hardcore stuff here anyway.

Sooner the IW bills start coming out the better at this stage so it’s over and done with and the muppets go away

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:18 AM

Baaa, baaaa, Charles good boy.

Mute lorna
    Favourite lorna
    Feb 24th 2015, 8:50 AM

now we are turning against each other.the government has won…..

Mute Jason Bourne
    Favourite Jason Bourne
    Feb 24th 2015, 9:13 AM

Exactly. I would pay for clean water. Even a little extra than my taxes provide for already. I dont mind the setup of Irish water.

But to go from the majority of people standing up against the obvious fraud that this entity was created to carryout, to then get so easily swayed by an obvious media campaign and to change sides like that. It frightening.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 10:45 AM

LOL.

See you on the 21st of march, we’ll see then and when the bills are NOT paid.

Anyone who supports this bloated, corrupt, crony quango, deserves to have all their hard earned money removed from them while they are laughed at.

I could have supported water meters. If it was done fairly and took in ability to pay. If it wasn’t a privatisation drive and wasn’t a complete clusterfu@k.

You want a brief outline of ‘Irish Water’…..

1. Group of consultants identify route to fantastic riches…..
    2. Recommend said route as independent advice …..
    3. Then Jump aboard the gravy train as ‘employees’….
    4. Use doublespeak & compliant politicians to push it through…
    5. Manage job/board positions for enviable massive payout when privatised…..

Mute justanothertaxpayer
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:22 PM

But Ivan – there is no need to actually pay the bill. You are getting all upset over nothing.
    When your house is sold, or inherited then the money will be deducted for you. Obviously in the case of the latter, you will be dead so you won’t even notice the actual charge, let alone the interest and penalties that will be taken too. Anyway – hopefully that is a long way off.

Mute Ivan Murphy
    Favourite Ivan Murphy
    Feb 24th 2015, 11:17 AM

Baaa, baaaa, Charles.

Mute Paul McNevin
    Favourite Paul McNevin
    Feb 24th 2015, 12:20 PM

Troll Alert. ‘Protect Democracy!(3 Twitter followers), McGillhouley(Twitter account suspended)!

Mute John Sheehy
    Favourite John Sheehy
    Feb 25th 2015, 10:15 AM

So the judge has said they can leave prison anytime they want.
    All they have to do is submit in writing that they will obey the court order.

The court order was served to protect the safety of the workers.
    Attacking the workers is counter productive, as it damages the campaign.

What do they hope to gain by
    - terrorising the men installing the water meters?
    - illegally obtaining their personal data and following them home?
    - terrorising the families of the workers?

All they are doing is turning the general public against the campaign, sadly that is the truth.

The focus should be on peaceful protesting that will persuade the government to correct the mistakes made.
    Instead they provide the government with ammunition to sidestep the issue and point to the fact the protests are losing support.