You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Shutterstock/Dima Sidelnikov

Open thread: What's the weirdest thing you've ever done for Lent?

…Or plan to do this time.

PREVIOUSLY ON THIS website we’ve asked people whether or not they buy into the idea of Lent and if so, how long they usually last with their vows.

This evening, ahead of the beginning of the Christian tradition of forty days of self-control, we’ve decided to find out something different.

What’s the strangest thing you’ve ever done for Lent?

As a child it may have been an obligation placed on you so in protests you decided to give up something fairly petty,”being mean to your sister” being a regular one.

Even now, many people now, religious or not, see it as kind of a second chance at a New Year’s resolution. An excuse to take up something they’ve been wanting to try but couldn’t find the reason.

Whether it’s ‘giving up Facebook’ or something even more out there like ‘doing something nice for a stranger ever day’.

What’s the strangest thing you’ve ever done ( or plan to do) for Lent?

Over to you. Also, if you don’t do Lent fair enough, but maybe you did once upon a time. 

Read: Open thread: What were your favourite books to have read to you as a child? >

Read: Column: If you’re not religious, why observe a Lenten sacrifice? >

A mix of advertising and supporting contributions helps keep paywalls away from valuable information like this article. Over 5,000 readers like you have already stepped up and support us with a monthly payment or a once-off donation.

31 Comments
    Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Feb 17th 2015, 8:34 PM

I’m giving up the Journal. Goodbye till Easter.

Mute Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Favourite Mrs Shalakalananaka
    Feb 17th 2015, 9:50 PM

Yous are all feckers, green thumbing that like yous are all happy to see me go. =\

Mute Jackie Nolan
    Favourite Jackie Nolan
    Feb 17th 2015, 11:37 PM

That’s funny mrs . S

Mute Pebbles
    Favourite Pebbles
    Feb 17th 2015, 8:28 PM

I gave up buying Yankee Candles.

Mute davedunne
    Favourite davedunne
    Feb 17th 2015, 8:41 PM

I gave up masterbateing. It got hard

Mute Joanne Byrne
    Favourite Joanne Byrne
    Feb 17th 2015, 9:07 PM

Why is it that giving up sweets and chocolate is no easier now than it was as I kid. One would think at 35 it would be easier

Mute Ally
    Favourite Ally
    Feb 18th 2015, 9:07 AM

I actually find it harder now, when I was a kid we got chocolate as a treat at the weekends. Now I have it whenever I want so I have it more often so I need to give it up for a while.

Mute robby rottenest
    Favourite robby rottenest
    Feb 17th 2015, 8:49 PM

Gaveupspacesandpuctuation

Mute Jackie Nolan
    Favourite Jackie Nolan
    Feb 17th 2015, 11:38 PM

Sofunny

Mute P O Leary.
    Favourite P O Leary.
    Feb 17th 2015, 9:46 PM

Gave up sex for lent a few years back. To be honest it was not by choice.

Mute TheDoctor
    Favourite TheDoctor
    Feb 17th 2015, 8:24 PM

I have up sugar as a child and lasted 39 days. I still get pangs of guilt all these years later. I was so close.

Mute Emmet
    Favourite Emmet
    Feb 17th 2015, 9:47 PM

I’m giving up rollerblading, and the other two are giving up cigarettes and alcohol.

Mute howzatme
    Favourite howzatme
    Feb 17th 2015, 9:18 PM

Can the journal give up lesbian and gay news stories for lent for the love of God

Mute Lloyd Hetherington
    Favourite Lloyd Hetherington
    Feb 17th 2015, 9:45 PM

There’s a few topics that feature heavily on Journal, not just LGBT-related ones, yet it’s only these that you ever seem to comment on, howzatme. What’s up?

Mute George Murphy Birch
    Favourite George Murphy Birch
    Feb 17th 2015, 8:48 PM

I would gladly give up work but the FUC___S won’t pay me :(:(:(

Mute Atticus the Accuser
    Favourite Atticus the Accuser
    Feb 17th 2015, 8:30 PM

Anyone going to give up religion for lent?

Mute Conor Buggy
    Favourite Conor Buggy
    Feb 17th 2015, 8:32 PM

Trying to but the catholics wont let ya!

Mute Jimmy Murphy
    Favourite Jimmy Murphy
    Feb 17th 2015, 10:02 PM

I gave up religion, full stop. That included lent.

Mute Jayme Mc Goldrick
    Favourite Jayme Mc Goldrick
    Feb 17th 2015, 9:26 PM

Proof Lent works: I have up religion for lent 12 or 13 years ago and never went back!

Mute Deirdre McDonnell
    Favourite Deirdre McDonnell
    Feb 18th 2015, 1:29 AM

Ha I gave up religion many years ago! Lent ha hilarious your right there!

Mute Jayme Mc Goldrick
    Favourite Jayme Mc Goldrick
    Feb 18th 2015, 1:54 AM

So many down thumbs wow! Maybe Ireland is still a touchy Catholic country!

Mute Lloyd Hetherington
    Favourite Lloyd Hetherington
    Feb 17th 2015, 8:30 PM

Lent is weird, full stop.

Mute Terry O'Dowd
    Favourite Terry O'Dowd
    Feb 17th 2015, 11:16 PM

I’m giving up taking the Bible literally.
    It says that it took Moses 40 years to get from Giza to Jerusalem, but Google maps says it only takes 191 hours.
    That’s only a couple of days longer than it took James Franco to cut his arm off, and he was in a desert too.

Mute Ronan Stokes
    Favourite Ronan Stokes
    Feb 17th 2015, 11:46 PM

Ffs Terry,
    Nah it took Moses 40 years to get The Giza to Jerusalem, he was havin a giraffe…

Mute Pearse Mc Mullen
    Favourite Pearse Mc Mullen
    Feb 18th 2015, 12:38 AM

Sure wasn`t Jesus made of Rubber??.Doesn`t it say in the Bible that he tied his ass to a tree and walked 3 miles into Jerusalem??

Mute Jackie Nolan
    Favourite Jackie Nolan
    Feb 17th 2015, 11:44 PM

Went through a phase of loving twixes and mars bars when I was about 12, couldn’t give up both , so took turns of week on week off for each bar for lent….think it’s called cheating though !

Mute Timber Planks
    Favourite Timber Planks
    Feb 17th 2015, 9:46 PM

At the ripe age of nineteen I decided to give up ‘my left hand’ for lent! It was five days of meh, twenty-five days of pure frustration followed by ten more days of not even realising I was missing it! So much so that I was even two days late finishing lent! All in all boys and girls, not recommended for nineteen year olds!

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    Feb 17th 2015, 8:52 PM

Ummm…what’s lent?

Mute Boyne Sharky
    Favourite Boyne Sharky
    Feb 17th 2015, 11:13 PM

Its de measure of how long a yoke is, de lent of it.

Mute Smiley
    Favourite Smiley
    Feb 17th 2015, 11:50 PM

Oh, Boyne, that is clever. Very clever. Kudos.

Mute Connor O'Loughnane
    Favourite Connor O'Loughnane
    Feb 18th 2015, 3:14 AM

I’m giving up religion