You are visiting us because we have something you value. Independent, unbiased news that tells the truth. Advertising revenue goes some way to support our mission, but this year it has not been enough.

Jock O'Keeffe (Chris Walley) and Conor MacSweeney (Alex Murphy) BBC/Vico Films

Quiz: How much do you really know about The Young Offenders?

Put your knowledge to the test in this week’s Best of the Box quiz.

THE YOUNG OFFENDERS returns to our screens this weekend, with season five kicking off with Jock (Chris Walley) and Conor (Alex Murphy) being reunited after their respective stints in jail.

But if you thought the lads would be on their best behaviour after both spending time behind bars, you’d be wrong. They’re soon back to their old ways. But would we expect anything less? 

The original cast returns for the new season and the show (produced by Vico Films for the BBC in association with RTÉ), will be broadcast weekly on RTÉ One, starting from Saturday (4 April) at 10.30pm. You can now stream all six episodes of season five on the RTÉ Player.

Think you’re a big The Young Offenders fan? Put your knowledge to the test in this week’s Best of the Box quiz.

556752titlethe-young-offenders-s5 Jock and Conor, reunited BBC / Vico Films BBC / Vico Films / Vico Films

Let’s start off with an easy one… what year did the original The Young Offenders film come out?

Roy Keane made a cameo in the second season of the TV show. What was he doing in his scene?
Teaching in Conor and Jock's school
He played a former co-worker of Conor's late dad

He tried to order fish and chips from Mairead, Conor and Jock
He was playing kickabout with Billy Murphy
Which Irish actor starred in the 2018 Christmas special?
Colin Farrell
Paul Mescal

Éanna Hardwicke
Robert Sheehan
In the fourth season, Jock and Conor end up in jail. Why?
They got involved in a murder plot
They were framed for murder

They were used as drug mules
Sergeant Healy claimed they were drug runners
The original film was inspired by an incident in which 1.5 tonnes of cocaine was seized off Mizen Head after a boat capsized. What was the name of the garda operation to recover the drugs?
Operation Seawide
Operation White Snow

Operation Drugaí
Operation Seabight
In the original film, Sergeant Healy pursues Conor and Jock. How does he know where they are?
He put a GPS tracker on Jock's bike
He put an Apple tag in Conor's backpack

He has a GPS tracker on Jock's phone, which Jock had stolen a day earlier
He tails them but they don't notice
The Young Offenders film was the fastest Irish film to do what in 2016?
Sell out all the seats in Cork's Mahon Point Cinema for the opening night
Go to number one at the box office

Break the €1 million mark at the Irish box office
Be sold to the UK market for release in the cinema there
Where in Cork city is the bench that Jock and Conor often meet at?
Oliver Plunkett St
Tank Field

The English Market
Bell's Field
What school did Conor and Jock attend as teenagers?
St Finian's National School
St Finan's Community School

Knocknaheeny Community College
Hollyhill Educate Together
In series three, Conor says that "doing a heist with a baby is...". Complete the sentence:
"...something I dreamed of since I was a child"
"...the worst idea in the world come true"

"...like walking on the moon"
"...gonna get me in serious trouble"
In season five, Jock and Conor are older. But are they wiser?
Yes
No
Answer all the questions to see your result!
You scored out of !
Top Bai
Are you sure you aren't Jock or Conor?
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Fake Billy
You know your stuff... but not enough
Share your result:
You scored out of !
Loveable rogue
You tried, and that's all that matters!
Share your result: