TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Sunday 19 May, 2013

‘A sigh of relief’: International reaction to Ireland’s Yes vote

International newspapers and media focussed on the fact that a Yes vote had avoided further headaches for eurozone leaders but committed Ireland to “more austerity” as one paper put it.

Media - domestic and international - listen to Fine Gael director of elections Simon Coveney at Dublin Castle yesterday.
Image: Julien Behal/PA Wire/Press Association Images

AS THE ONLY country to put the Fiscal Compact treaty to a referendum there were plenty of eyes on Ireland yesterday to see how it went, knowing that a No vote would have caused consternation in the eurozone.

As Channel 4 News in the UK noted in its bulletin last night, “a No vote would have sent a shock through financial markets”.

But the fact we voted Yes didn’t seem to matter too much anyway as stock markets tumbled on news of record unemployment in eurozone and poor jobs numbers in the US.

The Yes vote was welcomed by most newspapers in the UK with the Telegraph reporting that it saved “Europe a major headache” while at the same time acknoledging that bigger problems in the single currency area left little time to celebrate the result.

The paper quoted Enda Kenny noting that he had said: “Europe’s banking sector needs to be comprehensively fixed and any solution must include a deal on Ireland’s banking debt.”

The Guardian headline acknowledged the economic struggles of the country and the likelihood that the passing of the treaty ensured more tough budgets ahead in order to balance the books: “Ireland votes for discipline despite pain as it approves EU financial plan.”

In his article, correspondent Henry McDonald said that the high Yes vote came “despite four years of recession, anger over austerity budgets and fears over low turnout”.

Al Jazeera noted an “anxious, often lacklustre campaign by mainstream politicians” with the prevaling Yes vote offering a welcome boost to Taoiseach Enda Kenny. But there was little fanfare welcoming in the result.

Here’s Andrew Simmons’ report:

YouTube: Al Jazeera

On the continent, Le Monde noted the reaction of European leaders including Herman Van Rompuy who said: “With this vote, the Irish people have given their endorsement and commitment to European integration. This result is an important step towards recovery and stability.”

The paper noted that even if the result had been No “the treaty would not have been questioned, since it is sufficient that twelve of the seventeen states in the euro area to ratify it to take effect”.

In all-important Germany the reaction of Der Spiegel noted that although it was welcomed it was more a case of a “sigh of relief” as Transport Minister Leo Varadkar said yesterday.

The magazine also noted analysts view that Ireland still had more “serious problems to worry about” namely the country’s continuing high unemployment and lack of growth. All of which puts question marks on its ability to return to the markets next year.

Across the Atlantic in the US, the Associated Press said that Irish voters had faced a “existential dilemma” and in rounding up the decision to vote Yes, it said noted that No would not have been good news for other countries in the euro.

“It also would have sent political shockwaves through other eurozone members, where anger against austerity and bank bailouts runs similarly high but citizens are denied the chance to vote on the treaty,” it reported.

In the New York Times it was noted  that much of the referendum debate had centered on whether or not Ireland would need a second bailout, a possibility which, the paper said, the governing coalition insisted was not going to happen.

In the Washington Post the headline made it clear what a Yes vote, in its view, meant for future budgets in Ireland: “Irish vote ‘yes’ on EU treaty that means more austerity, now seek deal on growth”.

Finally, Agence France Presse carries this short clip of TCD lecturer Dr Charles Larkin who said that while the Yes vote has passed there is much that needs to change in Ireland and he predicted that a second bailout will give the country nothing else but time to do that:

YouTube: AFP

Read: Krugman: Ireland voted for a ‘bad idea’ – and euro could collapse in two years

Read: Most spoiled votes? Highest turnout? How Ireland voted

Read: REFERENDUM RESULTS: The constituency-by-constituency stats

Read next:

Comments (62 Comments)

• I doubt a shock wave would have been sent through the markets had it been a No vote…and so what if it had. I’m sick to the back teeth of money determining the course we as a country and society are being taken down. Its sod the ordinary people….look after the paymasters. This country is ruined and has been decimated by a handful of self serving people who have and are being very well rewarded for doing so..

• My ass! The majority went to the polls with fear in their hearts or greed at their fingertips. Neither a worthy emotion to feel while exercising one’s democratic right to vote.

We sold our country for a bank’s debt. The debt was never ours. I voted NO and have the photo to prove it. I now dedicate myself to taking our country back from the banksters that stole it. I am mad as hell and very disappointed.

• Well said … and that is how it is….

• Well said Reida, we had a choice to say ” no more” but choose instead to hand the keys to the country over to the nightmare that Europe has become.

• Democracy is a bitch sometimes eh Réada? But sure you’d be far angrier if there had been no referendum.

• Ryan, we have no choice but to accept the outcome of yesterday’s disastrous result. A decision that would not have been afforded to the people had the outcome been a NO! But as you said, to Fine Gael, democracy is a bitch!

• I agree with Reada. We haven’t the luxury of HOPE that the second Lisbon allowed the yes voters. Sickening, this ‘democracy’ we speak of.

• How true u speak Reada. I can say that I have a picture to prove my No vote. Many of the yes side believe that I may have been insane to take such a picture. But it’s my firm belief in years to come I will treasure it only more so.

• My comment being deleted Reada now, are you reporting me for questioing your sanity in photographing your ballot paper to prove what you voted, do you honestly think anyone cares? Maybe your SF and ULA buddies might, but the other 99% don’t.

• Toorkeel. I didn’t report your comment. I received it by email and was surprised Journal deleted. It was no more nasty than your usual comments. Your insults don’t worry me in the slightest.

Did Pearse and Connolly worry about the people outside the GPO jeering them when they read the Proclamation? I don’t think so.

You can question my sanity all you want. Mojo and I will treasure our photos. We did as we did ready to face the consequences and whatever hardship it might entail. We, and many others voted NO because we value the citizens of our country more than banks and bondholders. We did it for higher values than bailouts or loans. It was not for greed that the sons of Roisin died. Nor was it for a lump of earth. It was for the people of this island.

And what a great country we would have if Sinn Féin and ULA were running this country. They, and only they it seems, would have the courage to face down the terrorist Troika. The Troika are the only ones threatening our capital city with bombs now!

• I don’t believe in being nasty Reada, not my style. Thankfully. I just think its wired that you would photograph your ballot paper. As for the ULA and SF running this country, it will never happen. The good people of Ireland can see through their cuckoo policies….

• @toorkeel – I guess me and my family just be ‘wired’ too then, since we all took photos of our ballot papers and shared them on various sites. Funnily enough, no one stopped to think, wait! Does taking a photo of my ballot paper make me some kind of weirdo?!
      No, we felt proud, and thought we were unchaining Ireland from this path of destruction she has been set on. It seemed a moment worth recording!

• toorkeel 03/06/12 #

@Ailis. Sorry, that should have read wierd. Predictive text. Yes, I would say that it is a peculiar and wierd thing to do. Especially since its a secret ballot. It’s no ones business but your own. If it was a Stone Roses ticket you were photographing….that is different entirely

• hilarious, we just agreed as a nation, that international finance is more important than our society and these people are celebrating? time will tell…

• The passing of yesterdays treaty has sent a clear message to the markets that both the irish people and us in government are lapdogs,We are confident that this message will illustrate to the markets that they can do what they want to us while also inspiring investor confidence.dont believe any of the above stories,the markets love us really,lucinda even said we might get back to the bond markets by next tuesday just a week before stability is due to fly into Terminal 2.

• We had a voice. Some chose not to use it, others chose to give all future choices to a foreign power, and those of us who sought to keep the power of self determination now have to find a way to forgive the treasonous ‘majority’ who with the flick of a pencil signed us away.

• What we done was voted to restrain politicans, Which I believe is a good thing. I’m not sure how the no side think they have some high moral ground, The silly accusations of treachery I think show a real lack of understanding as to what they were voting on. It wasn’t a vote on paying bank debt ………. period.

• ‘john johnson so you believe its better that unelected and unaccountable administrations should have the power? while i agree there is not much accountability as it stands we have much less chance of introducing it now, at least we had the power to change our leadership before thursday

• “If ye love wealth better than liberty, the tranquility of servitude better than the animating contest of freedom, go home from us in peace. We ask not your counsels or arms. Crouch down and lick the hands which feed you. May your chains set lightly upon you, and may posterity forget that ye were our countrymen.”
      ― Samuel Adams

• So John do you think that the teacher Kenny will get a pay cut and be “restrained” now like the rest of the country took? ….no I don’t think so either. Corrupt cowards all they are.

• The vote was for restricting spending/borrowing to 0.5% more than GDP, so talk about unaccountable adminstrations “having the power” as a result of a yes vote is crazy. Governments still set their own budgets and the only time there will be any interference from unelected adminstration is if the borrow/spend more than the 100.5% of gdp, unless the debt to gdp ratio is less than 60% in which case you are free to spend more.
      I really think that the problem is that some people don’t understand what they were voting on.

• @Martin Mac, What has that got to do with Yes/No. I would love to see them all getting heavily cut…….. But I can’t see how that is relevant to what we are talking about ???

• Revolting Peasant…
      Society only remains functionable because of the EU.
      When you say we as a nation I assume that it is the minority NO voters that you are referring to.
      The majority of the nation was in favour of a YES ballot.

• My response in the context of the YES Vote

A Note From Below To The Yes Voter.
      soundmigration.wordpress.com/2012/06/01/a-note-from-below-to-the-yes-voter/

• We did not vote to restrain politicians. Who do you think is making the decisions now? Foreign politicians, who are are not accountable to us, and bankers. Goldman Sachs thanks you! Meanwhile Enda Kenny and co will be maintained in the style they’ve grown accustomed to while everybody else in this country pays the price.

Can you feel the stability yet?

• I personally voted and campaigned for a no vote on the basis that I don’t believe it to be sustainable for us to get down to 0.5% of GDP inclusive of all the repayments on the banking debt and also because I believe that the domestic economy is on it’s knees and requires stimulus and not further regressive taxes like the household tax that take money out of the domestic economy in a non-productive way .
    The only positive I will be taking out of the treaty is that we have proven that we are unable to govern ourselves effectively. Perhaps we can have a proper health system,integrated transport system and productive, accountable senior civil servants like they have in other European states and which are all sadly lacking here

• Ireland was sold for the price of a bank, shameful.

• We relinquished fiscal autonomy for absolutely nothing, not even the promise of a loan. We are in no way guaranteed funds from ESM, even though our contribution is required. It’s a farce.
    And to those who claim to have voted yes in order to ‘restrain’ our frivolous politicians, that it will at least make them accountable, you’re codding yourselves! Let’s suppose that the fact they have so far been arrogant and irresponsible is NOT our fault for never protesting and forcing them to be accountable, let’s assume it’s not us allowing the corrupt, self preserving status quo to remain unchallenged. Do you really think that now the EU will make sure our Taoiseach and ministers will set a shining example and cut their pay and expenses? That wont happen, but I tell you what will. Our weak willed government will use their new veritable carte Blanche to rain all sorts of cuts down on those least able I cope and when we say why? How can you do this!?
    They will say oh no! We agree with you, it’s a tough time you’re going through, but we didn’t make the decision, it came from Brussels. But we are all in this together!
    But there will be nothing we can do because it’s not like you can opt out if this treaty when everything is alright again. This is permanent.
    Every one of us is supposed to be responsible for this country, it is a privilege gifted to us by patriots who gave far more than we ever had to.
    when I hear about the ‘sigh of relief’ that the yes vote brought, I think, what relief? For those on the outside looking in, perhaps. But the only certainty this treaty has wrought is the certainty that low and middle income earners can look forward to a grinding hardship that’s set to last for a very long time.
    We must look forward now and find a way through this.
    All we can do now is hold the government to ransom over their empty promises.

• The Government can now access loads and loads of lovely money to spend on themselves and their mates. It will take generations for our children to pay this off.

• My biggest problem with this whole issue is not that our budgets will be controlled by european technocrats, its not that we showed support for a mandate pursued by a government elected with pure lies, its not even that we SOLD out our country, my biggest problem is that the second bailout when it happens (and it will happen) will provide our inept government with the finances that will still be W A S T E D….

I voted NO by the way…

• With the abject surrender of fiscal sovereignty, haven’t we ceased to be a Republic? – Supreme power now rests not with the citizens of Ireland, but with unaccountable European bureaucrats…

• The illegal use of opinions in law in Ireland to keep the people in ignorance and the figures demonstrate that democracy in any country is a charade.

The danger is that delusion, dangerous and corrupt greedy people will continue to abuse these systems until the world goes back into war.

Mankind is in a very self-destructive mode.

• Im still in shock over the fact that this treaty is going to be passed.

We had a chance to say no and we wasted it. So in 50 years time when my little australian grandkids ask me “but why did you let them away with it?” i’ll explain to them the trouble with democracy is that a vote from 5 eejits is apparently better that that of 4 geniuses… (oops, did i say that out loud) .. Roll on smart comments from all the little yes men.

• Mick this country is finally growing up. Not long ago they voted in FF for a third time for very obvious selfish and naive reasons – wanting the party to continue. At last they are realising that to get out of the mess we are in we have to take medicine we don’t like but must take if our sick economy is to survive. Democracy can be dangerous especially when used for selfish reasons. We are starting finally to come of age.

• Pearse your idea of growing up obviously is running back to auntie when mammy gets pissed. My idea of growing up is standing on your own two feet and being a man, or a woman in my case. Declare independence!

• But it won’t be well heeled state employees like Pearse taking the medicine on behalf of corrupt banks, politicians and property developers, it will be the working and lower middle classes who will continue to be disproportionately targeted by the Irish Tory Party and their Labour lapdogs.

• Ireland was not sold, did you even read the treaty? Get a grip lads. The vote is over, the people decided.

• Tyrion take the blinkers off.Have read the Treaty and we have given away our sovereignty no matter how its phrased otherwise.We are now governed outside of Dublin no matter how many cherries are put on it……..

• Horses you were reading something different than me

• john Johnson I have been reading the very same as you.We vote in who we think is the best people to GOVERN this country and because they could not do that and we voted yes we are now going to get fined from an outside source because the elected can not do their job.Not rocket science in my book.

• Horses I agree with you the muppets can’t do their job, Where we disagree is that I think it’s wise to have guidelines/restrictions that the muppets have to observe and work within. While I am in no way minimizing the unjust bank debt landed on us, it is not the only problem with our finances. The surplus that we were running for years was due solely to the property bubble and the huge amount of borrowed money flooding the country. So even without the (totally unjust) bank debt landed on us, We were heading for a severe financial crash anyway. So it’s not rocket science in my book to restrict the borrowing abilities of politicans when on so many occasions it is done for political gains, give away budgets pre elections etc. Since When is it a bad thing to live within your means. How can you say that we are now governed from outside Ireland anymore than we were ? Observed….. yes……. reigned in if we’re spending beyond our means yes…….. Given away our sovereignty……… no…..
      not anymore than it was in previous referendums, as this simply compells us (and everyone else) to stick to previously agreed targets…

• Ireland is the ninth country to ratify the fiscal compact, joining Portugal, Greece, Romania, Poland, Slovenia, Latvia, Sweden and Denmark. Negotiations over the treaty between ruling and opposition parties in the rest of the European Union have also begun. Depending on if (and how) the treaty is modified, ratification processes already in progress could be forced to start over.

Consequently, the Irish referendum is a political victory for Germany since it gives Berlin additional arguments against treaty modification. The approval also returns the necessity of fiscal discipline to the forefront of the European discussion, which has been dominated by recent growth proposals such as project bonds, eurobonds and increased European Investment Bank funding.

http://www.businessspectator.com.au/bs.nsf/Article/Ireland-fiscal-compact-referendum-European-crisis-pd20120602-UUTBU?OpenDocument&src=sph

Well done Ireland! Hurrah for austerity.

• I can’t believe ye voted yes I’ve been following this from oz and I thought surely they can see through the yes siders bullshit and a less than 50 perc turn out , I’m very disheartened by this cos it seems to me if the people couldn’t be bothered getting off their holes to go and vote on something with such far reaching implications for Ireland’s future economic autonomy well they deserve what they get , absolutely sickening the usual shite all talk no action , the only country to put it to a referendum and we back the c..ts who are doing us in the ass . Oh look at the time I better go there’s a Eurovision rerun on wouldn’t want to miss it , that’s what’s really important

• i just watched an rte news referendum video and saw a yes vote been put on a no vote http://www.rte.ie/news/2012/0601/fiscal-treaty-referendum-count-to-begin.html#video start at 49sec into the video its quick. you can see it better on the video at the bottom left of the the videos, the video is called “Yes side confident of fiscal treaty referendum victory”
    1 Jun 2012 3:26. start this video 2mins in.

• The treaty passed is one that will be useful to use. I don’t get why people are so skeptical about something they know very little about. I’m also pretty sure most Irish people who voted NO have NO idea what is in the treaty and why they were really voting no. It is a good thing this was passed, because if it wasn’t, we would be facing huge pressure from the markets with investors either leaving or not interested. We are a small country, we need inward investment. We simply can’t sustain ourselves.

• We might as well change the signage at Dublin airport to welcome to germany airport!!..

• Karswell 02/06/12 #

No. Firstly, Dublin is a city, Germany is a country, and has many airport, none of which are called “Germany Airport”. Secondly, the German government’s motives for further damaging Ireland’s economy would, if such an agenda existed, be only to stabile their own, and not to engage in extending their borders. Germany is still trying to balance their accounts from reunification. More territory is not an option for them.

• People are angry but a yes vote was the right choice

Add New Comment