TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

REFERENDUM RESULTS: The constituency-by-constituency stats

The results are coming in thick and fast… the ‘Yes’ vote appears to have it.

HERE ARE THE results from your constituency counts as they are announced live at the Dublin Castle central count centre (in alphabetical order).

OVERALL NUMBER OF VOTES: 1,591, 385.

INVALID VOTES: 7,206.

TOTAL VALID VOTES: 1,584,179.

‘YES’ VOTES: 955,091.

‘NO’ VOTES: 629,088.

The ‘Yes’ vote won by 326,003 votes.

COMPLETED CONSITUENCY COUNTS: 43.

KEY TO MAP (via referendum.ie):

Green – Result in: Majority YES

Red – Result in: Majority NO

Blue – Count not yet completed

CARLOW-KILKENNY: Turnout 50.98%. Yes 63.29%; No 36.71%.

CAVAN-MONAGHAN: Turnout: 48.76%. Yes 57.58%; No 42.42%.

CLARE: Turnout 49.81%. Yes 65.73%; No 34.27%.

CORK EAST: Turnout 49.21%. Yes 60.52%; No 39.48%.

CORK NORTH-CENTRAL: Turnout 51.49%. Yes 52%; No: 48%.

CORK NORTH-WEST: Turnout 51.91%. Yes 65.59%; No 34.41%.

CORK SOUTH-CENTRAL: Turnout 53.46%. Yes 62.17%; No 37.83%.

CORK SOUTH-WEST: Turnout 51.55%. Yes 66.27%; No 33.73%.

DONEGAL NORTH-EAST: Turnout 42.59%. Yes 44.37%; No 55.63%.

DONEGAL SOUTH-WEST: Turnout 41.92%. Yes 45.05%; No 54.95%.

DUBLIN CENTRAL: Turnout 48.3%. Yes 53.53%; No 46.47%.

DUBLIN MID-WEST: Turnout 51.63%. Yes 50.01%; No 49.99%. (Just FIVE votes separated the sides in this one)

DUBLIN NORTH: Turnout 52.92%. Yes 60.43%; No 39.57%.

DUBLIN NORTH-CENTRAL: Turnout 58.76%. Yes 62.28%; No 37.72%.

DUBLIN NORTH-EAST: Turnout 57.17%. Yes 58%; No 42%.

DUBLIN NORTH-WEST: Turnout 51.85%. Yes 46.76%; No 53.24%.

DUBLIN SOUTH: Turnout 57.07%. Yes 75.84%; No 24.16%.

DUBLIN SOUTH-CENTRAL: Turnout 51.73%. Yes 49.1%; No 50.9%.

DUBLIN SOUTH-EAST: Turnout 48.84%. Yes 72.3%; No 27.7%.

DUBLIN SOUTH-WEST: Turnout 51.04%. Yes 49.30%; No 50.70%.

DUBLIN WEST: Turnout 51.65%. Yes 58.18%; No 41.82%.

DUN LAOGHAIRE: Turnout 57.17%. Yes 74.21%; No 25.79%.

GALWAY EAST: Turnout 46.77%. Yes 63.25%; No 36.45%

GALWAY WEST: Turnout 48.19%. Yes 57.91%; No 42.09%.

KERRY NORTH/WEST-LIMERICK: Turnout 47.16%. Yes 60.95%; No 39.05%.

KERRY SOUTH: Turnout 48.26%. Yes 64.67%; No 35.33%.

KILDARE NORTH: Turnout 51.23%. Yes 65.28%; No 35.27%.

KILDARE SOUTH: Turnout 49.61%. Yes 58.36%; No 41.64%.

LAOIS-OFFALY: Turnout 48.59%. Yes 59.64%; No 40.36%.

LIMERICK: Turnout 48.33%. Yes 66.1%; No 33.9%.

LIMERICK CITY: Turnout 48.79%. Yes 60.69%; No 39.31%.

LONGFORD-WESTMEATH: Turnout 46.74%. Yes 60.30%; No 39.70%.

LOUTH: Turnout 52.17%. Yes 52.75%; No 47.25%.

MAYO: Turnout 47.76%. Yes 67.24%; No 32.76%.

MEATH EAST: Turnout 48.98%. Yes 62.64%; No 37.36%.

MEATH WEST: Turnout 47.58%. Yes 56.58%; No 43.42%.

ROSCOMMON-SOUTH LEITRIM: Turnout 52%. Yes 60.75%; No 39.25%.

SLIGO-NORTH LEITRIM: Turnout 47.99%. Yes 60.32%; No 39.68%.

TIPPERARY NORTH: Turnout 53.97%; Yes 65.57%; No 34.42%.

TIPPERARY SOUTH: Turnout 52.96%. Yes 60.65%; No 39.35%.

WATERFORD: Turnout 51.11%. Yes 57.66%; No: 42.34%.

WEXFORD: Turnout 48.89%. Yes 57.81%; No 42.19%.

WICKLOW: Turnout 57.47%. Yes 60.88%; No 39.12%.

Read next:

Comments (201 Comments)

• From the Irishtimes live stream:

“Perhaps the most interesting result so far is Dublin Mid West which recorded a marginal Yes vote by only five votes. The official result was Yes 50.01% No 49.99%. Votes in favour 16,509, votes against 16,585. Now let that be a lesson to all those who claim their vote doesn’t count”

So anyone, whatever your persuasion. Exercise your right to vote! In fact I think of it less of a right and more of a duty.

• I wish you were counting. The No vote would have carried by 76 votes!

• All voting should be mandatory, with strict penalties for any not voting.

• Sorry Billy, dropped it in straight from the stream, hence the quotation marks. I assume author must have mistyped on the numbers. It is 5 votes in it though, that is certain.

• YES or NO? WHO CARES!!!
      Some say ‘YES’ will give away our sovereignty and make us German eventually … Some say ‘NO’ will ruin our chances of a financial recovery and alienate Ireland from Europe.
      All of it is horse manure – the real issue is how we use the power we do have here.
      Maybe we are better off being German because we have failed to run our own country correctly, we elect FF, a centre party (IMO), or a party with centrism ideals … in other words fence sitters …. our other option is a coalition of FG and LAB which is a centre-right and a centre-left party respectively …. a combination which leaves us with a government forced to concede to centrism in order to get power together.
      So, at the minute we vote either a party with centrism or a coalition that compromises on centrism …. That is fact!!!
      It’s a joke, until we start to listen to political ideals of the other parties, and give them a chance then we are just left with the same crap and it has been that way since the foundation of the Dail.
      Political parties are not football teams, you don’t have to be a die hard supporter, they are our public servants and if they can’t do the job let’s give somebody else a chance.
      We have created a monster by turning our politics into a sport and supporting your ‘team’ whether they are winning or losing.
      The term ‘floating voter’ is bandied around like it’s a negative thing… the term used should be independent (and more likely informed) voter.
      IT’S NOT GAA, IT’S NOT SOCCER, IT’S NOT TIDDLYWINKS AND IT’S NOT YOUR SPOUSE – YOU ARE NOT MARRIED TO A POLITICAL PARTY….. IT’S YOUR NATION, IT’S YOUR LIFESTYLE AND THE LIFESTYLE OF YOUR FELLOW COUNTRYMEN AND WOMEN!!!
      Use your own thoughts and assess your own needs before you vote on anything, otherwise you are making a mockery of democracy.
      God,, I could rant on this forever!

• I’ll always remember this day.Its the day Ireland as a free and self-determining country died.

800 years of British rule.80 years of Papal rule.10 years of Fianna Fail corruption and a future of perpetual debt run by foreigners whom we never even get to see or hold accountable.

Good thing I’m leaving…..

• Totally agree Jennifer!

• I find it interesting that so many give “thumbs down” to the idea of mandatory voting. It’s good to know that democracy has support here.

• Good to see the Supporters Brigade are on here in force … keep the thumbs down coming …. sheep

• Perhaps those “thumbs down” for mandatory voting could offer some reasons for their choice.

• Need a calculator????! Lol

• Apologies, wrote that too soon, just see your answer

• @Doc Democracy mean you have the right to have you’re say you also have the right to say nothing its just as valid you’re suggestion is part of the communist philosophy and Australia sadly

• @Doc Plus under the literal meaning Ireland is not a Democracy it’s a Republic there different thing (not sure if it qualifies as a Republic anymore )

• @Jeff…..Certainly isn’t a republic……one of the main principles of a republic is sovereignty. We don’t own our seas or its produce, we don’t own our oil and gas, and we now won’t run how our money is spent and divided in this state.Also very soon we will not own all of our forests and our water and electrical systems will be sold off.

Essentially in the space of 5 years we have become an exponentially indebted province of Europe that has foreign agents meddling in our affairs and gaining from our increased poverty.People voted about money and maintaining their own wealth and not what was best for all of the people of Ireland.

• @Doc, it’s a democracy, you don’t just have the right to choose your government, you have the right not to choose them! Whilst I would never advocate non voting personally i would defend the right of someone else not to bother if that’s what they chose.

• Y E S !!!!!

• isn’t it mad how just under half the country couldn’t give a flying fck one way or the other…. If they got a No we’d just be asked to vote again in a few months anyway…and again…and again untill they got their precious yes. It’s all bulshit… like the guy saying political parties are not football teams… I know people who vote FF or FG just because their fathers did. BS!

The Irish electorate as a whole do not know the first thing about politics – nor are they given any motivation to get involved. It should be taught at school from an early age, even once a week and school goers should be instrumental in forming their own views on how countries should be run. They should look at how other countries run and how they govern themselves.

France & Germany for instance have presidents who run the country in conjunction with a Prime Minister who is often head of the opposition. Obama has a Democratic Whitehouse but a Republican Congress. All of these major countries have polar/bi-partisan leaderships – the greatest minds in the world – we have gangsters like Bertie and Charlie, Biffo or Enda Kenny with sole charge – what chance do we have?

We have an antiquated system which was left by the Brits in 1922 and if you look closely enough you’ll probably find that today’s politicians are grandsons and daughters of those that started the Dail back in the day when they were too lazy to set out a structured govt. It was, and still is all about personal power. Keith Lenehen is right, our choice is Centre FF or a coalistion of Centre right FG and centre left labour equalling same old same old centre with everyone afraid to upset the applecart. Do you think politicians on 95 grand a year care about austerity?

Today’s Dail is about cronyism and nepatism and untill new blood gets in that’s all we’ll ever have – the old school tie etc – It’s all bullshit!

• @Jeff. I can agree that one should have the choice to Not vote for any of the candidates on the ballot, however this important rejection is not accommodated for in our current system. Spoilt votes or non cast votes are simply ignored. This I feel leaves a lot of peoples choices also ignored. In the current context 50% of those that had a vote chose for whatever reason, not to cast their ballot. So actually the decision for all has been made by 25% of the people, hardly a huge majority there. I’m not advocating a particular system, just exploring what perhaps can be done to make our system more inclusive.

• The problem with mandatory voting is that the government likes to have their referendums during the week so those of us who work in a different place to our home where are vote is may not be able to get home to vote!

• @ Keith Lenehan
      Your so called rant is probably the best comment I have read on the Journal. Ireland has always voted a FF or FG lead government.

I believe it was Einstein that said “madness is to keep doing the same thing over and over again but each time expecting a different result.”

• Having lived a good part of my life in Australia I can tell you mandatory voting is not without problems. People vote just because they have to without thought and often took their cue from tabloid media, which are owned by 2 media giants – Murdoch and packer…… So if you were in politics and had one of these fine gents as a friend, you had it made. Compulsory voting in other words has many downsides and parties who shouldn’t have been in power have got in many times because of it

• Thank you Noel and Gerry … @Noel, I’m not sure it’s the best post on the journal, but to me it seems logical and it angers me that we are our own worse enemies but throw the blame at Europe or whoever seems to be walking by, when in fact we have created a mess of the nation pretty much from the formation of the state… but again thanks for the compliment…. it’s appreciated.

• I’m not happy with the result but I’m happy with democracy. its a shame there was so much scaremongering around this campaign

• Look, neither side took the high ground on this campaign, each side used fear tactics. No doubt both vastly overstated the positives and negatives to suit same. I voted no, had a good understanding of the treaty, didn’t agree with it. Well, didn’t agree with certain aspects. Other aspects I thought were greatly needed. Well done to the yes camp. The people, for whatever reason, have spoken and have given the government and the eu their trust. All sides should now respect that decision and work to ensure the faith given hasn’t been misplaced.

• Well done, you managed to insult the entire no side with your pathetic remark AND the yes side by being associated with you.

Congratulations…

• The unwavering belief in the democratic process and voice of the people as held by the majority of ( dare I say former ) No supporters is truly heartening. Is the left-wing not traditionally in favour of the wishes of the majority. The majority who voted said Yes. The minority who voted said No. The referendum is over. There is no point in continuing to campaign for a no vote.
    I would also ask some of the ( former ) Yes supporters to decline from “rubbing salt into wounds. It is ungracious and quite ugly. Thank you.

• Whilst it’s agreed that the “Yes” campaign has won and a lot of furore has been made of Donegal’s rejection, I think the result from Dublin South Central should be ringing bells in Labour headquarters. Previously this constituency in General Elections has returned two left wing candidates and possibly could have returned 3 in the next election. Although this still may remain a possibility, if one was to consider SF left wing, it still remains that Labours support has disappeared in an area that previously voted consistently for them.

• Well it’s not like it was a massive defeat. Only 51/49 to the no side. I’d say Labour will lose one of their seats there next time anyway, but referenda give us little or no indication of party support.

• For any statistics lovers out there there only a .04 correlation coefficient between turnout and voting yes. So yes voters are ever so slightly more determined this time round, but there’s really no difference. Just thought it’d be interesting in light of yesterday’s article on turnout.

• Denis 01/06/12 #

I think that” just 5 votes separated the result” should be for Dublin mid-west not Dublin west.

• There is no such thing as economic sovereignty, so why is everyone so confused about the vote, including me! All this it’s the end of the world stuff! Yes ok it might be a slower recovery now etc but maybe it will stop everyone going out and buying big ass cars they can’t afford, create a better more stable industry in Ireland.

• If this is so great for Ireland why has the ISEQ been dropping all day?

• Those turnout figures make me ill.

• i have voted in referemdum’s and elections before and have to say even when the vote didnt go the way i had voted before it never truely bothered me until today..

i am not judging the ‘yes’ voters they had their reasons as much as i had mine for voting ‘no’, i just hope we dont all live to regret this day.

• I could not agree with you more…. The biggest disgrace is that less than 25 percent of irelands entitled voters made this descission

• You are probably echoing the thoughts of many. I suspect that if the result had gone the other way your views would have been just as valid.

Until the governmental leaders of the EU come together and agree a vision for Europe as recommended by Mario Draghi there is no way of telling what the Fiscal Treaty will achieve.

• Generally the higher the turnout for a European referendum the more likely a positive result. It would almost certainly have been a yes even if we had 70% turnout.

• Hard to criticise the shy Taoiseach now. Looks like he’s about to get his result!!

• From reading the comments on this site throughout recent weeks one could certainly get the impression that the ‘No’ supporters cared more. As well as the relative number of ‘No’ comments, generally its my perception (much as I hate to use generalisations to make a point) that the language used in the “No” comments in this forum has been more extreme or at least expressed with more more zeal and conviction.

I thought therefore that the constituencies with the higher ‘No’ percentages would have higher turnouts but from an admittedly cursory perusal of the stats above the opposite would seem to be the case.

So maybe the Yes people cared as much, but just cared a little quieter.

• Or maybe they were quiet because their reasons for voting yes are hard to defend.

The “no side” hasn’t had a monopoly on name calling and low tactics.

• Both sides were not bothered as reflected in the turnout. I do think student having been able to vote would have made a big difference…
      Personally I do feel that the older generation shafted their grand children by voting yes fearing the in between generation would go NO.
      Then again if you have your facculties and your limbs… there was no excuse not to make it to the ballot box between 7am and 10pm.

So come Decembers cuts with sone other excuse to give carrots friends a payrise…. More than half this country should suck it up….. you had your chance to vote either way

• Gagsy 99 01/06/12 #

@censored – wasn’t suggesting a monopoly but I do realise I’m making unsubstantiated generalisations

• ReferENDA.

• Does this mean now that FG can’t breach the salary cap and award themselves and their friends, relations and cronies vast ill deserved wages?

• The biggest dissaster is that so few showed to vote. As one of the few european countries that have referenda….I find it a disgrace that people did not vote. OK a huge percentage ofvstudents would not have been able to make it due to convenient planning from the government.. but that does not make up 50% shortfall. People do not realise what (rights) they have untill its to late….
    Well from English province to European (German) in less than a century……And that by free choice….

• Susie, trueleft, diarmuid, where are ye now?

• Germany have decided to put the treaty off till the sometime later in the year hollande won’t sign until there is changes made so my question is why are we voting in a treaty that hasn’t been finalized yet someone please give me an educated answer PLEASE

• Greece, Portugal and Slovenia have ratified it. We’re next. Once 12 of 17 eurozone members ratify it, it law. Will be an odd situation if 12 weaker smaller eurozone members ratify it and germany and France do not

• mel 01/06/12 #

To Alison ,I’m just wondering have u ever lived on social welfare,it’s a pity you don’t also state that we have one of the highest costs of living in Europe also
    What about Enda kenny’s wages,he is paid more than Merkel and Hollande and even Obama FACT

• mcbab 01/06/12 #

All that rabble rousing and scare mongering by the no side got them nowhere. Except maybe high blood pressure!

• But all the rabble rousing and scaremongering by the yes side got them the result Angela merkel wanted.

Don’t be doing a Fine gael and translating this result as a commitment to a dying currency and an acceptance that FG’s cowardice is the way forward when it just confirms us as a laughing stock and whipping boys..Ireland – the country that takes on foreign debt and asks for nothing in return..
      Enjoy your success in conning and threatening one third of the population into more secession of power to the unnamed, unelected cartels….pat yourself on the back that you and your sort have after less than a century of nationhood simply handed it away and……hold up, you’re a troll…your comments mean nothing and as usual they’re inane and unintellectual…..

• Typical Donegal vote no again no wonder the county never gets nothing , same old story again blaney was elected for 30 years brought nothing to the county , sinn fein tds will also bring nothing to the county oppose everything nothing credible ever proposed till the people of Donegal change we will have nothing here .

• Yeah they should take a leaf out of your book and sell out their country to Europe.

• How do those sour grapes taste?

• Donegal is part of the Border Midlands and West region which gets extra preference for EU funds because of its economic disadvantage. Their consistent rejection of EU treaties is incredibly misinformed.

• @Daniel
      You’ve been on here making idiotic, arrogant and gloating statements all morning. It doesn’t reflect well on you personally and it does your party a huge disservice to be associated with your attitudes.
      Sorry, but someone had to say it.

• @mattoid, his statements are usually based on facts and analysis. Unlike yours just now. I don’t know the guy, but he’s been perfectly reasonable, and get tonnes of abuse. Pot kettle?

• yeah jerry, we should fence off the place and starve them, the cheek of them!!! Maybe make the losing no side wear some kind of badge or star? thats a real blueshirt response.

• you know it’s people like you that’s got this country the way it is.What’s in it for Me…? brigade..my initial response when the results came in was disappointment.But maybe in the next couple of month’s when the sh1t really hits the proverbial wall..you Will be looking for the backing of the Donegal and the people who could see through the GOVERNMENTAL SPIN.
      DUB

• Id rather Donegal folk stay the same, the kindest warmest and most sincere people in Ireland.

• @Donncha
      Presumably also unlike yours just now too, while we’re on the subject of pots and kettles? ;)

Seriously though, here are a sample of some of Daniel’s other ‘reasonable’ comments from this morning that are ‘based on facts and analysis’:

“I know! I am loving it! I have the biggest smile on my face right now!” (about the absence of a prominent no commenter from the Journal today)…

“Off to the pub with you, if you get tired of begrudging you welcome to hang out with me and my mates, we’ll be celebrating”…

“Indeed we won, they lost. Haters gonna hate!”…

And to another no voter: “Be honest you don’t want a job, you want a hand out.”…

Thats the arrogant and gloating attitude I was talking about. I’m a yes voter myself (albeit a reluctant one), but I don’t see the yes vote as something that is worthy of happiness or celebration, far less any smugness, gloating or rubbing the no voter’s noses in the dirt. I certainly don’t see a ‘them and us’ scenario between the different ‘sides’.

The vote is now complete, the people have spoken and we must move on to a difficult future together. Whatever the outcome of the vote there was always going to be a lot of pain and austerity ahead of us, whether we like it or not. Its now time to start pulling together instead of deepening any divisions.

• What the EU has taken from Donegal outweighs what it has given back in petty subsidies. The infrastructure is amongst some of the poorest in the country, so is broadband coverage and health services. This doesn’t sound like a county thats being invested in or encouraged to prosper economically.
      Why are Donegal people always voting no?
      You may or may not remember that Ireland generously relinquished control of its fishing grounds to the EU. Why? We were not a rich country but we were rich in natural resources. Donegal being a large coastal county was severely negatively impacted by this. In recent years Irish fishermen have been forced to stand idly by watching what used to be their waters nearly depleted by EU member trawlers. Irish fishermen faced fines and prison sentences if they went over their own meager quotas. The last time these sort of laws were in place was under British Colonial Rule and exacerbated the Irish genocide also known as the Irish Famine.
      Billions of euro worth of fish have since been caught in what used to be Irish waters. Norway will not even join the EU as they are not willing to relinquish their waters.

Further EU laws now outlaw the mechanical cutting of peat for fuel on our own land as it is harming the natural habitat of protected species. I do agree that certain areas should be preserved but this leaves us with the predicament of what to do for fuel and generally the cheapest or only option is to buy it from other EU member states and corporations.

If the people of Donegal vote no it is to protect its people from further hardship and the surrendering of our political power to make our own specific laws that benefit our citizens.

• Up here we have brains and are not like sheep that voted yes. Wake up and see what’s goin on around u instead of talkin rubbish. Oh. Btw can’t wait for this recovery. When does it start? After bank holiday Monday? Zzzzzzz

• Well said.

• Yeah real smart up there. Hence the all those thriving industries… Oh, hang on……

• @Daniel, sour grapes have a habit of fermenting, this creates gas , gas can explode, dangerous situation, .

• While the Yes side are quite entitled to celebrate their victory here’s a sobering thought. I met two Yes voters today who voted Yes because they believe Ireland will cede sovereignty to Europe. They both said Irish politicians are not fit to run the country

• That might not be entirely incorrect in the short-term. Which of the current crop of career-politicians would you choose to run the country?

• None. Am beginning to think I should have voted yes along with them – for that reason

• I’ve heard the same. I’m not sure whether to cry or laugh.

• They do not represent the Yes side. Nor, do they speak on behalf of the country. It was merely their opinion. Know the difference.

• Karswell 01/06/12 #

That was one of the main issues that changed my preference from No to Yes. If I believed that there were politicians competent and civic-minded enough to take charge and steer Ireland on a better course, my preference would have remained No. As it is, we have replaced a corrupt government for an ineffective and cowardly one. If this government collapsed, the alternatives seem to me to be only more ineffective. I do not want A government other than an Irish government administrating national policy, but any administration is better than none at all.

• If we need a second bailout, can we deny Donegal and those No parts of Dublin funding?

• I voted yes. It was not an easy decision. The fact of the matter is we will need another bail out. If we refused the treaty we’d have to go cap in hand to the yanks for it. I’d rather not live in the 51st state of America.

• Dublin South with the highest YES vote at 75.84% :D

• I’m moving to Sligo… Seems like all the sane people live there and Donegal! The majority of the rest of the country have their heads firmly inserted into their anus!

• It looks like fear rather than sense won the day. The propaganda machine was given a good scrub and oiling for this campaign.

• It’s been a shabby, shameful business. The EU is killing democracy in Europe. It’s not only undemocratic, it’s anti-democratic.

• Troll and as we all know trolls rarely have an intellectual comment to make.
    Back under your bridge.

• Saboteur not Sabateur….this “stupid” leftist had to correct you!

• Well that’s Ireland f****d forever. Cheers all you non voters who weren’t bothered going voting. Next time I hear yez complaining when ur taxes are raised or dole is cut you are gonna receive no sympathy from me!

• Any knowledge of economics would tell you the fiscal compact does nothing to address the issue. If it’s not the “austerity treaty” it’s made out to be then at the very least it’s just more pandering to Angela Merkel. There was no realistic reason to vote yes.

• a disaster for our kids…. canada or australia….. here we come.

• And still the sheep follow the shepard .Will wait for all these promised jobs that the shepard said will come with a yes vote.Sure Kenny and Co will get elected again when the time comes………

• Jonno 01/06/12 #

Rue the day…..

• Trying to think of something apt, but just to busy crying and dreadingggggggggggggg the future.

• I like to see folks get what they ask for. Makes me all warm and mushy inside. Lets just see if what you have asked for resembles what it is your going to get.

You clowns are in for a surprise.

• easy now, tiger, shhhhhhhhhh!

• Worry not Gagsy, this movie is about to commence. I have my popcorn and jellies, I’ve turned off the phone and taken off my shoes.

Thankfully I can watch the show from another continent, and today I thank my lucky stars that my entire family had to leave Ireland in the eighties to make a life elsewhere. Where would I be now without dual nationality……..I’d be stuck in a fly by the seat of your pants style democracy run by unelected representatives that reside in an office block in Brussels.

What was it Joan said on the box the other night, “we’re going to pool our sovereignty”

• Can’t wait, apparently they’re going to raise taxes to 150% of income, and then the Dail is going to move to Brussels, and then all Irish people are going to be kept in chains for eternity.

• Congrats the yes side we have accepted a deal that will change at the behest of France and Germany to what? Who cares we accept it anyway.For all who believe this is in our best interest we were forced to include our bank debt into sovereign debt causing us further hardship now Spain will not accept this guess what Mr Rhen and co are going to change the rules ,who says size doesn’t matter.European states are all equal yeah and pigs fly.

• German removal vans are already spreading out across the country to collect all our assets.
    How long now before out tax rates are raised, our social welfare and pensions are slashed and our quality of life goes down the bin?

Yea, well done YES voters. You succeeded in hammering home the lat nail in the coffin.

• @William, as a Yes voter, I think we actually prised the coffin open a bit. But don’t let my opinion draw you away from your doom laden thoughts. Anyways, its the Chinese vans you need to keep an eye out for.

• As a country with the one of the highest social welfare payments, I think it’s about time they were cut like every other sector has been. I think everyone is being a bit dramatic anyway, as if the yes vote means we’ll become equivalent to a third world country.

• Agreed. Ireland has been sold out. Europe won’t give a damn about us. Germany is only looking out for itself. Pity we didn’t do the same. I’m ashamed of this country. Spineless and dumb to the fact that we gave our voice away. We no longer control our future

• @Donncha
      A van by any other name would take as much

• People need to start being more grateful to Europe, instead of constantly portraying them as these totalitarian Nazis or some other BS. Ever heard of not looking a gift horse in the mouth? The fact of the matter is we need Europe to help us get out the hole we’re in, so please put aside your pride and get over this stupid, over-dramatic sentiment about how we’re gonna become the b*tch of Europe. Seriously.

• @Alison… yeah lets cut the social welfare and drive the poor into further poverty,,…sure while we are at it…why don’t we just kill them…they are a burden on the state…yeah just kill them…

The yes vote has given away our economic sovereignty to a foreign power (ESM) so technically we are a third world country but I’m sure your proud of yourself anyway…you and your Pinot Grigio quaffing chums can have a good laugh and collective sigh later that you cushy jobs are still in tact…..

• @Anus, or whatever your name is supposed to be. Why is it that everytime someone mentions cuts to the social welfare payments (might I add, payments FAR in excess of any other country in the EU, probably one of the highest in the world – more than the minimum wage in Spain!) that you get these lefties spouting off crap and over-dramatising your statement in order to make their point more poignant (I thought you guys disliked the use of propoganda? Hypocrite much?) Oh and I love the wine statement. Oh so relevant to the point I made.

In fact, I’m glad you replied because you’ve completely just made my point. Stop with the dramatics! Comparing cutting welfare payments to genocide? Seriously?!

• Might I add that you have NO idea who I am, what I do or where I come from, and I can tell you it’s far from the cushy life you’ve envisaged so I would stop with the presumptious sh*t while you’re at it. I’m just a bit more realistic, I guess, so sorry if that makes me an elitist.

• Avarus your a perfect example as to why people don’t take the no side seriously when you come out with class warfare bullshit like that.

• @Alison …..getting annoyed there are we? ha ha now you’ve made me glad….

• @ Anus. Very mature. Certainly the person I would come to for advice on political issues. I hope you make president some day!

• You can’t diss someone for immaturity while calling them “Anus”.

• Avarus, you sprout some nonsense. Above you were talking about “the day Ireland as a free and self-determining country died” when people “self-determined” to vote Yes to the Treaty.
      Now you are attacking Alison for suggesting it is time to look at welfare payments. They consistently went up and up during boom time. Boom time is over, and as with benchmarking, certain spending needs to be reassessed.
      That you engage in such wild conjecture as “yeah just kill them” is plainly ridiculous.

And finally, the YES vote did not “give our economic sovereignty to a foreign power” the ESM is a mechanism (clue is in the name), not a power. Neither are we a third world country, though we would be if the NOs had their way.

But your “Pinot Grigio quaffing chums” and “cushy jobs” slurs are my particular favourites. Would you perhaps like some salt and vinegar with that chip??.

• Alison the abuse is standard fare. Last time Avarus couldn’t actually argue the point with me, he/she (who knows) decided instead to call me “flat-chested”*. Profound I know.

*Worth nothing Avarus afterwards claimed to have been Fraped, though judging by subsequent comments I am somewhat dubious of this.

• @Jennifer I was fraped so whether you are dubious or not I couldn’t care less, your going to believe what you want anyway.

How can people make an honest decision when they were threatened with all sorts?In regards to the ESM we will see where the power lies when Ireland has to slash its way to pay the ESM and in particular French and German bondholders.You know Europe is not equal and controlled primarily by Germany yet you want to remain part of its pseudo democratic system. Some people are so naive and quite frankly I have better things to be doing so good luck.

• Jennifer, if you read Articles 32-36 of the ESM Treaty (NOT the one we’ve passed a Referendum on), you’ll realise that it IS being set up as an UNLIMITED POWER unto itself (whether foreign or not), and will be utterly inviolable and immune from any judicial, legislative or regulatory process.

• Ah Avarus. Have seen this before. You don’t agree, so the other is “naive”. Did it ever cross you mind that maybe you are naive?

• To be perfectly honest I was really angry yesterday…probably said a few things I shouldn’t have…petty things, just want Ireland to be respected again by both outsiders and us Irish ourselves…..

• Can’t wait to see what the next bailout brings. Should be interesting times ahead!!!! Now that 60% of voters approve of selling Eire down the river and copper fastening austerity in our constitution. Well done to all the sheep!!!!!

• Going to enjoy watching your new masters use Ireland like a public toilet at a music festival. Not everyday you’ll see a nation sell it’s sovereignty for the price of a never ending supply of toilet paper. Don’t worry, the deal comes with toilet brushes and bleach, Brussels will need someone to clean toilets and Ireland has happily volunteered.

Lets see how that works out for you :)

• I just can’t believe the amount of people who voted yes. Well they have made the decision for us all and we will face the consequence of it. More power shifting to Europe. Just awaiting the next referendum which will make our Dail obsolete and make it one european parliament in Brussels.

• Referendum results well down the Journal headlines tonight. No surprise there. The biased reporting and lefty contributors tried to give the impression the No side had much more support than it did. Vive l’Europe!!!

• The run of stories on TheJournal.ie – as regular readers will know – is chronological. The latest breaking news is always at the top of the run and has nothing to do with its importance. At this moment in time (21.20), the theft of a priceless artefact is at the top, then the death of two people in Cork (both of which we just received notification of from the gardai) and then an analysis we have of the numbers in the vote today.
      We spent 8 hours liveblogging the referendum count today which you can read back here – http://jrnl.ie/471062 – and there are several other pieces on the referendum on the site today. Go to http://www.thejournal.ie homepage to see the prominence we gave it.
      We also carried out an information project to ask people what exactly they needed to understand about the wording of the treaty and spent a lot of time and effort getting answers from two independent outlets as well as from the Yes and No camp – http://jrnl.ie/467895
      If you click on this link – http://www.thejournal.ie/referendum/news/ – you will see the extent and breadth of our reporting on the referendum over the past weeks.
      We have never expressed any editorial preference for the Yes or No site and have prided ourselves on bringing as impartial a tone of reporting as possible to proceedings (unlike many printed outlets which all expressed preferences in editorials this week).
      The Read Me section gave voice to both sides also – in fact, on Tuesday, we made an express effort to give a platform to op-eds from both Enda Kenny and Gerry Adams to make sure that the last contributions to the debate on our site were balanced.
      Your slurs against my colleagues and I are not appreciated and can I suggest that if you don’t like TheJournal.ie, you save yourself the stress of reading it.
      Thank you, Susan Daly, Editor, TheJournal.ie

• Lisa Lee 01/06/12 #

Pressed red by accident, sorry Susan I’m awful on the iPad! TheJournal has been an excellent source of impartial advice throughout this whole referendum, providing great access to both sides of the argument that may not have been available otherwise. Thanks for that! It helped me in deciding how to vote, but I won’t be splashing that all over here, it’s done now.

• Thanks Lisa – and don’t worry about the red button – I think we have them placed too closely together!

• get my irish news from 2 places the journal and the BBC none of the rest is impartial or tries to sweep your attention away from what matters! Great job Susan keep it up!!

• It took a long time but O’Duffy’s fascists have eventually taken over our country and handed power to German masters. What they failed to do in the 1930’s they have finally achieved by deception, lies and threats. What a shameful surrender of sovereignty. Kenny will go down in history as a traitor, who was aided and abetted by Martin a Fianna Fail failure who ruined our country and Gilmore, the man who will be best remembered for destroying Larkin and Connolly’s Labour Party.

• I’d rather pay my own way but if the Germans insist we borrow money to pay debts that don’t belong to us, they can pay my mortgage as well for me….

Nice victory for the sheep..

Romantic Ireland’s dead and gone its with O’Leary in the grave.

• Karswell 01/06/12 #

Our lot in Ireland improved immensely once we nit only admitted but celebrated the fact that ” romantic Ireland’s dead and gone”. Was it really better to have a wealthy landed upper class presiding over an under-educated poverty stricken peasant class? Yeats was no hero to Ireland, Yeats was a hanger-on of the elite who dabbled in the many ragged edges of his society; republican politics, elite esoteric societies, frantic imagery and ideology, but was far too venial and cowardly to ever commit to any of these causes. He was a yes-man, an archetypical crony.

Do you really think his archetypal fisherman wanted the lifestyle that he had? The swans at Coole were not wild. They were tended to by the groundskeepers of the aristocracy because they added to n aesthetically pleasing view.

Romantic Ireland is best left buried. It was not, in reality, a pleasant episode of our history.

• “Was it really better to have a wealthy landed upper class presiding over an under-educated poverty stricken peasant class?”

And how things have changed :P

• Add the number of non-voters to the no voters, a big number and I assume all the Yes got out to make sure it got through. I know we have a lot of sheep in this country, but long more can Kenny&co. pull the wool over their eyes. Lets see what happens on the next budget, will we take it or ram it back down Noonans throat! This isn’t over for the Government yet, they know the numbers their up against now and it could be wipe out for them shortly?

• domocracay gone in ireland,well done the yes vote

• The YES side today has won an inglorious Pyrrhic Victory. All hail!

(Donegal No Voter).

• By which I mean the YES side has won the battle…but may yet regret losing the war. Which is being waged against all of us (most of us?) by the few who have just added another tool to the the kit for endebting us and enwealthing themselves.

I say this with the greatest of sadness, because in my view, the majority of YES voters and all of the NO voters are pretty much all in this together…and this referendum is among many things that prevents us from seeing that fact.

• louise 01/06/12 #

Rigged

• Ah Susan. You only wish the Journal to be read and receive comments from those who share your point of view. At least other publications like the Irish Times came down openly on one side rather than peddling bias disguised as impartiality. I guess if many of your readers had gotten up off their iArse on Thursday you might have gotten the No result you wanted.

• thanks man! still got a big smile on my face! :D

Add New Comment