TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Bishop criticises opening of Marie Stopes clinic offering abortion

Bishop of Down and Connor Noel Treanor said the clinic undermines the dignity of human life in society.

Image: http://www.thejournal.ie/bewleys-westmoreland-street-starbucks-sign-631877-Oct2012/?utm_source=twitter_self

THE BISHOP OF Down and Connor has criticised the opening of a Marie Stopes clinic in Belfast which will offer abortion up to nine weeks’ gestation.

Bishop Noel Treanor said this evening that he had “great concern and dismay” about the clinic which will provide medical abortions within the current legal framework in Northern Ireland.

The bishop highlighted the ongoing ‘Choose Life’ campaign led by the Catholic Church which promotes an anti-abortion message through pastoral messages, homily notes and parish newsletter notices.

“It is with great concern and dismay that I, like many fellow citizens who value and seek to protect human life, received news of the decision to open a Marie Stopes Clinic in Belfast where medical abortion will be offered,” said Bishop Treanor.

“The opening of this facility further undermines the sanctity and dignity of human life in our society where the most vulnerable and defenseless human beings are already under threat”.

He called on the Christian community and citizens to show compassion for women facing an unwanted pregnancy by supporting them while respecting the life of their child in the womb.

“We should enable them to respond to such situations in a life-affirming and positive way,” he said.

Marie Stopes International has said abortion will be available within the current legal framework in Northern Ireland when the life of the pregnant woman is at immediate risk or if there is a long term or permanent risk to her physical or mental health.

Read: First private abortion clinic to open in Northern Ireland >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (142 Comments)

• I’d imagine being raped and abused both mentally and physically puts a strain on human dignity in society also.

• Tony Hegarty can you be more original than peddling lies about good people who have given their lives to the service of god and their fellow human. How dare you spread your lies about vile exaggerated claims about good men of the cloth. May God forgive you.

• It’s being opened and will operate within the framework of the existing laws in Northern Ireland, so there’s very little the man in the dress can do about it. Thankfully, Northern Ireland has shown the maturity to finally begin to deal with terminations in a grown-up and non-judgemental way as opposed to our response in the Republic where we continue to bury our heads in the sand and let another nation deal with a huge social concern!

• Love the way people bandy around the term “maturity” to back up their own argument, classic

• Does a mature nation effectively ignore the fact that 7,000 women travel overseas every year for a termination? I think not. A mature nation would recognise that our current legislaton does not prevent a single abortion, it merely forces a reality into the shadows.

Then again, perhaps I should question why I am trying to explain the concept of maturity to someone who refers to themselves as ‘The Green Monkey’ rather than using their real name and photography!

• Green Monkey – how about you make a point rather than just attacking someone’s wording?

Maybe have the maturity to state your beliefs/church position and try to reconcile that?

There have been 2 referenda already. The issue isn’t even pro-life/pro-choice in Ireland anymore. It’s about acting on the 20 year old democratic expression.

• It’s not open yet! I believe large portions of the population in Norther Ireland will totally oppose such a move. What’s so mature about opening a business that charges several hundred pounds to terminate a life? To me, maturity involves fighting for the basic human rights of all incuding the right without which no other right can exist- the right to life!

• The clinic can only offer abortions where there is a long term or permanent risk to the woman’s health yet the Roman Church still wants to deny them access to safe, legal abortions.
    Really goes to show that they are more worried about their dogmas then the dignity and wellbeing of women.

• What about the well being of the yet to be born child,
      In the state of Victoria Australia a woman can have an abortion on demand no questions asked up to 24 weeks, and get this( believe it or not, but it is a fact of law )if she gets more then one doctor’s referal she can abort her child right ANY time after that;NO time limit, and. Who performs this macabre “operation”the same clinic that is setting up the death camp in N.I.

• The people here have no idea of what their saying . They are totally clueless and forget that god looks after his good people and it will not be forgotten on judgement day that they have transgressed the most holiest of people.

• The defenseless were under threat from them and Brady did nothing.

• He says it undermines the dignity of human life in society: oh the irony!

• Agree 100%. I do find it hypocritical that a Bishop would attempt to take the moral high ground on this protection of the rights of an unborn child and or life, considering the inconsistency of a number of diocese heads blundering of child protection guidelines during the scandal of clerical abuse. Having said that everyone is entitled to their personal views on the issue. I personally believe the opening of the Marie Stope Clinic is a positive step in the right direction for women’s health for the island of Ireland.

• Wouldn’t it be an injustice not to speak on this issue? So, because of ” blundering on child protection” , the Catholic Church and its pastors should fail to speak on child protection ever again. That would really add insult to injury!

• Has anyone looked at this website I’m sure the bishop would be embarrassed for everyone to see it especially while he hypocritically tries to make us believe he is interested in protecting children http://www.bishopaccountability.com I’d love to hear the views of others.

• Who cares what the catholic church thinks anymore?

• Who wants to kick him up the arse?!!

• He’s hardly going to need their services now Is he ???

• Eileen pay no attention to him he’s just a jumped up librarian working for Galway county council. He thinks he’s morally and intellectually superior to us all. He has another tweet account where he likes to boast that he’s over educated. He’s so smart he thinks child rape isn’t a crime. Just ignore him he’s a troll he’ll get his comeuppance

• Eileen he’s just a jumped up librarian working for Galway county council. He thinks he’s morally and intellectually superior to us all. He has another tweet account where he likes to boast that he’s over educated. He’s so smart he thinks child rape isn’t a crime. Just ignore him he’s a troll he’ll get his comeuppance

• Hegarty and gambett sound like a dodgy solicitors office. I thinks it well beyond your bedtime you both need to rest those over active skulls . First and foremost I was. Not making threats just giving sound advice. Secondly I do not work for Galway county council. Has it ever occurred to you tony Hegarty that there may be there are two liam Foleys . Your accusations are so off the mark . However I will say judging by your response that i am intellectually superior and the crimes you refer to were not committed by the church .child abuse is an illness if you knew anything about phycology you’d know that. It’s not a crime to be sick.

• The bishops and clergy have lost all right to have any opinion on anything to do with children, babies or unborn babies. When they knowingly knew about priest who abused children and did nothing, sorry boys but your ship has sailed.

• The Bishop should mind his own business……..

• “The opening of this facility further undermines the sanctity and dignity of human life in our society where the most vulnerable and defenseless human beings are already under threat”.
    Bishop Treanor , protecting paedophiles and hiding them away and moving them around the country / world
    ” undermines the sanctity and dignity of human life in our society ” .

• forcing a woman go through a pregnancy when they know there is no chance of survival outside of the womb for their child is the biggest undermining of the dignity of human life in our society. I would love to know how many women in this situation the Bishop has spoken to.

• And really how many of the “7000″ people that travel for abortions are doing so because their child won’t survive outside d womb! Very few I expect otherwise we have a serious epidemic on our hands! They do so because they dont feel like having a baby that They got pregnant with so they decide to kill it instead. Please tell me how u don’t think that is wrong?

• Perhaps, the churches stance on contraception should be relaxed.
    Africa is paying a huge price with unwanted pregnancies and A.I.D.S.
    Most sane people would agree if a womans life was in threat, babies life, forced pregnancy etc. that the right to abort should be freely available.
    My concern is a clinic in Dublin would be abused, and used as another form of contraception. Surely prevention is best method, let’s get out of the “Dark Ages” and openly educate children on using protection, than maybe the road to Belfast will be less travelled.
    I am an Athiest, but not all of the church are marauding pedo’s….some have devoted their lives to beliefs and principle’s, helping people and sacrificing everything for this goal. It’s so sad they all seem to be “tarred with the same brush.”
    Rory.

• What right does any pope, bishop, or clergyman have to condemn this issue? Until they are permitted to impregnate a woman, they have no right to say what a woman chooses to do with her foetus.

• Will that cult ever shut up and stay out of things that don’t concern them

• It’s always the freaks of society that want to tear it down!

• Well Him Brown, considering the actions of the Church in the past in relation to child abuse, i think you should be more worried about the type of people in the church that abused kids and then the ones who decided to send those priests off to different parishes instead of doing something about it.

When things like that happen, i don’t blame anyone for going against the church. Alot of them Catholics.

• Given the state’s record, they should butt out too? There were dreadful, horrific abuses of children, but let’s not tar everyone with the same brush. Isn’t it a good sign that the Church is speaking out for children now- what child can be more vulnerable than a small helpless baby in the womb? According to radio reports in the last few days, there are very good advance in the Church’s Child Protection Policies. Good to see the bishop speaking out. In a democracy, surely no one is excluded from speaking on this subject.

• @Maria you must be living in an absolute deluded jesus loving orgy fest if you actually think that the catholic church has childrens best interests at heart. sure the leader of the catholic church in ireland cardinal brady has sworn children to silence and not tell anyone they were raped by priests!! No clergy member should be allowed near children unsupervised. what psycho parent would even risk their children around that cult these days is beyond me. and the only reason the catholic church has to increase child protection is because they were caught not because they care!! they would rape and rape and not give a toss about the children if they didnt get caught!

And the catholic churchs stance on abortion dont get me started. they dont care about the life of the unborn all they care about is trying to control the masses. they would rather see women who medically requires an abortion to die!! thereby resulting in not 1 death but 2. how does that make sense!!

• I think the Church should but out! no one cares what they think …….

• Mjhint 11/10/12 #

Im afraid the church has no moral standing on this issue. It should put its own house in order before it starts to dictate to any state that gives women a choice, something the catholic church never did.

• the young son of a wealthy farmer has spoken. its okay to rape and abuse if you have a little white collar. but how dare ye the little people make a decision in your own mind about your own life. The church will never change. too much money involved. and hiiden Nazi gold.

• You can bet ur last penny that the same priests would have beaten the unborn from their mothers wombs in the laundries just to save their ar$es. The catholic church and their beliefs are on the way out. I’m just sorry it hasn’t happened sooner.

• You can’t tar every priest and bishop with the same brush. Most of them would abhor any abuse of children. There are new priests being ordained every year who had nothing to do with the child abuse scandals. They can’t be blamed for something they didn’t do. As for the Catholic Church being on the way out- not true. The number of Catholics worldwide is actually increasing- it was up 1% in 2009 to 1.18 billion! Doesn’t seem like it will be dying out any time soon.

• Who cares what the bishop thinks he’s still stuck in a time warp

• Man in silly pointy hat who talks to invisible sky people decries progress and common sense – YAWN.

• Who?…. The Ku Klux Klan?

• Well said Maria , the truth willing out in the end . Most people here are clearly anti catholic and are playing into the hands of greater powers seeking to destroy the good name of the church. However I have faith that they will never succeed as they are weak in their convictions and no match for all the good people of the church. I say let them have their gay marriage soft they will never be able to procreate and give life unlike good Catholics whose offspring will continue to flourish and inherit the earth. Long after their kind have left the earth. We must also pity them however for I fear they will not have joy in the afterlife.

• Stop giving the church a podium to preach from!! Honestly I think the best thing to do is stop reporting on what bishops say, it only gives weight to their arguments!! You wouldn’t report the crazy preacher on Henry streets view on abortion (mainly coz his main focus is the end of the world) so why give more attention to this guy . . . . Both hold beliefs that there is no evidence to back up and both are not capable of rational thought . . . sorry crazy guy on henry street your actually not that bad :)

• All of this has nothing to do with the Republic. Service is being provided in another country under different laws. Last time I looked, their free up there in the North to choose what they want and not be dictated by anyone or insitution.

• Except possibly the British army !

• Indeed, there is them! :-)

• Not true. They operate under a devolved government and have a say on some issues – like welfare and health – but none on others – like defence and tax. No decision would have been made without contacting the NI Secretary or Westminster.

• Actually Tom the fact that some 7000 women a year travel to another country (Britain) suggests this is a problem for the southern part of our country, indeed all our country north and south. Whether you agree or disagree with the purpose of the service in Belfast at least Irish women now have a service in Ireland which has to be better for them at such a vulnerable time in their lives. Obviously it would be even better if there was a similar service, say, in Dublin, Galway and Cork. Note the non-partitionist theme in this response – a different argument for another day perhaps.
      Overall I would agree with many of the comments here regarding the hypocrisy of the Catholic church although if we are to uphold the principle of free speech we have to accept their right to make their point. Most people will be able to treat their opinions with whatever level of contempt they feel is deserved given its source.

• Fair point Éamonn.

• “Thd bishop of Down and Conor …..” now I have little regard for the opinion of the Bishop of Down. However, I would have expected more from Conor ! Jeez, just when you think you know somebody !

• “the clinic undermines the dignity of human life in society” – so do the clergy when they rape children!

• the church must be worried about a supply of children

• I wouldn’t be half surprised if the Roman Church’s opposition was based on their own demographic considerations then their alleged respect for human dignity.
      If anyone’s fool enough to think the church cares about human dignity, ask a survivor of the Industrial Schools or the Magdalene Laundries, or a member of the LGBT community, or the women forced to travel to England for a safe, legal abortion about it.

• If he and the others of his ilk had taken more care of the living children in the past, they might have a bit of credibility left.

• who cares what a bishop thinks. will never effect him.

• I hear its been inundated… there’s already a ten week waiting list!

• Surely there’s some lost paragraph in the Good Friday Agreement that says something about this… Seems like if there would have been a ‘clinic’ there before now if there was no red tape to stop it.

• The bishop has a duty to speak out on this issue.

• Oh of course he does.

• Fuc spuc

• Bout time they got something right

• It’s a very sad day when death is chosen over life.

• I agree, if a women killed herself because she didn’t want a child that would be sad :(

Course you didn’t mean that :)

• Do Women really go around killing themselves because they’re pregnant .

In 0.000001% of cases perhaps.

• Did you make those stats up? I’d say there’s a 99.9% chance you did

• There are lots and lots of people who regret having abortions I have never heard or anyone who regretted having their child.

• I agree…that’s why women in risk should be allowed to chose life when maternity would otherwise sentence them to death!

• Yeh, never met anyone who regretting having their child…in a fantasy world. I know someone who regretted having kids. They didn’t hate their children but they admitted it was the wrong decision for them and they regret giving up their life for motherhood. So there ya go, one person who contradicts your little theory :)

• I’m neither a church goer nor a women’s activist, but I’m glad that I do not know Martin Grehan or his friend who regrets having a child

• Martin, to be fair, people often throw around reasons for abortion like mother’s life at risk and potential suicide but I’d love to hear what hard research says about that. I’m not saying it doesn’t happen but there are claims made by both sides of the debate that seem to me to promote anecdotal “evidence” as if it’s true in all cases.

In terms of the pro-life claim that nobody ever regretted having a child – I can’t believe how naive this is, to imagine that this is true….. And while it may seem distasteful, there is the taboo-laden point of view that there is such a thing as a positive abortion story. You may be surprised by how many of those stories there are.

• Barry 12/10/12 #

Yeah Nellysroom, a sad sad day when if a women is raped and is pregnant because of this rape she isn’t allowed to control how this will affect the rest of her life and her mental well being.

If you thinking forcing a women to give birth to a baby from a rape is a good thing then you obviously care little about the women,

• wow Barry. conflated argument of the year goes to you.

• Maybe for women who regret giving up their lives for motherhood, it’s not abortion that they needed, but supports, incentives to improve their lives and the financial assistance to do so. I hope our government doesn’t try to introduce abortion while cutting back on the very aids and systems that help women to view motherhood as something other than an awful trial. There’s a high level of depression in this country and mental health issues- a woman suffering from depression could easily say that she regretted having her child, but what’s needed is kindness and access to services.

When it comes to depression or suicide in pregnancy- I don’t think there is any mainstream psychiatric textbook that recommends abortion as a treatment in these sad situations. In fact, one factor that increases the risk of post-abortion symptoms is existing mental health conditions.

• This is so sad, I believe every Life is important and deserves a chance at life..Do we not think are own lives are important or is no life worth saving, we were given a chance let’s be sensitive and responsible..as many of these woman live with regret for the rest of there lives and I do know as they have shared it with me.

• Abortion sickens me. It should be illegal. Abortion should remain illegal in the Republic because the system will be abused.

• This is the same woman who sent Hitler a copy of her poems “Dear Herr Hitler, Love is the greatest thing in the world: so will you accept from me these (poems) that you may allow the young people of your nation to have them?

She was also a advocate of eugenics

In 1919 she urged the National Birth Rate Commission to support mandatory sterilisation of parents who were diseased, prone to drunkenness or of bad character. In 1920, in her book Radiant Motherhood, she demanded “the sterilisation of those totally unfit for parenthood be made an immediate possibility, indeed made compulsory”.

Very appropriate to name an abortion clinic after here

• I love how the left is all for the killing of innocent babies but condemns the death penalty. Pat yourself on the back!

• Are “pro-life” people for the killing of innocent women?

• Please tell all the names of these women that have died from being pregnant. That is always what I find funny, the left will always say how all these women are dying because they are pregnant but when does it actually happen? I honestly believe most on the right support it when the child won’t survive or in the case of rape (like myself) but ye won’t won’t be happy until every downs child is aborted, many of whom I see in the pub or elsewhere being normal people. Shame on you sickos!

• Sorry, since when are the rights of someone who hasn’t been born more important than someone who is currently alive and contributing to society? Because that is more disgusting than anything you claim abortion to be.

• Everything in life involves a risk and so does sex. I just can’t imagine how people would want to kill a child. If you’re going to be adults, be adults and take responsibility for your actions. But no, the left is made up of a overwhelming degree of pussys that like to talk a heap of crap but never step up to the plate. I would like to make it clear that I don’t feel any animosity to people like you, only sorrow because you’re deluded by liberal ideals.

• You’re completely missing the point. The idea of this clinic is to give treatment to women whose lives are at risk because of their pregnancy. They may have wanted this child but are unable to go through with it because of a detrimental affect on their health.

Also, you claim to have no animosity towards me, yet you’ve used the terms pussy, sickos and deluded. Not sure you understand the meaning of the word animosity.

• @himbrown, I love that you would prefer a living woman to go full term and deliver a child that will die, a chance to live on for the rest of her life, however she can, knowing that its ok because she didn’t have a bloody choice in the matter. What, if,in her deepest depression she will no doubt have, she cannot look after the child/ren she already has? Are you going to say that those kids are going into care is a terrible “thing”?

• I will ask it again, who are all these women that are dying? And I do have no animosity as I said but that is the usual experience I have of lefties it doesn’t mean I hate them, I just think they tend to think they are better than most people because they have a BA in some shit that isn’t worth toilet paper and think it gives them mental superiority over everyone else.

• Niamh read comment above fully before you talk crap!

• thejournal.ie/abortion-belfast-marie-stopes-630475-Oct2012/
      Have a look at this very brave woman. Diana wests child would have had absolutely no hope for survival. That wonderful woman is here to teach us a very important lesson. She managed to cope and carry on under the worst situation imaginable. She was advised by medical professionals that her unborn child would have no chance of survival. If she chose to ignore the doctors advice and died as a result of poisoning from the fluid leaking into her womb, instead of the LIFE form that she is today, would that not be suicide? How does ur wonderful church feel about that?

Oh, and millions of people die as a direct result of childbirth and pregnancy! U can check it out for yourself. You must have internet access? Or am I being silly?

• tvnz.co.nz/national-news/woman-died-during-childbirth-in-excruciating-pain-4898671

Do u need more?

• No, you said you were in favour of it if the child won’t survive, you mentioned nothing about the well being of the mother, which is what this clinic is about. And by using all of the above derogatory phrases and names, you have completely voided any argument you might want to posit here.

• Ok. Keep believing that.

• What are all these life-threatening conditions that would manifest themselves before a woman is 9 weeks pregnant? Women aren’t dying. We have some of the best figures in the world for maternal care and an extremely low maternal mortality rate. Our figures are always near the top and are often much better than countries that permit abortion. A pregnant woman in Ireland can be sure of superior care and that her obstetrician, midwife and other health care professionals will treat two patients-mother and baby- and do their very best for both.

• It is true home the people making posts here are constantly tripping over their own foolish comments. They make outlandish statements and ridicule a good , truthful man who cares more for the preservation of Irish society than all of them put together.

• Sorry I meant to type HIM

• In the State of Victoria Australia , a woman can have an abortion on demand ,no questions asked, up to 24 weeks and believe this for it is a fact of law . A woman can abort her child right up to the day of birth, all she has to do is get a referral from two different Doctors, this probably explains why there are no Babies up for adoption in Victoria, and who performs these Late Term Abortions the very same clinc

• The same one that is setting up camp in Northern Ireland.
    Abortion-, the ultimate child abuse.
    The in born -, the most helpless ad all.
    And there’s more… In the same State of Victoria that same woman will get a “Baby” bonus is $5,000
    The is a suspicion that many girls are getting pregnant on purpose, to get the 5 grand then killing it off.

• Errrrrr the catholic church just irritate me, as if through your actions you deserve the right to comment on anything

• A

Add New Comment