TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

First private abortion clinic to open in Northern Ireland

The sexual health and abortion clinic is to open in Belfast and will be run by Marie Stopes.

File
File
Image: Stefan Rousseau/PA Archive/Press Association Images

BELFAST IS TO get its first private sexual and reproductive health centre that provides medical abortions.

It will be run by Marie Stopes International, which describes the centre as “world class”and says it will offer a range of family planning and sexual health services.

The services include:

• Short and long-term contraceptive options (including condoms, injection, IUD)
  • Emergency contraception
  • HIV testing
  • STI testing and treatment
  • Ultrasound scanning
  • Medical abortion up to nine weeks’ gestation.

Of medical abortion, Marie Stopes International says:

Our provision of early medical abortion will be the same service that is currently available from the NHS in Northern Ireland, available only within the current legal framework, when the life of the pregnant woman is at immediate risk and / or if there is a long term or permanent risk to her physical or mental health.

Dawn Purvis, Programme Director at Marie Stopes Northern Ireland said:

We believe this is great news for the people of Northern Ireland because we will be able to meet their family planning and sexual health needs in a way that has not been seen here before.  We have a new, purpose built, centrally-located specialist centre; our team are highly trained and dedicated health care professionals; and our services will be delivered in a confidential, sensitive and non-judgemental way.

She added that a centre like this has never existed before in Northern Ireland. “We are working in partnership with many organisations and experts in the province to make sure that our centre meets the needs of the people of Northern Ireland while working within all relevant laws and guidelines,” said Purvis.

Purvis continued that“with our partners, we will be regularly assessing our centre and service offering to understand where we can continue to build and improve our services”.

Read: Ireland and abortion: the facts>

Read next:

Comments (128 Comments)

• …pulls up a chair…

• About time this service becomes available in Ireland even if it is in northern Ireland. Let’s get out of the dark ages. No doubt the extremist pro lifers will cause some trouble. I personally would not avail of abortion but I am a believer in pro choice. If I was raped or my health was at serious risk then my story and opinion might be different. You can’t judge until your in this position. I hope it makes options a little easier for women who would have had to make the very lonely and isolated boat trip to England.

• Members of Youth Defence and the Iona Institute all obviously sleep in late. No pro life comments as of 8.20am. Unusual!

Its good that the North has this service to assist women in making their decisions.

• About time.

• no i had to go to the UK for an abortion- the consultants here said that even though i was at risk i would be better off in the UK- and thus i was forced to the UK. they were to scared to talk about it. My baby was not viable- no brain and missing part spinal cord. i had to travel by myself, stay in a hotel and return alone. At least now i can i have a little choice.

• That you for sharing your story, Diana. It’s horrible and inhumane that you and your family couldn’t deal with your private tragedy at home in Ireland. I hope people will try to find the compassionate that is sadly lacking for women like you.

• Barry 11/10/12 #

Diana, I can’t imagine how hard that must have been for you and its awful that in this day and age that the procedure could not be carried out in Ireland and proper support given to you.

Had it been available in Ireland it also would have meant you could far more easily have gotten support from family or friends at such a difficult time.

thank you for sharing your story,

• Diana.. That is truly horrifying.. It must have been an awful ordeal on your own. I hope things change here soon, a clinic opening in the north is small consultation really.. We need something in the Republic

• The condition the baby had was trisomy 18 / edwards syndrome plus other complications. this was a dearly wanted child which was not meant to be. this was a late termination, because the previous consultant would not tell me what was wrong- i could have had an early abortion at 10 weeks. at 29 weeks ( when they eventually told me) i had to have an emergency termination (in the UK) as the spinal fluid of the baby was leaking into my womb.

• Diana my heart goes out to u and your family. Its an awful choice u had to make.
      What I am giving out about is people using abortion freely every time they make a mistake when there is people out there who can.t have kids. In cases like yours and also rape cases termination is the only answer. Again, i am a mother and my heart goes out to u .

• Most women who have abortions are mothers. This idea that people who use abortion do it “freely when they make a mistake?” is so insulting. I’m guessing you’ve never had an abortion. The Irish women seeking abortions have all kind of stories, but I’ve never met one who just thought “whoopsie, abortion it is!” It was women who couldn’t imagine financially bringing another child into their home (because the current ones would have to go without – do you have any idea how hard the recession has been for people?) Women whose partners abused them, women with mental health problems who just could not care for a child.

Women take this decision seriously. And if you’re saying women shouldn’t have sex until they absolutely are ready to have a child, then you know nothing about closeness and love in a serious relationship. Sex is and should be a part of that, not just when you can AFFORD a baby.

• Diana thank you for sharing your very sad experience with us. I hope you are doing ok.

It is cases like yours that make me pro-choice even though as a man I really should not have a say in the matter anyway. I want the women of our nation to get the care they need in their own country when they need it, not forced to travel to another country like a pariah.

Let our sisters and friends make the decisions they need to make for themselves without stigma and without repression and with whatever assistance they need.

• Well done Belfast and Marie Stopes .Agreat step forward .
    I am Pro Choice !

• at Last …even though Its,2012… about time

• Gerard 11/10/12 #

I think this is outrageous, how dare they…… Bahahaha, only jokin, pro-lifers and trolls are still spitting zzzzz’s

• I don’t understand what people have against people not wanting to murder babies. Soon you will be able to bring your old granny somewhere to be disposed of too and I’m sure some people will be fine with that too..

• Ed, murder is the unlawful taking of human law contrary to law. If a woman has an abortion within the limits of the law then it can hardly be called murder.

• The law is an ass.. It was the law once for a man to marry his horse, for black people to travel on buses with white people, for Jews to leave the ghetto. You can hide behind the law, but its very simple to me. You talk someone else’s live intentionally then its murder. Everything else is just a way of making people feel OK about it. If we start that now then eventually we will be able to make excuses for all types of people to be disposed of against there will.

• ” It was the law once for a man to marry his horse, for black people to travel on buses with white people, for Jews to leave the ghetto.”!!!!!!!!

I will leave it up to readers to make up their own minds as to your views on black people and Jewish people.

• Abortion’s been illegal in the US for about 50 years now. I must have missed the massive murders of minorities which directly followed.

• @ Diana, you truly had an awful experience which I have no doubt will always be a part of you. It is because of conditions such as yours that this decision to not allow termination in this country is so wrong. To those of us who have walked this path and had to make these very difficult choices there is actually no choice and to think that some people cannot see past the “abortion is murder” tag shows a complete disconnect between the act of seeing pictures and pamphlets and the reality of being faced with with very difficult circumstances. To be expected to this alone, abroad, in shame and secrecy, without any support is totally unjust. So I welcome the clinic to this island and I hope that women can get the support they need when they are at their most vulnerable.

• Unfortunately many women with feral anomalies will still have to travel to mainland uk for private TOP if a post mortem is required . Marie stopes offer straight forward termination in the first trimester . Most anomalies are not detectable until the 20 week scan .

• Barry 11/10/12 #

About time, whilst its still not in Ireland it’ll make a difference to some women in Ireland as they will no longer have to book flights and will find it far easier to bring a friend or family member with them for support (if they need it) to the clinic.

Still amazed at the lack of trolling responses and lack of pro-life posts so far today, guess they are still in bed

• This is great news. About time!

• Well done lads, not even a “pro-life troll” here and you’re getting in a good pre-poke! (Why bother?!)

Glad this service is there, I’m sure it will make a difference.

• In Abortion services,like in many others things Northern Ireland is decades behind the rest of the UK

• Barry 11/10/12 #

Cull there numbers?, do you see it as some sort of final solution to get rid of them?

So abortion is wrong no matter what eh? What about the post made by Diana West above?

“no i had to go to the UK for an abortion- the consultants here said that even though i was at risk i would be better off in the UK- and thus i was forced to the UK. they were to scared to talk about it. My baby was not viable- no brain and missing part spinal cord. i had to travel by myself, stay in a hotel and return alone. At least now i can i have a little choice.”

As a state we should be ashamed of ourselves that she wasn’t given support in this country by our health service for the procedure to be carried out in Ireland and for her to be given support!

How you think its ok that she either proceed with the birth or has to go to another country is beyond me.

• The scary thing about you M O Sé is that I know you aren’t even a troll…..you genuinely believe the shite you come out.

• Barry 11/10/12 #

MOSe, fantastic job ignoring my question,

Keep that head in the sand nice and deep now,

• Cull their numbers? The majority of women who access abortions are mothers… you knew that, right?

• phil 11/10/12 #

Was reading my local.paper and Cavan County council has voted to ban abortion in all cases. Phil Brady made his speech waving the pamphlet that was giving out at mass. Truly stuck in the 50s

• Great day for the island of Ireland, hopefully it’ll give the government down here the kick to get things sorted here. We need to cut all ties from the Catholic church and make sure it’s opinions have no bearing on the future of this country, bringing in abortion is the first step. For too long the Catholic church has influenced the people here with lies and fear mongering. We need to look forward to a century where the country lift’s itself out of the dark ages and becomes a truly modern society.

• thanks Nick Beard

• Guess the pro lifers are avoiding this……wonder if they coordinate their online activity?

• Reading your comment is very worrying. That you would think it is bad to be prolife..as opposed to being prodeath. In truth that’s what you are saying but you will dress it up as pro choice. Do you defend my right to choose to murder you or anybody else. At what point to decide a life is life. When its convenient or when the law says it is. Very Sad state of affairs. But I’m fairly sure in a few generations when society has evolved most people will look back in shame that we can’t support people to allow them provide a good home for all children whether through adoption etc

I’m proud to be a pro lifer even if you think its such terrible affliction

• Great news! This should be today’s poll!

• orla 11/10/12 #

The decision to terminate of the hardest things a woman has to go through without being judged on it – If its not your pregnancy its not your problem!!

• Well done M o se. You have shown what a disgusting human being you really are. That “cull” remark was probably your worst yet.
    Luckily for you hell is not real, because if it was, you would rot there.

• @ M O Se “heritability of liberal memes”. What does this mean? There are genes that control a person’s pre disposition to being “liberal”. Poor argument based on poor foundations.
    Also, shouldn’t it be the ‘thin’ edge of the wedge? If your not going to use the thin edge then you may as well just have a rectangle.

• without pro life trolls on the way no doubt

• good news, but the laws in ni are incredibly right wing anyway.

• “Since its mainly liberals who will be using this service” where the hell did that come from?!? Why don’t you just say “being liberal makes you a baby killer worshipper of satan” because that is essentially what you are implying.

I am liberal, I don’t like abortion, but I have no right to say what a woman can and cannot do to her body. And I abhor the people who do try to impose their will on women.

If babies were gestated inside men I guarantee that there would be abortion available in this country and men would be shouting for women to back off from the argument.

• Whoever you are Nick Beard, you make a vast amount of sense. You voiced my thoughts way better than I ever could. Thanks.

• liberals are a ‘human sacrifice cult’……

facepalm.jpg

• correction without doubt.

• I object to the term ‘trolling’ being equated with ‘pro-life.’ there is some value in what both pro choice and pro life say, and I find it distasteful when either side attempts to demonise the other.
    The reason there is no objection thus far to the content of the post shows that hardly anyone with a brain cell could rage against availability of abortion provided it caters for those who are victims of abuse/ rape or who risk their health in giving birth. What many people are afraid of though, is the ‘commercialisation’ of abortion- where it might be freely available to anyone for no good reason. It’s not supposed to be a lifestyle choice, it’s supposed to be a matter if ‘no choice.’

• The choice should be there for every woman, regardless of her reasons. It’s her body! Is it 2012 or not? If you disagree with abortion, good for you, don’t have one. If you feel you need one and can get it, good for you, go get one. It’s never an easy decision for a woman to make but it should still be her decision to make.

• Ailis allow me to explain trolling. Trolling is when people go completely off-topic ( the topic here being the opening of a Marie stopes clinic in Belfast ) to express personal and irrelevant views ( BOO / HURRAH for abortion in this case).

• Ailis have you come across many women that have had an abortion calling it a lifestyle choice?

• Pro choice and pro life- neither argument is wholly convincing and tiresome in the manner if their delivery. If we are to hopefully update our laws there has to be respect or everyone’s views so that a middle ground can be reached- so that people like Diana west don’t have to be forced to go through such tragic ordeals. Surely that is the priority and the current solution while people continue to wrestle with the moral quagmire that is abortion.

• Interesting discussion on utv regarding this . As usual the pro life representative lost the argument by shouting the marie stopes rep down , getting irate and confrontational . She does not represent the opinions of every northern Irish woman . Edwin poots also clearly laid his own opinions on the line which as a political rep he should not be enforcing on the population . No surprises .

• It doesn’t offer anything that isn’t already available in NI & also Rep. of Ireland. You can have a legal medical abortion on the island of Ireland where the mothers life is at risk. This center doesn’t offer abortions to anyone, just those at risk.

• Sharrow 11/10/12 #

Other then ectopic pregnancies there is not the wherewithal to have legal medical abortion in the Republic of Ireland. Drs won’t do them due to the fact that they can still be prosecuted, they are not on the list of approved treatments, they are not insured to carry them out and there are no proper guild lines, policies or procedures.

• no i had to go to the UK for an abortion- the consultants here said that even though i was at risk i would be better off in the UK- and thus i was forced to the UK. they were to scared to talk about it. My baby was not viable- no brain and missing part spinal cord. i had to travel by myself, stay in a hotel and return alone.

• @Diana, that is truely terrible and a disgraceful indictment of our governments treatment of women here. I hope you got over the trauma, thanks for sharing.

• @ Diana – I second what Andrea has said to you….it’s deplorable that we continue to treat any of our citizens like this, the unfairness and barbarity of it speak volumes. I’m so sorry that you had to go through that.
      I would genuinely be interested to hear from those who advocate an ‘anti-choice’ position…can you honestly say that Diana should be forced to continue with a pregnancy in the circumstances that she described????

• The condition the baby had was trisomy 18 / edwards syndrome plus other complications. this was a dearly wanted child which was not meant to be. this was a late termination, because the previous consultant would not tell me what was wrong- i could have had an early abortion at 10 weeks. at 29 weeks ( when they eventually told me) i had to have an emergency termination (in the UK) as the spinal fluid of the baby was leaking into my womb.

• @Diana West Hi Diana just to let you know that we have a support group if you would like to come and join us all details are here http://www.facebook.com/MakeTerminationForMedicalReasonsAvailableInIreland?ref=hl

so so sorry for your loss xxx

• Wow Séan, you are way off the mark there. Have a look at the ruling of the A, B and C case 2011 in the ECHR. The X case was never legislated for and the existing Statute (150 year old Offences Against the Persons Act) could in theory see a person availing of, or performing an abortion, receive a life sentence.

• Sean health is defined by the who as physical mental and emotional well being . If there is a risk of that being affected then termination is permissible under law . While it may be available where there is a risk to the life of the mother or severe feral abnormalities not compatible with life exist you must also find a full team of staff willing to participate in these procedures . Staff can refuse to be involved under religious beliefs . Naturally there is a strong religious influence in ni with plenty of prolife opinions . Also where there is a trust based hospital system you cannot just walk into any nhs hospital and demand this procedure . You must be referred And trusts are not happy to provide such a service for other regions .

• We don’t have it Ireland at all people r fighting for it with Daíl

• Is the heading not just a little misleading? It is opening in Northern Ireland – not Ireland (the Republic there of) -

• “….will be the same service that is currently available through the NHS in Northern Ireland”

I mean yeah it’s about time n all that, but does it actually make ANY difference to anything?

I suppose it’s useful to have family planning advice and a sexual health clinic all under the same roof, and it’s good that it’s a dedicated clinic, rather than a couple of rooms in the local hospital, but it’s hardly groundbreaking news

• It will be ground breaking news to some women on this island who can now avail of the private services of this clinic without having to fly to the UK that can’t go through the NHS. Also the Clinic offers other services which some people want to avail of without going to their GP.

• As much as this is a contentious issue in the UK, the NHS is pretty much a free-for-all. It’s extremely easy to avail of NHS services no matter who you are. There aren’t many people in the republic who wouldn’t be able to use NHS services in the north

• Northern Irish women are not eligible for free abortions under the NHS in Britain. Marie Stopes is a private clinic, so I don’t think women in the Republic or NI will be eligible for these services for free.

• It will not be free. I have been trying to find out how much it will cost. I know all the private clinics in England charge women from Ireland and N Ireland a smaller fee than women from the England, Scotland and Wales CHOOSING to go private (rather than accessing their abortions on the NHS) as they know these women also have to pay for travel

• The rhetoric of Marie Stopes is, as is to be expected, misleading. No mention of the fact that many women’s mental health is negatively affected by abortion or that induced abortion has in no published case been necessary to save the life of the mother. It is remarkable that the opening of a centre which ends the life of babies is being celebrated. Something is rotten in the state of Ireland…

• What about the “mothers” who committed suicide when faced with an unwanted pregnancy? I knew one and I’m sure I’m not the only one.

• I would suggest that what women in those situations need is compassion. It certainly is very damning of a country(assuming that it took place in this country) to think that people take their own lives rather speak about the difficulty of their situation. I don’t think you are suggestion abortion as a solution to suicide(in some siturations)?

• Did you even read my comment? She didn’t need counselling to talk about the unwanted pregnancy, she needed to end her unwanted pregnancy. And don’t be so ridiculous, I’m not saying that abortion is a solution to suicide (I’m sure the men committing suicide are not pregnant). The woman I’m referring to did commit suicide because she was pregnant, so in that case, yes, abortion would have prevented her suicide. You didn’t know her so leave it at that.

• There has been at least one woman on this thread today whose doctors told her she needed a termination. Michelle Harte was another tragic case. Why on earth do you think you know more than a woman’s doctors?

It says it all really, that you would be so negative about a clinic to save women’s lives. Shows your views on the value of a woman’s life.

• Surely no one is going to argue against the possibly negative effects on a womans mental health but thats not the point. A clinic allows a woman to weigh up all options available to her and then decide on what she deems to be the best course of action. Note the emphasis is on the choice of the woman involved and not your opinion.

• Aaron 11/10/12 #

A woman who commits suicide to deal with an unwanted pregnancy has a lot more problems than the pregnancy itself. Abortion was not the only solution to save her killing herself.

• Again, no one is saying the only thing a woman needs is an abortion. Access to counselling is incredibly important. But, for example, in the X case, two psychologists testified before the High Court that if X continued the pregnancy, there was a real and immediate risk of suicide. If a young girl (she was 14 years old) feels that a pregnancy would be worse than death, do you really feel comfortable forcing her to continue? A majority of the Irish people say no.

You also ignore that now that there’s a clinic in Ireland, women will be able to take more time for pre-abortion counselling rather than the rush which often accompanies travelling.

• @Nick Beard, There is essentially unanimus agreement in the medical community that says that induced abortion is never necessary to safe the life of a woman. There are cases where unborn children die as a result of certain proceedures but this is totally different matter.

@Skeptically Speaking, you’re convieniently ignoring the unborn child in the matter. I concede that personal automony is very important but we can’t hold the value of personal choice up against the the value of life.

• Now, now, Carta. Baby Jesus doesn’t like lies. Please name me the three medical boards which have made official statements saying that abortion is medically unnecessary. You can’t. And oddly enough, all medical boards (including the leading one in Ireland, the Royal College of Obsetricians and Gynaecologists), recognise that any procedure ending a pregnancy that doesn’t result in a live birth (including miscarriages) is an abortion.

You’re wrong about your facts and maybe before you make misleading claims, you should back them up, rather than hoping no one is informed enough to call you on your lies.

• Aaron 11/10/12 #

@nick ‘a majority of Irish people say no’? 5 referendums in the past 30 years would say differently.

• 5 referendum? Oh, Aaron. Stretching the truth a wee bit, I see. The 1983 referendum clearly did give additional rights to the foetus. But the other 4?

I’m assuming you’re counting the travel referendum, information referendum and the first X case referendum as 3 different referenda? Well, the Irish people voted to enshrine the right to travel for an abortion and the right to information about an abortion in the Bunreacht na hEireann. Does that strike you as being particularly anti-abortion, Aaron? It seems to me if the Irish people were so opposed to abortion, they wouldn’t want people being given information on it?

As to the two referenda, both of these sought to limit the criteria on which a woman could get access to an abortion in Ireland. They sought to limit it from maternal health (the X case criteria, which includes a risk of suicide) to a more restricted criteria. Both times the referendum were defeated.

So to say the people voted 5 times against abortion? That’s a bit of a fib there, Aaron.

• Could you point out where in the peer reviewed psychological & psychiatric scientific literature it states that a woman’s mental health is negatively affected by abortion?

To the best of my knowledge, no such scientific evidence exists. It remains yet another distortion of the truth which the anti-choice agenda has no problem putting out there.

Here’s a quick summary of the scientific research from the APA on the issue. http://www.apa.org/news/press/releases/2008/08/single-abortion.aspx

If you’re going to boldly state something causes harm, back it up with actual evidence please.

• @Carta Vida I disagree on your view that a medically induced abortion is never necessary, With regard to the consideration of the life of the embryo/fetus, it does raise ethical issues. In my opinion, as an embryo is unviable outside the womb, the mother is entilted to make what she feels is the best decision for the future. What the “best decision” is, is a matter for the mother to decide.

• Barry 11/10/12 #

Aaron, you seem so so certain that abortion is just so wrong so lets give you a situation, all I want is a simple yes or no answer to my question.

Situation:
      - we have a single mother who has two existing kids aged 3 and 5 years
      - she becomes pregnant and it is found that she will die should she proceed with the pregnancy (in this example there is no if, maybe or buts…she will).
      - If she dies the unborn baby will live but her two existing kids will be taken into care as she has no family to take them

Question.
      - Do you think the life of the unborn child is more important then that of the mother and the lives and well being of her existing kids? Yes or No?

• @Nick Beard I think you will find that I said ‘induced abortion’. You are correct in stating that in medicine abortion covers a variety of cases including ‘spontaneous abortion’ which is a miscarriage. Hence my distinction of induced abortion. For most (non-medical) people abortion is the intentional killing of an unborn child. It is unhelpful in a public forum to blur the debate by using a much less well known meaning of the term. Direct abortion, where the intention is to end the life of an unborn child, is not considered to be medically necessary. Because of this general meaning of abortion it is less likely that medical boards would make statements about it (although I haven’t looked into it) Our maternal mortality figures (best in the world) in effect prove that access to abortion is not necessary for the wellbeing of mothers.

@Ruaidhrí. See the following journals for the links between abortion and maternal mental health.
      Dr David Fergusson in New Zealand published in the British Journal of Psychiatry.30% greater risk of mental health problem with women who have had abortion.
      The widely publicised Finnish study in the European Journal of Public health which showed a significant increase in risk of suicide among people who have had abortions.

• @ Barry. No life of the unborn child is not more important than the mother or existing child. The child is of equal value. The fact is that the situation that you described does not exist. Currently in Ireland women are entitled to receive all medical treatment which are necessary sometimes the unborn child dies as a consequence of the treatment it is a tragedy, but not the same thing an intionally ending the life of the child. Abortion is not a treatment for any illness.

• Just out of curiousity, Carta, can you make any points without lying through your teeth? Did you actually read the Fergusson study? Because he says specifically, in the article, that his work does NOT support an anti choice view that abortion harmed women’s mental health. What he said was that more resources should be available to women making that decision. So…by wanting to limit a clinic offering good information and counselling, you are going against his recommendations.

As to more lies: not the best maternal mortality. According to the most recent Lancet studies, we’re fairly high, but not the best. Oddly, all the best countries have legal abortion. I think we could do better and should do better for women, including offering an abortion when two doctors certify a real and substantial risk.

You didn’t say the average person saw a distinction, you said the medical community all saw a distinction. Which is a lie. Plenty of Irish people see a distinction between medically necessary and non medically necessary abortion. But you’re fibbing about the views of the medical community.

It’s funny, it’s like you know anti-choice rhetoric can’t convince anyone if you tell the truth. So you lie. Not exactly a strong recommendation for your arguement, is it?

• @Carta Vida In Brazil a 9-year old child was raped and made pregnant with twins. On medical advice her mother sanctioned an abortion to save her child’s life. The child’s mother and the medical team were excommunicated. Doctors at the hospital said they had to take account of the welfare of the girl, and that she was so small that her uterus did not have the ability to contain one child let alone two. Basically they were saving the child’s life. The Church in Brazil said the child should have been forced to go the full term of the pregnancy and that the babies should have been then forcibly ripped from the child’s body by caesarean section. The Church also said that the abortion was more heinous than the rape of the child.

• @Nick. I think you have confused two seperate studies done my Fergusson a year apart. The later one which you cite is based on emotional reactions to abortion (2009) its aim was: “To document emotional reactions to abortion, and to examine the links between reactions to abortion and subsequent mental health outcomes.”

While is earlier study on abortion and mental health (2008) aims to: “To examine the links between pregnancy outcomes and mental health outcomes.”

The first is the link between how women felt about their abortion and the affect which followed (did how women felt about their abortion change their mental health status). The second which shows the 30% increase examines actual mental health outcomes.

Perhaps a more charitable response would be less embarrassing than a “Liar, liar pants on fire” approach.

• Tsk, tsk, Carta. Lies again. The 2008 study on abortion and mental health disorders? If you look right in the conclusion, it says: “Specifically, the results do not support strong pro-life positions that claim that abortion has large and devastating effects on the mental health of women.”

And here you are. Claiming this proves that abortion has large and devastating effects on the mental health of women. Liar, liar pants on fire is pretty appropriate for someone who would deliberately and intentionally use the study in a way the author cautioned against.

• @adam gill Irish citizens are only entitled to free treatment once on an emergency basis . Following this they are billed at min £100 per appointment and all tests and investigations are billed . You cannot walk into an nhs hospital and request a termination as its not classed as an emergency procedure .

• why do we think cruelty to animals when we read in the papers that people are drowning pups and kittens and we think its great to be able to kill human babies in the womb.It is unacceptable to take a life, abortion is no different than a padeo rapping and murdering a child.
    If u don’t want a baby use protection or don’t have sex till u old enough to mind a child. Blaming the catholic church is just passing on the blame for someones stupid mistake and the unborn little baby that didn’t ask to be brought into this world has to suffer. We all need to see a clip of a 3d scan of that tiny baby in the womb before the decission is made to murder .

• Nobody said it was great. If you want to debate your point if view, fine. But don’t tell lies.

• read my comment./case above rachel.

• “don’t have sex until you’re old enough to mind a child?” That’s an incredibly insulting thing to say to women like Diana who were forced with a horrible impossible situation, women who would be assisted by the MSI clinic. The last thing we need is more cruelty and insensitivity like the bile you just spouted.

• Yes, a 9 week abortion is the same as a paedo raping and murdering a child, well done there,

This has completely changed my mind lads, ive never thought about it like this, im off to have half my brain removed and join youth defence, cheers

• You may want to assess correct and similar analogies if you want to put across an intelligent argument for your point of view. Someone drowning a cat/dog is comparable to someone drowning a baby, I guess a closer analogy to what your trying to express but isn’t as sensationalist would be someone putting a pet down at the vet, thats much closer to what abortion is.

Comparing abortion to the rape and murder of a child is in a league of its own as a frankly ridiculous statement though, I can’t comprehend your thinking behind that apart from trying to be dramatic?

In many cases there is no mistake, many rape cases prove this, there is also the situation where the mothers life may be at risk by a birth, what is your solution in these cases? If it was a mistake why remove the choice of the mother/father to rectify the mistake? Apart from the over the top dramatic “Abortion is murder” can you provide any real life reasons for not allowing a person this choice?

• I’d say the biggest number of women going to have an termination is in the 35 plus age bracket, already mothers and able to make the mature choice

• Some people still fall pregnant despite using good contraception . There is a failure rate albeit small with all methods , ocp , condoms , iud , cap , femidom . The only way to absolutely prevent pregnancy is abstinence and no contact with sperm . Some married couples have unplanned pregnancy and are in no position to cope with it in many ways . A fetus had no legal right . It is very unlikely to survive outside the womb at less than 24 weeks . Those born at this stage face multiple ccomplications and risks. A fetus is considered legally a person once the head has delivered . A 9 week embryo measures approx 2cm and has no limbs just buds.

• Is it only in Ireland that we would have a Referendum to protect children while also lobbying for a referendum to abort children?

• No one is lobbying for a referendum. People are lobbying for the implementation of one decided 20 years ago.

Funny also how groups like Youth Defence haven’t come out in favour of the children’s referendum. It’s almost like they don’t care about children…

• Annie 12/10/12 #

Your right I cannot compare humans to animals. In saying that I love animals, have quiet a few and I know what you mean. I have Also experienced loosing people who had a bad life near the end. As this to people I don’t know I wouldn’t be giving such private details. Them loved ones lived their life to the full. Without them I would not literally not be here now. I cannot compare that to an unborn that did not get to take their first breath. there has been babies that their parents have been told will not survive or live & they have lived. Personally I know this. I also know some who have went through their pregnancy & gave birth, their babies survived a few hours/ days. None of them would change seeing and holding the baby they wanted so badly. This includes a woman who went through this 3 times.

• And they have every right to do so. It’s a horrible experience and if that provides them some closure, I really do hope it gives them some measure of comfort. NO ONE is saying parents can’t give birth. But you’re telling women who don’t think that’s the right decision for them that they HAVE to give birth and frankly, doing so in a hurtful way which implies parents don’t love their children.

You’re just being nasty and hurtful for some unknown reason.

• Annie 11/10/12 #

The real tragedy is how rights of women have came to this. I have read lots of tragic stories about women who have continued their pregnancy and gave birth to their baby knowing the baby will die. They held the baby in their arms and now have a grave they can visit. That is true love for a wanted baby

• While women who believe termination is the loving option are just bad mums who don’t love their children? Is that what you’re saying, Annie?

• I had a termination, i held my dead baby, and i have a grave to visit. For me, terminating this baby was the loving option. How dare people tell me what i can do and feel. Not being treated like an adult who can make their own choice and decisions about my family is what makes me angry.

• Annie 11/10/12 #

No nick that’s not what I said. What is said was a lot of women are faced with the fact their baby won’t survive after birth. They don’t go and terminate the pregnancy, they give birth. Get to hold their baby in their arms. If they wish they can get baby baptised. Then they can bury their baby and always have a place to go visit them. That’s what I said. That’s pure love for their wanted baby. Try twist it whatever way you wish like you usually do . We are all entitled to an opinion

• Annie 11/10/12 #

And nick what a contradiction. Loving option is termination? How can them terms go in the same sentence. Loving option to kill/end/ destroy?

• I’m not twisting it, Annie. You’re saying women who give birth to children with fatal foetal abnormalities have pure love (pretty heavily implying women who terminate don’t.)

You are entitled to your opinion, but your opinion makes you a Judgy McJudgerson who thinks you know better than women how much they love their children. But then, you regularly show your lack of compassion towards women on this website and I hurt for any woman reading this whose had to make that choice.

Ignore Annie. Far more of us understand and our heart breaks for you.

• Some women find the idea of delivering a baby who is still born or will die soon after with severe abnormalities very distressing . Everybody copes with situations differently and women should have the option to chose whether they continue with the pregnancy or not .

• Annie – the loving option to kill or destroy..
      Never had a pet that was riddled with cancer and in pain put to sleep then, no?
      I realise that you do not class humans and animals the same (despite the mammalian connection) but the point I am making is the idea that to kill something is a kindness is already well established when it comes to animals.

And believe me, if you spent some time with people at the very ends of their lives and saw what can happen to you, you might be a little more in favour of this “kindness” being extended to cover humans.

• Diana my heart goes out to u and your family. In your medical case and also rape cases women don’t have a choice but to have an abortion.
    I am giving out about abortion been used freely and an easy way out for women and young people .
    Again, from one mother to another my heart goes out to u.

• The idea that women will suddenly run out and start having abortions regularly is insane. It’s a horrible experience, one that most women would rather avoid and so use contraception. Any who have had the misfortune to find themselves in that situation would most certainly not choose to repeat it.
      The drugs they use make you quite ill, and they muck with your emotions.

This “abortion as contraception” argument is trotted out frequently but I’m yet to see any evidence that it really happens. Anyone I have spoken to who had an abortion are VERY careful about their contraception because they NEVER want to experience that again. I just don’t see it.. Why would anyone choose to do that to themselves regularly rather than just use contraception?

• M O Sé 11/10/12 #

Nick beard, i was of course refering to the heritability of liberal memes. Of course i am not a monster so am aghast at all of this.
    Hard cases dont sway me either lads, this clinic is the thick end of the wedge for the human sacrifice cult of the individual. Ye need to have a good look in the mirror.

Add New Comment