Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Better deal for Ireland if we pass EU referendum? Government says maybe…

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

THE GOVERNMENT HAS given conflicting messages on whether Ireland should demand a better deal on its bailout debt in return for passing any referendum on the EU budget deal.

Speaking this morning, Tánaiste Eamon Gilmore said that re-engineering of the bailout deal should be completely separate from any referendum on the EU budget deal.

The Tánaiste repeatedly emphasised that the government’s debt strategy is “to reduce the burden on the taxpayer”.

However when he asked if Ireland should push for a “debt sweetener” from the EU to ensure that any referendum is passed, Gilmore said: ”I think it’s important that we separate those (issues)”.

This was in contrast to Junior Minister Brian Hayes who, over the weekend, became the first government TD to openly say that a referendum on the new EU budget deal would be unlikely to pass unless Ireland was offered a better deal on its debt.

The Tánaiste also said that it was “too early” to make the call on whether a referendum was going to be necessary on the recent deal struck by eurozone member states.

It’s going to be a factual matter. A referendum is either going to be necessary under our Constitution or it’s not, and it’s too early to make that call

Gilmore this morning said that it was “reasonable” that Ireland’s bailout deal should be reengineered given how Ireland has already successfully dealt with its debt so far.

Speaking on Newstalk Breakfast, he pointed out that Ireland had already had some success in negotiating a new interest rate on the deal.

He suggested that it would be “in the interest of other EU member states and institutions” that the situation in Ireland was “progressed” .

The Tánaiste was speaking after comments from Minister of State Brian Hayes at the weekend about the deal.

“The idea that we could have a referendum without that agreement, on a substantial rearranging of our debt, wouldn’t fly,” Hayes said in an interview with yesterday’s Sunday Business Post.

“We would have to have that in place before we put the question, and that’s beginning to be understood at an EU level, which puts us in a stronger position”.

Finance Ministers from across the EU are due to hold a teleconference today to discuss the recent EU deal.

The eurozone ministers are aiming to finalise the new fiscal compact agreement by the end of January.

It is expected that they will also discuss the €200 million loan to the International Monetary Fund (IMF) to help stabilise the eurozone.

Hold the phone: EU finance ministers to hold teleconference over debt crisis >

Read Next:

Comments (58 Comments)

• John Conniffe 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

We’ve had the stick, and now comes the carrot…

• Gavin McGuinness 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I hate this idea of coaxing our electorate into a possibly damaging future with the European Union by telling them … “If you pass this treaty like a good boy/girl, we’ll give you a lollipop!”. Really says a lot about the EU and Co. I hope the people of this republic are not as stupid as they are being made out to be by the government.

• Bazza 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Yeah, lets tell the only financial friend we have (and those that are bank-rolling our bankrupted country) to feck off when they ask for a few conditions against their loans.

We are in the last chance saloon thanks to Fianna Fail, now is not the time for starting a row with the barman !

• Michael Hegarty 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

We are broke because we are paying back private debts to their German and French Banks. Tell them to f.off and we’re not in half the mess!!

• Tim Henchin 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Temporary relief in exchange for the imposition of a financial ligature on ourselves and half of Europe. If this is passed, then growing out of this problem is going to be extremely difficult.

You can also say goodbye to the IFSC and FDI as well.

• Ed Kavanagh 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Brazza you couldn’t be anymore wrong and you are demonstrating what is the biggest danger to our sovereignty. A complete misunderstanding of the source of the debt. Its not caused by Nurses, Teachers or Gardai wages. Its caused by corrupt fascist bankers pumping cheap money into the European economies knowing full well that they were creating a debt bubble that could not be repaid in order to force countries to sign up to full federal integration. It is a simple and brilliant plan and you are falling for it hook line and sinker.. The only course of action is a no vote, which at best will collapse the EU and at worst kick us out leaving us with our sovereignty and a mess to work through. Being a small Island off the coast of A Federal Europe will put us on the bottom of the list of importance in a unified Europe lead from Berlin.. Believe me when I tell you that the first option will the one that people will be proud to tell their children that they choose.. This is an absolute mess either way but the second option leads to a loss of sovereignty and freedom..

• Eileen Gabbett 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I just cannot read any more of the if’s, but’s and maybe’s……. Come back please and tell us when there is a firm decision on whether or not a referendum will take place. There should be a referendum in my opinion , let us the people decide .

• Desmond O'Toole 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Whether we need a referendum or not will depend on the advice the government receives from the Attorney General once the final treaty is agreed. If she says a referendum is needed we will have one. If she says we don’t need a referendum the government will ratify the treaty through the Oireachtas. It will then be possible for any interested citizen to ask the High Court and if necessary the Supreme Court to rule on whether a referendum is required under our constitution. The needs to be a solid legal basis for holding a referendum.

• Eileen Gabbett 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I understand that Desmond O’ Toole, it is just ridiculous for the Tanaiste or any other government TD’s to come out with comments until we know whether or not we will need to have a referendum. This is all I am saying. .

• Norman Hunter 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

He means he’s hoping there will be no need for a referendum.

• Collie Woods 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Sure wasn’t Lisbon supposed to be the end of our troubles.

• Brian Ward 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Here we so again, another sell out.

• Kerry Blake 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Labours way or Berlins way eh Eamon?

Report this comment

I wonder if there is a vote and it is defeated.Will Gilmore respect the peoples will.Lisbon proved or rather wiki leaks proved he has nothing but contempt for the voting public.

• Tony Skillington 21/12/11 #
      Report this comment

They will in their hole Norman….like Lisbon they’ll keep throwing it cross the table to us. F**k them….I’ll be voting no and that’s not a protest vote. Europe is too deeply rooted into our social fabric. They point blank refuse to even entertain debt reduction for us and are only fannying around with the whole crisis.

• Adrian De Cleir 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Not that I have a clue, i really really reckon we’ll need a referendum judging by the way they are talking.

As a matter of fact I would imagine all they are doing now is going through it in the tiny hope that they find a loophole.

If they sell the yes vote as a “better deal for Ireland”, they will get royally screwed. If they tell people that it’s a vote for whether we stay in the euro or not I wouldn’t be so quick to think we’ll vote no.

Report this comment

Meant to say “if it is defeated”sorry about that mistake.

• Simon 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Perhaps it is somewhat hopeful to expect, but if they truly want us to ratify this treaty then little short of a complete and utter write-down of all bank debt should be acceptable to the Irish people. This country has been destroyed through 5 Austerity Budgets, and if things continue the way they are, there will be at least another 5 of these down the track.
    Europe are not going to do this however, but we can be assured that in the unlikely event that we are given a referendum they will throw every scare tactic in the book in order to get it passed. I just hope the Irish people are not duped once again as in Nice and Lisbon.

• Aidan Molloy 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

YES FOR JOBS!

• Aidan Molloy 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Sorry should be “Arbeit macht frei”

• Donncha Foley 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

I hope you’re not comparing our recession to what the inmates of Aushwitz suffered..
      I’m guessing that the Govt are working hard to ensure that a debt deal is agreed before any potential referendum, a renegotiation of a deal by a previous Goverment.

• Adam Magari 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

This government like the last one is beginning to choke on its own spin mucous. Both coalition parties promised better terms to the taxpayer regarding bond repayment, bank recapitalisations and the infamous guarantee. All the promises were broken once the wax scent from the cabinet table drifted up their noses.

Report this comment

Significantly better terms have already been achieved by this government in the debt that Fianna Failure saddled us with. Or haven’t you been paying attention. So much easier just to sit back and take a pop, hey! There is much more still to do to bring the debt burden down further, but you’re wrong to claim no progress has already been made.

• Adam Magari 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

Significantly better terms? Are you kidding? The best I read was a possible saving of 600 million overall. In the context of interest repayments plus the austerity tax of 3.8 billion in this year alone, it is small potatoes and over the lifetime of the IMF loan very very small. A significant deal would be of Grecian proportions. At what point in time will the government accept the loans cannot be repaid over the envisioned timescale?

Report this comment

Aidan that pharse was used outside the concentration camps in a perverse way.Don’t think it is suitable here.I’m sure some will agree with you,but know history and understand why i say this.

• Glyko Symoritis 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

The more we leave our business to the ECB and the IMF and their muppets here (government) the closer we going to be to a republic like “Guatemala”. If you don’t believe me check it out for yourselves, after 27 years of IMF control in Guatemala, the numbers are triumphing, growth! business! and people are STARVING! Note: Guatemala is the original “Banana Republic”! IMF has to go!

• Biggins31 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

I don’t trust one word out of their mouths. Not one word.
    A bunch of two faced, too many u-turn liars they are.

Report this comment

Exactly, that’s their role, to lie all the time thinking that we have no memory. Promise all to get our votes and once they get elected u turn and dolce vida for them! Don’t care about the 450.000 unemployed about the thousands migrating about the self employed that they lost their business and they don’t even get the benefit, the salaries of starvation the mortgage holders that can’t pay the gigantic loans they were given. Save the people first, what’s the point if you save the banks, the bondholders and the economy if on the way to do so kill half of us?

• Sean O'Keeffe 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

“Through clever and constant application of propaganda people can be made to see paradise as hell, and also the other way around, to consider the most wretched sort of life as paradise.”
      –Adolf Hitler, Mein Kampf, 1923

• Biggins31 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

The lies and u-turns continue.
      http://www.independent.ie/national-news/public-sector-paycap-plan-in-tatters-as-lsquospecial-dealsrsquo-soar-2967285.html

One rule for the public and another rule for the liars/traitors in government.

• Hank Scorpio 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Hmmm… It begs the question that if we are offered a better deal on *our* debt (and I assume they’d make it a good one) to entice us into voting yes to this thing should we have to and we vote no does the better deal go with it…? Surely the deal aspect should have immediate results which we can see take effect before we vote?

• Monor Curry 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

It’ll be Lisbon all over again. We’ll vote no, Europe will say tut tut, we’ll vote yes. I hope that’s not how it goes but the masses scare easily.

Report this comment

Even if the write off half of our debt or even all of it, the next thing they going to do is to give us another loan. It happen in Greece a few weeks ago. Our debt is unsustainable, they have turn us into junkies waiting for our next fix! There is no life, living like that, in fear and waiting for the next fix. We should start thinking outside of the box if we want to live a life with dignity and decency and not continued to be dragged at the bottom of the barrel. We owed this to ourselves and our children. We should stop being obedient, being good boys brought us here! A start can be Iceland! Or something new that has nothing to do with these gangsters. But always for the common good and not for banks, money, profit, developers and property ladders.

• Réada Quinn 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

That is exactly what will happen. If not next year, it will be in a few years time. EU fiscal unity is no win for a small country like us! No sell out for a “deal”! We’re not for sale.

• Report this comment

Can i have that in writing please

Report this comment

Lisbon 2 promised our corperation tax rate would be protected how many times have Sarky and co mentioned it recently.Lucinda Creighton on the Frontline programme said it has not been signed into the treaty yet.Politicans dispise the people only willing to endure speaking to us whenever an election or referendum is called.Even then just to lie and give false promises which like idiots we believe.I hope the Irish people will not fall for lies,false promises and bullshit.Watch out for the start of the scare mongering.Mr Dragi has already started 1.00 clock news today.

Report this comment

I can’t see a referendum materialising for two reasons, (a) after Nice and Lisbon no government is going to risk another EU treaty in a vote. Much of what was agreed will be implemented by way of primary legislation, either in the Oireachtas directly or by transposition of EU law, as happened last week with fiscal supervision law, and (b) there will likely be a new president in France in May and the socialist contender, François Hollande, has already denounced the proposed treaty.

Report this comment

Two things Desmond the rate reduction you speak was only achieved by what happened in Greece our so called leaders had nothing to do with it despite taking credit for it.Second if the European court of justice gets the power to fine Ireland in breaking parts of this new agreement.That is a handing over of soverign rights and will require a referendum wether our government likes it or not.

Report this comment

So Norman, you did notice that there had been changes and more are being negotiated at the moment. Look, it’s all so easy and so lazy to slag off our politicians, it takes a lot more to propose and deliver a workable alternative than the whining euorphobia that most threads like this descend into. The question of whether the summit treaty, if it passes the next French presidential election, is in conformance with our constitution is one that will be settled in the first instance by the AG and by the courts if her advice is challenged.

• Ed Kavanagh 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Here’s what they don’t want you to know and why they don’t want a referendum. Please share this, especially with you TD so they know you know…

http://m.youtube.com/#/watch?desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DEPcWHBPYOSU%26feature%3Dplayer_embedded&feature=player_embedded&v=EPcWHBPYOSU&gl=AU

• Dermot Purcell 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Lies and more lies these guys kenny and gilmore maybe bigger liers than ahern and cowen

Report this comment

Seen it Ed scary stuff if that is what the agreement holds.We need a referendum on that agreement for sure,and honest debate no bullshit or scare tactics from either side.

• William O'Shea 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

Beckett’s recipe for success might have been fail, fail, and fail again, but for these effete lapdog governments we’ve been churning out for years now, when, oh when will one of them do something right for Ireland? For too long now the political establishment, left and right, have colluded to ignore the wishes of the people. Pleasing the ‘makers and breakers’ of the European project has more resonance among them than hearing the tired groans of an ailing society. From a common market trading area (EEC) we have been cajoled, manipulated, lied to, cheated, robbed, and de-democratised (if there’s such a word, but ye get the drift), into a federalist state where a once proud (but honest) independent neutral nation has been reduced to that of a principality! I’ve no inherent opposition to a federalist Europe but for fecks sake can we please have a government that will put the interests of the Irish PEOPLE first? instead of adopting a submissive posture with one eye on a lucrative euro job further down the line…… Mr. Gilmore you’re as weak, naive and Janus faced as Kenny et al (including FF). I only hope the socialists that fill the vacuum created by Labours shift to the right have a more altruistic view of humanity than you’ve hitherto shown!

• Jason Culligan 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

No,no and hell no. I don’t care if they give a blank cheque to pay all of our sovereign debt in one go,the EU has spiraled out of control and cannot be allowed to take even more than it already has. This has mutated from the original idea of economic co-operation to prevent a future war to a complete federal union which doesn’t give a flying f… about anyone unfortunate enough to live in the United States of Europe. No is the only way. Ignore these give a dog a bone tactics an stand up for your country.

• Geoffrey Collins 19/12/11 #
      Report this comment

YouTube endgame. Conspiracy theorists get slated for believing t elite are trying to bring about a world gov by forming a federalist Europe first..doesn’t seem so crazy anymore! Iceland showed more balls than anywhere by telling IMF to f off.

Report this comment

These people that rule this country have nothing in common with the people.Mick Wallace stated they don’t know or care what ordinary people go through.Sorry Mick if i misquoted you but it is the general gist of what you said.Look at the Cardiff F**k up if they had any respect for the common people they would have pulled his nomination or heavens forbid have the cop on not to nominate him in the first place.The only good thing that came out of that mess is were rid of the incompitence he demostrated.Hes Europes problem now.He’ll fit right in with the other unaccountable elite.

Report this comment

If your friends, your partner, your neighbour, lie, steal and cheat and leave you in misery and despair, most likely you are going to react! Let’s all of us confront these liars in Leinster house, for how long more we are going to seat and take it? Nothing is for nothing! None of them is going to give us anything, unless we demanded by all means necessary. So far they have load us with debt, unemployment, migration, poverty, despair, misery and helplessness! They taking away our people, jobs, homes, dignity, demolishing our schools and health system and the welfare, targeting the weakest. We allow them to do so, we can stop them now, it’s better to do it now before things get even worst and the than it will be nearly impossible!

• Paul Coffey 19/12/11 #
    Report this comment

If there is a referendum, I’ll be voting against. Reason being we will be even less irish than we are now if it is passed. Tell the Germans, French and Irish governments to F off. !

Report this comment

Yes Desmond i did notice a change,i also noticed our leaders had nothing to do with it but try to insist to the people did.Which anyone yourself included bothered to read the information about the rate reduction would know the government is talking bullshit in saying they acheived a reduction.

• Report this comment

Better deal?
    This new treaty will condemn us to more suffocating austerity for decades, any reduction of the debt will be counteracted with the penalties we face when we constantly fail to abide by the new fiscal rules dictated by countries who are only too happy to keep us down.

Add New Comment