Welcome to our Public Beta Site - What does this mean?
Dublin: 12 °C Wednesday 23 May, 2012

Breastfeeding protest held outside Facebook HQ

Two women and their children taking part in the breastfeeding protest at Facebook, Dublin

WOMEN AND MEN gathered with their children outside Facebook’s headquarters today to protest against the removal of breastfeeding photographs from the social networking site.

The protest was arranged by the non-profit organisation Friends of Breastfeeding, which aims to foster a positive breastfeeding culture in Ireland.

Around 40 people gathered holding signs saying ‘Facebook doesn’t like us’, including male and female parents with their children, pregnant women, and breastfeeding mothers with their babies.

They were taking part in a global protest against claims that pictures of women breastfeeding were removed from Facebook.

While breastfeeding pictures are allowed under Facebook policy, pictures may be deleted if they “contain nudity, drug use or other obscene content”.

Jolene Keating, general secretary of Friends of Breastfeeding, told TheJournal.ie that the group were delighted with how the protest went.

She said that while Facebook invited the women into the building and offered them refreshments, the protesters were disappointed that they were not given the company’s statement on the removal of photographs.

“The protest went really well. It was a peaceful protest,” said Keating. “It was a bit disappointing that no one from Facebook came out with a statement from themselves.”

The protesters joined people from around the world – from the USA to Japan, Argentina to Italy – holding breastfeeding protests.

Keating explained the reasons behind the protest.

The images that were removed were in no way explicit or sexual. On one of our fliers today was a very distasteful image of a girl on Facebook which wasn’t removed; however [a] breast feeding image was removed. This is the point we are trying to make. Facebook are stating there are minors on the site they have to protect and we understand that; however breastfeeding will never become normal if it is not seen.
We’re not talking about fully naked women feeding their babies. We’re talking about normal situations in a normal family. These mothers are taking pictures of themselves breastfeeding same as you would with a baby eating their first solid food or taking their first steps. It is a memorable thing in your life, you’re not taking it because you are making a statement.

A spokesperson from Facebook told TheJournal.ie that:

The vast majority of breastfeeding photos are compliant with our Statement of Rights and Responsibilities and Facebook takes no action on such content. However, some photos which contain a fully exposed breast do violate our terms and may be removed if they are reported to us.

Breastfeeding protest held outside Facebook HQ
1 / 5
  • Friends Of Breastfeeding protest

Two women and their babies taking part in the protest outside Facebook in Dublin today.
  • Friends Of Breastfeeding

People taking part in the protest outside Facebook in Dublin today.

A mother breastfeeding at the protest outside Facebook in Dublin today.

People taking part in the protest outside Facebook in Dublin today.

Two women and their babies taking part in the protest outside Facebook in Dublin today.

Read: Breastfeeding campaigners to protest at Facebook HQ in Dublin>

Read: Michelle Obama calls for removal of breastfeeding barriers at work>

Read Next:

Comments (138 Comments)

• Jay funk 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

There must be better things to protest about

• Dave Minogue 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Definitely.

• Kitalpha 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The whole page here is full of thick backward ignorant comments that you would only ever hear in the western part of the world. What has happened to our society? What has happened to women?Some of the comments from the women, oh my good jesus, I would be ashamed of my life to know ye and I pray ye are not raising girls. The world is in enough trouble.

One of the most basic natural things we can do for our babies treated like a disease of society. I feel ashamed reading these comments, you would NEVER hear the likes of this in any other part of the world but here we are morally corrupt.

Breastfeeding is protected by law for a reason.

• Deirdre Forde 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I agree Kitalpha. Ireland has an awful attitude to breastfeeding.. one of the worst in Europe according to a public health nurse that I know.

Sadly, the comments below show how entrenched this is. We need to ask ourselves where this comes from.

• Kitalpha 08/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Its just feeding a child for good ness sake. Its a reflection of the people saying these things and not the mother doing the feeding.

I found a lovely article about why women post pictures of themselves breastfeeding. Worth a share :)

http://dragonandrose.net/stree/2012/02/08/the-answer-to-why/

• People really put too much stuff on facebook.

• Cpm 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

40. 37 of them being blokes hoping to get a look at a headlamp. The other three being the mothers in the slideshow.

• neo1 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Fair play to them I wish them all the breast

• Jean Kelly 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

fair play to them, the amount of people on here saying enough is enough, time for a revolution etc.who don’t bother to protest about anything themselves. I wouldnt post a pic on my page but it like to know if I did my account wouldnt b deleted.

• Adrian De Cleir 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

When people say it’s time for a revolution, im pretty sure theyre not referring to wanting breastfeeding pics on facebook , i could be wrong though.

• Michael Hegarty 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

They just removed to booby pics, not the accounts. its funny though!!

• Report this comment

All these people have something in common, they’re not in work for one reason or another and they’re bored.

• Jo Murphy 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Any society that reacts to a basic image of mother and feeding child with a judgement of obscenity is deeply unwell. Reactions to the idea of breastfeeding in public make it clear that our history of Catholic repression and shame is alive and well and not yet purged from our society, no matter what the 15 year olds may be wearing to Wesley on Friday nights.

If you don’t think this is important, you’re wrong. This is something that really needs to change, for our health, for our emotional well being and for our self image. If you see breastfeeding as something obscene, it’s time to ask yourself where that idea came from, and why you’re holding on to it. Look a little deeper. Educate yourselves.

Breasts are for more than titillation, even if that’s all you’ve ever known them to be for. Enough of the misogyny. Plenty of the women there today work. They all work at raising their children. They’re doing something that matters deeply to them, for all of us.

• Report this comment

Well said Jo Murphy

• Sean Macc 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I had a picture of me defecating taken down also. Just like breast feeding, it is a natural process. I am going to have to protest also.

• Joe McDermott 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

God love them not being able to upload pics of their baps…its a hard life.

• Report this comment

What a bunch of tits! Really milking it!

• Neil Cremins 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

IT’S A DISGRACE JOE!!!

• Adrian De Cleir 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What about children’s rights??? Seriously. I wouldn’t be impressed if I knew there was a pic of me as a child getting breastfed floating around the net.

This crowd need to grow up.

• Michael Cuthbert 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ye have issues Monsieur?

• EMD 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

My children wouldn’t mind because they see breastfeeding at the norm and are completely thrown when they see bottle feeding. In fact I’m sure they will appreciate it even more when they are older and realise how lucky they were to get such a good start in life in terms of their health.

• Jo Murphy 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Why, Adrian? What is it you think is shameful about being breastfed? If you lived in Italy, say, it would be a common assumption that you had been, and no different to having a picture of you drinking a juice or eating an apple floating round the internet. Children have the right to be fed what’s best for them without any prejudiced judgemental people making hateful statements about them. This crowd is as grown up as they need to be, and they’re confident they’re doing right by their kids and by society. People who’ve been breastfed don’t see anything wrong with it, in the main.

• Emma Burns 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I really don’t get Facebook’s prudishness. Sexual images abound on the site, yet pics of tots at teat are removed?

• Report this comment

All we need now is a ban on breastfeeding outside Leinster House.

• Declan O'Neill 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Instead of protesting, how about just NOT just Facebook, simple!

• Jo Murphy 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

It’s not quite clear what this means, but I guess you’re saying just don’t use facebook? Given that it’s a lot of people’s preferred social medium, especially for sharing family pics, that’s expecting a lot of women to go stand out in the cold. Especially ones who are responsible for small children, and probably don’t get out as much as they’d like.

• Sean Higgins 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Someone once said that children are like farts, you can only every stand your own…….,

• mart_n 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Why would you want to share a picture of that anyway? Don’t get me wrong, I’m not opposed to breastfeeding in public or anything, but I just can’t see why someone would feel the need to post a picture of it on a site like Facebook.. or anywhere else.

I would opine that the ladies out protesting today are the type to do things like that just because they know that it gets other people’s goats up.

• EMD 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Why not? I have lovely pictures of my children to share with friends and family and if one of those happens to involve breastfeeding then why shouldn’t I share it? Unlike some on here my family wouldn’t have a problem because breastfeeding is “normal” for us and nobody expresses horror or feels it is obscene to view a baby being fed. If it were a bottle would that be ok for you?

The ladies out protesting today don’t give a fiddlers about your or anyone elses goat, they feel passionately about normalising breastfeeding and to no longer having it seen as obscene or something to be hidden away. They are not asking you to view their pictures but they are asking Facebook to allow them to share them with friends and families if they wish and to accept they are not nude or obscene photos.

• Debbie Ennis 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well said mart !!! Those so called mother earth emm yummy mums with nothing better to do !! We all know it’s best for a child why these people feel the need to shove it in peoples faces I will never know

• mart_n 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

EMD, I’m not sure why you’re having a go at me. I never said that I have a problem with people breastfeeding or sharing photographs of the proceedings. All I said is that I personally don’t understand why someone would feel the need to share such photographs.

Lot’s of things are natural/normal, but society as a whole dictates what is tasteful or acceptable. It’s natural to be naked, but it’s not acceptable for me to post pictures of my naked body in a space where others are likely to be offended by it.

• Ann Reddin 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@ EMD

when are breast feeding mothers going to get that nobody wants to see a photo of a breast feeding child. And how could it be a nice photo of the baby if you cant see it because the childs face is obscured by a breast. To me these people are as intent on making a statement as they are about giving thier child a good start.

And dont you think that correcting Debbie Ennis on her spelling is a little bit childish.

• EMD 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Nope I don’t think it is childish when it is in response to an extremely childish post.

Nobody wants to see a picture of a breastfeeding child? You speak for everyone then? Breastfeeding a baby doesn’t mean you can’t see the baby particularly as they get older and actually my mother thinks the breastfeeding photos are beautiful even when she can’t see the baby’s face. It is innocent, beautiful, natural and before photos was shown in paintings and sculpture without being seen as something seedy and even the prudish and narrow minded Catholic Church sees nothing wrong with breastfeeding being overtly displayed http://www.examiner.com/attachment-parenting-in-mankato/artwork-showing-the-virgin-mary-breastfeeding-jesuspicture#slide=8813801

• Jene Hinds Kelly 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

mart_n: Why do people who bottlefeed take pictures feeding their baby and post them on facebook? Or pics of baby’s first spoon feed? Or why do adults take pics in the pub or at dinners out? And before photography..their was art…. how many famous paintings of the last supper or breastfeeding Madonnas can you think of ? Have a google…you might be surprised.

The point is, we as Humansare social creatures. We share our moments. We share our memories. We also place a huge emphasis on the way we nurish ourselves. Holidays are centred around large dinners, etc.

Breastfeeding is normal. Its a way to nurish your baby. The idea of hiding away breastfeeding women is a very new cultural phenomenon. It was not so long ago that if your child was not breastfed, it would die.

• Cpm 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I like the cut of your jib, Debbie

• Sarah Curran 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

every site has a right to have policies, if Facebook doesn’t want pics of people breast feeding then that’s fair enough if you don’t like that policy then use a site that does allow it. Facebook are not infringing on your human rights nor are they disagreeing with people breast feeding its simply a policy! go protest about real issues!

• Report this comment

So if Facebook had a policy that didn’t allow pictures of black people or people with disabilities that would be ok? Really surprised at the pathetic comments on this article.

• EMD 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Sarah, Facebook doesn’t have a policy about breastfeeding pictures. Facebook has a policy about nudity and offensive photos and these ladies are protesting that breastfeeding is not nudity or obscene.

This is a real issue when you consider how low breastfeeding rates are in Ireland and how we are in the midst of a recession where something like formula is an extremely costly item which could easily be replaced by breastfeeding which is free! Also in terms of health, also a costly drain on the coffers, breastfeeding is likely to reduce a significant number of childhood health issues thereby further saving the state money. So I think they should protest as much as they like to get this in the news because at the end of the day this could be a positive cost saving in economy and human health. Mostly though I think breastfeeding is the most natural thing to see and people being so disgusting and narrow minded in their comments just disgusts me.

Report this comment

Well said Sarah !! O totally agree with your point those stupid so called mother earths shoving their poxy views in everyones face get my blood boiling they belong to docks and sandal brigade maybe they should be protesting about the household charge far more important !!

• EMD 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Debbie, where were the mother earths you refer to? So Docs and sandals are worn only by protesting breastfeeding mothers? What has this got to do with the Household Charge, you seem very confused? Poxy views in everyones face, you mean like you are doing with your rants on here? What happened to make you dislike other women doing their best for a cause they believe in? Why should they protest against a measly €100 Household Charge and not about the need for society to realise that breastfeeding is normal, not obscene or sexual but normal and best of all free.

• Ann Reddin 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

@ EMD

Why cant these mothers express thier milk before they go out – no that would be too much hassle. Pumps are very cheap and so are baby bottles. No they would just rather make the majority of people feel uncomfortable when they feed in public and I guess you wouldnt be making a statement if you werent getting your breast out.

• EMD 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ann, why should we express the milk? The milk comes in sterile and temperature controlled breasts so why on earth should we remove the milk just to put it into plastic bottles? As for people being uncomfortable that is their problem, it is illegal to ask a woman to stop breastfeeding in public http://www.breastfeeding.ie/breastfeeding_out_and_about

You wouldn’t even notice most women breastfeeding so you must be staring pretty hard at lots of women to be made feel uncomfortable so I suggest look elsewhere if you are uncomfortable with breastfeeding. It isn’t making a statement it is feeding a baby simple as that. Making a statement for goodness sake and saying that women should use bottles and a pump because some people seem to have issues around breasts being used to feed a child. Unreal.

• Niamh Byrne 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ann don’t go there with the expressing argument it, it defeats one of the major advantages of breastfeeding..convenience. It would take me a lifetime of expressing to keep up with my hungry boy and I would have to take with me my own body weight.in milk because boob milk is digested faster, plus expressing is killer on the boobs and it is noisy and time consuming to do, which is something.most pants of babies don’t have a lot of.

Report this comment

Sarah You are dead right…Diarmaid MacAonghusa…are you a head banger?? comparing breast feeding to black people and people with disabilities??? seriously W..T..F dude??

• EMD 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Way to go supporting mothers Debbie, I guess you are really progressive in your thinking. Ticks are tiny little insects by the way so I assume you drop your aitches and meant thick?

They are not putting up pictures of themselves breastfeeding for all and sundry to view but only those who are linked to them. Perhaps they think it is a cute picture of their little one and they just happen to be breastfeeding or it could be a family shot where mum just happens to be feeding the baby. Would it be more acceptable to you if they stuck an artificial teat into the mouth of the baby and filled it up with the artificial crap produced by formula manufacturers? You can feed your baby that shite but I made the choice to breastfeed mine and if I want to share a picture with my mum who lives in another country then why shouldn’t i? I’m not asking you to look but these women are asking Facebook to realise that a breast is for feeding a baby and in these pictures the breast is seen being used for the function it was designed, feeding human young.

As for “REAL MEN”, I can only assume you are stuck in yesteryear with a comment like that, many men want the very best for their children and real men would understand that breast is best and that breastfeeding does not need to be hidden away. Hide the bottles and formula from pictures then if we are going to be fair? Finally, for your information it is illegal to ask a woman to stop breastfeeding in public so they can hang from the streetlights if they wish with their breasts bared to the world and there is eff all you or the rest of the ignorant bigots here on can do about it!

• Andrew Canavan 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I understand breastfeeding is the best way to feed a child but that’s not the argument.

Sure it’s legal but It does offend some people and probably always will.. especially if you’re swinging from a streetlight!! There’s a lot worse on Facebook so fair is fair and these pics should be allowed but why would you want to a picture of yourself breastfeeding, upload them and share with the world..!

Yes we all know breast is best and I have no problem with breastfeeding but to actually protest outside a company for something that small, it’s hardly like they were kicked out of a restaurant for breastfeeding.. All that’s happening is that a computer program on a social networking site is unable to separate a breast from…. well a breast.

• Anthony O'Brien 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Facebook provide a free service for those of us that choose to use it. FREE, therefore if they don’t want breasts, dogs,cats or whatever else takes their fancy that’s entirely up to them. For goodness sake……..

Report this comment

Correct

• Thevoice Ofreason 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Well said Anthony, if I don’t like something I stop using it, I don’t understand what would give me the right to demand they change their policies, it’s their own choice to use Facebook. These woman are crazy, why don’t they just email the photos to their close friends to see.

• Jo Murphy 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Why should they exactly Voice of reason? This is all on private pages. Why should they be excluded because of a prejudice?

• Anthony O'Brien 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

FB are constantly under pressure over privacy issues. If privacy was compromised and private pictures of breast feeding found their way into the public domain there would be hell to pay and possibly law suits. There is a very strong argument for FB covering their ass on such issues.

• Nicky Nacky Noo 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Michael Heggarty you are wrong. Accounts have been deleted as well as suspended. To all of you who liken breastfeeding to deficating, I issue you one challenge. The next time you take a dump, eat it, then make the comment again. Both myself and my husband have photos of us as infants at the breast, neither of us have an issue with that because guess what, it’s normal. Breastfeeding is normal. End of.

• Niamh Byrne 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Good woman ;) totally agree.

Report this comment

I think that breastfeeding is one of the most natural and special thinks that a family can share but i or my wife would never do it in public or would we like to see it in public, there are a lot of things that we keep to ourselves ;-). I don’t like nude beaches and I don’t like seeing someone’s breast when I’m eating in a restaurant. Why don’t they express pump the milk and give them a bottle of breast milk in public and they should email or post or mms or call over to talk to and show them any photos that they want certain people to see.

• Niamh Byrne 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I or my.wife…..do you want.to tell us something ;) it is tyre law that a woman can breastfeed her child anywhere, without harassment from the public, wuthout being asked to leave stop or move by anyone. So wotever ur in the cupboard opinion is you have to keep it to urself because if you say anything you will be breaking the law. Its only food anyway, get over it.

• Cpm 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Huh?

• EMD 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What don’t you understand Cpm?

Report this comment

EmD shut up i am a mother myself and am not against breast feeding at all I am allowed an opinion and what crap are you going on about formula milk !!!! Did I mention it ?? No I was clearly stating what a waste of time it was !! Like fb give a shit about them or their stupid protest I guessing you were one of those fools !!! You can post pics of your baby without it hanging out of your breast !!!

• EMD 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I wasn’t one of those ladies at all as unfortunately my children are older and past being breastfed. Telling someone to shut up just because they take issue with your lack of support, name calling and ignorance towards a group of mothers trying to help normalise breastfeeding and stop it being seen as something taboo. No one is posting pictures for all to see of the baby hanging out of their breast, they want to share what are normal, natural photos of a baby who just happens to be feeding at the time with THEIR friends/families on Facebook. Facebook remove these pictures as they label them as nudity, obscene content etc. which they clearly are not!

I mentioned formula feeding because if people were having photos removed of them feeding their babies with bottles and formula then everyone would be up in arms about how dumb that is.

Calling someone a fool is not a great way to make people listen to you particularly as you state you have an opinion but it got lost in amongst your nasty comments.

• Cpm 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The bit from the start, right to where the end bit is,EMD

Report this comment

Exactly Joanne !!!

• Niamh Byrne 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Why is it necessary to call them bitches? You have ur opinion (which I dint agree with) but you are the second woman to comment here and cool these woman bitches…

• Niamh Byrne 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Why is it necessary to call them bitches? You have ur opinion (which I dint agree with) but you are the second woman to comment here and call these woman bitches…

• Niamh Byrne 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

And debbie you are the other one.

• Sarah Cullington 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I suppose the point was that in furthering the effort to “normalise” breastfeeding in society, which judging by some of the comments still has quite a long way to go, removing photos from fb, which is now such a large part of our society, seems like a backwards step and to some, reinforces the idea that it is still a taboo in public. For the record I personally never had a problem breastfeeding in public, nor has anyone I know. I do think however that the perception that it is frowned upon puts especially young mothers off trying in the first place and that is something that needs to be tackled.

• Jo Murphy 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

That’s a huge issue, and one Chris Finn covered in her speech, Sarah – one of the biggest reasons Irish women cite for not breastfeeding is that they feel they can’t do it out of the house. They’re scared of getting comments like the ones on here, or just scared of trying to do it in public, period. This is a major reason why we have pretty much the lowest breastfeeding rate in the world.

This is a major reason why we were out there today. People make these comments and insinuations, all the while saying ‘I don’t mind about breastfeeding’ – without realising that their comment will directly impact on someone’s decision not to breastfeed, though they wanted to, or to give up early.

Normalising is what it was all about.

• Sarah Curran 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

i never said i disagree with breast feeding in public or otherwise! i breast fed one of my children unfortunately i couldn’t continue for health reasons but that has nothing to do with it. if the picture shows a woman’s breast then it is nudity and Facebook have a right to take it down or suspend the account etc. Im absolutely not disputing that its not natural to breast feed! as someone else pointed out its also natural to go for a poo. its Facebook get over it! nobody is denying a woman’s right to breast feed and Facebook is not obligated to advertise it either.

Report this comment

@cmp
    I know exactly how ya feel. I just gave up half way through ;-)

• Leila Jane 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

It’s completely natural and I’m 100% pro breast feeding but I’m still wondering why people upload such personal photos to Facebook.

• Deborah McCarthy 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Leila would you consider it strange if somebody uploaded a photograph of a child drinking a bottle?? Or in the background of a photograph a child was drinking a bottle?

• Leila Jane 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Nope, all I mean is that obviously breastfeeding is a much more personal moment than a baby drinking from a bottle. I’m in no way offended by seeing it or anything like that I’m just always curious about people uploading everything to their Facebook accounts. Not just this.

• Niamh Byrne 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Its personal until you just get used to getting the boob out as ur making the dinner ;) a friend of mine forgot she had her boob out and answered the door to the postman….I definitely dint think hr was offended.

• Leila Jane 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

hahaha, that’s class!

• Deborah McCarthy 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

The ignorance of some of these comments is alarming

• Jene Hinds Kelly 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

If showing breasts is the only issue, I hope Facebook also takes similar action for those who post pics of Lady Gaga and the like…….. I haven’t heard of anyone being banned for posting up celeb pics, regardless of the amount of flesh on display.

Secondly, I personally don’t find breasts “sexual” objects – they are there for breastfeeding, serve no other purpose

Well done to the women who went out there today. I was not one of them but support them fully.
    Everyone has their own passions and convictions we feel are worth fighting for, who is anyone on here to judge?

• Darren Swan 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

there’s a few ‘tits’ on my friend list I want to get rid of too :-)

• Stephen Ennis 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

but really that’s a form of nudity and if I’m correct you agreed not to share anything of that nature on the site when you first start.

• EMD 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Nope not nudity, it is feeding a baby which happens to necessitate a little bit of bare breast and a baby latched on. If the photos were intentional exposure of breasts in a suggestive manner then yeah that is nudity and sexual in nature.

Report this comment

Jesus EMD post a comment not your life story, thumb is sore trying to scroll past them!

• EMD 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Joe post something intelligent will you and maybe I wouldn’t have to write such long posts!

• Sean Armstrong 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

As someone obviously took issue with my earlier comment, I’ll say it again:

Live and let live. Breastfeeding is a natural thing, get over it. There were WAGONS (and this is used to describe females who are particularly annoying, there are male equivalents as well) on 2FM having a go the poor woman who only wanted to be able to share an intimate moment with her close friends and family. If you have an issue with breastfeeding, fine. Noones forcing you to look at the pictures. But considering that a mother goes through the pain and struggle of childbirth and raising a child, it is entirely up to her how she shares moments of that upbringing. Even other mothers should keep their f”"king opinions to themselves.

• Ann Reddin 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

So its alright to post your “intimate” photos for all and sundry to see. Fair play to any woman who breast feeds giving her child the best start that thier immune system can get. But understand – others dont want to see it…..buy a pump! If breast feeding is such an intimate thing why do it in public.

• EMD 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ann, the photos aren’t up there for all and sundry to see unless you choose to do so. Also you are going to have to get over your thing about women breastfeeding in public because the law is on their side, for goodness sake they are feeding their baby nothing more. Pumping is a pain in the backside and I certainly didn’t ever do it unless I had to and going out for coffee was not a situation that merited pumping.

• P Wurple 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Ann Reddin, breast pumps are very difficult / painful to use, and not everyone likes being connected up to a mechanised milking machine either. The good ones are about 100 euro a month to rent, which doesn’t include the disposable suction cups. The crappy home medea ones can rip the nipples off you and are crazy noisy. Plus, the advantages of breastfeeding, like not having to sterilise bottles, or get milk to the right temperature, or measure stuff goes out the window when you pump. You have to spend the time pumping, and then cleaning bottles, and then feeding the baby as well.

I understand people who don’t want to do it themselves, I was rubbish at it and went to bottles after a few weeks. I am quite surprised there are people who are against other people breastfeeding though. How weird is that!

• Niamh Byrne 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Hey sean, was it you with the wagons comment? I didn’t report ur post but I think I misunderstood you. I thiught you were saying that the breastfeeding women were harpies. I apologize, but as I said I didn’t report it.

• Sean Armstrong 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

cheers Niamh I think we were both mistaken. I got an email with your comment and presumed you were the culprit! Thanks for posting!

• Yvonne Murphy 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Jeeez Debbie
    CALM DOWN GIRL!
    I think it’s time to hop down off your band wagon and get yourself a hobby. People are fully entitled to put up pictures of what ever they want. No one is holding a gun to your head to force you to look at these pictures.
    I find it offensive that you call these women bitches when you don’t know them as individuals.
    Is it not a tad bit aggressive????

Report this comment

Wonder why this is such an issue in Ireland?

• Deirdre Forde 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I don’t know Michael, it might be that big elephant in the room wearing a cassock and dog collar.

Ireland has a woeful attitude to breastfeeding (as seen here) compared to even other western countries.

• Jo Murphy 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Well, you opine wrongly, mart-n. There are plenty of things I would have preferred to be doing. As the chair of Friends of Breastfeeding said at the opening of her speech, none of us wanted to be there – we’d far prefer that there was no reason to be. Breastfeeding should be something that’s normal and that nobody reacts to. Sadly, we haven’t quite reached that state of enlightenment yet.

Mothers who breastfeed don’t see those photos as nudie pictures in the same way so many people here seem to.
    They might want to put those pictures up to share them with their friends and family.
    They might want to try and communicate a fraction of the love and bond they feel for their baby as they feed them.
    They might want to share a little of the pride they feel in the fact that they’ve nourished their child with their own milk – perhaps after a painful struggle to do so.

We went there today to try and underline the fact that there is nothing shameful about the image of a mother feeding her child. Nothing obscene. It’s not linked to sex just because there’s a boob involved. It’s not linked to defacation in any way as there is no waste product involved. There is nothing unpleasant about it, any more than those pictures people like to post of their newly weaned child covered in pureed veg.

We don’t want people’s goats up, because then we have to suffer through the hate filled moronic comments directed at us like the ones above. But it’s time for change.

• Yvonne Murphy 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Here here!

• EMD 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Nice post Jo :)

We love them and we are proud of them, we nourish them and are proud of that too so the beauty of those moments are ones we want to share along with other proud moments and triumphs in life.

Report this comment

No No No!! Your selfish and not taking others feelings into consideration. If any of my friends or sisters pulled a boob out in front of me to feed a child I would not be comfortable with that!! no no no some things should be private.. oh no image stuck in my head you evil bra burners!!!

• Jo Murphy 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Joe, the sad truth is, if you were used to it, you wouldn’t feel like that at all. You’d barely even notice. The truth is, that when most women breastfeed, you don’t see anything but a baby’s head. Most of us do it discreetly to the extent that a lot of people don’t even realise it’s happening. Honestly. If you’d been around it more you’d know that.

http://mumstreet.s3.amazonaws.com/wp-content/uploads/breastfeeding_public100147781-621×351.jpg

shocking, eh?

• EMD 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Michael,
    I think that a lot of it harks back to the days when it was seen as something poor people did and also to do with the taboos around bodies, sexuality etc. which was led by the church.

• Sarah Moorhouse 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

‘but a pump’ unfortunately for you small minded, idiots not all mums are able to pump. If I want to give my daughter the best start in life then I will. I’ll feed her wherever and whenever she wants feeding and I couldn’t give two hoots if that offends anyone and if I’m feeding her and someone takes our photo then I will upload it to Facebook. I’m shocked that there are so many people who find photos of breast feeding offensive!

• Jo Murphy 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Did you get offered any support, Joanne? Did you know where to go for help? This is one of the major problems we have in Ireland – people are pushed to breast feed, but then when they encounter problems, there’s no one there to help, or no one with any real knowledge about problem solving, other than to give formula.

I’m sorry you had that experience – one thing Friends of Breastfeeding is trying to do is make sure everyone has more access to informed support and assistance, so they can have the breastfeeding experience they want. You know not everyone has the same experience you did? But in Ireland it can really be the luck of the draw because no one values it, many dismiss it and demonise it, and this rolls down to lack of investment in education and support services, leaving women feeling negative like you did, or worse still, feeling guilty, because of a health system that has failed them.

• Jo Murphy 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Did you get offered any support, Joanne? Did you know where to go for help? This is one of the major problems we have in Ireland – people are pushed to breast feed, but then when they encounter problems, there’s no one there to help, or no one with any real knowledge about problem solving, other than to give formula.
    I’m sorry you had that experience – one thing Friends of Breastfeeding is trying to do is make sure everyone has more access to informed support and assistance, so they can have the breastfeeding experience they want. You know not everyone has the same experience you did? But in Ireland it can really be the luck of the draw because no one values it, many dismiss it and demonise it, and this rolls down to lack of investment in education and support services, leaving women feeling negative like you did, or worse still, feeling guilty, because of a health system that has failed them.

• sc77 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Ann – oh my god! ‘Buy a pump’ are you for real? How would you feel if someone here told you to feed your baby at home instead of using a bottle in public! That is such a ridiculous comment.

Breastfeeding is 100% natural and best for baby – but some people try to make out as if it’s wrong or common. Thats why we have such low rates in this country. Most women who breast feed in public do so discreetly and you wouldn’t even know and if you figure it out – what a terrible image that must be! Unless there is a room full of women with their breasts out feeding hungry children – look somewhere else!

Re facebook – if someone chooses to put those pictures up then they should be allowed – they aren’t asking everyone to view them

• eimsley 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

What is with all the name calling here…????. It’s embarrassing!!!

Report this comment

So why not an issue in Italy, Spain, France, Southern Germany, Southern NL, Poland? Poor people there too. Predominantly Catholic to boot…

• Niamh Byrne 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Warmer country….more used to seeing skin….not as prudish…stronger women….more respect for the effort and understanding of the benefits…. In hungary you can only get formula on perscruption, that its how seriously they take breastfeeding (think that is but extreme but people think here that breastfeeding women are shoving it down people’s throats, how would they feel in that situation?).

• Cara Lally 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I’m astounded by the amount of people that are appalled by a bit of boob on show, feeding a child. Are these people reacting the same when a woman wears a mini skirt, or a bikini? Or a man goes topless?
    The prudish attitudes here are sad. I wouldn’t mind, but when breast feeding, the nipple is covered by THE BABY! You’d see more skin just walking down the street on any weekend evening.
    The human body is not something to be ashamed of. These are clearly sex-with-the-lights-off people.

Report this comment

EMD,
    So is that what these woman are protesting at? Because what they are protesting about in this article makes them sound really stupid. Facebook does a lot more wrong than that and they can do whatever the f••k they want, the only think that will stop them doing things is everyone that didn’t agree with this cancelled their Facebook page in protest. Protesting outside their office is a waste of time. Facebook owners are looking at the news laughing at them, giving them free advertising on national television channels, while they make billions advertising on your Facebook pages.

Do people understand that porn sites steal people’s private Facebook messages for there sites?

Report this comment

Naimh,
    Everybody knows that my wife breastfeed’s, we don’t hide it, we just don’t do it in public. I don’t agree with breastfeeding in public but I’m never going to tell somebody not to, it’s their choice. As far as I’m concerned everybody is free to do whatever they want as long as they don’t intentionally mean to hurt somebody (including themselves) physically or mentally and seeing a woman breastfeeding will do neither.

I think you misunderstand a lot of what I say Naimh or maybe I’m misunderstanding a lot of what you’re saying?

• Niamh Byrne 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Lol voice…not intentionally hurt someone ;) maybe we do misunderstand each other but just giving you a gentle reminder that a womans right to breastfeed in public is protected by law. I would be a but funny about feeding in public but its because of.this that we have to.make it normal, a normal event. Its a boob with a baby on.it…..

• Jimmy Finn 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I love tities, if you can just keep the babies head out of the shot were laughing

• Amellia Gormley 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Isn’t “making love natural”? wouldnt want to see it on facebook though!

• Niamh Byrne 06/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Feeding a baby……not making love. Its not the same. Babies need feeding…

• Report this comment

love needs making.

• Amellia Gormley 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

The statement from Facebook said that the pics were of fully exposed Breast, it is nudity, the human body has many functions some of them need to be done disccretely, as my above comment is obviously tongue in cheek. Its not an attack on breastfeeding, the same would be done if it was a woman naked from a tribe of some sort……and as a personal comment I would not like my boobs on Facebook either even if it is for feeding purposes. I myself did not breast feed my children and find myself judged for this I think tables are turning is this respect.

• Niamh Byrne 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

Who is judging you amellia? I wouldn’t post pics of myself bfeeding either but I dont mind people who.do, if it mother or sister lived away and you had a baby, you would post pics of yhe baby, and if one of those pics was the baby having a feed so wot. It wouldn’t make me want to barf if I saw it. its just life.

• Lisa O'Driscoll 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Ive breast fed in public and was sitting down talking to an elderly woman while doing it and she didn’t even realise I had a child in my arms. When you breast feed you can be discreet and not show off your breasts. Ive seen some awful pictures on facebook that are still there now of fellas balls naked or young girls flashing their tits. These are photos that should be removed.

And for those saying there must be something better to protest about why dont ye get out there and protest. This is an issue close to these peoples hearts. If you have a problem with something else in the country then go do something about it. Some have complained about the housing tax, would you go protest against it or would you just sit on your ass waiting for someone else???

A big problem in this country is that people moan and complain about the state of the county and do nothing to help change it. One person also said that the people protesting must not work and must be bored to do it, well it seem like a lot of people on here must be bored if they have spent the last 5 hours commenting on the post.

Ye need to grow the hell up.

• Yvonne Caplice 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

i breastfed my 2 babies and had support from all my family and friends, although my mother in law was a bit “ugh” about it. she thought i was great to do it but a bit disgusted at the thoughts of it. she is deeply religious so i always said to her “do u think baby jesus drank SMA from a tommy tippee bottle?!” :-)

• Sean 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I can’t believe there’s so much being made about this. You all have very little to be worried about if all you care about is what photos you can put on Facebook. Get a life

• Sean 06/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I can’t believe all this fuss over what photos you are and aren’t allowed to put up on Facebook. Is it really that big of a deal! Grow up!

• Paddy Murray 07/02/12 #
    Report this comment

My wife has. Breastfeed all four of our kids and it is brilliant. Most natural thing in the world. I know women that really wanted to breastfeed and failed and are so disappointed. Keep up the good work moms.
    Don’t mind these other uneducated clowns.

• Alan O'Donoghue 07/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Masturbation is a perfectly natural and beautiful thing. Can I now post pictures on facebook of me masturbating?

• Paddy Murray 07/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Sad comment…………, but I can see why you have too

• Andrew Canavan 07/02/12 #
    Report this comment

Go on the lacavists…

I don’t see much wrong with breastfeeding in public however I do think there’s a small percentage of women that whip them out in public to prove a point and I think a compromise would be good as in fairness it does offend some people.

What I would say is that a cover type thing would be a good idea in some cases for example in a restaurant. A light little cover isn’t going to be that much hassle considering the amount of equipment a dragged around for a baby.
    Everyone would prefer a baby to be breastfed rather than listening to the shrill cry of a baby while trying to eat at a restaurant but a cover would make for a fair compromise.

Anyway why do women want to take pictures of themselves breastfeeding, upload them and share with the world? Who knows!
    On the other hand I’ve seen far worse pictures and even status updates on Facebook and I’d argue that fair is fair, as long as pictures of ‘Tony having a slash on the Molly Malone statue at 3am’ or ‘Mary’s latest love life crisis’ status update exist then Facebook shouldn’t block pictures of women breastfeeding.

• Report this comment

Would someone please think of the children?

• Jean Kelly 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

yeah can’t have kids growing up seeing breastfeeding and bn subjected to seeing it on Facebook, they might think this was a normal way for humans to be fed. Really little girls should be given dolls with bottles to play with, should never see breastfeeding in public (lets stay home, pump, or use a tent) and will b bombarded of images of women in sexy underwear while they’re growing up. Healthy way for a society to b eah.
      these women are posting pics of their babies drinking, very normal to them and most the world, the people who have issues with it are the ones who need to change their attitudes, were mammals its not shameful

• Madge W. 07/02/12 #
    Report this comment

I was breastfeedingmy children but… I wouldnt show picture of me doing that to anyone, quess sometimes maternal instincts take over brain for some mothers :)

• Niamh Byrne 07/02/12 #
      Report this comment

I wouldn’t post pictures of me doing it either but I might if my mother or sister or close friends were living out of the country. Not to say….wow look at me breastfeeding…but just if it was a nice picture. Can’t see the problem tbh.

• Amellia Gormley 07/02/12 #
    Report this comment

First of all Niamh I Said nothing about it making me barf!! second of all Niamh I didn’t say that the pictures bothered me I said that MY PERSONAL opinion is that i would not like pictures of myself Breastfeeding on the Internet. I said the word personal opinion because I speak for no one else except myself.

Add New Comment