TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Call for ‘transphobic’ Paddy Power advert to be withdrawn

The Transgender Equality Network Ireland has called the advert “deeply hurtful” – but Paddy Power says it was intended to be “a bit of mild mannered fun”.

Image: PaddyPowerVideo via YouTube.com

AN IRISH TRANSGENDER support group has today called on bookmaker Paddy Power to withdraw a video being used to adverstise Cheltenham Ladies Day, describing it as offensive.

The Transgender Equality Network Ireland (TENI) said the ad, which was broadcast on SkySports in Ireland and the UK last weekend, was “deeply transphobic”.

The advert begins with a reference to a Facebook comment on Paddy Power’s page, in which a user writes: “Can’t wait to see some beauties at Cheltenham Ladies Day”.

A voiceover then announces that Paddy Power aims to make this year’s event “even more exciting by sending in some beautiful transgendered ladies”. A series of different women are then shown, and racegoers are invited to “spot the stallions from the mares”.

TENI National Development Worker Vanessa Lacey said that the advert was making people feel “mocked and ridiculed (and) deeply hurt.”

“The situation in Ireland is that transgender people face a huge amount of marginalisation,” said TENI Director Broden Giambrone. “The longer that ad stays up, the longer it is causing harm. We want for Paddy Power to do the right thing and remove the ad and issue an apology.”

‘No wish to cause offence’

Speaking to the TheJournal.ie, head of communications at the company, Paddy Power, said he was “surprised by the strong reaction” and insisted that the it “genuinely did not wish to cause offence”.

Power pointed out that several members of the transgendered community in the UK had participated in the making of the ad, and that it had also been cleared by the country’s television adverstising standards NGO, Clearclast, before being broadcast.

He explained that the ad was part of the bookmakers’ new We Hear You campaign – which aims to show more interaction with social media users. Although admitting that response to the ad had been “mixed”, Power said that it was intended to be “a bit of mild mannered fun”.

He rejected the suggestion that the ad mocked transgender women, saying  it “depicted transgender women as beautiful” and was making the point that you “wouldn’t be able to tell the difference”.

Power said there were no plans to withdraw the advert.

Uploaded by 

Read next:

Comments (206 Comments)

• Titter titter, fnaar fnaaar. Some red-blooded hetero male might end up fancying a chick whos actually a guy. GUFFAW, snort etc.

That ad’s about as funny and as klassy a dose of the squits.

• Daft ad but people are talking about it so I suppose job done !

• I honestly don’t think this advertisement was meant to be offensive and ignorant of transgender issues but it was definitely executed badly.

• That’s the thing, and this gets said a lot in feminist, LGBT, race related circules, “Intent is not magic”. Even if they didn’t intend to chastise transgendered people with it, they still obviously thought little enough of them not to think of how it may affect them, and not to pull it when it was clearly causing them damage.

• Maybe we should leave it to transgendered people to decide whether this ad is offensive or not. Clearly, they find it offensive. Maybe white heterosexual men aren’t best placed to judge what is offensive to transgendered people and to just write this off as “political correctness gone mad”. On the subject of PC, even white heterosexual Irish men have benefitted from a bit of political correctness, though they’re often completely oblivious. Compare the kind of paddy-bashing, Irish joke telling, “no dogs or Irish” nonsense that went on in England for years, to the generally friendly way they treat us today. Political correctness isn’t just a bunch of liberal whingers trying to spoil your puerile, laddish fun. Although there are ridiculous extremes, at it’s most basic, it’s really nothing more than common decency and the right way to treat one another.

• Agree completely Mark. “Political correctness gone mad” is just a meaningless slogan thrown around to muddy the waters when it comes to bigotry and intolerance. It’s an easy way to avoid engaging with the issue, which as you say, really comes down to basic manners and respect for others.

• “Maybe white heterosexual men aren’t best placed to judge what is offensive to transgendered people”

Who’s to say a trans-gender person ISN’T a white heterosexual male? The ones in the ad certainly looked like white males, so they’re 2/3 of the way there already

• What are you saying there Leigh? Is it that they can’t be white? Can’t be male? Can’t be straight? As far as I knew, the wider trans movement wants recognition that it’s members can be all those things.

It’s sounds awfully like you’re just lashing out in a hateful, racist, misandrist, heterophobic rage

• spot on chuck, i see no one but leigh displaying hate on this page, maybe leigh should ask the average 45 year old male moscow native what its like to be a straight white male, or even one of the 150k odd recently unemployed irish fathers, my whole point was that ‘minorities’ seem to have this perception that their own feelings of being discriminated against gives them licence to tar all straight white males with the same brush, leigh has given an excellent example of this

• Revolting Peasant; what about a 45 year old transsexual in moscow, or one of the many unemployed transsexuals, and may I add that transsexuals are far more likely to be unemployed or unemployable in the first place?

You are not describing issues that are unique to straight, white males.

You have still failed to show how I’m discriminating in the least. I am quite clearly opposing straight, white males, who refuse to accept the fact that there are privileges they have over others that need to be taken into account. You are sheltered from the issues affecting people in this advert, so you cannot claim the same level of experience with regards this, and continually show it with comments like this.

• but i dont need to show how you are discriminating in the least leigh, its there for anyone that wants to read it

• Some of the comments on this article are bizarre to say the least. Not least the “if you find this ad in any way amusing you’re on your way to becoming a Nazi” inference. Well done on keeping a sense of perspective on a YouTube clip for a bookies that won’t even be shown on broadcast TV.

• I think the problem here is people not seeing whats actually wrong with advert and the lack of clarity of such., I dont think its purposeful ignorance. The people who understand what’s wrong are complaining about the terminology used.. EG..a drag queen or cross dresser recognizes themselves as a male who dresses up like a female or vice versa, a transgender person genuinely struggles with thier sexual identity, much like I’d imagine you telling a guy who feels he is str8 to turn gay, ( I’m Sure he’d struggle being forced to live that life) a male can feel he is female. Trans people go to unbelievable lengths to deal with this issue, counselling, having to live as that person for a time being and eventually surgery. I can imagine the process is insanely difficult to deal with and one of the strongest issue being general acceptance by society, so making them the butt of the joke, prob not the nicest. I don’t think the Advert is purposely anything phobic to be honest, I’d say the marketing dept innocently used the word transsexual rather than drag queen or cross dresser. I also think Drag Queens don’t necessarily have anything to do with homosexuality, look at the bounty / plebty adverts. It can all be in good fun, Paddy P dropped by ball by lack of research. For all those giving out about the PC brigade, they have a point, for all those giving out about those who don’t get it.. Maybe its not ignorance, maybe it’s just there are so many terms nowadays it’s hard to keep up with being PC. simply change the word transsexual to Drag Queen. Job done. Funny ad. Horray. No drama z

• thats a bit presumptuous to suggest that people that dont agree with the pc brigade dont ‘get it’ or understand the issues, maybe they just think its possible to have a sense of humour about it

• @ Revolting Peasant Of course its possible to have a sense of humour about it, it’s a question of whether you care that you’re needlessly upsetting people while you’re enjoying your sense of humour. If you, as an individual, don’t care, then that’s fine – you probably can’t do that much damage on your own and I’m not even sure that people have any “right” not to be offended by you (freedom of speech, etc). But this is a large company with a large media footprint which can, if it’s not careful, have a real and negative impact on a minority and how that minority is perceived and treated within the community.

• fair point Mark, i guess i was just assuming that all transgender folk arent hyper sensitive about something that’s clearly meant in the most light hearted way

• Revolting peasant, it’s not your place to decide what we should have a sense of humour about. If we know from past experience that a particular message can cause harm to us, we have a right to oppose us. No matter what you protest, you blatantly aren’t educated on these matters otherwise you’d know how much damage trans-spotting can cause, and it’s equivalent to using abuse-related jokes with regards ciswomen.

• nope, you are right Leigh, i havn’t attended any ‘recognising transgender issues’ courses, or even a psychology or sociology qualifications, i am just a fairly average person looking at a bizarre over-reaction from someone that comes across as very angry over a harmless (if stupid and tasteless) attempt at humour, i dont accept your point that its the same as poking fun at victims of crime, its not my fault that you have no appreciation for the fact that there are levels of seriousness to most things, may i suggest a sedative prescription?

• lol calm down u lunatic, why do u assume i refuse to be educated?, are u frothing at the mouth or what? you are coming across as the most judgemental person in here, the assumptions you are making about people u never met are bizarre

• get a life revolting…youve just accused Leigh.of doing exactly what you Chuck.and joxer are doing…making assumptions bout folk.you have not met. Leigh.is simply informing us of the damage this school.shed humour does to.people but you are just not listening

• What assumptions have I made?

It’s not enough to say something – you have to back it up or your argument is worthless

• eh colm? for one thing i am not claiming the higher moral ground, for another i am not suggesting people are accepting of a rape culture, even you can see she is over the top in her posts , you say ‘Leigh.is simply informing us of the damage this school.shed humour does to.people but you are just not listening’, i am fully aware of what you are saying, i just dont agree that this ad is that effective at belittling people as it is obviously a feeble attempt at humour with no cruelty intended, leigh is quite clearly showing a strong level of judgement for both white males and people that grew up in the celtic tiger, and by the way, i am neither of those things, are you really trying to claim she is not coming across as unreasonably angry and biased?

• I’m sorry for making the assumption that someone who calls us “cross dressing neanderthals” is probably a transphobic asshole, but that’s kind of a tautology.

And I bet you had to look that word up.

• see leigh there you go again with your assumptions, i was actually referring to myself when i said that, once again, i could list out a number of times you have insulted me but i would prefer if you keep posting these remarkable examples of hypocrisy

• You had already called him a neanderthal asshole, so your use of the word tautology is negated, please don’t try play on words as it is necessary to completely understand them to seem superior, you are loosing any thread of respect and your use of obscure language could be construed as a form of bullying….

• I’m sorry for making the assumption that something you actually wrote was written by you.

Wait, what?

• Is that your comeback…obviosly missed the point completely..if you are going to use obscure words understand them, I qouted anothers posting but obviously missed on you.. but then by the level your stooping to now you don’t have anything constructive to add if you can’t say anything constructive say nothing at all

• I didn’t call him a neanderthal asshole. I called him an asshole, which is an extremely impersonal insult. He called us crossdressing neanderthals, which is an extremely personal insult, and one that should rightfully earn a week’s ban from commenting, and would on most sites.

I am not the kind of person, obviously, who thinks words like asshole should never be used. I think they should be used to describe people who are disrespectful for abusive – which to someone who came into this thread trivialising all transgender issues as PC nonsense – is quite appropriate.

• actually leigh you called me an asshole in more than one post, one of them was ‘utter asshole’, (it wasnt personal) and once again, i didnt call you a cross dressing neanderthal at all

• “watch out for the cross dressing neanderthals joxer, they seem to be everywhere these days”

^ Did you or did you not say this in response to myself and a couple of others posts earlier on in the thread? Do I have to screen cap it for you?

I’m calling you an asshole because you’re being one. You’ve been disrespectful from the get go. You trivialised issues that affect transgendered people by writing it off as PC crap, and have consistently been disrespectful, insensitive and downright horrible. I would doubt any stable, intelligent trans person on earth would find you anything short of extremely unpleasant.

You admit yourself you have zero education in this field, yet still insist on hoisting your ignorant opinions on us. Do you understand what “ignorance” means and why it’s a bad thing?

You are upsetting just about every trans person I know with these comments. If you had any respect, you’d stop. Calling you an asshole is an impersonal insult. It does not relate to any traumatic experiences you may or may not have had.

• yes leigh i most certainly did write “watch out for the cross dressing neanderthals joxer, they seem to be everywhere these days”, i have never denied writing that, please tell me where i also wrote that i was alluding to you or a any members of the transgender community? more assumptions

• Then clarify for me exactly who you were referring to? And you do know that comment was removed by a moderator, so I’m not the only one who found it absurd.

Also, you’ve still to argue a single actual point. You’ve been arguing nothing but semantics from the get go, and all of your posts, essentially, can be summed up with “Wahh political correctness, you’re the REAL bigots.”

To someone that actually experiences real discrimination every other day of the week, that is deeply disrespectful and insulting. Getting hassled over coming into a comment thread making light of people’s issues is going to get you hassle.

• you are such a hypocrite leigh, you havnt answered a single point anyone challenged you on and MOST of your insane screechings have been removed

• How did they think that wouldn’t be deemed offensive?

It’s a really crap ad too.

• What is going on in the comments, black people being compared to transgenders

• There was mention of Nazis and all, mad!

• its getting a tad militant

• What’s militant is when you storm into the thread accusing a minority you know fucking nothing about of being PC GONE MAD!!! without giving a shit about how the behaviour encouraged in the advert has resulted in severe social exclusion and violence.

By the way, not fucking once have you actually dealth with this point, just called me a bigot over and over, which is not funny or ironic.

• but you are doing it for me leigh,you are showing discrimination in practically every post, it is plain that you arent recognising the level of discrimination in your own remarks, i dont really see the point of trying to explain as you cant seem to grasp the contents of the majority of the posts in here

• You continually accuse me of discrimination and bigotry but are consistently unable to explain how I’m doing this or why I would even do it.

Transpeople put up with abuse every second day of the week. We put up with real life bigotry, not people telling you you’re an asshole on a comments section and comparing the two is laughable – you brought it upon yourself in every conceivable manner possible. Transgendered people do not bring mockery, violence and exclusion on themselves. That’s called victim blaming.

Insisting a transwoman who stands up for herself is “the real bigot” is hurtful not just to me, but to every marginalised person who’s had to stand up for themselves. It’s trivialises their issues by making out calling someone on their privilege to be as hurtful as hate fueled violence or discrimination.

It’s also lazy arguing. Why not focus on what I’m saying and debunk it, in the same manner I’m explaining the flaw in what you’re saying now?

If you had any respect, you would not make comments like this. This is why you are being called an asshole. And you have been making these since you came into the thread, again, dismissing trans issues as “PC crap” or whatever variation you used at the time. This is why I am criticising you, not because of your identity.

• its not lazy arguing leigh, i just dont see any point in highlighting examples that are already there for everyone too see, i repeat my assertion that you are failing to grasp the content of most of the posts, including your own

• What the hell? You’re an idiot who came in here screaming POLITICAL CORRECTNESS GONE MAD before bothering to grasp the contents of the complaints against the advert. Let’s not play this game, you’ve ignored what’s actually been said completely and haven’t dealth with a single point as to why offense towards this advert is valid.

All you have done is call me a bigot over and over, all while white knighting for a bigoted cause.

• leigh you just seem to get every single point wrong and then make the most feeble attempts to twist what everyone says to suit your own argument, it really is quite funny how mad you seem

• Cross dressing and transgendered are not the same thing..If you make an attempt at a joke, at least make sure it is somewhat grounded in reality..

• Hit them where it hurts….use another bookmaker!

• If a lad wants to wear a frock and get a paycheck off of Paddy Power, then let the lad wear a bloody frock! Everyone’s getting their knickers in a twist over nothing. See what I did there? Eh? Eh?? :-D

• Well both sides seem to be getting good milage out of this.
    There’s no such thing as bad press, eh?
    It depends on what they all do with the attention that counts.

• I don’t get it, what’s the big deal? If it was women dressed up as blokes no one would bat an eyelid.. Its depressing sometimes how nearly everything these days seems to be offensive to somebody…

• Maybe you should let trans people, who this ad is targeting, and who are affected by this ad, decide how it affects them? Since they’d have more experience than you, and all.

What’s depressing is how much rejection and violence trans people meet with. Can you imagine a “spot the nigger” advert?

• i wasnt nervous or wary of transgender folks up till now, leighs massive over-reaction has made me wonder if they are all like that

• You’re judging a “Massive over-reaction” on something you have no clue about. I’ve explained why it’s a big deal, and you proceeded to ignore every single point I made. You put your ignorance above those who are well educated in the matter at hand. Arguing with you is like arguing with some drunk eejit in a run down pub.

• arguing with you is like arguing with a complete nonsensical, self righteous, hormonal, angry lunatic

• hahahaha nice 1 joxer, the only people it’s ok to tease now are white hetro-sexual males 25-60 years old, everyone else is marginalised, personally i find the pc brigade to be more bigoted than anyone else

• Stupid Add

• To be honest, I watched it and the main objection I had to it was that it was an awful ad, it wasn’t funny, it wasn’t clever, it wasn’t anything, besides crap.

I’m not offended by the reference to transsexuals, but I might not be best placed to judge that as I am not one. The ladies all looked quite well one way or another, which was acknowledged by Paddy Power, even if the rest of it was pathetic.

• calm down colm, where did i ridicule anyone? this is being blown out of proportion, your own input being a case in point, comparing nazi germany and a bookies ad and then, because u pc fools are the most bigoted, describing those that dont share your sterile viewpoint as having base neanderethal instincts (you are also extremely un-educated about neanderthals by the way, they were people too)

• i have just 3 things to say in conclusion (a) the pc brigade have once again proved their bigotry (b) the ad is harmless (c) if i was a transgender, leigh would be the last person i would want to represent my group (unless of course it was militant, white male hating, abusive language using and completely devoid of reason) bye bye all, this was fun ^^

• I work for Paddy Power and they are a fantastic equal opportunities employer. They only release adds like this so that they get free exposure. Why pay for advertising in newspapers when you can get into them for free? All the upright transgender defenders need to chill.

• You’re playing into their hands, just what they needed, more publicity. If the ad had been ignored you would have the outcome you desire as it would have most likely been shelved due to lack of impact, god sometimes the stupidity of you so called defenders of PC is amazing. The whole thing is a storm in a teacup ( or A/B/C cup ). The TG’s taking part in the ad understood what they were doing and had no problem, so why do you feel you have to protest on their behalf, in fact you are probably pissing them off too. GET A LIFE AND DO SOMETHING MEANINGFUL.

• Now there is an attempt to troll if I ever saw one :). Sorry, no fish for you today.

• So you try and dismiss an oppossing viewpoint by calling me a troll, why not counter argue the points raised, or is this just your current popular hobby horse.

• Michael, see the post I made to Joxer just about you.

Also, if this becomes a big thing, Paddy Power could take a serious hit to it’s image and therefore profits. It also helps the trans community gain recognition as traditionally we are treated as the doormat of marginalised people/minorities.

A shithead like you has never had to stand up for himself on this scale, no doubt, so what would you know?

• hahaha leigh you really are making a great representation for your side of the argument, insult everyone that doesnt agree with you in the most foul language you can think of, that will get your point (and character) across nicely!

• Revolting peasant, I love how you show your intellectual dishonesty by claiming it’s merely because you “disagree” with me, and not because you’re making remarks like “cross dressing neanderthal”. Maybe if you took a more respectful tone, people wouldn’t treat you like an utter asshole?

• Leigh..these people & their sad pathetic views are not worth reacting to. they are basically trolls playing at schoolyard bully. for the record I commend your courage and fully support full equality

• FFS Colm cop on, why do we have to walk on eggshells, no one is saying anything negative about Leigh, you perceive any comment as being a slander, in the real world they need to be themselves and people will like or dislike them not for their status , but just for them themselves…God you are definitely with the PC police, butting in without understanding……..

• i think your “wrong time of the month” comment leaves it open for negative inferance. also i did not refer to.you individually…there are others here who are just plain.bullying..obvious to an objective viewer. slander btw which i didnt mention…is spoken not written. i simply congratulated leigh on.her courage and signalled my support for full equality for all LGBT people. you are getting uppity for no good reason. and fyi ive been seriously insulted regularly by a certain.commenter over last week so my advice is for leigh. you are the one jumping in

• Getting uppity for no good reason, would you go take a long walk of a short pier, the whole point was that all this reaction is just what PP’s wanted, you then had Leighs’ misconstrued comments because he/she has issues with their gender and perceived view by me. I reiterate my judgement of leigh would only be based on meeting him/her and not on his/her status..so in that context YES you are butting in.

• michael…telling me to take a long walk off a short pier….do you seriously expect me to take you serious! i repeat…i did not mention you

• i think your “wrong time of the month” comment leaves it open for negative inferance, your opening statement, my intentional glib comment, who else were you refering to?

• Silence is golden…..

• Sir you butted in when.i posted a message to Leigh about trolls playing the schoolyard bully. i mentioned noone but its obvious who i was referting to and it was not you. you took offence and I rightly pointed out your comment re time of the month..glib or not its sexist and demeaning. you have then urged me to commit suicide…again for the final time I was not talking to or about you so please grow up

• Leigh, you are clearly speaking from a position of authority and experience on this subject so don’t waste your time responding to those who are simply looking for a reaction. You will never be able to reason with that kind of nonsense.

And on a welcome note, Paddy Power’s transphobia is now the subject of an investigation by the Advertising Regulator in the UK.

• “No, everyone has an equal right to speak and you can put as much credence in their words as you choose. ”

People inexperienced on trans matters do not have a right to decide what should constitute offense for trans people. There should be no debating this.

“You have no problem lecturing straight white men about their position in life,”

No – lecturing straight white men for commenting on something that lies outside their field of experience. Get it right, and don’t put words in my mouth.

“Show me who did that”

Anytime someone talks about the “PC Brigade”, that’s what they’re doing. Anytime anyone calls it an over-reaction, in the rather insistant, obnoxious manner in what they do, they are trying to silence trans people by embarassing them into submission. They have actively made it clear they do not think transgendered people should be raising complaint. Again, there is no debating this.

“Here we go again. You don’t know what people here know.”

There have been instances when people here have shown a clear lack of education on trans issues. If you have education on trans issues, it is your job to prove it to me, a trans person. Otherwise, we assume the trans person knows exactly what does and doesn’t offend them.

You’re trying to make me look like the abusive one, but again, you’re basically just justifying the idea that the demographic made up primarily of straight white males should decide what constitutes offense for the very alien to them transgender community.

“No, it’s fascist”

You’re fucking clueless. Real actual fascism is about one strong, singular national identity above all else. It is completely the anti-thesis to LGBT rights amongst other things and there are outright transphobes commenting on this(MyPolitics).

“No one said you had no right to be offended. Someone said you had no right NOT to be offended, and I agree. Freedom of speech is more important than your feelings. We have laws to prevent incitement to hatred or violence and that’s enough”

Which the advert in question technically breaks, as has been pointed out. It’s already been explained how this would lead to abuse towards trans people, you just haven’t listened.

http://www.pinknews.co.uk/2012/02/20/comment-paddy-power-thinks-its-fun-to-play-spot-the-trans-lady-want-to-bet/

It is the voice of transgendered people that needs to be heard here, because the are the ones affected. The opinions of those who are not transgendered is not relevant to this cause, yet overwhelmingly those the ones we are hearing, and the most forceful of them.

“Where am I attempting liberalism? I prefer libertarianism”

Right wing loony Ron Paul Libertarianism? That explains how you don’t seem to understand privilege at all>

“How do you know?”

Because they are showing a lack of understanding of key concepts that marginalised people would understand – such as that of privilege.

Either way, it’s still a position traditionally used by those who are sheltered and privileged in some ways, older Daily Mail readers, etc.

“Now THAT’S taking ownership of your privilege!”

Yes, because trans people have privilege over cis peopel. Idiot.

“vThe veil slips”

Again, transgendered people are the ones being affected here. Transgendered people are the ones who should decide on what does and doesn’

It’s laughable that you call this fascism, when transgendered people are highly oppressed and have very little ability to speak out?

Why do you care more about my supposed “fascism” which is utterly inconsequential since I have no power over anyone? Please answer me how you can argue this case, and still claim to be a good human being?

I am going to keep calling you out on this. You are only showing concern for straight, white people or people like yourself. Not once have you shown the tiniest ounce of concern for trans people despite them being a heavily marginalised group.

“You mean you, right? And not the ones who were in the ad?”

Do me a favour. Google around, and come back to me when you find a *single* transgender group coming out in support of this advert. While you’re at it, count the number of ones that rally against it.

I’ll be here when you’re finished.

“Wonderful argument. it doesn’t matter what evidence is adduced or what you say ”

Actually, I’m the only person who’s provided any evidence at all in the form of hate crime statistics, etc.

Though when talking about lived experiences, it’s hard to provide solid evidence. That’s where respect should kick in, and is where you lack.

” You reserve the right call people idiots and assholes, but what do you think the reaction would be if Revolting Peasant had responded to your name calling with body-part name calling of his own? That’s a double standard and that’s a special privliege which you are perpetuating”

The double standard is that you call me on my “fascism” but don’t care about the vast trivialisation of trans issues by people like Revolting Peasant. You cannot do this and claim to be a good person.

Again, you do not care about trans people, and not once have you demonstrated any indication that you do. Consistantly, you have only defended those of privilege, who do not need defending.

That’s worse than a double standard – your priorities are completely wrong. When confronted with a small and highly marginalised group, and those attacking them – you side with the bullies.

Complaining about the “PC Brigade” when trans . At the very least, you should be offended at this. But you’re not, because your interests are only in defending people like you and upholding the status quo.

You’re talking down a member of the most downtrodden minority in society, who’s life has been made miserable by constant mockery and bullying, instead of those attacking me. You are telling me I don’t have a right to be angry at the kind of people who would abuse me or justify my abuse.

Big fucking man aren’t you?

• lol got tired by word 400 zzzzzzzzz same ol tripe leigh

• Leigh if you want to respond in a point-by-point fashion that’s fine but selecting fragments of sentences in such a way as to change their meaning makes you seem even more dishonest than you already do. There are so many things to correct, I cant get to them all

It’s not my ‘job’ or anyone elses to convince YOU that they have a right to express their opinion. They just do. The constitution, the ECHR and UN’s UDHR say so. Thankfully, you can’t do anything about that.

I made no comment on the ad. I came to this as a third party reading the comments. You involved yourself in a debate as to the offensiveness (or lack of) of this ad. Im a third party, if anyone has a ‘job’ here then it’s YOUR job to sway people to your side of the argument. If you have special knowledge and right on your side then that should be easy. Instead you just screech at them to stop talking. It’s very simple – when Piggy has the conch, he gets to speak and you don’t get to drop rocks on his head just because you don’t like what he says. The audience (me) are smart enough to make up our own minds about who to listen to. We don’t need you to protect us, especially at the cost of our basic rights.

By the way, “you’re a fucking scumbag” isn’t persuasive.

If you were really concerned about people speaking from a position of ignorance, you’d have taken issure with Darren Swan who commented ON THE AD! WITHOUT WATCHING IT! But you didn’t. You reserved your ire for people who disagreed with you. Ergo – it’s not lack of education you can’t abide, it’s dissent. You explicitly say that white, straight men can not express an opinion. These two factors make your ideology dangerous. You don’t allow people born a certain way to speak, and you don’t allow criticism.

Your assumptions/distortions about me are preposterous. You inform me what colour, sex and sexuality I am without any knowledge. THAT’S speaking from a position of ignorance. You say that I don’t speak out for any group that I’m not in – which directly contradicts what I said above.

Then there’s your attitude to groups. You use ‘we’ and ‘I’ interchangably. You can’t point me to anyone saying that Trans people shouldn’t be allowd to express an opinion because that didn’t happen. Some people expressed a view that the ‘PC brigade’ were extremists. That’s not even close to being the same thing. No-one is trying to silence anyone, except you, and in any case “the PC Brigade” is not a synonym for “trans people”.

You also seem to be unable to distinguish between a person and the group into which they are born, assuming privilege where it suits you. I criticse you for who you are, based on the evidence I see here. You criticse white men for WHAT they are. Yours is a prejudice, mine is a postjudice.

• ooh good comeback, u got me there

• yes colm, its recognised as a term for pc bigots to look down their snouts at others

• People need to get a grip and obviously have too much time on their hands if they find this offensive. More PC brigade whinging. I’m not saying it’s a great ad, but it’s clearly just a bit of fun. If you find this sick & upsetting you really have no clue about the real world

• This is hilarious! You’re saying this as 1) Someone who’s blatantly not trans, 2) Someone who has no clue about trans issues, 3) A straight(presumably) white male who’s deeply sheltered from the kind of real world issues transfolk face.

Where do you think you get the right to lecture us about the “Real World”? Trans spotting causes real harm to trans people on a number of levels. Do you have any clue what it’s like to have people constantly speculating over your real, pushing the fact that “Oh you’re really a guy” in your face constantly? Not to mention the violence this can result in. It’s utterly degrading to write off genuine rejection of the advert as “PC brigade whining”, it makes you look like a sheltered child and do you have any idea what real “political correctness” is?

Educate yourself before you comment. Real world my ass. Fucking Tiger cubs.

• …….and yet, it’s fine for you to disenfranchise him because of his sex, race and sexuality? Got hypocrisy?

• exactly Chuck, pot calling the kettle (and i mean this in a completely non-racist way ^^) black, talk about spewing hate at one section of society

• Where did I do this? The point is that these comments are made more often than not by straight, white males, just as most anti-abortion activists are males. You are not in a position of experience to tell us about our issues. Yet you are the loudest and most obnoxious voices.

The only people being disenfranchised here are transgendered people with comments like “cross dressing neanderthal”. None of us have the power to disenfranchise the privileged here, that’s a ridiculous idea. The fact is that you will never find yourself the target of the kind of abuse that transgendered people receive. You can say that just because you’re normal, doesn’t mean you can’t have it bad, but pretty much anything you take transgendered people take *on top* of their own issues.

This failure to recognise the existence of privilege is what makes you uneducated on these issues.

• Ok Leigh, it’s obvious you don’t understand the word ‘disenfranchised’

It means to deprive people of their vote – and every time you question the right of anyone who was born a certain way* to have their say on this or any other issue that’s the process you are contributing to. You’ve done this several times.

(*Straight, white and male)

• I’m not questioning their right to have a say. I’m pointing out that as privileged people, they are less experienced in this matters and in order to reach a correct conclusion, may take this into account. Have you noticed more than one straight white male commenting, agreeing with us on this? If you have, you need to drop this front of ignorance.

A straight white male who *refuses to own their privilege* should not comment on issues of transgenderism, no, just as I should not comment on racial issues if I do not consider my own racial privilege as a white person. It’s about educating yourself and opening yourself up to the experiences of others.

Also, you have absolutely no problem with people telling Transgendered people they have no right to be offended, that it’s just “PC crap”. This is why I’m angry in the first person. Why do you omit this completely and expect me to take you seriously?

• Putting “quotation marks” around something doesn’t mean I said it

You are absolutely questioning the right of people who are different to you to have a say. You’ve attacked virtually everyone here who you assume is 1) White 2) Male 3) Straight 4) Disagreeing with you. Even in the post Im replying to you say that a straight white male “should not comment on issues of transgenderism”. That’s why people are likening you to a fascist.

You don’t get to decide who is too ‘privileged’ to have an opinion. You are not special. You do not derive special rights by being a member of an ascriptive group. You get your rights as an individual. You have no knowledge of the individual experiences of the people you are demanding to shut up. Stop with the generalisations.

• I’m sorry, but you’re being a massive idiot. Of course someone who is transgendered and has experienced discrimination on those grounds, and knows a wide array of people in the same situation, will be more experienced, and more qualified to speak on such issues than someone who is not.

You have no problem with the attempts of people here to silence the transgender voice. It’s only when a group you’re a part of is spoken out against(and even then, not really) that you care. I find this very telling.

People who have no clue what they’re talking about shouldn’t comment on an issue like this. That’s not a “fascist” position, it’s an intellectual one.

Whereas you have no problem with people saying trans people don’t have a right to speak out or be offended at such things – that they’re just moaners, that their issue is a bunch of “PC nonsense”. This doesn’t bother you at all, because your attempt at liberalism is nothing more than shallow rubbish.

The people moaning about the PC Brigade are, by and large, not oppressed individuals in the slightest. As opposed to trans people who are, and can therefore comment on the issue. It is the voice of the transgender community that should be listened to here, but overwhelmingly, people are demanding that their ignorant, uninformed viewpoints are the only ones worth listening to.

And here we go with the “special rights” nonsense. The point of privilege is that you already have effective “special rights” over me whether you choose to acknowledge that fact or not.

• “I’m sorry, but you’re being a massive idiot.”

More personal abuse?

“more qualified to speak”

No, everyone has an equal right to speak and you can put as much credence in their words as you choose. You have no problem lecturing straight white men about their position in life, you have to take it on the chin when they do the same. And I should remind you – you have no idea who you are speaking to.

“You have no problem with the attempts of people here to silence the transgender voice.”

Show me who did that

“People who have no clue what they’re talking about shouldn’t comment on an issue like this.”

Here we go again. You don’t know what people here know. You don’t know them and in any case have no right to silence them. Lots of people here speak every day on issues that do not have first hand experience of, like war and econommics. You still get to have an opinion

“That’s not a “fascist” position, it’s an intellectual one.”

No, it’s fascist

“Whereas you have no problem with people saying trans people don’t have a right to speak out”

Again, who said that? I DO have a problem with that

“or be offended at such things”

No one said you had no right to be offended. Someone said you had no right NOT to be offended, and I agree. Freedom of speech is more important than your feelings. We have laws to prevent incitement to hatred or violence and that’s enough

“your attempt at liberalism is nothing more than shallow rubbish.”

Where am I attempting liberalism? I prefer libertarianism

“The people moaning about the PC Brigade are, by and large, not oppressed individuals in the slightest.”

How do you know?

“As opposed to trans people who are”,

Now THAT’S taking ownership of your privilege!

“and can therefore comment on the issue.”

The veil slips

“It is the voice of the transgender community that should be listened to here,”

You mean you, right? And not the ones who were in the ad?

“The point of privilege is that you already have effective “special rights” over me whether you choose to acknowledge that fact or not.”

Wonderful argument. it doesn’t matter what evidence is adduced or what you say – I say something exists therefore it does. You reserve the right call people idiots and assholes, but what do you think the reaction would be if Revolting Peasant had responded to your name calling with body-part name calling of his own? That’s a double standard and that’s a special privliege which you are perpetuating

• Maybe you have met some and you don’t know?

• wrong again leigh, i am not ‘for’ this ad, i just dont see the harm of it, you will not find one single example in any of my posts where i am dismissive of transgernder folk, but you are right that i have been dismissive of you, you come across as totally over emotional coupled with a complete lack of reason, you make wild and unfounded accusations with every post and dismiss everyone that isnt condemning this piece of foolishness as a ‘privillaged white male’, get over it you maniac

• its absolutely disgusting and goes well beyond infantile advertising. when i worked in advertising we had researchers who would look into the subject matter of the proposed advert and if something didn’t look right they would make sure they changed it. paddy powers put in no research, they don’t know or if they do don’t care about the difference between a drag queen and a transgendered person. in the past one of my agencies did business with paddy powers before but from now on we are boycotting being anyway connected to them. they have no respect for the struggles and strife people go through for acceptance and with advertisements like that one they are putting out a message that its okay to target one of the worlds most misunderstood and vulnerable minorities. paddy powers should be fined and forced to make an apology to the community and to the people they callously hurt . the misinformation and hateful ideas that advert has brought about will not go away over night and its a powerful blow against human rights in both this country and in europe in general.

• lol, you are boycotting a private company that have no qualms about taking money from people addicted to gambling, selective morality

• What misinformation and hatefull ideas have PP’s put across, if you read the article it states “that several members of the transgender community in the UK took part” ( I don’t see any mention of TV’s ). In fact I thought it showed TG’s in a good light, you then go on to about it being against human rights, answer me what human rights have been violated?

• Michael, again, could you imagine this being made about black or jewish people? It wouldn’t happen. It defies transgendered people’s right to basic human dignity. By encouraging trans spotting, it’s causing severe damage to trans people as a minority and not speaking up against it means that people would make the assumption that it’s acceptable to make a game out of their identity. This is an extremely sore, sensitive and sometimes traumatic subject for trans people, it’s not “Light fun” and just because you don’t understand it, just as you may not understand why rape jokes are inappropriate, doesn’t mean it’s not an issue.

Just because “members of the transgender community” took part doesn’t make it right. Did they even know what the final product would be like? Or they could have been, like most trans due to the prohibitive cost of transition, desperate for money. “Get a job” doesn’t work when even outside of a recession most people will be awkward about hiring you.

• well leigh, with the mostly utilitarian policies of our current great leaders i somehow doubt your rantings are going to get noticed or acted upon, oh well, its such a shame seeing how everyone elses issues are being so well tended

• “last time i checked it was white heterosexual males that had nothing to fear from.society”

Most murders and assaults in Ireland are carried out in Ireland are against those very people

“fine line between ridicule and what happened in.nazi germany.”

Oh my bad! I didn’t realise you were 6!

• Why is it that the people who complain about the “PC Brigade” also happen to be massive fucking bigots?

“Clost cross dressers” – it’s the transgender community taking offense to this not just “crossdressers”. The reason people take offense is because it reinforces the unedecuated worldview morons like you have which directly affects our livelihoods. Transgendered people are far more likely to experience violence and social rejection than the average person.

In particular the advert encourages “Trans spotting”. Adverts are known for their ability to spread memes or start trends, that’s a typical advertising technique. Like when people say “Simples” in reference to the Comparethemarket ad. Trans spotting is extremely degrading; most trans people put their all into passing and this encourages people to treat their identity as nothing more than a game.

What’s worse is that “uncovering” a trans very often leads to violence, with the murder(and suicide for that matter) rate for transsexuals being around 16 times the average.

The fact is that you’re privileged and refuse to own your privileged. You are sheltered from the issues most trans people have to put up with and think you have a right to comment on issues you have no understanding for.

The reason the “PC Brigade” exists in these sorts of scenarios is very often just to oppose things that *might actually get people killed*. It obviously isn’t restraining the freedom of speech of jackasses like you if you can still post comments like this pretty much everywhere it comes up, and I’m sick of that line. As a straight white male you have more ability to speak out than the average trans person. You do not require a “PC Bridge” to speak up on your behalf.

• ‘Are you fucking joking Revolting Peasant?’ yes indeed i am joking leigh, please refer to my comment about sense of humour deficiencies, i could point out bigotry in every comment you make but its there for all to see, by the way i am not a white male and neither am i bigoted against white males, transgenders, cross dressers, neanderthals or hormonal battleaxes but i do have a healthy dislike for bigots like yourself leigh

• lol ‘crying’ hows the weather up there on your high horse colm? us base neanderthals are laughing at you

• Leigh you say “The problem with “spot the trans lady” though is that, for one person in the game, it’s really not that fun. Ask any trans woman”. I can tell you that it’s not much fun for a straight male holidaying in Thailand!

• Dumb advertisers, don’t know the difference between a gelding and a mare. But surely if it’s to be denounced it should be denounced as Transequinephobia.

• Adam, I’ve no doubt you were up in arms about this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3WwcwvsG5I

Colm, your inability to distinguish between ANY joke and the persecution and slaughter of millions of people just because they existed would be laughable if it wasn’t shared by so many other cosseted fools

• Oh yes, the great oppressed white, middle-aged heterosexual male (Are you John Waters in disguise??)..Interesting then how this very same group is vastly over-represented in the worlds of politics, business and other bastions of power and influence..

• Ah listen, at this stage need to take a no nonsense attitude to you, yor references are wrong as to my remarks I was reposting others, so why not just accept what you are and believe that most people don’t give a f**k, you are the one who has a problem with the ad, probably because deep inside you you cannot accept your situation, it is your problem DEAL WITH IT. nothing more to say as every comment is misconstrued.

• joxer and revolting peasant..youre two peas in.a pod. last time i checked it was white heterosexual males that had nothing to fear from.society. but you seem to think.someone being differant is a cause for ridicule..fine line between ridicule and what happened in.nazi germany. just proved my point that this crass offensive and disgusting advert appeals to.the base neanderthal.human instincts

• oh yes leigh im a baaaaad person because i dont agree with you, you get more ridiculous with every point

• you couldnt be more wrong leigh, i despise discrimination of any ‘group’ in any form, however i have no issues with disliking individuals with particular character traits, it is you that is confusing the contents of my posts here, i hold no negative feelings towards transgenders in any way, i simply dont see this ridiculous ad as an attack on them, i do understand that transgenders often have an undeserved rough time, when i refer to the pc brigade i refer to these holier than thou types that attempt to deride anyone that wont see things their way, you seem to think that it is ok for you to insult me any way you like but i have no right to respond, maybe you should reread just how insulting your posts have been towards me, some of the more ludicrous assumptions you have made about me 1. i am a white male, 2. i have never been discriminated against 3. i am a ‘tiger cub’ 4. i am not a so called ‘marginalised person’ 5. that i support a culture of rape, seriously leigh, what on earth are you on?

• Leigh, no one but you is that perturbed about this, get on with your life, and name calling demeanors you, you have taken this personally and need to remove yourself one step and look at the bigger pcture. I could stoop to your level but wont. Just give it a rest and be happy with who you are. I couldn’t give a rats ares as to your gender or desired one , if I were to meet you I would judge you as a person not on anything else . Yours is a perceived opinion of what people think of you and it is you who has issues, seek help

• @Chuck Farrelly

A fairly important and obvious distinction being that they are not targeted on the grounds of their heterosexuality and/or for being male.

• I look really nice in a dress, but have very hairy legs

• “personally i find the pc brigade to be more bigoted than anyone else”

Says the straight white male who has likely never experienced real discrimination in his life. What the hell is bigoted about being against an advert that turns the identity of transgendered people, the cause of much grief to them, in to a guessing game, which from our experience, often results in abuse or violence?

Nobody is ragging on someone just for being that. The key point here that you’re ignoring is that all the straight, white males being ragged on here are enormous assholes who want to silence the voice of transgendered people who already suffer enough. There are straight white males here commenting on this nobody is attacking because they are simply put, not being massive cunts about it.

That is why you’re getting ragged on. And frankly, I don’t consider assholes to be a valid minority.

• and thats relevant why? im sure some of them have feelings too, i am also sure that they arent all mega rich political/business power moguls

• “Deal with your own issues .”

This is not my personal issue. It affects every transgendered person. And the fact that i have to deal with such issues on a wider scale shows the important difference between me and the gombeens commenting on this – you don’t have to stand up for yourselves, and it’s laughable to think that getting called on your privilege is comparable to the wide scale abuse transgendered people face in society.

The majority of transgendered people are victims of some sort of abuse, be it sexual, physical or particularly harsh, continual verbal abuse. Acting in the manner you and the others do really makes you out to be something like sociopaths to those of us that have a clue.

• Moan, moan, moan. Will people ever stop with the PC crap. These groups just want to give out when ever possible. It was the same with feminists when the hunky dory add came out and the Ryanair calendar. There wasn’t much of a fuss about the coke adds.

• Typical overly privileged straight white male who considers himself “self made”, failing to realise all the legs up his “Normal” status has given him.

Trans people are not just “Moaning”. They are standing up for themselves as a highly marginalised and abused minority. The fact that you can sit on your armchair talking about transfolk “Moaning” about “PC crap” shows that you have a great amount of privilege over the trans people and feminists you hate so much since the most bother you have to deal with are diet coke ads and father’s rights.

You have no clue what it’s like to be trans and what it takes to achieve progress and recognition. You are commenting on something you are clueless about. If anything, the idea that we have to give people like you an equal platform is what’s “PC crap.”

It is not about political correctness. You are simply a bad human being.

• goddam i would hate to meet her with a few whiskeys in her

• I would hate to meet you full stop.

• ooooookay, im sure that can be arranged (thank fuck)

• This is what I mean. Every part of society will be ribbed about something at some stage and you just have to be able to laugh it off as long as its not over the top . I’d hate to see you at a stand up comedian show.
      Was there not transsexuals working with them that didn’t have any problems with it? And I don’t think there is anything really that bad in it.

• Leigh
      I think hating people because they are part of a group is wrong EVEN IF IT IS SOCIALLY ACCEPTABLE TO HATE CERTAIN GROUPS

You really need to take a look at yourself and the hypocrisy of your opinions

• Sean Davids, you’re talking shit. An advert like this about black people, for example, would not make it to the airwaves. It’s because transgendered people are *abnormally* heavily targeted by the media and society that it managed to make it through. Technically, this advert is against broadcasting standards.

We don’t know the story of the transgendered people in this advert. They may not have known what they were doing, could have been actors paid to crossdress, or could have been desperate for funny as many trans people are. The trans community as a whole is clearly taking serious issue with it, that much should be obvious. So stop trying to make excuses. Regardless of who does or doesn’t find it offensive – encouraging transspotting is wrong, harmful, and can result in violence. We know this from experience.

Sean Walsh, what group am I hating? The only group of people I am hating are people who are telling transgendered people how to think and feel when they are under attack, especially those who have no experience dealing with discrimination.

• You seem to be a nasty person going on your comments on this and another article. Grow up and relax yourself a bit.

• Sean Davids, yet you take no offense to the very nasty remarks Revolting Peasant has made.

If you had to put up with this nonsense nearly every day of your life, you’d be angry too. Also, derailment tactic. How about you actually deal with my points instead of relying on intellectually lazy get out of jail free crowds? The fact that I’m angry with horrible human beings doesn’t mean I’m a nasty person, and definitely doesn’t mean I’m wrong.

http://derailingfordummies.com/#angry

• Also, Sean, your comment was incredibly nasty. It was disrespectful not just towards feminists, but any group of people who’ve ever had to stand up for their rights. There is nothing more nasty than dismissing the real issues of a group, how they are portrayed in the media and how it affects them as “PC crap”.

There is little more abusive than saying it is merely because they “Want” to be offending. This shows to me you are deeply sheltered and have never had to deal with anything affecting your rights or social standing.

This explains the problem with your viewpoint very well -

http://derailingfordummies.com/#enjoyit

Do you seriously think that completely trivialising the issues of a minority who are extremely susceptible to murder, abuse and suicide would get a positive response? Are you a troll?

• Are you ok? You’re just making stuff up now and is that book from your private collection of similar titles? Do you have irony for dummies? Because you talk of intellectually get out of jail free cards in one sentence and call me a troll in another.

• Thanks for not actually replying to anything I said. I suppose that comes with the territory of being privileged, you don’t have to explain your attacks on people.

• How so, Revolting peasant, or is injecting reason into your slimey BS beyond your abilities?

Look, you’re a bad person. What you’re doing is bad. Not only do you not care about a highly marginalised group of people how media “jokes” can affect them, you also wish to silence their voice so you can sick back and enjoy your privilege. This is an abusive, and you have no right to laugh over the irony of someone calling you a bigot.

I never claimed to be tolerant of every opposing viewpoint – rejecting prejudice and abuse of marginalised people in of itself, does not make me a bigot. I am against discrimination and exploitation of minorities in the same way I’m against rape and abuse.

• Well.said Adam.

Chuck…I couldnt be bothered…

• Are you fucking joking Revolting Peasant?

” cross dressing neanderthal” -> After asserting us we’re FASCISTS for cracking down on your hateful, uneducated viewpoint. You’re a disgrace. Nobody on my side of the table is making a mockery of someone purely for how they are(and no, pointing out people are straight, white males doesn’t count, and you know it, it just means that you can’t understand what a marginalised person has to put up with, if you think that’s discrimination, you’re a moron).

• Make certain the eejit that thought that ad up becomes a gelding

• You’re insightful Ultan, a deep thinker. Difficult to fault your totally original take on this so very complicated topic. I salute regurgitated thought passed off as original daily. But ask yourself, how many yachts can you water ski behind, how much is enough Ultan….

• You my dear are the one who does not comprehend, understand! you are the one who is uncomfortable in their own skin, as for understanding Ad Hominem, I guarantee I understand better than you, you used it out of context as you picked up my initial posts wrong and twisted them to allow yourself rant and rave about bulls**t, go off now and find some other orange box to spout your diatribe from, you are just looking for an arguement where none exists, and let me tell you, you are now being a stereotypical bigot by assuming a greater knowledge without even knowing me.

• and the irony of the pc brigade calling others bigoted continues to be lost on them

• I’m not talking about orientation. I’m talking about gender identity, transsexuality, etc.

Can you at least get this right?

It is not my personal issue and it is extremely disrespectful to say so. My issue is with people like you. You are honest to goodness scumbags; “probably reared in an oppressive enviroment and can’t handle where you are” how dare you even make remarks like that when you are the one who blatantly needed a better upbringing, instill some respect in you!

How am I creating the problem? People have already explained why the advert Paddy power, not me, commissioned or created, causes trouble for them. If you disagree with that, you engage those points and attempt to debunk them. Instead, you have put your ignorance on a platform of infallbility and are telling me I’m wrong without even attempting to prove it. Are you even ware of what “Ad Hominem” means? It’s not a personal insult – it’s when you try and “win” an argument or make a point solely revolved around who is making it rather than the point itself. My upbringing does not invalidate my point. Indeed, even you being a sheltered, privileged, straight white male doesn’t make you automatically wrong. Which is why I’ve gone to lengths to explain exactly WHY you’re wrong on top of it.

If you think you’re right, then why don’t you look at my posts, and actually address the points I bring up? As to why this advert is harmful, and why it’s correct to be offended? Not you or anything else has done that. You just act like utter assholes.

You want to keep shitposting but don’t want to back up anything you say. There’s nothing more entitled than that, and if anything it’s “PC gone mad” that we have to let plainly abusive viewpoints like that stand on an equal level to educated ones.

• two words…human rights! but from.my experience of joxers “views” its obvious there is no low he wont steep to..in.the recent past using the “special olympics” to attempt to score cheap points. maybe you should look around yourself and embrace the diversity of the human condition. and as regards the use of term “neanderthal” its recognisedvas a term to cover outdated ignorant views

• “seriously leigh, what on earth are you on?”

Righteous indignation

• maybe leigh would feel better if we did all start taking the piss out of transgenders, @joxer you could be onto something there, was there alcohol taken leigh?

• Revolting Peasant, I fail to see how on any level your attitude towards transgendered people, and trivialising of their very serious issues as PC nonsense is respectful or socially acceptable on any conceivable level. You can’t do anything in the name of “Humour”, and I don’t think anyone except you and people as stupid or vicious as you find you funny.

You have yet to back up why you find the “PC Brigade” to be bigots.

You’re purposely trying to muddy the waters and obscure what’s actually going on.

Who is actually being discriminated against here? Is your status as a straight white male being used as a point of mockery in a mainstream television advert? No.

You are no the one who has to put up with the level of abuse and discrimination trans people do. You are actively choosing to engage with trans people and show them a lack of respect, and are getting well deserved derision in return. Whereas we have no choice in whether or not we fight for our rights.

I just cannot fathom what a bad person you’d have to be to insist that people who unlike you, deal with real discrimination in terms of gaining and maintaining employment, relationships, social status, abuse, etc. are somehow the real bigots because they take offense with your attitude trivialising said issues. Only a person with no empathy or respect for others different to themselves – not just people who hold a discardable viewpoint that is demonstrably harmful and therefore valid to oppose – could say something like that, and generally, that’s what we call a bigot in this day and age.

• It’s difficult to fault the ad when it’s achieving exactly what Paddy Power expected it to. I didn’t see how it could be offensive, but I’m not transgender so it’s not my call. Do you really think that the head of communications is actually in any way surprised? This is playing out in the way that PPs ads often do, and will achieve their aim of huge publicity long after the ad has finished airing.

• I didn’t even look at the video because stuff like this makes me sick to the core ,I’d love to post what I really think but I don’t want to be banned from the journal

• yawn!

• Ad Hominem is not remotely an “Obscure lingual” phrase, and I don’t think you know what “Lingual” actually means.

It’s irrelevant whether you know the term or not. The fact is that you tried to argue a point while criticising the person making it in place of criticising what they actually had to say. That’s incorrect, and that’s not my opinion, it’s an important part of logic.

Neither you nor any of the others have actually argued the points I made as to why this offensive, just repeated the same ones over and over and attacked me directly. You cannot claim to be correct under these circumstances.

• fucking love this advert ! pure genius! and that transvestites willingly took part in the ad and i know of some who even think its great too , just goes to show how overly politically correct you are all trying to be . GROW UP AND STOP BEING HYPERSENSATIVE

• Are you even aware of how predictable, and often used by bigots, the line you’re using is? And you’re still unable to back it up whatsoever.

Who am I intolerant of? Who am I discriminating against?

There is nothing wrong with being intolerant and seeking to oppose harmful behaviour, and transphobia is one of them. You are not the person who gets to decide what “Transphobia” is, “crossdressing neanderthal” has you permanently earmarked as a transphobe whether you like it or not, because it is a hateful remark.

• Leigh, wrong time of the month for you…you wish, see how you like glib comments. You are emotional about this not objective. Deal with your own issues .

• snout…interesting choice of words from someone crying about bigotry!

• When dealing with a group of people that take issue for something, there are two ways to go about it:

Respectful:

Actually consider where these people are coming from, take a few minutes to read up on their issues before commenting, and how certain things can cause social harm to people by propogating myths or encouraging abuse towards them.
    Then, and only then, pass judgment on whether or not their offense is correct. Remember, if you’re not the target of it, you can’t really understand how they feel.

Disrespectful:

HURF DURF PC BRIDGE NONSENSE I FUCKING LOVE THE DAILY MAIL YOU CROSSRESSING BIGOTS ARE INTOLERANT OF MY OPINIONS HURRRRRRRRRRR

• “You my dear are the one who does not comprehend, understand! ”

Look, you have no fucking clue about the subject at hand at all, and that’s what matters here. You said “Orientation” where you should have said “Gender identity”. Let’s cut the bullshit, if you had a clue of what you were talking about, you wouldn’t have made that mistake. As objectively as it can possible be, I am the one who understands here. I know what it’s like to be trans, and how “humour” like this can affect us. You are working backwards from a privileged, uneducated position.

I don’t need to assume a greater knowledge. I am judging you from the level of education you have displayed on the subject. If someone starts going on about evolutionary biology who clearly doesn’t even know what a chromosome is, I would judge them as ignorant as well.

The majority of people don’t know about trans issues, so if you want to convince me otherwise, you have to prove it. As is, you’re standing against the trans community as a whole on this one.

I am not looking for an argument. I have made a good argument as to why I believe that media like this affects me personally and others like me. Instead of dealing with my point, you have essentially called me a liar, a bigot, told me to get a life, told me I grew up in an oppressive environment(a deep insult to my family), anything but deal with the argument at hand.

People have a right to at least be offended at things that target them. By telling me I’m just looking for a fight, you are denying me the right to do so, demeaning my issues to an excuse for an argument.

http://derailingfordummies.com/#enjoyit

I am not alone in identifying this lazy form of argument. Most of the points around this one take the form of this one, and it explains the flaw in it.

I don’t see why we should assume intellectual honesty on your behalf, but not mine, when I am the kind of person that is affected by this. There’s something insanely privileged and abusive about that.

I have a right to criticise people for being insensitive towards the issues I face as a transperson. You do not have a right to insult me for standing up for myself. Please apologise for the hurtful remarks you are made, if you give a shit about trans people at all.

You are being deeply disrespectful.

• Leigh do you think you could string a sentence together without swearing, or does it add to the drama?
      I just watched the ad for the first time and laughed my head off – especially the comment about the dog. Excellent, just my kind of humour.

• The problem with all these comments, especially the laughable ones saying trans people like myself are the REAL NAZIS(inherited no doubt from the caricature the political right paints of Feminism), is that they’re effectively trying to silence the voice of trans people who have already such a small and weak voice.

You’re more likely to be raped, beaten and murdered? You have a legitimate case to oppose this advert because it encourages an activity that could result in that? Don’t care. It’s vastly more important that I, a privileged, sheltered person, not deal with your “PC GONE MAD” that the Daily Mail tells me about.

It’s not about agreeing or disagreeing. It’s about a fundamental lack of disrespect and attempt to obliterate the right of transgendered people to take offense to things that hurt them. That is wrong, and there is nothing wrong with judging someone who engages that as ignorant or immoral. It’s maddening for the privileged here to act like they’re the ones being disenfranchised, that the “PC Brigade” are entrenching on their rights – where is this happening? You are the ones trying to shame vocal trans out of existence.

The fact is that all these comments are so impossibly distant from reality. Who’s actually being hurt here? Are you really going to contest that trans people standing up for themselves is somehow hurting you, and that if you are disrespectful towards them, they don’t have a right to talk back without being made out to be a “Nazi”(oh the irony)?

If there’s a good case for adverts like this causing serious social harm by spreading misconceptions and encouraging abuse towards transgendered people(and adverts must have some affect on people, or else they wouldn’t bother spending so much on them), then it has to be heard. Dismissing it as “PC moaning” isn’t just wrong, it’s deeply anti-intellectual as it basically puts right wing mythology on a higher level than rational discourse. You talk about people being intolerant of your opinions, but nobody has to tolerate abusive, factually incorrect nonsense. Being intolerant of discrimination and it’s apologists does not make you a bigot, and it’s the most tiring thing to have to deal with in every one of these arguments. It’s a derailment tactic.

http://derailingfordummies.com/#asbad

Also, Paddy Power is intent on taking this sham even further -

http://www.pinknews.co.uk/2012/02/20/comment-paddy-power-thinks-its-fun-to-play-spot-the-trans-lady-want-to-bet/

• No Leigh, no-one likened trans people to Nazis, they said you as an individual were displaying fascist tendencies. Do you understand the difference? That you are being treated as an individual instead of as a member fo a group?

By the way, society is far more tolerant of violence against white straight men than any other group.

• Did you read any of the comments about the “PC Brigade” or did they go off the radar?

Also, you’re talking unbelievable shit. The rate of violence and abuse against trans people is higher than the average.
      You are not oppressed as a straight white male.

Here are list of privileges, some trivial, some serious, you have over trans people, for whatever reason:

http://www.t-vox.org/index.php?title=Cisgender_privilege

The murder rate for transgendered people is higher than for straight white males. It’s a fact. In fact, some studies have found it to be 3 times the next highest group, african american males.

http://www.straight.com/article-395705/vancouver/600-reasons-why-canada-needs-pass-transgender-rights-laws

^ There are numerous articles like this if you google around.

How can you say society is less tolerant of violence and abuse towards transgendered people when we have here a mainstream television advert encouraging a practice which often results in just that?

You claim I am being treated as an individual but not a single transgendered person, and I know a lot, found this advert amusing, or considers people like you anything but assholes. You are dealing with trans people as a whole – I can guarantee you this much. You are free to check out the various irish LGBT sites, or what organisations like TENI have to say on this. You are attacking transsexuals. No excuses.

• No Leigh, u are changing history – you said that there were comments saying that trans people were fascist

” the laughable ones saying trans people like myself are the REAL NAZIS”

Where?

I can say society is tolerant of violence against men because it is. It’s easy to prove. Look at the ad I already linked
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=f3WwcwvsG5I

Here’s another focussing on wider examples. It even has a montage! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5rkl_oLSKQc

It includes the Sharon Osborne incident mentioned elsewhere. Can you find me a mainstream TV show laughing at the torture of trans people?

(I’ll save you some time; No)

• That’s nice. The statistics I posted clearly show that transgendered people are at a greater threat of violence. You’re retorting this by posting to me some batshit “anti-feminist” youtube videos rather than any kind of real article or study.

• Leigh I gave you plenty of evidence that men are more likely to be subject to physcial attacks than women. Name calling isn’t an argument. You still havent responded to any of the points I raised further up

You’re not even good at sarcasm so stop trying

Have you stopped peddling this fantasy that someone said trans people were fascist? Good, we’re making progress

• You did not give me any evidence that transgendered women are less likely to meet with violence than the average man, and such an idea is insane. Also, violence obviously isn’t the be all and end all – more men are perpetrators of violence if we get down to it too. Straight white men are still the dominant class here, which is why it’s all the more grating. Not that there’s anything wrong with being straight, white or male, obviously, but there is something wrong with failing to realise the difference between your life and that of others.

It’s not a fantasy. There are plenty of comments about the “PC Brigade”. The original connotation of “Political Correctness” was in Mao-era China which was literal fascism. Given just about every trans person I know is siding with me on this – how is it not painting transgendered people as fascists?

Not to mention that was *definitely* done with Feminists, which is a typical ignorant mistake to make.

• Take a look at comments like this -

“calm down colm, where did i ridicule anyone? this is being blown out of proportion, your own input being a case in point, comparing nazi germany and a bookies ad and then, because u pc fools are the most bigoted, describing those that dont share your sterile viewpoint as having base neanderethal instincts (you are also extremely un-educated about neanderthals by the way, they were people too)”

• “You did not give me any evidence that transgendered women are less likely to meet with violence than the average man”

Ther you go again, changing what was said after the fact. I said men are more likely to be murdered than women in reponse to something you said above. I never mentioned transgendered women. But now that you bring it up, how many transgendered women HAVE been murdered in Ireland this year? And does the add incite violence?

, “and such an idea is insane.”

And factual

“Also, violence obviously isn’t the be all and end all”

Speaking from the privileged positin of not having been subjected to it much? In any case, it was the attitude to violence i raised. Society laughs at men who are victims. It does not do this to women or trans women (are they not just women? Isnt that the point?)

“more men are perpetrators of violence if we get down to it too.”

Certainly more men are jailed for it – that doesnt necessarily mean they are doing it. I guess your privilege as a woman blinds you to how the justice system works against men….and don’t you dare have an opinion otherwise (to use your own logic). In any case, are we blaming groups instead of individuals again here? I think we are! You’re implying men deserve to be victims of violence if other men carry it out? Nice.

“There are plenty of comments about the “PC Brigade”……are fascist”

Yes there are and NONE saying that trans people are fascists. The terms are not interchangable no matter how hard you pretend otherwise, so your original point – saying trans people like myself are the REAL NAZIS – is false and either a lie or evidence of paranoia

You pasted a comment that wasn’t mine but in any case whoever it was seems to be saying that comparing this ad to the holocaust is inappropriate and I agree.

• http://www.cps.gov.uk/publications/docs/CPS_hate_crime_report_2009.pdf

Found this, not Ireland but the UK(which is where this advert is actually being aired anyway), records hate crimes against trans people, pretty high for such a small minority.

• Right, well you didnt address a single one of my points there

• I broke down all of your points, and dealth with them one by one. It’s not my fault if you don’t accept my response.

And here’s more murder statistics for you, not that you give a shit about trans people being murdered and beaten, in fact you probably find it funny just like this advert that incites it –

http://www.liminalis.de/2009_03/TMM/tmm-englisch/Liminalis-2009-TMM-report2008-2009-en.pdf

• lool, no leigh you didnt address a single one of his points as usual

• Revolting Peasant, get off it. You have utterly dismissive of how transgendered people feel about this and have been effectively trying to silence them by shaming them as “political correctness gone mad”.

If you were against discrimination of any kind, you wouldn’t be for this advert. Just because you don’t see the problem, doesn’t mean it’s there, and you haven’t been respectful enough to listen to those who do take issue with it, and have had the gall to dismiss their views before you even hear them. You came into this thread moaning about PC before anyone else. The PC Brigade is just about not seeing things your way? Sorry but I’m not seeing that at all, and even so, given you are NOT a trans person, why do you get to decide what we should find offensive? It’s not targeting you. Your world will not be notably affected if this advert is rightfully pulled.

Do you really think any trans people are going to read that and decide “ah well he’s not such a bad lad then”. Fuck no. You have shown absolutely zero respect towards one of the most abused minorities in existence.

• I have never once said somebody does not have a right to an opinion here. I have merely pointed out that uneducated, irrelevant opinions are of less value, which is true, and that some viewpoints are particularly insulting and obnoxious when coming from people who haven’t experienced any real discrimination.

There’s something particularly sinister about the insistence that I’m somehow “the real bigot” here, when at the end of the day, when you log off you can forget about this – I have to go out and be made fun of or risk serious violence because of who I am.

You’re kidding yourselves if you think I’m the only individual like this, and it’s only about me, and not trans people in general. I’m just the only one who’s taken up the cause because frankly everyone else is too tired at this stage of dealing with the kind of scumbags that tend to comment on these issues.

There’s nothing wrong with judging someone for making insensitive or hateful remarks. It doesn’t make you a bigot for doing so. The reason bigotry is bad is because it demeans someone and affects their lived experience negatively. I am inflicting no such thing on anyone here – but having to live in an environment where I’m told I’m over sensitive and my real life issues are nothing more than “PC Nonsense”, everyone else is sure as hell inflicting it on me.

Think before you make such idiotic, insensitive remarks, and don’t complain if you get insulted back for making insulting accusations, even if you claim your “Intent” was good.

• “I have never once said somebody does not have a right to an opinion here.”

Are you not the same person who said….

“A straight white male who *refuses to own their privilege* should not comment ”

and….

“People who have no clue what they’re talking about shouldn’t comment”

and…..

“As opposed to trans people who are, and can therefore comment on the issue”

• Also – people are predictably missing the point here.

There are reasons to take offense to this because “PC Crap”, and you can’t expect to be taken seriously or treated respectfully when you act like a highly abused minority are over-reacting at such a blatant rejection of sensitivity towards them.

The Paddy Power advert is encouraging people to “spot the tranny” at Ladie’s Night. Successful adverts create memes, things people propogate and repeat. A link I posted earlier shows they are actually planning to plant “Transgender” ladies at Cheltenham, to further the game they are playing.

Can you not put yourself in the shoes of a trans person for one second, attending this event? It would be unavoidable, as a result of this campaign, that you would be hassled in some shape or form. Even regular women who happened to be particularly tall, or broad would be hassled. The depression associated with GID or Gender Dysphoria is very real and a lot of transgendered people have been through traumatic events with regards upholding their identity.

This is, in other words, barely a step above “Spot the Rape Victim”. It’s also teaching us to second guess the identity of EVERY woman, and propagating the myth that trans people are somehow trying to deceive us, or are doing it purely for fun. As transgendered people, we have experienced this kind of treatment, and seen how media events(like the transsexual episode on South Park) can often inspire people’s outlook on transgender issues, as they haven’t heard any better.

“Are you a man or a woman???” <- So many of us are sick of hearing this. It's rude and an inappropriate thing to ask someone unless it's actually relevant, which it never is if you're approaching someone purely to ask that question. Can you imagine the conservations that would take place after this? It would result in some form of confrontation. Basically, it may become impossible for a trans person to attend the event without being hassled.

If this happened with black people, how do you think it would pan out? Paddy Power would probably be prosecuted for inciting racial hatred/conflict.

You are asking trans people to have a "sense of humour" in a situation that you will likely NEVER have to deal with. You don't understand what it's like to be in that position, yet judge transgendered people as over sensitive and reactionary.

That is the primary issue here, and it's why I'm taking issue with the remarks posted here. It's not about whether or not someone has a "right to an opinion", it's that this isn't about opinion in the first place. This is what we, the trans community are saying of our experiences, and we're asking you to respect that. So far, you've rejected that utterly, and failed to back up your precious opinions with any facts.

You are entitled to your own opinion – but not your own facts. And living this every day, we are much closer to the facts than you are.

• I dare any of the idiots calling me a “Fascist” to actually reply to this post, and deal with the points I’m raising, not falling back on Ad Hominems. I don’t see it happening. Basically, it’s only basic manners to refrain from commenting on that which you do not understand.

• “The problem with “spot the trans lady” though is that, for one person in the game, it’s really not that fun. Ask any trans woman. Most of us, at some stage, have faced the humiliation of strangers playing it on us, (I use “on” as it’s something that’s done to you, not with you, and rarely with permission). You know it’s coming, as you walk down the street, like any other member of the public, on your way to buy milk. You see the curious look in a stranger’s eye, the excitement as they wonder if it could truly be – if they could really have found someone as laughable and as exotic as you. You note their lack of subtlety as they nudge the person next to them. They walk by. Seconds pass. And, no matter how you try to prepare for the certainty of what comes next, the phrase “Is that a tranny?” stabs like a dagger every time.

It was fear of those four words which kept me in the house for the best part of three years as a student. During this period, I spent huge amounts of money on taxis and I never walked anywhere if it could be avoided. 24 hour supermarkets allowed me to do my shopping at 3am. What a laugh life was.”

This is a fact of life for every trans person. To deny it isn’t just “Expressing an opinion”, it’s denying the reality of what transgenderism is.

• no one called you a facist leigh but i am tending towards with every extra post you make

• Also, your comments directed at me are dismissive of *every* trans activist as they are all much the same. Keep that in mind when you make idiotic remarks, not to mention your “cross dressing neanderthal” remark. Regardless of what I say to you, it does not excuse you to make transphobic remarks, or remarks that are dismissive of those who are standing up for their rights.

Talking about how awful assumptions are when you don’t give a toss what the life of the average transgender is like, and is therefore nothing but assumptions to you, is ridiculous. I don’t have to make “assumptions” here. If you had any respect for transsexuals at all, you would apologise for the remarks you have made against trans people. I am not going to apologise because my criticisms are based on those remarks in the first place.

• Some thoughts from an FtM on the issue – http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Lr7qeEIXRqg

• Begrudgy 24/02/12 #

Paddy Power still wins after all this. Got to say their advertisement worked in getting noticed. Getting an ad banned only makes their job easier. It wont be the last one they produce that will call in the watchdogs.

Add New Comment