TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Seven seriously injured in major crashes overnight

Seven people, all aged in their late teens and early-to-mid 20s, sustained serious injuries in the car crashes in Cork, Tipperary and Wexford.

Lehenaghmore in Cork (File photo)
Image: Google Maps

Updated 11.03am

SEVEN PEOPLE HAVE been seriously injured in three separate crashes overnight.

Three young men, two aged 19 and one aged 20, sustained major injuries in a single vehicle crash in Togher in Cork at around 11.30pm last night.

Gardaí are investigating the circumstances surrounding the crash which happened on Lehenaghmore Hill. All three occupants were taken to Cork University Hospital where they are being treated for their injuries.

The road is closed and traffic diversions are in place while forensic collision investigators examine the scene.

Separately, two men were seriously injured when they car they were in crashed in Holycross Village in Tipperary at around 2.30am.

The two men, one aged 19 and the other aged 20, have been taken to Clonmel Hospital for treatment. The road is closed for a technical examination of the scene.

Elsewhere a man and a woman in their mid 20s were injured in a single vehicle collision in Gorey at around 7.30am this morning.

The two occupants were taken to Wexford Hospital to be treated after the car they were travelling in crashed on the Gorey to Craanford Road at Knockbrandon. Traffic diversions are in place at the scene.

The AA has warned motorists to take extra care while driving today following three serious crashes in the past 12 hours.

Anyone with any information on any of the crashes is asked to contact the Garda Confidential Line on 1800 666 111 or any Garda station.

Read next:

Comments (100 Comments)

• God that’s dreadful
    @Michael only so much people in power can do

Drivers need to take care on the roads

• They’re spas, plain and simple, I’ve attended more than one RTA funeral up to now, and it’s all about how they loved their cars and their driving etc. etc., while the whole recklessness of their passing is glossed over. And all to spare those left behind, who are suffering immeasurably anyway, and know full well how said slick fringed, selfish idiot met his end.

I firmly believe we need to stigmatize this. All it needs is one brave parent to take the lead. It is not alright to ignore this carnage for fear of being offensive.

• It’s high time the overall analysis of RTA’s was made public knowledge instead of this closed curtain approach. And before all the ‘what about the relative’s’ starts up I dint mean naming names. It should give a accurate breakdown as to how many were caused by reckless overtaking, speeding, drink, drugs, etc etc. We need to educate our young not closet or Molly cuddle them. This weekend has shown quite clearly the status quo is not working

• You can’t stigmatize enthusiasm for cars and motorsports. It’s a multi-billion euro industry, and a perfectly acceptable and enjoyable hobby. We should stigmatize stupidity and wreckless driving. Dangerous drivers and car enthusiasts are separate groups, albeit with a small percentage overlap.

• Funny, I could have sworn that’s what I said.

• Fair comment but ruined by the use of spas.

• Well said Ryan. But the precise details of each accident needs to be published. Including names. I don’t care what the relatives think. Time to stop pussyfooting over this stuff.

• Mark 12/08/12 #

Unfortunately that’s one if the main problems they haven’t grown up there only kids and think there invincible
    Dying is what happens to old people

• We don’t know if these young men were/are boy racers or not, mad infallible fools or not – but they are all young.

I travel a lot and the amount of donut tyre skid marks around the country and fool videos on YouTube is disturbing.

• I have seen some carnage on roads it’s sickening and to be honest guys of that age are bloody know all’s you can’t get through to the vast majority of them some act responsibly but that’s only a few. any one caught by the guards driving recklessly should be brought into a trauma ward to see exactly what could happen to them the whole nine yards.

• This is the third serious accident involving groups of young men this weekend. When will they grow up, possibly never.

• When will all the young men grow up?? They grow up all the time…but then more come along…they just keep on coming!!

Are you suggesting we somehow find a way to go from 10 years old to 30 and skip the bit in the middle?

• Will these guys ever learn, they are morons they think they are infallible. So immature they haven’t an iota of the pain they cause with thus bravado carry on.

• how many people on here have reported a bad driver to the gards? if we dont do our part to try and stop dangerous driving who are we to blame the government ? these people that die on our roads diddnt just get outa bed that day and cause a crash…. just think if the person that saw them last week doing handbreak turns somewhere called the gards would they of slowed down cause they knew they were being reported…..

• I have. They can’t do squat if the car’s insured etc., and you need to go and make a statement with a view to appearing in court if you want to push it yourself.

• I did once report dangerous driving once about 6 years ago. But what can really happen if they’re not there to witness it how can they prove it? I think I only had a vague description of the car and an approximative number plate as I was driving and shocked so not in ‘photographic memory’ form… Again last Monday on a crazy busy N7 into Dublin when a group of lads overtook then undertook everyone by zipping at high speed between *yes you read right* i repeat -between- two cars in the right lane and a lorry in the left, whizzing by as the gap closed like in a video game, well i was just thankful they were gone and thought of the day they kill someone with that…. cos when they kill themselves well I’m sorry but it’s of their own doing, no sympathy from my corner. It’s the others they affect that really saddens me. How do you report something you have no concrete info for surely the guards can’t head off on wild goose chases? (genuine question)

• SLOW DOWN…for F**K sakes….

• It’s not speeding is the problem. That’s quite an ignorant view point. Speed never killed anyone, it was the dramatic stop that’s the problem. Car control here is the problem. A good driver is as safe doing 100mph as they are doing 10mph. It’s the people who don’t know what they’re doing are as dangerous doing 5mph as they are doing 50mph. Slowing these people down will make them just as dangerous.

• @tobias so a blow out at 100mph is the same as at 10mph. An animal running into your path is the same at 100mph as at 10mph. You my friend should think before talking

• If you get a blow out, it doesn’t matter what speed you’re doing if you don’t know how to control it. Animals running into your path are irrelevant, if you’re doing 10mph, they will be able to step in front of you, if you’re doing 100mph, unless they are a cheetah on anphetamines they’re going to manage to get in front of your vehicle. Also, rules of the road, can’t stop for animals, its safer to knock them down to avoid further accidents with other cars. It’s cruel, but those are the rules.

Essentially though your point is that if something unexpected occurs at a higher speed it is more dangerous than at a lower speed, well yes that is true, but this will occur at any higher speed, i.e., at 60mph, rather than 55mph, the only safe speed for the unexpected is 0. But my point was that if you’re the type of driver who can make provisions for the unexpected appropriately and minimise risk, than you will be equipped to deal with situations at a higher speed than those who can not at a lower speed. It’s common sense. So Vinny, unless you’re willing to use such things, maybe you should think before talking.

• Also this is priceless: Dublin Commute http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QE2xNtjJeC0
      All these people were going very slow, no speeding here at all! But absolutely shocking and dangerous driving. Classic example of Irish driving.

• @tobais you’re doing 100mph and an animal cannot run out of a gate In front of you? If a cow or similar does run out in front of you you’re better off doing 100mph as opposed to 60mph? And I’d seriously love to see the law that says if an animal runs out infront of you you’re supposed to hit it.

• You would have to be at a significant distance to be able to walk out in front of anything doing 100mph, a distance which would certainly enable you to dramatically reduce your speed. If it was a close distance anything that moves into your path would hit the side of you, not your front.

You clearly must not have done the driver theory test any time recently. Rules of the Road, and Road Traffic Bye Laws since 1964 state that if it is only practically safe to do so or when the animal is on the charge of a person is there any obligation to overtake. If an animal on it’s own wanders into your path, and braking suddenly, swerving, or overtaking, would cause danger to other road users, this action must be avoided at all costs. If you are travelling at such a speed, and the animal is of such a size as to not harm yourself or others on impact, this is the correct action to take on a road to avoid a RTC.

It’s common sense as well, fox or car with passengers, you choose which is practically safer to hit.

• @tobias What age are you if you don’t mind me asking?

• I am a delivery driver and have seen some really bad driving in my time, i have also been falsely accused of bad driving too so recently I purchased a windscreen cam from the interweb, it uses an SD card which i back up every night, it cost me all of €38 and everyone should have one, already I have 4 videos of really really bad driving that I have emailed to traffic watch, nothing back from them yet but that’s to be expected, hopefully my recording the dangerous driving/incident will be my only part to play in the whole thing ;o)

• They could provide decent public transport so people have alternatives to cars, I got the train from mallow to killarney and it was E75 euros return for the three of us. What family will take that option. There is also a serious lack of buses in rural areas.

• Think the problem is there are too many people in rural area due to poor planning.

Easy to refuse putting the son on the family car in a town or city setting not to easy to refuse same when living in the sticks with no other transport option except mammy/daddy taxi.

Would live to see the stats on rural versus urban road deaths. Cue culchie red thumbs.

• @Gavin: The city has just as bad public transport, not as desolate as the countryside, but certainly not an acceptable standard that cars are not needed. Have you seen the amount of traffic in city centers recently, if anything there are more cars and mad old people on phones in a hurry skipping lights causing accidents every day of the week, not like once a week on the quiet country roads. Planning is an issue, but it’s public transport is the real killer in Ireland.

• I have rang that traffic watch number a few times over the years to report incidences of dangerous driving I encountered driving all over Ireland as part of my job.
    I’d say I rang 4 times, only on one occasion did I get a call back about any of them being taken further. This call was 11 months later by which stage I could barely remember the incident, let along the circumstances so I stopped reporting!!!!

• When i was a kid we used to be brought to the traffic school in clontarf to learn road safety, how to be safe on a bike and the rules of the road. It’s closed down now so maybe time to run these programs again to educate the young people.

• Great idea, but why limit it to young people. There are plenty of middle aged people out there who need just as much road education. Road systems, signs and behaviors have changed enormously in the last 20 years, the people who did their tests in the 80′s need refresher / repeat driving tests as much as anybody.

The most dangerous driver I ever met is currently 62 years old male, learned to drive before roundabouts were introduced in ireland…. has no idea how to use them…. doesn’t understand right of way at most junctions, hasn’t got control of clutch or gears, and drives at a speed of 40mph no matter what the road or road condition, also suffers from conditions which would mean he wouldn’t qualify for a driving licence now. Yet he has a full one, tax and very low insurance so he’s seen as perfectly acceptable!!! Come on lads… what’s going on in Ireland!!!

• SMcB 12/08/12 #

I started driving 5 yrs ago (25) in a 1.2 Clio. I changed it for a fairly modest car 3 yrs ago. Im not entirely sure how anyone in this economic climate could afford a ‘souped up’ car never mind tax, insurance and fuel it.

• Why not start teaching rules of the road and how to drive in transition year, when most are starting to learn anyway. It would make some use out of the pointless 4th year

• Because the time for this is given to religion and as we all know thanks to the Dept. of Education rulebook, rule 65. Religion is the most important subject…so enough of this sensible nonsense please.

• I read somewhere that there are proposals to be included in the RSA’s new Road Safety Strategy to introduce Driver Education in transition year – whether these proposals actually come to pass or not is another story.

• Up to a certain age there should be restricters on cars say 25 the car can only do 60 k this wiuld sort it it’s all young men in these crash s say a prayer for that family in tullamore very sad

• Jambbie 12/08/12 #

*Souped up not soiled.

• Where’s me other comment gone. Is it because I said the word bag with a 4 letter word in front of it with an s, a c, a u, and and m.
      ???

• Can you imagine driving anywhere with the roads full of cars restricted to 60km? The amount of over taking that would occur would be unbelievable and probably cause more deaths and accidents. A more realistic limit would be car size. Though that is almost there already with crippling insurance prices.

• Car size or power wont make a difference either, doesnt matter how small or big it is, it will still be able to do 80mph and seen as it can do it these guys will want to do it. And just as a reminder a car going under the speed limit is just as bad as a car going the speed limit or just over it, each crash has it own circumstances that will also result in the injuries sustained in the crash.

• Aaron I am 25 and drive a 1.1 206. The power of my car impacts massively on my decision making. I need more time and space to overtake. Often been stuck behind slow moving traffic but not had the power to even consider a potentially risky manoeuvre.

• It doesnt mean that you cant overtake though, it just means you have the common sense not to try it caus you know it would be risky, I used to drive a 1ltr punto and when needed I could overtake a tractor or slow moving vehicle, it was slower than that of a 2ltr car but I could still do it when the time was right. Its all about judgement, I was driving to work the other morning and I seen a person overtake 4 cars, one of them mine while on the phone on a national road in some sort of Daewoo car, it wasn’t a powerful car but she took the chance a made it, it was the most stupidest thing I ever seen but she was able to do it, it comes down to decision at the end of it, whether or not these clowns will learn that the slightest mistake can end in tragedy but they dont think that, as others said, they think they are invincible

• Bikers are restricted to 33bhp while they hold their learner permit and for the first two years of holding their full licence (this is due to change in January as the government are finally bringing in direct access for over 24s). There was talk of restrictors being introduced to cars in the last Road Safety Strategy of the RSA but nothing ever came of the proposals.

• Not really accurate as I can drive a BMW F650 on a learner permit which is 44bhp, there’s grey areas

• Poppy 12/08/12 #

All the education in the world will not stop some young careless speeding drivers in their modified cars…..I just hope they don’t kill other innocent drivers…..most of them know the risks & have had friends killed in car accidents but continue to CHOOSE to drive this way….it’s down to PERSONAL RESPONCIBILITY !!

• What about old careless speeders in their massive jeeps and large cars that they don’t know how to control, at speeds they don’t know how to drive at, while on their phones, after a glass of wine in their local…..? Personal responsibility.

• Poppy 12/08/12 #

Yes they should take personal responcibility for their actions too. You can’t deny the statistics – young speeding drivers are been killed weekly….not older drivers !!

• @tobias, you seem to be a highly qualified advanced driver who is a pioneer in road safety and have a set of facts that imply that all the international studies which show young male drivers are the biggest risk are wrong. So instead of all your waffle just give the facts. But not the stupid one like nothing can run out infront of a fast moving car. The real facts

• @Christine. Are the Garda reports into these accidents released publicly in the same manner as Air Accident Investigation Unit and Marine Accident Investigation Unit reports are released.

I would imagine they are withheld until any prosecutions (if any) are carried out but can you use your journalistic super powers to find out if they are ever released.

• I think the adds should be more graphic and shown more often then just a few times a day. even if children see the adds they myte look at them n say ,, o my uncle kevin drives like that and I dnt want him 2 die.. some1 will probli write kids shouldnt see things like that but they could cme across a death on our road no mater wat age… ive been 2 at least 13 funerals since 2002 cos of r.t.a. up here in donegal and it makes me sick to know ill b at plenty more

• Whether dangerous road behaviour or drug/alcohol abuse research has shown that shock tactics re:media campaigns are not as effective as you might think. Personally I find them very moving/disturbing and at the time of viewing they do explicitly inspire commitment to ‘slow down’ or ‘know the one that’s too many’ or ‘one in two die from smoking related illness’ but back in the real world that doesn’t stick, people revert to type, habitual behaviour overpowers reason and rationality. People are not rational and it is only through direct experience that many once dangerous drivers can gain the insight and wisdom to slow down and behave appropriately. There are several variables to factor in, as some point out, actual cause of crash for example but there is no one silver bullet for these ‘accidents’ – a combination of education, consequences in law/punitive fines/penalty points (which have had huge impact in recent years), attitude change re socialisation of values within peer groups, stigmatising of bad driver behaviour, and yes some shock tactics. Unfortunately the bigger social issue is that of suicide, something which we in Ireland are only recently giving appropriate focus to-let’s put more funding into reducing suicide completion rates in line with the ratio of RTA deaths to suicide. Suicide is a more prevalent issue but never gets the same attention, for obvious reasons, both understandably and cynically.
      If its about saving lives, greater reduction can now be made on the suicide stats-RTA fatalities in Ireland are at a reasonably ‘good’ level from international comparison, more can be done but lets get the priorities in order.

• There are 3 places the powers that be can act,
    1, driver training and testing, remember there are people driving on the roads who have never passed a driving test.
    2, roads and their environs, and speed limits.I was in Donegal once and drove on a winding mounting road with a speed limit of 100km/h. Two people were killed the weekend I was there,on my return to Dublin I drove on a motorway with roadworks(still two lanes in same direction) and a speed limit of 80km/h
    3 law enforcement, there should be more Gardai involved in enforcing road traffic laws, with the giving fines that would have a preventing effect.

• 4. A ban for any driver caught texting while driving. Almost everyone agrees with ban for drink driving yet texting while driving has been proven to be more dangerous than drink driving. This research was carried out before the new limits on drink driving came into force.

• Being a young male is a precarious position to be in. All that testosterone flowing about leading to grandstanding and risk taking behaviour. If there was no cars they would be putting themselves in harms way by some other means. Sometimes think its a miracle any men make it to their thirties

• What I don’t understand is how drivers currently 40+ who drove in the day when there were no penalty points, need for seatbelts, no traction control, or ABS, when you could drink and drive and many many would (Gay Byrne an obvious example) and when if you failed you licence a few times, or had your provisional for long enough they just hand you a full licence and at a time when the road conditions were entirely different…. can now come along and say that because we have the lowest number of road deaths last year ever, and the young drivers are now the most educated ever, and provisions have been made for road safety, that these young people are all crazy and none of them will get past 30. We’ll the last generation was utterly reckless and there are plenty of them still being reckless around. So before we start point fingers, maybe it’s time for some reflection

• Shanners 12/08/12 #

Great comment by Tobias there. It is this generation that has broken the acceptance of drink driving. This generation that wear belts, and this generation that actually know how to use roundabouts.

• Have the Gardai release details on the crashes. Whose to say the crashes where not caused by something other then speed. A second car that failed to stop, mechanical fault with the cars, etc.

• Chris Excellent point. Because a vehicle is overtaking an hits another coming in opposite direction does not mean that the overtaking driver is at fault. I was almost killed while overtaking when a car entering from minor road never looked left.lucky for me the driver I was passing moved onto hard shoulder and left me room. So commenters should not be jumping to conclusions and wait until a full report is released for accidents that appeared on the journal

• A common sense approach. Oh dear, how will all these know it all elders stigmatise young people and speed now.

• New cars should start having cameras installed that constantly record whats going on and data like speed etc. If they can put all these contraptions in a phone then surely its not a big ask to put then in a vehicle. Then at least if you saw something happen on the road there would be documentary evidence for the Gards. Also in an accident the Black Box could give an independent explanation of what was going on.

• It’s a big problem and in my opinion needs a number of measures to try to begin fixing , as per Mike Fagen comments it seems crazy that we have so many drivers on the road that did not receive proper driver training , that can be fixed with correct approach , then there has got to be more speedy and extensively used penalties to remove drivers from the roads for offences , 3 strikes your out kinda thing , the enforcement has benn a political football , remember the 1200 TRAFFIC CORP announcement , new stickers on Garda cars and way too much shooting fish in a barrell, I saw the TV asps , we are putting new speed vans where there’s danger and there have been deaths , well I have live just off a safe part of the Navan road 20 years , no fast deaths / crashes thank god but yes the new speed vans are there , getting people like me going to work , just as the road goes from 50 to 40 zone , nice 80 euro fines as i was doing 47 kph in a 40 zone , meanwhile there guys doing 100 plus being killed on narrow rural roads and we can’t seem to address it…..

• maybe im wrong but would it be better if the goverment changed the age limited ? and make it up to 21 yrs of age ..its just a thought and that way it would help young folk to be in a better frame of mind when learing to drive..

• Then id be out of a job with no way of paying for college, stupid suggestion.

• The people getting into crashes are just bad drivers, it’s got nothing to do with age. Whether they get in a car at 14 or 44, they’re still going to be bad drivers. The problem is not age. Maybe if we just shut down the roads altogether and just walk everywhere we’d reduce the number of road accidents… well of course. People with ideas floating around in their head should keep them there.

• Tobias. Wrong. A small percentage of accidents are caused by the councils negligence to keep roads up to standard, eg potholes, hidden stop or yield signs behind overgrown bushes. Oil spillage, sand, gravel spillage etc etc. What about being the innocent driver?

• @Sean: I couldn’t agree more. I would contribute a significant percentage to council negligence!

• there is one very simple and cost effective solution, if all cars were fitted with GPS trackers, state covers 50% of the cost at a minimum could potentially cover 100%, employ x amount of people to work in a monitoring station somewhere in the country, these trackers monitor driver behaviour, they know your speed, they know if you brake heavily, they provide live upto the minute data, if the state are really committed to saving lives on the roads this is the way to go. it could be rolled out over a 4 year period and checked for at nct, this would save the country on these speed vans, which are meant to be safety vans, but they aren’t that safe if you don’t see them, these vans are constantly hiding trying to catch people, if they really were “safety vans” they would be in plain view for people to see, it would also save the state on freeing up garda time, and freeing up the a&e departments, not forgetting that these trackers could be used to check the whereabouts of uninsured cars on the road, thumbs up or thumbs down, these trackers would pay for themselves over a few years.

• when i started driving in 2002 it was near impossible to insure a car over 1200cc . you worked all week just to keep a car. now i see lads starting out in fairly high powered cars and insuring them for reasonable money. outside some schools there are civic type ‘s and glanza turbos and most 18-20 year olds can insure a Nissan 180? where has it gone wrong?

• Years ago, insurance companies started penalising young drivers’ premiums. Serious thought should be given to the age at which people, particularly men, are allowed to take charge of a motor vehicle. Am ready for the red thumbs, but 25 seems the only answer.

• 25??? are you serious??? How do you expect younger drivers to get to work, shoping bring kids to school etc. It would be more important to have a harder driving test and teach people how to drive than restricting age.

• That is just completely idiotic. How will people get around. Your generation hasn’t provided any alternative transport or a public transport system. It’s ridiculous.

I am 24 years old, I have a 2litre engine car, I have a full licence, I’ve been driving since I was 17. I’ve driven on 4 continents and have driven a very wide range of cars, I know car maintenance. I have done several advanced driving courses, track driving and high speed racing. I know the rules of the road to the letter, I have pre-hospital care qualifications and I like cars. I have never been in a road accident, and I never use my phone while driving. I have a clean licence and my insurance premium is huge.

The amount of careless, idiotic, bad drivers, who are 30+ out there, I can’t even count. Every day I am out on the roads, I see at least one of them. And it’s not that they aren’t causing crashes, it’s that we, are avoiding them and using responsibility and common sense to navigate the roads.

I will stake anything on the fact that I am a safer driver than anyone twice my age, but yet you wish to stigmatise me, and say I shouldn’t be allowed to even start learning to drive for another two years…. There is no logic to your statements at all. And such bias, ignorant views should really be curtailed. It’s appalling the level of blame the older Irish generations are willing to put blindly on the younger generations, when we currently have the lowest road deaths ever, and almost the most ever young drivers on the road.

• @tobais you have never done an advanced driving course in your life you liar, you said in an earlier post that nothing could walk out infront of a fast moving vehicle.. That along with other comments you have made show that you are a young lad who THINKS he knows it all.

You tried to give me a lesson in Road traffic legislation earlier but let me tell you my dear boy if a horse or cow or person or anything else strays into your path are your driving to fast, far from the law saying you should hit it you will be prosecuted.

• Incorrect Vinny, on all accounts. It’s a shame that not only do you know nothing about driving, but you know even less about the law and certainly ignorant of physics.

• @tobias

Can you tell me the system of car control?

Can you tell me the litrature you studied during your advanced driving course?

What company did you do the course with?

What drivers organisation are you affiliated too?

• @tobias, I am quiet up to date on Raod Traffic Legislation let me assure you.

I will admit I never studied physics but what that has to do with anything is baffling. You seem to believe that two objects cannot arrive at the same location at the same time. You are basically saying that a person or an animal or a car has never walked, stepped or pulled out infront of a fast moving vehicle before resulting in a horrific accident. Are u for real of just messing

• TQuinn 12/08/12 #

Drivers need to take more care for sure, Also there needs to be more awareness in schools and in the work place. In the last week I have done a few 100 miles around Ireland and didnt see one check point or speed van. Surely those new speed van should be more visible.

• All new cars should be fitted with a device that won’t allow you to drive unless you are buckled in . They are trying something similar with breathalyser devices. Long term planning higher cost but can you put a price on human life?!!!

• I posted a month or two back regarding restricting cars, curfews and other such things and a hell off a lot of people rejected this! Oh wait look where we are now more young fellas dead and families in tears!!!!
    Maybe we should create an nanny state!
    At the very least it will reduce the deaths!
    Also it’s not the Garda’s fault so stop blaming those guys! They do the best with what they got!

• I agree the garda are not to blame but doing the ‘best with what they have ‘ isn’t good enough at the moment and won’t fix the problem , I was using some of the Garda examples just to highlight how inadequate the current system is to meaningfully address the problem , and it’s not their fault but they sure as hell can play a part in the solution m with whatever mix of ideas put forward they can play a meaningful role , the point was to question having them allocated to shoot fish in a barrel when they could perhaps be more meaningfully deployed it was not to apportion the blame on the Garda

• How many young drivers are on Irish roads, not all of them are driving recklessly so why should all be punished for the mistakes of a few. I see older drivers on the road, and I mean people in there 80′s who drive very badly so should we ban all people over the age of 80 from driving at particular times etc.

One individual said above that it would be good to see stats on the different rates of accidents in the country vs city . I am from the country side and I too would like to see them, but would also like to see the difference between rural towns and the country side etc. The only thing I would have to said on this is that it is very difficult to compare city to county because lots of the roads in the country side are dangerous. Like roads that can only fit a car and a half, pot holes, over grown ditches, etc.

I believe that the state of country roads at the min need to be sorted out in order to cut down on the number of accidents.

• Anyone concerned about the road behaviour of a family member or friend, there are advanced driving courses available which might help save a life….

As for what the “powers that be” could or should do; it’s very easy in these situations to blame an array of different things. IMO, it’s about changing behaviour. That doesn’t have to mean nanny state stuff.

If insurance companies rewarded young drivers by more significant discounts per year or by remaining without penalty points then they might be more inclined to slow down. This discount could have parameters around it too, like being specifically for max engine sizes (i.e. that the discount wouldn’t be transferable to a larger car)

Higher penalty points and fines could be implemented for high risk categories for any penalty points offence (not everything is down to youth for offences).

A few insurance companies offered discounts for people who had completed courses – I wonder what the take-up is like for those courses.

• Again, again, again, when will those with the power to so, do what is necessary to prevent the carnage on Irish roads .

• what exactly do you think the powers that be can do? Get someone to sit in every car in the country forcing people to drive more carefully?

It’s awful that there have been so many accidents over the last couple of days and my heart goes out to the family’s involved but a lot of money is already put into awareness campaigns, policing efforts and a whole range of other road safety initiatives but there’s only so much anyone can do and after that it’s down to the people who are sitting in the driver seat to observe the speed limit, pay attention to the road and their surroundings and not let themselves get distracted.

At a certain point we need to stop blaming “the powers that be” and start looking at ourselves and what is an acceptable driver behavior in the community.

• mcbab 12/08/12 #

Do you mean God fagan?

• @Michael Agreed, you can’t monitor everyone’s driving habits but the government can do something about it. There should be retesting at least every 10 years and R plates between provisional and full licenses with heavy penalties to those that don’t follow the law

• Could agree more Michael. When the powers that be try to bring in new legislation to deal with something like this they are accused of trying to create a nanny state. Any increase legislation and enforcement are not the answer here. It is all about personal responsibility. You would think after the horrific accident outside my home town of Tullamore that it would make other young drivers think about theirs actions. Obviously not.

• They are too busy doing speed checks hiding behind bus shelters on the relatively safe Stillorgan dual carriageway. Shooting fish in a barrel.

• SL 12/08/12 #

so the “powers that be” can do nothing? that’s why road death has been halved over the past years us it? its as a direct result of initiatives undertaken by the RSA. they are doing great work, and will continue to explore feasible ways to alter young men’s driving behaviour. it won’t be altered by itself, it needs initiatives to raise the awareness of consequence of action and behaviour within our younger drivers. we don’t just accept this tragic loss, we must constantly find ways to lessen it. there are always more we can do to keep our young drivers safer through education and initiative.

• Retesting every ten years is probably not a bad idea but at the same time no-one involved in any of the accidents could have been driving for more than ten years as the oldest people involved appear to have been in their mid twenties? And when it comes to a driving test people are likely to be on their best behaviour. I’ve seen fully licensed friends of mine do stuff they’d never try during a test..

The only thing I can think of is a fully fledged driver education program in secondary schools but people have been suggesting that for years and if it didn’t get introduced while the gov was swimming in money what chance is there of it happening now??

• Maybe the powers that be could start with not allowing people to drive away from a test center after failing their tests? I think Ireland’s the only country that does that

• To the families of those killed over the weekend I send my sympathies. However I would like an answer as to when we are going to fix this problem. Years ago we were told the problem was badly maintained cars, so we have the NCT. Next for the blame game was drink driving, so we got check points. Then the powers that be said it was all down to speeding, so we got mobile speed cameras. To me the only thing that remains unfixed and must therefore be causing these accidents is the roads. So when are they going to fix the roads?

• Its possible for an 18 year old to drive a 160kph car on a provisional licence . That is as we all know illegal. Provisional licences are just a piece of paper which have no bearing on driving skills at all,yet insurance companies will gladly quote anyone for any type of car as long as they have the cash.Driving in this country is a cash cow that the government will milk for all its worth…..the bigger the car the more the returns….happy days!!!

Add New Comment