TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Poll: Do you go to Mass?

Do you go to church or attend another religious service? Let us know…

Image: Photocall Ireland

LAST WEEK THE Catholic Church launched a new anti-abortion campaign and presented it to parishioners.

Mass goers were greeted with pastoral messages and a gospel and homily based around the ‘Choose Life’ theme.

An Irish Times MRBI poll in June of this year put Catholic Mass attendance at 34 per cent.

With more attention than usual on the Church service and Mass in the media this week as a result of the Church’s launch of a new campaign we’re wondering how many of you regularly attend Mass or another religious service.

Do you attend occasionally throughout the year or do you only go for special events like weddings or christenings? Maybe you never set foot inside a place of worship?

Tell us, do you go to mass or any other religious service? Let us know the details in the comments section below…

Poll Results:

Read next:

Comments (337 Comments)

• Aside from weddings and funerals, I never go.

• Born and raised a catholic, was even an altar boy but sleep is now more important on a Sunday morning.

• Just wondering, out of pure curiosity… Out of all the people answering this poll, who are crib Catholics (who were brought up catholic from a catholic family), who don’t attend Mass regularly, or just attend for special occasions, how many of you had your children Christened Catholic?
    I’m not making any judgements/assumptions etc, I’m just purely curious as I’ve been invited to a few Catholic Christening Ceremonies for children of people who never go to Mass so that’s why I’m curious?

• My kids were all christened Catholic,we liked the room.

• I think it done for out of tradition than anything else. I was what you called a ‘crib catholic’, but now don’t believe in any of it. In saying that I still would like to get married and have my kids christened but only out of tradition.

• I was brought up catholic and my children were christened but I will never darken the doorway of a church that sends around a collection box during a funeral three times it was passed around because there was such a good attendance

• We’re devout Atheists but all my kids were baptised. We needed the certs to get them into the local school. I’m not happy with the hypocrisy but my kids come first and it’s not my fault that the catholic church control so many schools.

All I can do is protect my kids from their brainwashing and childish beliefs (virgin birth, transubstantiation, papal infallibility, etc.)

• You can still teach catholicism without attending mass, whether it’s regular or never. I never learned anything at mass, not even a prayer. The priest doesn’t take time to teach us anything except what he says in his sermon. I learned my prayers, etc at home & at school, not at mass. Plus it’s expensive, our priest asked for a minimum of a fiver in our envelopes. And sometimes there’s 3 envelopes for 1 mass, a fiver is hard to come by these days,

• I christened my child a catholic (Im a also a catholic but only go on special occasions).

The school he goes to is a strong catholic school. Even our Canon was there welcoming all the new students. The first thing he learned was to bless himself and say prayers. Communion and Confirmation are organised through the school. I do not want my son to be left out during this part of school. He can choose himself whether he wants to be a practicing catholic or not. I will support him either way.

I do believe in a higher power but I go not believe you have you go to church to worship them.

• I was raised a catholic and am raising my son one, I believe in god but don’t go to mass because i don’t believe half the restrictions the church and pope put on our faith !!

• I’m agnostic – never go to church. Had daughter baptised at 4 to get her into local catholic school. Will have son baptised C of I for his school. Wish it wasn’t so but kids come first.

• Christening, Communion and Confirmation are social event and for a significant majority of people they have no religious meaning.

• I am an atheist, as are my children, I didn’t influence their choice in this, they went to Catholic schools as there were no others in the area and made up their own minds.
      A relative of mine had a child last year and, as school places around here can be limited, he phoned the local school to ask if he need to put the childs name down now. When talking to the school secretary he also asked if, it being a catholic school, did they descriminate if the parents were atheists and the child too.
      He was told that no, they would never descriminate on the grounds of religon (it would also be illegal), BUT, if places were limited (which they will be), then preference will be given to those children who were born in the parish (check) and baptised Catholic. Huh?
      My relative then spent several minutes trying to point out that this was in effect descrimination in all but name, but it was no good. They insisted they have the right to limit the places to baptised Catholics kids. So my relative said, in his own words “he’d throw a priest €50 to baptise his child, if that’s what it takes, but it means nothing to him and they won’t get his child”.

• Friends of mine are looking around for a school for their 4 year old for next September. They are non believers as am i and their daughter isnt baptised They have been asked to bring a baptism cert to register in most schools . One school said its Protestant first catholic second Muslim 3rd others 4 th then atheist. It is their taxes used to pay for these school they should have an equal right to send their child locally it’s not that they want a religious school it’s just most of them are. they are now think of baptising their daughter. Crazy I think

• The people who have their children baptised and then announce themselves as atheists are either complete hypocrites or cowards, probably both. A cowardly parent doesn’t stand up for what they believe in and then try to justify this by saying its for the good of their young.

• sarah 14/10/12 #

I had my son christened as it is a requirement of the only primary school were I live.

• Yes of course… For the necessary Baptismal Cert to get your kids into many state schools!

• My parents had me baptised, however I didn’t inflict the cult of evil on my kids so they were not baptised and will grow up believing in science as opposed to Catholic brain washing

• mollydot 15/10/12 #

I’m a childless atheist. We haven’t decided what to do if we have children. There’d be family reasons to baptise (we know who would perform it), as well as possibly school reasons.

• This poll is likely to be distorted because the proportion of people logging on to The Journal.ie who are say under forty is probably much higher than those over 40 and it is older people who are more frequent churchgoers.

• anyone who became a priest and then abused children is the hypocrite .end of story.

• Don’t have a problem with people attending church. Been an atheist myself for the last 60 years since I reached the age of reason.

• I love the part at Mass where they hand around a plate full of cash and you can just take what you want. Like a pick n mix. It’s the church’s generosity in this regard that has me going there at every opportunity.

• just home from a very enjoyable mass, my husband is not a catholic but respected my wishes and got married in my local church, I attend mass regularly and it causes no issues in our house, he attends at Christmas with my family and enjoys the community feel of it and he doesn’t fear my beliefs or comment about fairy tales because he is as secure in his non-believing as I am in my believing!

• Evelyn you might like this site then it has some very enlightening facts about the church. http://www.bishopaccountability.org

• I had a look at that site, Tony. There are lists of allegations of abuse along with cases where people were found guilty. An allegation isn’t a presumption of guilt. Do you not believe in innocent until proven guilty?

• In this country it is the burden of the state to prove your guilty in other countries it is the burden of the individual to prove their innocence. What I believe is irrelevant. Just because someone has escaped due process does not mean they are innocent of a crime . Just because a child rapist hasn’t been caught and convicted doesn’t mean their not a child rapist. If someone is concerned about their innocence or believe they have been accused of a crime they didn’t commit they have a right to take a libel action against their accusers to clear their name. Knowing Americans and their penchant for litigation, one would find it rather amazing that this site would still exist if such accusations were ill founded.

• I just don’t agree with that approach. I think it’s all too easy to take someone’s good name and even one false accusation could destroy lives. We can’t right one horrendous abuse by engaging in another one.

• Gary 14/10/12 #

People have stopped going because of all the pain and hurt some priests have brought on people over the years and there is still story’s coming out and nothing is happening to the priests involved! It’s hypocritical of them telling
    U if u sin u go to hell

• AlMar 14/10/12 #

Gary – I accept a lot of what you say. Some priests have caused a lot of harm. But it simply is not correct to say that nothing happens to those priests. These days they are removed immediately if any accusation is made, and it is reported to the civil authorities. They can also be summarily removed from the priesthood. There were outrageous crimes in the past, and they were compounded by atrocious handling by both Church and State authorities. By and large they are now being handled appropriately when they arise.

• @ Paddy Rodgers.
      You sound so much like Blathin Sullivan in the way you attack people claiming they are bullies..
      Take a look on this site Column: “If clerical abuse was a car crash we’d still be looking for the victims”,,

and check out the comments submitted by Blathin Sullivan and see what you think!

• I disagree del mar see http://www.bishopaccountability.org which disproves your claims.

• Sorry meant to say Almar

• Proud atheist.

• I see a lot of comments about baptism for the purpose of getting a child into school. As I didnt grow up in Ireland and dont have children (yet) I wasn’t aware of this. Its despicable in a modern country that access to educational facilities should be based on faith. Enough to make me want to educate any future children elsewhere. Is this common practise?

• well James you’re not Australian as the education system is extremely biased towards fee paying schools. Here in Brisbane people baptise their kids just to get into these same schools

• I’m English, though I tend not to use that as a starting point when I’m criticizing something in Ireland for obvious reasons (yes, our history and impact here is despicable, I’m only sorry I can’t change it). I’ve lived here more of my adult life than in the UK so I have an obvious vested interested and love most things about Ireland. This just seems bizarre, I’m shocked its the first I’ve heard of it. Interesting to hear you have it in Brisbane, too. I’m 100% behind people’s right to believe what they choose, but to require a child to be a nominal member of a faith to get access to any school sits very badly with me. At that age (I’d guess very young?) is anyone really a considered and informed believer in any religion? I don’t have a problem with baptism per say (I was baptised, and I’m not a believer now, but hey, that’s just me. No judgement either way), but I don’t see what it has or should have to do with getting a good education.

• James
      I found it to be common practice in London also. I can remember being advised to get on the waiting list for the local catholic school as soon as possible once we knew a child was expected.

• Interesting. I can’t speak for London as I never lived there, but where I grew up (semi-rural Wiltshire for what its worth) faith was thankfully a non-issue in schooling, though we did get marched to the local church every so often (with an opt out with parental permission). I’m pretty sure I was never asked my religious beliefs. Obviously I’d take issue wherever this took place.

• I think its changing. I think it depends on the area you live in too and the availability of schools. 15 yrs ago I had no choice but to christen my eldest, it was the only way her school would offer a place. That same school is now accepting anyone of all faiths and none. Its still a Catholic school but non Catholics can opt out of any religious instruction.

• Good to hear, I think its necessary. At the end of the day the church might be respected more, too, for having less involvement I think. It’ll seem more respectful to the idea of freedom of belief not to have inteference in education at all, and that reflects well on the church as well as the schools IMO.

• Ireland is a Catholic country has been for genera’tion after Genera’tion so we will not change now for people who have gone back to been Anti-theist to sute them self’s for what ever reson may be they want to stay in bed in the morning because they have been out all night drinking who can tell so it is easy to say i am a Anti-theist then to get up and go to mass; not all Priests are bad you will get bad people in all walks of life but the people who stay can get a better under standing of God i for one want to be a Catholic after all it is all about fait you have it or not so i might never get to heven but i will try my best to be a good Catholic if helping people is the right thing to do then do it and stop nocking my religion

• There was no knocking (mocking? either way) there Seamus. I was just questioning the need for faith and education to be combined. I’m not really sure what your point is there.

Why would anyone with half a brain believe all priests are bad? The same applys to atheists, too, though, and our choice not to go to mass is in no way connected with waking up on a Sunday morning, I promise!

• James, we had a situation in Ireland where, given the large Catholic population, the majority of schools were Catholic Given the change in society, there are many parents who don’t want their children to attend a Catholic or denominational school. There are Educate Together schools that cater for their choices for their children. Unfortunately, change is slow and it will take time for provision to be in line with demand. Our government were not on the ball in predicting and responding to the changes. My own view is that, considering there are large groups who favour different models, parental choice is the key factor. I think we’re mature enough and diverse enough to opt for something that veers away from the one-size-fits-all approach and that leaves everyone happy.

• The school system was a shock for me too. In France all public schools are secular. now I was lucky enough to live in Dublin where there are several educate together schools, but even then the waiting list is long. To be honest I think I would rather home school my kids that send them to a religious school.

• I don’t go massing it up anymore. I’ve lost all interest in anything the catholic church has to say.

• Became a catholic at age 16, 56 years ago; my parents followed suit 6 months later and were wonderful Christians till their deaths. All my life I have, from the age of 14, both in an amateur and professional capacity, played the organ and directed choirs, culminating in nearly 20 years as Director of Sacred Music at the National Shrine in Knock. Thrown out with 10 days notice two years ago for calling the lay “manager” a bloody disaster.

The rub of this is the almost complete lack of Christianity today in the Catholic Church and an adherence to the importance of the Lord’s 10 commandments when it suits, particularly if any right action is going to cost money!

My faith has grown since then, but the Church I embraced all those years ago with love bears so little relationship to my idea of Christianity.

God, literally, help them!

• I have had some Christians tell me that Catholicism is not actually christianity.
      The Pope is almost deified in Catholicism which draws worship from The Lord, as is Mary. Also – forgive me if memory has failed me, but Isaiah says god will not be found in any temple doesn’t it?

Personally I subscribe to neither – but I would wholeheartedly agree that Catholicism has little to do with the more well known teachings of Jesus and perhaps its clergy shares more in common with the Pharisees that Jesus hated so much..

• I’d love to know more about the Christians who told you that Catholicism is not actually Christianity because it doesn’t sound like a very Christian comment. The Pope is in no way deified nor is Mary. Mary is honoured in Catholicism as the mother of Jesus. It would be a strange son who wouldn’t want his mother honoured. There is a misconception sometimes that Catholics adore Mary, but this isn’t the case.

Don’t you think it’s a pretty sweeping statement to suggest that Catholic clergy “shares more in common with the Pharisees that Jesus hated so much…” ? That comment tars all Catholic clergy with the same brush which I think is quite unfair.

• They were King James Version Onlyists if that helps Maria, and very literal they were too.

As far as they were concerned no man should stand between you and The Lord (so the Pope is not given any credence at all) and god may not be found in temples (so churches and organisational structures were shunned) – I was furnished with the relevant scripture to back up their position, sadly I didn’t note it down – if I remember correctly the bit about god not being found in temples was from Isaiah.

As for the comparison to the Scribes and Pharisees – it was in terms of the “hypocrites and followers of the doctrines of men” from that speech in the temple. With Papal infallibility and the Vaticans new commandments this is self evident, this is not from the bible it’s from the Vatican – who are men, and certainly not magically connected to “god”. As is the hypocrisy of ignoring the teachings of Jesus (to give everything you have to the poor – not swan around in the finest garments or draped with gold while living in a mansion with myriad priceless artefacts while children are dying of starvation).

These “Christians” were predominantly American. I spoke with them on a forum where there was a specific bible discussion sub forum.. I found them to be highly intolerant bigoted people, preferred to quote reams of scripture at you than actually engage in a discussion. It was they who showed me that Jesus wasn’t all peace and love.. I had far more respect for Jesus before I came across that lot.

• They sound pretty bigoted alright, Shanti Om. I hope they didn’t influence your view too much. ; ) I think there’s a lot of misunderstanding about what Catholics really believe. I don’t think Jesus had a problem with wealth, it was more with how we use our wealth. If all the riches and masterpieces of the world were sold and the money donated to the poor, it would be like a drop in the ocean. If each one of us who enjoys a fair few luxuries did our bit or donated our time and expertise, it would probably make a huge difference. It’s all about personal responsibility rather than pointing the finger at how others aren’t up to scratch. It’s easy to blame the Vatican for everything, but what have I done personally to alleviate another’s burden or to make their life easier? That’s the real challenge.

• I haven’t been to a mass since 1998. The only exception is weddings and funerals and even at that I don’t like it. I was raised Catholic and was very involved in the church in my childhood and teens but with all the abuse scandals I just can’t as a parent be part of it anymore or let my children be part of it.

• Having been raised by fanatically Catholic parents, the only occassions I attend mass is either out of courtesy to friends getting married or out of respect to the family of the deceased of a funeral. I would refer to myself as a Christian as I believe in God but not an Atheist as some of my friends refer to themselves in defiance of the Catholic church. Love your neighbour as yourself. I do not preach about the numerous failings of the Catholic church.

We all know the Catholic church is a cult, I don’t critisize those who follow – each to their own. My children are not baptised but blessed and all I can do is teach them right from wrong, they have already formed their own religious beliefs suited to themselves having explored all religions and like me, they are not fanatical in their religous beliefs.

• I have no problems with the believers – my problems are with the scriptures.

Most believers I have met have been perfectly nice people, and even if they only believe to have faith in *something* that’s fair enough. It’s when my life is affected by the beliefs of a group I do not belong to that it gets me defensive.

Sadly, Christianity preaches that everyone must believe as it says so in the scripture. It claims absolute truth as *the* word of god, and the general gist is convert or die. This has led to persecution of others in spite of the “love one another as I have loved you” moral..

Really, it’s all down to which parts of the bible you choose to focus on: the love, peace and harmony aspects are great – but they aren’t the whole story. There’s some pretty bigoted stuff in there too which most moderate Christians choose to skim over – I can respect that, but according to the scripture this makes them non believers and damned to hell with the rest of us, which leaves me wondering why they still choose to identify as Christians.. You either follow the book literally or you are a hypocrite damned to hell – that’s the scripture. So why still identify as Christian if you aren’t really? This isn’t intended as an attack, it is a genuine question.. I do not understand people who identify as Christian and then ignore what it’s about..

• Generally people who feel angry about e.g institutionalised and ongoing child abuse, the protection by the church preaching ‘christianity’ of perverts/criminals, the lies and deceit of senior clerics for the purpose of the organisation’s self-preservation; or those who realise that they have been duped or brainwashed from childhood to believe in imaginary beings, will have more to say on the matter than those who appear happy to accept without apparent question all of the above and the dogma of the church.
    @Nina Kunkel I can’t be absolutely sure why people have their children christened but personal experience tells me that many would do so in order to ‘protect’ their children from the consequences at school and elsewhere of not doing so. I am aware of discrimination, bullying and marginilisation of children attending catholic schools, in particular, if they don’t conform. The above may not be as prevalent as it once was but I’m sure it hasn’t disappeared completely – just one possible reason.

• not even at christmas!!

• @Nina ,just to answer your question …i was reared a catholic but i stopped attending mass at the age of 14 ,i will attend for funerals out of respect for the person ,i had my own children christened as indeed where all of my grandchildren simply because you cannot get them into a school unless they have there baptisimal cert ,thats the hold the catholic church still has over this country …its getting a bit better but very slowly .

• If I wanted to watch some guy in a dress telling me how to live my life, I’d get a video of Dame Edna reading a self help book. Sunday mornings are for a fry.

• Births, deaths and marriages. And even at that it’s a stretch.

• Atheist and proud. Luckily I did the countmeout.ie thing before the church changed the rules to stop hemorrhaging members. I will go into a church to admire the architecture but only when no service is taking place. I will not attend any religious service in a church including funerals, christening and weddings.

• i feel so sorry for ye Atheist ye have noting to look forward to we catholic have we can look forward to God in the next life and there is a next life the God factor is Proved now we all might not get there but we try our best so i will live in that hope thank you.

• Seamus..
      Wouldn’t be so sure of that if I were you.. If you look at the bible the criteria for getting into heaven is a little more exacting than just believing.. Indeed, it’s written in such a way as for it to be almost impossible to satisfy the criteria for getting into heaven..

With your quick judgements you’ve already gone against the teachings of your Christ. An atheist on the other hand doesn’t really care about heaven or hell as they do not believe in them. So you did that to yourself for nothing..

• I no longer consider myself Roman Catholic because I disagree on a number of fundamental theological matters which I won’t bore you with.

Fortunately for me a friend of mine accidentally started a Church (don’t ask) and made me a bishop.

• You don’t have to go to mass to worship god.

• I used to, until I grew out of having imaginary friends

• Sean

If you had an ounce of intelligence you would realise that your added comment which had nothing to with the question could be regarded as insulting or even an incitement to hatred. In fact it is clearly a form of cyber bullying aimed at those who wish to participate in the discussion on this subject but fear being ridiculed.
      Is it possible you have psychological problems which compel you to behave in this manner?

• Will 14/10/12 #

Paddy, judging by the froth mouthed fury of your response, clearly a nerve has been touched. Is your faith wavering?

• Conal 14/10/12 #

@Paddy Rodgers- Wise up.

• Well done Paddy, even God took a rest on the seventh day, maybe you should take a leaf out of his book and chillax.

• It was a joke Paddy, mixed with how I feel, and it IS related to the original question. If you’re that insulted by it I think you are the one with psychological problems and also may need to stay off the internet if you’re going to be offended so easily.

• @Paddy
      He made a statement, not aimed at anyone in particular.
      And it’s not cyber bullying. You chose to be offended by this statement.
      If some catholic tells me I’m ‘going to hell for my wicked ways’, is that not bullying also, telling me I’m going somewhere bad because I don’t believe in your god. I don’t get offended because I choose not to.

• Paddy, leaving religion out of it, you accuse someone of cyber bulling and then in the very same post you accuse them of having psychological problems.
      The person you were replying to didn’t aim his comment at any one person whereas you directly aimed your comment at him.
      Now there’s hypocrisy for you.

• @Paddy Rodgers, I don’t believe Seán’s comment was anything remotely approaching “Cyber bullying”, which usually uses technology to target someone with hurtful or hateful messages or outright lies.
      If you have concrete proof that the friends Seán speak of are not imaginary, please share it with us, I’m afraid atheists like myself, and others, would probably say there is nothing out there. You’ll just have to take it on faith.

http://www.stopcyberbullying.org/

• I don’t object to the concept of a deity, but I’m baffled by the notion of one that takes attendance
    :P

• John 14/10/12 #

The craic is good there at Easter and Christmas

• I can’t count myself as a Christian as I don’t believe in the virgin birth, the immaculate conception, the assumption or the resurrection. And I don’t believe Jesus was God, which puts me right outside the pale.
    It took a lot of research and reading to come to these conclusions and I had stopped going to Mass long before that because I just didn’t agree with what I perceived as the hypocrisy of the clergy.
    I would like to think I live according to Jesus’ teaching on social values and even his spiritual values but I have no truck with an organisation so damaged and corrupted as the Catholic church.
    Like many commenting here, I will go to church for christenings, weddings or funerals, to resprct friends and family, but organised religion has lost any charms it ever had for me.

• Always astounds me how an awful lot of people who don’t attend service/Mass are more defined by their *not* going than those who do attend Mass/service are defined by their going!

I mean, I go to Mass every Sunday but don’t preach about it half as much as those who make a point of *not* going! Live & let live…

• Paul Anthony – I agree to a point. We’re all entitled to express our beliefs as long as they don’t impinge on personal freedoms. I think you’d agree…..

That’s the problem I have with the church. It’s the control they have over the schools when children are at such an impressionable age. Both my local schools are Catholic run and they are allowed discriminate against non catholics. My kids waste so much of the school week being fed other peoples superstitions…..

• Will 14/10/12 #

You’re setting up a pretty silly strawman there, in what way are these people defining themselves in the manner you allege?

• There you go guys…..yet again proving my point. Who suggested I either have a god or was a Catholic. Of course when you use that latter descriptor you continue to display your ignorance as you don’t define the term by adding or omitting the word Roman.
      It seems to me that those of you don’t have any beliefs continually sneer and deride those who have and when that is done in this space it is cyber bullying. If you are old enough to have children it is likely that you will neither parent them appropriately or at least be unaware of the learned behaviour they will acquire from you and cause damage to others.
      You call it humour and I call it ignorance.

• Will 14/10/12 #

Paddy, if you’re that unhappy with this site, just don’t come back, and don’t let the door hit you on your whiny behind on the way out. No-one will miss your brainless ad-hominem rubbish.

• Paul Anthony,

I know what you mean. Someone above described themselves as a “devout atheist” and I didn’t detect any irony (my bad perhaps). Live and let live is right, but what the institutional church has done here and in other countries must never be forgotten, or forgiven in my opinion.

Also, as someone interested in ideas, I’m as entitled to ridicule the thinking of the church as much as I am the thinking of Bernard Lewis. No special treatment. Agreed?

• Paddy, you win yourself no favours by trying to tell people not to judge a religion and then judging them.. All you seem to do is make a hypocrite of yourself and no one likes such blatant hypocrisy.

As for the outpouring of negative sentiment toward the church. That is borne solely out of the behaviours of said church – their hypocrisy if you will.
      They have preached hell and eternal damnation for failure to comply with their rules, they have discriminated against women, children and non believers for too long and now the people are standing up and telling them no more. That’s not bullying – that is standing up for yourself, it’s called refusing to be the victim any longer.

If the church didn’t want to deal with the aftermath then perhaps they should have stuck to the things they were supposed to stand for? After all – Jesus hated hypocrites and promised them a special place in hell.
      Instead the church persecuted, murdered and tortured non believers, and abused women and children.. Hardly godly unless the god in question is evil, and if it is – why worship it?

• God loves everyone equally, even if you’re gay. You’ll just go to hell if you are. That’s quality teaching right there and feeds into the core of society with dreadful side effects. I’m always amazed at the Church’s reaction from the anger that erupts when allegations surface about abuse at the top of the hierarchy. They do the same thing every time; say nothing and hope it’ll go away. And they’re right. It always does, and people still drop their shillings into feeding this disgraced and out of date institution. They’ll never change and I’ll never go back to mass.

• Sharrow 14/10/12 #

Why isn’t there an non option for non christian religious services?

• Weddings and funerals, friends and family seem to go at Easter and Christmas, hypocrisy

• Don’t go, cos it’s all lies.

• and you know because ??????

• evidence seamus, or lack thereof.
      Religion up to a few hundred years ago was an acceptable attempt to explain things about life and the world around us. In the last 150 years especially those answers and teachings have become more and more redundant thanks to the genius of Darwin and many science fields such as cosmology, geology, anthropology… One thing that can’t be proven is what voices Jesus and Moses heard in their heads, if any, but it’s fair to say if such a character lived in our world today they would be brushed aside by most, not all, as mad men. The evidence on Jesus and Moses themselves is very sketchy. Personally I think if Moses did ever live he was a horrible man and so was his jealous God. The foundation of your religion collapses for me there but we could go back to Genesis if you wished…

• Ah sure Moses was tripping out of his mind.. The burning bush – the acacia bush, is a source of Dimethyltryptamine, the most potent hallucinogen on the planet (found in many plants as well as in the human body).
      Indeed, throughout the bible many hallucinogens are mentioned. Christianity – especially Catholicism, is a mushroom cult. Check out the giant mushroom fountains in St Peters Square and the Popes ceremonial robes – it’s the Amanita Muscaria or Fly Agarick. And many of the early scriptures showed Jesus surrounded by mushrooms, as for the “Holy Grail”, that’s a growing phase of the mushroom – which was always considered the way to commune with the god, it’s known as the Gods Flesh in Norse mythology (and is where Santa comes from).

Don’t believe me? It’s all been proven, and besides fallacious mudslinging, no one has managed to disprove it. Check out the work of John Marco Allegro and Jan Irvin.

• Brought up catholic but get nothing out of catholic mass-so only really go for special/family occasions. I am spiritual though and like the idea of some type of church for a sense community and a bit of time out so when I can I go to the Unitarian church on Stephens green.They believe in a god but recognise people are intelligent enough and can have their own interpretation so they don’t force any beliefs on anyone. Therefore they have no ethos-their main thing is really about Respect for each other. Each week usually has a different theme in the ceremony and various different people from different religions (and none-humanists) and backgrounds give the ceremony from time to time and they really put a lot of effort into researching what they speak about. I usually find them interesting and thought provoking and a nice way to spend an hour of a Sunday morning. So just putting it out there that it doesn’t have to be Catholic mass or nothing.

• Unitarianism is great! Once of my concerns with raising children in the Catholic Church would be that if my child was a member of the LGBT community, I would never want them to feel isolated and rejected. The Unitarian Church has been wonderfully vocal in supporting equality for all marriages in their traditions.

• Used to quite like mass when i was younger had even thoughts on becoming a priest for a short spell in the teens but after the scandals cover ups and the horrific abuse that was evident to senior bishops and higher, i refused to be a mass attendee.Funerals and weddings only now although if a friend or family are going through a hard time [ illness ,loss] i do pop in to say a quick prayer, habits die hard i suppose…

• I defected from the Catholic church a few years ago so I avoid at all costs. I only go for weddings.

• Used to get dragged out every sunday as a kid but the last 10 years only bother going for funerals, christenings etc. Its not that I don’t believe or nothing but too me since I was young the church and especially the vatican reminded me of a mafia, secrets, lies and deceit and they haven’t exactly done much to change that perception. Granted not all priests and whoever associated are like that but there is far too many skeletons in the church closet for me to worship in one of there spots and trust them

• “Do as I say or you’ll burn in Hell’s fire for all eternity!” Free will?

• I’m an ex catholic. not christening my child is the best thing I’ve ever done, religion is a load of rubbish that brain washes people and causes war and hatred. waste of time.

• Really think there is a need for community based gatherings, the church has the setup for it, but needs to drop “suffer for your sins” bit. More about the people and less about fairy tales.

• Apart from wedding or funerals, i haven’t been to mass in over 15 years.

• No, I’m an atheist. I refuse to attend christenings – the only time I’ll ever step foot inside any place of worship is as a mark of respect for someone who has passed away. Outside of that, no thanks.

• I go and like going. It’s not perfect but I cant make it better if I run from it.

• Complete atheist, never attend mass.

• Only go for funerals, anniversaries etc.. Really don’t like going. I’d love to turn the local church into a pub.

• Bet u take the Christmas holidays and Easter hols people who are critical of the church but prepare to celebrate the birth and death of our lord sicken me n

• Patrock i get bank holidays off,should i go and whorship at an ATM on a bank holiday Monday?seems by your logic i would be a hypocrite if i don’t.

• @Patrick Bond. Are you saying, “people who don’t go to mass, should work Christmas day & other church holidays, but if they don’t work, they are hypocrites?”

• Patrick, i do celebrate Christmas and Easter holidays, but instead of going to church i go on the lash, its better craic.

• Thanks for the laugh there Patrick. :)

• Christmas & Easter were originally the two major pagan festivals (Midwinter & Spring) that were just conveniently taken over by Christianity.

• Chopper 14/10/12 #

Christmas? The birthday of Mithra, and a celebration of the Winter Equinox. Sure, I’ll take that day off.

Easter, named after the saxon Mother Goddess? I have no problem celebrating the Spring Equinox, especially as it is associated with Attis, he of virgin birth, and resurrected annually.

By the way, it doesn’t sicken me that there are Christian holidays that co-incide with them, or that Christians get the day off too. Tolerance, my good man, would be one of the qualities your lad Jesus encouraged.

Have a nice Sunday (from the pagan worship of the *first* deity)

• Well yeah paddy I am hardly going to turn down a few days off.

• Barry 14/10/12 #

Hey Patrick, I work all holidays that are religious, i also don’t get bank holidays. So by your logic I can see what i want and be 100% right. Its all nonsense and even you know that deep deep down.

Why…you ask, well for a start even if Jesus did exist he wasn’t born on the 25th December,
      The date of the 25th December is a total assumption which only came about in the 3rd century.

So don’t talk down to people about celebrating the birth of some lord, you are not even celebrating it correctly to begin with yourself, your whole celebration is only based on a assumption.

• @Patrick Do you seriously suggest that as atheists we should ignore Christmas and Easter, and do what? Let’s take Christmas, the customs we associate with Christmas; giving gifts, caroling singing, giving cards, having a special meal, displaying desorations, including a tree, garlands, mistletoe, wreaths and holly. None of these displays of morality and goodwill that we associate with Christmas have anything to do with Christianity but in fact pre date it or have nothing whatsoever to do with it. You don’t have to be a Christian to enjoy Christmas, to be a morally good person and generally do acts of good.
      Easter, was originally called Pascha from the greek word for “passover”, from which we get “paschal”. The date of easter was calculated as the first Sunday after the full moon (the Paschal Full Moon) following the northern hemisphere’s vernal equinox, the equinox is reckoned to be on 21 March. Eastern Christianity bases its calculations on the Julian calendar whose 21 March corresponds, during the 21st century, to 3 April in the Gregorian calendar, in which the celebration of Easter therefore varies between 4 April and 8 May. This was established by the First Council of Nicaea in 325.
      The Synod of Whitby held in 664 then had to decide the precise date of Pascha, or Easter, it fell on either one or five weeks later than the feast as observed by Christians who follow the Gregorian calendar. However, occasionally the two observances coincide, and on occasion they can be four weeks apart. The reason for the difference is that, though the two calendars use the same underlying formula to determine the festival, they compute from different starting points. The older Julian calendar’s solar calendar is 13 days behind the Gregorian’s and its lunar calendar is four to five days behind the Gregorian’s. It settled the date of Easter which we have to this day.
      The date on which Christmas falls varies as the precise year of Jesus birth is unknown, nevermind His birthday, the date of December 25th was just adopted, it was believe to coincide with the Winter solstice. Some countries still celebrate Christmas on dates such as January 6, January 7 and January 19 as there was confusion between the Julian and Gregorian calendar’s. For this reason, Ethiopia, Russia, Ukraine, Serbia, the Republic of Macedonia, and the Republic of Moldova celebrate Christmas on what in the Gregorian calendar is January 7.

• Christmas has nothing to do with Christianity.. Santa was a Shaman, distributing the “gifts of the gods” which he found below what we call a Christmas tree, by climbing down the chimney of the locals..

Everything relating to Santa, the Tree and the gifts comes from this northern shamanic tradition. If anything it’s Christians who shouldn’t be celebrating it!

• A shaman?? Saint Nicholas has always been considered the man behind Santa Claus, he was a 4th century Greek Christian bishop in Turkey famous for giving gifts to the poor, he was famous for giving dowries to three daughters of a devout Christian to ensure they didn’t have to turn to prostitution.
      He is called Sinterklaas in Holland, where they use to celebrate his feast day on December 6th but during the Reformation this gradually changed to December 25th. He has been compared in some countries to Odin, riding a flying horse, in others riding a goat. Charles Dicken’s portrayed him in, “A Christmas Carol” as the ghost of Christmas present, describing him as “genial man in a green coat lined with fur”.
      Much of what we currently accept about Santa Claus we learned from the poem “The Night Before Christmas”, first published in 1823 and written by Clement Clarke Moore but the Santa we now know and love, the jolly fat bearded man dressed in a red and white suit we owe to the Coca Cola company who first used this in their advertising in the 1930’s, and still do today.

• Religion is no longer relevent in the world, in fact most religious stories these days involve violence that’s being carried out in it’s name. I am an Anti-theist. I KNOW that god doesn’t exist and to be honest with the scientific progression we have made in understanding the universe I can’understand how people still believe. It’s time we moved on as a species and left fairy tales behind. Turn the churches and cathedrals into centres of learning and really destroy the ignorance factories that they presently are

• All religions sell one common thing, hope. It’s as relevant today as it always was.

• Kevin, unless you’re gay or believe in one of the competing religions, then you’ve no hope! Don’t believe the fairy tales people, you’ve one life, enjoy it!

• “I KNOW”… How can you possibly make such a statement that you can’t prove?

• Peoples fear of death and longing for a life there after will ensure that religion will always be around in some shape or form. I have little faith but envy those that do even my kids who believe in Santy.

• @Lt Mr Worf: If you can prove he exists then I’ll change my opinion but until then I’ll just continue to trust the EVIDENCE put forward by SCIENCE that the universe was not created by a supernatural being as the bible and every other Holy book dictates.

@Kevin Mannion: All religions are based around a simple and basic fear that if you’re not a good person you will suffer for eternity, Where exactly is the hope in that idea. I consider myself to be a good person, not because of my catholic upbringing but because I understand the difference between right and wrong, principles instilled in me by my family and by society not faith. As I have said to others the idea of heaven is that once we die we go to a better place where we meet our families again and live in peace. If heaven is such a great place why wait, I’m not saying kill yourself but why do people go out of there way to avoid dying if where we are going is such an amazing place.

I agree with Gordon We have one life, don’t you think that that makes the precious moments we have all the more precious and worth remembering. Religion says that if you are bad you will suffer and so most religious people dwell on the “bad” things they have done.

Also as for the Santa thing. The image of Santa Claus we have now was created by the Coca Cola Company during a 1930’s advertising campaign. I have to say that I don’t have anything against religious people just the religions themselves, the philosophies based on hate and discrimination, slavery and fear.

• Hey Colin – great piece – just one correction..
      Santa was a Shaman collecting Amanita Muscaria mushrooms and distributing them. All that crap about St Nicholas and Coca Cola is disinformation from the time of reefer madness et al.

• http://www.humanism.ie
    Worth a look.

• I’ve no time for religion but I’ve more respect for those who attend mass every week than those who take advantage of the church for social events. I see people who are no more Catholic than I getting their kids baptised and christened then never returning till their wedding or funeral.

• Surely the very fact that you’re running the poll on a Sunday morning will lead to skewed data?

• As someone who realised as a child that religious belief was little more than a comfort blanket for those who feared their own mortality, I have great difficulty respecting actual grown adults who choose delusion over accepting that when they die they will no longer exist.

It’s a tad pathetic really.

• Yeah, nobody does death quite like the religion. I’ll give them that much.

• Have to agree, the whole “respect people’s faith, it’s their choice, not hurting anyone” thing just doesn’t wash with me. An intelligent peer claiming that they believe in god, to me, means, it’s a coping mechanism, they haven’t really thought hard about it, or they’re just in denial. It’s like asking me to respect an adult who tells me they still believe in Santa, garden fairies, or the tooth fairy. Sorry, can’t do it!!

• As a Quaker, we can be a bit iffy on the afterlife thing, but I find it a bit ridiculous when people claim my faith is hurting someone. Our belief in true social justice has led to Quakers having a long standing tradition of resisting war and violence, establishing soup kitchen and homeless shelters and free schools. No one else has to share my faith (and I would be very much in favour of a secular tradition), but I can absolutely say that the world is better for Quaker influence. I realise not every religion can say that, but there’s no need to say I’m a delusional person because I believe in social justice and I feel the presence of a higher being in nature and the beauty of the world around me.

• Have to agree with you there, Nick.

• Jim, I’m with you on this. I can’t understand how I could see it was a load of nonsence when I was 15 and yet most, even educated, adults still fall for it???

• I am 33 and attend Mass regularly. I admire and am grateful for so many great priests we have in our diocese and country. I am not claiming that most terrible crimes were not committed but I am stating that blanket statements tarring all priests and nuns are inaccurate and unfair. The Church is a great source hope, encouragement and comfort to me.

• All well and good, but until the church takes full and honest responsibility for it’s role in colluding with and covering up the abuse of children by its members then some will make those blanket statements. Statements which I disagree with by the way. However the church cannot have it both ways.

• Holy catholic Ireland’s dead and gone, its with John-Paul in the grave…

• I stopped believing in A DEAD IMMORTAL JEWISH SPACEMAN WITH MULTI- PERSONALITIES AND A PENCHANT FOR CARPENTRY WHO WAS HIS OWN FATHER along time ago, the reason why so many people still do believe in it is because they have been brainwashed from birth and a terrified to question.

• LOL, spot on Mick, spot on

• Didn’t he also have a thing about cannibalism but didn’t like pigs ?

• lol yeah and what was his problem with 4skins????? He wanted others to eat him and enjoyed self mutilation and tantric sex

• The question that brought it all tumbling down for me..
      Who did Cain marry? There was only Adam, Eve, Cain and Abel.. And he killed Abel right?

Mind you, the story it was based on (Sumerian creation myth) said that there was an Adamic *race*, which would make more sense, at present the bible either advocates Incest or bestiality.

As for the cannibalism and vampirism, they relate back to the Amanita Muscaria mushroom cult.. The “gods flesh” as it was known grows into its “grail phase” where it resembles a chalice, water collects in it and the red pigment that leeches out of the mushroom gives the liquid the appearance of blood. Hence the “body and blood of god”.

• Never go had the kids christen to get them in to good schools like a lot of people do

• I only visit that building (but never take part in the silly rituals) for funerals.

• Going is partaking. ;-) but I understand the sentiment.
      The issue for many of us is that the rituals are so tied up in the Irish culture that we have trouble separating out the different parts. The point about attending funerals and weddings is important because it ties in with the respect that we have for the parties involved.
      In many ways the rituals we have around death, while considered antiquated, are very healthy. In many parts of the modern world only the immediate family turn up for funerals, if them.

The strength of the anger and indignation is understandable but people need to stand back and see the merits of religous education in the context of modern governance, mythology and tradition, that doesn’t mean to swallow the propaganda hook line and sinker but it does show a respect for tradition and those that do believe.

• None of you obviously know about the st Gerard’s novena in Dundalk, ten thousand people a day are doing the nine day novena at the moment!
    Some people dont go to mass all year but go the nine days! The daily sermon it on utube and today’s one is by a lay person on ‘what it’s like to be Gay’ dont know where ye go to church but ours is bang up to date, for the people and anti church authority! Check it out!

• 10,000 out of a possible 40,000.
      25% is a lot lower than the 90% the church claims.
      I don’t think you’ve proved anything here.

• gill-D 14/10/12 #

delighted your church us up to date, you might consider sending someone to mitchelstown where a priest allowed a woman who had an abortion to give a speech about het exprtience at a children’s mass where she said for a long time she thought her special needs grandchild was punishment from god.

• I think it’s terrible to use that poor woman’s painful experience as some sort of salutary lesson. She was brave enough to speak out on the traumatic after effects of her abortion and how she, wrongly. felt that she’d been punished. I heard her on Cork 96fm and really felt that she put herself out there and has been badly misrepresented. I think any woman who is willing to tell a personal story like this should be praised, not castigated. As for children being present, I doubt she went into graphic detail.

• Did she not say that her special needs kid was a punishment in the presence of special needs kids???

• Apparently it was graphic and she did consider special needs a punishment. Which…it’s absolutely horrible that this woman’s pain was exploited. But I can’t say I’m surprised.

• gill-D 14/10/12 #

she was speaking at a children’s mass, she did go into graphic detail and she did say her special needs grandchild was a punishment from god. if this woman is suffering then a room full of children some of whom had special needs was no place to do it. there is no forum where the sentence includes the wording ‘special needs’ and ‘punishment from god’ should ever be used around children. it was a disgusting thing to do and pure propaganda on the part if the priest who did it, I sincerely hope her grandchild never knows that granny thought his birth to be payback for her wrongdoing.

• So, the woman was lying on Cork 96 fm? People should be very careful about posting the facts, not a false report on the facts. If a woman who’s in favour of abortion speaks, she’s a thinking human being who knows her mind and has made a mature choice. A woman who regrets her abortion is being exploited and hasn’t the wit to know whether she wants to share her story or not. And these comments from people who constantly claim to trust women to make their own choices.

• gill-D 14/10/12 #

no one has once said that this person cannot share her experience if she so chooses. what I am saying is that choosing to do this at a mass that is aimed at children and speaking to small children is wrong, she also gave this talk at the girls secondary school in mitchelstown, I have no issue with that as the people would have been going into that room to hear what was being said and who would have been aware what the subject matter was. a children’s mass was no place to do this, and no amount of backtracking on 96fm is going to change the fact that she stood in front of children and described the birth of a child as punishment from god and then had the neck to day the congregation took it out of context, again at a CHILDREN’S mass

• Another local station had people on supporting her and she seemed to have spoken very sensitively about her story. There doesn’t seem to have been any complaints when priests apologised from the pulpits for the awful abuse of children. I feel sorry for the woman-it must have been tough enough talking about her situation without having people on her case afterwards trying to judge her for the way she felt.

• U dare go to mass in my area People would kill ya if u took their seats I belive in god that’s it !!!!!!!!!!! Certain people have robbed old people and their the top people in the church in west cork !!!! No shame I say no shame !!!!!!!!!!

• I voted only for special events because I go to weddings/funerals but I don’t take communion or say the prayers. I do stand up/kneel if it’s a family thing and I have to sit near the front but mostly I would sit near the back and not participate. I was at a funeral just a few days ago and I noticed I was not the only one who didn’t take communion. I’ve never been to mass on Xmas/Easter. I wouldn’t want to ruin a perfectly good day by making it a religious occasion ;)

• I was brought up Catholic but I must say I am totally at loggerheads with most teachings.And how about Clerical abuse?At least Protestants are allowed to marry.

• I never go but Why are some people saying oh i’d never go to mass i don’t like the church yet get their children baptised, its one or the other people

• Philip, I’m not one of those. I’ll move to another country before being forced to have my future children baptised. However, I can understand why people do it. If you want to put your kids into school, for a lot of people it’s a necessity.

It’s a very sad truth and a very good reason to work towards removing the church stranglehold on the education system.

• And don’t forget it’s the big day out for a lot of people.
      If someone doesn’t believe in god, do you really think they give a crap if the church sees them as hypocrites?

• There’s also the question of mixed faith. My religion doesn’t believe in baptism and I have ethical disagreements with the Catholic Church (even leaving aside the child abuse), but my partner is a practicing Catholic. While I won’t take part in baptisms, if he organises them for our children, I’m not going to stop him. They’ll be equally his children and so long as I can introduce them to Quakerism as well, that seems fair.

• And when I do go I absolutely REFUSE to say that stupid new confiteor. How DARE they want the Irish people to say it like that, after what a lot of their priests did to children, & lets not forget women, in this country. Makes my blood boil.

• What’s this? Tend to avoid churches whenever possible, have no idea what you are referring to, could you please explain?

• The Confiteor is a prayer said at mass. It was recently changed to this version:

New (corrected) translation:
      I confess to almighty God
      and to you, my brothers and sisters,
      that I have GREATLY SINNED
      in my thoughts and in my words,
      in what I have done and in what I have failed to do,
      And, striking their breast, they say:
      THROUGH MY FAULT, THROUGH MY FAULT,
      THROUGH MY MOST GRIEVIOUS FAULT;
      therefore I ask blessed Mary ever-Virgin,
      all the Angels and Saints,
      and you, my brothers and sisters,
      to pray for me to the Lord our God.

• Ah, I completely understand your problem with it. Thank you for answering :)

• Christianity: One woman’s lie about having an affair that got out of hand

• Complete atheist, never attend mass.

• I think Dylan Moran got it right when he said religion is a formalised panic about death,

“here’s death, quick, put the pointy hat on”…

• No.
    I do not believe that an invisible man that might have been alive over 2000 years ago, who was reason for a book just as old and created for then political reasons, has any purpose to be in my life or direct it!
    I’ll leave the invisible man stories to other fiction writers – at least they try to be useful by being entertaining!

Going to a building to hear then dressed up man speaking about an invisible man is plain just silly – and besides, the organisation that the dressed up man is coming from, is corrupt, full of liars, perverts and cover-up artists besides awash in valuable assets while espousing that we must give money to them to fund their sexist organisation while others starve elsewhere!

No thanks!

• I’m not a believer in any shape or form, but could you try to keep the comments at least a little constructive? Harping on about how god is an invisible friend is just the same as a religious nut saying all of us non-believers are going to burn in hell for all eternity.

• James, no it’s not the same! One is rational, the other is irrational and only in their head because they were force fed it since childhood. Try teaching those fairy tales to a 16 year old for the first time!

• Constructive?
      What EXACTLY is constructive in teaching kids to put your trust in an invisible man?
      Seriously!

Teach them to have trust and faith in their parents who (should) know better!

• The church are more concerned about donations, then the spiritual needs of the flock of sheep! They are corrupt, whoever heard of a Religion with a Bank, a state and Diplomatic immunity? God my A$%£!

• Lads is there anything to be said for another mass??

• E 14/10/12 #

Why would I? It’s built upon a ludicrous fairy tale, the archaic offshoots of which have caused untold suffering through the actions of superstitious minds throughout the ages and even to this day. The sooner (all) people see it for what it is the better.

• I wonder if any of the gombeen politicians, who attend mass and sit up the front of the church, every Sunday, to be seen, will take notice of the fact that only 11% of respondents to this survey say they attend service/mass regularly? And will it make them take more note of their constituents and less of the catholic church when making their decisions? I fear the men of the cloth still have a disproportunate influence on the workings of this state, despite the horrendous abuses perpetrated by this evil institution and it’s minnions.

• Gandhi said ” I like your Christ, I don’t like your Christians, they are so unlike your Christ.”
      Very few Catholics follow their faith completely. They pick and choose what suits. Clearly they don’t follow the rules on contraception or else Ireland would be full to he rafters. Religion is no more than a controlling cult.

• No I don’t go to mass I thinks it’s boring & irrelevant.
    I don’t see why anyone should have to honour & worship a church & priests thought ok to abuse young children & send young women away to asylums such as the Magdalene laundries just because they were. Pregnant a lot of the time from being raped! Where they are abused more by priests & nuns running the laundries.
    I think how you live your life everyday is more important than attending a mass once a week, to pray to a sexist imaginary being.

• I was born into a very traditional Catholic family. My mother was very religious and made sure that I went to Mass every Sunday. At the time I had no real conviction or understanding of what was going on at Mass .At boarding school I went to Mass every day because I had to. When I went to England to work I kept going to Mass. I now go to Mass whenever I can. I do not differentiate between clergy and the congregation that attend Church. To me the Catholic Church is made up of all the people, clerical and lay, good and the not so good. I hope that I will experience eternal happiness at some stage because of my faith in God. At a time, when more and more people are becoming anti religious and anti Church I am happy that I still have my faith with no tangible proof or evidence to guarantee me that I am right. So we die, is that it? I hope not !

• When I go I sit there and can’t wait to leave ….bow your head and pray for gods blessing…thanks be to god….out the door like speedy Gonzales !!!

• I think attending mass is part of the community aspect of the Catholic religion where people come together to worship as a family might get together every so often. I think many religions appeal to this community aspect-the idea that no man( or woman) is an island and that we all depend on each other. Religion has a very public aspect which can’t be enjoyed by locking ourselves away from the rest of the world. For Catholics the Eucharist is meant to be the centre of their faith and the source of their strength which is the main reason people attend. I’d hate to feel that people felt they couldn’t attend their own church because of abuse scandals; the Church belongs to all the members and it would be a victory for the abusers if they managed to stop people from attending their place of prayer and worship.

For many of my own friends who attend, they’re happy to get the hour of peace in a relaxed, tranquil setting. Trying to pray or meditate with kids running around, fighting and the telly blaring is no easy task! It’s only 40 mins a week and if there wasn’t mass on Sunday, many would struggle to find those few minutes during the busy week.

As for the fact that some people believe anything to do with God is all childish nonsense. Well, that’s their right and they shouldn’t get so stressed because the majority don’t agree with them.

• I am a church of ireland person, but stopped going, as I was tired of listening to jibberish so prefer to stay at home and do all my household chores and only go for weddings, funerals out of respect for the person, and special family occasions and that is it. The recent allegations in the Ryan and Murphy reports have left me stunned and shocked, have lost faith in the church and feel for those children who were affected. The catholic church has no place in the world we live in today, years ago it had too much of a hold on laws of marriage, contraception and life in this country, and it is time for them to let it go. I refuse to recognise an institution whose leader is a member of the nazi party, one that was responsible for the killing of some six million innocent men women and children during the second world war.

• I go to mass weekly, I am in my 30′s,it’s my only chance all week to reflect and think and pray. For me it’s my form of meditation or healing. I go in worrying about different things and seem to come out more uplifted and relaxed. I live in a lovely community a young parish and we chat after mass, it’s great cos people are there who want to be not cos they are forced to. I have many friends of different religions and agnostics and non believers and don’t force my beliefs on them and vice versa, there is room for all of us.

• No, I never go to that evil place.

• 6% is really low but it’s a poll of people who know how to use computers, smart fones and tablets….not that represantative.

• Wedding & funerals only

• Alas there is no God.
    There need not be gnashing of teeth and tearing of clothing at this exclusive I’ve revealed.
    We need to get on with the one life we have been lucky enough to have gotten.
    Society will function better.
    Why not have beliefs that are based on the elements instead?
    An environmental belief system.
    It would be better for our children and we’d leave them a healthier planet.

• Many of the indigenous faiths have an element of that to them.. Native Americans, Aborigines, Witches and Shamen often refer to Mother Earth as something to be cherished and respected. Could do with a bit more of that alright..

• love going to mass ! I have as many issues with the church as everyone else but we must not allow the actions of others to rob us of what’s important to us . The church is a finger pointing towards God but is by no means God !

• I went back to Mass a few weeks ago after a few years absence, I don’t intend to go every week though.
    The prayers have changed & I’ve no desire to learn the new ones. No one under the age of 60 there & the Parish get between ?1,000/?1,2000 per week from the Mass goers, I didn’t subscribe nor do I intend to. I guess I’m hedging my bets for later on in life when I kick the bucket!

• It is disgusting, and completely ridiculous that people are required to subject their children to a catholic baptism in order to get into most schools. It’s child abuse. Forceful indoctrination. Any non believers who do this to their kids are hypocrites.

• I am a practising Catholic. I attend Mass regularly. Do not throw out the baby with the bath water!
    When Jesus was on earth HE chose 12 Apostles- Judas betrayed HIM; Thomas doubted HIM and Peter denied HIM! Human beings are weak. Make allowances for weaknesses of others!
    Let him who is without sin cast the first stone! GOD bless and save Ireland. Dermot Limerick

• Frances 14/10/12 #

The Mass is the greatest prayer and receiving the Eucharist is the sweetest moment of grace – Creator meeting the created. My Catholic faith is my prized possession, there is nothing to compare. It’s about friendship with God, through the Sacraments. If you don’t like such faith in practice, fine. But allow those of us who do to continue to give thanks to God for the wonder of His friendship and spiritual graces – food for our Christian living received at Mass. If that annoys anyone, then your reaction is not so much with God but with the practice of the Catholic faith.

• Only on special occasions. I envy those who have faith. In Ireland I feel that most church goers are Catholic more than they are Christian. What I mean by that is that if the Catholic church went out of business then the majority of church goers wouldn’t attend a protestant mass which is more or less the same doctrine.

• Anybody who baptised their children and is not a mass goer is a hypocrite. End of story.

• Oh regular mass goers can be the biggest hypocrites, I see it in my own village on a regular basis. All smiles & nicey nice to the public but total devils behind closed doors. These people are the ones that make me sick.

• Killawalla,

According to the bible, you are the hypocrite. Stop judging your neighbour!

Matthew 7: 1-5
      01 “Stop judging, that you may not be judged.

Share on twitter Share on facebook Share on delicious Share on google Share on meneame Share on technorati Share on blogger Share on live

02 For as you judge, so will you be judged, and the measure with which you measure will be measured out to you.

Share on twitter Share on facebook Share on delicious Share on google Share on meneame Share on technorati Share on blogger Share on live

03 Why do you notice the splinter in your brother’s eye, but do not perceive the wooden beam in your own eye?

04 How can you say to your brother, ‘Let me remove that splinter from your eye,’ while the wooden beam is in your eye?

05 You hypocrite, remove the wooden beam from your eye first; then you will see clearly to remove the splinter from your brother’s eye.

• “Hypocrite” is a word which is used quite alot on the comments section. Used in many wrong places.

• The vast majority of hypocrites are mass goers, so called a la carte catholics.

• Personally I think that there a far more interesting things to do nowadays than go to mass which is why less people go. 50 years ago mass was the highlight of the week. You got dressed up, got out of the house and seen all your neighbours and friends. It was the centre of the community which was alot smaller than the huge web communities we live in now. Today not everyone knows their neighbours whereas nearly everyone knew their neighbours in Ireland in times gone by. Obviously faith and a lack thereof have alot to do with attendance as well as the advancement in the levels of education in todays world compared to even 30 years ago.

• Any publication can carry out a poll on church attendance. Readers can decide for themselves whether the results represent a true picture, taking into account readership, demographics etc.

However, I don’t understand why there is any reference to abortion at the beginning of this article. The Catholic Church recently announced that it would lobby against the introduction of abortion into Ireland and it started this campaign at Masses recently. Why include this information in an article on church attendance?

Is the writer of this piece trying to make some point regarding the Church’s involvement in the debate on abortion? If so, then this should be plainly stated. If not, then it seems to me that there is no relevance to the inclusion of the comments relating to abortion. The debate on abortion concerns human rights, not religion.

With all due respect to the writer, those comments are misplaced in this piece.

• Hi Cora, not at all. The comments simply serve to place the article/poll in context, as last week’s Church services in particular received more attention than usual due to the content of the gospel, homily and overall pastoral message.

It was this attention, and further media attention during the week which led to this general poll on Mass attendance. I accept that maybe this could have been more clearly outlined though.

Thanks,
      Emer

• Meh, this is a poll of Mass attendance by TheJournal.ie members. I too find it curious that is the slant of the article. Odd that the writers would make that connection but then again there is a very pro abortion slant on The Journal. They’re entitled to have whatever editorial slant they want, just don’t try to claim impartiality/

• @Cora

I’ve updated the preamble to the poll a little in order to place it more in context.

@Liam There is no editorial slant intended here.

Thanks for reading and contributing,
      Emer

• @Emer –

Thanks for the clarification and amendments, Emer.

It would be unfortunate if the debate that we so badly need – and deserve – on abortion got thrown off-course by discussions over the Church’s involvement. The Church is entitled to contribute just like any other group in society but the fact remains that abortion concerns human rights, not religion. The Journal readers can see this from groups like @secularprolife, @ProLifeAtheists, PLAGAL and of course the writings of secularists Nat Hentoff and the late Christopher Hitchens.

• Cora, the biggest enemy for the arguement that abortion is not a religious issue is the heavy involvement of the Catholic Church. Shooting themselves in the foot, really!

• For the record, @ProLifeAtheists are a majority Catholic group: http://geoffsshorts.blogspot.ie/2012/12/prolifeatheists-and-damascene-conversion.html @SecularProLife are also majority Catholic.

• I think Mr George Carlin put it best in this clip https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=MeSSwKffj9o#!

• A little biased this poll,considering it’s posted just before Sunday Mass. Most mass goers will be at mass not reading this article, unless you’re Enda Kenny.

• @ Dave
      The poll will be visible on the site all day. We’ll also be tweeting a link to it again this afternoon in case some people missed it.

Thanks,
      Emer

• Isn’t there a Saturday night Mass anymore? Or is that not ‘real’ Mass?

• @emer All the comments at the top of the list are going to be originally from the first posters who will generally be non mass goers, because it’s mass time. It does show bad taste and an attempt of provocation to post an article like this at such a time. Why not post before early in the morning or in the afternoon.
      BTW. I don’t go to mass unless it’s for a Christening, Wedding or Funeral, in respect to someone else.

• @Dave

“attempt at provocation” and “bad taste” infers that there was some kind of intent to influence the results of the poll. I do not accept this inference and you are incorrect.

The poll was posted at roughly the same time as all our weekend polls. It was posted as soon as it was compiled, as is the case with all of our polls. There was no intent. The poll is visible in the same spot on the main page of the site all day and will remain there until it is replaced with a new topic tomorrow.

The poll also refers to religious services of all types, some of which do not take place on a Sunday morning.

Thanks for reading and contributing,

Emer

• Dave,
      There are other things people can do on Sunday mornings besides Mass :)

• Dave Six 14/10/12 #

@Emer, You’re welcome. But do sit back and have a look at the article and it’s replies.
      @Rommel, I agree. A lot more useful and productive things too.

• I think having imaginary friends in the sky is a bit mad. There is no proof to go by and the whole thing is completely loony. If I said I believe in the donkey on Mars would it get the same respect as belief in god? No. Why?

• Never go to mass myself but would have some sort of spirituality. When I get married I’d like to do it in church.

• I assume that Attic conversion company wouldn’t convert attics for the 84 per cent of the population who claim to be Catholics.

• the catholic church is wrapped up too much in politics and money. if u want to see where yr collection goes just take a trip to the Vatican city. when the new pope released the new missile book, all catholic orders had to purchase it, at ?400 a book!