TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Clashes erupt in Europe anti-austerity protests

Millions of workers across Europe rallied together today in strikes and rallies to protest against any further austerity measures.

Police clash with demonstrators during a protest against Italian Government austerity measures in Rome, Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2012.
Image: Gregorio Borgia/AP/Press Association Images

RIOT POLICE AND anti-austerity protesters clashed in Spain and Italy on Wednesday as unions rallied millions of workers to a day of Europe-wide strikes and rallies.

General strikes in Spain and Portugal spearheaded an unprecedented coordinated protest across the continent, paralysing swathes of industry and hitting road, rail and air transport.

“Europe is waking up today — from Rome to Madrid to Athens,” said Mario Nobile, a 23-year-old university student in Rome.

Workers staged industrial walkouts in Italy, the eurozone’s number three economy, and in Greece, which is fighting to avert bankruptcy despite bowing to demands for new, sweeping austerity measures.

The European Trade Union Confederation behind the “Day of Action and Solidarity” said it was the first time it had organised such strike action in four countries in Europe.

“We need urgent solutions to get the economy back on track, not stifle it with austerity,” said Bernadette Segol, general secretary of the union confederation.

The strike coincides with heated debate over the pursuit of austerity policies in the midst of recession.

The International Monetary Fund admitted last month that it had underestimated the extent to which such measures brake economic growth, opening the way to relaxed deficit-cutting targets in countries such as Portugal.

Most of the protests were peaceful.

But police charged demonstrators with batons in Spain, where unions claimed millions of workers had joined the general strike, and running street battles erupted in Italy.

In Madrid, riot police fired rubber bullets into the air and struck protesters with batons in the central Plaza de Cibeles square, an AFP journalist at the scene said.

The clashes erupted when a police cordon blocked demonstrators from joining a rally in the square.

Police arrested 82 protesters across the country and 34 people were wounded, including 18 police, the government said.

Belgium Europe Austerity

A protestor uses a spoon and a pan to make noise during an European trade union protest in Brussels on Wednesday, Nov. 14, 2012. With rampant unemployment spreading misery in southern Europe and companies shutting factories across the continent, workers around the European Union sought to unite in a string of strikes and demonstrations on Wednesday. (AP Photo/Geert Vanden Wijngaert)

Spanish unions said participation in the strike was massive, surpassing 85 percent in some industrial sectors, but the government said the impact was more modest.

In the main rally in the evening, tens of thousands spilled into Madrid’s streets, spreading around the main Atocha railway station and near the lower house of parliament, which was sealed off by riot police.

“We have the solution, send the bankers to prison!,” protesters chanted amid a sea of union flags.

But Spain’s Economy Minister Luis de Guindos said the strike was “not the right path” to reduce uncertainty and insisted that austerity was the only way out of the crisis.

In Italy, 17 police officers were wounded in clashes as tens of thousands of students and workers took to the streets of Rome, Milan, Turin and around 100 other towns and cities, calling for more safeguards for jobs and pensions and protesting against Prime Minister Mario Monti.

In the most serious incident, around 20 activists were seen beating an officer with sticks and baseball bats in Turin, while a dozen officers were hurt in running street battles in the centre of Milan, police said.

In Rome, dozens of young protesters hurled stones and bottles and smashed up cars as they tried to break through lines of police who responded with tear gas and used armoured cars to force them back.

Italian unions called a four-hour walkout, leading to the closure of schools, ports and many factories.

In Portugal, the general strike brought Lisbon’s metro service to a halt while ferries across the River Tagus and trains across the country ran skeleton services.

Both Portugal and Spain have legislation guaranteeing minimum services in essential industries.

But in Spain, Iberia, Iberia Express, Air Nostrum, Vueling, Air Europa and easyJet cut more than 600 flights including some 250 international routes. Ryanair said no flights had been scrapped yet.

Portugal’s TAP said it was grounding more than 170 flights, most of them international.

Greece’s unions are focused on the national crisis and their protest was limited to a three-hour work stoppage and a rally in Athens estimated at 5,000 people by police.

Union-led rallies to support the day of action were being held in France, Belgium and in Poland, where workers decried a “social and wage-dumping” in their country.

Thousands of people took to the streets in cities across France, protesting at salary cuts, tax hikes and spending cuts in the eurozone’s second biggest economy.

- © AFP, 2012

Read next:

Comments (93 Comments)

• I’m trying to get my head around the fact that 9 million people across europe protested against austerity , why didn’t the unions organise a mass peaceful protest in Dublin?

can anyone answer this?

• And Ireland sat on its hole

• Instead of protesting they complain on the Journal and also ring Joe Duffy ahahahaha

• Posted earlier on another thread –

But how many demonstrations have we had in the last few years? Farmers, teachers, the Unions etc, etc, marching up O’Connell st . to the Dail.

What have they achieved? NOTHING!

The politicians and bankers laugh at these protests which grab the headlines for 24 hours or less and then forget them.
      We need everybody to support these protests and this will never happen …… But
      If everyone – Stop What You Are Doing – for 30 min they might, just might listen and make the right decisions?
      http://www.swyad.com

• The main unions arent organising the protest on the 24th.the dcu and cawht and other anti austerity groups siptu et al are only advising there members to support the protest

• The unions are not advising their members about this protest on the 24th November? FFS . As usual they will sit back and do nothing. Oh yeah the unions are paying lip service but they are doing so for fear of losing their members and who will pay their ridiculous wages. ,don’t forget that labour and the unions have very close associations .They are all afraid of losing their pensions and seats.

• That’s right Talk to Joe is very busy listening to all the Journal readers eh John Deane how do you make that out you must be glued to the radio yourself. ARE you going to the AUSTERITY PROTEST on the 24th Nov yourself John

• Bernadette

Why would I go?

• I find it really interesting why we as a nation are (essentially) staying quiet. When once we were respected worldwide for fighting for our rights. We obviously see protest as a pointless exercise because we are too tied up in our own little worlds. Same thing that causes voter apathy maybe and a diminished sense of community. Sad to think we’ve ALL become so selfish really.

• In terms of the focus of these protests being anti-austerity, I do see that we cannot get out of this debt without some austerity but the lack of fair distribution with the onus being placed on the vulnerable is worrying and in my view shows a lack of knowledgeable leadership or perhaps worse a government unwilling to make the tough decisions for the benefit of its citizens as a whole.

This article posted by Pat Kennedy in a previous thread is certainly worth a read on this point: http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/opinion/2012/1010/1224325095342.html#comment-anchor

Vincent Browne writes in the IT about a study comparing the earnings reductions in Iceland versus Ireland in the years after the crash and reveals a very clear and worrying trend particularly where the lowest 10% of earners had a reduction of 26% in Ireland and just 9% in Iceland, whereas the richest 10% of earners in Ireland had an INCREASE in of 8% of earnings versus a reduction of 38% in Iceland.

If there is truth in these numbers then this does beg a rethink of the benefit of a left-leaning government such as in Iceland for the benefit (and protection) of the nation as a whole in these recessionary tImes, but also in terms of regenerating the economy in terms of looking for alternatives to austerity as we have seen in Iceland.

It looks to me like right leaning governments are not the solution to our current woes and we need to seriously look to left-leaning politics both existing and emerging for leadership throughout the recovery process!

• Come on Ireland off yere arses for a change , you can record x factor and watch it another day.

• Viva Le Resistance!!!!!!

• The poor lady who died, did so on the 28th October, over too weeks ago.

Meanwhile anti austerity protests were organised across Europe today in Spain, Italy, Portugal and Greece. The very day our media decided to drop an abortion bomb on the public psyche.

We were played perfectly today in a game of media mastery.

And I do remember a political commentator stating before that “Fianna Gael have always understood the power of the media more so than any other Irish political party”

• Spot on, was only thinking that today. Didn’t know the lady died on the 28th. Sick bastards would stoop to any low. Change around the world is needed now more than ever. Dangerous times indeed.

• Mulder and scully would be proud! ;) In all seriousness though this is a valid point. Wag the dog.

• Spot on @ Harry, the PR buggy has been in overdrive on the sad death of an innocent Woman, and her unborn Child, RIP.

Shame shame shame on fg / labour.

• @Harry – Totally Agree –
      It is really a tragic case the death of Savita Halappanavar, but why did RTE lead every news bulletin with this story yesterday and again today? It featured at the top of Pat Kenny show, Joe Duffy, Drive Time and all RTE TV News?

Savita died 28th October!

Surely our national broadcaster was not compromised AGAIN by someone within, preventing Austerity demonstrations across Europe yesterday from getting more lead airtime?

Again I want to reiterate that the death of this poor woman is truly tragic and my sincere condolences go to her family and friends.

NB – “The control of information makes history!”

• Saturday. Great idea for a protest march. Is that not the bankers and politicans golf day.

• Whilst Ireland sat on its ass..

• There is only one way they will listen and that is to make them afraid of the people, otherwise they’ll just take,take,take like they always have.

• I was in UCATT for years, biggest waist of money. If Unions really cared about people and not their pockets the 67billion bailout for the 64billion banks would not be on the peoples shoulders. Shame on them. Hopefully a strong leader will emerge soon and stand up for real people who just want to work and have a reasonable standard of living

• Well said Mark Work Is what most Irish people want with some reward at the end of the week not being fleeced out of existence by taxes and levies USC that really has not solved the nations debt at all and only lost jobs and 78 thousand family members leaving this country last year and not knowing if or when they can come home to work and live again among their families

• Saw a story about this on state tv (rte) expressing horror at the fact that the protestors had makeshift shields and were wearing helmets, as if this was some sort of provocation to the assembled ranks of the riot police.
    What state TV failed to point out nearly as pointedly, was the fact that the riot police had purpose-built riot shields, pistols, helmets, visors, batons, CS gas, full body armour, paddy wagons on hand.
    Great work RTE!

• Watching live pictures from Lisbon on Sky the actions of the riot police were disgusting, little more than thugs in uniform. Not only were they beating people on the roads protesting but old men and women on the footpaths trying to move away were similarly met with smacks from long thick batons. The riot police in Spain, Greece and Italy have all been seen to be no better. I bet their pay packets haven’t been hit as hard as the ordinary man and woman, without their thugs these governments wouldn’t survive long.

• Well obviously the police were going to have that standard equipment! What you expect them to show up with?

• No wonder the Irish Government lifted the moratorium on recruitment to the armed forces earlier in the year!! FEAR!!

• Living in scary times people.

• What’s up with comments being deleted here?

• Fair play to them! Wreck the joint!

• Lu 15/11/12 #

I am all for standing up for yourself!! The cuts that have been inflicted on the working people of Ireland have been inexcusable!! My wages have been pilfered by something similar to a hopped up Robin Hood of meth!! I can barely afford my mortgage! And having said all that,there is absolutely no excuse for the violence!!

• In this mornings RTE text news it stated that austerity protests would be held all over europe and also in Dublin at the Central Bank. Although I had other plans for the day I decided to go out and help the protest. But on checking the text before leaving the house I discovered the piece about the protest here had been deleted. I would like to know if the people who are organising these protests are running with the hares and hunting with the hounds? There was no protest.

• Thank God we have no austerity here in Ireland. I cant imagine the kind of tomfoolery and protest song the nation would be coming up with now if we did but I’m sure it would be great craic all the same.

• The unions in this country only represent the highly paid public sector workers , the banks and themselves . So if the government doesn’t gave a sh** and the unions only represent wealthy workers, who represent the average private sector worker who have endured pay cuts and tax hikes?

• And in ireland, everyone sits in a pub and bitches about it!

Time to stand up people!

• Violence and destruction will only achieve one goal , that is to play right into kennys ego.
    Can you inmagine them putting on thr puppy dog look as varadkar and moan voice their opinions.
    We need a peaceful protest that will bring the country to a standstill.
    Private,public servants,civil servants all standing as one .

• Ohhhhh,hark at the spin doctors that stand to loose their seats on their private gravy train.

• To quote two songs “there will be trouble ahead”and “i predict a riot”.

• JayK 14/11/12 #

So… what would we protest? We could have not paid back the bondholders but then we’d have to leave the Euro, probably suffer hyperinflation. Everyone has their savings wiped out and the government is locked out of the bond markets long term. Suddenly it’s not minor cuts to allowances we’re worried about but paying to keep police on the streets and food on the tables. Businesses would have been devastated, unemployment would skyrocket. Yeah, our exports would be competitive because our currency is worthless but it would take a decade to start seeing improvement on that front. The knock-on affect could have pushed Spain and Italy closer the edge and finished off Greece, leaving all of Europe in the balance.

It seems like people are just “angry”. They want to “protest” because they’re “angry”. At the “government”. And “cuts”. No more “cuts”. Then life will be great again and everyone will have loads of money and there’ll be no recession. Everyone’s a lazy sheep coward because they’re not angry at the government because cuts.

Or, maybe, we were one of the biggest victims of the biggest recession since the Wall Street crash in 1929, and life is pretty good considering. No one starving, no one destitute. We’ve got a generous welfare state, far more generous than the rest of Europe. Our standard of living is almost unchanged given the circumstance. And maybe this is possible despite our finances being devastated in the BIGGEST GLOBAL RECESSION IN 83 YEARS, because our Europe and our German friends are paying for our folly, on the condition we pay the bondholders to limit the potential contagion.

So the question remains, what should we be protesting?

• @No one straving, yeah i was wondering why that soup kitchen opened in Athlone.
      Man in Dublin convicted of shoplifting to feed his kids.
      But your right we’re having it good.

• @jayk last thing would you like to have to have look at the suicide rates pervious the crash and then for years end 2011.
      I know i have a few less friends than i had in 2006 and its not because they don’t like me or emigrated.

• If you dont protest and advocate change then maybe this cycle will end after long suffering but in time it will only happen again hence more pain suffering on future generations.Do we stay with this cycle or finally say no and promote happyness and equality for all peoples of the world.Bob Marley said get up stand up stand up for your rights ..Human rights..Protest is a peaceful form of asking for change answering back with a baton is why we need a change.

• Erm…poor financial regulation for one! But that’s fine because we’ll all draw the dole and live the life of Reilly! Lets count ourselves lucky eh!?

• JayK have you noticed the increase in self harm in Ireland or does it not matter to you?

• jayk you are full of it .

• JayK,

Nail on the head and most of Irish society realises it. You’re talking to a tiny, tiny minority on here who have been proven to be wrong on everything, referendum after referendum.

Most people are pretty happy with how things are going, but if you went by what you read here, you would swear the country is ready for a revolution, an uprising akin to that in the middle east, a new government comprised of magic men who would solve all the problems. All said by people who sink into their computer chair, spout bile from the safety of their anonymous account and then go to bed crying over how Ireland has failed them while they’ve done nothing themselves.

These are the guys you find standing on a box outside the Dail, ranting to anyone who’ll listen to them but generally by themselves. Their opinions aren’t listened to elsewhere but the internet has given them the delusion of importance.

Last week’s referendum showed them just how out of touch with society they are, and instead of questioning their own stance they blasted everyone else for being “sheep” or “cowards”.

In short, pay no heed. You’re aiming your sights at society’s losers, just laugh at their nonsense and move on.

• John Donovan
      I am not one of society ‘s losers , But I will have the last laugh .

• Eileen,

You are on this site 24/7 ranting about how you’re against everything but handouts and exceptions for the unsuccessful. You are the worst of the aforementioned people.

• John Donovan
      I am not on this site 24/7 . Why would I ?
      Are You ? Paranoid ?
      You remind of of some one , have you many other identities on this site ?
      Curious that you would be so afraid of little old me . I must be telling the TRUTH. Try it .

• JayK 16/11/12 #

I know it’s been a few days but I’ll try to address a few of the points. Also, read the first paragraph of what I said earlier. No one addressed the fact that the alternative to the current austerity is much deeper, much more severe austerity.

The soup kitchen, to quote the owner Oliver Williams;
      ‘The younger clients were described by Mr Williams as the new poor. “They just can’t cut it out there. Nothing for them,” he said. “About 20 per cent are elderly people, a lot of middle-aged people that have missed their dole payments or don’t qualify for dole payments, or maybe no money until next Thursday, that kind of thing.”‘

First, I accept we should do more to help the elderly (as was the case before the recession) and I disagree with the fact that the self-employed don’t qualify for welfare if their business goes under. However, unemployment benefit in Germany is 374e a month. In Ireland it’s 752e; twice as much. In Spain and Portugal, its a fraction of their minimum wage, which is 638e and 485e respectively, so much less than ours. If a young person requires a soup kitchen to eat it’s because their wasting their money on extravagances. So, what are we protesting for? Higher welfare payments?

On suicide; it goes up in a recession and we’re in a recession. Objectively, we’re ranked an unremarkable 36th in the world for suicide rates. Iceland, who burned the bondholders, are 40th. So, what are we protesting?

Jack Daniels say “protest to stop the same thing from happening, to stand up for our rights”. So… what do you want? Enda Kenny calls to your door tomorrow, what do you want? More rights? What rights? What are you protesting for?

Liam O Croinin; financial regulation. I agree. Has anything in particular been put forward? I know Occupy targeted the Dodd-Frank act in the States but I don’t think we have an equivalent here. Maybe something to do with property bubbles? I agree, but you need something more specific than “regulation”, and I’m not a financial expert.

Kerry, you can’t protest self-harm. I know it’s terrible but it just doesn’t make any sense. Also see “suicide” above.

Eileen, try to pinpoint any point where I’m wrong. Tell me what you want to protest – what’s wrong that we need to fix. Or admit you’re just “angry” for the sake of it, because it makes you feel like you’re right and its satisfying.

• Jayk
      You bet I am angry . And any one , yes You Jayk, who thinks that we have nothing to be angry about is deluded . You are deluded .
      Like I already said , You are full of it. Now don’t bother reply .You are wasting MY time .

• JayK 18/11/12 #

For the third time, WHAT are you angry about? WHAT do you want to change?

No one knows because no one has a clue what they want to protest. Only vague concepts like “rights” and “regulation” and “suicide”. The Americans wanted to overturn the Dodd-Frank Act and repeal Citizens United. We want more rights! Like the right not to have suicide!

That doesn’t make any sense. You don’t have to agree with the government, but you have to know what you’re disagreeing with. Then maybe you can protest.

• Jayk
      I can only take from your insistence at demanding an answer from me that
      I make sense in my many comments on this site .
      You must be quite comfortable in your life that you can afford dinner Every day
      and you can heat your home and that you are up to date with your bills … Happy Days !
      You are one of the I am alright Jack Brigade .Good for you Jayk . Now go away and
      leave me alone I am busy trying to keep my family safe !

• good points, John, Stephen and Mike.

• Michael 14/11/12 #

Rolling back unaffordable entitlements to the public is not a politically expedient thing to do, it seems.

• Having a hearty chuckle at the anti-establishment warriors on here hoping there’s violence, riots and chaos in Ireland at such protests.

And then the same people yelp “BRUTALITY!!! BRUTALITY!!!” and demand an inquest when the Gardai fight back.

Guys, if this is what you want, I hope you end up in the thick of it and get a trip to A&E or worse. Violence solves nothing but if it’s violence YOU want, I hope it’s violence YOU get.

• I agree John. But equally on the other side of the coin it is those with opinions like yours that add fuel to a fire that wouldn’t exist had it not been for the failings of those who ‘lead’ our country. People should have the right to vocalise that at the very least should they not? Unless of course we send a load of them to Australia and shoot the rest of them! Hang on…that sounds familiar…

• @ John Donovan you and people like epitomize everything that is wrong with Ireland . Yourself and cian should get a room , pair of tossers .

• John,
      So I make a statement against violence and those calling for it, and I’M everything that is wrong with Ireland?

Big words from another armchair warrior. Talkers, not doers.

• Anti Establishment warriors?
      Who would they be ?
      Have you proof or links to back up your comments?
      People are on here commenting on their upset and to be honest hoping that the government will see how serious their pushing is damaging people’s lives.
      The ONLY one spouting violence is YOU.
      Are you an antagonist ?
      Agent Provocateur ?
      NASTY NASTY.

• Germany started war world one & two. Now riot spreads all over Europe by Germany too…..isn’t it time for EC to expel Germany?

• Interesting the view of most people here that Ireland has sat on its arse and done nothing while the world view is that we are the only ones WORKING our way through this…

• The left yet again hell bent on causing violence and destruction. A despicable bunch.

Add New Comment