TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 11 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Poll: Should the retirement age of 65 be scrapped?

Workers are generally required to retire at the age of 65 – but a new opposition party Bill argues that this is discrimination based on age. What do you think?

Image: Africa Studio via Shutterstock

IRELAND CURRENTLY REQUIRES most workers to retire at the age of 65 – but an opposition party motion is calling on this to be scrapped.

Fianna Fáil is putting forward a Bill which would allow employees who want to keep working after 65 to continue to do so rather than be required to retire. The party argues that it is discrimination on the basis of age to force retirement on people at a certain age.

Proponents argue that the retirement age was brought in at a time when life expectancy was much lower and people are now living much longer and healthier lives after retirement, meaning many are capable of working far past the age of 65. Opponents say that people are entitled to retire after most will have worked for more than 40 years – and that abolishing the retirement age means it will be far more difficult for younger people to enter the jobs market as older people remain in jobs for longer, stifling the jobs market.

So today we’re asking: should Ireland scrap the retirement age of 65?

Poll Results:

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (60 Comments)

• a fair few companies let people work on anyway my father worked till he was 70 and only stopped because the company shut down.a chap i work with gets a review every six months and he can work on.if people want to work on fair enough but it shouldnt be scrapped or even raised

• My employment contract states 65.The state pension if there is one for me is 68.

• My Dad is 65 in January and being forced to retire, He is perfectly healthy and happy in his work and would love to continue working. He has another 20-30 years of life ahead of him faced with nothing to do every day. The motion proposed if people would read it properly is IF people want to work on after reaching 65 they should be allowed to do so.

• It’s naked ageism to force him to retire if he can still do his work.

• He only has nothing to do if he chooses to do nothing. Does his employer dictate his activities after he finishes??
      Why not look into setting up something himself?

• @Paul

Good point my father has done this, he retired last year at the age of 60. But let’s be honest setting up a business from scratch at that age isn’t for everybody.

If someone can still do a job at 65 (probably better than a graduate) and they want to keep doing it, then that is blatant discrimination to force them to retire.

• Yeah, I agree about forced retirement, I was just highlighting that retirement isn’t necessarily the end.

• Like Colette says – READ the Motion operative word is – IF –
      I have seen too many friends die within 2 years of retirement because they were FORCED to retire.
      It should be the Individuals CHOICE
      Closely related to this is that benefits stop accruing after 40 years work, whether you are state or private employed yet you still keep paying the same pension contribution. So you could end up paying 49 years contributions and get a pension based on 40 years

• I don’t wana work after 55 ( i wish) never mind 65! Let the younger people have there chance.

• Exactly, we as a country don’t have jobs for the younger generation, never mind a retirement age until we sort out the biggest problem first

• Who’s going to pay for your retirement. The ratio of workers to pensioners is approaching 1:1. When the French set 65 as the state retirement age it as the countries life expectancy.

• I will be 68 in 2051…..god that’s depressing enough without this shower of sh*tes making me work longer…..

• Ripedoffagain, there is no connection between the availability of work for young people and older people carrying on working. The very idea is absurd and illogical.

• Aaron 21/11/12 #

William what absurd or illogical about it? Old person retires = position available for someone else.

• Aaron, search below for my comment re JCB’s v spades v spoons.

OK, “Old Person retires”, his salary drops from €2,000 per month to €800, stops going to the pub because he can’t afford it, ditto a few other “old” friends, pub lays off young bar man and €1200/mth in earnings is lost to the economy in total. It’s MUCH better that the young person gets his own job and doesn’t pinch someone else’s.

Furthermore if it’s logical to fire him at 65 to create a job for a young person, why not 60, 55, 50, 45, 40……….

PS What’s an “old person”? What age is this?

Is the age of retirement today to be based on when office staff in the 1930’s retired and when people died around 65?

• Aaron 21/11/12 #

Well we can follow on from your example.

‘Old person’ and four of his friends retire and can’t go for their few pints so the pub has to let a member of staff go. Thats unfortunate but then you have the other side of the coin.

‘Younger person’ and four of his friends take up the available positions. They now have more money in their pockets, they drink more than the guys who have had to retire so the pub has to hire two extra members of staff to cope with demand.

Of course it’s much better if the younger person got his own job and didn’t pinch someone elses but there are limited positions out there. If we don’t want our young people emigrating then we need to ensure there’s either enough new jobs created each year to cope with the demand (which is near impossible at the minute) or that there is a set age where people retire.

And personally I would rate anyone classed as a senior citizen as an old person.

• Jeyus people get fierce stressed and upset on these posts………….it’s great reading.
      All I can say is I have been working for 22 years , never unemployed , thank t f , I enjoy my work but enjoy my family and time off more , hence IF I had saved enough money to retire at 55 I will , if not I I’ll keep working , no big deal. Everyone to here own.

• There aren’t “limited positions out there”. Unemployment is entirely caused by excessive government spending and interference in people’s lives and business. If there was a much smaller government, there would be full employment. Two young people I know got jobs in the last few weeks, in fact one of them has since been offered a better job. By firing the working older person, the economy loses out. If the fired, unemployable older person stays unemployed for the next 30 years, the economy is permanently damaged. If the young person makes or gets his own job the economy is improved. btw The same argument used to be made about working women, that they took men’s jobs. Did you know that?

You can’t say that the young people working would put back the lost job. They might spend their money on crack cocaine! At any rate the best would be the status quo, no improvement in the economy. If a young person in Ireland can’t get a job, then p1ss off elsewhere and stop whining! Ryanair will get you to London for €40.

Aaron, why did you ignore this point as it logically follows on from your argument, “Furthermore if it’s logical to fire him at 65 to create a job for a young person, why not 60, 55, 50, 45, 40……….”

Do you think spoons beat spades beat JCBs?

• There isn’t a limited amount of jobs out there. There is infinite amounts. There are jobs out there that people couldn’t imagine 20 years ago. Invent something, create something new and work at it. We don’t need people to die or quit their jobs in order to create new jobs.

• Depends on the job. Ask anybody who is subject to targets and whose work and pay is based on measured micro managed results or heavy physical work ,if they want to continue after reaching the age and i think the answer would be clear. But there are jobs that are not too taxing where it would be grand to carry on

• tom 21/11/12 #

it’s age discrimination forcing someone to leave their job at 65.

• You should be allowed to work on – no company should be allowed to make you retire unless you are fit and able.

However, there should be no requirement to work on – people retiring at 65,66,67 (as per suggested new rules) should be able to retire on full benefits.

I would hope to be able to consult 2-3 days per week from 60, 55 if I’m lucky, and I’ll work on from that for as long as is practical.

• The new rules aren’t for when you retire, they’re for when the State will graciously hand out your contributory pension.

• Sure.

I know you can retire when you like. What I mean (I wasn’t clear here, sorry) is that the state should still pay a full pension from that age, should the person require it. Right now there is an incentive to work until 65 over 60, but there’s no incentive to work until 70 from the state, over 65.

I wouldn’t like to see a sliding scale of pension appear, all state benefits should be at the same rate, activated on retirement, whether you choose to work on, or not.

As people have said here already, the condition of 65 year olds can largely be influenced by the nature of their work. There shouldn’t be an improved pension @70, 75 or whatever enticing them to work on in a job that’s breaking their back – certainly not the state pension anyway

• The state pension age has already increased by 3 years? Its amazing that in France when they increased the pension age the government were met by mass-strikes, road blocks, flying pickets, riots, mass civil-disobedience, student-occupations, teach-ins, sit-ins and occupations.

In this country we didn’t even get a whimper. Shame on the union leaders for not standing up for basic pension rights!

• FFS. As things stand I’ve got to work until 67 before I’m entitled to a state pension.

• this isn’t black and white at all.

• In RTE you can work till your 80 years old Gay Byrne Jimmy McGee Larry Gogan and Mihael O Mureatagh. Its now fair on the young people because they can’t get jobs.

• Nigel 21/11/12 #

I recently watched a TV documentary on BBC 1 called The town that wouldn’t retire. It came just short of proving that people over 65 can find it much harder to work hence medical problems, attention span and so forth. It is possible to work on after 65, but in reality most people would find it hard.

BBC1: http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p00tt325/episodes/guide

• Will be 67 before I can retire and receive the state pension :-(

• That’s if they don’t move the goal posts in the meantime. Realistically it’ll prob be 70 for those of us in our 30′s

• If Fianna Fail get re-elected (god forbid), they will raise it to 70. This is wrong. This does not have the shape or character of the kind of policy needed to improve the Irish workforce. Fianna Fail previously tried another controversial tactic: cut the minimum wage for the most vulnerable.

Why should someone earning €20 EUR per hour tell someone earning €8.65 EUR per hour and say ‘you’re earning too much’?

GOOD RIDDANCE TO FIANNA FAIL.

• God help the person who tries and make me retire when I’m still hale and hearty.

• I think, like many outdated laws, it should be updated as an option to be considered by the individual

• I voted no, but I do agree that there should not be compulsory retirement either

• once you retire you should remain.retired (from public service) there are loads of instances especially in teaching where they retire yet can get work after in supervision at expense of newly qualified teacher

• on the other side of the argument i have known people i have worked with that when reaching retirement age would have been happier staying in employment,and were quite capable of continuing on

• They’d want to enforce the existing law first, on politicians retiring at 50!

• They will soon force you to carry on working until you are 80 to save money.:((((((

• Well I hope not to be wiping my bosses arse, after kissing it all day!

• For those interested in ‘working beyond retirement’, they might find the following site helpful – http://www.ventureforward.ie

• And let Gilmore’s wife can work forever even with a huge pension.

• We should have the option to retire. It should not be mandatory because it gives employers the oportunity to let you go, and then offer you re-employment at a lower rate. This is what they are doing.

• Nobody should have to retire unless he/ she wants to….basic common sense. Most cultures recognise that it is the older who are wiser!

• If any thing retirement should be earlier than 65, it would open up more jobs for the younger generation a 20 year old would be far more productive than a 60 year old counting down the days till his retirement.

• That’s bullshit. Statistics show that countries with better employment practices for the over-60s also have higher rates of employment for the under 25s. Think about it. A 60 year old has a wealth of experience that a 20 year old just couldn’t have. It’s never a straight swap.

We need to look at alternatives, like time-banking and job sharing, to enable a phased retirement while increasing young peoples’ participation in the labour market.

• That’s a ridiculous idea it would create a completely unsustainable pensions bill if you were to have everybody in their mid-50s or early 60s claiming an old age pension until they are close to 80 or over?

Personally i think they should scrap the retirement age… thats not saying they should force everyone to work until an older age but they should give people the choice if they are fit and able to continue to work and want to do so …

The retirement was formulated when general life expectancy was in the 70s and now that it is pushed up and with better medical advancements people are well able to work longer….

• I agree Peter and many people believe in this daft illogical notion. I remember an analogy, when it was claimed JCBs did men out of work with spades someone suggested that we would have full employment if they used spoons instead of spades.

• I shall be 67 or 68 before I shall recieve any pension !!

• age is only a number, if you reach 65 you should be required to have a medical every year to see if you are fit to work

• I expect that the time will soon come that if somebody lives long enough to reach retirement age, it will be on the national news along with a holograph of the event.

Add New Comment