TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 14 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Cork City Councillor defends protest that disrupted meeting

The meeting was abandoned after household charge protestors unfurled banners and shouted slogans from the public gallery.

A still from a YouTube video of the meeting
Image: Houlies via YouTube

A CORK CITY Councillor has defended the actions of protestors that led to a council meeting being abandoned last night.

The fortnightly Cork City Council meeting started at around 5.30pm and the protestors, numbering up to 60 people, entered the public gallery at about 7.15pm. They were part of an anti-Household Charge Campaign and are also opposed to water charges.

A previous Cork City Council meeting also saw similar protests taking place in October. Workers Party Councillor Ted Tynan said at last night’s meeting the protestors “upped the ante” and “pushed the boat out”.

Last night, Lord Mayor John Buttimer told TheJournal.ie that he had to abandon the meeting because of “constant shouting and barracking, abuse, catcalling and chanting”, and the “non-willingness” of protestors allow the council to continue.

Protests

Cllr Ted Tynan told TheJournal.ie that the people entered the galleries of the City Hall as the meeting was going through its normal business. “They proceeded to disrupt the meeting as a formal protest against the imposition of household and water charges. It was noisy but it was peaceful. It was determined. There was no aggression about it,” he said.

The protestors, who chanted slogans like ‘No way, we won’t pay’,  would not leave when requested by the Lord Mayor, and the meeting was suspended so that it could be resumed when they left. However the protestors “continued to shout slogans, make noise, a general nuisance of themselves”, said Tynan. He said that a number of councillors stayed in the chamber and decided not to leave until the protestors did.

Houlies/YouTube

The Lord Mayor then suspended the meeting indefinitely, said Cllr Tynan, adding that councillors were requested to leave and eventually did at around 10pm. Councillors and protestors were out on the landing outside the chamber, said Tynan, and the remaining councillors left via a side entrance to the chamber.

Gardaí were called to the scene and several of them dealt with the situation, but there were no arrests. They asked the protestors to leave, said Cllr Tynan.

When asked about whether protests at a council meeting are beneficial in any way to the anti-household charge protest, Cllr Tynan said: “It’s a political forum.” He said that if councillors “stood up and agreed with motions that would be criticising government austerity programmes, and cutbacks” this “would have some political clout”.

Read: Cork City Council meeting abandoned after property tax protests>

Read next:

Comments (26 Comments)

• “upped the ante and pushed the boat out”? What was he on?

• Hopefully the start of the wider public action against these cuts. Prime law must play its part.

• Fair play to Rebel Cork. This type of direct political pressure and a mass boycott of the Property Tax are the means by which we will prevent the gambling losses of financial speculators being imposed on us via the home tax, water charges etc. We are governed by consent in a democracy. It’s well past time that FG/Labour were finally made to realise that they do not have our permission to bleed this country dry under orders from the Troika. I would encourage everyone who opposes this looting of the Republic to go along to your local meetings and get involved.
    http://nohouseholdtax.org/

• ¡Viva la Revolución!

• Fools 29/01/13 #

Even the councillors are treacherous they obviously dont give a hoot about the people either.It must be a disease of the brain once elected do everything possible not to represent.

• They have a point, the Government Ministers & TD’s are getting massive pay packets & yet grants are being cut left right & centre. There is no evenness of the cuts or spread out fairly. At the same time, Labour & FG don’t really have any choice in what they do totally. Everyone seems to forget that it was FF that led us on this merry dance & Labour & FG are fecked if the do and if they don’t. But the do seem intent on screwing the weaker in society than some of the top class.

• Fairplay to them. This is what needs to happen right across the country. The message Will soon be carried back to central government.

• This needs to be done all across Ireland

• What we need is a strong ethical party who will stand up for the people and get rid of this property tax…a party like Fianna Fáil!!! hahahahahah…..ah no on a serious note to anyone saying the protestors interrupted a democratic process I’d like to point out where has this so called version of democracy practiced in Ireland got us so far I ask ye? Well done to the protestors.

• Fair play to the Cork Campaign . They were there representing the decent people of Ireland who are broke,living on the breadline , can not afford petrol or bus fare, who can not afford to heat their homes and feed themselves. Whose children are going to school hungry, really cannot pay these outrageous taxes on the homes of people already paying taxes.Go after the real culprits and then MAYBE people will be less aggrieved. https://www.facebook.com/CAPTADublinWest?fref=ts Join your local campaign , Organise and form your own campopaign in your locality. It is time to fight back.

• Protest a policy of central government, being implemented and collected by central government by disrupting a meeting of the local council. Makes sense!

• I’m sure the protesters are really sorry for the inconvenience.
      How dare taxpayers that contribute to the councillers wages want to voice their discomfort.

• I’m sure the Cabinet, the ones actually implementing these policies, who are rushing to cut local Government and centralize all local authority powers to themselves, really give a damn that a local council meeting was cancelled as a result of this.

Wrong tax, wrong time but equally the wrong place to voice opposition to it. Ministers need to be disrupted, need to hear the peoples displeasure. Local Councillors don’t have a say at Cabinet. Then again I’m very sure that the protesters and Cllr. Ted Tynan well know this.

• @ Eoin.
      People are so sick of being ignored,sneered at and bullied by this government they are striking out.
      I see where your coming from but this country is like a pot boiling over at the moment.

• Eoin,
      Pressure needs to applied at all levels, ministerial and grass roots. The local elections are in 2014. The message was clear. ‘Axe the tax or watch your vote collapse’. Large numbers of FG and especially Labour councillors need to understand that their seats are gone if their parties continue to implement the austerity policies of the Troika. That pressure will certainly percolate up to the cabinet table. Labour particularly are looking at a massacre in the local elections and rightly so.

• Just to add to Codlers post.
      I would be very surprised if even a small amount of sitting councillers retain their seats after the local elections.
      The last general election gave ff the shock of their lives and it set a trend.

• Eoin

The Household charge / Proterty Tax is to provide for local services or so the we are told.

So disrupting a local council meeting was the correct place to hold the demonstration.

As for the Cabinet (or muppets of Leinser House as I call them), not giving a damn. I totally agree with you they are only concerned about themselves. They can’t see that their actions are affecting their own Party and the election prospects of future candicates.

• chilli16 29/01/13 #

Where’s Julie???? Come in girl! :)

• The Workers Party got 0.1% of the national vote at the last election. They’re a group of communists who don’t believe in democracy. Their disruption of a democratic forum is no surprise.

• David,
      Read the article properly. It was the campaign against the Household tax/Property tax who mounted this protest not the Workers party. The Workers Party member mentioned in the article, Ted Tynan is an elected councillor so presumably he believes in democracy. I think the problem may be that Tynan doesn’t subscribe to the thin veneer of democracy that you support. In this version of ‘democracy’ , FG and Labour get themselves elected under a false manifesto and riding the wave of a huge backlash against the FF crooks and clowns. The new government then reneges on their pre election promises and proceeds to enforce savage austerity on their own people so that they can continue to pay the crippling illegitimate banking debts under orders from Troika. I must be a communist myself because I don’t believe in that travesty of a democracy either.

• I’d be interested to know what was on the council agenda that got put back? Did Housing policy decisions not get made? Did the protesters block and delay community/sports/arts grants from being provided? Did permisison to build community facilities get blocked?
    Protest but dont become another excuse for putting on local decisions…councillors already put off enough.

Add New Comment