TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Monday 20 May, 2013

Cork City Council meeting abandoned after property tax protests

Lord Mayor John Buttimer said the council’s fortnightly meeting could not continue given the “barracking” of protestors.

(YouTube: houlies)

CORK CITY COUNCIL’S fortnightly meeting this evening was abandoned after protestors stormed the council chamber demonstrating their opposition to the property tax.

Proceedings were disrupted for some time as demonstrators chanted slogans against the tax, which is due to come into effect in July.

Protestors chanted, “No way, we won’t pay,” and “Labour out”. A banner reading ‘Axe the tax, or watch your vote collapse’ was also unfurled from a balcony.

Gardaí were called into the chamber in effort to restore calm to proceedings, but disruptions continued, leading Lord Mayor John Buttimer (Fine Gael) to adjourn the meeting.

The council is controlled by Fine Gael and Labour, who are usually supported by Fianna Fáil – though the latter party voted against the council’s Budget for 2013. Of the 31 members, ten come from either Sinn Féin, the Socialist Party, the Workers’ Party or are left-leaning independents.

Buttimer told TheJournal.ie that he had no option to abandon the meeting because of “constant shouting and barracking, abuse, catcalling and chanting”, and the “non-willingness” of protestors allow the council to continue.

He added that while he did not question the demonstrators’ right to protest and to make their voices heard, it was unfortunate that the council’s business could not be dealt with – as there were important local and national matters still to discuss.

“People have a legitimate right to protest and to make their concerns known, but other people also have rights as well. We’re a democratic elected representative council in the city,” Buttimer said.

He added that it was particularly unfortunate that the interruptions came as councillors discussed a council initiative to promote The Gathering and Rebel Week, a Cork-themed event due in October, which could have stimulated the economy and lessened the need for property taxes.

Whips from the various groups would have to meet as soon as possible to fix a time for the council to reconvene and complete its agenda, he added, joking that it was “heartening to see that people see the relevance of Cork City Council as a point of protest”.

A meeting cannot take place for at least five days, as that is the minimum notice period that councillors must be given of any meeting.

This evening’s interruptions are not the first at the council: a meeting was disrupted in October by opponents of repayments to bank bondholders.

Buttimer said the demonstrators were mostly not from the city itself, but from Cóbh, Ballyhea and other areas of the county and beyond.

Previously: Unrest breaks out at Cork City Council meeting

Read next:

Comments (140 Comments)

• The household charge is, we are told, meant to cover the cost of essential local county council services – such as in Sligo’s case, the services of county manager, Hubert Kearns, who, amazingly, gets paid more than the Spanish prime minister. Some might be inclined to conclude that maybe Mr Kearns services aren’t really that essential – in fact, since Sligo council has the highest national level of absenteeism maybe we could save a not-so-small fortune by dispensing with their “essentially absent services”.

It displays a distinct lack of understanding of history to expect hard-pressed citizens – many struggling to feed and clothe their children – to pay yet another tax to self-indulgent “public servants” without the same public servants reaping the inevitable consequences.

• Bang on Keith, we are pickings for fat cats, our politicians are ye start of the gravy train, then the politicians, the bankers, the IMF, ECB, world banking institutions….raping Ireland time over and over….

• The councillors are now just the bag men for this thing. I nearly got the violin out when I heard one if em banging on about how the funding got cut and they might have to close a library if people don’t cough up. These are the very people who doled out planning permission left right and centre to developers and are now still owed millions in fees. They must think we’re muggs.

• They close a library and a fire station before they would reduced their salaries, that shows their priorities…great to have CC’lors with nothing to do except meetings… Not one of them the Balls to stand up for the people…. Remember it at the next election people,…REMEMBER IT…

• Complaining about people rebelling , and the council trying to promote rebel week , funny old world !

• John 28/01/13 #

Fair play to the Cork protesters. If you need a hand on the next protest I hope you will give us a shout. Where have all the Dublin protesters gone? Lets take to the streets and show this shower of robbers and bullies that we will not pay.

• fair play, buttimer is on 110k per year a huge sum for a glorified councillor, perhaps if we didnt pay these fools so much we wouldnt not be taxed so highly

• Up d rebels. :-).

• Fair dues. So long as there was no violence, great to see people standing with each other and peacefully protesting

• Absolutely. Lets celebrate Neanderthals interfering with the Democratic process. Because he who can shout the loudest and elects to do so is always the cleverest man in the room.

• And you’ll get loads of fantastic services for your property tax my hole, you know where the money goes? Back to Our German friends, and when the economy is stripped if all its assets and resources we will be dripfed money for at least a decade until they get the cash back

• This protest is misdirected.
      A household of 4 in Cork or Dublin cities use the same (or less) facilities as a household of 4 in the middle of Leitrim. Why should they pay more?
      Roads, schools, lighting, libraries etc. the city dweller uses less than the country dweller but as usual, the government has the whole thing backwards.

• Is this the government you want after 2016? I hope people vote Fine Gael/Labor out of office. Are you listening Ireland?

• @mark- can you not just change your user name to An Phoblacht and be done with it?

• Fully agree Nigel…the more peaceful protests the better..we’re obviously being let down by a rotten government so time to make some noise.

• @paul,people in towns have street lighting,playgrounds,bus/train facilitys..rural areas have none of these so obvious should pay less

• Well done, let it spread to every council…. If we pay they will pay with their votes at the next election…

• Democratic!…ha! don’t make a fool of yourself please…..

• Great. I totally believe in Peaceful Protests. However I also believe that the ‘Neanderthals interfering with the Democratic Process’ are sitting in the Council and Dail chambers. More and more ‘vociferous’ protests are bound to take place as people find that the basic necessities (food, fuel) are beyond their reach. Due to the stupidity of our last number of governments and the greed of the bankers. By the way is ANYONE being taken ro task for all that or is it just the ordinary everyday citizen*

• They will be gone alright let’s hope they don’t get a single seat between them

• @ vincent dolan. You dont seem to be a very nice person vincent. Your negativity and derogatory responses to other posters on this issue and others is absolutly appaling. You really must have issues that need sorting!!!

• Meh 29/01/13 #

Quick someone set up a facebook page

• @angela- I’m very sorry for defending Democracy from mob justice. That was wrong of me.

• @Steven why should any of us have to pay this extra tax anyway??? We already pay tax for these services and we also paid taxes on our homes when we bought our homes and we also paid taxes on our Mortgage S o again why should we pay this property tax on top of all the rest… Oh yes that’s right it’s a tax that this corrupt government has decided to get from us cos their European buddies want their unsecured bets back

• @ vincent.. what exactly is your definition of ‘mob justice’ surely it isnt ordinary people coming out to voice their personal greivance of what they believe is an unfair and unequal tax, aimed at the less well off in our two tiered society???? Or do you belong to the higher echilons of our country that still believe that the ‘lower class are no better than they should be????

• @ Vincent Dolan, “defending democracy from mob justice” ! Chuckling. I had not realised until now your mastery of the art of low comedy and high farce.

• @angela- mob justice is stopping democratically elected officials from doing their job as they were mandated to do by the majority of people. It’s bullying. Just because you don’t agree with the decisions they’re making – that doesn’t give you the right to disrupt democracy in action. If you want to protest- picket, send emails, put up posters…..

• @peter- full of surprises I am.

• @ vincent. Isnt the meaning of democracy ‘freedom of speech’??? So where exactly does ‘ mob justice’ fit in with that?? A peaceful demonstration of peacful people demonstrating their democratic right to free speech, which may i remind u, that this country fought long and hard to attain. Are u saying that they no longer can excercise this right??

• @angela- like any right, freedom of speech can’t be exercised at the expense of others. The protestors denied the Councillors freedom of speech. They could have made their point outside the building. With that I will bid you goodnight.

• Is this a democracy or not, im now informed that if i dont pay the household charge revenue will not issue me with a tax clearance cert, if i havent got this cert im out of business,any comments or advice on this one.

• Well technically you are not tax compliant if you have not paid a tax, so I can see the argument in not using you with a tax clearance cert. These are the costs of civil disobedience.

• Finally the dog is biting back. Good

• Vincent is the troll for the establishment , he’s the hired goon whose sole job it is to make the establishment look decent and ordinary folks look bad, he is best ignored by by all, just see him as a fool who is hired to do a job

• I dont see this as disobedience i supply my own water dispose of my own refuse and paid 7000 for a waste disposal system, i recycle almost everything and use the local council controlled dump at my expense, i supply my own lighting,transport, etc so what have i to gain.

• It’s not true democracy if it’s only once every few years during elections. After that people don’t really get much say in what happens. Illusion of democracy

• You idiots saying its a waste of time should look at history , nothing has ever been achieved without protest and civil disobedience . You sit on your arses criticizing protestors calling them lefties , they are the only ones trying to reign in this out of control situation we are in , you make me sick . FOOLS .

• @ John. They are on the ropes with their arses on the way out.
      A lot (no all) people against protests are party members that are online and under orders to spin.
      Fair play to the protesters and as long as this shower exist there will be peaceful protests.
      Well done.

• Fair play to Cork! The Rest of the country take note and get up of your couches and rise up! It’s time. From a fellow country man Dub!!

• That’s four posts asserting an “attack on democracy”. Three others express a similar sentiment although not in those precise words. I saw no reports of violence, no reports of attacks on property and no reports of attacks on persons. What on earth did the protestors do to be depicted as attacking democracy. Please explain how such assertions of attacks on democracy are proportionate and factually justified.

It seems that vocal opposition to the property tax is unacceptable to some of the posters here.

Other countries have a more developed notion of political opposition and the expression by those who are governed.

The citizens have a right to voice opposition and protest. We have freedom of expression ans freedom of assembly in Ireland.

If the anger of the people cannot be vented and given expression, suppression will give rise to more extreme expression.

It is a little emotive and perhaps even a little silly to be invoking threats to democracy . It says much more about the posters than it does about what happened.

From a civil liberties perspective we have to be on the look out for the actions of those who would seek to deprive us of our freedoms and liberties. It is too early to say if this is an unhealthy sign but austerity can eventually cause those on the extreme right to become fascist in outlook and later in their actions. We need to be vigilant about those who would condemn civic protest.

When our politicians are deaf, we have to raise our voices.

• Excellent post,I agree we must treat every protest individually.if I go to a protest I would be really disappointed with any anger directed towards the guards ,peaceful protest is something we are entitled to,just as entitled as every public servant is to their salary,but,this entitlement is something which our ruling / managing class has lost perspective on.when we had more money in state coffers the promotions and salary hikes were regular and above inflation usually ,so as to stop the private sector running away with itself like,what should have happened was more control exerted on keeping the country on an even keel,we now have no money,it’s a new world.
      So,I think that salary cuts and perk abolition should be implemented across the board at the highest level of public Office.having county managers on 150,000 when they consistently have no control is insulting ,and is only tolerated because their “team” are on similar wages.last year in local authority’s there was as much money lost from not collecting rates and rent and cost overruns as this years property tax will cost! That’s not right,that proves the point that the council system ,if operated correctly,actually works without having to implement a property tax!
      Transparency should be the tool to get councils in order,corruption and cronyism is endemic
      What’s that up in the public gallery?? thats the public!

• Agree. The real attacks on democracy are coming from exactly those posters who believe anyone who protests or steps out of line is “attacking democracy”. They don’t know the meaning of the word “democracy”.

• Sitting on ones arse and doing nothing is a waste of time. We need lots more protests. I say well done to all involved.

• Councillors can work on behalf of the people by putting pressure on the government to put a halt to this property tax that the constituents did not vote for.

• Don’t let them divide us and conquer! It’s an old classic tactic of divide and conquer across all sectors people! Not much brains behind it as its as old as your great great granddad it’s that transparent! Don’t follow like sheep and let it happen!

• Sure is right to protest, is that not a fundamental right of every citizen of a republic to do if he or she thinks something is wrong, see the media grays over any stories according to the government who is in power at the time, and the media have to follow like sheep, big pat on the back to the Citizens of Ireland and the people of cork to show such courage, the people have a right to protest if they think goes again the constitution, and i dont mean the amended bs one thats flying about for the bankers and fat cat politicians, i mean the ORIGINAL constitution

• well boys and girls its great to see some energy on such an issue its only a pity there was no energy for this back in 2008 when the government decided to sign up this country to the bank guarantee. this is where “further European integration will get us”. europe and the euro uis completely dead. Our only chance is to get out of the euro and bring back our own currency. Tell the banks go to hell default and let them all go bust. the European union was supposed to be this all singing and dancing situation which would bring jobs for everyone under the guise of liberalization of markets and bringing down trade tariffs. what has been the result 15 percent unemployment rate and it would be higher if it were not for the best and brightest of our younger generation departing this country. Federalization is the next s..t storm coming down the pipeline from the euronazies. In 1921 we had the free state is it possible that by 2021 we will be deferring to an unelected bureaucrat in Brussels or isn’t that what we are doing at the moment. We have an an economic goldfish in a tank of piranhas

• A rebel week every week from now until May!

• The fightback has started. Three cheers to the Cork Rebels. The Property/Bondholder Tax WILL be defeated. Every candidate at the next general election will be asked to repeal this tax and only those opposing this CRAZY tax will have any chance of being elected.

• Fair play to them, more of the same is needed. This is an adjust tax and should be labelled the family home tax in its current form.

If Local Authority taxes are needed firstly the waste needs to be cut from the various councils and we need to get proper services for this charge such as refuse collection amongst others like our other EU counterparts…. Just a thought

• Peaceful protest was tried and has not been listened to……….so what do you suggest cllr as an alternative?

• I would imagine he would like to shut up, go home, go online, maybe register, pay your raft of new taxes without a sigh, fill the council pockets shortchanged by the government so the councillor can finally claim their travel expenses and training….. what a deduction…..

• Great to see Cork showing the way. Get the pressure on these councillors and all other elected reps. Maybe then they will start listening.

• Sure they know what we’re saying ,they just won’t budge ,they think they have given enough with pay cuts,it’s an indictment on the character of ministers to not be giving more back voluntarily,and doctors,and judges,and state lawyers,these are all positions where the aim of the job is to do good,but that is outweighed by what these people think of themselves.democracy is ‘social and political equality’,maybe that’s why our leaders don’t want it,they prefer …money,attack on democracy ?

• It’s not hard to spot the FG/LB members here who refuse to accept the right to protest as set out in the constitution it is obvious they are afraid this will spread to all council meetings then civil unrest will be impossible to stop and where will they turn if that should come to pass

• Fair play you guys wish more groups would stand up and fight like this !!! Saturday protests are useless well done.

• Disgraceful comments from the usual trolls. I think you’ll find that far from polling in “double figures” it is precisely these genuine left wing activists who will be following in Joe Higgins footsteps and hammering Labour in the elections over the next number of years. As for the ridiculous comments about expenses being “trousered” all expenses are published on an annual basis and I think you’ll find they go into the building of campaigns like the one that has beaten the household charge and will beat the property tax. Or maybe we should all just sit back and continue to allow the sacrificing of our people at the altar of the bondholders?

• Just to note Iceland won their landmark decision not to pay the bank debt back until they can afford it. Why can’t we. The property tax (heist) is actually just to subsidise all the other cash that’s gone to service our bank bailout debt. Which at 3.5% is so far beyond our means that long after we own no Forrest, gas, electricity boards or anything else we will still be so far in debt even bob geldoff and bono would have to admit was beyond saving. Jobs for the boys for the secure future of the boys. While the rest of us are told we should not have sky on our tv which we pay so handsomely every year with our licence to watch the rest of our elected councillors representatives have more fingers in more pies than silvio berlusconi could manage.

• Eh Paddy Murray, I think you’ll find its perfectly within the remit of Dail representatives to use expenses in the carrying out of their mandate. Especially when that mandate is to fight austerity. http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/ireland/2012/1020/1224325504143.html

• FG, LAB and FF have done everything possible to get SF into power, mark my words…

• Yes….time to shut down all councils and government and bring back democracy! Oh….sorry…Im getting all confused!

• Great to see

• Dave Higgins your a fg clown always here bad mouthing anybody that has an opinion that doesnt reflect yours what ever happened to the fg promise of looking for a write down of debt and wheres the jobs they promised and everytn else they have failed on, it is our civic duty to protest against policies that drive the working class into poverty

• http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXq8rELhUkw

perfect song for Cllr Gibbon, the protesters were there to show him how lol

• there not the true patriots and true political believers that man with the bald head and big nose calls people who pay tax and don’t ask why or where it goes as long as it doesnt really bother them who cares about others or the future generations………….welcome to modern ireland folks no guts, no will and the nation more easily divided than ever

• Don’t engage the likes of Vincent Dolan or David higgins etc. in a debate or discussion. Don’t even reply or respond to the party trolls, just ignore them and debate with others that make valid and realistic points!

• One things for certain – VD has no friends!! Lol! Fair play to those people who exercised their right to protest last night. It’s a disgusting, unfair, nasty
    tax which reflects the qualities of those hell bent on introducing it.

• 29/01/13 #

I’d rather listen to the protesters than the spin and lies spuoted from councilors and politicians mouths

• Oh that will make a difference al right. As for big salaries ask Lefties like Joe Higgins, Rich Boy Barrett and their mates how much of our money they trouser, tax free, in so called expenses and allowances every month.

• It seems to me that they picked the wrong venue to protest in. City hall and the councilors have absolutely nothing to do with the implementation of the Property Tax – that’s a matter for the Dáil. Take the protest to the public gallery in the Dáil, if nothing else the TD’s will hear you and you might even get on the 6.01 news. It seems that City Hall was chosen because of convenience and nothing else. Councilors may belong to the major Political Parties – but they are not Legislators, they are merely local representatives.

• A lot of people appear to think that being elected to either a Council or the Dail means you are given free reign to implement what ever policy you and your cronies decide on. When does any elected official hold a public meeting to ask their electorate what policy they wanted. The only time they listen is when they are forced to by protesters.

• YES there is another way Cllr Ger, its for people like you and your party to live up to your promises and vote against these austerity budgets -not for them.

dont give us the usual excuses and rightwing waffle of theres not alternative.

Better a noisy honest protestor than a quiet mannerly liar who speaks with fork tongue and exists for self interest!

• @Gavin ,double posts now going to different people,gremlins and trolls eh

• IRONY – “I agree with peoples right to protest, its part of our democratic system” – “But please dont do it in my council chamber because then it is against our democratic process”

what democratic process? the one where citizens are forced to go hungry – to emigrate -to suicide because their money must pay for others gambling debts?
    where the poor must pay for the rich and their politicians all the time take salary increases and hire their cronies as advisor’s and stand over corrupt bankers and their obscene pensions?

Is this the democratic process that must be defended at all costs and has come under such huge threat by a few noisy protesters? – ha ha ha

• John 29/01/13 #

Can I suggest that Vincent Dolan get the hell off this site and find one that might tolerate him. I ask the Journal to ban him, as he is a complete niusance to other commenters.

• If you want a voice at council, run for council.

Yes we have democratic freedoms to protest, but that right does not extend to the disruption of other democratic institutions like a council.

• Its the voice of opposition these protesters are doin a valid job and if it takes disturbing the councils to be heard them so be it, councils represent the people or they are supposed to so lets see more protests and disruption until these clowns represent the people like they were voted to do

• Councils have very limited power so I’m not sure what more representation you can achieve from blocking their meetings.

If you really want to disrupt things you’d be best storming the Dáil and shutting it down. After all that’s where these laws originate in the first place….

• And seriously cut the crap about your whacky protests having support from “the people”.

Cork City is controlled by Fine Gael, Labour AND Fianna Fáil. Combined they stand on 61% in the opinion polls released over the weekend.

This is nothing more than a cynical attempt by Sinn Féin, Socialists and other lefty pinkos to get their names in the local paper and advanced their high-tax agenda.

• It is the PEOPLE who refuse to pay, your 61% is as farcical as your media controlled RTE, you feed and breed lies and nothing but lies. Nothing can be believed with FG and LABOUR promises, including figures, percentages right down to their statements.

• Opinion polls use scientific statistical methods. Despite them showing a rebound for Fianna Fáil and huge gains for Sinn Féin I believe them to be accurate.

• You’ll see a rebound at the next election and your betters can already see the effects of their loyalties to the people of Ireland.

• censored 29/01/13 #

“scientific statistical methods” begorrah!!!

But they only tell the truth when the numbers line up with your prejudices, eh David?

• I trust opinion polls no matter what they say as long as they are from reputable polling companies. Both RedC and B&A show Fine Gael in the late 20s last weekend. We’d lose more than a dozen seats on those numbers. I don’t like that outcome, but I accept that’s what the numbers show.

• A disgusting attack on a democratically elected representative body! These sort of people are the loopy lefties who run for election and poll in the double figures. This was an attack on democracy.

Also, you have to pay your taxes. It’s the law. You may not like it but you must. I hate that some of my substantial tax payments go to housing travelers and uganda and the like but I pay anyway.

• While protesting is fine, my concern is it will achieve nothing. While I understand the anger over the property tax, I think it’s not the main issue, how about people focus on how and where are current taxes are spent? It seems we’re focused on a symptom and not the problem. How come no one protests against a lot of our taxes going into black holes with no value to the country? It’s been happening for years and years…

• It was a waste of time they will still have to pay the property tax

• I wish these rich property owners would just pay their tax and shut up. If I refused to pay my rent I’d be turfed out.

• Awful night in City Council. I have no issue with a peaceful protest but I feel theirs is a treat to democracy. Shouting and abusing councillors while they conduct their business and work on behalf of the people who elected them will not solve any problems. There must be another way.

• That is democracy cllr you fool .

• “Protest beyond the law is not a departure from democracy; it is absolutely essential to it.”

― Howard Zinn

• If you don’t like it, then maybe you should start listening to what they are saying.

• shut up Gibbons this country is a dictatorship, there is no democracy, there is criminals aiding other criminals and ye pathetic cllrs are worse than useless I’m sure the brave protesters didn’t disrupt much a bunch a gombeens eating donuts and cappachinos on the tax payers expense

• MR PUBLIC SERVANT , you need to start doing what your paid to do. Remember , you work for “us ” , not the state

• Democracy!? Who’s democracy…yours?
      Democracy can be found in very little quantity around Ireland today with bank debts and taxes imposed on the people WITHOUT their consent or approval.
      Decisions made by politicians that contravened European laws, taxes imposed by world banking institutions implemented in turn by politicians who supposedly represented the people for fat pay cheques and gold plated pensions?
      Don’t make me laugh….

• With such a comment it seems you may be part of the problem endemic to Irish politics….comply, pay up, go home… Anything else? Oh yea…shut up! …This is a democracy…

• John
      Did you just say that screaming at and abusing a County Councillor who is doing his elected work is a democracy at work?
      Have you kids John? Would they be ashamed of you John?

• Don’t worry about the above comments Ger, people on this site always result to name calling when they have nothing better or constructive to say. Keep up the good work representing your constituents.

Not a huge fan of Labour, but at least they understand the basic principle of democracy and freedom of assembly.

The protests tonight were nothing more than attention seekers looking to grab headlines and avoid their taxes.

• David and Ger….pally pally, you both are on the same sinking boat….

• How dare you Higgins, avoid my taxes!? You are pompous to say the least. The 67billion Cowan and Lenihan and their cohorts nailed to my forehead in my eyes condemned me and my family to slavery for years to come. The appointed EXECUTIONERS under false pretence to these ruthless, illegal activities are FG and LABOUR. ALL are responsible for the state we are in, so PLEASE do NOT tell me that the 67billion illicit blanket debt is MY tax to pay…it is the greatest lie on the history of the Irish state no matter how you dress it Higgins….

• May i pose a question to you mr councillor gibbons?? Are you so busy that it takes 5 days notice to convene another meeting?? Surely if the adgenda was that important, an urgent meeting should be called in the next 48 hours and not 5 days??? Just curious as to why it takes the best part of a week. Are ye really that busy?? Doing what exactly???

• @ Cllr Ger Gibbons, will you be formally complaining to An Garda Siochana of sedition and violent revolution?

How many people were attacked, hoe much damage to property has been done and are all the Councillors and Lord Mayor under Garda protection? Has the army been mobiles, civil right suspended, martial law declared and a curfew imposed?

Oddly enough, and I can’t understand why, the international news media have not picked up on the reports of breakdown in law and order and the start of the Irish revolution.

It sounds like serious stuff! Is this the start of the collapse of society?

Thank you for warning us. Sadly the domestic Irish media seems to be playing this down. You would think from the media that there was only shouting, barracking and jeering. How bad was it? Are you physically injured and how many are in hospital tonight? From your account it sounds much worse that the Belfast flags riots.

• And I hope you remember your words Cllr Ger when at the next protest your pals decide to send out the riot Garda… (who were incidentally traing a week before the budget)
      Because believe it or not, quiet protesting and the occasional voice here and there has had little to no effect in the last 5 years+ times are on the change, people are sick of it, it seems that in order to be heard….

• The weather looks very sunny Mr Stephan in that picture you have there. It’s amazing how people can stretch to the annual holiday in ‘de Spaint’ and keep the Sky box with sports package along all of the taxes they have to pay…

Then again, I guess people in council houses can throw stones – sure won’t they state come along and fix the broken windows… and where does that money come from – oh that’s right, the taxpayer!

• Ryan Doh’ who ever you are behind that pseudonym.

Lovely picture indeed, have a few more also and absolutely enjoy my 6 weeks holiday a year, hard earned and well spent make no mistake.
      No council houses around here nop, countryside, fields and our few horses, if you want council estates you’ll have to travel a bit further at least the ones you are on about… broken windows!? last one about 8 years ago when my daughter broke it with her ball, ….actually I’ve totally missed your point…… Except to say, ALL paid for by me… Sorry….

• Sorry no sky sports package either! Never had one and actually considered cancelling Netflix! :-)
      As for my daughters they’d rather saddle up everyday… Damn!! Do I have to sell my horses to pay more taxes!? God damn….goodnight Mr d’oh!

• Riot police, plastic bullets and water cannons needed…

Add New Comment