TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 17 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

Croke Park talks needed in ‘six to eight months if not sooner’ – Varadkar

Transport Minister Leo Varadkar has said that negotiations over the extension or renegotiation of the Croke Park Agreement will be needed within the “next six to eight months if not sooner”.

Leo Varadkar
Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

TRANSPORT MINISTER LEO Varadkar has said that negotiations over either extending the Croke Park Agreement or formulating a new deal on public sector pay and work practices will be needed in the next ‘six to eight months if not sooner’.

The agreement on public sector pay being maintained in return for changes  in working practices in the public service runs until 2014 but has come under increasing scrutiny in recent months amid calls for the issue of pay to be tackled by the government.

Last week Health Minister James Reilly indicated that the deal may need to re-examined because of the budget over run in the health service.

In today’s Sunday Independent, Education Minister Ruairí Quinn is quoted as saying “everything” should be on the table in any negotiations.

Varadkar told RTÉ’s This Week that the position of the government was that the current deal runs until 2014 and the government is bound by it.

But he said that negotiations on extending it or formulating a successor to the agreement will be needed to get underway within months.

“We can talk about renegotiating it before it expires,” he told RTÉ Radio.

“The current agreement stands and stands until 2014 but obviously if we’re going to negotiate an extension to the agreement that has to start before 2014.

“It probably has to start in the next six to eight months if not sooner.”

Varadkar said that it was important that any deal which succeeds the Croke Park Agreement is not the “same old Croke Park” and said we need to talk about “other things”.

He continued: “What is very important to me, is that if we do have an extension of Croke Park or a successor agreement to Croke Park that it’s not just the same old Croke Park deal.

“We need to be able to talk about other things and Ruairí Quinn said that everything should be on the table.”

Read: Reilly indicates renegotiation of Croke Park Agreement may be needed

Read: Everything you need to know about the Croke Park Agreement

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (68 Comments)

• Once Leo includes TDs wages, expenses limit and vouched only expenses, limiting of pensions and golden handshake to failed top civil servants and ministers. I’d be in favour of a new agreement once it maintains pay for frontline staff.

• What are the chances of that happening, A better chance of a turkey volunteering on christmas day!

• Agree 100% frontline staff cannot be touched if anything some the cuts they already have had should be reversed,it’s the management and the rest that need to sorted out,people getting paid to have lunch at a desk is crazy that’s just one of many perks that need to be cut never mind talked about …cannot see the awl unions playing ball thou,sure they the biggest winners on croke park along with that moron from the labour relations court,

• Have you ever seen Varadkar’s black Mercedes? I parked next to it once. Must be worth a couple of special needs assistants salaries for a year…at least…

Lovely car mind you.

• @ Gaye: According to a story on this site published earlier this year, he has a Skoda?

• You sound very much like an overpaid Public Servant earning fifty per cent more than your equivalent in the Private Sector plus a guaranteed job and unequalled pension!………..we will ignore the latter two because we need the cash …so a thirt per cent reduction for you and no guff! ……..next please.

• CSEC that was for you!

• @Mick I am a private sector worker. The thing is I have seen the work nurses and junior Doctors do in A&E, guards on the streets of the two main cities of Ireland and I do not believe the should be attacked by the press and ministers for protecting the pay they get.
      Ministers and TDs are overpaid and underworked. The top civil servants who work in ivory tower offices are the ones who need their wings clipped.

• I attend a local hospital quite a lot, last week I was talking about the Croke Park Agreement to one of the nurses while she was treating me. She said all the stuff they read about allowences for eating sandwiches at desks and for holding keys don’t do anyone any favours and shouldn’t be there in the first place. I had to ask if she got any of these but was told every frontline nurse grabs a break when and where they can and routinely carries keys, it goes with the job but they don’t get paid any extra for it.
      They’re worried that it will be the frontline staff who get hit in any renegotiation as it’s always the ones at the front who get hit first, never the managers. While I was there she pointed out three different managers who retired at the beginning of the year – only to return as nursing administrators, walking around carrying clipboards.

• The cutting of wages will really have a great effect on the economy. Cut wages of the public sector and it will effect the private sector even though the government likes turn both sectors against each other, you can be guaranteed that it will be lower and middle income works that will be hit and not the Teflon elite.

• Getting a bit bloody sick of it at this stage. Every time theres a negaitve story about the government in the news, the default response is for a minister to trundle out and go “noun-verb-croke park’ in a cynical ‘look over there’ move.

• 20% cut ? Let them go ahead so. I wonder how many more mortgages Wil go into default and how many say feck it,”give me dole,rent supplement,back to school allowances ,free tv license,fuel allowance,and ill take the kids out of the crèche,the Creche might close but that’s the Govts problem” !!

• Average public sector pay in the UK is €26k In Ireland it is €48k. Nearly double in ireland. Average public sector pay in France is €35k. France is among the OECD countries with the highest tax and social security burden on labour income.

• Mick 09/09/12 #

Why would that happen if the Irish civil service is paid away over other countries pay rates? Can people not budget if they are not back in line with the real world?

• Alien8 09/09/12 #

Nope. They couldn’t adjust to normal wages because they stretched themselves so much they need to sustain these levels of pay (and sometimes borrowed based on future increments). While not all have second homes and expensive car loans, the ones that did will fight tooth and nail in the courts to support this lifestyle, at your expense.

• Some of the comments here today are just typical of the ignoranance of some people in this country . This guy Mick really hasn’t got a clue.
    People took jobs in the public service during the boom when people were laughing at them and the poor pay they were earning in comparison to the private sector who were making a fortune .But now the tiger has escaped the cage and the private sector has unfortunately gone down the tubes it is now easy to use the public sector as the countries whipping boy.
    He forgets its the Front line services he turns to when he is in trouble . He hasn’t commented on the amounts of attacks on the public sector workers that go unreported because the media in this country are used by the Government as their spin sources and wont print rhetorical articles in case the general public might really see whats going on .
    The sooner the Government grow a set and start tackling the root causes of the problems in this country i.e Their croonies , the banks and all the corruption in this country the sooner this once great nation can get back on an even keel.
    Fine Gael promised us the sun moon and stars to get themselves into Dail Eireann and have done nothing but back pedal on their promises .
    The HSE issue could be partly solved if they stopped paying vet fees on medical cards and That picture of Health Reilly took on his consultant buddies and cut their pay instead of taking the easy option and going after the miracle workers that are the young doctors and the nursing staff working in our hospitals under very stressful circumstances .
    And yes I am a public sector worker ( Front line ) with 18 years experience on the job and proud of it . I work hard and long hours to try and scrape by to try and provide for my family and keep my nose above water.
    90% of the public sector don’t earn huge money so please stop categorising the front line people with the big department heads wages and expenses and Especially the crooks in Dail Eireann
    If Mick Wallace was anywhere else but in Dail Eireann he would be behind the bars in Mountjoy prison for Fraud

• @Des, you made your point very well. In case nobody else says it, thank you, to you and all the other frontline Public Sector workers like you. I’ve met many of your colleagues who continue to keep my rusty appendage’s this side of the sod, I’m proud to know them, and grateful for their expertise.

• Croke park pay should have been for lower grades not high paid management. Comparing average wages with other countries doesn’t tell the whole story. I have 3 children who started back at school and have already spent €800 on school books and still buying more today. In uk books are free and no €50 for a doctor.

• Mick 09/09/12 #

You Should have gone for the second had ones…there are simple answers out there lads…

• In the uk they pay water rates every year for the last 20 years, £600 up a year, the NHS is paid from our high national insurance, what we pay is alot higher than irelands prsi. My council tax in the UK is over £1700 a year. Not all schools in the UK give free books. So comparing avereage wage to the rest of europe tells us alot…

• Heard him on the radio & thought he said – we can’t touch it, it’ll run to 2014. We will negotiate its successor, maybe even starting those negotiations early.
    Non story, I thought.

• I agree, the headline is very misleading. But sure it’ll get the rabble excited I suppose which is probably the aim of the Journal. As he is talking about a future agreement, perhaps it should read:

“Croke Park *successor* talks needed in ‘six to eight months if not sooner’ – Varadkar”

• I just think its funny that someone actually said ” Croke park is crippling the country ” !! Really,is it ? If I mentioned Seanie Fitzpatrick or Fingers Fingleton… what thoughts come to mind. The bank bailout was how many billion?? Are we fighting with the Troika for a renegotiation for the bank bailout or public sector pay ?? Let’s debate but leave out rubbish statements please !

• Mick 09/09/12 #

Either way my friend…why should the Irish civil service get paid more than other countries civil service staff? Explain please? By paying civil service staff more than the going rate(based on other countries) it means that it is crippling the country at this present time…

• Mark Larson- private sector wages are also much lower in those countries, so is the cost of living. Ireland is, and has been since the nineties,a high cost- high wage economy.a €5 note goes a lot further in France than it does here.same for uk, if you don’t consider the exchange

• Not true Mark, average private sector pay in the UK is €24k, €2k less than the public sector. The cost of living in the UK is high, and even more expensive in London. You don’t get alot for €5 here, it wont even get you a single ticket on the tube cash fare.

• Interesting the “powers that be” see fit to propagandise the “renegotiation” of the “Croke park agreement” but seem unable to “renegotiate” the terms of the “EU/ IMF bailout” . Remind me again, whom does this government serve?

• The lower or middle income public servants earning 48 k that’s horse shit. It appears the people with the least amount of work to do in the public service get payed the most if there a 20 percent cut there will be serious issues, mortgage arrears will rocket and see the already failing pub’s, shops etc may aswell forget about it because bad as things are now they would get a whole lot worse.

• Where would we be without our weekend motormouth ??

• The Seanad and Local Councils, should be suspended for a term and reform or abolish either one? Make local councillors voluntary with vouched expenses re-imbursed and either Abolish the Seanad or reform it? To have senators elected, chosen by the people to run with a certain percentage of signatures to nominate and have it doing both Council Business for all Counties(If local councils abolished?) Counties plus holding Dail to account?
    Reduce number of TD’s by at least 30% and their wages/pensions and fully vouched expenses! Dreams?

• verrucha is only a pr minister. he wouldnt be consulted. if the government renegoiate the agreement they will have to bow to the unions. 1.9 billion in savings to date from croke park. front line workers cant afford any more cuts it will have to come from top earners and celebrities with tax free or low tax status. if you earn over 200k per year your tax should be means tested agsinst your outgoings.

• Why is the Govt obsessed with Croke Park? Cutting public sector pay is not going to solve the problems . Even another 6% pay cut would only save €400m.it also means less income tax and Prsi payments !!

• The ECB/ IMF want a minimum 20% cut to bring it more in line with Europe. Ireland will still be amongst the top earners.

• Your numbers are a bit off there Philip, 6% of 17Billion is about a Billion.

• And whatever money is saved on middle or lower paid civil servants salaries is money taken out of the economy,so the negative is subject to a multiplier effect. Nurses and guards and teachers are now not spending in the economy as they no longer have the disposable income to do so. Doesn’t Varadkar get that? It’s the economy stupid!

• Mick 09/09/12 #

Colm, that’s a weak argument-actually its a stupid argument..u have to pay the guys a multiple of what u term is the negative effect…hence there is a saving if you bring them back to what other countries pay…I hope ur not working in the dept of finance…

• Colm, why not go one step further give everybody in the public sector a pay rise, that will inject much needed money into the economy. In fact it wouldn’t, what would happen is that any disposable income would be saved, which might be great news for the banks but no good for retail. What you are advocating is in effect non pubic sector taxpayers paying what would be a form of social welfare. The country needs to make 3.5 Billion of cuts and new taxes next year probably at a 2:1 ratio, so that means 2.25 Billion or 14% cut in public sector pay.

• Crome Park doesn’t maintain public service pay levels. Public servant all took significant pay cuts (15% in the case of teachers – with new entrants taking further cuts) at the beginning of the agreement, lest we forget.

• My food friends in the private sector made a complete killing during the boom,getting bonus’s the size of some public sector yearly salaries,bank employees, tradesman charging ridiculous prices,solicitors charging silly prices,hotels charging silly prices . Those who opted for the public sector knew they would never be rich or ever get a bonus but the cost benefit analysis was that it was a secure pensionable career. It’s hard for people in the private sector who have lost their jobs but that’s capitalism for you!

• Yeah you private sector whingers looked down at guys like me (I’m a nurse), working in a job where I wasnt getting bonuses and could never hope to drive a flash car or huge house. Now the arse has fallen out of your world all you can do is complain about public service wages. You took the good times and now begrudge everbody else who does something meaningful and makes differences in peoples lives. Boo Hooo You cant have it both ways
      Im looking at you Mick – (and by the way, it wasnt the nurses, firefighters, garda who ruined the country – you dont seem to understand that despite what you say)

• I see your point, but I find it very disturbing that a government should keep ststistics regarding the pay of it’s Private Sector vs its Public Sector and then publish this in what may be seen as a provocative act.
    I wonder if the Public Service pay is seen to be so high as it has something like 130,000 people, many of them at the top end and highly paid like hospital consultants, politicians, top civil servants, university lecturers etc. while those at the bottom end of the pay scale are less well paid, like nurses, but the average is seen to be high.

• I hate this drip drip testing the waters attitude. If it needs to be done, get it done and stop flip flopping by testing public sector reaction…

• These bastards haven’t got the balls for a fight! Croke park is crippling this country, yet we have a government that would rather take money from the defenceless poor than stand up to crooked union leaders. They should be ashamed of themselves. As much as I disagree with most of what Lucinda Creighton says, it sounds like she’s the only member of this crowd of weaklings that has the backbone for a real fight!

• Err Lucinda Creighton’s own party have their rules regarding salary caps which they routinely break with their cronies whenever it suits them, not a word said. She’s also a Public Servant but on a much higher wage than your average garda, nurse or firefighter, if she really wanted to lead by example she’d only draw a wage similar to their’s. Who has the backbone there?

• @mick. My example of cost books for school which we did buy what second hand were available shows that living expenses here are much higher and especially if you have a family Comparing wages paid with other countries means nothing if you only look at income.

• That deal should be in the shedder!
    Civil servants who negotiate with the public sector unions can’t generate a credible deal.

• Cut it Leo do it I double dare ya, watch the whole thing come to a halt.

• 70% of Education spend is payroll. Its more than that in Health. If both departments were private enterprises they’d be shut down. Cheaper building costs, packaging, plasters will only get you so far. So it comes back to payroll. Even after taking a cut PS workers are 30% better off than private. This hostage situation must be brought to an end. Labour need to grow a set of balls. Unions need to get a moral compass…

• Interesting Article on Page 8 in the Sunday World today showing Min Leo Varadkar “Bog Snorkelling” in Co Monaghan..

• So those benefiting from the croke park agreement have 8 months to enjoy, then it will be pay back.

• The crime park agreement, thats what it should hve been called. ..!

Add New Comment