TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 3 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Reilly indicates renegotiation of Croke Park Agreement may be needed

The Health Minister was responding to questions about the financial problems in the health service following the HSE’s announcement of €130 million of cost saving measures.

James Reilly (File)
Image: Niall Carson/PA Archive/Press Association Images

HEALTH MINISTER JAMES Reilly has indicated that the Croke Park Agreement on public sector pay and conditions may need to re-examined in light of the financial pressures affecting the health service.

The Minister was speaking to RTÉ News this evening following a day in which he was heavily criticised for failing to address the €130 million in cost-saving measures announced by the Health Service Executive yesterday.

Reilly failed to give any interviews following the announcement of the cost-saving measures, which include a reduction in the provision of Home Help services by 5.5 per cent, leading to criticism from opposition politicians.

But in an interview this evening he outlined his concerns about the levels of absenteeism and sick pay in certain sectors of the health service and indicated that savings – €700 million which are needed next year – may have to come from pay which accounts for 70 per cent of his hospitals budget.

Under the Croke Park Agreement between the government and public sector unions there can be no cuts to pay in the public service, a situation which Reilly indicated was increasingly unsustainable.

“There is such a thing in this country as a public sector pay agreement under Croke Park. I would like to see that taken to its limit,” he told RTÉ News this evening.

“I’ve already got out of consultants changes in working practices that yielded €63 million in savings last year and will make €70 million this year.

“But not withstanding that, this is a broader issue than the Department of Health,” he told RTÉ News. “If I want to tackle core pay… if 70 per cent of my budget is pay in hospitals and if 90 per cent of the budget in the community is pay, then how long before we have to cut pay?

“I have to say this much, as a doctor, I want to put patients first and I want to put cuts and services last so I would be looking to those, some of whom make some of the highest earnings in the country, to give a bit more than what currently they are giving.”

Reilly added that the issue of public sector pay was not confined to health and in an apparent nod to the forthcoming budget in December said that the issue needed to be discussed in the context of the entire public sector.

He added: “This a cross-governmental issue and it involves the Department of Public Expenditure and Reform. Health can’t do this on its own, it has to be right across the public sector.

“So I’m very happy to examine all of that and those who call for it, particularly politicians who call for it, I hope will be supportive when the time comes.

Earlier: Health Minister accused of ‘going into hiding’ as HSE makes cuts

Yesterday: HSE announces €130 million in cost-saving measures to meet Troika targets

Read next:

Comments (117 Comments)

• Wouldn’t it have been good to address this problem proactively, like as soon as they were elected?

Unless of course they made promises during the election that they knew were impossible to keep, just to make sure they got elected. They wouldn’t do that, would they?

• If they simply removed the recruitment embargo for frontline health posts and filled the jobs currently being done by agency workers it would reduce the pay bill by 20%, due to removal of agency premium, without job losses or loss of services

• Mick 31/08/12 #

Sorry guys this is bull. keep the embargo and lower the wages and start sacking those that abuse their holiday pay entitlement…actually cut the entitlement to certified sick only. If they don’t like it….they can go to some other civil service in some other country that will take them…i doubt there would be many…i deal with the civil service every day in business both in Ireland and the uk, in the general scheme of things with the exception of a few, they are worlds apart over there in their professionalism and work ethic…it would be no harm to burst a few bubbles on this side of he water and start realising that the wages are the real reason why the HSE is broke

• Cuts to the HSE are reflected at ground level. I had an MRI scan last week in Cork University Hospital. I waited 2 years for the scan, yes – 2 years. HSE is gone to shit, and further cuts are going to make problems worse.

I agree that public sector pay could be reviewed, but no doubt – this hypocrite won’t dream of starting from the top down. He’s going to destroy an already weak healthcare system.

• reading some of d comments on this subject frustrates me to d point of tears! i can almost pin point who exactly works n d public services and who has a nice dedicated 9-5 office job,people who feel d need to jump straight on d bandwagon of cutting public service pay…people who have never left work after such a busy night that they could sleep standing up…people who don’t have to deal both physically or emotionally with sick,dying pts and their families as well as d drunken aggressive types…have they had their pay and working conditions decrease and deteriorate continuously over d past number of yrs and are still expected to keep smiling at 4am when some poor soul pukes on their shoes…yes there has to b savings made but target d clip board holders and pencil pushers…stop targeting all of us with d same sweeping statements and then expect us to b there to rush to your aid next time u ring 999…

• I think most people aren’t complaining about nurses, teachers and gards, but about all those others who earn high salaries do little work and work truly from 9:30 to 4:30, or even less and get increments no matter how poorly they perform. Or what about the whole layer of middle management?
      And it’s exactly those people who hide cowardly behind the Crome park deal and the above mentioned group!

• i would have no issue with front line staff as they are an essential part of the country i do have an issue with a bloated health service that has a disproportionate level of admin staff and middle management that are sucking the system dry we have a health service that is not run by the health minister by by an executive board. cut the ratio of admin and managers then we could restore the services that have been cut. we have a public sector that needs to be performance managed and if not up to standard disciplinary or punitive action should take place don’t reward people for their inefficiencies

• Bravo Collette… The truth about the “cushy” jobs in the public sector..

• brilliant, and when these people do need the nurses firemen ambulance drivers gardai let’s hear them complain when there not there because it is more beneficial to go on social welfare than work in crap conditions in our hospitals and on our streets

• but the thing is mark i fully agree with you, front line is badly needed but its they are the easy targets, any cuts wont be to managers who manage nothing it will be on the little guy. so if that agreement goes expect even less guards teachers and nurses.

i was actually now that we are on the subject talking to a garda today and he told me he had applied for the london met as things were gone so bad in ireland. Why should we lose these people

I was also talking to a teacher in a primary school and things are so bad there that teachers have to buy the photocopying paper for the school and other bits and bobs as they dont get them paid for by the state. this is just gone nuts

• Make sure it’s management and consultants, also force the cost of medicines down! We have a shower of spineless cowards, talking the talk and not walking the walk! Reason medications are so high, because they are afraid of upsetting the Foreign companies!

• A bit rich coming from a man who made a fortune from the over70s medical card scam he championed when he was chair of the IMO GP committee that led the negotiations that proved a windfall for GPs. It is no accident that the deputy leader of Fine Gael dropped this into a conversation on a Friday. All bad or controversial news is delivered on Fridays. If they want to save money they should cut the €250,000 pa salary for consultants. But I would be amazed if Reilly would ever go near the high paid medics or reduce the very generous capitation fees Reilly generously secured for his fellow GPs.

• Love the way how, for centuries, the rich always tell the poor to tighten their belts…..

• This isn’t about rich and poor. It’s about a department of the government which is inefficient and wastes money that could be better spent on providing a world class health service. The people who benefit most from health service reform are the poor. Do you think the rich have to queue for public health services?

• However, this is not an example of that.

This is the poor telling the relatively rich that you must share the burden.

• Love the way, how for decades, the private sector workers have been led to believe that public sector workers are (a) All on huge salaries, way above them, and (b) are worthless leeches, preying on the state and whose main goals in life are to pretend to be ill and, when at work, to do as little as possible…
      That is, while risking their safety as police, firemen etc., and indeed, in these dangerous times as nurses, hospital workers and even teachers.

• I don’t believe either (a) or (b), but don’t let that get in the way of a good rant.

• @mark…i agree totally with your comment,there are so many layers of unneeded management within the HSE,it would actually make you sick to see where money is spent…there are people with clipboards for d people with clipboards! the problem is whenever the issue of public service pay is raised n articles or on d airways,d overall comments and broad statements that are made against the issue do not segregate the different public servants…vast sweeping statements are made and highly insulting comments are passed…

• First thing first hit the high mangement first then those middle management that are on those ridiculuse wages.

• Typical “quick look over there” statement. Theres 4 times the amount the Minister wants to cut the HSEs budget by being shovelled out to bondholders this coming Monday. Another €1 Billion, 6 times the cut, will be thrown at wealthy folk on October 1st. Instead of renegotiating an agreement made with people, 70% of whom earn less than the average industrial wage, why not put your hands in the pockets of the James Reillys of this world and find the funding that way? Fine Gaels own Peter Matthews stated that a 5% levy on earnings over €120,000 would bring in €420 million. Better than cutting home help to the most vulnerable, no??

His statement is merely the tried and tested trick of pitting one group of ordinary worker against the other, to take the spotlight off his own failures as minister and questionable financial position.

• Just to add, there was supposed to be €100 million saved by reilly renegotiating fees with his consultant buddies. Strange he didn’t mention that instead of fine gaels ‘noun-verb-croke park’ tactic.

• Let’s meet half way. We will renegotiate the Croke Park agreement when he pays back the 1.9 million he owes the people of Ireland!

• So Minister Reilly does the inevitable and blames the Croke Park Agreement in an attempt to hide his own dismal record in the Health Department, this man who was seen as a shining light in opposition has become a complete failure as a minister. A distinguish must also be made between the general public sector and emergency frontline staff, Gardai, Nurses, Paramedics, Fire Services etc have all suffered enough in terms of pay and loss of facilities such as suitable transport and lack of development of buildings. Enough is enough

• He is not in touch with reality Croke park can’t be touched why don’t politicians cut there own salary first do we need to pay our president and politicians and retired members so much he is only testing the water it’s usually Leo who does it

• You have got to give credit to OReilly. When the heat comes on throw out the old chestnut of Croke Park and the attention is completely taken away.
    However the country is broke and reductions have to be made in some form or another. Many small villages around the country barely have a shop yet they have a GP practice with 2 doctors, nurses and secretaries plus pharmacies. Who is paying for it all. The medical card is definitely being abused. In all likelihood the dole, pensions and public pay will have to be cut before we can balance our budgets. A married couple could be surviving on one single wage with a mortgage while a cohabiting couple could both be claiming the dole plus rent allowance and medical card etc. The system doesnt favour a working person. Too many public servants are protected by CP while young nurses, guards, teachers etc cant get a days work because the unions have betrayed their ethos, pulling the ladder up after them. Unfortunately we still lack true leadership at gov level.

• a government of sloths who will put up a pityful fight with the unions and instead of the high paid civil servant being screwed low paid civil servants will be sacrificed and the elites will move on!

• The renegotiation of you as a minister must be reviewed first.

• Unfortunately this will only affect the lower level of the PS, those who live next door to you…I work private sector and yes took hits, but there is normal public sector earners out there, redoing the croke park agreement won’t solve it , taking more money out of the economy is not the answer.

• Mick 31/08/12 #

So get more loans to pump money into wages? And wat happens when that runs out? get more and more loans??? Is this not why we are in this mess I the first place?

• Can’t help but admire the good minister this week, announced savage cuts to elderly and disabled and got the blood up in the barstool-economists who went straight out onto the soap boxes and then said he can fix it by ripping up the public service agreement so we’re parasites again, an exercise in perfect timing. I know the state services are a higher cost than in 2008 but nobody cared what a public servant made till we were crippled by a greedy private sector (banks, developers,insurance companies etc). It’s more expensive to run the country now because of high unemployment caused by private companies shedding staff to save directors. Less Paye/prsi contributors = more people needing state help. I didn’t cause the collapse and I’m not going to apologise for my low end wages.

• Reilly holed himself up for the last week because the Health Service is getting worse and worse and what does he come up with? The Croke Park.
    Now it goes without saying that just like in the private sector we will see all the lowest paid civil servants singled out and made look like they are not ‘putting on the green jersey’ because they won’t work for free, while the big earners like Reilly himself rub their grubby hands together and laugh all the way to the bank.

• Can someone please confirm something for
    me, excuse my ignorance in the matter but is it true that
    private specialist consultant can work 1 day in a public hospital and have his/her entire insurance/indemnity policy paid for by the state on top of their salary ? Would removing those policies or reducing them to be proportionate to the work they do in the public sector for example (80-20 split for those consultants that work 1 day in a public sector and 4 in their private suites) not save government cuts to nurses etc?

• When this process is finished we will be lucky to have 5 hospitals open in the entire Country, and you will all be on less than minimum wage Public or Private Sector, there will be €3.5bn in increased Taxation and Public Service every year for the next 4 years and then I suspect we will need another bailout, you really do get the Government you deserve.

• alan 31/08/12 #

i know that plastic bags are now more or less a thing of the past here

but am i the only one who thinks Reilly looks like an old, discarded plastic bag stuck in a hedge?

• Christ almighty ,the man is a visionary!!!

• Dam right. Cut the night shift allowances. Most of the emergency services are tired of working nights anyway. I’m sure the country can look after itself between the hours of 10pm and 7am.

• See how that goes when you need to be rescued from your burning bedroom, plucked from a river, or cut from a car wreck at 3am on a saturday night. Idiot

• That’s a stupid comment. Are you just going to close down the Garda station, the fire station and the hospital at 8pm cos people don’t like working nights anyway?? 24hr cover is necessary. And yes, not everyone likes to do nights – therefore the extra pay is the incentive to make sure you are rescued from a burning building, or looked after if u have a heart attack, or don’t have to wait til 8am if your house is burgled.

• Vincent 01/09/12 #

Some people don’t get sarcasm!

• Yeah the irony two people who don’t understand sarcasm calling me stupid and an idiot is really delicious.

• Sorry Sean, missed the sarcasm there, but you’ll have to excuse me because some people are actually advocating just that. Did you know that some HSE ambulances in Dublin have recently started ‘daytime manning only’ leaving all the other ambulances and their crews to take up the slack at night even tho they have been overworked and over stretched for years. I wonder how many tiers of management got together to come up with that one.

• denism 31/08/12 #

The absenteeism in the hse is a disgrace, some workers treat sick days as an entitlement

• just a condsideration : lots of absenteeism is due to in the case of nurses, care staff, BEING EXHAUSTED AND CONTINUALLY WORKING UNDERSTAFFED WHILE DOING THEIR BEST TO CARE FOR PEOPLE FROM BIRTH TO END OF LIFE.
      (not a snide on your comment everyone is entitled to their opinion), cannot comment on absenteeism of the bureaucrats and paper pushers but is suspect they are less stressed and overworked than care staff and nurses. thanks for reading.

• About time.

• If I could click on your thumbs up multiple times I would!

• Reap what you sow – when your public services are reduced to a trickle it will be too late

• Some people are over paid in the public sector. Cutting their pay won’t reduce services. Some people shouldn’t have a job in the public sector and are non-productive staff. Cutting their pay won’t affect services.

• I smell a strike of front line services across the board in support for the nurses who are inevitably going to be the scape goat. I bet there’s more than a measly 70mil to be saved from moonlighting consultants!! The working poor and the little guy will be shafted yet again!! And not before time, when the basic services crumble then maybe the rest of the country will see that the Fine Geal Tax party is ruining what little we have left of this country!

• Moonlighting consultants?

• Consultants in both private and public hospitals

• The most any consultant earns is about 170k, and thats on a public only contract. If they earn more than that it’s on a private wage, and you’re not paying it, therefore, not your problem.

• €170k a year for a part-time job is the taxpayers problem.

• A part time job?
      Ok, a few myths disbanded please.
      1: consultants earn a max of 170k for a fully public contract, no private work. Consultants who have both public and private patients earn far, far, far less than this. That includes overtime, providing call, and taking into account the crap working conditions.
      2: it’s not a part time job. Doctors can work anything upto 100 hours a week, very often starting work at 7am Monday morning and not seeing the light of day until 10pm on Tuesday night.
      Yes, consultants earn a lot. Have you any idea how long it takes to get there? If you’re lucky, you might get there by 40. In every other country across the globe, you can be a consultant by 30 if you want.
      The training is non-existent, the working conditions are crap, the reason a consultant is paid more in Ireland is to make them stay. That is the only thing that stops every doctor here from boarding a flight to Australia, and even now, it’s not doing much good.
      Reconfiguring the HSE is what is needed. Not hopping on the band wagon and telling the very people holding the system together (docs, nurses), they earn too much. Because for what they put up, there isn’t a big enough salary in the world to soften the blow.

• It will be the very nurses you speak of that will more than likely be hit! Not consultants two very different jobs and I think the average a&e nurse puts up with a hell of a lot more abuse than a consultant IMO

• You’re being too selective with your facts there Michael. Let’s be fully open and transparent and look at the actual pay and conditions of all the consultants.

• @kevin o brien
      You’re right Kevin there are lots of non productive public sector staff but they aren’t going to be hit any harder than the tens of thousands who are productive. You can be sure the ones at the top will suffer least though and they ironically are the biggest problem. Bench marking gave civil servants a far higher wage increase in the good times than mid and low level staff.
      Senior civil servants astronomical wages are what are driving up average wages. I heard figures comparing public and private sector pay the other day on the radio and knew then that this news wouldn’t be far behind.
      Why is nobody on top of this calling for td’s pay cuts or judges or senior barristers and their ridiculous publicly paid wages or even a reduction in their “expenses”. I hear the oireachtas bar is running high tabs these days…
      There’s so many better ways to save money in this country but it’s always the low and mid level staff in public sector and emergency services who end up being hit.
      Lord knows where this will all end!

• Hi John,

If I were minister, I wouldn’t cut pay. I think it’s a blunt instrument and disheartens staff who are working hard and are struggling as much as workers in the private sector to make ends meet. What we’re avoiding dealing with are workers who serve no vital function within the organisation. The reality is that they’re superfluous to the efficient running of the healthcare system and need to be made redundant to restore some semblance of efficiency to the system. That’s a hard reality to come to terms with, especially since that’s a human being you’re consigning to the dole queue and whole families will be affected. That said, it’s going to have to happen sooner or later if we’re to reclaim the health system and prevent a loss of service in the quest to reduce costs. I’d rather lose 10 backroom staff than 10 nurses.

• Has anybody ever wondered why porters are the highest paid people in the hospital on the Sunday night of a bank holiday??

• The way i see it….If a guy sweeping the road is entitled to approx 28k a year and gets to take home virtually all of it then a person who saves peoples lives every day is totally entitled to 170k a year in which they will pay up on 45% of it in tax anyways….The constant bemoaning of anyone who earms a significant wage in Ireland right now is a pain in the arse… If you get paid a lot its most likely because you deserve it….and the whinging f**ks on here would be better served looking to see what they can do to make themselves for financially significant.

• Sack them all and start again! :)

• That’s a particularly callous remark!

• I worked in Fas for many years. Mainly external training. In external training budgets were tight, pay low and outcomes very important. I also worked for a short while internally. Large pay rise, whatever equipment I wanted and virtually no consequences. Know approx 30 fellow trainers. I would only employ 5-6 of them. Mainly lazy, wasteful and far more concerned with internal politics than with students. I would assume most of the rest of the public service are the same.

• P**s off Reilly.

• Comment reflects your intellectual abilities.!

• Really intellectual contribution!

• Mick – Reilly is a blundering hypocrite with the backbone of a butterfly. The righteous indignation we frequently saw when he was in opposition has disappeared. Well able to talk the talk but incapable of delivery. Cheers for the compliment by the way.

• I imagine it’s a lot easier to be indignant in opposition than in government. It’s his job to reform the health service and cut costs. That means grappling with the leviathan that is the HSE as well as handling the unions and the prospect of industrial action, all while trying to minimise the impact on services. That’s nigh on impossible to manage in a Labour coalition.

• Ryan'O 31/08/12 #

I have to laugh at these retorts. Great way to win a debate with a nice personal insult. Oreilys post as minister should be reconsidered, Stubbs, conflict of interest in owning private nursing homes while Minster for health, hiding while a massive cuts statement was made but spoke about broadband and now welching on the croke park agreement. Resign minister you failed!

• Why? If 70%of your budget is pay what’s left ,Supplies ,Equipment and structures so we can stop buying medication etc don’t repair or replace equipment ,lease buildings and put patients in tents because that’s where you go if pay is untouchable.
      Read yesterday’s papers public sector pay has increased by 2.5% while private sector pay has again decreased by 0.5%.not taking holidays pensions and sick days etc into account.
      Pre benchmarking unions shouted for parity with private sector so let’s give to them with job losses wage cuts.Before the red thumb brigade start on about the wage cuts that were implemented dont forget the annual increments that have replaced most of these.there is no need to threaten front line services further by staff reductions just reduce pay and take an axe to administration.
      Will there be strikes ? Yes but we must stand up against them.the alternative is to do nothing and let the sick and infirm suffer or be held to hostage by Doran and his cronies.ICTU bear the same responsibility for our mess as Bankers,Government and Developers.Their greed and us before others is mindbogling.As a retired .union member I find it hard to understand.
      ?

• About bloody time somebody has the balls to mention this touchy subject. The unions are not gonna like this though and there’s going to be a lot of threats of industrial action. My answer to them would be staff either play ball or collect their p45 on the way out the door.

Health service reform is so badly needed. I dare say that if we had a health service like the NHS that is funded through the property tax there would be a lot more compliance with paying it.

• It’s called The Croke Park Agreement because Fianna Fail continuously played political football with the Unions and finally when they had outdone themselves with Benchmarking in the lead up to a Banking collapse they still couldn’t understand the damage they had caused. Having brought in the knackers they then gave guarantees to the Public Service Unions that strangle the country while unemployment statistics are for the private sector only.
      We still have the highest paid doctors and nurses in Europe and seventy percent of the total spend in Health goes on staff. Reduce salaries and employee numbers and run the sector like a business rather than a home for the bewildered.

• The HSE is run like a business….that’s the problem

• It’s about time someone said this. I think the government will have public support on this. It seems ridiculous that we are paying many consultants well over €200k while patients are experiencing a health service that is in many areas an utter disgrace. I think the public were misled about Croke Park. We were told that wages were been frozen while in fact many workers in the public sector have enjoyed incremental pay increases. To get this they haven’t needed to do anything except stay in their job. I have no doubt there are many hard working individuals in the health service. However, I don’t think we can justify some of the salaries (both frontline and administrative) while patients that could be saved are dying due to a lack of resources. Reilly can’t just scrap Croke Park to make savings though. He needs to address the culture of waste that is as apparent in the health service as it is everywhere else in our public sector. He also needs to create a health service that recognises that people require hospital treatment 24/7. Medical staff need to be more flexible in terms of their working hours. They need to realise they don’t work in an office job.Its outstanding how on weekends there always seems to be a lack of doctors in our hospitals. Above all the government need to get tough with the unions and the Irish people need to support them (I say that as someone who doesn’t support either government party or any party for that matter). I’m not attacking the many doctors and nurses (and i’m sure administrative staff) that work hard in difficult conditions but we need a health service that is built around the needs of patients and not the greed of the unions.

• While I agree that the Croke Park agreement needs, at the very least, to be renegotiated, we all know that nothing will happen without the kind leadership that our political class seem incapable of providing. A good way to begin would be to cap all public sector salaries, starting with themselves, at between €100-150k and substantially reduce their very generius ‘expenses’.

• It sounds like the last throw of the dice from a desperate man. Croke park should have been the first thing on this governments agenda. Better late than never though.

• In your rush to cut public services just who do think will educate your children, ensure the streets are safe at night, ensure you are treated when you’re brought into hospital, who will repair the roads, etc etc. the lazy ‘cut someone else’s pay’ argument is hollow.

• @kingstown: that is the typical rhetoric we here from unions and it’s a great shield for the wasters to hide behind.
      But the fast majority of civil servants aren’t nurses, Garda or teachers.
      The problem with the civil service is: that the bureaucracy has expanded to facilitate the expanding bureaucracy.

• @ Kingstown

The only people supporting cutting public services are the public service unions. Scrapping croke park is about cutting bloated public service pay not public services. Like the real world, public servants will have to learn to do more for less.

• What’s your alternative? Keep borrowing to fund day-to-day expenditure?

• Yeah scrap it.

• The public sector workers are online tonight, the croke park agreement. The biggest farce i have ever read. It should be scrapped. The country is in a mess and this agreement is making it sink even further.

• The croke park agreement and its workers are robbing the country and tax payer. 10% of the HSE are out sick…. Only in Ireland……. To many people emplyed in so many areas of the public sector doing very little. Reduce the waste and employ in police and hospitals something that will serve the public alot better.

• Must be a few Specialist Regs on here tonight -

• People get real its simple JUST GET FLUENT IN GERMAN AND TAKE YOUR ORDERS FROM MERKEL, LICK ASS ENDA AND FINE GAEL,LABOUR AND LITERALLY THE OTHER NAZIS OUT THERE, OUR ORDERS COME FROM GERMANY, BRUSSELS ETC, OUR CURRENT GOVERNMENT REPS ARE LITERALLY REDUNDANT ( o by the way with HUGE financial PAY OFFS). I WONDER HOW MUCH MORE THE IRISH ARE WILLING TO TAKE???????????????

• gingerman you have the right to be an a##hole if you want,but no need to prove it.Twisted comment.

• Bet the GAA regret ever renting out Croke Park now – the name is synonymous with this disgraceful agreement.

• We’ll probably get a day on the streets of Dublin to vent our anger if this is scrapped as the unions – which have been placated with the agreement – will soon busy themselves organising a day of protest.

• Public sector are the rich who think they are poor. We are living beyond our means and our biggest cost is public sector pay. Striking won’t bring in more money. It is shameful that the present government didn’t take the obvious remedy and tear up croke park as soon as they got in. The Taxpayer has been lumped with an extra €80 million of debt (20 billion a year) thanks to four years of Croke Park. IMF are rubbing their hands at the prospect of another shitload of debt for good little Ireland to pay back.

• We are living beyond our means because FF spent 12 years dismantling the tax base in favour of transaction taxes such as stamp duty – it is not the cost if public services that is causing our crisis at the moment. It was the private sector that got us into this mess in the first place. All those wonderful captains of industry such as Anglo Irish, INBS, the CIF.

• Numbers employed in the public sector increased by more than 100,000 during the Celtic tiger years. The pay bill tripled.
      What has that got to do with the private sector?

“Having been bought by the ‘robbers’, the self-appointed ‘cops’ have, since the late 1980s, stayed nearly silent lest they damage the regulatory charade performed by the Government and rubber-stamped by their own members in charge of the regulatory bodies.

The Unions, of course, were neither unique, nor the most active participants in regulatory capture of the state by vested interests. Irish semi-state companies, banks, protected professions and public sector own (outside the Unions-led) self-interests were. Nonetheless, by deploying the rhetoric of ‘integrity’ and by relying on the arguments that their actions ‘protected the vulnerable’, the Unions were some of the most damaging – ethically speaking – players in the game.

In effect, the Irish state didn’t just tolerate corruption, it actively managed and encouraged it. Even debating the merits of the form of corruption embodied by Social Partnership shows how instrumental ethics replaces real values when the cancer of corruption metastases. Social Partnership is simultaneously a collusive cartel, a conduit for influence peddling, a vehicle for patronage and a price-fixing mechanism. Its goal is to preserve the status quo of wealth and income distribution, skewed in favour of the Partners.”

Constantin Gurdgiev

• It’s a fiction that taxes are low in Ireland.

I paid for public sector pay rises many times over when I paid those transaction taxes you refer to. Now that the wheels have come off the property sector scam, you want to increase my income taxes to pay for the lifestyle to which you’ve become accustomed? Not a chance.

• Reilly is correct re Croke Park, however this is just more populism to divert attention from his utter failure as Minister for Health

• Was the Croke Park Agreement deliberately put in place, BEFORE the last government announced what a ‘state of chaos’ Ireland was in? And if so, was it a fair, just and honourable thing to have done? Just wondering…..

Add New Comment