TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Crowd gathers outside Dáil for abortion rally

They met as members of the Dáil voted on an abortion bill put forward by Deputy Clare Daly. Also today, members of Youth Defence launched their latest campaign outside Leinster House.

A LARGE GROUP gathered outside the Dáil again this evening calling for legislation for the X Case following the death of Savita Halappanavar.

They gathered as members of the Dáil met to vote on TD Clare Daly’s proposed abortion bill. This is Daly’s second version of the abortion bill, and comes after the first was rejected in April.

The bill was debated for the second night tonight and is currently being voted on. It is anticipated that those taking part in the protest outside the Dáil will stay there until the voting has concluded.

Earlier today, members of the pro-life campaign also gathered outside the Dáil for the launch of their campaign to make sure that Fine Gael ‘keeps its pro-life promise’. Their placards said ‘Every Child Matters – Not to Fine Gael?’

Crowd gathers outside Dáil for abortion rally
1 / 12
  • Abortion rally

Abortion rights now demonstration in front of the Dáil. Pic: Tiberio Ventura
  • Abortion rally

• Youth Defense Protest

A group of protesters from the Youth Defense Organisation gathered at the front of Leinster House this afternoon to protest against any plans to legalise abortion in Ireland. A slogan by Fine Gael Every Child Matters was used by the protesters to counter that claim by saying 'Not To Fine Gael?'. Pictured (L to R) Evelyn Porter from Co Wexford and Federica Iannace originally from Rome, living in Dublin, outside Leinster House in Dublin today. Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
  • Youth Defense Protest

A group of protesters from the Youth Defense Organisation gathered at the front of Leinster House this afternoon to protest against any plans to legalise abortion in Ireland. A slogan by Fine Gael Every Child Matters was used by the protesters to counter that claim by saying 'Not To Fine Gael?'. Pictured (Right) Mary Horan, Co Mayo pictured outside the gates of Leinster House in Dublin today. Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
  • Youth Defense Protest

A group of protesters from the Youth Defense Organisation gathered at the front of Leinster House this afternoon to protest against any plans to legalise abortion in Ireland. A slogan by Fine Gael Every Child Matters was used by the protesters to counter that claim by saying 'Not To Fine Gael?'. Pictured (Right) Mary Horan, Co Mayo pictured outside the gates of Leinster House in Dublin today. Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland
  • Youth Defense Protest

A group of protesters from the Youth Defense Organisation gathered at the front of Leinster House this afternoon to protest against any plans to legalise abortion in Ireland. A slogan by Fine Gael Every Child Matters was used by the protesters to counter that claim by saying Not To Fine Gael? . Pictured (LtoR) Evelyn Porter from Co Wexford and Federica Iannace originally from Rome living in Dublin outside Leinster House in Dublin today. Photo: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

Read: ‘Not an option’ to leave out suicide provision in any abortion law – Shatter>

Read next:

Comments (93 Comments)

• I do not think there is anyone in this country Pro Abortion ! The issue is Pro Choice which is an entirely different thing altogether !
    Am dismayed but not surprised by the defeat of the bill !!!! But so what if another 4,000 Irish women will have to travel to the UK next year for an abortion ? As long as they don’t have these abortions in Ireland I am sure the pro life movement won’t care !

• Well said Mary.

• Mary McCarthy:
      “I do not think there is anyone in this country Pro Abortion !”
      how can you say that ?? – you’re playing with words
      ‘pro Choice’ my arse
      we are all Pro Choice
      what do they want to be free to choose ??
      Abortion on demand -
      that’s what Claire Daly, Bacik & co have admitted that they want.

• Michael O Toole

As a man you are never going to be forced to choose between your health and the life of your unborn child !
      I hope none of you’re family members never have to choose !

• Pro choice means that you support all options being available and allowing each woman / couple to look at all of their options and make their *own* decision. CHOICE.
      To wish to restrict the options available, and ultimately remove an element of that choice from others is ANTI CHOICE.
      To be pro abortion would mean that you support abortion for all. This would lead to the destruction of the species, this is utterly ridiculous.

Pro Life seems to mean pro foetus, or pro forced birth, as there is not much consideration given to the “life” of the mother. Also, the opposite of pro life is anti life, and that is not a suitable description of the other side as they have concern for life, it’s just that they prioritise already viable independent humans lives over a foetus that depends upon another for its existence.

Sorry.. Pro and anti choice are the only suitable descriptions for either side.

• @ Shanti Om:
      you say “To be pro abortion would mean that you support abortion for all. This would lead to the destruction of the species, this is utterly ridiculous. ”
      you’re correct – that would be “utterly ridiculous. ”
      not even Claire Daly, Bacik, or the most rabid pro-abortionist i’ve heard, are in favour of that.

you also say – “the opposite of pro life is anti life ”
      correct again – thse who support abortion on demand are indeed anti the lives of the unfortunate unborn babies whose lives are ended by the abortion ‘doctor’ – c. 200,000 in the UK each year.

those who support that the mother be given all necessary care, even if that care, results in the ending of the life of the unborn baby – those people are not ‘pro abortion
      they are Pro Life.

• @ Mary McCarthy:
      you say “As a man you are never going to be forced to choose between your health and the life of your unborn child !”
      how can you be so sure of that ??
      my understanding is that some of the ‘doctors’ who perform abortions & those who profit from the profits of abortion are male.
      i also believe that men sometimes pressurise their wives/partners into ending the lives of their unborn babies, by means of abortion.

• @ Mary McCarthy:
      you say – “I hope none of you’re family members never have to choose !”

i hope that if any of them “have to choose”, that their choice will be to protect the life of their unborn child.

• @Michael O’Toole

“@ Mary McCarthy:
      you say “As a man you are never going to be forced to choose between your health and the life of your unborn child !”
      how can you be so sure of that ??”

Basic biology, men can’t have babies.

Also pro abortion is bullshit. No one wants abortion to have abortions, it isn’t something that’s hip and trendy. It is a medical procedure, something no woman would ever want to be in a situation where they have to make that decision.

What do you mean abortion on demand, and why are you against it?

” we are all Pro Choice”… Are you really, I call BS here too

• 4000 Irish abortions in the UK next year and nobody is pro abortion in this country?

• and micheal if they choose abortion will you disown them .

• Ah Michael, them’s some impressive mental gymnastics.. I will have to deduct marks for the fact that it completely missed the point and made about as much sense as a nursery rhyme, but I’m happy to award you a 6.7

• @ Michael Kitching:
      like you Michael, i was once an unborn child.

BTW i agree with you – “men can’t have babies.”
      & some ‘pro choice’ fanatics here say – “no uterus, no opinion”
      & they get a lot of green thumbs here, for saying that,
      guess, they’re saying to you, Michael – STFU.
      i think they’re saying that to me anyway,
      & like you, Michael i say to them – i won’t STFU.

• @ Kellyanne Ross:
      you ask me – “and micheal if they choose abortion will you disown them .”

i don’t know, but i hope i wouldn’t disown them.

• @ Shanti Om:
      so you award me a 6.7
      knowing your views, as expressed here over the last few days, i’m a little worried,
      but not as woried as i would be, if you had awarded me a 9.0.

sorry – but i think your earlier comment was ridiculous.

you said – “To be pro abortion would mean that you support abortion for all. This would lead to the destruction of the species, this is utterly ridiculous.”
      as i said – not even Daly, Bacik or the most fanatical pro abortionist is that ridiculous,
      & to be honest , i don’t think that you’re that ridiculous, either, Shanti Om.

oíche mhaith.
      codhladh sámh.

• Michael O Toole
      Maybe you need to go back and read my comments again !

1. Your personal health will never be at risk over carrying an unborn child . That is a fact of life 2.

• Ah Michael, that’s my point.. No one is pro abortion. They are pro choice.
      They aren’t anti life, or pro abortion, they are pro choice.

Those who call themselves pro life continue to show quite a heavy disdain for the lives of women by prioritising foetuses. So to call them pro life is not strictly true, it is true to say that they oppose choice, so anti choice is a more accurate description for the side..

The points were for the mental gymnastics required to get from what I said to where you went, not the comment itself, so don’t worry :)

• @ Mary Mc Carthy:
      of course, i agree completely with you there.

i would just add that i’m very happy that, as far as i know, that my “personal health” was never at risk when i was “an unborn child”.
      thank’s to my good mother – Beannacht Deí uirthi.

& you know Mary, i hope that that the “personal health” of any ” unborn child”. will never be at risk as a result of anything i say or do.
      on the contrary – i hope that i will continue to stand up for the defence of the “personal health” of unborn children, against those who want to introduce abortion on demand to this state.
      & i hope, Mary, that you are not as intolerant as others on this site are, about my views as expressed here.

• ah Shanty Om
      tis very late
      we’re all ‘pro choice’ – we make all kinds of choices, all the time, don’t we ??

MY point is that there are very, very many who are ‘pro abortion’.
      if there weren’t, there wouldn’t have been c. 200,000 abortions carried out in UK last year,
      & there wouldn’t be people in Ireland seeking to have abortion available in Ireland, as it is in the UK
      sorry Shanty – the truth is bitter.

• Gillys 29/11/12 #

Was it not the case that they voted no to C Daly’s proposed legislation…the government are obliged to legislate!

• Gillys 29/11/12 #

As a woman I would like the CHOICE to save my baby. From so many near death experiences in my family, where there is a heart beat, there is hope.

• thats the point i was trying to make michael o toole , if a women were to make that choice it would be their choice. and wheather you agree with what they have decided i would hope that people would respct that choice. not all women who travel over to the uk are monsters . and i personally feel that the stigma in this country for a woman to have a abortion is terrible. do you think these women shoild have proper support .

• @Michael O’Toole

“like you Michael, i was once an unborn child.” Really? I thought you were a cyborg (sarcasm)

I have spoken to those people who you say are radical (I call them fed up). I don’t agree that just because I or you are male means we can’t discuss the topic. I do think that we have no right to force a woman into making health care decisions she doesn’t want to do. These “radicals” are simply fed up by being judged and forced into positions by men who will never know what it is like. Especially by the one of the most anti woman organizations in Ireland (the Catholic Church).

Also answer my question, what do you mean by abortion on demand, and why are you against it?

• It is significant that the anti-choice lobby never attempt to address the reasons why the majority of women are compelled by financial, social, family circumstances, abuse and other reasons reluctantly, sadly and despairingly to exercise their right to chose to travel to the UK and the Netherlands so as to obtain an abortion. Of course each and every woman should and must have the right to chose.

The right to chose and have the financial and social freedom to exercise that choice is ignored.

No woman lightly or frivolously resorts to abortion. The tragedy is that they may have no alternative due to poverty, lack of support, deprivation, inadequate accommodation, inability to sustain the rest of the family if an extra child is born, the loss of minimum wage, crèche costs, oppressive mortgage debt and all the other factors in a profoundly unequal and unfair society.

Laws are ineffectual to prevent abortion except for the destitute and the severely ill women who are unable to travel outside of Ireland.

The Netherlands, with a reasonably liberal abortion regime has a low rate of abortion. So also with Denmark.

These consideration are ignored by the Irish fundamentalists. Never let social reality and facts interfere with dogma and judgmentalism.

If you think that pro-life advocates are misdirected and acting in good faith, just examine the defective logic and non sequiturs employed in their a priori “reasoning”. Then examine the actions in the eighties and nineties of the Youth Defence League with Hurley sticks and weapons.

The pro-life lobby employ emotive propaganda, sinister pressure on politicians, moral and religious support of the Roman Catholic Chuch and treat pregnant women with no respect and accord them no dignity. They are absolutist and fascist in approach, devoted only to simplistic notions, divorced from reality, and supported by pernicious law.

I started shortly after Savita’s death with an apprehension that something was seriously wrong. I was anti- abortion except in exceptional circumstances but I am now convinced by the ranting, declaratory scaremongering of the pro-lifers, a misnomer if ever there was one, to favour the repeal of all laws which seek to criminalise abortion and to entrust the decision on abortion in each case to each woman according to her individual circumstances.

Laws are often the least effective form of social control. A fair and equal society is vastly more effective in the reduction of the need for abortions.

With reasonable people I will reason and with fascist ideologues, I will deride and dismiss their foolish, delusional, dishonest and bad faith arguments.

• tom 29/11/12 #

nice play on words

anti choice, pro choice, religion and pro life. why have you not used the real words abortion and anti abortion.

simple fact this country and it’s people don’t want abortion on demand and the real debate is the inclusion of threat of suicide that would open the doors to abortion on demand as it did in UK.

you say you want debate but that’s not true as you gloss over the issues.

you could agree or disagree that suicide poses a real threat to a pregent woman,
      that there is no supporting stats. but it’s a possibility that should be covered.

As you haven’t made these distinctions it’s irreverent that under current law and as everyone wishes that the mother’s live shouldn’t be protected and a termination of the unborn child if there is a sinifican risk to the mother. it’s also easy to extract that ensuring there is clarity in the law is not your goal.
      as abortion on demand isn’t cathered for.
      so don’t belittle people’s faith believes because it’s different to yours. that’s what a bigot does.

make your case for abortion on demand based on logical reasoning, reasonable view points that may be a benefit to socity. Or not, but there is no debate in hiding behind words looking for a back door to achieve goals.

• tom 29/11/12 #

shouldn’t was indended to be should
      (predictive text and all that )

• @ Tom, I do not hesitate to belittle faith, fundamentalism, dogma and irrationality when it risks the lives of real human beings, vulnerable pregnant women who deserve our protection, not dangerous law.

You addressed not a single one of my reasons or arguments.

I am happy to be called a bigot by you. You will never be open to reason. Your mind is closed and your sense of empathy is shut down. The Youth Defence League demonstrates the true nature of those who are anti-choice.

I will not waste any more time responding to nonsensical and illogical arguments.

• @Tom faith is believe without evidence.

If someone else’s faith is going to impact my or someone else life, then I’m damn sure going to belittle it.

No one should be forced to obey laws passed because a religion that he/she does not hold. It’s voodoo, bullshit, superstition (need more adjectives?)

Science flies us to the moon
      Religion flies us into skyscrappers

• The voiceless innocent children need to be protected from those who speak of women’s rights. Surely the most humane and reasonable position is to enshrine in law the current medical practice that every effort be made to preserve the life of mother and child but that nothing would recent a doctor acting to intervene to save a mother’s life even if this means the loss of the baby. Thus is far from what abortion activists want an opportunity to agitate for abortion on demand. Be honest and especially Fine Gael do not allow the Lsbour tail to wag the dog ! John Roscommon

• Here we go again…..it’s like the early 80s all over again

• More like the crystal night. When the brown shirts were on the the march.
      The new Eugenics.
      But the only difference today is -, it is the mostly the healthy ones that will be incinerated.
      Yes, Incinerated. There is no other way to dispose of ” medical ” waste .

• There will be a very limited and highly restrictive legal regime for abortion in very limited life saving circumstances introduced within 12 months but the only effective solution is to repeal Article 40.3.3 of the Constitution and Sections 58 and 59 of the Offences against the Person Act, 1861.

I was at the protest until a few minutes ago. I am typing this on a phone and sorry for all the typos in this and in my previous post.

The pro-life movement has radicalised me in favour of pro-choice and it is possible that I may be one of many.

The women now at risk were not old enough to vote on the 1983 Referendum. We need a new Referendum of voters no longer subject to the subjugation of the Extreme elements in the Roman Catholic Chuch and the zealot anti-choice lobby.

• Every woman matters Not to Youth Defense

• fair play to them. It ain’t a warm night either. Fully behind them.

• Why can’t the pro life lads just go into a dark hole a perish. The sooner we do away with Youth Defence, Iona Institute, William Binchy & Ronan Mullen the sooner we can have a grown up debate on the issue, a debate that is free from scare tactics practised by the Pro Life brigade.

• Sounds very intelligent. Have a grown up debate with people who only agree with you. Doohh…

• the youth denfence = small minded control freaks. most of there members and believers come from the bible belt in america.

• MrMagoo. Eh, no. I’ve yet to meet any Pro Lifer that gives a rational reason to why a abortion shouldn’t be legalised. My personal view that Abortion should be only legal before 10 weeks if no substantial threat is posed to the mother. The only time I will agree with after 10 weeks and before 14 is where there is a threat to the mothers life. This nonsense about “You’re killing a baby” is just that, nonsense. No baby have survived prematurely before 20 weeks so therefore I think it is reasonable that the ‘person’ doesn’t become life until after say 18 weeks.

• Well said !
      Let’s get a proper sober and calm debate going.

• Dublinlad72 – again dooh !!
      Most babies left in the womb survive from day 1.
      Where does prematurely come into it? Do you mean prematurely aborted ? otherwise let the baby develop as it is meant to and guess what?…….a beautiful baby will be born.

• The baby won’t survive if the Mother is dead/dying/extremely ill you plonker. What on earth are you babbling about? Typical ‘pro-lifer’ – starts yammering on about ‘killing beautiful babies’..
      You haven’t a clue.

• mr mcgoo your missing the point that a lot of pregnancies end in miscarriage.

• Here’s a tip. Re-read what I just typed, think about. Read it again, SLLLOOWWWWLLLYY, think about it, then reply.

• Gamma 28/11/12 #

Dublinlad the basic human right to life is the rational argument. personally I women should be given the choice. I feel we should trust women to make the decision themselves. in saying that I can understand where the pro lifers are coming from. I do believe that life is life right from conception. I dont agree with this craic of dehumanizing an embryo. and in your post you say pro choice before ten weeks. the reality is that a woman may be quite close to that point when she discovers the pregnancy, especially if she has an irregular cycle. so putting such a tight time limit on such a big decision probably ain’t a great idea.

the pro life argument of abortion for contraception is completely for the birds. I’m not a doctor but I’m sure that it’s not a nice procedure.

I think people are entitles to their own feelings on such a sensitivity subject but some respect on where the other side are coming from is needed too.

• Gamma 28/11/12 #

sorry about all the typos, I’m using a phone.

• Gamma – point taken. The post is my own personal view and I’m not saying we should do 100% what I said. Just my opinion.

• But yet you say people that express a different opinion should perish in a hole?…… Strange that.

• Gamma 28/11/12 #

Dublinlad that’s cool its nice to actually have a calm reasonable conversation about it. most of the comments I’ve read are totally one sided with no thought given the opposing opinion whatsoever so thanks for the open debate

• Express a rational opinion and ill respect it. Not spout garbage.

• In my opinion your whole spiel about before 10 weeks is irrational garbage. So get in that hole when you’re ready.

• Gamma 28/11/12 #

give it a rest James, the grown ups were talking rationally.

• Spoken like a true lefty. lol

• Wait, so now leftism isn’t an economic stance but a social one?

• Every time you ejaculate you are killing millions of living sperm cells. Shame on you!

You should keep them all alive and feed them on a daily basis. Give them a chance.

• Dublinlad, I hope you would be accepting of termination for medical reasons too. It’s quite disgraceful how we treat women faced with such a tragic diagnosis for their much wanted babies.

Mr Magoo, I’m afraid you were incorrect in your statement that most pregnancies survive from day 1.
      In fact, for the first trimester the odds start out at 80/20 miscarriage / survival. Most fertilised eggs are shed with the next period and may never even be noticed. If they implant successfully their chances are still pretty grim for the first month or so, by the third month the odds of miscarriage are 50/50.

So really, *most* of them miscarry.

• @ gamma re: point of conception….. what’s your stance on the morning after pill??

• Was there this evening but had to leave before the voting. What does this actually mean going forward from a legal perspective? What now?

• Playing politics on this matter..that’s ruff

• Is there a live stream to the debate anywhere online?

• I saw a crowd in Tralee saying “No to Abortion” . The papers took photos of them.

• What groups could one march with if they are pro life but anti Christ?

• That’s a good question. Don’t know is the answer I’m afraid though. As someone who is pro choice this might sound weird but I do wish that that anti choice side wasn’t so religiously infected. The standard of debate would only improve and I’d think that without the absolutism of religion to crash upon we might find a lot of common ground. People like me who are pro choice don’t actually like abortion it’s just that you can’t have rules in place that don’t allow for all circumstances. Having no choice when it comes to anything is not a good thing. But with the lunatic fringe on the anti choice side everything gets polarised and there is no room for reasoned debate.

• Agreed. If there is any headway, any compromise to be had then we need to be sticking to facts and rational debate. Overly emotive language does not really get anyone anywhere, and is often a deliberate tactic to manipulate anyway.

The best way to persuade the general public into anything is to spew constant fallacy after fallacy with a side dish of political doublespeak. It takes some knowledge of logic to spot this for what it really is. It obscures debate and provides method for those with an agenda to successfully push it. It is dishonest and exploitative, as logic does not make up any part of our basic education system.

We need to stick to the facts. This may seem cold and clinical, but this does sit within the realm of medicine which is a clinical setting. The ethics is a separate debate, and it too needs be held in a rational, LOGICAL manner.

• Why don’t you Pro-Lifer’s focus on the children who are already here and desperately need help. There are many charity organisations for children is this country that could do with your help now. Look, we need to get real and put our energy into the children that are in need right now. This abortion issue is long overdue, are we going to actually deal with it or is it going to be fingers in the ears again.
    Ok, now the Savita case might be a European Human Rights issue. Good. If that what it takes. Because from the list of TD’s that were absent from voting (Clare Daly proposed abortion bill) it show’s you as a bunch of gutless wonders. At least have the balls to go one way or the other. For shame!
    No issue is black and white, there is always the human side to each story – Incest, rape, psychological dependency or blackmail, the list goes on . Choice is a good thing, a progressive thing and it should be a human right

• Disappointing that there was no ‘live’ blog or stream of this guys. Huge event missed

• Why doesn’t the media ever publish the disgusting signs from the pro aborts side? Show people what they are really like!

• My health
    My body
    My choice

Not if you are a poor child still in the womb if abortion comes in, in that case it may be your health and your body but you have no choice – you are doomed !

• very cleverly worded to try sneak thumbs up. Shame on you.

• Perhaps we should let people decide their own morality as opposed to having it forced on them.
      Perhaps that’s why we should trust women to make their own decisions as opposed to having it forced on them.
      Perhaps you’ll agree that this issue is not black and white, very subjective, and thus should not be a universally applied legislation.

• bpdeasy 29/11/12 #

When it comes to the life of another morality cannot be subjective. There are inalienable truths that cannot be willed away by “rights”.

• Don’t have an abortion then if that’s how you feel.

• You see life as an inalienable right, when we kill hundreds of lives every day. Of non-humans, mainly, mind you. But my point is that life alone is not enough to apply a moral absolute in the sense as we do with murder, manslaughter, war, et cetera. Even these cases are not seen as an absolute evil in many cultures and many situations. Morality is always subjective. And if there are inalienable truths, what are they? Who decides them?

• funny how all the pro-abortionists where all born!!! I’m not totally anti-abortion just not convinced of the pro choice’s reasons to rally now. We must be careful which path we decide to go down.

• My problem is really down to the uncertainty of where it all would stop if any form of abortion was legalized. I can understand in the case of Sunita Parvareen where the child had little or no chance of survival the choice of saving the mother would be sencible but would it stop there? How long before it became “abortion on demand” or rather in our present financial situation “for those who can afford it”?? The Pro choice lobby say “My Body, My Life, My Choice” but is it really? How many women in England have chosen abortion because the father has done a runner or because the family believed it was the right thing to do rather than ruin the girls life.
    I also wonder about the rights of the father in all this, It takes two to tango yet no one ever mention the rights of the father. If I created a life with a girl, I would want to be involved in the Childs life and support them through their life but the Pro Choice attitude only gives me that choice if the Woman decides to keep the baby.
    This is a tough debate, a tough decision to make, all life is precious

• Cathal I’ll try answer your points here.

You ask how long Ireland would get ‘abortion on demand’ or rather in our present financial situation “for those who can afford it.

Presently those that can afford it have ‘abortion on demand’, we just send them away to the UK to do it. The only people actually affected by these laws are those that cannot afford it, a number that is rising since the recession. So, in effect, any of us protesting (I was one) for this are sticking up for those that are most vulnerable in our society right now. That’s dealing with the financial aspect of it.

I would also ask that you don’t use abortion on demand as a term too. No-one has ever wanted to have an abortion, it’s a horrible procedure and costs a lot of money. No-one wants that, some are forced into that it by their financial means, because they were raped, because of abnormalities in their baby, because of any number of reasons. Using that term makes it sound like people actively want this to happen in their lives.

As for the rights of the father. I understand your point but here’s the problem with it. Let’s say you impregnate a girl and she, at present, decides to go to the UK for a termination, what are you going to do about it? You can talk to her sure but if she still says she wants to go you cannot stop her, unless you commit a crime like kidnapping her. Now reverse the situation, you impregnate a girl, she wants it and you don’t, what are you going to do about it? Only way of stopping her is by committing an equally horrendous crime as kidnapping her.

So when you talk about the father’s rights, really he has no rights and that’s just me being practical about it. He can have a say but ultimately it is the girl’s body and it is her choice what to do with it.

• Ed 28/11/12 #

Time to stand up to the bully boys n girls in spuc etc, boy am I glad they got a nice cold night for it , warms me to my core.

Add New Comment