TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 5 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Dublin council removes 48 street bins to deter illegal dumping

A local Sinn Féin representative believes that most offenders simply can’t afford to pay domestic bin charges.

Image: Sam Boal/Photocall Ireland

DUBLIN CITY COUNCIL have started removing public bins in residential areas to deter people from dumping domestic rubbish in them.

Since January 2011, 48 bins have been removed from the Dublin City area in a bid to cease this public littering.

Sinn Féin representative for Dublin West Paul Donnelly told TheJournal.ie that at least two bins have been removed from his area at the request of local residents who were “exasperated” by the build up of domestic waste outside their homes.

Donnelly said most of the people involved were those who could not afford to pay their bin charges and were looking for a less damaging way of getting rid of waste.

“As people feel the financial pressure more and more in the coming years I think we’re going to see this become a real problem,” Donnelly said.

Sean Purcell from the council’s Waste Management Division said today that “the main deterrent for littering is the liklihood of getting caught”, but with just 25 litter wardens on duty, the risks are not very high.

Around 5,000 people are fined each year for littering offences but Purcell said people disposing of domestic waste in public bins “are cute enough and don’t leave documents that would identify them”.

Purcell said the practice of removing public bins that are being abused will continue as it has been effective so far in discouraging people from dumping in those particular spaces.

Donnelly said in this economic climate there was no quick and easy solution to the problem and added: “The council can’t take away every bin.” He appealed to people not to continue to leave their household waste on or around street bins and to report any illegal dumping they witness to 01 8905000.

Bin changeover a ‘shambles’ – Dublin Lord Mayor>

Greyhound warns 18,000 customers that bins will not be collected>

Read next:

Comments (92 Comments)

• This will definitely stop people stop people from dumping illegally then, what do Dublin City council think is going to happen? At least at the moment it’s not being dumped in hedgerows.

• not only will these people keep dumping somewhere else but now others will start littering. put up some cctv and catch there people. Removing the bins is short sighted and punishes everyone.

• First they run the bin collection in an unsustainable way, then they charge for the privilege of having bins collected, then privitise the service (moving their own binmen to other jobs), then they get exasperated because a private bin company does not act in a public service way, then they notice an increase in dumping, so what does DCC do?…take away bins (obviously). Any people want more powers and taxes to go to local government?

• lol, reminds me of that Simpsons episode when the meteor hit Springfield – “Let’s burn down the observatory so this never happens again!”. :-D

• How much did they spend on the “litter is disgusting, so are those who do it” campaign….and now they remove almost 50 bins?!

• Now the national routes out of Dublin will get the brunt of fly-tipping

• With so many unemployed and so few litter wardens maybe there’s an idea in there somewhere…. Then again so many ghost estates so many on housing list paying private landlords that the state is paying with rent allowance.. If only this country had vision.. :-/

• 200 fines per warden per year.

That’s under 1 per working day.

With that kind of rate, illegal dumping is not going to be deterred.

• Removing bins to stop littering? Am I the only one missing the logic in this?

• what an awful solution, street bins are needed to keep streets tidy, this will just lead to the general public littering cause it’s too much hassle to keep the rubbish until you pass another bin miles away. Street wardens are a better solution, also leads to job creation.

• This article is nothing to do with being “poor” or not, its basically about filthy dirty human beings who couldnt care less about anything or anybody around them. “society today im afraid”

• I have seen people at the flats at the end of Rueben st just leave their rubblish beside a bin or under a no dumping sign. This rubbish shouldnt be picked up. Leave it there, let it build up, put cameras up, identify those doing it and then make an example of them by making them clean it up. Anyone caught littering should be made sweep the streets.

• Penalize the poor again. Take all their money pay 635 million to unsecured bond holders and make the poor live in a dump!! I bet you are from FG

• Anel, im from no party but I am a tax payer and I pay for my bins. I pay my way and im sick of paying to clean up after Dublin skangers. Heres an idea, leave your food shopping packaging with the store you buy it from as they have to take it and use recycling and composting facilities. Stop relying on everyone else. The path beside the luas track at the Rialto stop up to the bridge is constantly full of bags with beers cans. They can be recycled. Whats your next excuse for people being filthy vermin?

• How in Gods name are FG at fault here? It’s FF that got us into this mess. FG are the ones tasked with trench to fix it

• It appears that “paying the unsecured bondholders” has become the catchall to avoid personal responsibility.

• The sad truth is that if we continue to gettoize a generation of people it’s going to cost one way or the other. I pay my taxes. When you have a rubbish government and idiots like hulk hogan telling lies the real work doesn’t get done. One in 10 young men have emigrated so it’s the skangers will be left!! Massive ongoing brain drain what’s left rubbish!!!

• @Anal Cream. What a ridiculous outlook. What are you on about? Anyone that dumps rubbish in a public place is a filthy rotten *******. I don’t care what your “social circumstance” is. It shows a complete disregard for your neighbours and local community. Anyone caught, should be severely punished. As well an eyesore,

• “Penalize the poor again. Take all their money pay 635 million to unsecured bond holders”

The poor never had any money, they rely on hand outs from the taxes of the squeezed middle. It’s the middle incomers who are paying the bondholders.

• ….its a health hazard, attracting vermin. I fail to see how someone dumping rubbish illegally is the fault of a political party or those “dastardly” bondholders. If a rat bites your child as it has been scavenging in illegal rubbish, whose fault is that? The rotten ******* that put it there or the bondholders. I know who I would blame and go after….

• They need to educate the people in these areas on how to recycle, simple, to understand a problem you have to understand the people.
      I wish people would stop using FF as an excuse, FG and Edna were in opposition the whole time so they had every opportunity to highlight the corruption and wrong doings of FF, it’s more than a year later and FG have managed to put us in a bigger mess and corruption still goes on. FF/FG are all of the same breed, they only care about themselves, people also need to understand that it’s the same civil servants and advisors who are helping to make the decisions. These people don’t want things to change, they’re happy with their cushy, over paid jobs. If people would stop arguing among each other and look at the bigger picture things would start to change.

• “They need to educate the people in these areas on how to recycle”

Come off it, recycling has been on every media channel ad nauseam for the last decade or more, kids are taught about it in school, everyone knows how to recycle.

They have to want to recycle. You can either do it through penalties or rewards.

• Eoin I might be wrong but I don’t think FF or FG aren’t dumping their mess at the side of the road, not every issue is a partisan one

• @Damocles
      These forms of education obviously don’t work, this is clear to be seen. Just because you and your friends know how to recycle doesn’t mean the whole country knows. Penalties will never work but a clever form of rewards would be a very good idea.

• Anel, plenty of women are emigrating too in case you havent noticed. Recycling is taught in schools. Its when kids get home from school that everything their teacher has taught them goes out the window.

• “These forms of education obviously don’t work”, Education raises awareness it doesn’t make people care.

“Penalties will never work”, Depends on the penalty and how rigorously it’s enforced.

“but a clever form of rewards would be a very good idea.”, Actually it would be awful. Just think, you could tell people if you bring metal to the recycling centre you can get cash for it. What do you think the result would be? Just as a guide do you think the incidence of metal theft would go up or down?

• I never seen any of this media coverage teaching people how to recycle, only a small percentage of the population have kids at school and the majority of parents don’t listen to their kids. There’s a good video on YouTube about recycling called “story of stuff”. Videos like this would be helpful, it really shows the importance of recycling and how we are ruining our planet.

• I never seen any of this media coverage teaching people how to recycle, only a small percentage of the population have kids at school and the majority of parents don’t listen to their kids. There’s a good video on YouTube about recycling called “story of stuff”. This might help people understand the importance of rubbish and how it’s ruining our planet.

Are you having a wee argument with yourself there Damocles??

• @Damocles
      “a clever firm of rewards”
      What you proposed wouldn’t be clever.

• I haven’t responded in over half an hour, you’ve responded 3 times, if anyone’s having an argument with themselves …

“What you proposed wouldn’t be clever.”, You haven’t proposed a clever form of rewards at all, you’ve just said that there should be one and given no detail.

I’d rather penalise people. Stick rather than carrot. Sticks last longer than carrots and you’re less likely to run out of them.

• Read over your own comments, you propose a rewards system and then you argue that it wouldn’t work. That’s what I meant when I said you were arguing with yourself :-) i agreed with something you said and you think I’m trying to argue??? My duplicate comment was a suggestion of a way to educate people. The third was just trying to highlight how you misunderstood what I said.

• @Toirealach. What education do you need to know that your rubbish goes in a bin? Unless we stick large fluorescent sticker to their heads with BLUE BUN FOR RECYCLING, BROWN BIN FOR ORGANIC MATTER, BLACK BIN FOR GENERAL WASTE to assist them. You can make all the excuses you want for people who dump their rubbish on streets and in hedgerows. Why don’t they pile their rubbish in their sitting rooms? I’ll tell you why, they know what they are doing is wrong and they don’t give a s**t. There is no excuse for it. Simple. These people do not care about you, me or anyone only themselves. I would 100% bet that you would never see ant if these people at 8am on a Saturday morning working in their communities on a voluntary basis, cleaning, planting shrubs or generally making their communities a better place. These are the same people that shout loudest for facilities and look for everything yet give nothing back. I have no tolerance or respect for anyone who illegally dumps rubbish on our streets and in our hedgerows and waterways. These people are vermin.

• Damocles 19/06/12 #

I said that you ‘can’ do it with penalties or rewards. I didn’t advocate rewards, I merely raised the possibility.

Incentivisation works, that cannot be denied, the issue with positive incentives is that having done them once you generally have to do them again and some people will take advantage of them.

With negative incentives you generally don’t have to do them again, unless the individual concerned is quite stupid.

• @toorkeel
      I have no tolerance or respect for people who litter either and I wouldn’t make excuses for them, even people who throw cigarette butts on the ground disgusts me, I was just trying to think of ways to fix the problem. Removing bins from streets won’t and neither will your attitude.

• @Damocles
      You raised the possibility of rewards, I agreed with you and said a clever form of rewards would be a possibility. You suggested an idea and automatically argued against it and then you give out to me that I’ve no solution for your idea????????? I have loads of ideas of how to fix this specific problem but I see here isn’t the place to suggest them, there seems to be a lot of angry and negative people hiding behind fake names, I prefer to discuss new ideas with positive forward thinking people, it’s a lot more productive and enjoyable.

• Damocles 19/06/12 #

“I prefer to discuss new ideas with positive forward thinking people”

“Small Scale Anaerobic Digestion.”

• @Damocles
      That looks interesting, must have a better look at it, cheers :-)

A friend of mine in Italy owns a tyre recycling plant. People pay him to collect the tyres, they convert the rubber into soundproofing sheets for bars and nightclubs, they melt the steel treads down and sell it and they do something with the inner cloth as well but I can’t remember. 0% waste, don’t think it’s done in Ireland but it’s ideas like this we need to be thinking about, not removing bins from streets.

• Heres an incentive! Clean up your shit or live in it! And if youre caught littering, its picked up but put into YOUR house!

• From someone who lives in the area mentioned by the Rialto Luas stop I can say its not a matter of teaching people how to recycle. Recycle bags come through the letter box and they have clear instructions on what goes in and what doesn’t. I hate littering and dumping its absolutely disgusting and there is no excuse for it.
      However I will say that there has been a lot of problems here with the Greyhound people turning up sometimes a week late to collect the bins which leave the streets smelly and ugly. I know that’s a separate issue to the dumping but it might account for some of the rubbish spotted around the streets.

• Great idea Ciara, let’s lead by example. If we see someone throw rubbish out of a car lets throw it back in, if we see someone throw little or a cigarette butt on the ground lets give it back to them or ask them to pick it up and bin it.

@Aisling
      I understand what you’re saying but when I say to educate I don’t mean just to tell people what goes where I mean to educate people on the whole recycling process and how it works and why it’s so important to do it and what are the consequences if we don’t. I know a lot of people who don’t bother because they believe that all the rubbish just ends up in the same skip so a little education would help them understand. I don’t think we just need to educate, there are loads more things we need to do as well, like addressing the problems you raised.

• I wish people would stop using FF as an excuse, FG and Edna were in opposition the whole time so they had every opportunity to highlight the corruption and wrong doings of FF, it’s more than a year later and FG have managed to put us in a bigger mess and corruption still goes on. FF/FG are all of the same breed, they only care about themselves, people also need to understand that it’s the same civil servants and advisors who are helping to make the decisions. These people don’t want things to change, they’re happy with their cushy, over paid jobs. If people would stop arguing among each other and look at the bigger picture things would start to change. Fine Gael need to go!

• AND Ciara it is amazing the amount of people who drive into the city center from the suburbs and dump their rubbish in the the dumpsters/huge wheelie bins found in inner city flat complexes so they dont have to pay bin charges, so keep your skanger name calling to yourself. As for the bags of cans – take it up with the gangs of teenagers that sit along the canal drinking, smoking hash and or using ecstacy and cocain, or does your bravery for derogatory name calling not stretch that far. LOL would love to see you walking into Oliver Bond or Sherrif Street and tell the people who live there that they are nothing but a dirty lazy gang of Dublin Skangers.

• @ Damocles and anyone else that might be interested in the truth.

Us skangers that live in coroporation/council flats dont get the chance to recycle as we dont have Green wheely bins. As a matter of fact I live in a new complex and we have a huge composting machine in a shed in our yard. This obviously is for food and some paper wasste and it cost Dublin City Council 1.5 million euros. The machine hasnt been used once because the caretaker refuses to use it because he wasnt trained to do so and is not paid to do so!! A lot to be said about workers that need to go on training courses to learn how to flick a switch. Great example of how County Councils waste the tax payers money.

• I’m surprised (actually I’m not that surprised to be frank) that no one has suggested Small Scale Anaerobic Digestion.

You could stick a plant the size of a cargo container on the corner of a street and encourage people to bring bio-degradable waste to it, you’d even create 6 or 7 jobs for each one you put in. You’d generate gas that could be used to generate power. Pay back on such a unit is about 2 to 6 years. You can stick anything biodegradable in it, food waste, garden waste, crap, drug dealers all sorts …

Little business opportunity there for someone with time and a little cash on their hands.

• Bryan 19/06/12 #

Jesus they haven’t the brains they were born with! A % of people are dumping illegally? Let’s remove litter bins for everyone! How thoughtful, surely that work oh wise ones, your plans like this always work.

Not a creative juice flowing in our country just blanks of wood who never came up with an original problem solving concept in there lives.

• “Donnelly said most of the people involved were those who could not afford to pay their bin charges and were looking for a less damaging way of getting rid of waste.”

Completely unfounded statement. Has he interviewed the illegal dumpers at the bins? Is it that they can’t pay or that they won’t pay?

Why doesn’t Donnelly have a look through said rubbish and see what he finds? That simple investigation should tell us just how hard the perpetrators are trying to pay their bills.

• Another dumb council idea. Rubbish has to go somewhere. Sack all litter wardens and use the money to help provide proper disposal sites as in other clean countries. Ireland is fast becoming a right dirty place. They want to promote tourism?…. What idiots!

• What about legal dumping?
    Chewing gum, sweet wrappers, mc donalds junk!

There aren’t enough bins as it is in my opinion.

• Surely if designated bins are dumping hotspots then they should keep the bins and monitor them!! FFS

• I just hope we dont end up with rubbish scattered along our lovely Countryside like what happened years ago, and I am sure its not always the ones who cannot afford the bin charges thats doing this illegal dumping either….

• I don’t understand why the Council can’t deduct refuse charges from these people’s social welfare payments. A fiver a week deducted from an already generous welfare payment would solve this problem.

• The reason they cannot do that is mentioned in the article, the offenders are not dumping documentation so cannot be identified

• It would work by the Council/ Dept. matching addresses of SW recipients with those who have paid bin subscriptions. Send a few warning letters and if ignored, start deducting the bin charge from their weekly SW cheque. Could do same with PAYE workers by adjusting their tax credits. ( sorry but I suspect majority of offenders are not in work)

• You know some of you really do disgust me with some of your comments such as

“why the Council can’t deduct refuse charges from these people’s social welfare payments”. People who live in council houses and flats PAY bin charges and it IS put on your rent, yes its true we do actually pay rent – its not free. As for your generous welfare payment!!! I dont know what country you live in but let me tell you that here in the real world that “generous” payment doesnt stretch very far. Answer you better to be talking about the overly paid fat cat politicians who are living the high life on your taxes. Fool

• Why is it that when anything gets raised these days someone goes, “Oh no, you can’t hurt the poor.”?

If these “poor” people weren’t able to better their lot during the massive boom this country has just come out of then they missed their chance.

What about the squeezed middle? People who worked and are now being expected to foot the bill for every other bugger.

Sod the poor.

• Bloody f.. As working middleclass I am poor….. I cannot afford any more….. The so called poor have more expendable income than I do and exemptions for all the duties I have to pay

• Whatever the solution it’s not on to allow or risk the spread of litter, it’s the 1st thing tourists see and has a massive effect,perhaps reduced price tags to welfare recipients,

• Because of course people who illegally dump really carry about the presence of bins. This will just mean more casual littering.

• My next door neighbour is a foreign national, drives a 2011 Nissan Qashqai, is on SW, just had a porch built, has a 50 inch tv etc etc etc and she dumps all her household rubbish in her green and brown bins ( including nappies and glass), rather than pay for her bin tag once a week. Not everyone on SW are living like paupers! Some are just animals who don’t think they SHOULD pay for certain things. I have reported her to Panda 7 times but they still empty her bins every week without fail. Why bother recycling so? Everyone should just do that! They companies either have the facilities the separate the rubbish or they’re not doing it themselves. I’m sick of hearing how the SW recipients are so poor and are forced to dump their rubbish. They don’t have to pay the yearly charge, just 10 euro when they put their black bin out. My black bin goes out maybe 4 times a year, we have a recycling centre 10 minutes away for other waste so ther’s no excuse for that kind of behaviour. The companies should hire bin inspectors and issue fines to anyone using their bins incorrectly, that would stop that behaviour.

• Also, there has always been illegal rubbish dumping. The councils just had the money to deal with it in the boom times. Some people just won’t pay to have their bins removed, not can’t pay!

• SW recipients do have to pay the yearly fee.

• No they don’t, if you were entitled to free bin tags in the boom years, you don’t have to pay the yearly charge now. I know this because my parents don’t pay the yearly charge ( my Dad is on disability) but they still pay for bin tags. It was all outlined in a letter they received from Panda following the changeover. It explained how Panda would honour the yearly waiver SW recipients had received from the council but not the bin tags.

• Thats not everyone on SW though.

• Okay, but even if you do pay the yearly charge, you should still buy a tag and put your general waste in your black bin. I know greyhound are not honouring the breaks afforded to SW recipients but Panda seem to and that’s who collects where i live. So the degenerate next door to me doesn’t pay the yearly charge, lives a very comfortable life (courtesy of the tax payers) and still has the cheek to behave that way. This is some great country (if you’re not Irish that is)!

• There needs to be higher fines for dumping. And more people out monoriting this. I am a dog walker in Dublin and some areas are just unreal. People just dumping their house hold rubbish anywhere knowing that the county council will collect it. In some areas people actually just open their doors and through the left overs of their dinner out on the road! I was picking up after one of the dogs I was walking during last week and was told “You don’t need to do that around here” by one of the locals. To which I replied “If I do maybe someone else might as well”
    It sickens me

• So employ 50% of population to kick Shyte out of other 50!!
      That’s what’s not working!!

Nobody making anything producing any thing adding any value!!

Thats why we are broke!!

We need rid of all traffic wardens litter wardens, Irmo. Do you know that if
      You have a business there are 50 separate government agencies to come. In with hand out!!

100 FG TD”s too many and FF in opposition being paid not actually providing any opposition at all!! Jokes on us suckers

• Anel, I find myself hoping your drunk.

the tripe you’re spouting cand only come from a severely compromised mind.

• Putting a full bag beside a overloaded bin is not dumping.
      Let the council or whoever make sure they are emptied…… Someone actually made the “effort” to go to a bin as opposed to throw it willy nilly.

People often litter(aly) do not have a proper space do dispose of their waste.

• ed dropping a full bag of household waste on the street is the definition of dumping, and not giving a damb about your community or the people in it. why should the people in that community in turn give a sh!t about those dumping….

• im on social welfare AND i pay my bin charges! since i assume de payments are more or less the same (probably more in a lot of cases because im honest about my situation!) there’s no good reason not to pay for bins when everybody has to.

• True but the blue people next door who wrecked a house and left us with the vermin…. 25 euro a week rent… Allowance for a car… Except from Bin charges…. Allowance for… I kid you not…. Sky television…. Well I am paying for all that… as are many of you….
      They will not have to pay property tax watercharges waste charges… Any cost for the landlord… Put in the rent … Will be paid for by me/you the working tax payers…

Its the world upside down… Like insuring your car against accidents with uninsured drivers…… Its always the lawabiding working sods that pay through the nose

• So in order to curb illegal dumping by a small minority of tax-dodgers, they punish the law abiding majority who have some pride in their area and actually use the bins, by removing them altogether. Dublin City Council have done some truly, TRULY mind-bogglingly idiotic things in their day, but this tops all of them. Every single thing they do is predicated on some twisted logic that never pans out in reality.

Punish the household tax dodgers, don’t punish the taxpaying majority. Utter stupidity.

• Great Idea. Less bins , less rubbish, thats why we pay Civil Servants for stupid ideas like that.

If you do not provide bins people will litter. I am amazed at the lack of bins in public places in Ireland.

• Bins are like gardai…… Never there when you need them…
    Bins are like politicians….. Full of shite when you want to bring something to them…..
    Waste is managed like the HSE…. Overmaneged…. Lacking in essentials and stinks

• What about a rather large recycle type bin that u can pay a small amount with a code for the bin to open to accept the rubbish bag.

• IMO Placing a sealed sack or box of rubbish directly beside a full bin (no dumping sign or not) Is not dumping. Maybe the independent waste management companies who the council sold out to should realise there is not enough bin / container space vs population… Or simply collect twice as much.. Surely this would generate jobs too?

• It most definitely is dumping. Its in a residential area so its rubbish that should be going into household bins, but some selfish people would rather dump it on their community than pay their way. Its disgusting lazy and selfish. Another example is people leaving boxes of bottles at bottle banks cos they think its flippin beneath then to sort them into the bins. Removing the bins is a great idea, and it was at the residents request.

• I am talking about the fact that in estates communal bins and recycling facilties are often full to the brim….. Not to mention trying to dispose of bottle on way from a to b.

And I can imagine that some people cannot afford a binlift anymore….
      I disabled the chip in my bin… As did half our estate….
      I think a quarter full bin needs to be emptied for hygiene…. But that costs me a shiteload of money extra…..

• Paul 19/06/12 #

Naples here we come

• Forget all this”Who’s Fault Is It?” crap and can anyone answer me a question. What are the obligations of the County Councils to provide litter receptacles in their respective areas? Surely it is their burden to provide a certain number of public bins per square mile or per head of population? If you go to ANY bottle bank with your bottles in a box or bag, there is NOWHERE to put the carrier, which in most cases is disposable too. Surely, on public roads and in public spaces, there is an obligation for them to uphold. Otherwise, what the hell use are they?

• Paul they would nt if it was incentivised . A sticker with every code when u get say ten stickers u get a couple of free codes.think something on that line would work as most people like clean ,it’s only when we become over-whelmed that we can give up

Add New Comment