TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 6 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Ecuador says attempts to storm embassy ‘would be suicide’

The people of Ecuador have rallied behind president Rafael Correa after he granted political asylum to Julian Assange.

Demonstrators shout slogans as they hold up flags of the city of Quito in front of a Julian Assange poster during yesterday's march.
Image: Dolores Ochoa/AP

THE PRESIDENT OF ECUADOR has warned the United Kingdom that it would be committing ‘political suicide’ by stripping his country’s embassy of its diplomatic status and entering it to arrest Julian Assange.

In an interview with state television – his first since granting political asylum to the WikiLeaks founder last week – Rafael Correa criticised the UK for its threat to temporarily remove the building’s special status, under which it is considered beyond the jurisdiction of British police.

“While the United Kingdom hasn’t retracted nor apologised, the danger still exists,” the BBC quotes Correa as saying.

From a diplomatic point of view, he said, it would “suicide for Great Britain” to do so.

“Then people could enter their diplomatic premises all around the world and they wouldn’t be able to say a thing,” he added.

Sky News added a further quote where Correa said the development would “be a precedent that would allow later on for the diplomatic premises [of the UK] in other territories to be violated in every corner of the planet.”

While Assange has been granted asylum, he cannot leave the embassy to travel to Ecuador because doing so would require him to pass through areas under British police jurisdiction.

UK authorities remain committed to arresting Assange in order to honour a European arrest warrant issued by Sweden. Assange has lost two Supreme Court cases seeking to avoid his extradition to Sweden, where he is wanted on outstanding sexual assault charges.

March in support

Correa has been hailed domestically for his bold stance, with Reuters reporting that hundreds had taken to the streets of Ecuador’s capital, Quito, yesterday to march in his support.

“We’re here to support the timely and correct decision to grant asylum to Julian Assange and also to reject the hostile reaction of Great Britain in cahoots with United States,” one lawyer who joined the march said.

Correa said he may enlist the assistance of the United Nations if it is needed to secure safe passage for Assange from the Ecuadorian embassy in London’s Knightsbridge to the country itself.

Reuters said another option was the International Court of Justice, which could force Britain to allow Ecuadorian protectees to be given unfettered travel to that country.

A meeting of the Organisation of American States on Friday may see further support for Correa, with other Latin American leaders expected to support Correa’s opposition to any British threat to overlook the special status of embassies.

That status is enshrined in the 1961 Vienna Convention, and sees countries treat others’ embassies as if they were a legitimate part of that country.

Read: Assange calls on US to drop ‘witch-hunt against WikiLeaks’

Read next:

Comments (50 Comments)

• It would be the end of Cameron if he did this.

• There’s a massive discrepancy between the suicide quoted in the headline, conjuring imagery of a savage firefight, and the ‘political suicide’ actually alluded to in the quote in the first paragraph, wouldn’t you agree?

• Micheal 21/08/12 #

Ecuador shouting about free speech is like Bertie Aherne shouting about honesty.

• Be nice if some of you bothered to understand the history of Ecuador and the changes since Correa took over and the resistance he faced and still faces form “interested parties”

Military base anybody???

• It’s simple. The US is the biggest terrorist rogue state in the world and the greatest threat to world peace. This is what this is all about it, anything else is a sideshow. South America knows it, the Middle East knows it, Asia knows it, shit even the Martians on Mars know it. Now u can listen to corporate media all u want but if you step back and look at the big picture its quite clear. I for one want to know what they are up to and freedom of speech should be a cornerstone of any free society or other wise we are f**ked.

• If you think this has nothing to do with Wiki supplying the world with info which US would rather not share, then you are naive.

Why have Swedish authorities traveled to other countries to conduct interrogations when needed, and the WikiLeaks founder has made clear his willingness to be questioned in London.” They also noted Ecuador’s willingness to let Assange go to Sweden if it received a pledge that he would not then be sent to the US. Ecuador’s foreign minister has said he fears Assange could get the death penalty if he were sent to America, though Sweden has laws banning extradition in such circumstances. It is not clear what designs the US has on Assange, but the Sydney Morning Herald has published documents showing Australian officials in Washington saying that “the US investigation into possible criminal conduct by Mr Assange has been ongoing for more than a year.

This is big Govt going after the whistle blower and drawing a clear line in the sand, anybody who tries to put the truth out there will be hunted.

if the guy is guilty of whatever vague sex crime (i say vague because different news outlets report it as “Assault” “Rape”, “non consensual” depending on who the paymaster of that particular news outlets is.

as for a fair trial, in the US Ask Bradley manning about fair trials, pronounced guilty before trial even began.
    America land of the free ,, doesn’t ring as true as it did in the past,, the distant past………………

• Brian, ‘sex by surprise’ is not recognised by UK law so the UK has no right to extradite him. The UK is only doing this because of US pressure. It’s disgraceful. Fair play to Ecuador.

• In Sweden it might be called “sex by surprise” in UK it’s called plain old “rape” because there was no consent at time .

• George, there are Swedish, European and International arrest warrants for the man, for questioning on accusations of rape, molestation and unlawful coercion, and the Swedes have openly stated they wish to prosecute the man.

• The UK is obliged to carry out the European Arrest Warrant.

Last year Ireland issued 53 European Arrest Warrants concerning UK citizens, the UK is as obliged to carry out them as it is this one.

• Aaron t 21/08/12 #

The president of ecuador is notorious for prosecuting any journalists that post anything about him which he dies not like. He has also shut down independent tv stations and newspapers which have stepped in his toes, this guy is not protecting assange because he believes in freedom of speech, he is doing it because of the world attention he is getting and to piss off the Anericans.

• Brian 21/08/12 #

George, Assange is a clever and educated man. He has to be well aware of Ecuador’s widely-documented clampdown on press freedom. Do you not get the irony of him taking refuge behind a country like that?

• Aaron t 21/08/12 #

Damn phone has messed my post up haha

• There WAS consent for sex both times – and whats more one of the ladies even afterwards organised and threw and organised a party for Assange.
      Not only that (and there is video evidence to back this up) when Assange attended the party of one lady, she showed him around to all her friends very willingly and with much happiness!
      Months later when another turns up linked to the CIA and then gets the first involved, therein come these charges out of the blue – which oly exist in law in Sweden!

Lets get our facts right and the course of actual events!
      Speaking of events, the first prosecutor to the case stated there was NO case for Assange to be arrested for – someone in government didn’t like that – so another was then brought in from outside and suddenly, there was a case!

Strange goings on? You bet!

• …And before anyone says the above is ‘opinion’ – the above is on record!

• Ah, I forgot. “Legitimate rape” is the one where a woman reports it immediately. Any rape where a woman is in denial and delays reporting? Not real.

I don’t know if these charges are true, but you should be embarassed to perpetrate the idea that all rape victims act in a certain way.

• Partysaurus Rex and what about in the book of law, either way history tells us to be cautious, those who go against the mainstream are either assassinated or there character is assassinated.

if he is guilty he should go to jail no arguments here, but why do Sweden not send over investigators to question him (they did it before, why not now?) to determine full facts, info around this seems to be patchy were drink and drugs involved, is blackmail part of the equation, do plaintiffs stotry check out,, lots of questions and nobody asking them,, Why do US have sealed proceeding/ documentation surrounding Julian Assange,,

point to note Sweden is one of the biggest arms manufactures in the world, the US is the most tooled up Nation in the world.

so if we all step down from our soap boxes and approach this logically, perhaps there is more going on here than meets the eye!!!

• If you make the rules you can bend them anyway you see fit.US government are masters of double standards,This case reminds me of General Pinochet Dictator.Charged with War Crimes but never extradited.Seems that if you’ve been a bold/good boy the U.S will bend any law same goes for their U.K counterparts.

• A lot of people are saying that because the UK doesn’t recognise that form of sexual assault then it isn’t obliged to carry out the warrant. A few minutes checking out the law regarding European Arrest Warrants may be illuminating for them.

Let’s take a hypothetical. A 19 year old here has sex with a 14 year old. Here that’s paedophilia, even if it’s consensual.

The 19 year old then goes to Spain.

A European Arrest Warrant is issued. However in Spain the age of consent is 14. Making the act not a crime over there.

Should Spain carry out the European Arrest Warrant?

Well, yes. Because the rule that lets countries refuse to carry out European Arrest Warrants if the law isn’t valid in their jurisdiction is lifted in certain cases, including paedophilia and rape, regardless of the form.

So the European Arrest Warrant stands.

• There is no such offence as Pedophilia. Pedophilia is a sexual desire in a Adult toward a child. Not an offence until acted upon.

• It would be statutory Rape, not paedophilia. (which is a condition about pre pubecene anyway) but saying that you’re correct as far as I’m aware a once a European arrest warrant is issued it must be carried out by any signatory country, regardless of the crime.

• The obligation on the uk with regard to the warrant states that he shall be arrested and taken before a uk judge where a hearing will take place before a decision is made to extradite him or not.

• I am not convinced there was anything particularly out of order about what mr Galloway said. The key issue here is that consent was given for sex in the first place. In these cases both parties are normally bombed with drink and / or drugs. If the male is not sufficiently compus mentus to realise the female has passed out after the initial sex act, I don’t see how you could call this rape.
    Regardless of the detail, the allegations against Mr Assange are politically motivated.

• The facts are the NWO has been a going concern for hundreds of years by the elite family’s of the world, All of us are asleep at the wheel. We are not free! we are all controlled by the elite and there foundations and corporations, we are sleep walking in to tyranny. The elite have plans to kill of 90% of the world population, and Assange is getting the information out there. I’m using hotspot shield on my computer cos BT is blocking most of the site i go to, exercising my freedom of speech.
    You tell me you think Assange is guilty? ask your self’s are you really free? Cos I know I’m not !

• lee Jones, who cares about FACTS, well obviously not you low brow!!

Damocles if you knew your history you would know the Russians stopped ~Hitler, at a massive cost of life.

Who funded Hitler!!! or should say the Times Magazine MAN of the YEAR (twice I think!!)

• you have to stoop to personal insults mmm you are obviously gifted in the brain department to have to make it personal, everybody is entitled to their opinion just because it is not aligned with yours they are obviously wrong in your world that is. i pity you if you cannot accept others opinions without taking the high ground because you think your opinion supersedes others.

• The second prosecutor that was rushed in (you know, when the first one found Assange hadn’t a case to answer for!) “Ny” declined the opportunity to interview Mr Assange after she took over the case on 1 September 2010, despite the fact that he remained in Sweden until 27 September 2010…

They had EVERY opportunity to question him previously but they didn’t.

• Brian 21/08/12 #

Generally speaking I can’t stand Cameron and his shower but in this case the British government have no choice except to do what they are doing and obey international law. Julian Assange may have shown courage in bringing Wikileaks to the world but he has shown himself to be a fraud and a laughing stock by hiding behind Ecuador. This is a country which lies 89th in the Democracy Index and which is also 104th in the Press Freedom index. Rafael Correa clearly doesn’t believe in free speech yet here is shouting and roaring about Assange being persecuted by the Americans. You couldn’t make it up.

And as an aside, I don’t know what he makes about George Galloway’s comments about rape but if he has any sense at all he should find them abhorrent. For anyone who hasn’t heard Galloway’s pathetic attempt to involve himself in something he hasn’t a clue about and is also none of his business, here’s a link to the story

http://www.guardian.co.uk/media/2012/aug/20/george-galloway-julian-assange-rape

It amazes me that some people still portray Galloway as a left-wing hero always willing to stand up for the repressed but these comments will hopefully shut them up once and for all. He’s a horrible, horrible man.

• They’re really milking this. It’s getting silly now.

• Hopefully he takes a “tumble” and requires immediate hospital attention…..and the ambulance gets diverted by roadworks and ends up in Heathrow….cheerio Julian its been emotional…

• It’s amazing that people have such contempt for the US, they are perfectly willing to support a country with documented abuses against free speech, and stand behind a man running from allegations of rape. Pretty sickening really.

• Whats sickening Partysaurus Rex is the amount of misinformed people like yourself who don’t read the full story or even attempt to read between the lines,, theres that word “Rape” again,, your comment might hold more water if you could get the charge correct for starters.

• “The EAW contained four complaints from two different women: that on 14 August 2010 he committed “unlawful coercion” when he held plaintiff 1 down with his body weight in a sexual manner; that he “sexually molested” plaintiff 1 when he had condom-less sex with her after she insisted that he use one; that he had condom-less sex with plaintiff 2 on the morning of 17 August while she was asleep; and that he “deliberately molested” plaintiff 1 on 18 August 2010 by pressing his erect penis against her body.”

Call it what you will, but having unprotected sex with someone while they are unconscious is pretty much rape in most peoples book.

• I think it’s about being informed… While no one should disagree that America is a great country, we tend to turn a blind eye to their heinous crimes. They invaded Afghanistan after 9-11, the sole purpose being to capture Bin Laden. Funnily enough US companies were given contracts a couple of years ago to tap into 3 trillion dollars worth of Afghanistans natural resources. They also invaded Iraq under the pretance they had WMDs, when everybody and their dogs knew they went in there for oil. Dick Cheney has been quoted as saying on the day it happened that 9-11 was the excuse the US needed to drive their foreign policy. Untold millions of innocent civilians have died in both of these wars and the major media in the US, with government help doesn’t inform their public. Wiki leaks, and other organisations like it, are the only route left to inform the public, particularly the American public as to what’s really going on in the world. If Sweden made guarantees to JA that he wouldn’t be extradited to the US, then he should go and answer their questions.

• Damocles 21/08/12 #

” no one should disagree that America is a great country”

Yes, it is large. That’s what you mean by “great”, yes?

• who cares about a Australian hacker that has or has not had consensual sex with 2 women this man is playing everybody for fools free publicity for his website. Ecuador gave him asylum to annoy the yanks look at the fools defending this man they just seem to be conspiracy theorists oh the Americans are censoring everything oh they are the worst thing on earth cop on people if it was int for the Americans in the 1940s we would all be talking German we would not have half the technology you write your comments on so just stop defending a man you have and probably never will meet with all your facts WHO CARES!!!!

• Damocles 21/08/12 #

“if it wasn’t for the Americans in the 1940s we would all be talking German”

Russian. If it wasn’t for the Americans (and the Brits) we’d all be talking Russian.

• no because if the Americans had not intervened the British would have capitulated there would have been no Normandy landings and the Germans would have been able to defend properly against the Russians

• Damocles 21/08/12 #

The Russian front was 4 times the size of the Wsetern front. That’s the size of all the other phases of the war put together, if the Germans were trying to hold together all the other occupied areas and you added the UK into that then the Russians would still have swept through and, having not encountered US allies in Berlin, would have gone on through the rest of Europe.

We’d all be speaking Russian.

Add New Comment