TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 8 °C Tuesday 18 June, 2013

Health Minister’s business affairs ‘entirely in order’ insists Taoiseach

Enda Kenny was responding to revelations that James Reilly’s name is to be published in the debt monitoring magazine, Stubbs Gazette, this week.

Health Minister James Reilly (File photo)
Image: Mark Stedman/Photocall Ireland

Updated 3.50pm

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said that Health Minister James Reilly’s business affairs are “entirely in order” and has insisted that the Minister has “no problem” making a statement to Dáil following revelations that he is to appear on a debt defaulters’ list this week.

Reilly is to appear on the debt defaulter’s list in the Stubbs Gazette – which publishes a register of all judgements registered in the Four Courts – in what is believed to be the first time a sitting cabinet minister has ever appeared in the magazine.

It comes after the Minister and four other business partners agreed to buy a nursing home in Carrick-on-Suir in Co Tipperary only to to fail to comply with a High Court order to pay €1.9 million to purchase the nursing home, the Irish Independent reports today.

During Leaders’ Questions in the Dáil today, Kenny was responding to questions from Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams who called on the Minister to make a statement in the Dáil on the matter.

The Taoiseach said of his party colleague: “The Minister has no difficultly making a statement to the house here,” adding that his business affairs were “entirely in order” and that he had received assurances the amount owed would be paid.

In a statement, a spokesperson for Reilly said that the Minister was working with his four co-investors to “agree the methodology for the payment of the sums due on foot of the judgement”.

James Treacy, the managing director of Stubb’s Gazette said the publication would have a “very detrimental impact” on the the reputation of the Minister.

He told Today with Pat Kenny on RTÉ Radio: “Having a registered judgement particularly for such a large amount will have an extremely detrimental effect on your ability to get credit.”

Treacy described the judgement by the Commercial Court as “exotic” saying that the way it was structured meant that all five members of the partnership are joint and separately liable for the full amount is due.

This means that if four of them cannot pay, then one of them is liable for the full amount. Treacy added that the “creditor will generally go after a good mark” and will go after someone who does not want their debt defaulters’ status publicised.

Fianna Fáil’s health spokesperson Billy Kelleher has led calls for Reilly to make a statement in the Dáil saying that the revelations were “very disturbing” while Sinn Féin president Gerry Adams has said that the Minister needed to clarify his relationship with the Green Hills nursing home.

In the Dáil, Adams raised questions about Reilly’s decision to close “296 nursing home beds” and his involvement with the nursing home but was warned by the Ceann Comhairle that it was “not custom” to inquire about Dáil members’ private matters during Leaders’ Questions.

A statement from the Minister’s spokesperson said: “On assuming office – Dr James Reilly handed over power of attorney to his
solicitor in relation to his business interest in this property.

“Subsequently in accordance with the Standards in Public Office Commission -That power of attorney was passed on the an independent 3rd party solicitor as appropriate

“A court case earlier this year, related to the property, resulted in an agreement that Dr Reilly and 4 co-investors would buy out the interests of another group of investors. That judgement of the court is not in dispute.

“The parties are now seeking to agree the methodology for the payment of the sums due on foot of the judgement. Dr Reilly has nothing to do with the ownership of the nursing home business on the property. Dr Reilly’s political colleagues are aware of his involvement in the property transaction and of his wish to divest himself of his interest as soon as agreement can be reached.”

Read: Howlin insists HSE will reach savings target despite €280m overspend

Read next:

Comments (110 Comments)

• Anybody can make a financial error. My problem with the Fine Gael Minister for Health Dr James Reilly is that he as a politician and doctor would be investing in a Private Nursing Home. Surely a Minister for Health’s focus should be working to ensure that good medical care is available to everyone in the state.

But Fine Gael continue to show us that they are Capitalist Politicians, always chasing the buck!

• Anyone think the fact he’s involved in a private enterprise which profits from healthcare is enough to have him out the door? Slight conflict of interest.

• yasser 10/07/12 #

Must watch Vincent on TV3 tonight will be interesting.

• We have a finance minister who owns german bunds and toes the line of Angela Merkel, weakening the euro and making the value of those bunds go up. And now we have a minister for health whos involved with private nursing home investments while our old folks rot on hospital trolleys.

We need this crap investigated. If either of these guys have made a decision since becoming minister that has profited their portfolios a single cent, they should be in serious trouble.

• And the government comedy show rolls on. Who’s gonna get the blame for this I wonder?

• “QUICK…LOOK OVER THERE……JOE HIGGINS IS USING OUR TAXES TO STAY IN A B&B”

• There are many ways to fame but Reilly chose the wrong one.
      Remains to be seen if he has the decency to resign.
      If he is genuinely guilty.
      But then again, you don’t end up in Stubbs for no good reason.

• Not a chance he will resign. FFG Olivia Mitchell, even though the Mahon Tribunal found that she took ‘donations’ from developers, is still a FFG TD. Not one thing done in response. The Mahon Tribunal only cost the Irish Tax payer almost 300 million euro…. No action…. speaks volumes. FFG are just FF under a different brand name,

FFG were extremely quick to attack Joe Higgins last week on Journal.ie. However, not one of them volonteered that some of their own TDs were claiming exactly the same allowances as Higgins (travelling outside their constituency to meetings and claiming expenses). Brian Hayes to name but one. And you can be damn sure he wasn’t staying in BB’s like Hggins was.

• @trueleft… Excellent

• Resign? hahaha good one!
      Sure what’s an ould conflict of interest between friends.

• Blame for what exactly? that a group of persons one of whom is now a government minister entered into a contract that they have been unable to honour. I would have thought the answer to that would be self evident! Why would need to ask such a question unless of course you expect or want a more mischievious answer!

• A person who formerly lobbied the state on behalf of Doctor’s getting them a huge premium in return for treating certain medical card holders, is now involved in direct investments in private healthcare companies while shaping the public private healthcare divide, assuming this investment was declared as a members interest is not time that any govt minister cannot have personal investments directly part of and affected by the policy he decides to implement. If you want to be the Health Minister you don’t also get to invest in private healthcare enterprise in a personal capacity, its an obvious and unacceptable conflict of interest.

• Diverting power of attorney does not dispel his interest in the investment. “Methodology!”

• At least his special adviser who he breached the pay cap for will have some work to do today , but”methodology, he could do better than that”

• Minister in private unpaid debt shocker. Thankfully, it has no impact on the Irish people. Unfortunately, Joe Higgins & Co can continue to claim expenses against the rules of the system at a cost to the Irish taxpayer. Oh the horror :(

• Kevin, your best mates in the Dail (Brian Hayes FFG) admitted that he was claiming the same type of expenses as Joe Higgins (except Hayes expenses were a lot higher). Other FFG/Labour TDs admitted in private they were at it also… care to comment on it, or is it Joe Higgins you want to get?

• Kevin, thank you so much for proving the point I made upthread.

• Cal1 Mooney; Well I can only comment on Brian Hayes, because he came out publicly without it being forced and admitted to misusing the system in a similar way. I applaud that Brian is admitting to the problem and is being upfront rather than blaming everyone else such as the Independent Media Group and the Government. I think you have to give kudos to him for not going down the Socialist route of claiming it was perfectly acceptable and justifiable. But he misused the system. The state can not and should not be paying out for opposition TDs to go around the country pushing their agenda. We cant afford it now and we should never be in that position to finance it anyway. Now that he knows he has misused the funds available, he should pay it back. Likewise, Joe & Co need to stop the hysterics, admit they got it wrong and pay it back.

Since you seem to be good friends with other FG TDs who have opened up to you, I cant really comment as I have no idea what was said or what they were claiming it on etc.

May I also add that Brian was using the expenses (still misusing it) to talk about the Fine Gael Education proposals. He was not going around advocating the Irish people break the law and trying to get people to stop paying their taxes as part of a so-called austerity campaign. I’m against the household tax, I believe its unjust. But I don’t think its appropriate for a member of the Dail to be telling people that austerity isn’t working and the best way to tell the government that is to… stop paying your taxes.. which leads to a lack of revenue coming into the state coffers. In addition, Brian doesn’t claim to live of the average industrial wage and claim to represent the working class while claiming the full wages anyway, leaders allowance, expenses and pension. Its hypocritical and completely contradicts their policy. I think this is why its made a bigger deal than Brian Hayes.

Something you don’t seem to have picked up on either lads is that it seems nobody is picking up and pointing out just how daft the expenses system is. Instead its everyone pointing fingers at each other rather than dealing with the facts, addressing the issues and addressing the bigger issue of expenses.

• Kevin FFg/Labour are in power over 15 months … What Bill have they introduced to address the expense issue? No offense, but until FFg/Labour do something about it, then every article we read about expenses, and we have individual TDs claiming to be aghast at how the expenses are being abused etc, holds absolutely no water.
      Its the same about Minsterial and TD wages. Stop using the “we think we need to fix these issues” and do something about it. You guys are in Government. Not Joe Higgins, not SF, not the independents. FFG/Labour are. Please stop making excuses and get up off your backsides and do something right for once.

• Average expenses per TD in 2011:-

FF €45,219 v SP €23,654,

Can we agree that ALL EXPENSES should be vouched and halved regardless of the politician or party. No reciept – no pay.

• Very good question ? I gather from 9 oclock news it is reillys fault typical fine gael media spin

• It would appear Cal, that you think I am a government minister. I can assure you, I am not. Therefore, I cant get of my backside and fix it. I have called for it, and I shall continue to lobby for it. I have no impact, but its worth a shot – no? Unlike some, if a party or TD I support does wrong ill stand up and say so. I wont cower behind them, blame everyone else and try justify it.

I also find it absolutely appalling that you seem to be suggesting that Joe Higgins and his socialist colleagues plus Sinn Fein can do what they want in terms of expenses as long as the government don’t move to address the issue. These people were elected to do the right thing also, and their supporters like yourself wanted them to lobby and put pressure on the government for real reform for example. But how can you take them seriously, when all they do is claim these ridiculous expenses, leaders bloody allowance, wages in full and a pension for the icing on the cake? Lobby your colleagues in government to practise what they preach, and don’t take the moral high ground when someone in government doesn’t do the right thing. Its hypercritical.

• Kenny stated we will not have defaulter branded on our head as a nation.
    I wonder does that apply to cabinet ministers?
    How can he make decisions on care homes when he failed to buy one and defaulted on his obligations ?
    This will run a bit more !

• How can you serve in that position and invest in nursing homes? Isn’t there a slight conflict of interest?
    Oh–I see. That’s business as usual.
    Unbelievable!

• Enda Kenny standing in the NYSE with Denis O’Brien (shoulder to shoulder). This is the same Denis O’Brien who was found to have bribed a member of FFG in order to buy ESAT Digifone from the state. But in fairness to O’Brien, he only made 2,000 million euro off that trade. So Enda Kenny had no conflict of interest when standing up with him in NYSE. FFG has never once offered to pay the cost of the Moriarty tribunal or the Mahon Tribunal back to the Irish people, whats a few billion between FFG and the tax-payers…

Wait, wait, Enda claimed he didnt know Denis was going to be there… only under FOI, we saw that Enda was sent and approved the guest list :D You couldn’t make this stuff up.
      FFG are as honest as FF. And Labour are keeping them in power. Why?
      To quote a famous singer …. “Its all about the money, money, money”

• I have never voted Fianna Fail and I never will but anyone who thought that Fine Gael were an improvement must remember this. While Fianna Fail might be a crowd of chancers, Fine Gael are much worse. They are puppets for big business. They are Stepford Politicians – devoid of a social conscience.

• @Cal, your friends in Sinn Fein have stood shoulder to shoulder with a lot darker characters than O’Brien

• Jaysus wept, party aside, we really are being led by a bunch of clowns. I could dream up a more eloquent comment but they don’t deserve it.

• Serving minister who has failed to comply with a High Court order how can that be possible?

• Led by liars robbed by thieves sold out by traitors!!!!!

• Quick get some dirt on one of those Independent TDs,you know to deflect attention.Must be Shane Ross’s rurn by now.

• Now Enda show us in public what a hard man you are.

Maybe Eamon can show us some of the hard man he was in opposition.

Or maybe its only a few more months to go to qualify for those pots of pension gold and its probably best not to rock the boat.

• Is the house of cards falling….Dr Jekyll here is one in a long line of TD’s lining up for a fall…..!!!

Hogans next…. http://www.independent.ie/business/irish/nationwides-soft-loan-to-hogan-3161567.html

They are all up to their necks in corruption of one sort or another…!!!!

• Taoiseach Enda Kenny , in my humble opinion, totally disgraced himself in The Dail today in his grossly ignorant and synical “answers” to Sinn Fein leader Gerry Adams questions to him.

His Blueshirt fascist background keeps popping up when his mask slips, in his hatred towards anyone of a Republican disposition .
    Though that the days of this type of rightwing Unionist outlook were dead and gone – but Kenny is determined to keep stoking this type of gross hatred.

Shame on you Enda too – in trying to defend the indefensible.

• Christ, what next. I thought the fiasco around Phil Hogan was bad enough, but now another government Minister is being caught in a shit storm. Don’t for one second agree with Reilly being caught up in this and I do want to know why, especially in such a public position, nothing was done to address the issue earlier. I don’t think him having investment in the private health care sector warrants his resignation tbh. I don’t think it has any impact on his performance. Its like having private health care. Nothing improper with that even though he is working to fix the health care system.

Between government related scandals and opposition TDs being caught up in their own scandals through the misuse of public money through expenses scandals – it doesn’t say very much about the makeup of the Dail. No party or grouping in the Dail at the moment has a clean slate. I think Labour, if I am not mistaken, come out the best.

Its funny to see supporters of the opposition like Sinn Fein and the Socialists having a go at Fine Gael / Government here considering their own party has its own problems, if not worse than the scandal hitting FG/Government.

• Yep, Joe spent €900 quid in 6 months on a few b&bs and trains tickets to get men like Reilly out and yet this man is a minister in millions of debt running some side operation that makes money from nursing homes. Definitely not as bad :)

• @Kevin
      You see nothing improper in the Minister for Health seeking to make money in the private healthcare sector while supposedly working to improve the public healthcare sector?
      Four words for you. Two tier health service.

• What “performance” Kevin? Have you seen a improvement in the health service since he took up office 18 months ago?

• Kevin O Sullivan
      You keep swallowing what they keep shovelling , there’s a good man ,and keep your eyes and ears closed . You surely are the type of voter they want … Good luck with that . I used to vote FG but my God I have had my eyes opened . PEople are SUFFERING because these ne’er do goods are so self important and only have self innterest at heart !

• Martin; I don’t care if Joe spent it on new underwear and socks. He wasn’t allowed. If someone out their hands into your piggybank and took out €1,000 and spent it – would you shrug your shoulders and think it was okay? He had no permission to do so and at least one of his counterparts in the group knew full well it was against the rules.

Rommel; My hands must have typed something on their own accord. Can you quote my exact words, on that very thing I apparently said?

Kerry; The health service is a poisoned challace tbh. But people kept saying we needed professionals in their respective posts. That’s what you have with Dr. Reilly. Now, there hasn’t been much of an improvement I agree but that’s not what I was referring to. His bias/conflict in interest that others refer to has not had an impact on the job. Regardless of how good or bad that job has been going over the last year and a half.

Eileen; I don’t often see the point in replying to stupid replies that start like that. This country was in the shit and the people were struggling well before FG/Lab were elected. A year and a half in, it appears the public still want to vote for these parties again. I agree government hasn’t been going swimmingly, but its not been a total cockup. Considering we are in the worst crisis in the history of our great nation, there not doing that bad. Not perfect by any means, but not terrible by any means either.

• Sorry Kevin, where is it against the rules? The ruling on that has not come yet that I’m aware of. And Joe, Clare and Joan have said they’ll repay the money if they’ve broken the spirit of the rules. How that can be against the rules and it’s ok for Phil Hogan to spend €20k in Rio is beyond me but I’m sure you have an excuse ready for that too. He HAD stay in 5 star hotels course :)

• I was just trying to think back to the spread in the Indo about this when it first came up in the Commercial Court back in February.
    Oh hang on………maybe it was RTE……nope, it’s gone.

• They still think the law does not count for them ,why ? because he is a minister , they do not have to account to the law of the land as they are part of the golden circle.

• Enjoy your time in government Enda, it’s coming to an end.

• His business affairs are not ‘entirely in order’ Taoiseach until he complies with the court order.
    When he does that, THEN you can make that claim.

Am I missing something here?

• That picture is turning me off my lunch!

• Nearly Dinner time ….You can go without yore lunch for being nasty to the nice Minister Tut Tut

• In fairness the picture was taken just as James was branded on his forehead with the word defaulter so he’s entitled to look discomforted. Must be a thing of nightmares for Kenny given his aversion to the word defaulter being carried around on peoples foreheads…..

• Its OK to default if you are a member of FFg/Labour/FF … Its only the ordinary people who are not allowed to default. Banks can’t default and shut down, but Government ministers are encouraged to come out and brag about it. Just to rub it into the rest of us.

• I wonder is Shatter scurrying over to the Reilly household to grab mrs Reilly’s engagement rings and any inherited jewelry. Doubt it somehow.

• Brilliant Reada …. :)

• ……. “I know that people are not happy about the budgetary constraints but we’re no longer in charge of our own sovereing financial situation and we have regular three-monthly checks with the Troika”
      James Reilly addressing delegates at the INMO conference yesterday. May 2012.

He should have asked the Troika, if they were interested in a nixer.

• Our great “leader” has made a comment, that he can actually be quoted on, wow!

• I could’ve really led a happy life not knowing what Jame’s O’Reillys sex face looked like…

• Getting more an more like Brendan Grace every day, what a joke

• Kinda puts the so called #inkgate into perspective doesn’t it!

• Inkgate was at the taxpayers ‘expense’. Big difference.

• Mr. Reilies exposure to Revenue is also at the tax payers expense!!!!!!!!

• Chelsea Joe, i got data to say that FFg were using more paper than anyone else in the Dail when they were in opposition. So, now we have FFG Minister Hogan 900,000 euro gate, FFG Minister Reilly 1.9million euro gate…

Yes, SF Aongus O’Snaoidigh used twice as much toner as every else over a 2 year period (used 50k instead of 25k), but you have FFG guys borrowing money that the Tax Payer will end up paying on their behalf, if they don’t pay if back… and it looks like neither of them are in a position to do it.

We had the story yesterday that FFG/Labour were breaking salary caps… by up to 30,000 per year… Are the Ministers paying that out of their own pockets, or are the Tax Payers going to pay that?

• Fagan's 10/07/12 #

Joe. He is a leading Govt. Minister who has refused to comply or at least explain why he is not complying with a High Court Order.

Some business is out of pocket to the tune of 1.9mn because Reilly feels he can roughshod all over people, now that he is a Minister.

And that he seems surprised that he listed, even though this was a court order. Is that man Stupid.?

• Just another thief in the Dail, makes no diffrence

• I’d say this is only the tip of the iceberg with James Reilly – how many more hidden in the background ! !

• Joe Higgins spent €900 of expenses on train tickets and basic accommodation this year to oppose buffoons like this. Tell me, whose the real enemy? I’ll just read the independent, they’ll definitely know :)

• “The money was just resting in my account!!!”

Ireland,an even bigger comedy than Father Ted itself.

• Looking at the pic of reilly,he must have closed the wart and mole clinic

• Bagpuss

• This kind of news could bring down the goverment. Well done to my fav. paper for breaking the news.All the customers are reading the journal now I do let the customers use the pubs computer to read all the latest news as long as they are sober.

• Amazing also that James Reilly will be allowed make a statement on his money owed, to the Dail – yet the when someone else tries to do it just weeks ago, there are not allowed!

Again. for the many time we see, its one rule for us and another for them!

• Sinn Fein to FG ministers–thank a bunch, boys. Can I get ya an espresso or a Che Guevara t-shirt? We’re really grateful for all you’re doing to swell our ranks with your unintended press releases. How about a nice H-Block anniversary plate to hang on the office wall? You’re the best friend a republican ever had, you are. Bless you. Maybe you’d like one of the new design IRA coffee mugs? Y’know we couldn’t be doing this well without you, I don’t think. Looking forward to the 2016 GPO street party. See ya now. Come by the bookstore anytime and pick up a free Easter Lily pin!

• I see what you did there……you used another story relating to FFG and their hypocrisy to espouse your vitriol towards the opposition.
      Well played sir, using tired old rhetoric to deflect the questions away from one of your own, class act.

• Cal Mooney you are some f***ing waffler

• Oliver, as a member of FF, is it your party’ policy to rebuff people in this tone? Is this the open and honest FF that is answering, or is this your own personal opinion of me?

• Oliver. Your a member of FF for flip sake. A party whose leadership and elected reps are representative of the worst corruption, treachery and ignorance that Ireland ever had to contend with.

FF. A party serving Thieves, led by Traitors, and followed by Fools.

• maura 10/07/12 #

I may have missed something, but I have not seen anywhere where Dr. Reilly owes the Revenue.

• No you haven’t missed anything as he doesnt owe the Revenue (yet). He was made liabal to pay the sum of 1.9 Million euros to a group of investors. He missed the deadline and now he is in default and should one of the investors decide to do so, they can go to the court and ask to have him declared bankrupt. Should this happen he will be kicked out of the Dail. Disgraceful situation for a minister to be in.

• Even more disgraceful is his investing in a business that he regulates, unless the investment was made before he assumed the position, that is.

Add New Comment