TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 4 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Taoiseach: Youth employment will be priority for EU Presidency

His comments came in light of a report today that showed a rise in suicide in Ireland clashed with both the economic downturn and an increase in unemployment.

Taoiseach Enda Kenny in the Dáil today.

TAOISEACH ENDA KENNY has said that youth employment will be a priority for Ireland’s European Union Presidency, following criticism in the Dáil this morning over a new report on suicide.

United Left Alliance TD Richard Boyd Barrett challenged the Taoiseach on the report which he said “directly linked” the spike in suicide rates in Ireland to recession and unemployment.

“”The highest increases in suicide were in Ireland and in Greece,” he said. “The facts speak for themselves. Austerity policies are producing despair and hopelessness among young people.” Boyd Barrett said that if the government treated young people as second class citizens, they would feel like second class citizens.

The Taoiseach said the challenge now for the government was to rectify the problems inherited from the previous administration. “I sympathise with every family that has lost a life to suicide,” he said. “The report published today will indicate unfortunately that the rate here is the highest in Europe.”

Kenny said there are always “different pressures on young minds” and that there was a huge range of organisations working to support them. He said that young people had to trust the government as it was important that  decisions were made to allow confidence to come back into the economy to provide opportunities for them. He added that a programme of measures to tackle the issue are currently being developed.

Boyd Barrett said it was not just young people who were unemployed who are feeling the pressure and hopelessness, referring particularly  to those working in the public sector. “We see the same sense of despair felt by people who can’t find work in the cases of nurses and teachers who are being treated like second class citizens,” he said.

The Taoiseach rejected comments from opposition TDs that the government was belittling graduate nurses with its recent scheme offering 1,000 places with a reduced rate of pay.

“This is an opportunity for Irish men and women, as trained nurses, to work in Irish hospitals at a salary of €22,000 or €25,000, get experience, build on training and not to have prospect of going abroad,” he said.

Read: Report: Irish rate of young male suicide ‘among EU’s highest’>

Read: INMO: Minimal applications means boycott on nurse graduate scheme working>

Read next:

Comments (49 Comments)

• Jobs, jobs, jobs, If only we had a plan, some sort of 5 point plan maybe?

• How, enda, HOW??

Two years he’s had to implement his 5 point turn, and instead of investing in jobs to grow our way out of the hole were in, he’s thrown billions at bondholders who wern’t even covered by the banking guarantee.

enda ‘europe first’ kenny, the champion of the wealthy.

• Mark 23/01/13 #

RBB makes some valid points here. Well said Richard, some had to lay it in simplistic terms for these bunch of imbeciles.

Kenny “young people have to trust the government” fock right off Enda. I wouldn’t trust them as far as I could throw Phil Hogan.

• This Government has so many ‘top priorities’ – bondholders, banks, promissory notes, appeasement of the Troika, EU presidency – it is doubtful they’ll be able to juggle this hot potato.

• He talks the talk, yet can’t walk the walk. Lead by example Enda, take a cut in your pay and perks! More lip service from Brenda, he insults our intelligence every time he opens his mouth!

• More Lies from Pinocchio

• He’s about a year too late as usual

• The third great lie……I’m from the Government and I’m here to help you.

• There’ll be plenty more youth unemployment to go around so!!

• Cutting the dole for under 25 year olds has given them a new level of poverty a significant trigger for suicidal ideation. Also it’s an indicator in their perception of having less value than older members of society. Growing up in the fantasy of the Celtic tiger and its association of wealth defining ones worth is emotionally crippling for some too.

• I wouldn’t use being on the dole as a measure of how you value yourself. Also older people generally have paid more prsi than under 25′s. there’s also the fact that under 25′s more often than not are getting fed and watered by their mammies and were using the dole to be permanently on the jolly.

• sean 23/01/13 #

The only priority this bunch of parasites are interested in , is how much more money they can stuff into their pockets before they disappear into the sunset , everything else they say total bolloxology

• 12 Euro an hour…for graduate/newly qualified nurses.. that bollocks! Enda shame on you! Half the pay for a job… oh yeah.. There will be strikes!.. Even wild cats this time around! Skeleton staffing well hospitals will be closing, no access to care.. Imagine your loved ones unable to get care due to this draconian government! Systematic oppression, depression and now the highest suicide rate in the EU! Cop’n Enda! We all know that this scheme wont work due to the contraints of qualified nurses in agencies and the national nursing panel. Unacceptable and again not well thought out Edna! What you said is such desrepect for there profession (and not vocation)! Sooner the better to get this Gov out!

• Blah blah blah, same ould trite nonsense that was spewed when electioneering.

Enda, please shut the hell up talking about it, and go and bloody do something about it!

• No doubt his “smoke blowers and ego massagers” will tell him that he’s doing a fine job.
    I would imagine there is a better chance of seeing Elvis Presley riding across O’Connell street on Shergar than kenny doing half of the things he drones on about.

• So full of manure. They cut new entrant’s (majority young people) pay for all jobs and keep the pay for the existing oldies (usually just passing wind until retirement) at boom levels.
    Will anybody just get this man to stop spouting slurry?

• “..s and keep the pay for the existing oldies (usually just passing wind until retirement) at boom levels.”

If you’re referring to public servants, they’ve taken a 15% pay cut since boom levels.

• Notta mind the nurses!

• Teachers for example have not taken a pay cut!

Newly qualified teachers (NQTs) have taken over 20% cut in pay and pension. The problem with this is that there are no savings because there are no jobs for newly qualified teachers. All they have is five hours here and five hours there.

If all teachers had taken around 2% cut there would be savings, NQT’s would have an easier time and there would be more hours as the extra time the ‘old’ teachers took on after Croke Park could then be given to NQTs.

This new Croke Park ‘newbie union sell-out’ is another nail in the NQT’s coffin. The ‘old’ teachers will have to take on an extra hour a week. This is a disaster for new teachers as their five hours a week will be now down to four.

The only option is abroad. I don’t blame ‘old’ teachers but the unions. They are looking out for their old colleagues, classmates and drinking buddies.

The new teachers will have to make do with this legacy as the ould shites will have left the Unions by then

• Why do you dislike older people?

• I dislike all lazy people and those who refuse to negotiate when this problem and crisis is, in the majority, their fault.

• Who the hell do you think built this country?…not a bunch of over indulged kids…not all”oldies”as you put it are lazy or passing time or wind do be careful who you label wrongly

• Read carefully I am not talking about age here! I am talking about the brazen sell-out of the newly qualified by those who will not have to pick up the pieces.

• @Mark “Who the hell do you think built this country?…” we’re in the debt up to our eyeballs, there’s no jobs for well educated youth who are therefore being forced to emigrate, the health system rates poorly when compared to many third world nations, honest people are being jailed for being poor (not paying bills, taxes etc.) or facing the constant threat of homelessness due to this mess, and we have record levels of youth suicide. I’m not sure building this country is something you should say with any sense of pride.

• @Paul…the older folks of this country are in general as much responsible for the shape that the country it’s in than I am for sinking the titanic…..if you want to see a dreadful country look back to the 80 s before we developed ….coming out of college with a crap degree and a sense of entitlement is not the fault of the older generation…do what a lot of us had to do in the really bad days and get off your arse and get out and take control of your circumstances rather than blaming others….

• “Mark “the older folks of this country are in general as much responsible for the shape that the country it’s in than I am for sinking the titanic” Surely not, as in your previous post you proudly asked “Who the hell do you think built this country?…” in reference to the older generation. So basically you’re saying that older folks built this country but bear absolutely no responsibility for the state of the country they built. If you have a chance check out the definition of oxymoron in the OED before contradicting yourself again.

• Although I do read the full article (just in case) any article with ‘Taoiseach says…’ in the headline you can skip straight to the comments because it’s the same b*llocks for the last 2 years from this gombeen

• Yes , by all means help the youth but don’t forget the citizens over 45 who are thrown onto the scrapheap by ruthless employers so they can employ young people….older workers can’t emigrate to most places either due to age discrimination…..older workers have most likely paid into the system to for most of their lives so their needs should also be meet in this youth obsessed society

• Hay Enda why dont you stop breaking the pay ceiling for Government appointed party members. That way you could employ up to double the number of people. But I guess you would have a problem employeeing people who are not Yes men.

• Tell that to the 80,000 or so who have left already

• It would suit them if all the youth left the country so they can slap each others backs saying what a great job they are doing.
      kenny and co are just not up to the job and should have the decency to go.

• Mike we exported 80,000 of the smartest most well educated people this country has even produced. The population is getting older and the burden on pensions and care into the future is going to be off the scale. If a country is going through an austerity programme as we are the effects of emigration and unemployment will be devastating.

• What a load of horse burgers! There is an awful smell and it isn’t wafting from Northern France.

• First task , beat students sensless until they know that with 0 experience an arts degree does not mean they can skip over minimum wage jobs .

• marcoop 23/01/13 #

What is this assumption that students are all studying for an arts degree? Can u explain that one?

• Its not an assumption , but a lot of science , engineering and obviously medicine and law students do a lot of work placement and have a foot in the door when they leave college, a lot of them go straight to jobs in their field of study . A lot of (mostly) arts students leave college with no workplace experience and have a chip on their shoulder and think they are above working in a minimum wage job etc.. They say that theres “no jobs” because they cant just walk into a 30k + a year job with a degree in sociology and english

• marcoop 23/01/13 #

I’m in a field of engineering, expectations are there as far job prospects etc. I’ve looked at the industry I’m involved in and am aware of the challenges ahead.. From what you’re saying it sounds like ‘arts’ students haven’t had their expectations accuratley set by anyone in their chosen field or worse still that exaggerated claims have been made by colleges so they can get more bums on seats, and therefore more registration fees, to pay for inflated wages for lecturers who are controlled by unions.

• Id believe in the personal responsibility of people to manage their own expectations and do research , but its true that open days and lecturers to band about the old “ahh sure by the time your done youll be on 40k a year” line .

• He’s not up to the job.A perpetual cycle of inability and despair.Youngfellas who were ready to work played football soccer wanted to contribute i see them there good lads their resorting to Heroin.Their being conditioned to feel worthless by a Government who has put a rope around their neck and Noonan is going to make them debt slaveserfs forever for their whole lives.What is wrong with the people of this country jesus overpaid government are playing hardball with people with people that have no more to give and softball with Foreign bankers who caused this sickening situation we are in.Get up of yere arses and do something our country is being stolen along with peoples dignity hearts minds pockets the feckin lot.Ive had enough funerals of young people who see that the ones who should no better no nothing and will not defend them if i have to bury one more kid because of these souless tyrants and dictators we now have im going up to that dail and im goin to go Greek if ye see people trying to do what’s right dont laugh join them .Get up and do something get up stop lying down to be trampled on defend yereselves and yere family at least . That sniviling Kenny and his handpicked croonies dot give a shit about ye.RISE UP

• H

• You right a comment and all that comes out is a H.

• Re employment – does he mean paid Employment – or lots of work schemes and ” work expierince ” jobs . they are all the rage now – provide cheap labour for the capitalists –
    —–and a few days ago in US workers were told outright that they would have to accpet sweat shop Chinese rates of pay to be ” competitive ”.
    As has been said – where are these jobs to come from – and many thousands are needed for Youth and Adult . Surely people will not vote for this bunch again – which leaves the massive question —- ” who will people vote for ”—– assuming there are still people on this island to vote .
    Remember these two films ” On the Beach ” and ” They shoot Horses ” – that is the direction we are fast getting to .

• Sorry people but if your waiting for the government to sort things out YOUR MAD.Get off your ass and do it for yourself and stop moaning.

Add New Comment