TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 13 °C Wednesday 22 May, 2013

Plans to cut another 9,500 public jobs are ‘too costly’, says Troika

A leaked European Commission report raises questions over Brendan Howlin’s plans to further downsize the public sector.

The Troika has raised concerns about Brendan Howlin's hopes of saying goodbye to 9,500 public workers by 2014.
Image: Sasko Lazarov/Photocall Ireland

PUBLIC EXPENDITURE minister Brendan Howlin’s plans to cut 9,500 public sector jobs in the next two years are too costly and are at the risk of not being realised, according to Ireland’s Troika lenders.

A leaked draft report from the European Commission reveals serious misgivings among the European Commission, European Central Bank and International Monetary Fund about the merits of Ireland’s plans to cut back on public sector job numbers.

Under current government plans, the total number of public sector workers is to be cut to 282,500 by 2015 – down from a peak of 320,000 in 2008 – in efforts to cut €2.5 billion from its overall pay bill.

The government last year said it wanted to bring this target forward to 2014, however, with a voluntary redundancy package that would mean payoffs of up to two years’ salary for any of the government’s current 292,000 employees who opt to leave their jobs.

The document, seen by TheJournal.ie, expresses concerns about the merits of this move, however, with the EU-IMF inspectors bluntly defining the scheme as “costly” and arguing that retraining the staff for other public jobs – as is provided for in the Croke Park Agreement – would be a better move.

Retraining workers ‘more efficient than letting them go’

The report states:

Retraining under the Croke Park agreement would allow a more efficient use of human and financial resources, especially as the scheme’s intended target group of employees has considerable remaining working life.

It also raises fears that the government could struggle to reach its targets, because the current state of Ireland’s labour market means there are few job opportunities in the private sector which public workers could fill.

While the Troika acknowledges that the plans to cut public jobs “would generate savings in the longer term”, because workers would accrue sigificantly smaller pensions if they left early, any immediate gains would be offset by the probability that public workers would have to go on the Dole for at least a short period.

The extent to which the scheme would be compatible with protecting service delivery or would require outsourcing of activities is unclear, casting doubts on the sustainability of the estimated savings.

Critical of delay in new pension rules

Elsewhere, the report is critical of the delay in activating the new pensions scheme for public workers, which will see any new entrant to the system given a pension based on their average career earnings and not just their final salary.

This legislation was activated by Howlin last week, but was passed by the Oireachtas last summer and signed into law by President Higgins on July 28 last.

The delay in implementing these “important provisions” implies a “permanent reduction in the structural savings” that the government can make on its pensions bill, the Troika says.

However, the report does not comment on the fact that the ongoing public service recruitment embargo means there has been limited recruitment in the meantime, with only a small number of new entrants to the teaching and healthcare professions.

Read: Troika wants less pay, more hours for public sector workers

In full: More of TheJournal.ie’s coverage on the leaked European documents >

Read next:

Comments (22 Comments)

• Cutting jobs for the sake of reaching targets is madness. Getting value for money is what is needed and each pay check should create wealth or value for the country.

• Yes.
      Similarly though, we should be getting more value out of our government by demanding them to do what they are supposed to be doing.
      Make them more accountable, instead of replacing them with a similar bunch of idiots in a few years time.
      Maybe we should try asking ourselves what are the things that we would do immediately,
      if we knew that were going to forced to be stuck with these idiots forever??
      Make them more accountable now!

• The biggest cultural change in the public sector would be to (lawfully and fairly) dismiss employees on the grounds of incompetence. It is a
    minority but other public sector workers have to carry them.

• I think such a plan would affect very few and not generate significant savings. Also how is incompetence accessed? Permanence metrics are very labour intensive. That is one of the big problems of performance-based pay and why its not the norm in public sectors globally.

Personally, I think union negotiated increased efficiencies are the way forward, they may help a lot in areas like the Gardaí and the civil service. On the other hand this approach is not going to succeed in our universities without lowering their international rankings.

• Way too many office staff , I had to go to meet superintendent the other day why are fully trained guards doing office work ,why can’t thy hire lay ppl to do this work and get more guards on the streets ( I’m not giving out about guards just the way it’s ran)

• They did that finbar, and guess what admin grew and grew, I guess there is something about office work that they need someone to talk too, then someone else etc etc, I know I’m being unfair admin can save money if efficiency improved

• A bloated system with layers and layers of staff accountable to nobody.The latest example is the revenue department.My partner into our local tax office to query their tax and was informed that we do not deal with the public face to face anymore.You have to email us now.So a row of office staff behind windows doing fk all. I am still waiting for my Revenue on Line pin number and this is after emailing the tax office last week

• Martin when you get the pin you will be happy with the online service, it really is excellent,

• Top civil servants are over-paid, not because of their conditions, but because they haven’t been managing their roles
    Sad when the troika need to tell them to cut back numbers, and streamline the service , their behaviour is not far from treason

• Every tom, Dick and Harry knows that the public sector here is bloated and full of dead weight with more than a fair few of them just turning up for work. I have contracted in 3 departments and have seen this first hand.

We a nation of 4.5 million there is no way we need that amount of public sector workers.

Pity we needed the dreaded trokia make our powers that be wake up.

• @That perception is growing but largely due to media hype. The figures tell a different story. According to the economist Dan O’Brien the notion that the public sector is bloated is wrong. In Ireland, the public sector accounted for 15 per cent of total employment – almost exactly the OCED (32-country) average, according to the most recent data. However it is relatively well-paid but not extremely so. Other differences included hours worked.

• the IMF is correct why create more unemployment, cut the costs by cutting pay.

• As if thats ever gonna happen! Croke park is about protecting the priveleged upper echeleons of the public service. Services to the public will continue to be cut. The term “public service” has become a joke. Its really “public servicing the public sector”. And as long as Howlin is in charge that will never change.

• Our public service (of which I am a part) is massively bloated and inefficient. If you take out the frontline workers,you’re still looking at 150,000+ employees who push paper and count beans. The HSE has 32,000 admin staff. This is in a country with a population equivalent to that of a suburb of Manchester. There are layers upon layers of management in every county council and state department in the country. We have quangos for failed politicians to retire to and a pensions system for the elite bordering on the obscene. Until a root and branch overhaul of the system we inherited from the British Empire is undertaken there will never be any chance of our public service returning the services needed at a cost that the country can afford.

• mattoid 12/01/13 #

@Colm
      Agree with almost everything you say, but I don’t think we can blame the British empire for this one – this problem is well and truly of our own making!

• @Colm McDonagh, The numbers in the public sector are actually average for the EU. This isn’t my opinion, its a fact.
      Some ‘quangos’ were/are deserving of abolition but many performed essential jobs that are done best outside of a gov department like the National Museum or the National Library. Three million people visited the National museum in 2010. Is it really so useless?

• We are like rats in a wheel we are going nowhere ‘we are just wearing ourselves out ‘ the government has to see that now They are just been led by the nose . At this stage a default would be a strong option and get it over with .Put it to the people and let them decide ‘ and work out a system to suit ourselves and keep the failed politicians out of it ‘ they have nothing to add but compliance

• Default? Really? Then we go to No Public Sector pay very quickly. Not the solution.

• Ryan'O 12/01/13 #

A testing shy default is what’s needed to achieve a partial write down! A few whispers and we’ll get a bit chopped off, like the Greeks. A little help along the way wouldn’t be too much to ask for, isn’t that what all the pats on the head were for?

Sorry no, I forgot Kenny and co said they are not looking for that type of help….paddy pays his way after all.!

• Very true. A default is needed bigtime. We cannot go on like this. The country will be robbed of everything all state assets, natural resources and all we will have left is more and more high levels of debt that will never b paid being put on the shoulders of generations.The option of default should b puf to the people. We need a clear out of present politicians they are just not up to the job and only want to line their own pockets.The last budgets opening lines should have begun with them taking substantial cuts in their wages and allowances and then maybe look to the people of ireland as the did to take a cut. They seem to b all the same in their political clubs.

• why doesnt the troika examine the irish govt,they are one of the biggest money wasters in this country,look at birmingham in the uk the same population as ireland and they have only 24 people representing them in govt we have a nursing home called the seanad,in total 265 overpaid useless idiots,who are so far removed from reality,they are on big saleries and fat pensions get rid of them and get in economists,and accountants to run this country,most of those idiots are there because their ancestors were there before them,look at all the money that is being spent on hiring advisors to the ministers in govt that goes to show us the lack of brains they have,wake up the troika or are yee part of the boys club as well .teresa east clare

• Blue collar workers should replace white collar workers with a neutral effect on employment.

Add New Comment