TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 15 °C Wednesday 19 June, 2013

Family defend Bangladeshi man arrested for NY bomb plot

The suspect’s father said he spent all of his savings to send him to America to study so he would have a better chance at life.

A Federal Reserve police officer guards the building in New York today.
Image: Frank Franklin II/AP/Press Association Images

A BANGLADESHI MAN accused of trying to bomb the Federal Reserve building in New York City is a banker’s son from a middle class neighborhood whose family members say they were stunned by his arrest.

The FBI arrested 21-year-old Quazi Mohammad Rezwanul Ahsan Nafis yesterday after he tried to detonate a fake 1,000-pound car bomb, according to a criminal complaint.

Prosecutors said Nafis traveled to the U.S. on a student visa in January to carry out an attack.

His family said that Nafis was incapable of such actions.

“My son can’t do it,” his father, Quazi Ahsanullah, said as he wept in his home in the Jatrabari neighborhood in north Dhaka.

“He is very gentle and devoted to his studies,” he said, pointing to Nafis’ time at the private North South University in Dhaka.

Courtroom sketch of Quazi Mohammad Rezwanul Ahsan Nafis in Brooklyn Federal Court. (AP Photo/Elizabeth Williams)

However, Belal Ahmed, a spokesman for the university, said Nafis was a terrible student who was put on probation and threatened with expulsion if he didn’t bring his grades up. Nafis eventually just stopped coming to school, Ahmed said.

Ahsanullah said his son convinced him to send him to America to study, arguing that with a U.S. degree he had a better chance at success in Bangladesh.

“I spent all my savings to send him to America,” he said.

Bangladesh does not have the same record of involvement in global terror as Pakistan, with which it once formed a nation before winning its independence in 1971. At least one Bangladeshi was among those detained by the U.S. at Guantanamo Bay Naval Base in Cuba.

- AP

Read: Man arrested over plot to blow up Federal Reserve in New York >

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (17 Comments)

• A poor lonely soul seeks the attention of 72 Virgins.
    Good on the F.B.I. This may deter other fools from trying to enter “Paradise” on the cheap, by blowing “infidels” to pieces.

• Suspect was working alone (with a bunch of FBI guys). Looks great for Obama.

• This isnt the first time I have read of something like this, the regional FBI offices need to keep their counter-terrorism budget going so they get stupid kids to carry backpacks full of wires and magnets – so-called bombs.

The target the FED -? What a joke. They must think everyone is an eejit.

• Unfortunately they mostly are… Most will take this story as gospel, like 911 and every other false flag.

• Lonely enough to seek the loving attention of seventy two virgins.
      If he did not get what he was seeking from one source he would have got it else where.
      Good on the F.B.I. Keep up the good work, we don’t want to see any more body parts blown aŵcross our city streets,because some poor fool is seeking attention.

• This story has more holes than a “fishermans net” !!!

• Just how much involvement did the FBI have in orchestrating this false bomb stack, A young student alone in America befriended by undercover FBI agents, who supplied him with the means to carry out the attack, I would love to hear recordings of conversations leading up to the plot

• Prosecutors say nafis travelled to America in January to carry out an attack, did he state this on his visa application? Why was he not arrested on arrival.

• The lad on the left,is it AOL’s digital prophet David Shing that was speaking at the dublin web summit yesterday?

• His student visa was on bomb course in US. US do not need to teach foreign culprit the bomb course like this guy. You have enough PhD, DBA, Ed, etc. from your own. He is looks like animal manner that I see him. Don’t bring any more those animal can destroy US. Stop brings those planners in this country, congress. Do not bring any nastier ad ugly plotters from that type of country such as Bangladesh, Mexico, Pakistan’s, India, etc.

• I live in this country, I have whole family here it is my now; it is my soul and heart, so stop immigrant business. Do not break this county by this business. I am curious about our future in this country as a predictor. I predict on my poetry: The World Rolling in Death Row: American in Danger. Crucial business and very risk for US today’s world.
    There is no way to release or deport him by believe Bangladeshi officials, there is no way to believe police or government officials about it, just follow US laws. He is clearly made danger himself his own choice to destroy or planning to scar US for his personal reason or he might be tie with some groups only he knows, Bangladesh police. teachers, or students or government doesn’t know that.

• He was clearly in danger and terrible in his native country schools, same terrible certificate is carried out for US soil in NY to act and he did but didn’t success. FBI opt his fate and save NY and us from this terror acts. He put sacred the world somehow by fake bomb. Now he needs to see a dark table.

• Sounds as if daddy has been mugged of his savings.

• It is looks like another ten commandments NY plot. There is no mercy for this terror guy. Execution now. No exception. Put him in a special cells where is only dark and can’t see anything and can’t feel fresh air.

Suspend the person issue visa and stop big corruption in Embassy which is ongoing by contract with people and illegally taking money and issuing visa to them.

As I am Bangladeshi I am surprised that this man is terror and denies this guy and supports his son, he is credulously nonsense. I am 23 Yrs. In US, I never see their face and I dislike Bangladeshi people.

This Bangladeshi man must face US trial and shortly use lethal needles. This coward and cruel nature must receive immediate execution, because he clear and danger for US.

I am so nervous about terror. Any terror cell should not alive in anywhere. They are nonsensically danger for their coward and radical actions.

Bangladesh American Embassy so corrupt by certain area such as Shandip, Noakhali, Chittagong, and Dhaka issue 90% visa for those areas rather than other areas for US interest and New York’s City’s and those people are living here so reducibility, They fought in political by a group, and so nasty with their Behavior. As I am Bangladeshi I fully dislike those areas people for their bad behavior.

• Fanatic radical terror to go Hell of execution’s. This coward should not be deported to Bangladesh as our constitution and bill of rights. He will executed in this land as a terror evil.

Horrible…Terrible….for us leave him by lethal poisons immediately if proved this terror and clearly in danger.

• US congress should stop Bangladesh student visa and/or nasty illegal visa. I heard US Embassy’s employees selling visa by million dollars contact for a green card, it is ridiculous, men. You don’t know their behavior. US already know tier Behavior in US and their US social status. Need to find out home money was contact for this guy for student visa and who was a broker for him.

Add New Comment