TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 23 May, 2013

Father of Meredith Kercher tells of moment he learned of daughter’s death

John Kercher has released a book about his “beloved” young daughter – six months before Amanda Knox publishes her version of events.

Image: John Stillwell/PA Wire/Press Association Images

THE FATHER OF British student Meredith Kercher, who was found murdered Perugia, Italy, five years ago has released a book about his daughter’s tragic death and his family’s search for the truth about what happened to her.

John Kercher’s book comes six months after Meredith’s former housemate Amanda Knox, and Knox’s boyfriend of the time Raffaele Sollecito, were acquitted of her murder. The pair had served almost four years in jail but were released on appeal.

The book, entitled Meredith: Our Daughter’s Murder and the Heartbreaking Quest for the Truth, reveals the moment Kercher realised his daughter had been killed – when he was contacted by a newspaper reporter, reports the Telegraph.

He writes:

I hadn’t been able to get through to Meredith on her mobile, which was very unusual, but I tried to keep calm by telling myself the victim couldn’t possibly be Meredith.
The call eventually came from the foreign desk of the Mirror newspaper, from a young girl I hadn’t spoken to before. That call ended my world as I knew it… I shall never forget her words. ‘The name going around Italy is Meredith.’ I dropped the phone. I didn’t believe it. Not my beautiful Meredith.

Amanda Knox is also due to release a book about her “harrowing experience at the hands of the Italian police” – but it is not expected to hit the shelves for at least another six months.

The Kercher family have given few interviews to the media in the aftermath of Meredith’s death. However, following Knox and Sollecito’s acquittal last year, her sister Stephanie said that she felt Meredith had been “forgotten” in the midst of the dramas played out in court.

Meredith, a University of Leeds exchange student, was found dead in her bedroom of the accommodation she shared with Knox and another student in November 2007. Her throat had been slit and a duvet was draped over her partly-clothed body.

Rudy Guede, an Ivory Coast drifter and small-time drug dealer, remains in prison over Meredith’s death. The Kercher family believe that Guede was involved in the murder, but have rejected the theory he acted alone.

Amanda Knox to receive €3m in HarperCollins book deal>

Italian prosecutors seek to reinstate Amanda Knox conviction>

Kercher family ‘back to square one’ as Knox and Sollecito go free>

Read next:

Comments (45 Comments)

• Meredith and your family have been very wronged. This is such a sad and horrible case. I hope that they are brought to proper justice in some way.

R.I.P. Meredith

• It has to be one if the most shocking cases ive followed on years.

Typical of Knox cashing in with a movie and now a book. Shameful absolutely disgraceful that she would do this.

Justice will never be served and god love the Kercher family.

• @Ciaran

I have to agree with you. Cold, horrible individual, that’s what she is. But the publishers are no better nor is the director of the movie. The hurt and sadness on Meredith’s father’s face is just awful.

• Why were the wronged? Leaving two innocent people in jail hardly helps anyone.

• Paul C 10/04/12 #

And why exactly was it ‘disgraceful that she would do this’?
      She spent 2 years in a foreign prison for a crime she didn’t commit. As such, she was eventually awarded due process and found not guilty by a court of law.
      Her employment opportunities have been irreparably damaged by tabloids, not to mention the 2 years of her life she can’t get back. She has every right to write and sell her account of her wrongful imprisonment.

• @William Grogan & Paul C

You are entitled to your opinion, as I am. We will ‘beg to differ’. As one message states below, why weren’t they more helpful to the Italian police? If they were innocent why were they jailed, bail? until the case was heard? Neither of them are as innocent as they pretend to be.

They know what happened that night and they are not telling. I suppose it’s not up to me to judge, I don’t think I have, I’ve just given my opinion on the case. I believe in ‘what comes around, goes around’. I feel that there is probably, a better way to earn money ‘lost’ in the time that has passed!

• Sheila, neither your opinion or ours matters. The courts decided she was innocent. Therefore she is innocent and is 100% entitled to be regarded as innocent. Your queries are irrelevant. Read up on The Birmingham 6 or The Guilford 4 cases if you want to know how innocent people can be convicted.

• @William Grogan

Yes, I agree, she was passed as being ‘innocent’. What I’m saying is I don’t believe she is as innocent as they think she is!

I know about the other cases you mentioned. I don’t need to read up on them. They were truly proven perfectly innocent of those crimes! For the ones that are still alive, (R.I.P. others), I hope they are enjoying their freedom to the full.

• Sheila, my latest reply ended up at the bottom.

• @all: Knox was supposed to be Kercher’s friend – the movie was written and cast while she was still presumed guilty, the film and book is on bad taste, why? A true friend wouldn’t do this to further drag it out and cause pain on her so called friends family.

the case was miss handled by the Italian police forensically (it’s the only reason she got off) Not only that Knox deliberately lied to the police about everything. She also blamed s local bar man as being on the scene and being the murderer. He is the one I feel sorry for he was locked up, life ruined, thankfully he had a solid alibi in the end and was released. So why did Knox continually lie and blame it on an innocent man if she wasn’t in some way culpable or in part guilty? Also it was proven that she and Solicito were in the apartment on the night of the murder. Rude Guidé (bad spelling) the only person still convicted confirmed they were there and neither of them have an alibi to refute this.

Now there is no question that the police messed up the collection of physical evidence but everything else puts Knox, Guidé and Solicito at the scene of the murder. If those who were released innocent why is Guidé still in prison?

It comes down to money, a top notch defense lawyer and the media. Something Guidé didn’t have and can’t afford. Sure they say he confessed and yip we all know how cops can get confessions (bermingham 6 etc). But if all 3 were at the scene that night then all 3 are culpable. If Guidé did kill her then the other two are an accessory to murder and are guilty of perverting the course of justice.

But no, she is an attractive white female American with money and Guidé is a black male who’s a homeless drug dealer. Justice has. Not been served and Knox has deliberately perverted the course of justice why? She still hasn’t come clean about what happened that night why? She was Merediths friend, a friend would be honest and have feelings for her and her family after apparently a drug dealer slit her throat and sexually assaulted her.

she’s done none of these things and that is why I think it’s shameful to be cashing in and further drawing out the agony of her friends family.

Now the case of Knox vs Birmingham 6 etc are vastly different in many ways. There wasn’t a war going on in the streets of England. There wasn’t a tense air of hatred towards the Irish or Americans in this case. There was no need for a quick cover up to appease the general public and government. Concrete alibis were deliberately covered up and kept away from the defense. The cases are very different and shouldn’t be compared.

The only reason why they were let off was due to a technicality in the collection of forensic evidence by a novice police force in the small town of Perugia.

Furthermore the Italian high courts are ruling to reopen the case and to press charges once more. This is only because they have gotten their sh*t together. But thanks to US extradition laws Knox will never see the inside of an Italian court house again.

Justice has not been served and to profit while it hadn’t is immoral never mind disgraceful to do that to the memory of your friend.

I’ve followed this case with an open mind from the very beginning. As my family and I campaigned for the release of the Birmingham six and guildford 4. I would love to think she is innocent but I’m sorry my opinion is she is culpable and was an accessory to murder and guilty of perverting the course of justice.

It’s an interesting case as it plays on many stigmas attached to drugs, race, sex, age and nationality. Never mind the trial by media thx to sky news and such.

If she’s innocent like the Birmingham six her defense would stack up on it’s own and wouldn’t rely on blunders made by the police of a small town. she would also come clean to appease the pain felt by Merediths family in not knowing what happened that night to their innocent daughter.

• Sheila, you said, “I believe in what comes around, goes around’. Can you tell us how this works? It sounds like it depends on some sort of magical universe run by some sort of a deity that balances things out.

• @William Grogan

No, it doesn’t have any magical spells William. I believe in ‘what comes around goes around’. Whether you do not, as I said before, that’s your business. If you want an example, look at what’s happening aherne! Justice always prevails in some way.

Thank you Ciaran O’Hare. You explain the case very well.

Good day.

• Ciaran, it would take a very long post to rebut your many points. Amanda only knew Meredith a short while and her family have incurred huge costs in defending her. She is entitled to recoup that money the only way she can.

You claim Amanda lied but so would you in the circumstances. The appeal judge “.. criticised Perugia police for subjecting the American to an all-night interrogation in the days after Miss Kercher … was found dead. Miss Knox was “a young, foreign girl who at the time neither understood nor spoke Italian well,” he wrote. She was denied the assistance of a lawyer and subjected to “hours and hours of interrogation in the middle of the night”. It was a “torment” that had left her feeling anxious, confused and fearful and placed her under a huge amount of psychological stress”. Just re-read that paragraph a few times and tell me that anything she said was believable.

The appeal judges could have said “Not Proven”, as in Scottish law, but they said the stronger “Not Guilty”.

You say you know about the Irish miscarriages of justice but if you did you would know that in similar circumstances Gerry Conlon said his aunt made the bombs in her kitchen which landed her and six relatives and friends in jail for nearly 10 years. Gerrard Hunter told me himself that he said he planted the bombs while the police were driving up to London on the motorway at high speed and held him out an open door. In an interview with Paul Hill the interviewer said to him “I cannot believe that if you were innocent that you would admit to mass murder.” Paul Hill’s reply was, “I did say that and I have been found to be totally innocent.”

I’d hate you to be my judge if you say that Amanda was acquitted because she is pretty white American. The judge said the opposite and that the Italians were quick to accuse her BECAUSE of an anti-American bias.

Guide admitted his guilt.

She wasn’t “let of on a technicality” as you claim , I’ve heard many people say the same about the Birmingham Six & Guilford Four cases including directly from an Irish Court Clerk. (Very unfortunately 10 minutes after the Court Clerk left the pub Richard McIlkenny walked in.) She was let off because the judge said “there was no evidence against her”. Apparently the word “probably” was used 39 times in her original conviction.

We may never know exactly what happened but we must treat her as not guilty because there is no evidence to the contrary.

• Sheila, if you believe something completely daft and nonsensical like “karma” and can’t explain how it could possibly work then I’m not surprised you hold equally illogical opinions about the case and probably everything else.

• William
      I know all to well what the British government is capable of and what they subjected the Birmingham 6 and Guildford 4 to during their interrogation. However I do not allow my experience or knowledge cloud my judgement in this case.

The public is split down the middle re this debate we are having. There are only 3 people on this planet that know what happened to Meredith. You don’t know and I don’t know all we can do is form an opinion based on what we can research.

Everything you say is easily rebutted however you have failed to address the key part of the case. All 4 were in that apartment that night Meredith was murdered. To compare this case to the Irish miscarriages of justice you refer to is comparing apples to oranges. I’ve tried to remove any bias when reviewing the facts about this case.

Put it this way what has Knox done through the entire case that coincides with her innocence? Nothing.

The only reason she got off was due to the forensic mistakes that were made.

Unfortunately it seems you can’t accept there are two sides to this case and you need to assure yourself that your opinion is correct above all else. That’s a shame in my opinion.

It is highly possible that Knox was the victim of Italian justice. But nothing she was done can coincides with the events that have past nor with how she has conducted herself. Again why point the blame at an innocent man? Why mislead investigators? None of this is similar to the B6 or G4. To compare them diminishes the travesty that happened to the innocent 10. If you knew anything you’d know that.

So pls stop arguing for arguments sake. Debate the evidence if you’d like as that’s the only thing we can do. But alas I’m afraid we will still come to the same conclusion. That you think She and Solicito are innocent. Even though they were present during Merediths murder and only one black man done for the crime is in jail – who he himself has said they were present when he killed Meredith.

We can’t agree and we won’t agree. You can only see one side while I appreciate both. You think I’m wrong and I think your judgement is impaired.

Nuff said :)

• Finally:
      Would I lie in similar circumstances to Knox?

No.

If I was coerced No.

If I was tortured yes I’d probably break at some point. But my entire case would be they tortured me and I would be determined to clear my name by ensuring everyone knew what happened that night. Especially to put the Kercher families mind at ease or even to tell them how she was murdered if I knew.

None of this actually happened to Knox. She is an American citizen the Italian police and courts know that torturing an American citizen would destroy the case and be a disaster for international relations. Which is why she was never tortured.

Would I blame another man under duress? No. Never I’d rather take the blame myself.

Would I lie about my whereabouts and mislead investigators if I was innocent No.

In reality Would I ever sign a confession that wasnt true? No. If you knew me you’d know why. I’ve been subjected to police harassment much of my life and know how they operate.

Anyways refute away. We are aloud our opinions. We clash end of story. It’s been fun :)

• Amanda was entitled to be in the apartment on the night Meredith was killed – she lived there! There is no evidence she was there when Meredith was killed.

You can compare the cases. You specifically said “Not only that Knox deliberately lied to the police about everything. She also blamed s local bar man as being on the scene and being the murderer.” And I pointed out that the G4 and B6 victims did exactly the same thing. Gerry Conlon blamed his aunt for making the bombs. She didn’t. He lied under duress. So I can compare the two cases to prove your point completely invalid. Evidence obtained under duress is now known to be worthless.

I don’t really know what this weird phrase means, “Put it this way what has Knox done through the entire case that coincides with her innocence” but she denied and has always denied she was involved. Furthermore it beggars belief that someone with her background, model award winning student, young girl, highly though of would murder her new friend. It is so unlikely that she would have to have serious evidence against her for it to be credible. Girls with her profile very rarely commit such a murder. In fact I can’t think of a single case.
      Can you tell us of ANY evidence that links her to the murder?

The G4 & B6 cases are very relevant because they clearly showed that police and officials including forensic scientists and judges are capable of great errors and corruption. I have often made the point that one of the worst aspects of those cases was the integrity of the police in the UK was seriously undermined and as a result juries now no longer believe them.

We don’t have a difference of opinion. You are simply wrong. I haven’t said Amanda is innocent I said she must be treated as though she is. That’s what courts are for in a civilised society, unless you are suggesting we go back to lynch mob rule.

• Ciaran, claiming that you wouldn’t lie in similar circumstances is nonsense. For one you don’t know how you would react. You might not be the tough guy you think you are. Gerry Conlon was certainly a tough guy and Paddy Hill was as tough as nails and apparently was always stuck in fist fights, but they cracked. Furthermore Amanda Knox was a young woman and not a street fighter like Hill. The judge clearly and unequivocally said she was put under extreme duress. You do not have to be tortured in the classic sense to lie. Gerry Conlon wasn’t tortured. Paul Hill lied and said he murdered 20+ people simply because they threatened to lock up his girlfriend. If you don’t believe me read his autobiography. I can highly recommend it.

• Ah William the crux of the debate is clear you are an individual that has to be right.

Neither of us can possibly know what happened end of story. You choose to believe she’s innocent by the same court that ruled she was guilty. Your reasoning is farcical.

While I believe that yup it’s possible she is innocent I’m afraid my opinion is that the case isn’t as clear cut as you try to make it out to be.

I never professed to be a tough guy but thx for resorting to comments like that lol.

If I said black was grey would still argue that it was blue lol.

The cases of B6 and G4 are completely different again if you knew what u were talking about you’d see that.

But alas you simply can’t debate and can only argue – nah nah I’m right you are wrong mentality.

Not everyone will agree with you Willy live with it :)

• @ William
      This is what it’s like debating with you :)
      http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fqs9DYisSsg&feature=youtube_gdata_player

• Ciaran, it stuck my last comment at the bottom.

• Floodzie 10/04/12 #

One of the saddest images of the trial was the Kercher family sitting quietly as the courtroom emptied after the acquittal.

Rudy Guede does not seem very believable, not sure about Amanda and Rafaele.

• For two people acquiited of Meredith’s murder they did not appear to be very helpful in assisting the authorities seeking the truth …. Strange case all round . My sympathy is with Mr Kercher and his family.

• Did you condemn the Birmingham Six for not helping the police? How can someone who is innocent of a crime help the police? If you are threatened with life imprisonment your only concern is yourself. Having sympathy with the Kercher family has nothing whatsoever to do with the Amanda Knox case. Making that point shows your lack of logic in this discussion. You are equating two things that are unrelated as if showing sympathy for the Kerchers meant you wanted Amanda Knox to be guilty even if she is innocent.

• I never said I wanted Amanda knox to be guilty , She has been acquitted and so too has her co accused :)
      The Birmingham six is a completely different scenario , as that was political .William I must go now as there is a way more interesting thread on going at the moment . It is all about the 1.5 Billion Euros being given to the Unsecured bond holders by AIB . See you There :)

• Susie, “The Birmingham six is a completely different scenario..it was political”. It is indeed a difference but it doesn’t make it completely different. Another difference is that there were 6 in B6 versus 2 in this case. Another difference but not enough to make it completely different as you claim. They are both miscarriages of justice cases where police were found to be very much at fault in obtaining evidence illegally.

• Jasus Billy

The cases are vastly different FFs.

Sure Knox is touted as a miscarriage of justice but that is where the similarity ends. God your logic is infuriating since you claim to know the facts lol.

G6 b4, evidence was falsified. testimonies were false or hidden to either convict or acquit them.

Knox, evidence was mishandled forensically by a bunch of novice wood be CSI team. It wasn’t falsified. Testimonies and alibis were true bar the ones gathered from Knox and Solicito…. I won’t even mention the ongoing war aka terror on the streets on Britain and The North.

So once more you are ignoring the facts to support your own argument.

They are vastly different end of story deal with it.

• Like I said Knox and her pal were acquitted ,the Birmingham 6 and the Guilford 4 were deemed innocent ! But you believe what you want to believe :)

• Susie, Amanda Knox and her boyfriend were acquitted in the same way the B6 were. In fact in Italian law they could have been found “Not Proven” as in Scotland yet the Judges didn’t chose this path. I’ve asked others here..what evidence is there they were involved in her murder?

• Sheila, you missed my point. You questioned as to how they could have been proven guilty if they were innocent. Read up on those cases I mentioned and you will see how easy it is to be convicted if there are incompetent, corrupt and unprofessional police and officials processing your case. What I’ve read of this case, there seems to be NO evidence that they were guilty. PS A few nights after The Birmingham 6 were released I spent it in a pub with Richard McIlkenny and believe me I will never again think someone is guilty lightly as I did when they were first jailed.

• Pls note; it’s very late here in Oz. When I said subdued I meant subjected lmao.

Sleep time.

Had to say it before willy jumped all over it as he does.

Lol

• @William Grogan,

William,

Read your post. Thanks.

• Ciaran. You are not debating. If you were and if you wanted to learn to you would reply to the specific points I made or make specific points of your own. If I’m farcical then so are the judges, including 6 lay people. Attacking me personally is a poor substitute for replying to specifics. I never said I believed she was innocent. I said that we must treat her as so. You have clearly claimed to be tougher than the B6 & G4 as you claim that you would not admit to a crime you didn’t commit under the circumstances that they did. If those cases are different why just state that without any supporting arguments. Why not refer specifically to the points I made that clearly show you are wrong and that they are indeed very similar. Many people when clearly shown to be wrong resort to the same tactics; insult, generalisations, change tack, introduce cartoons. Cartoons don’t prove very much.

• Lmao have you even read your own posts to my initial replies William? Not to sound childish but you started it lol.

Would ya stop with the tough guy bollox I’m a Teddy bear. Knox was never subdued to the kind of treatment the B6 and G4 were. The time, motivations and situation are completely different. I said I would not do what Knox did but I also did agree if I was subdued to real torture I would probably break too everyone does which is why it’s so affective. You are a typical argumentative over opinionated journal reader (probably a boards.ie veteran too). You have cherry picked my comments to suit your own argument and then turn it around and accuse me of doing it to you. Come on get real or grow up or better still learn to debate or even talk without having to be right all the time that’d be a start.

Argue away silly Billy you are very good at it.

I stand by my original opinions regardless of your attempts to prove yourself right. I think they were my 2nd or 3rd comments. Before I made the mistake of entertaining yours.

You do realize you’re arguing with a number of people btw lol.

Slan

• Upon re reading my earlier post and you accusing me of being tougher than the Birmingham 6 and guildford 4 I must admit a deaf dumb and blind man could see I was specifically talking about Knox.

Fair play you’ve just reinforced my points about your ineptness in this argument. More fool me for entertaining you and allowing myself to waffle at your level of intelligence.

Good luck with your future endeavors and may your arguments bear more fruit than this one.

Ciao as they say in Perugia.

• Ciaran, you said that in Knox’s case of extreme duress that you would not lie but in the B6 and G4 cases where they were put under similar duress they did. Therefore you must be tougher than Knox AND the B6 & G4. Can you not follow that simple logic?

• Ciaran, “silly Billy”…wow cut throat stuff :)

• Ciaran, the similarities are far more than it being a miscarriage of justice. The DNA forensic evidence was thrown out by the judge as was the Skuse forensic evidence in the B6 case. Irish victim in the UK, American in Italy. Victims put under extreme duress to force false confessions. The B6 and the G4 were not tortured beyond getting a few smacks. Police & Forensic incompetence. I’ve already pointed out that Paul Hill admitted guilt simply to spare his girlfriend. Would you do the same – tough guy? I can clearly see Knox saying it was someone else to try and help the police who were pressuring her. What would you do to a bastard that abused your daughter like that?

• Nope the duress was not similar. Again you fail to grasp the moment of time in each case.

The cases are vastly different falsely created versus mishandled evidence.

The type of duress would be way beyond what Knox went through compared to the B6 and G4.

There was no use of DNA in B6 and G4.

B6 and G4 had solid alibis that were covered up.

Knox’s alibi was found to be a lie. She was put at the scene by the convicted killer Guede.

The cases are different the only similarity is that Knoxs case is touted to be a miscarriage of justice.

I was crystal clear re the tough guy buzz you’re on about yet still you twist it round to suit your argument.

I’m beginning to wonder if the journal have bots to antagonize readers into arguments for their own sick pleasure.

You haven’t made sense at all William everything you say is easily rebuffed. You twist things round to suit your argument. You’ve even gone as far to draw similarities between two of the most historic cases of miscarriage of justice in history to money and a technicality getting a rich American off the hook.

Cop on admit you’re wrong and you have no basis to argue any more.

I am right you are wrong ;) in saying that I’ll remind you I did attempt to rationalise with you and say that we are suing out the divide in opinion and that neither of us can be right or wrong and that only Knox knows what happened. Something she has yet to come clean on might is say

So nah nah nah I’m right you’re wrong. There ya go I’m at your level now I hole you’re happy!

• For the record I never said extreme duress.

I said torture. Re Knox. I made no reference to B6 or G4, that again was you.

Stop lying about what I have said.

• Btw silly Billy (you gotta laugh at that): the family guy cartoon depicts you perfectly which why I am posting it again!

“No no no no no heeeehaw”, said William when he knew he was losing the argument.

• Ciaran, the appeal judges suggested that evidence might have been falsified in Knox’s case. The forensics was dismissed as being incompetent just as it was in the B6 case. In both cases there was duress and the appeal judges specifically said that her lies were explained by that illegal duress. I’ve explained this to you several times. Skuse’s incompetence was so bad that his figures for the nitro test indicated that nitro was literally dripping off their hands. Apparently he made the test substance 10 times too sensitive. So which forensics was worse B6 or the amateur CSI team in the Knox case?

• Sorry William you can keep banging that drum but they are still vastly different cases.

A Lada has door handles and windows. A BMW had the same. But they are still only cars.

They are only similar by name.

Gotta love the way you continue to ignore all that I say bar what you can use to support your own argument.

Stop heeehaw’ing.

You lose

• William

Might have been why and how??

Versus pure lies and false evidence!

Different.

I win admit it :) go on there’s a first time for everything. Consider it your first step in a 12 step plan.

Add New Comment