TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 9 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Finance Minister ‘disappointed’ banks haven’t dealt with personal debt

New mortgage figures show that 94,488 mortgage accounts are in arrears of more than three months.

Image: RTÉ

MICHAEL NOONAN HAS criticised Ireland’s bailed-out banks for not dealing with the personal debt crisis “more promptly”.

Speaking with RTÉ’s Pat Kenny on Prime Time last night, the Finance Minister said the financial institutions were “given the wherewithal” to write down personal debt held by Irish residents.

He confirmed that the government is committed to accelerating the amount of settlements with people.

“[The banks] have been in constant contact now over recent weeks with the Central Bank. And the Central Bank is bringing forward a timeline against which they will operate.”

However, he also noted that different solutions could be used in varying situations – measured against the order of difficulty.

“You have to remember also that an interest only [loan] can suit a lot of people if they have a temporary crisis; if someone is ill, if somebody is out of work, a capital and interest only can suit a lot of people.”

Figures from the Central Bank yesterday showed that there are 94,488 private residential mortgage accounts (which are primary dwellings) in arrears of more than 90 days. That is a 3.4 per cent jump on end-September 2012 figures and just under 12 per cent of all mortgages.

The number of households in arrears of over 270 days has risen by 14.1 per cent to 23,523.

In some better news, the number of early-arrears cases fell during the final quarter of 2012. But that still amounts to 49,363 cases.

The data showed 79,852 accounts classified as restructured by lenders. Mechanisms used included Interest Only loans (37.2 per cent), Reduced Payment (21.6 per cent), term extension (16.8 per cent), Arrears Capitalisation (12.2 per cent), Payment Moratorium (2.9 per cent), Permanent Interest Rate Reduction (0.3 per cent), Deferred Interest Scheme (0.2 per cent) and Split Mortgage (0.01 per cent).

In the three months from October to end-December 2012, legal proceedings were issued to enforce the debt on 238 mortgages. The courts granted repossession orders on 111 associated properties.

During the three months, a total of 134 properties were taken into possession by lenders. Ninety-six were voluntarily surrendered or abandoned.

Within the buy-to-let category, there are 28,421 properties with loans in arrears of more than 90 days, representing about 18.9 per cent of the market.

Property Tax: Self-declared property tax valuations to be returned by end of May

Read next:

Comments (98 Comments)

• One in five mortgages in arrears but hey let’s tax them some more on the homes they can’t afford the repayments for!

• Let them sell what they cannot afford!

• Put 94k houses all put on the market? Have you any idea what that would do to the banks, the economy, the price of your home? Get a calculator and multiply 94k by say an average house price of 150k. It’s a scary number. Where will these people live? Yeah you guessed it the taxpayer will be footing the bill.

• To who Shaun? And even selling in this market is going to leave them with a large debt and no asset.

• The banks have already set aside the write downs. They will have new mortgage business, not trackers, which people will be able to pay.

The govt. will get stamp duty. Solicitors will get conveyancing fees. Surveyors will get fees. Estate agents will get commission. And if property prices fall we all pay less property tax.

The ex home owners will enter the private rental market, like many thousands of others, and either rent what they can afford or go on a housing list. I would love a 3 bed house, but I rent a 2 bed apt as that is what I can afford.

• There’s only so much buying and selling you can do on an island. One of the main reasons there was a crash.

• :Perhaps they would Shaun; but you’re forgetting something – who will be able to buy those homes?

• No need for surveyors anymore, the government value all houses now.

• let them eat cake!!

• Disappointed? Strange really when you consider it took politicians one meeting in the middle of the night to facilitate the handover of €100 billion. Politicians its seems can move quick enough when the mood strikes them. But then again one must be a bondholder or banker to get that kind of care and attention paid to a request for financial assistance and/or complete bailout.

People with mortgage arrears, the disabled, the now forgotten residents of Priory hall and all other such individuals in our society are pretty low on the food chain and will forever remain at the back of the line.

What you need to do is lose billions. You need to incur an extraordinary financial liability to the state to get off that government pay no mind list. A distressed mortgage simply doesn’t rate on this scale as the kind of collateral damage imposed on the state as a consequence of having one, according to our governments misguided assumptions, is limited to the pain and suffering endured by the family in possession of it.

It took the suicide of a government minister for our elected representatives to give a good shit about bullying in social media. By that logic what we require is a government minister to suicide due to the distress incurred as a consequence of losing the roof over his head.

It’s crappy logic, but when I hear Michael Noonan throw the word “disappointed” around in that ministerial off the cuff sort of way to describe the inaction of both the government and the banks in addressing this fiscal timebomb I find all I have left is crappy logic.

• @ My Dog Barks Some, you speak the truth. There is some hope when there are people who recognise reality. For some reason, our politicians cannot or will not be our friends because they listen to a different set of interests, the lobbyists and those inside the sphere of influence.

• AUXRED 08/03/13 #

Disappointed? I’m sure that will make all those in trouble feel better now.

• Like you were quick to bail them out, act as fast to get them lending, stop them screwing the people that sustain their very existence. Also the bullshit you feed us has worn thin a long time ago.

• I think it’s time Noonan gets over his ‘disappointment’ and actually starts sorting this crap out. He admitted on the programme that should Richie Boucher come looking for €3billion he wouldn’t be turned away. Now when the dysfunctional banks can wield this much influence over a government there IS a serious problem.
      The system is utterly rotten whether we like to admit it or not.
      This is like being in a situation where you have just finished building your new house and have moved everything in and painted the walls and made the beds…and you notice cracks in the walls, small at first but in a short time they become big and they are everywhere. You get expert advice, you employ a company to stabilize the building, they inject compounds into the cracks, they set footings, but this doesn’t really help and the cracks continue to grow…finally you realise the only solution, after huge expense, is to demolish the house and start from the foundations again, because that was where the problem, is at the very foundations, and nothing else will fix the problem. That is our banking system and that is the solution, not a nice one, but the only one.
      Noonan doesn’t see this, he sees the short term, the reelection cycle, he doesn’t see the debt we’ve left to our children, he didn’t ask them if they’d mind dealing with our debts, if they’d mind becoming indentured workers.
      We have failed our children, we have failed as a NATION. We must swallow that fact and we must change how we do things, soon.

• The other half and myself are currently waiting to complete a house sale (we’re buying), from a family who are in mortgage distress.
      The house was on the market for a value of X, we offered a bit below X, which was accepted by the family, not by their bank. The bank wanted a value of X*1.5.
      Incidentally, the exact same institution valued the house in order to approve us for a mortgage and said that the house was only worth what we were prepared to offer (in fact, they said it was worth less).
      Now, I’m not great on the financial side of things, but I’m guessing that you can’t tell the seller that the mortgage is worth 400K, and tell the buyer that its worth 200K. Which is it? It can’t be both? Can it?
      From what I gather, banks need to get realistic. Is there a point in pursuing a family who have just given up their own home for every penny that they have? In our case, the house was only worth half the mortgage owed on it, that’s all we as the buyer were prepared to offer, therefore is that not what it’s worth?
      I think it’s also interesting that all measures that have been put in place not just in this area, but in other areas too, really only skirt around the edges – time for some good decent reform.

• James that is like a scenario straight out of a Douglas Adams book…like WTF!! I’d suggest hitting you head against the wall but I’m sure you’ve tried that and other easy fix solutions. Seems like our banks have become ‘Special Needs Institutions’ no offence to anyone with special needs by the way. We are comfortably gone way past the banana republic stage now and are moving into multidimensional Lala land, sorry for your troubles.
      I’d bawl at the bank manager…everyday…phone him and bawl at him…piss him right off…then phone him the next day and the next….

• Oh we’ve gotten them to accept our offer, but I think they’re still pursuing the family! I sincerely hope that it does work out for them – they were pleasant to deal with. (The family!)

• @ William Ruane, that is profound and insightful. Thank you for saying what needs to be said and understood.

• Time to start telling the banks what to do instead of taking orders from them..

• Everything this government has promised that will help ‘the little people’ is at very best aspirational or at worst a pack of lies. We are now in effect living in a police State eg the threatening way the payment of household tax was presented yesterday. How quickly they can legally introduce regulations dealing with ordinary citizens while former bankers, developers and politicians who bankrupted our country cannot be touched because of, wait for it, legal difficulties. I do NOT belong to any political grouping so no snide comments please about FFs or Shinners etc.

• Watched the interview last could no believe how out of touch and deluded Noonan is to the real economy, Now I know we are in big trouble.

• This has to be the worst excuse for a government every time the bankers have taken the cash given him the two fingers and run away. The banks have been given the cash to sort this out. Every repossession costs the state a minimum of €300,000 or more. They get tax reliefs and refunds of costa. It’s hard to believe that auld boy is capable of fixing anything.

• Yes when are the banks going to use the 7.5 b they were given for mortgage debt, when will they account for which bank got what and whether it has been used for it’s intended purposes?????????????????

• Didn’t we give them a shed load of taxpayers money to deal with this. So basically they stole our money. Someone tell me why they aren’t in jail.

• We have been warned from the very start of our financial troubles that private mortgage debt was a huge problem and was only going to get worse, everytime government spokepersons were confronted about this, the standard reply was to get the problems with the banks fixed first. It was government policy that prevented the banks from moving into to repossess houses, in fact they were told to allow 2 years before they attempted to move in. We now hear that there are over 94,000 homes in distress. We know over 400,000 people have lost their jobs since 2008,many do not want to be in this position, many are striving to do something about it, but are finding it almost impossible, as there are not enough well paying jobs to go around. How many of these people are now in mortgage difficulty. So what’s to do? are we now hearing that they should now be thrown out on the street, what then? do local authorities get to house these people at the tax payers expense. do the 94k homes get resold at knockdown prices, the banks will be the longterm losers if this is the case, as the remaining outstanding balances will have to be written off eventually. We have negotiatied to stretch out Government and Bank debt for 40 years, a long term approach to this growing problem will have to be taken, one way or another people have to live somewhere, one solution would be for the banks to purchase the mortgage from the defaulters and rent the home back to them at a price that is affordable. An arrangement could be put in place that once the circumstances of the defaulter improves and they are in a position to pay, ownership could then be returned and mortgage arrangements put in place.

• Good man Michael, bashing the banks again and blaming them, not the fact nobody has spare cash to sort out their own debt.. But fear not and don’t worry your pretty little head, they won’t come knocking on the door of your home..!!

• The government have done nothing to help the people in arrears, but they have changed the law to allow banks to reposes house easier. Seems to me they are very much on the banks side irrespective what Sh## Noonan tries to pedal . But that has been their stance since they got into power, protect the banks at all costs, even if it means putting Irish people out of their house on to the streets

• the elephant in the room is that any widespread relief will probably require the banks to have a large amount cash injected into them and where is that money going to come from?

• That money has already been given to the banks, Minister Noonan refered to this on Primetime. The banks need to be taken to task now by the people who re-financed them.

• I’m fairly sure you already gave that money to them. If the government really cared about the Irish people it was then that they could have forgiven the Irish people’s debt which in turn would have meant that we could has easily afforded all these new taxes. Now they just created another problem and the banks are laughing all the way to the bank!

• That interview was scripted, Noonan told the plank what he could ask or RTE would get it in the neck!

• If you think the bank crash was bad for the country , wait till you see what the mortgage crisis will do . I can see things getting messy

• tom 08/03/13 #

I hope this isn’t going to end up by banks writing down debt and government once again bailing banks out with tax payers money.

• Barry 08/03/13 #

If people want debt forgiveness for people who are behind on mortgages then that’s exactly what will happen,

Makes me think most people haven’t bothered to actually think about it for more the 5seconds.

• howya 08/03/13 #

The Central Bank claim that the banks have already been recapitalised to deal with mortgage problem (I hope they are right) so new money is needed.

• Barry why should people who are behind be forgiven? I struggle each month to pay my mortgage and put it ahead of every other bill to ensure my kids will have a roof over their heads.

The only reason I’m struggling now is that I’ve been taxed to death and my mortgage has increased by 40% in repayments. Who’s fault is that? Not mine but I’m the idiot caught for it.

If you forgive one you forgive all mortgages.

• Jim, How has your morgage gone up 40%? Just wondering? Not a dig or that and fair play on your attitude to paying your way. Just that seems rediculous.

• Crikey 40% is a massive jump. I’m finding it very hard to figure out how you could have such a large increase. Did Moving from a tracker rate to a 15 year fixed rate or something crazy like that is the only think I can think of. I really hope you didn’t let the bank talk you into moving from your tracker.

• better than the banks repossessing homes and the taxpayer having to pay for accomodation for the people who lose their homes
      the banks win every time!!!!

• the banks have used the money to fix their balance sheets they have conned the government

• beware the goverment stooges on here.

• 2 years in government and 24,000 people in arrears of 2 years and he only coming out with this now!
    too concerned about everyone else to care about his own people

• The public are being prepared for a campaign of repossession. The politicians are threading a careful line, that is that the problem must be sorted out but distancing themselves from the repossession process. We are being told about 5 per cent repossessions in the USA.

The analysis by commentators ignores one fundamental. That fundamental is the Ponzi nature of the effectively unregulated mortgage lending market from 1998 to 2007. Many of the victims who are unable to keep up their mortgage repayments did nothing wrong. They simply believed in the orthodox financial advice of buying as expensively as you could with as big a mortgage as you could get. They did not know that reductions in income, loss of employment, increased tax charges and a higher. Cost of living was to follow.

The moral hazard is that innocent victims should not be victimised by grossly irresponsible lenders, by an utterly incompetent and criminally neglectful regulator, which did not fulfill its function, feckless politicians and a permanent government which lacked all prudence.

Now the recipe appears to be let the victim take the consequences.

Where wiil all the victims of repossession go? Will the rental market be flooded? Will social housing be available? Who will buy the repossessed homes except at practically knock down prices? Look at the disruption, social exclusion and the inevitability of suicides precipitated by the new get tough policy. All of this serves the agenda of the IBF which assiduously wined and dined e Regulator in the good old days. Remember mortgages of over 100 per cent, loans of 10 times income, pretend evidence of earnings and the hyper inflation of he property market bubble.

Distressed home owners are victims of betrayal and irresponsibility. It is morally reprehensible that the majority of decent, well intentioned and trusting victims should be subjected to repossessions. This is not being done in my name as an ordinary citizen. I have a roof over my head and I am outraged by the looming reality that other people wil lose the roof over their heads.

Shame on the banks, shame on the Government, shame on the Regulator.

People should mobilise to protect families against repossession and no one should ever, ever buy a repossessed home. People who opportunistically buy reposssed homes should be named and shamed.

• Well said Peter, I’m thinking the same. You cant begrudge young people in this country a chance to live a normal life again. Some have young kids themselves and dont need to be brought up in this bank created poverty trap. It’s not good for them or for the country.

• @ Thomas Roche, the Pope’s children are financially crippled by mortgage debt and all because the accident of age. It will benefit all of society if the yoke of excessive debt can be removed. Exactly, the distressed borrowers have children. Long term poverty and social exclusion are an inevitable result unless this massive national crisis is sensibly addressed with some enlightenment.

• Like renters who can’t afford the house they are renting, they’ll have to find a house they can afford and if prices need to drop further to allow that, so be it.

Trying to prop up property prices by blocking repossessions is costing money and keeping our cost base high.

• The IBF is a powerful and highly influential lobby group which has the ear of Government. The Government listens to the Central Bank of Ireland, the IBF and the professions which benefit directly from fees from bankers. Three Communication firms have substantial accounts from the banks and two firms of lobbyists have dedicated stff allocated to making sure the Government listens.

The distressed borrowers have a few voluntary groups and FLAC but none of these are inside the sphere of influence.

Add to that that the Government knows that those who are sitting pretty who bought before 2000 and whose modest mortgages are almost paid off will resent anyone getting help of any kind to keep a roof over their heads.

I am of an older age group, three years to go on my mortgage and then free of the millstone. I feel so sorry for many those of the younger generation who bought homes from 2000 onwards and are swamped by mortgage debt through no fault of their own. For goodness sake, they are the generation who have been betrayed and it is intolerable that they should not be assisted in a meaningful and effective way.

Mortgage debt is too high, incapable of repayment and eventually that inescapable reality will have to be confronted. Repossession by Court order is not a sensible approach. Sensible and negotiated debt solutions are the way forward and that means bringing down debt to a sustainable debt level.

. Better that people pay half, even a third, even a quarter than nothing at all. Leaving people as 100 percent owners gives them a full stake in the future and recognises that they were victims of a massive nationwide Ponzi scheme.

• So if mortgages are halved, ultimately the taxpayer will take the hit, so will the tax payer pickup half of my rent payments? How come its only mortgage holders that are crying poor?

• If he is so “disappointed” with the banks why doesn’t he “legislate”so the mortgage crisis can be sorted!!!!!! FG threaten it for everything else!!

• Mary 08/03/13 #

What Pat failed to explain to minister Noonan was that being in negative equity makes it impossible to sell your property and be able to repay your mortgage and then rent. Minister Noonan thinks its no big deal this negative equity. It appears Leo Varadkar reckons people who are unable to feed themselves are just spending their money unwisely and after paying their property tax MABS will help them find the money !

• I own my house bought and paid for! However if we are ever going to see life at the end of the tunnel ALL mortgages should be halved! This will put money in circulation, help businesses, increase employment, stop mass emigration and the terrible amount of suicides!
    When the ECB analysed the banks initially, the bail out included funds to aid unrecoverable loans. Just do it. It’s not difficult all that’s needed is the will.

• Correct Seamus !! They should restructure distressed home owners !! And write off the arrears . The economy needed this . Money needs to be freed up so people can spend again. Also nationalise our oil and gas finds they should be taxing them proper like every other country

• Fair play to you Seamus. I’m in the same good situation as yourself and think it’s right we give young people a chance in mortgage difficulty. They are the future in this country and unfortunately will shoulder most of the costs of these bank bailouts.

• I have three years left on my mortgage and I hope to see it paid off. I have an increasingly secure roof over my head. It makes me wish he same for others. My comfort and shelter are not undermined by the assistance given to others.

At Seamus, James and Thomas, you have identified the reality of the present predicament. If the massive noose of debt is left in place, we will have a two decades or more recession, as with Japan.

In Ancient Greece, Solon the Lawgiver in Athen cast off the burden of debt and enabled the golden age of classical Greece.

Debt drowns our economy. Debt reduction will allow recovery.

The best way of destroying any hope is the sight of widespread repossessions.

My iPhone converted “mortgage debt” to “morgue debt”.

• I wonder how many car loans are in arrears? How many credit union loans are in arrears or have been restructured? How many bank accounts are overdrawn?

• Put the 94k houses on the market and give the rest of us a fair chance at “owning our own home” which we would actually be able to be for… Property should be an open market and not curtailed by this notion that someone has a right to remain in a property they cannot afford.

I am sure no one held a gun to their head when they bought. And I am also sure the majority realised when they took the mortgage how perilous it was to need two salaries, or the bulk of one, to make the repayments. People need to take responsibility for decisions they alone made and stop trying to blame someone else.

• There are a large number of people in arrears on big interest only mortgages that never had a hope of paying the mortgage full term in the first place.
    Interest only mortgages should never have been allowed, let alone loan multiples in excess of 5 times after tax earnings.

Their borrowing was simply greedy and irresponsible and they should be repossessed and the house put on the market.
    Any other treatment would simply be rewarding recklessness.

• And allowing people to sign up for such mortgages was reckless of the banks too.

It’s true what you’re saying – but it’s another side to it…

• No, historically, and properly, the responsibility for assessing lending risk lies with the financial institution, including the veracity of the lenders’ income & outgoings.

The ‘greed & irresponsibility’ therefore is firmly with the banks’ executives.

Think about it. Aside from the trivial job of handling the payments system, the banks’ primary role is risk management – it’s fundamentally what banks do. This is what they are supposed to spend their time doing, & pay themselves very well for it.

The banks’ executives have failed miserably, except as regards their own bonuses (who’d of thought…?), & much more seriously been aided & abetted by regulators, public servants, politicians & economists. All of the latter were supposed to be guarding the public interest.

So let’s just get the ‘responsibility’ where it lies.

Resolution of the arrears should not mean handouts to private property owners. Fortunately, it doesn’t have to, there are all manner of restructuring, part equity stakes etc. options which can be used which can allow families to stay, whilst relinquishing some (or even all) of their ownership.

Indeed, this could be done with similar structures to part purchase social housing programs. And there is no reason why such programs cannot be self financing, at no cost to taxpayers. It’s simply long term housing investment done, in part, by the state, rather than private landlords for profit. Arguably, given the massive lack of quantity & quality in social housing, it’s something the state should be doing anyway. Both to adequately house citizens & ensure a much more stable private market for those who want to live in property, not just get-rich-quick gamble with it. Win-win for home buyers & renters both.

Of course, this won’t the bankers or speculators/developers. The question still remains, 6 years on exactly who our public servants & politicians are really representing, with this mess still getting worse?

• arb
      can I ask why you seem to make the customer culpable nearly all the time and not the banks
      i worked in banking for 8 years and I can tell you everything was manuipulated to get the person the loan, the banks were complicit in bad lending practices. i witnessed a mortgage manager telling a customer to get a letter from his eployer to say he did 50 grands worth of overtime each year to bring the mortgage amount up

• @Arb
      Its kind of disturbing that you seem to have no problem with paying the debts of gamblers but when it comes to your own people you are more than reluctant.
      Very patriotic of you!

• Grossly reckless and excessive lending by the supposedly expert lenders unregulated by the regulatory watchdog was the cause. Please do not blame distressed borrowers for the faults of others. Do not further victimise the victims.

• Merrrrrrrrrr

• “You have to remember also that an interest only [loan] can suit a lot of people if they have a temporary crisis; if someone is ill, if somebody is out of work, a capital and interest only can suit a lot of people.”

Pathetic Noonan
      Pathetic.
      A Temporary Interest Only Facility does nothing but increase your repayments once you come off it.

In the Anglo promissory note “deal”
      Seanie Fitz’s criminal €33 billion Anglo gambling Debt was
      extended to a 40 year term,
      given full term interest only,
      on a low interest rate.
      Don’t you not think it’s fair to give the homeowners/taxpayers (who are paying the above debt) the same deal on their mortgages, at least until a better option is found.

• Mortgages , loans and credit cards are not being paid because in a lot of cases my fellow paddy doesn’t want to pay, not because they cant.

Poor paddy feel hard done by that a bullet was put to his head to take out a loan for a gaff that was 7,8,or even 10 times his salary, thinking it was going to go up and up.

• Where do these guys like shaun the sheep, brass rat and joohn riche get off?, many people take out mortgages not as an investment but to eventually be the proud owners of their very own home and maybe give their children an inheritance?.

Enormous negativity equity means bailing out is never an option, and the only reason many of these ordinary homes are currently in arrears is because the government took away their means to meet the full repayment, heating, electricity, food, fuel etc all take priority yet all of these essentials have sky rocketed, maybe with the exception of some groceries?, is it any wonder people are struggling to meet their full mortgage repayment?.

As for peoples circumstances changing in the future?, does anybody hold out any real hope of ever seeing that money the government fleeced out of our pockets in your remaining time on this earth, no? I thought so!.

I’m sure there is a small minority out there who are making no effort at all to pay but those are easily weeded out, either ways this country is doomed!

• johnr 10/03/13 #

So Noonan is telling Pat the Plank Bla Bla Bla. The help we got from Noonan is Household charge, Property tax, Universal Social Charge, and every other tax increase. All this extra tax to refund the banks, pay off bad bank debt. Also savings in public service go to the banks debt.
    If the gov wanted or gave a shit about us they could do thinks a lot different. The end result the want is to get the money to the banks. Why don’t they give mortgage holders a brake there is a million ways that can be done, tax relief etc., the end result the banks get money. At least some of the money going to banks should channel through people who bought in the boom and are stuck with 250000 mortgage and a house worth less than 100000 i.e. ME
    Think about it, 94488 mortgages in arrear, maybe there is the same again managing to keep up the payments. 200,000 average mortgages that would add up to say 40 Billion. Put 5 or 10 Billion towards those mortgages, it doesn’t matter how, PAYE brake or whatever, money goes towards mortgages, direct to the banks. Banks get all money no difference to the banks; people get a break, property market may recover a bit, economy gets a boost, the banks may even get more for any repo property’s. Its a win, win, win.

• Bully the citizens, be sad for the bankers and that sums it up!

• “Thanks ann” …………. i’d love to know what ann was at till so late in the morning when it’s blatantly obvious that these “ministers” and the higher echelons of our civil service are little more than E.C.B. puppets in my opinion !

• Licking my lips at all these properties that will get taken off families and put on the market. Might get both a nice 3br AND an investment property, which I can always rent back to said family

Add New Comment