TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Friday 24 May, 2013

Fine Gael TD defends ‘keyboard warrior’ comments

Jerry Buttimer’s reference to ‘keyboard warriors’ during the Dáil debate on the controversial statutory instrument reinforcing online copyright laws was criticised in some quarters.

Jerry Buttimer
Image: Facebook

FINE GAEL TD Jerry Buttimer has defended his use of the term “keyboard warriors” during the course of a Dáil debate on the controversial statutory instrument intended to reinforce Ireland’s copyright legislation last night.

Buttimer took part in a debate on the statutory instrument that Junior Minister Seán Sherlock intends to sign in the coming weeks to ensure Ireland is compliant with EU law.

The move has been harshly criticised for its perceived potential to restrict internet freedom. Those against the measure have dubbed it ‘SOPA Ireland’, referring to controversial proposed US legislation.

Cork South Central TD, Buttimer said during the debate last night that small copyright holders had to be protected while drawing a distinction between creative internet users and “keyboard warriors” whose conduct he said was sometimes “bordering on anarchism”.

The remarks drew a strong reaction on Twitter where the hashtag #IAmAKeyboardWarrior was trending at one point. Speaking to TheJournal.ie today Buttimer sought to clarify his remarks.

“I wasn’t in anyway being derogatory or trying to provoke the ire of people who have passionately held views on this subject,” he said. “I was making a distinction with those prepared to come up and liase in a proper engagement on the subject.”

“Where I have difficulty is where you get mass emails – I’ve no difficulty with that – but you get an anonymous username and you don’t know who you are talking to or who there are. They don’t reveal their true identity.”

He said that his definition of a ‘keyboard warrior’ would be someone who does not give their name and hides behind a username, sending out anonymous messages: “To me, a keyboard warrior is someone who hides behind username and continually lambastes people who have a different view to there’s.”

“That is not applicable to people involved in this,” he insisted. “It is important that we respect the rights of people who have a view on this and engage with them.

I’m a democrat. I’m prepared to engage with people who engage with me. I had a website, I was on Bebo long before they became fashionable. I don’t want to see online rights curbed.

Buttimer also said that there needed to be a “period of reflection” following last night’s debate in which Sherlock reaffirmed the government’s commitment to signing the statutory instrument without changing the wording of it.

The Fine Gael deputy said that while he did not think this was an Irish version of SOPA – a controversial piece of American legislation which the US Congress has currently said it will postpone consideration of in response to online protests – he hoped for further consultation on the issue.

“There has to be a balance here and if we are to be serious about that, there needs to be a period of further reflection and engagement.”

As it happened: The Dáil debate on the ‘Irish SOPA’

Read next:

Comments (50 Comments)

• “I wasn’t in anyway being derogatory or trying to provoke the ire of people who have passionately held views on this subject,” he said. “I was making a distinction with those prepared to come up and liase in a proper engagement on the subject.”

lol, “engagement” yeah right! :-D

There hasn’t been any engagement on this topic, and if it wasn’t for “keyboard warriors” there wouldn’t have been any discussion at all.

• Well said Paul. Deal with the content of the emails Jerry. It doesn’t matter what their flaming name is.

• I make a specific point of sending all emails that I send to government from an email address that is my real name. As with any transaction related to my business.
      I use a handle online because I do not trust the likes of social networking sites to not sell my information on. Their terms and conditions do not satisfy me enough for me to hand them my name, adress or phone number. I keep my profiles private and unsearchable, but that does not stop them handing my details over to marketing companies.. At least they don’t actually know who I am..

His lack of knowledge on that subject is a little worrying, does he not realise that the likes of YouTube and google and Bebo etc try to claim copyright of YOUR photos?
      And the comment about being on Bebo before it was fashionable is a bit strange too, as there was MySpace before that, and bebo was only around briefly before facebook took over – what is this statement supposed to mean?

• “All these people anonymously using their computers, I’ve used a type writer before, I’m down with technology” :-D

• I wish Jerry cared as much about all the small businesses going under on a daily basis, or about all the people losing there jobs and finding it increasingly difficult to find new employment, instead he’s more concerned with looking after large corporate interests, I’d rather be a keyboard warrior than an Irish politician, you’re all a shower of gangsters.

• “To me, a keyboard warrior is someone who hides behind username and continually lambastes people who have a different view to there’s.”Fine Gael Jerry Buttimer
    I’m interested to know Jerry’s thoughts on the unsecured bondholders.If he believes passionately about said issue,perhaps he’ll pursue,attain and publish the identities of the Unsecured bondholders.Now that would be freedom of information.

• Freedom of information only really applies when it is in the best interests of the state.. It’s doublespeak, really, they would prefer to have all of our information, while the wealthy get to take out injunctions so we cannot see theirs..

• They’re called Trolls Jerry, which is what you were last night.

• Young people express themselves differently. Either learn to communicate with them or resign. If a politician is at odds with the voters their days are numbered.

• B7584 01/02/12 #

“i was on bebo before anyone else” :D is this an episode of father ted or something??

• Yeah Bebo’s cool! Bebo was founded in 2005! So was it then that his interest in the internet started? BTW I always thought Bebo is for kids. What is he doing there?

• It does seem odd alright, as there was MySpace for longer before Bebo than Bebo existed before Facebook took over..
      He may as well have said “I had a mini disc player back before they were cool”..

• For those who want the ‘true identity’ of those who signed, there is a (long) list here which Mr Buttimer may care to peruse at his leisure.

goo.gl/sxsX0

All have email addresses, and all of those email addresses were used as the ‘reply to’ address in the emails sent, so the Minister is totally at liberty to follow up with as many of the individuals who contacted him as he desires. Over 50.000 can be positively identified as being based in Ireland, presumably a good number of them voters in Mr Buttimer’s constituency.

http://stopsopaireland.com/51376-irish-people-say-no-to-sopa/

• Ah yes, Jerry Buttimer-the former senator who took a hundred and ten large a year out of the taxpayers pocket- and had consistently the second highest expense claims in the country.

He’d rather the big bad internet didn’t draw attention to that one, alright.

• I’m semi-sure that Mr Buttimer is unaware of the historical reasons why people tend to use handles on the Internet as opposed to their full, real names. Especially the once-up-a-time limitation on the length of the usernames.

When I post on boards.ie, for example, I use a username/handle (“sceptre”), which has always been the case. I could have selected SeamusR, I guess but it wasn’t particularly the social norm at the time to do so (and in any case, I’d been using the handle since 1993).

His problem is, presumably, less with the relative anonymity and more with the few who decide to automatically go down the road of unintelligible abuse. Or at least it should be. The message has its own worth, regardless of the identifiability of the messenger.

• Jaysus

• Gerry Buttimer. In fairness he could never be accused of hiding his identity when asked. Cost him a ban from the Cork County boards for a few years for ‘lobbying’ on behalf of Billy Morgan.

• jimbo 01/02/12 #

he needs a kick up the buttimer.

• I don’t think Mr.Buttimer gets the idea of the internet. It is an area where one can escape the confines of reality. We don’t all have internet ID cards with all of or personal details nor do we walk around with badges on our profiles saying “Hello! My real name is … ”
    This is not real life.

• Gavin,

I actually disagree entirely. Any opinion I express on the internet I’m happy to express in real life.

Say what you mean and mean what you say.

• Would you not agree that someone has the right to make a comment under a alternative name? Calling them “keyboard warriors” completely detracts from the importance of what some of them are saying.
      For example there are some very good opinions on Boards.ie on this issue. Do you think Mr.Buttimer has the right to say that what they are saying is irrelevant because the go by the name “TalkingToast” or “stupidusername” ?

Seems to me that a backbencher wants his time in the limelight.

• Hi Tom.
      I too am happy to say anything that I post online in real life.

But to add another point of view.
      What’s in a name?
      I cannot tell anything about you as a contributor on here by your name. It could be your real name, it could be a real name but not yours. Unless we are going to be required to provide ID to register for a free online social networking site, then should we not be allowed to “opt out” of targeted marketing and have to “opt in” to google analytics?

As the name is not necessarily as transparent as it initially appears, should we require that all profile pictures are of the person in question?

This again, infringes the right to privacy. I am have a right to use a pseudonym, how do you know that I do not use a pseudonym because I have an ex who has harrassed me online? How would that be any different to changing my name by deed poll to get away from an abusive partner?

We should not judge, we should base our opinions of people on their contribution rather than their choice whether or not to use a handle.

• What has SOPA and internet commentary have to do with each other. Totally unrelated topics.

• Okay so protecting your privacy online which is a right is a problem according to this idiot, I’d love to know how many usernames he has had and does he even know the definition of the word and standard guidelines for the internet.

• Ciaro 01/02/12 #

Another unqualified TD trying to gay his name in the paper. Get back to the classroom buttimer.

• I’m not FG, but to be fair to Jerry, he’s one of the few politicians that engages on Twitter.
    As someone that uses my real name, I know where he is coming from with his keyboard warrior definition.
    I don’t agree with the Legislation, but I’ll give him the benefit of the doubt with regard to his explanation.

• Muc Beag 02/02/12 #

“Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth.”

Oscar Wilde

Anonymity gives you a certain freedom of expression unavailable when you use your real name. Things posted on sites such as this are written in ink not pencil, and I don’t think it’s a favourable situation to have every little thing you ever post permanently attached to your name. Certainly not favourable for the quality of discourse when everyone has their reputation to consider, anonymity removes that limitation.

For example – some authors use pen names, or write under a different name for a particular series of books (think Stephen King’s “The Bachman Books”). Again, greater freedom.

Call me a keyboard warrior if you wish, I consider it a compliment to be honest. If I were the TD I would be vilifying such people making use of anonymity, considering the fact that there are real people and votes behind those pseudonyms.

• valid points Shanti. Tom why can’t you step into another’s shoes and realize why many wish to remain anonymous, besides the reasons Shanti pointed out how about fear of various forms of harassment or even retaliation for expressing opinions others like say employers may not like, employers including government do check social media. I was once told I should not hire someone because of a posting on a internet site.

• Well I did want to point out that because the Internet is so free (as it should remain) you should exercise caution with using your real name on public forums that you link to with your private profiles..

It’s purely analogy, nad possibly a fallacy to even suggest it, but what’s to say someone with a particularly militant position opposite to yours doesn’t go check your profile and decide to come and confront you in person?

Not everyone is interested in reasoned debate, some would prefer to lash out at those who’s opinions differ, just as some are willing to start making personal attacks on an internet forum instead of arguing the point. Everyone has free access to the Internet, even extremists and people who are a little unhinged.

Like I said, it’s an extreme case scenario and I do not base any argument upon it alone. But it does not make it impossible.

There are many reasons one may choose to use a handle.. Why not just let the content of their words be enough?

• Damocles 01/02/12 #

“you get an anonymous username and you don’t know who you are talking to or who there[sic] are. They don’t reveal their true identity.”

Who do you think he means?

• Yeah, I thought he may have meant Anonymous alright.. But still, they call themselves anonymous for a reason, they are fighting against having our private information being sold by corporations who seek to restrict what we can and cannot see.. But perhaps that did not occur to him, or maybe we are taking him up wrong.. Without asking the man it is impossible to know.. And I probably shouldn’t bother asking him because he may well dismiss me as just another “keyboard warrior”!

• *theirs

• Oh for heaven’s sake the man is correct, these keyboard warriors are the most cowardly pathetic example of how low grade debate is carried out on the net, in my personal opinion sites such as P.ie is a great example of a place to stay away from if you have a keen interest in debating politics on the net, as some of these nameless individuals engage in abusive rivalry and can spout total crap and go unchallenged, if these people had to use their names they certainly wouldn’t engage in the immature debate that they think people are taking any notice of.

I am all for a call to the end of anonymous posting on the net along with fictitious accounts on FB, twitter etc.

• These were not however nameless individuals – see comment below.

• That’s a ridiculous concept Ciaran, who would you trust with that power? There’s no-one I’d trust at the minute.
      Everyone has the right to anonymity on the web, that’s part of what makes it so valuable. I don’t want to be part of the type of Internet you’re proposing that’s for sure.

• Excuse me.
      I have a right to use a handle if I wish. I do not trust the likes of social networks with my personal data as I explained above.
      My reasons for using a handle are purely related to my privacy concerns, and not due to any desire to hide behind a pseudonym. You have made a completely illogical argument based upon the spotlight fallacy – which is a variant of the guilt by association fallacy. Just because SOME people hide behind fake names to troll and spew vile and offensive nonsense on the Internet does not mean that it applies to all. Just because they get the most attention for these negative comments, does not mean that every person using a handle is making them.

I have a right to my privacy. I have a right to use a handle if I wish. Social networking sites do not have the right to expect proof of identity when you are registering for a free account that is selling your data to marketing companies and whoever else.

Who are you to call out to an end to one of my personal freedoms? I have committed no crime, for what do I deserve this removal of my human rights?

• Dead right Shanti you can if you want. Who cares what your name is. It’s what you say counts. I do though. The gardaí arrived into work last week over another problem and the girls slagged me that they had come to arrest me. :-(

• Aww, Reada, that’s made me laugh while simultaneously feeling bad for you! I should be ashamed of myself for laughing at your misfortune (but it’s funny, I can’t help it!!)

• Aghh come on, why was my comment deleted. It was satire of the highest order.

• If anybody has an opinion, and genuinely believes that opinion in an open society, they should put their name to it.

Add New Comment