TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 12 °C Saturday 25 May, 2013

Five Sinn Féin TDs will not pay the household charge

There are now 14 TDs in total who will not pay the €100 charge when it comes into effect in the New Year.

Sinn Féin TDs outside Leinster House (File photo)
Image: Julien Behal/PA Archive/Press Association Images

FIVE SINN FÉIN TDs are to boycott the household charge taking the number of Dáil representatives who will not pay the €100 tax to well over a dozen.

A party spokesperson confirmed this morning that five of Sinn Féin’s 14 TDs will not be paying the charge but would not confirm who they were. The party’s spokesperson for housing and justice Aengus Ó Snodaigh has already said publicly he will not pay the charge.

Sinn Féin is not advocating a boycott of the charge but said it will support those that choose not to pay it. “We’re not telling people what to do,” a spokesperson told TheJournal.ie.

Those five join nine others who have said they will not pay the charge. A group of independent TDs yesterday launched a campaign for other homeowners to boycott the charge which will have to be paid by 31 March next year.

Socialist Party TDs Clare Daly and Joe Higgins, independents Thomas Pringle, Mick Wallace, John Halligan, Seamus Healy and Luke Ming Flanagan as well as People Before Profit’s Richard Boyd Barrett and Joan Collins are all opposing the tax arguing it hits the poor disproportionately.

Junior Environment Minister Fergus O’Dowd confirmed in the Dáil this week that the flat tax will be in effect for two years but there is already speculation about what will replace it.

The proposed property tax will be based on the value of a property, household income, regional factors, and payment of stamp duty by first time buyers during the boom, the Irish Independent reports.

This will mean the average homeowner will pay between €200 and €250 per year while owners of mansions would pay about €600 annually.

Yesterday, the Irish Property Owners’ Association (IPOA) said that the cost of the charge should be passed on to tenants despite the legislation – which passed through the Oireachtas this week – saying the cost should be met by property owners.

The housing charity Threshold said IPOA’s comments were “misleading and irresponsible”.

Charity insists tenants should not be liable for household charge

Sinn Féin TD and independents say they won’t pay household charge

Read next:

Comments (108 Comments)

• An extract from the Irish Times:
    Sir, – I’m in my 70s, but that’s just the natural course of events. I’m epileptic, arthritic and take heart medication; these things too are no one’s fault. I get along adequately on my State pension of around €230 a week. I live, alone and content, in a house I built myself – I mean with my own hands – and while it may not be a proper “house” by some people’s standards, it suits me very well.

Apart from electricity and the telephone, both of which I pay for, I have no “services” that I don’t provide for myself. I am far beyond the reach of dustcarts. I do have a travel pass; but the only public transport available to me is the co-opted school bus (cheers, Paddy, the best bus driver that ever was) to town on Fridays. A while back there was a mountain fire which came close to burning me out but, after some hours, I managed – alone – to steer it away. Then, too late, the fire brigade came; though I myself had not called it. Later, I got a bill for its “services”. More recently I had occasion to call – for the first time in my life and late at night (and I the holder of a medical card) – an ambulance. I had fallen, and cracked my head and was unable to stop the bleeding. The ambulance took me 40 miles to Bantry hospital for six stitches, and I got a bill for the journey.

I wish to make it clear that I am not complaining. Such public services as there are purported to be for the likes of people who need them are only a joke in the style of Flann O’Brien, God rest him. We don’t take them seriously enough to complain.

They wish to meter my water? They’ll have to meter the stream that flows past, or the rain, so.

For what, then, am I now supposed to pay a “household charge”? Well, I will not. I’ll go to jail first. The food will be worse than I’m used to, but I suppose the cell will be warm. – Yours, etc,

HENRY VAN RAAT,
    Allihies, Beara, Co Cork.

Need I say more ?!
    Manfred Meyer

• Alan V 16/12/11 #

Pat, yes we did vote them in, but that does not mean we have to put up with everything they throw at us. What they are doing now is totally different to what they told us they where going to do to get our vote. I for one will not be paying the charge. Its not the money, it’s what they will do once they get our wallets open. Do you really think they are going to take €100 and say “that’s enough thank you very much”

• ‘THEY’ are the people we elected. ‘ THEY’ are not aliens dropped out of the heavens to rob and plunder the population. Politicians are those chosen from the general population to run the country. They are chosen by the general population. The majority of the population chose those in the current government. That was 9 or so months ago. For the love of God can we just give it a chance. What is going on in our country at the moment is a pure nightmare and but I am prepared to go along with the majority and see if the current crop of politicians can do anything to get us back on track. The independent TD’s will never have enough support to govern the country and it is so easy for them to suggest civic unrest. I suspect they still collect their salary of €95,000 plus leaders allowances and travel expences. How about each independent TD paying the household charge for 100 constituents. (total cost €10,000)

• Sorry Pat, but they were elected on the basis of a pack of lies. Their dishonesty and cutehoorism put them in the dail. So don’t blame the people who trusted them, blame them for their dishonesty.

• I have openly stated that I won’t pay but bravado is cheap, faced with possible huge fines it would be easy to buckle under pressure. A concerted campaign is what is needed.

• as long as people think that the shinners and the lefties are always the bad guys and that fianna fail, fine gael and labour are the good guys, there will never be any hope for this country. I would love to know which party those who will pay and think that it is morally right to do so actually support. greed and money prevails over common sense and morality. I have no party allegiance myself but I hope I know what is fair and right.

• When the Queen visited during the summer. We where all told to forget the past and move on. Why can’t we do the same with Sinn Fein ? All paramilitary movements sooner or later revert to politics. The ANC in South Africa, The KLA in Kosovo and Finnia Fail and Fine Geal in Ireland

• And therein lies the difference. A party with members prepared to do time for their principals (whether you agree with them or not) and the rest who appeasr to be only interested in feathering their nests.

• I must have been sick the day Gerry Adams owned up to his membership of the pIRA

• You must have been sick for the years he was interned for defending his fellow countrymen too.

• But Gerry was never in the PIRA so how was he defending them.

• I can’t wait for the day there can be truth told regarding all the loss of life on this island. Truth and forgiveness! Perhaps the British government should take the lead?

• @ Cormac, Gerry Adams’ membership (or not) of the PIRA aside, who said you must have been a memebr of the PIRA to defend your countrymen? John Hume, and many others like him, weren’t members of any paramilitary organisation. Are you saying they couldn’t have (or didn’t) defended their countrymen either?

• @ Cormac, Gerry Adams’ membership (or not) of the PIRA aside, who said you must have been a memebr of the PIRA to defend your countrymen? John Hume, and many others like him, weren’t members of any paramilitary organisation. Are you saying they couldn’t have (or didn’t) defended their countrymen either? Each chose their respective courses based on their beliefs at the time.

• So what if he was in the IRA or not. The point is you were never a member of anything except maybe the CC where you were getting your arse felt by the priest.

• Im a Protestant, but to be honest, I don’t see what the Catholic Church has to do with this. The fact is, regardless whether we like it or not, we are members of this country, and iti is our duty to do what is right for our fellow brothers and sisters. So, we should not pay this bill.

• Got the earlier email re previous CC thing but hadn’t returned to see to what it had related. Yours, however, Ryan forced me to. Had to go back to see how someone had thought your religion had a bearing. Can see now it wasn’t directed at you but I’ll take this opportunity to say you’re a welcome addition to this topic which seemed to steer towards the question of Irish nationalism. Tends to if re Sinn Féin! Posted a comment at end in reply to a letter to Editor in Irish Times posted by Manfred Mayer. Like to add that the religion of Ireland’s greatest heroes never went unnoticed with me either. Back to topic you’re right, no one should pay the bill. 

• Its great to see the FF/FG/Labour supporters on hre, slamming SF for their stand on a regressive tax that penalises the lowest paid in our society. These same FF/FG/Labour supporters have no gripe with their elected party members taking salaries in excess of 100k per year. They have no gripes with these same parties trying to cut diability allowances to 18-21 year olds. These same party supporters have no gripe with their parties paying 3,200,000,000 to unsecured bond-holders in February.

It really is typical. SF make a stand against impacting the least well off in our country, and we have the dissenters on here complaining that its the wrong thing to do. Yet these same supporters have no gripes with these selfish bastards paying themselves higher wages that Germany or France for minsterial jobs. I cant wait until the next election. You guys are going to get hammered by the average worker in this country. You are going after the weakest in our society in order to further feather the nests of the Ivory Tower elite political class.

I am a capitalist. I believe in capitalism, but only to the extent that capitalism if worked correctly benefits the whole society. SF’s proporsed policy of brining in a 3rd tax band for all income over 100k per year is a fair tax. it only impacts those that can afford it. But our Ivory Tower elite are only interested in protecting their own incomes at the expsense of those who have the least. This is not capitalism. This is Financial Terrorism. They are threatening to lock people in prison, if they fail to register and pay this tax. This is Terrorism that will lead to people chosing whether or not to buy food for themselves and their loved ones.
    I really did believe some of the promises of Labour coming into the election. But for those commentators that say this is democracy and that we must accept the Governments decision, i have one thought to share with you ….

“A man who breaks a law that conscience tells him is unjust, and who willingly accepts the penalty of imprisonment in order to arouse the conscience of the community over its injustice, is in reality expressing the highest respect for law.”

Martin Luther King

• About time someone stopped pussyfooting around and told it like it is!!!!!!!!………how can our ministers pay themselves more the the german/French ministers and this little country of 4 million is broke!!!!!!!

• Well said Cal. Like the MLK quote too.

• So none of the SF politicians get big salaries no? I am not condoning the huge salaries politicians receive but they all receive them including SF. I would have no problem supporting any political party or politician if they were realistic and actually spoke some sense and sorry but in my opinion I have never seen this with SF and I cannot see what contribution these and many independents like Wallace and Luke Ming are making to helping this county get out of a very difficult time. unfortunately many politicians make comments for the better of their own party and not the country.

• @Meabh – Firstly I hate SF and nearly all there policies, but you should get your facts right. All SF TD’s only take the average industrial wage.

I support the independents as they speak for them selves and in a real way, unlike FG, FF, SF Labour who are basically puppets for there puppet masters

puppet masters
      FG – Germany
      FF – *ankers & Developers
      LB – Trade Union bosses
      SF – Terrorists/reformed Terrorists

• @Meabh, this is not pedantics i am calling you on … Its a serious point !!!

Not condoning and condeming are two totally seperate view points. I 100% condemn the Taoiseach, ministers for taking salaries over 100k.

SF TDs do take the salaries paid to them. However, they have those salaried paid directly into a specific account under party control. The TDs then take the average industrial wage from this controlled account. The rest of the money in the account is used for constituency and charity work. That is extremely different to the way FF/FG/Labour TDs operate.
      I know that i will have the Labour/FF/FG supporters stating that this is not acceptable, that the SF TDs should only take the average wage from the state and forget about using the controlled account, but at the end of the day, we all know where this unused Tax Payer money will go …. straight into the Bankers and rich elites pockets .. so SF made a deliberate decision to use this fund for the poorest in society ie they could not trust the govenment parties to do it fairly. And based on the Governments budget last week, the Government just proved them right.

• I love the way Sinn Féin involvement in 26 counties have helped raise the question of a united Ireland again. They’re certainly bringing it to the fore. About time too!

• @ Meabh, I agree with much of what you say regarding the state of politics in this country. But regarding SF: yes they get the big salaries but they live on the average industrial wage (+ expenses) and give the rest to the party in the hope of furthering their political ideals, which for me at least, represents a willingness to live a life similar to those they represent. Can you say that about any other political partry in the country?

• But cal they still claim their full pay from the state. The fact that they take the average ind wage benefits sinn fein, not the taxpayer. Also does their expenses get paid the same way.

• Cormac. Would you rather they didn’t claim it so gov could send it down big black bank hole. I’m glad they claim it so it stays on this island.

• one aspect of this tax i find particularly sinister is the sophisticated politics employed here by the co-alition partners,clearly their first priority was their buddies in europe( still playing the fair haired boys for france and germany)secondly imposing this tax in such a way as to least affect their own grassroots (labour looking at urban working class people traditionaly living in corporation housing, while fine gael try not to offend the slightly better to do) thirdly it has to be said, there is no thirdly after that the thought process stops! and we get a blanket tax that could well tip the scale for so many middle -working class people(what probably used to be FF grass roots),who a couple of years ago believed they had been given a chance to climb the social ladder,,if they worked hard and so on,,once again “being Irish means knowing sooner or later the world will break your heart”

• sinn fein T.D.s will absolutley support the people on the streets who also refuse to pay household charges and so will the people who support sinn fein regardless. This tax is wrong and anyone who pays it is an idiot….go on keep taking the pain. Otherwise stand up be counted and for once don’t take any more shit.

• Dessie Ellis Sinn Fein still lives in Council house therefore is exempt. How many fat cat TD’s & Government Ministers can say this?

• I’m loaded! But I’m still not paying it!!!

• Fair play to SF. At least they feel the national mood on this. We have no growth in economy. All they want to is tax. This is not the solution. We need to get out of the euro.

• Yes Kevin. I think we probably don’t have to wait too long before the euro will be gone anyways. Noonan said the referendum will be on whether we want to be in the euro or not. By that time, there won’t be a euro.

• What about the other 9 TDs, is it good enough for them??

I really hope everyone wakes up and not support this unfair tax

• What planet are u living on Adam. S/F and the ind never shut up looking for the bank bailout to be scraped

• I often thought that Bertie Ahern and his cronies. Ie McCreevy, O’rourke and Harney had to be the least intelligent group of people that ever wielded so much power, but now I’m not so sure! Kenny, Noonan, Gilmore and Hogan are equally as bad! Can’t we get them on some sort of health and safety technicallity?

• So will these TDs go out on the streets with the members of the public and protest ?

• Sinn Féin breaking the law – who would have guessed!

• Fine Gael levying unfair blanket taxes. Who would have guessed?

• For two years only until we have the index to implement a progressive system!

• David, do you expect us to believe that after FG and Labour’s litany of broken election promises? Sure why not a wealth tax for 2 years until a progressive system can be implemented?

• Noddy, sad thing is poor aul Davey does expect us to believe it

• David. Didn’t take them long to bring this tax in. An emergency tax on the wealthy would be a lot fairer.

• Sorry Noddy. You already said that more or less :(

• Reada, wealth tax = very popular.
      Sadly also = capital flight :(

• Jim. Fines for flight of capital = happy days!

• BJ 16/12/11 #

Réada, do you think we live in splendid isolation? Fines for the withdrawal of cash from the the jurisdiction contradicts EU laws on the free movement of Capital.

It also sends a very poor signal to potential investors.

And getting back to the original point, it was under FF that the Irish people were committed to a property tax under the terms of the EU/IMF bailout. FG are simply carrying out obligations imposed on them by a previous regime.

• @ Jim, I sorry I don’t understand your point? If we tax the wealthy they will move their unproductive untaxed capital out of the country, so what? Its not doing the 99% of the rest of the States citizens any good as is, Im up for taking the chance …… that is until a more progressive system can be implemented.

• Ah BJ don’t stamp on my idealist heart :(

• No, capital won’t ‘fly’ out of the country. The tax won’t be on liquid assets, but rather on wealth, as in properties worth over a million euro, etc. There would be no sense to fly, as for the rich, this tax, while annoying, would not be reason enough to pack up and move out. What rich person, in their right mind, would chose to sell their property in the current market, where they would be lucky to get half its value, when by paying a small tax (for them) they can enjoy the fruits of their luxury, and take a massive financial hit?
      ANd it wouldn’t affect investment, because it need not apply to comercial property. And our corporation tax ought to be kept low.
      The fact is, the wealthy are more politically active than the poor, therefore, the government thinks that it can hit the poor, because they won’t be hit back at the polls (or referendums). But we must show them we will not submit to an unfair tax, and civil disobedience like refusing to pay will show us this is an unfair tax too far.

• O and @ David “jurist ignorantaia est cum jus nostrus ignoramus” : it is ignorance of the law when we do not know our own rights: SF and a some of the independents are the only ones representing the wishes of the people at the moment.

• Just look at the politics saying they won’t pay this tax! Thank God they are not running this country with the garbage they spout everyday. They say the popular thing to get the public on side knowing they really have no say or have any important decisions to make. Mick Wallace is a disgrace and I am embarrassed to say I am from wexford, what has he or any of these people done to try and help this country and the people. This tax is going to be hard on people including me but to listen to these politics who can well afford it but there only agenda is to go against any decision the government makes. Even if they agreed with it the opposition would stand against it. Similar to what fine Gael did when they were in opposition. That Is what is wrong with Irish politics, it boils down to an embarrassing slagging match between the parties.

• @Meabh ” They say the popular thing to get the public on side knowing they really have no say or have any important decisions to make” Exactly what Fine Gael and Labour did except now they have the say, and they lied!

• Kudos to Sinn Fein, they are making real progress here!
    Their criminality used to be based on murder, violence and kidnap, whereas now they are simply unwilling to pay their way.
    Keep up the good work in your march towards decent human values lads!

• *like*

• I don’t care which party they are from, if it they refuse to pay and break the law then arrest them. It’ll make the new year more entertaining ;-)

• This is so irresponsible they are elected to show example. Though as Jim said above would love to see a few of the sinn feiners locked up. Get a few of them out of the dail for awhile so we wouldn’t have to listen to the constant shouting that they all seem to inherit! Mick Wallace does not surprise me either he doesn’t seem to pay anything he’s supposed to pay. The quicker he’s thrown out if the Dail the better.

• God love you if you look to the Dáil for example. It’s not too often you’ll find it. This departure makes a refreshing change.

• I actually found Mick Wallace’s post budget speech to be the most moving. He acknowledged our human frailties of looking after our own first but also our human aspirations of wanting fairness for the disadvantaged in our society. Funny how a “capitalists” speech touched my socialist heart. Love when that happens!

• BJ 16/12/11 #

Mick Wallace ! One of the greatest property speculators of the South West of Ireland ?!!!

Talk about not seeing the woods from the trees!

• To tell you the truth BJ I’m a socialist but a humanist first. My faith in god may be low but my faith in the human spirit was never higher. I don’t label people in my heart. Think there’s good in all of us

• Ehh, Farnan, you may be interested to listen to hear what they are actually ‘shouting’…it seems to speak a lot more truth than the ‘civilised’ backbenchers who keep mum because of the party whip system.And they need to shout if they are to be heard, because they are constantly being heckled and booed by the government benches who are unwilling to hear the truth and have their pre-election lies hurled back at them.
      Oh, and by the way BJ, I didn’t do geography, but I used to think Wexford was in the South-East? When did it change?

• Ah now Ryan. Once Sinn Féin is mentioned geography goes out the window. They think Donegal is in the south. :-)

• @ BJ, I think you’ll find Mick Wallace is in the south east not the south west, not the only thing your getting your directions and ponts of view mixed up on me thinks!

• How many of the commentators to this item actually voted in the last election?

• Don’t be too surprised to find most TD’s putting on expenses anyway!

• My columbo instincts reckon Gerry Adams could be one of the five , but you can hardly blame him not paying it considering he has several properties and finances these with only the use of the average industrial wage. Eddie Hobbs must be so proud of “our Gerry “and his budgeting skills. I love a good joke of a cold morning to warm me up!!

• Gav 16/12/11 #

Sinn Fein are buying political capital all over the place at the moment. The worst thing Fianna Fail ever did to this country, was to let this disgraceful party into the main opposition position.

• We live in a democracy, we had an election, we voted in a government to try and clean up the mess. The people made the decision as to who should govern. Nearly 40 per cent of the population did not bother to vote and I suspect some of those are now bitching and complaining. I don’t like the situation we are in, and I will suffer like everyone else.

• Every TD, senater, and councillor should have a marked register off electors from the last general election. Those who voted should get first preference towards help.

• Some of this 40% who “did not bother to vote” made a very deliberate choice not to vote. The rationale being that by participating, you are giving the system the appearance of being your representative. Thus you agree to it’s rules, so you are bound by them.

Personally, I choose to vote, but am reluctant to judge those who don’t.

Anyway, its a bit off topic.

• We voted in a government based on their promises of what they would do when in power. Since those promises have turned out to be a litany of lies, what we have hardly qualifies for democracy (i.e. the will of the citizens). IMO, those who didn’t bother to vote are most likely indifferent to politics, and so are hardly likely to be interested in commenting on a site like The Journal.

• +1 on Joseph’s comment too.

• Cynical posturing of the worst kind given the economic circumstances of many families. If the TDs opposed to the charge were as energised about securing debt relief for the ordinary citizen, especially on mortgages, I would respect them. Instead they play an old and tired tune – Oppose what the government proposes at every turn.

• Kenny: The scum of the earth I believe.
    Adams: The bloody assassin of the workers I presume?

• Sorry Joseph, but discussing the 40% non voters is not off the topic. We are talking here about decisions made by politicians who are ultimately elected by the people. The 40% non voters could have made a diference in the selection process and in my experience non voters are generally the cribbers.

• Is the time on any one else’s iPhone 4s off by an hour?

• Is the time on any one else’s iPhone 4s of by an hour

• Reg 17/12/11 #

I wonder if Sinn Fein MLAs and MPs in Northern Ireland refuse to pay their rates and water charges?

Sinn Fein are pathetic.

Add New Comment