TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 16 °C Tuesday 21 May, 2013

Former FF TD Ned O’Keeffe arrested

He has been detained on suspicion of using a false invoice to claim mobile phone expenses.

O'Keeffe in 2001
Image: Gareth Chaney/Photocall Ireland!

FORMER FIANNA FÁIL TD Ned O’Keeffe has been arrested over accusations that he used a false invoice to claim for mobile phone expenses while he was a member of the Dáil, RTÉ has reported.

Gardaí confirmed to TheJournal.ie that an arrest had been made in Cork and that the man is being detained in Cobh Garda Station.

A spokesperson for Fianna Fáil told TheJournal.ie that the party would not be making any comment on the issue at the moment as it is a “matter for the Gardaí”.

O’Keeffe served as a TD for Cork East from 1982 until the last Government was dissolved on 25 February 2011. While in government, he became a junior agriculture minister but lost the Fianna Fáil party whip in November 2007 over a row about a health policy motion. He was reinstated three months later.

On retiring after 29 years in politics, O’Keeffe has been entitled to an annual pension payment of over €65,000.

Consistently controversial, the former pig farmer is well-remembered for trying to ban the film Babe in 1995 in case it caused harm to Christmas ham sales.

He also sparked a furious reaction from Cork people back in 2009 when he voiced his support for nuclear power and the establishment of an incinerator at Cork Harbour.

Before leaving Government last year, he was openly critical of the Brian Cowen-led Cabinet, telling Today FM’s Matt Cooper that it was too full of “intellectuals”. He also said that Ireland could face a military coup over its economic plight.

In September 2011, the Irish Mail on Sunday claimed that Dáil authorities had been told that at least three of his mobile phone expense claims – worth thousands of euros – were based on fake invoices.

Ned O’Keeffe: There were “too many intellectuals” in government

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• And he refused to help get funding for a much needed Cork school, because there was no Fianna Fail voters in that town…

• Didn’t he want the movie Babe (about a pig) banned in Ireland because it would put people off pork. Obviously an intelligent TD who would not get caught if he submitted a false invoice.

• He also was involved in bringing in a ban on feeding Pigs with Bone meal rations. There was a certain farmer and politician in East Cork, who is in the news today, that however continued to feed the meal to his own pigs.

Tony Soprano wouldn’t last a week in FF, too straight and honest.

• Thanks Cornelius! He did indeed. I was just updating the article with the information – in case people think you didn’t read the article before you commented :)

• What about Ivor Callally, didn’t he submit dodgy invoices too?

• The writers of Father Ted would have a field day with our ex TDs and Ministers.
    “it was in my account before that”.
    Jail them all.

• Ah now, Ted had an account. The former minister for finance did not.

• That’s an excellent idea, get Graham Linehan on the phone. I’m sure he could cheer us all up with a good ol’ stitch up of the whole lot of them.

• Another false dawn I suspect! How much more of this crap can the Irish people tolerate? This country is riddled to the core by thieving criminals. I’m beginning to think that the majority of people must condone this behaviour, otherwise a full scale rebellion would’ve been up and running a long time ago! We are fast becoming a nation of selfish, greedy bastards! The frustration I feel gets stronger by the day! God help the young people, that are just starting out in life. If they just want to work hard, and live decent, honest lives, they haven’t a hope! It’s a crying shame!!

• As Albert used to say “It’s the little things that trip you up Ned” :-)

• I wonder has there ever been a country as small as ours demographically that has had so many corrupt politicians,its beyond a joke at this stage

• Out of the last 4 FF Taoiseachs, 3 of them have been slated by tribunals.

Cowen is the odd man out, but history is hardly going to be kind to him now. Previous to that 4 was Jack Lynch, whose Govt. set an OECD record for speed of debt growth, quadrupling it in just 18 months. Biffo gave us the fastest economic collapse and the largest bank crisis per capita.

FF are truly a unique party in the global stage. A party of record setters.

• Oink oink where is my trough!

• would he be entitled to a phone call !!!!! anybody caught on the fiddle should have their pensions confiscated ,

• He is a muppet,will his 65000 a year pension be removed not a chance,he will be released later today to go home and feed his pigs,NED try having a choice between paying for your food or paying your ESB or not being able to pay for either,you are an ignorant bastard,the people in east cork must be thickos to have consistently voted you in,must be something in the pork!!!

• €45+BN of ours being handed to Anglo which is still under police investigation (and has only one forensic accountant in the entire investigation. Clearly its not meant to go anywhere. Excuse me if I don’t get a toooo excited about some FFer & his mobile top ups.

• Finally. Comes as no surprise. In “1997…he became Minister of State at the Department of Agriculture and Food. He served in that position until February 2001 when he had to resign due to his voting on a Dáil motion without declaring that he had a beneficial interest in the subject matter” (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ned_O’Keeffe).

Despite this, he remained in the Fianna Fáil party and he was re-elected in 2002…

• mike 27/04/12 #

Nothing to get excited about. The criminal thing is nothing will happen. It will be covered up like all the rest of the corruption. Nobody will face a court case.

• One more jackass hits the skids.

• “Before leaving Government last year, he was openly critical of the Brian Cowen-led Cabinet, telling Today FM’s Matt Cooper that it was too full of ‘intellectuals’.”

Ha! He may be a grubby, thieving, movie-banning swineherd, but you have to admire his comedic instincts.

• Just had the odd experience of listening to the news on Today FM while driving (after I had read this story on my phones journal.ie app over lunch) and Today FM went out of their way to not name ‘the person in question’. Anyone want to hazard a guess why? Even Rte named O’Keeffe.

• Contrast the character displayed in this story with that shown in the Joanne o Riordan story …thank God.

• He he it just goes on and on

• Fianna FAILure pig farmer with his snout in the trough, now who says some people don’t act like the animals they keep? He ought to stick to shovelling pig shit on his farm instead of talking it, a ban on Babe, FFS!

• Eat Sh?! O keeffe – robbing the people of Cork and Ireland to line his own pockets. What goes round comes round…..

• Another day, Another FF TD arrested. It’s water off the back to these guys. They know when they join FF, that there is a risk of going to jail or being exposed in a tribunal. It’s the life the choose, they view ordinary hard working people as suckers, they say just take, take, take.

• You can take the man off the farm but you cant take the pig out of the farmer.

• This is like Al Capone being caught out for tax evasion

• Paul Oh 27/04/12 #

Its a start. Now round up the rest of them and throw away the key.

• YAWN!!!
    Does it really matter??? he’ll walk away from it scot free like the rest of them.

• Nozaed 27/04/12 #

Ned O Keefe deserves everything he gets. He was part of a corrupt regime that destroyed our country and made its citizens suffer like No other time since the famine. Our youth have left because of their failed policies and now we need to make these guys suffer. Him and the likes of Pee Flynn swanning around like it was everyone else’s fault but there’s is just a disgrace. They have big pensions and they just laugh at us paying taxes and trying to cope whilst they believe their life was a dedication to Public Service. I just hate FF and all they have done, to hell with the lot of them and may die roaring.

• Apart from being part of a Fianna Fail administration that destroyed our economy and our economic sovereignty there’s not a single stain on his character.

• Another Fianna Fail /Traitor

• politician that is

• ’twas sarcasm.. I phone smilies don’t appear on comments Susie.

• FF’ers on Twitter, joking about Ned being back in the National Media, then when people say it’s not a joke, tweeting that blueshirts have no sense of humour.

Ken Curtin ‏ @kencurtin Reply Retweet Favorite · Open
    Do the media really miss Ned O’Keeffe that much? I see he’s back making national headlines today!

Lorraine Clifford ‏ @LorrCliff Reply Retweet Favorite · Open
    @kencurtin blueshirts have no sense of humour!!

@LorrCliff there’s strong evidence to the contrary given some of the candidates they put forward down through the years!

Joke away lads, people view FF as uniquely corrupt, up there with the Christian Democrats in Italy, who also spent decades in power. Sure he was only a Minister and sure hasn’t it turned out to be a nice day to be spun away from the House by the Gardaí Fraud Squad, while he is in Cobh, he should pop in to the Titanic centre. Maybe tell them he was a FF TD , he might get in free. Great craic!

FF’ers don’t even bat an eyelid at one of their leading members being picked up by the fraud squad.

• Fagan's 27/04/12 #

Forget to add one of them sits on FF’s national exec.

Great to see the fresh perspective and higher standards coming in to the party.

• Thanks Fagan’s for the mention, you carefully selected a few of my tweets on this, while ignoring the rest, that of course is your choice but it probably would not have suited the argument you were making if you flagged I also tweeted the following:

“As an FF member living in East Cork I’m disappointed/disgusted by today’s revelations, if true Ned O’Keeffe must face full rigours of law”

“@Fagans3 I’m not at all impressed with this development and if he has broken the law, he deserves to be punished accordingly! @LorrCliff”

I also RTed unbiased/news tweets about Ned O’Keeffee developments on the ongoing story from @C103Cork, @breakingnewsie, @warrenswords & @gavinsblog

I’ve no problem with my tweets being quoted but please quote the full picture as the little snap shot you picked above is not a fair reflection of my timeline.

On a more positive note as a Cobh resident I’m delighted to see you promoting one of our many tourism attractions in your post, happy to recommend that and our other many attractions but fairly sure this is not an appropriate thread for such discussion!

• Selective quoting. I smell a Shinner!

• Fagan's 27/04/12 #

I was pointing out the flippant attitude that is such a part of FF discourse in relation to matters of fraud. It’s part of the party culture at this stage Ken.

I personally find you a decent old skin, and cannot figure out why you are involved in them. That’s your own Via Dolorosa for you to walk and find out.

On another point of order, I did the Titanic Trail tour, given by a FF cllr in Cobh, he unfortunately named Micheal Martin. However I would recommend it one and all.I presume that he is in your cumann. Group hug over.

• Why should they ? It is like water off a duck’s back at this stage …..

• Hes just a lightning rod,They’re very well aware of peoples anger about the massive bailouts and are trying to redirect energy in other directions.

• Shocker.

• @Paul

Hopefully they’ll investigate him properly this time and find something! Wouldn’t that make an amazing, yet sad photograph with all of them including Burke, etc. lined up going into Mountjoy? Sad for our country, for Ireland, for the world to see. But in another way, the people of Ireland will be showing what happen’s to so called politicians when they ‘jerk their chains’!

• @Turlough O’Connor

Anything to do with lying, thieving, bending the rules to suit themselves, representing the people of this country, that have been to hell and back and fought for an Ireland that is today, for you and the likes, for me, for my children, it will always be bloody news. Whether it was 5 years ago, yesterday, whether it’s EUR150 and 3 points on a licence belonging to a sneaky lying little f . . k it will be news, if it was possible I’d be dragging all of these f . . kwits to the deepest, darkest, cold, miserable basement of a jail and leave them to rot.

I am talking about the men, women, many of them that fought for us, that fought so we could have a vote, that fought so we could govern ourselves. You may think this is crap and a waste of time, to me this is justice. I have thought my children to always tell the truth, be honest and respectful. Sadly some of our politicians are lacking these traits.

By the way, Turlough, I am talking about my parents, their parents who lived and were born in the 1900’s, lived through two wars, hunger, one outfit of clothes to wear and worked f . . king hard for people like you to enjoy the luxuries that you have today. I am not only talking about the 1916 rising I am talking about many times in our history. I feel so ashamed of myself that we have allowed this to happen. We have not only f . . ked up what they worked hard for, for many years, but we’ve also f . . ked it up for our children. I am so sorry to those people and I, like many others will try my best to make it better.

• its seems to that its human mature if someone is ready to rip off ph bill, there alot more their willing to do

• @ Sheila…
    Ease up there Sheila…We’re singing from the same hymn sheet…
    I was merely making the point that its so endemic in that lot that its hardly news anymore that a lot of them were on the take in some form or another…and what will happen to the perpetrators??….exactly..F…k all !!!

• I do not know for the life of me why the journal removed my comment about Ned O’Keefe and the film Babe I even had it backed up with a quote from the Journal 16/02 / 11. Journal @ What are ye playing at . Ned O’ Keefe should have been in comedy not politics ,altho he probably would not have earned as much in comedy …………

• Yawn!!…this ain’t news anymore

• The victors get to write the history books as they say.

• Terrible news

• it is a shame how judgmental people are now that they have abandoned the party that built this state.
    the fickleness of the crowd that were fawning over the party when they wanted something done, but now turn their back and chase the new politicians.
    the problem is the people, not the politicians.

• gvnfnly 28/04/12 #

“Built this state?” I think you’ll find that was Fine Gael (or Cumann na nGaedhal as it was then). Fianna Fáil in fact periodically ruined this state and presided over years underdevelopment, subservience to Catholic church and emigration.
      BTW, I indict FG in the failings of this state too.

• This Fianna Fail witch hunt has got to stop.
    You’d think the people behind it would be happy to have tarred and feathered the party for a global economic collapse caused by Lehman brothers – that had nothing to do with Fianna Fail.

Dredging up old stories like this and making a big thing of the Mahon Tribunal just reeks of sheer vindictiveness.

Move on. Some of this so called ‘news’ is years and decades old.

• Fianna Fail governed Ireland with the best information available to them at the time. One or two people in a population of 4 million said it was a bubble, everyone else greedily borrowed as much as they could and bid up the property market of their own free will.

Now the global economy has collapsed everyone is whinging that it was Bertie’s fault, and are in total denial that they were rational adults at it was their own fault.

Quite right Bertie should respond to the childish blame game as he did – nobody told him it was a bubble.

I hope this FF scape goating will stop soon. No opposition party was complaining about a bubble at the time. Now it seems they all knew. Why didn’t they say anything? Least they could have done is tell Bertie. He could have deflated it.

Add New Comment