TheJournal.ie uses cookies. By continuing to browse this site you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Click here to find out more »
Dublin: 10 °C Thursday 20 June, 2013

30 former government ministers receive pensions of over €100k

Bertie tops the list, followed by fellow former taoisigh Brian Cowen and Albert Reynolds…

Image: Justin Pickard via Creative Commons

THIRTY FORMER GOVERNMENT ministers receive annual pensions in excess of €100,000, it has been revealed.

Former taoisigh Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen receive the greatest amount – with annual payments of €152,331.67 and €151,061.77, respectively.

Albert Reynolds was shown to receive the next largest amount, with a pension payment of €149,740.29 each year.

The figures were released following a Dáil question by Sinn Féin leader Gerry Adams regarding the amount of money received by former ministers and TDs on an annual basis. We have the full list for you here…

NOTE: Maurice Manning and Marian Harkin are gifting their TD pensions, while Eithne Fitzgerald, Maire Geoghegan Quinn, Gay Mitchell and Proinnsias de Rossa are gifting their TD & Ministerial pensions.

Similarly, * Liam Aylward is gifting his Ministerial pension for 2011, as it * Liam Cosgrave, Snr.

The following figures represent the yearly payment made to former ministers, less the Public Service Pension Reduction:

Ahern, Noel - €70,233.35

Ahern, Michael - €76,444.55

Ahern, Dermot - €119,965.23

Ahern, Bertie - €152,331.67

Allen, Lorcan - €64,043.83

Allen, Bernard - €64,535.78

Andrews, David - €108,430.45

Aylward, Liam* - €49,934.88

Barry, Richard - €75,610.22

Barry, Peter - €75,610.22

Begley, Michael - €69,452.80

Bhreathnach, Niamh - €47,176.24

Birmingham, George - €37,890.53

Brady, Vincent - €59,630.56

Browne , John - €55,202.36

Bruton, John - €141,849.27

Burke, Richard - €53,334.61

Burke, Ray - €103,838.73

Byrne, Hugh - €68,390.96

Calleary, Sean - €72,841.80

Callely, Ivor - €14,754.28

Carey, Donal - €66,022.87

Cassidy, Donie - €11,505.90

Collins, Edward - €63,413.57

Collins, Gerard - €102,564.54

Connaughton, Paul - €67,668.29

Connolly, Gerard - €74,735.35

Cooney, Patrick - €102,564.53

Cosgrave, Liam T - €55,049.59

Cosgrave , Liam (Snr)* - €133,023.62

Cowen , Brian - €151,061.77

Creed, Donal - €66,806.83

Cullen, Martin - €119,177.67

Currie, Austin - €59,383.84

Daly, Brendan - €95,515.43

D’Arcy, Michael - €68,854.39

Davern, Noel - €74,151.64

De Valera, Síle - €103,647.51

Deasy, Austin - €87,495.58

Dempsey, Noel - €119,177.67

Desmond, Barry - €86,423.62

Donnellan, John - €40,798.95

Doyle, Avril - €60,135.57

Dukes, Alan - €94,467.80

Fahey, Jackie - €68,011.89

Fahey, Frank - €113,141.36

Faulkner, Padraig - €102,564.54

Fitzpatrick , Tom - €56,076.74

Flood, Chris - €55,793.17

Flynn, Padraig - €87,129.22

Gallagher, Pat ‘The Cope’ - €70,562.08

Harney, Mary - €129,805.67

Higgins , Jim - €57,363.50

Higgins, Michael D - €87,928.54

Honan, Tras - €50,750.25

Hussey,Thomas - €61,215.35

Hussey, Gemma - €66,057.70

Hyland, Liam – €61,327.03

Jacob, Joe - €79,125.66

Kavanagh, Liam - €91,535.68

Kiely, Rory - €52,324.36

Kitt , Tom - €81,476.40

Lalor, Paddy - €101,153.89

Lyons, Denis - €48,744.00

MacSharry, Ray - €88,936.80

McCarthy, Sean - €38,604.11

McCreevy, Charlie - €119,177.67

McDaid , Jim - €97,406.69

McDonald, Charles - €58,501.32

McDowell, Michael - €60,388.64

McManus, Liz - €12,309.97

Moffatt, Tom - €42,192.80

Molloy, Robert - €113,677.53

Mullooly, Brian - €57,302.98

Nealon, Ted - €59,736.76

Noonan, Michael L - €80,684.50

O’Brien, Fergus - €66,991.00

O’Connell, Dr John - €76,309.85

O’Donnell, Liz - €58,903.88

O’Donnell, Tom - €85,797.21

O’Donoghue, Martin - €51,330.09

O’Donoghue, John - €119,177.67

O’Hanlon, Rory - €116,617.53

O’Keeffe, Edward (Ned) - €65,515.65

O’Keeffe, Jim - €70,797.11

O’Kennedy, Michael - €122,803.59

O’Malley, Tim - €31,192.97

O’Malley, Desmond - €106,721.70

O’Rourke, Mary - €117,981.01

O’Shea, Brian - €66,970.92

O’Sullivan, Toddy - €56,425.20

O’Toole , Paddy - €74,069.42

Owen, Nora - €73,826.20

Parlon, Tom - €31,192.96

Pattison, Seamus - €117,205.46

Power, Sean - €36,464.13

Power, Patrick - €75,968.59

Reynolds, Albert - €149,740.29

Ryan, Eoin - €53,814.13

Ryan, John - €67,335.13

Ryan, Richie - €93,032.73

Smith, Michael - €119,177.67

Spring, Dick - €121,108.28

Taylor, Mervyn - €77,979.70

Treacy, Noel - €83,609.13

Treacy, Sean - €119,177.67

Wallace, Dan - €73,092.24

Wallace, Mary - €77,446.64

Walsh, Joe - €119,177.67

Woods, Michael - €122,695.95

Yates, Ivan - €74,836.65

• Share on Facebook
  • Email this article
  •  

Read next:

Comments (82 Comments)

• What a kick in the sack

• And them slimey bastards Kenny and Noonan will be on RTE spouting their IMF/EU Austerity bullshit, turning private sector worker, against public sector worker, and yet screwing you all unless your one of the so called ELITE and if you are you won’t give a shit.

• The total for ex. Ministers is €8,810,641.67/ANNUM….. That blows my mind… Like the poster above has said…. What a total kick in the nut sack.

What’s the total for ALL TDs also that weren’t ministers…?

• Ray Burke that one is sick

• Painful to read 103k beside Ray Burke’s name.

• how come the Imf/Eu allow this practice to continue. The likes of Alan Dukes gets a pension of over 94k and a salary from anglo of over 150k. Ivan Yates is always complaining about public servants (the.majority of whom are on 30k) he gets a pension of over 70K and has a well paid job in newstalk. This is a banana republic

• Credit SF Politicians in The Dail , who have exposed this disgraceful and extraordinary clean out of our State Coffers, by some named on the list, who are seen to be most responsible for the destruction of our economy in the first instance !

Notice that it was Not FG , Labour or especially FF representatives who were seen to expose this Gravy Train , which they put in place for themselves.

Wonder, will reductions in these crazy Pensions be proposed by Minister Noonan , in the upcoming Budget?

• Here’s a suggestion re pensions: if the recipient is not yet 65 years old the applicable tax rate is 85%.

• They get pension before normal retirement age right? Nice work making the rules for your own pension

• So much for NO reward for FAILURE! There you have it the biggest list of parasites the country has ever known, never mind the guy down the street who does a nixer for €50 whilst signing on here’s the real criminals, the real benefits swindlers and to think this is just the former TD’s and ministers, doesn’t include the fat cat civil servants like McCarthy or the ‘regulators’ who all walked away with big pensions. The people of Ireland are being screwed by these shameless leeches. Whilst the rest of the country is being forced to accept austerity, job losses, higher taxes, lower wages and mass emigration of the young the likes of Ahern, Cowen, Harney, McCreevy, O’Donoghue and all the other scumbags who bankrupted the country are creaming it and laughing at thicko’s who are paying for their lavish lifestyles. IF EVER THERE WAS A COUNTRY THAT NEEDED A REVOLUTION THEN IRELAND IS IT. What a sickening sight to see so many gangsters, fraudsters, corrupt and venal parasites fleece the Irish people like this. Disgusting!

• a disgrace, the poor gets poorer and the fat cats get fatter, these type of pensions should not be allowed

• Lame excuse no1- “sure it’s peanuts in the scheme of things”
    My response – ” are we all in this mess or is it just the middle/lower class that will feel the pinch infinitely more then our upper elite”
    Lame excuse no2 – ” they are entitled to it”
    My response – ” I’m entitled to believe that there is a disgusting do as we say not as we do attitude by our politicians”
    Lame excuse no3 – ” sure we can’t change their contracts”
    My response – “do you not read the journal? I already told you that you can bring in a 99% austerity tax for all state pensions over 100k until this mess is over. Only then will people believe that there is some proportionate pain being felt by our elite leaders.”

• Makes for a disgusting read, no wonder this country collapsed, seeing some of those names continuing ta rape the country makes me wanna cry

• Taxes going up in the next budget. Government won’t touch these guys will they . Labour, Fine Gael just another version of Fianna Fail, nation duped again.

• Robbing bastards adding insult to injury can’t wait till the budget so we can get screwed again. While they live off the fat of the land and laughing all the way to the bank

• This is only the tip of the iceberg for some of these wasters. If you dig a little deeper you’ll find expenses, Garda protection etc., Liam T Cosgrave is in his ninties and he STILL has two Garda officers parked outside his door- at what expense? Time to take these people out!

• Is the Michael Noonan on that list the current Finance Minister??

No one should be getting a pension at all if they are currently employed so that means Ivan Yates(newstalk) McDowell(barrister), Marian Harkin MEP etc etc should lose their pensions immediately
    No one should be entitled to more than 1 pension let them have whichever is the highest and lose the rest
    And no one under 65 should get one either
    Now… How much money would my simple proposals save the tax payer???

• Crime pays – just ask Ray Burke – 105K Pension – nice little earner

• They don’t even grease us up any more just straight in no kissing bastards

• Most of these people deserve a sentence not a pension. It’s time for mass disobedience people. Stop moaning and start doing. Not one penny to them for property taxes or water taxes.
    They can’t lock everyone up. People power is coming. The medical card movement showed it can be done if enough people stand up for fairness and justice in this country.

• Gerry Adams can expect a real shit storm directed at him by the Evening Herald and Sunday Independent for exposing this.

• I am lost for words sick as a pig been rode like a horse Can’t get near my pension and I am broke where is the justice O I forgot they are all collecting their government pension

• Any one got a calculator handy, interesting to see total paid out to these no marks.

• The trough lives on.

• May they choke on it

• 09/11/11 #

donie cassidy
    bertie
    rambo burke

those 3 in particular are disgraceful

• People voted for them again and again when it was quite obvious what kind of shower they were. The voting majorty gave us the politicians we got. Nothing will change until people wise up, this list is sickening but it’s all too late.

• Well said, no amount of online rage and name calling can avoid the fact that people voted in elections for the representatives who put these payments in place. our political system is a reflection of ourselves. hysteria over pension payments won’t solve anything, always easier to blame than accept some responsibility.

• To be fair to voters I’m sure people voted based on the information available to them. Voters proved their stand on this at last election Unfortunately this shower is Spineless too Citizens cannot be blamed here place the blame where it belongs on the shoulders of the people we entrusted our nation to and who ripped us off.

• Yes and let’s make the same naive mistake at the next election. And then we can call those new TDs spineless as well. A national parliament with reps elected based on local interests and ‘what can you do for me’ can only lead to this type of problem. But how many people would actually bother their arses if there was more power locally? We get the government we deserve – for almost 15 years people were so focussed on what was going into their own pocket to realize they were being screwed – now the blinkers are off and everyone is up in arms… Too little too late.

• 09/11/11 #

animal farm

• Crime Pays – Just ask Ray RAMBO Burke – on 105K Pension – what a joke

• How much tax do they pay on their pension. Is it tax free?

• Such is Ireland. We allow it to happen so they do it end of story.

• My heart can’t take much more of this. It’s fucking breaking at the thought of all this money in pensions being paid out while people are struggling and losing their houses and jobs.

Especially Bertie’s pemdion. Has he no shame. Is he really that thick? Or is he the most arrogant egoist this country has ever produced?

• Staggering money. Good to know for the next time we hear béal bocht-ing out of them. There are people on that list pulling down serious dough who haven’t been in public life for a quarter of a century. I know people deserve a pension but these numbers are very hard to come to terms with.

• Yeah but the Irish eskimo’s paid up. Time to say categorically, Can’t pay Won’t pay. Let them suck eggs for it

• Is there an annual total anywhere?

The pensions are a disgrace. As has been said, they should not get them until retirement age, like everyone else.

And don’t get me started on that system of cumulative pensions… A new pension for every role you ever held in government. Every cabinet reshuffle is a lotto win for them.

• Over 8.8 million apparently…. Sickened isn’t even coming close! Between VAT going up in budget which will mean more poverty and businesses closing or laying off staff, Stealth taxes on everything, overpaid useless gobs****s getting these ridiculous pensions while pensioners sit freezing and hungry and as an article reported the other day people skipping meals to have enough food for their kids to eat and the disgrace that is our health system this country is shameful and FG and Labours gov is proving that nothing changes one set of rules for the politicos and another for Joe public. look at the continuing farce that is our banking system AIB are continuing to give staff pay rises but not passing on ECB cuts etc? Arrgh so bloody angry….

• I did a little Excel spready and here’s the final damage!

The Total figure per annum for pensions to Ex. Ministers and Taoiseagh is €8,810,641.67

Add to that the list of ex TDs pensions and I’d say the figure is Mind boggling!

• Bruce 10/11/11 #

I am sick reading this. Is bertie or cowen worth it? They each get 15 times what an old age pensioner gets. The riot at the top had to be eradicated
    There are men and women on this list who were in govt for a handful of years and they get this vulgar pension. I see michael d gets almost 90 and another 250 next week = 7,500 per week = pension of 50 old age pensioners. With his new house and state cars he won’t have any worries about food, heat or medical. I hate this country.

• Do you think the government will ever set up the equivalent of a “We the people ” petition on line so we can tell them what we think. What’s the Irish equivalent of these words?
    May sound a little lame but it would be interesting to see the results .

• Bad timing by Sinn Fein on this , should have left it until the week of the budget, then might have been some semblance of public uproar!

• Write/email your Tds demanding a levy on all public service pensions over 80k. These pensions will never be reduced but they could be subject to some for of clawback. Get writing.

• This makes me sad :’(

• Gary C 10/11/11 #

Bonkers stuff!! Total bananas! Head the ball. A shower of evolved apes wouldn’t run it this way.

• This is obscene! absolutely disgusting in the current climate, all should be halved at least with immediate effect. reward for failure is fundamentally wrong and country cannot afford it.

• Máirín 10/11/11 #

We can’t be sure if IMF didn’t question the scale of these payments. Could it be just dropped to the bottom of the list of priorities?

• Those who are “gifting” their pension; can they turn that to their advantage by claiming charitable donations against their taxes….?

• Lou. There’s no way I’m paying water charges. It’s like charging Eskimos for snow FGS.

• It is a disgrace, that money could benefit so many that need it, from graduate schemes to keep our young highly educated graduates in the country. Taxes were spent educating them so they could benefit another country’s economy. Our health system could go a long way with money like that. The others uses for this money are endless. Will the journal follow this up & let us know if politicians like our new president Michael D Higgins are willing to relinquish their hefty pensions as they are still being paid by the state using tax payers. money?

• Wish they’d all just f**k off and die. Then they’ll have done their country some service.

• None of them should be getting a pension before the age of 65, secondly any of them such as Noonan or O’Higgins should not be getting a pension as they are both still in work along with many others. Any of them who have been convicted of crimes should also have their pensions stopped this really lays open the abuse of the public purse by venal parasitical politicians who have put their own self interests above that of the country and it’s people. It is a shocking figure and it is only the tip of the iceberg, there are all the other costs which these leeches are submitting such as expenses of over €250k for ‘cupboard boy’ Ahern alone! The country cannot afford this and unless it is stopped (which it won’t be) then it will continue to cost everybody in the state for decades to come. How many nurses, teachers, midwives or carers would this money pay for annually? How many jobs for young people could be created or how much better services for disabled people would it fund? The people of Ireland have to stand up and stop this abuse of public money by these people and Michael D O’Higgins as the new president of Ireland should be the first to ask that his pension be stopped especially as he is being paid a fortune as president anyway and it will also come with a massive pension. Really is sickening to see some of the names on that list who are coining it in when so many people are struggling and suffering just to get by and keep a roof over their heads.

• AHERN, Bertie – €152,331.67: http://www.mahontribunal.com/index.php?title=Payments_to_Bertie_Ahern

BURKE, Ray – €103,838.73: Raphael Patrick “Ray” Burke[1] (born 30 September 1943) is an Irish former Fianna Fáil politician.[2] He is a former Teachta Dála and government minister who was convicted and jailed on charges arising from political corruption in office. Burke was also highly influential in decisions made by Dublin Corporation, at local government level in Dublin city.

CALLELY, Ivor – €14,754.28: On 8 December 2005, he resigned his cabinet post after an RTÉ News report that a building contractor involved in public contracts had painted his house for free in the early 1990s.[4][5] It was also revealed that Callely had offered to personally buy a new car for one of his civil service advisers, in an attempt to persuade the adviser not to leave their job. Callely’s department had an unusually high turnover of staff for some time under his stewardship.[6]

COSGRAVE, Liam T – €55,049.59: On the 26th of October 2010, Liam T Cosgrave appeared at Dublin District Court charged with five offences. He is alleged to have received corrupt payments between 1992 and 1997 in relation to the re-zoning of Jackson Way Properties Ltd.[2]

FLYNN, Padraig – €87,129.22: Flynn has been cited in the Mahon Tribunal for having received £50,000 from Frank Dunlop intended for Fianna Fáil, but diverted to Flynn’s personal use.[9] [10]

McDAID , Jim – €97,406.69: In April 2005 McDaid was arrested when found driving drunk in the wrong direction on a dual carriageway outside Dublin. Oncoming vehicles were forced to swerve to avoid his car, which was eventually force to stop when a haulier was forced to block his path.[2] Tests showed a blood alcohol level of 267mg, more than three times over the legal limit of 80 mg.

O’DONOGHUE, John – €119,177.67: During a two year tenure as Minister for Arts, Sport and Tourism, O’Donoghue’s Minsterial expenses amounted to €126,000. The minister claimed expense claims that involved foreign trips for himself and both his wife and personal secretary. Sinn Féin raised the spending spree with the Dáil, while a Fine Gael spokesperson branded the expense claims as “indulgent”.[3]

O’KEEFE, Edward (Ned) – €65,515.65: In 1997 he became Minister of State at the Department of Agriculture and Food. He served in that position until February 2001 when he had to resign due to his voting on a Dáil motion without declaring that he had a beneficial interest in the subject matter.

WOODS, Michael – €122,695.95: While serving as Minister for Education, Woods signed a controversial agreement with 18 Irish religious orders involved in child sex-abuse scandals which limited their compensation liability to the victims of abuse to only €128 million. This compensation scheme is project to eventually cost the Irish government, and therefore the Irish tax payers, €1.35 billion.

• The above gentlemen’s ministerial pensions cost a GRAND TOTAL €817,622.45 per annum…

• FAHEY, Frank – €113,141.36: The Irish Times reported in 2006 that in 1994, when Fahey was a Senator, he became involved in establishing a hair and beauty salon business in Moscow, involving an investment of over £200,000 (€254,000). Fahey did not officially declare the interest and at first denied involvement with the salon. Later, he admitted a connection, saying he had travelled to Moscow “as an ordinary citizen to support the investors including my wife who were attempting to set up a hair salon there…the whole thing was part of a regional political campaign by a number of individuals to do damage to my integrity, character and good name”.
      Fahey has invested in properties in countries including Ireland, France, the US, Dubai and Belgium. He also declared an interest in a construction company and a share portfolio in the Dáil Register of Members Interests.
      In June 2009, Government minister Trevor Sargent accused Fahey in the Dáil of tax avoidance and making inappropriate decisions as a minister, and called on the Taoiseach to sack him. [Wikipedia]

HARNEY, Mary – €129,805.67: It emerged in November 2008, that Harney personally requested the use of the Government jet for a FÁS trip to Florida in 2004, at a cost of up to €80,000 to taxpayers. She travelled to Florida with senior FÁS executives, department officials, and her husband, Brian Geoghegan, and was receiving more than €100-a-day subsistence money from the taxpayer when FÁS picked up her hairdressing bill in a Florida hotel. Like all government ministers travelling abroad, she was entitled to a daily allowance for “incidental expenses”. [Wikipedia]

JACOB, Joe – €79,125.66Jacob caused controversy in 2001 when, during a radio interview as the Minister responsible, he demonstrated an apparent lack of knowledge over the use of iodine tablets and the emergency plans in the event of a terrorist attack similar to September 11 attack in the United States. [Wikipedia]

• The Total figure per annum for pensions to Ex. Ministers and Taoiseagh is €8,810,641.67

That is TRULY staggering!

• I work for AIB cant wait for my Xmas Bonus!!!

• Source – Wikipedia…

• Only comment worth making ” greedy,selfish people”.Total disgrace that those still in Oireachtas are getting pensions. The rest should be reduced to €25,000 at most. Some of them are out of the Dail for over 30 years and still milking the system. Some of them weren’t in it very long either. The rest of us have to work for 50 years before we get a miserable state pension. What a set of joulsters.

• This country is a gangsters haven, giving pensions to people who milk the country when they were in power,only pay them when the come 65,and only half of what there getting now,closing hospitals,or young having to leave,the old not able to heat there homes,but don’t be worried boy and girls you will not go cold or hungry on the big fat pension and perks that has broke this country.

• Trouble is we moan about it why don’t we do something refuse to pay road tax or something till the robbing barstards sit up and take norice. Politicans should not set their own pensions it should be done by an independant lobby made up of say teachers,nurses and farmers who would decided who gets it,when and how much. Also ant private income recieved from outside jobs should be deducted from said pension.But heyho they’ll get away with like they always do.What happeed to the revolution lol

Add New Comment